KeoTV: D-Day for desperate Boks
20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article20 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE is backing the Boks to win on Saturday, but RYAN VREDE thinks the All Blacks will spoil the PE party.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

681 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
19 Aug 2011, 14:33 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-140:
We will get jumpy alright Fernly.
But you Okie Dokies are depressed already.
The Power of Positive Thinking…………………………….Not a Saffa thing.
19 Aug 2011, 14:33 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-148:
You can be world champions, we are the best in the world………….and you know it
Muhaha.
19 Aug 2011, 14:34 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-150: Or the only host country to win a proper WC is SA…
19 Aug 2011, 14:35 pm
@cane(cane)-151:
NZ has the one of the highest rates of teenage depression in the world…
I am not depressed at all,if we reach the knock-out stages we are in with a shout.
19 Aug 2011, 14:35 pm
@willievz(willievz)-153:
Keep the dream alive boys, god knows you got nothing else.
19 Aug 2011, 14:36 pm
@willievz(willievz)-153:
And interestingly, India in 2011 was the first host country to win any of the cricket WCs to date
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-152:
and chokers.
I will take my Springbok rugby and beautifull woman any day…
@RL(RL)-144:
Both Cape Town and Port Elisabeth AB strongholds,
Where next RL ………………………………………………Ellis Park.
Paint it Black.
19 Aug 2011, 14:39 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-155:
Do you still live in NZ or have you left aswell?
NZ$200 for a jersey,that is R1300.
Have you bought one?
19 Aug 2011, 14:42 pm
Is that why your Gov spent all those millions at the previous RWC to try and win it?
19 Aug 2011, 14:43 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-150: uhm….i will use it!
19 Aug 2011, 14:44 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-154:
Many of Your Youth, would love the chance to live long enough to get depressed.
Do you ever learn,
you fool.
19 Aug 2011, 14:45 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-160:
What money did Our Government spend Fernly.
You FOOL.
19 Aug 2011, 14:46 pm
@cane(cane)-162:
kiwis fleeing to nz is at a 19year high…
If you guys choke at the RWC how many of your players will leave nz?
19 Aug 2011, 14:47 pm
@cane(cane)-163:
In the 4 years running up to the previous RWC.
The assistants etc were more than the players.
19 Aug 2011, 14:48 pm
hmmm…things seem to be getting heated between us Bok fans and our kiwi rugby brethren.
lets try keep it to banter eh chaps?
it is as it should be the day before a meeting between our sides on the field of battle.
permission to speak freely granted.
19 Aug 2011, 14:49 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-164:
“kiwis fleeing to nz is at a 19year high……”
That’s right fernly, the people are coming home.
FOOL……………………………………………….with a capital friggen “”F”"
19 Aug 2011, 14:50 pm
All National Rugby Unions need to invest time,money and effort at grassroots level.
19 Aug 2011, 14:50 pm
Cheers all,have a good day/eve
Time for me to light the braai fire
Go chuck a saveloy in the microwave Cane my brother:-)
19 Aug 2011, 14:51 pm
@cane(cane)-167:
typo.
I meant kiwis fleeing to aus
19 Aug 2011, 14:52 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-159:
Yeah, bought mine over the net for $69. Shame the prices are so high in NZ, but that’s what happens when the worlds elite are falling over themselves to sponsor you sponsor you with truck loads of $ because you are so successful. You remember that don’t you? Maybe not.
19 Aug 2011, 14:54 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-165:
I still await your clarification on your Statement that the NZ Government funded AB WC campaigns ?
Front up or admit………………………………………………….”I Fernly have shiit for brains”.
19 Aug 2011, 14:55 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-164:
Still enough there to regularly kick your *** hehe.
19 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@willievz(willievz)-156:
i like the direction you’re thinking in…now we just need a ufo sighting and for julius to get kakked out in his disciplinary hearing….then the freak will be well and trully the ffuck on…..weeeeee wooooo hoooooo……(whispers..) i see dead all blacks…
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-171: No that’s what happens when theose companies regard the consumer in said country as suckers.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-170:
You mean like the 900,000 that have farrked of from SA.
FOOL.
19 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
Cane, Fern, you are both making fools of yourselves.
For the record, the number of emigrants from SA is counter-balanced by roughly the same number of registered immigrants according to official stats.
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-174: Graham Henry plays mental mind games. So can I.
The Kiwis need to be reminded of their choking history, at every corner possible.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-175:
You could only wish someone would place that value on a bok jersey
19 Aug 2011, 15:00 pm
@cane(cane)-158: Eish!
19 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-179: You can have the Mastercard amount. We’ll take the priceless
19 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
Now fernly is gone…………………………
“I sincerely apologise if I have offended anyone”.
I just have this kneejerk reaction.
And yes I know about the jerk thingy.
19 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-177:
I know Mikey.
But it will happen again.
19 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@cane(cane)-176: don’t lose your cool 8)
19 Aug 2011, 15:09 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-171: vuddy, the nzru is basically bankrupt and relies on sanzar cash which mostly comes from…….yes, you guessed it, south africa.
are you really this ignorant of the realities?
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-179: mate, 78,000 kiwis watch superrugby games, 560,000 saffas watch.
what does this tell you my economically minded kiwi friend?
19 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
@willievz(willievz)-178:
Keep saying it. Don’t care. Sooner or later well catch back up, only a matter of time.
As long as we don’t sell our souls like you lot have by now thinking it’s OK to loose everything else along the way as long as you win the RWC.
You can have it if that’s the price that has to be paid.
To see the bok jersey being dissed now the way it is, its a disgrace. Besides, 1991 beaten by a better team, 1995 toss of the coin, lost to the more deserved team on the day, 1999 beaten by the better team, 2003 beaten by a better team, 2007 beaten by the better team. No shame there, tried and failed. Better than the disgrace of sending cannon fodder on tour like u know who because winning test matches don’t matter, BS!
Ditch the RWC and bring back tours, I hate what it has done to rugby, and hate what it’s done to a once mighty foe.
You can keep the cup forever as far as I’m concerned if we have to stoop to loosing everything in between. Very happy to be the best in the world as we have been for a long time.
19 Aug 2011, 15:11 pm
What the hell is going on here? Why so personal people?
Anyway, the record will be set straight this year. The AB’s will win the WC and then SA supporters will stop settling for mediocrity. Jake White did SA rugby the greatest disservice of all time. He was a useless coach, but won a WC because he got a lucky draw. All of a sudden SA coaches, players administrators and supporters are cool with it when we dish up utter rubbish on the field as long as we build towards a WC. It will not happen again this year. Lessons were learnt last time around.
19 Aug 2011, 15:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-184:
Too late.
19 Aug 2011, 15:14 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-187:
Well said
19 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@cane(cane)-188:
It’s cool bro, he was a douche that deserved a spray.
19 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@Black Magic(Black Magic)-186:
Yeah, you and I are old school, mate. We are intrigued by the fiercest rivalry in rugby that once was, but is no more. I recall Cowboy Shaw not standing back an inch to our loose forwards on the rebel tour. Gert Smal knocking out Nick Knight in PE on that same tour. I recall how Fitzy was left crying on the field when the AB’s won a tour for the first time in history on SA soil. I was gutted and you were elated, I am sure.
The BOK jersey means nothing. The rivalry means nothing. I am ashamed that this bunch of wannabe’s have to face the most sacred haka – I am going to witness it live for the first time tomorrow. Respect to you and to your team – you deserve the WC more than any other team and for the sake of rugby I am quietly hoping that you win it.
19 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
@cane(cane)-162:
@cane(cane)-172:
@cane(cane)-182:
not so quick cane…i think he actually meant the nzru spent about nz $50million on your 2007 wc campaign. granted, its not the nz government but it was still a lot from the nzru for a wc.
i’m interested to know if there was in turn any money given by the government at some point to the nzru so that they could skirt the technicality of not being direct sponsors? i dont know if that happened, it may have?
either way it was a lot of money spent for a cup thats now still spending a few more days at home (in the saru head offices at newlands) before it heads out for a short 1 & half month hol down under and then comes back home…
and btw…no need to apologise friend, we all lose the kool once in a while…
19 Aug 2011, 15:23 pm
@cane(cane)-183: No doubt. I call it the Keo effect on us all
19 Aug 2011, 15:27 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-187: you reckon if GH was a saffa and coached the Bokke to a 86% win ratio and got klapped @ the world cup in a quarter-final he would still keep his job?
19 Aug 2011, 15:29 pm
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-192:
160.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19 said:
19 Aug 2011, 14:42 pm
Is that why your Gov spent all those millions at the previous RWC to try and win it?
Pretty clear to me Fernly is somewhat less than informed on the facts of the matter.
19 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-191:
Total respect Couchman, I am old school and reading your post gave me goose bumps. Best post ever. I haven’t heard some of those names for a looong time.Those were the days, miss them terribly.
As much as I love the All Blacks, and despite my s-hit stirring, it burns me to see what’s happening to the bok brand. I grew up on it and that rivalry is a passion that grips me to the core. FKs me off to see an hear the new generation disrespecting either side.
May the best team win tomorrow night.
19 Aug 2011, 15:32 pm
on expatexposed you can read some interesting stuff on cane’s perfect nz..asian girls getting raped in full view of cheering kiwis seems to be a national hobby in plymouth.poor irish fans heading first to plymouth.
19 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-191:
And yeah, for me the 1996 tour was/is the Holy Grail. Sorry for your pain, but a moment I will never forget as long as I live. Legendary.
Better than 10 world cups.
19 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-191: how many times in a year did the Springboks play the All Blacks pre-Tri Nations competition?
Quantity vs Quality
All the people moaning and making a comparison of the amateur days and the now “we had to have tri-nations because some of the member unions need the revenue” current days are delusional
SANZAR has devalued the once fierce and special rivalry!
before the Hong Kong Bledisloe Australia were on a 10 match LOSING streak against the All Blacks, so i don’t get how that match up has surpassed the NZ vs SA one
19 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
@cane(cane)-182:
keo makes monsters of us all.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All