Desperate Boks snap losing streak

JON CARDINELLI watched the Springboks deliver an uninspiring yet determined performance to beat the All Blacks 18-5 in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

The desperation was tangible from minute one. The Boks had come into this fixture with the intention to spoil and smother, to secure their first victory since November 2010. More importantly, they had arrived at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium determined to snatch a morale-boosting result on the eve of the World Cup.

It was this desperation that rendered all else insignificant. There was no sign of innovation or precision as the hosts bashed away at the opposition using the 2009 template of subdue and conquer.

Indeed it was a strategy that was not perfectly implemented, and it was all the Boks could do to hold on during the early stages. The All Blacks ran the ball from everywhere, avoiding the grinding contest at the coalface and attempting to stretch the home defence with a high-tempo, explosive approach. If not for some timely cover tackling by the Boks, the All Blacks may have scored a couple of tries inside the opening quarter.

Jaque Fourie was instrumental to the Boks’ defensive success, and the Stormers’ highly effective pattern was apparent. At times it appeared as if the Stormers were playing the Blues, such was the one-sided defensive approach of the Boks and the explosive but disjointed style of the All Blacks.

The Boks will covet this result, but the quality of performance underlined existing concerns. They offered little on attack and their defence wasn’t flawless. Some terrific scrambling by Fourie and Bryan Habana denied the All Blacks, but missed first-time tackles once again placed the Boks under unnecessary pressure.

Fourie du Preez had a poor game by his own high standards, as those high tactical hoists were rarely accurate and afforded the All Blacks’ back three multiple counter-attacking opportunities. Fortunately for the hosts, this second-rate All Blacks side failed to punish the Boks’ errors. Even though they broke the line on numerous occasions, their poor decision making in the tackle led to momentum-killing turnovers.

All Blacks coach Graham Henry said earlier in that week that he was hoping that these fringe players would make a statement against a strong South African side. He would have been disappointed,

Colin Slade buckled under the pressure, miscuing several tactical kicks and fluffing two shots at goal. He didn’t exude the same presence as Dan Carter in that crucial flyhalf position.

Neither the Boks nor the All Blacks will win the World Cup on the basis of this performance, but then the majority of this All Blacks side won’t feature in the big games. Come the World Cup, Carter, Richie McCaw and the rest of the first-choice players will return. With the exception Schalk Burger, and the reinstatement of Butch James as the starting No 10, this Bok side can’t get any stronger.

Morne Steyn kept the Boks in front with a flawless kicking display, slotting four penalties and a drop goal in the first half. The drop goal ensured the Boks extended their lead, but was another example of the Boks’ desire to win at all costs. The Bok attack struggled to pressure the All Blacks and Steyn failed to get his outside backs away.

There were a few, however, who impressed on attack. Bismarck du Plessis showed yet again why he should start at the World Cup. The Bok scrum stood up to the much fancied Kiwis, while Du Plessis’ powerful carries gave the hosts plenty of impetus.

As a collective, the Boks were inconsistent on attack, and a defensive lapse led to an All Blacks try right before half-time. Richard Kahui sliced through the Bok backline and stepped around JP Pietersen to score. The Bok cover defence so nearly denied Kahui, but it would have been another example of desperation rather than a victory for a superior defensive system.

Habana denied Jimmy Cowan in this manner early in the second half, and this allowed the Boks to progress past the crucial period after half-time without conceding points. From there, it was more kicking for territory, squeezing the All Blacks and feeding off their opponents’ mistakes.

The All Blacks would have gained something positive from this hit-out, as several players got an opportunity to play after returning from serious injury. Slade’s performance, however, will worry Henry and confirm that the All Blacks still have no quality alternative to Carter.

The Boks may have obtained the desired result, but should also be worried. They’ve added nothing to their attacking game, a fact confirmed by their failure to score a try for the second game in succession.

Steyn kicked all 18 of their points, but they will need to present more of a try-scoring threat if they are going to challenge a full-strength New Zealand and Australia at the World Cup. They will now look to improve during the pool stages of the global tournament itself, but there’s been little to suggest they will move away from a predominantly defensive mindset.

2,656 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1154 » Show All

• 1.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

BOKKEEEEEEEEE.

• 2.cab: Reply to this comment

Dragons what need a win.

• 3.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Getting sleepy……………….. C”MON BLACK !!!!!

• 4.balsak: Reply to this comment

does anybody have a good link to watch the game?

• 5.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-3: What is it like 1am there now?

• 6.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@balsak(balsak)-4: Try vipstand.net

• 7.chch: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-3:

hehe, I was going to take a nap but that always goes badly

• 8.Caper: Reply to this comment

Only chance the Boks have is if we destroy them upfront.

C’mon Bissie, Guthro, Bakkies, Alberts – toughen up!

• 9.chch: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-5:
    Yes, 1:20am

• 10.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-9: Almost time. Hang in there.

• 11.gerhard: Reply to this comment

Boks should win , just get Fourie du Preez to concentrate on the game and not on the ref

• 12.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-5:

11.26 pm, I’m in Aus.
    Whats the time there?

• 13.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-7:

I’m to excited to sleep hehe.

• 14.Puma: Reply to this comment

GO BOKKE GO.

• 15.chch: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-12:
    Where in Aus?

• 16.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Caper(Caper)-8:

I reckon 23-17 to the Boks, Boks o strong up front, too many untried combinations in the ABs. Please let me be wrong :-)

• 17.balsak: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-6: AWESOME, THANKS!!

• 18.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-15:

Gold Coast. Cold today, down to about 20, howz it in ChCh :-)

• 19.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-12: 3:30pm

• 20.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-3: Ag, just have a damn strong coffee……hehehe. Will wake you up a bit.

Enjoy the game mate.

• 21.cab: Reply to this comment

messam’s pretty good, he reminds me a bit of corne krige, tough and sometimes even dirty, but on the smallish side for a modern flanker.

• 22.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@balsak(balsak)-17: Jy’s welkom. They start about a minute or two before kick-off.

• 23.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Alberts is going to be a monster.
    Mark my words

• 24.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-19: @Puma(Puma)-20:

Thanks guys, I will, hope you enjoy the game as well, ABs V Boks, nothing better.

• 25.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Argies looking up for it !

• 26.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-23:

I rate him, better all round game than Spies IMHO

• 27.chch: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-18:
    I am in Hamilton at the moment. I lived in Brisvagas for a while.

• 28.cab: Reply to this comment

NZ shouldve played Jane at 14 and Ice at 15 with Franks at 3 rather than Afoa – i think we can take them, but all hell could break loose if SBW and Kahui go into overdrive, throw Jane in that mix and could be in deep **** if they get into frontfoot ball off the backs of Woodchop, Kevvy and Kaino,

• 29.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-20:
    My dad had a convertibale growing up.
    He drove a beachbuggy
    So many memories going to KP in that tjor.
    Lekker.

• 30.chch: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-28:

Franks at 3 and Toeava watching from New Zealand would be a good selection IMO

• 31.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Well done to all black supporters staying awake to watch the game, luckily you can sleep right after the game and when you wake up the next day it would have felt like a bad dream! Haha GO BOKKE!

• 32.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-27:

Howz the weather there at the mo, sheeesh.

• 33.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-24: Nothing better. Enjoy the game. Hope its a good, injury free game.

• 34.chch: Reply to this comment

Is anyone else laughing at Arsenal. Everything is going wrong for them and it is just friggen hilarious.

• 35.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-27:
    Why are you not in Rotovegas?

• 36.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-35:

Rotovegas…hehe.

• 37.chch: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-32:

Has been ok but I would rather be in the South Island right now (where most of the snow is). At least I can go and watch Canterbury play the BOP next week

• 38.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-28:

“This team can and will take any team anywhere”, now its a “I think we can take them”?

• 39.chch: Reply to this comment

They sarcastically call this place The Tron

• 40.cab: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-30:
    yeah Toeva’s posi is centre, but i still think he;s better than dagg, just amazing bursty pace and eplosive power. Jane is the most skillful of the lot. Put him on one wing and the expert finisher Gear on the other, and its better than the A side.

• 41.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Please please no more of your NZ travel stories I’ll fall asleep before kick off.

• 42.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

KZ7

the weather here in Auckalofa has been sensational – cloudless warmish & sunny ! Nip in the air at night, just enough to keep the ants at bay. I cant believe this is still ‘Winter’, it feels like a London mid-Summer to me…..

• 43.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-37:
    how is my most loved place out of sa doing?
    want to spend some time there in sept next year just to put some money into the economy.

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-29: Howzit Fern,

Now beachbuggy brings back memories….hahaha. You hardly see any these days, actuall I never do. Those days plenty.

KP the best place to watch rugby. Best atmosphere out of all our stadiums. Love it.

Now out of here otherwise won’t get a good seat at the club.

Catch up later Fern. Cheers buddy.

Go Bokke Go.

• 45.cab: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-38:
    oh no i still believe this team at its peak with our best players all ready for selection and played in in time for the RWC, can and will take anybody, you can hold me to it – whose gonna bring it up if the Bokke put the ABs out in the semis?

• 46.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-42:

KZ 7, LOL. You know when I picked that name I had forgotten all about that Black Magic. Another piece of sporting greatness.
    My niece in Auckalofa-hehe, told me it was snowing the other day!

• 47.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-45:

Don’t worry I intend to.

• 48.chch: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-40:
    Surely you mean explosive brain not explosive pace. Oh and crappy defence.

• 49.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

You are the Plastic Fantastic

don’t get confused, Ladies…

• 50.cab: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-47:
    jeezus, well u boys werent bringing it up much apart from vitriol towards poor old barnesey last time out.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1154 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.