The squad you won’t see
23 Aug 2011
We’ve told you who is likely to make the Springboks World Cup squad, now keo.co.za’s writers pick their preferred 30 as well as their match 22 for the opener against Wales.
KEO’S WORLD CUP SQUAD - Keo believes his squad is so good it needs no elaboration. He picks Johann Sadie and Schalk Brits, while forgotten man Joe van Niekerk makes a shock return from Toulon. Bryan Habana makes his squad, but only as the world’s most decorated tackle bag holder.
Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Pat Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.
Forwards: (16): Pierre Spies, Joe van Niekerk, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (c), Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.
Keo’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Schalk Brits, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
JC’S WORLD CUP SQUAD JC cuts John Smit and picks Schalk Brits. Lwazi Mvovo gets handed a ticket to New Zealand and Bryan Habana has to watch from the stands.
Backs (14): Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Pat Lambie, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Frans Steyn, Gio Aplon.
Forwards (16): Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Schalk Brits, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Johann Muller, Heinrich Brussow, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw.
JC’s 22 to face Wales: 15 Frans Steyn, 15 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Pierre Spies, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.
VREDE’S WORLD CUP SQUAD Simple for Vrede really, no place for Smit in the squad (Victor Matfield gets the captaincy) and Bryan Habana is relegated to the bench for the Test against Wales. Schalk Brits cracks the nod, as does Johann Sadie. Francois Louw is in as cover for Heinrich Brüssow.
Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Patrick Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.
Forwards (16): Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.
Vrede’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jacque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bryan Habana.

956 Comments
23 Aug 2011, 10:18 am
Dragon blind squad
23 Aug 2011, 10:22 am
keo….J Smit!!!!
You losing points you wally….going all politically correct? On what basis choose the fat boy over Bissy? Makes o rugby sense…..at all….and if you dont know it I suggest you have your head read.
23 Aug 2011, 10:23 am
Brits over Smit and these idiots want to be taken seriously? I don’t believe it. More sensationalism designed to generate hits, and I just fell for it
23 Aug 2011, 10:27 am
My first thought upon reading this headline was: “Boy, this is going to be interesting,” in the same way as a road accident scene is interesting but nauseating.
And indeed, I was not wrong.
JC’s squad is a typical mix and match stew that will flop spectacularly.
Keo brings in his lovechild Big Joe, but apparently only to give him a freebie World Cup on his resume, much like Skinstad got in 2007, as he doesn’t even feature in the match day 22.
Ryan stubbornly sticks to his “Butch James WILL be the first choice flyhalf” line, in an apparent desperate hope that by repeating it enough times it will make it so. Talk about the power of positive thinking shaping your reality.
I think not, Ryan.
And Schalk Brits. Hehe.
Seems like all three of them are on that bandwagon, when our two World Cup hookers should be Bismark and Adriaan Strauss, on merit.
Anyway, thankfully for us these three stooges are not picking the World Cup squad, and that says a lot, considering the ability of the three stooges who ARE picking the squad.
23 Aug 2011, 10:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-2:
Or it means you need yours read. Thinking you know better than PDV or Keo (far closer to the people that matter in rugby than you ever will be).
Vrede and JC jump on the drop Smit bandwand – spineless
Worst case i’d start Bissie and use Smit as a substite. At least then if Bissie gets a yellow card or Victor loses his cool with the ref you have options.
23 Aug 2011, 10:28 am
Or Bissie is throwing in like he did Saturday as well might need to be subbed.
23 Aug 2011, 10:29 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-3:
me 2 but not posting again. waste of time
23 Aug 2011, 10:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4: MAAK ALMAL DIE BULLE BOKKE!
23 Aug 2011, 10:31 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-5: Bissie and yellow cards go together like a horse and carriage
23 Aug 2011, 10:32 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-7: Nah but I enjoy winding Grant up about Smit and Bissie. Good fun in good nature
23 Aug 2011, 10:33 am
my dream starting 22
1 guthro
2 bissy
3 jannie
4 bakkies
5 matfield
6 brussow
7 schalk
8 alberts
9 fdp
10 butch
11 habana
12 jdj
13 jf
14 jpp
15 F Steyn
16 chilliboy
17 mujati
18 beast
19 d rossow
20 jvn
21 f hougaard
22 m steyn
23 Aug 2011, 10:34 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-5:
Options? I suppose Smit gives us options, as long as the crew of the Yushin Maru dont’ stop over in NZ for some shore leave and a World Cup game on their way back from Antarctic waters. In that case they may be overcome by a case of harpoon fever when Smit runs on.
Hey, wait a minute. Are you part of the Sea Sheperd society? That would explain your vehement posts in defense of the indefensible in respect to this topic.
23 Aug 2011, 10:34 am
plod would make my bok team as supersport commentator….
23 Aug 2011, 10:35 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-8:
say no more lmao
23 Aug 2011, 10:35 am
Suddenly I am glad P Divvy is our coach and not one of these three morons.
23 Aug 2011, 10:36 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-8: I don’t get you picking Schalk when he’s untested at this level of late, I know you guys love him but if you wanted another hooker in place of John then Chilli or Adriaan would be the best bet, Both have experience with the systems and playeIs.
Also Sadie is a good player, but he is unlikely to get game time so it’s not the biggest risk to pick a player like that. I wouldn’t, but I would pick him before Adi or Wynand Olivier, So as a replacement for 13 then I guess he’s as good as any,
The big question is, who would you play if Jaque Fourie got injured? JDJ? or Sadie?
23 Aug 2011, 10:36 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-8:
boet elstadt is injured, and keo where is your other love child luke watson??
flippen hell i hope jc never coaches any side in his life
23 Aug 2011, 10:37 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-10:
Irratates the **** out of me
so narrow minded.
Smit is getting better and better with each game he is given game time at hooker. The guy was a prop then injured then a prop/hooker and now a hooker.
The oke is superman but unappreciated
Look how FDP is playing post injury. Takes time to get back to your best. Spies is finally recovering as well. Thank god.
Bissie is good though so I see why people back him. His temperament for a WC worries me, but is work rate is high and offers almost an expect loosie at ruck time which no other hooker in SA offers except maybe Ralepelle.
@Helen(Helen)-15: or most of the blogging morons
gee bad typing sorry. “Offers almost another loosie at ruck time”
23 Aug 2011, 10:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-11:
fortunately you don’t get to pick the team swampie.
Schalk Brits???? !! on as loosie cover? C’mon! on what grounds? … or do you intend subbing the hooker twice in a game? That will make Mealamu giggle out loud
@Helen(Helen)-15:
haahahahahahahahaha flippen spot on man
23 Aug 2011, 10:39 am
Between Grant and I we could do 1000 hits for Keo on this topic
anyway – i must pull myself away.
23 Aug 2011, 10:40 am
keo, do you owe Joe v Niekerk money?
must admit at least these okes dont want habana in their side, u must actually listen to us after all lol
@Ryan(Ryan)-8:
Better than “Make all the Keo bookdeal candidates” Bokke.
23 Aug 2011, 10:41 am
JP Pietersen over Bryan Habana?
Did you guys even watch the game on Saturday?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: Heeeelllooooo sweetie!
to take someone like sadie now , and yes an excellent player , would be silly , he has no test experience at all , not even a warm up
schalk britz?? on what basis????
23 Aug 2011, 10:42 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-27: That is the answer to all the new inclusions mate, Hit the nail on the head.
23 Aug 2011, 10:42 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-18: Smittie played damn well when he came on. Bissie wrecked havoc in the first half. I like the idea of Smit coming off the bench. Just as the opposition scrum starts to tire, on comes the better scrummager and they experience turbo-reverse in 5th gear
I’d love to see Burger at 7 except for two things – Burger hasn’t played at 7 for ages and was **** for it at the Stormers 3 seasons ago, and Sprout needs two strong ball carriers to operate effectively (Alberts and Spies). Spies is also a better lineout option than Burger and Alberts surely cannot be left out; the guy is a rampaging bull (and not in the falseto Pretoria sense either).
23 Aug 2011, 10:43 am
@Helen(Helen)-29: hello Dahlink!
Enjoyed your squad pick on the other thread. Pretty much spot on I think.
shalk britz cant cut it in the southern hemisphere what will make him do it now all of a sudden?? jean was kak after returining from that standard of rugby, schalk britz will be kak too, though he could bring the water and kicking tee to da feel in lightning speeds never seen b4……mmmmm….
Upon reflection this must be the most accurate heading that’s ever appeared above an article on this site.
23 Aug 2011, 10:44 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12: I take PdV’s selections over the three wannabe stooges any day of the week.
Sadie’s selection is understandable, but not as visionary as you intended it to be.
You have me thinking a bit about Hougaard though. Yes, perhaps a better wing than Habana… other than that your teams are just a little very much stupid.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-35: ROFLMAO
23 Aug 2011, 10:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-11:
I actually agree with your team except Smit for Ralepelle now. Ralepelle post WC (ok a lot of changes post WC anyway)
I would play Burger at 8 and Alberts at 7. Burger almost plays like an 8 these days anyway.
I hope Frans Steyn gives us some decent games. I used to love the guy, but having my doubts of late. Wish he’d had more Bok game time in the last 2 years.
But I guess it was good to give Aplon experience etc
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-27: Not true. Luke isn’t in any squad.
@Helen(Helen)-25: \
Big Joe saved keo’s life in france in 2007.
Keo neary got decapitated by a turnstile at the Louvre
Big joe pulled him clear just in time.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-30: I agree with you. You have enough centre cover in JDJ, Butch and Lambie IMO.
What people forget is that if you are hit by a crucial injury that required the player to fly home then you can fly out a replacement.
So with that in mind I would pick the squad that will play, in the pool and knockout phases. For me JDJ covers both 12 and 13 and will probably get game time in both of these postions, with JDV and JF being rested for a game or 2, but come the NB games it’s pretty much Saturday’s team, with Frans in at 15 and Schalk in at 7. Alberts to the bench and Johnson out. Lambie on the bench for me.
How would you play it?
23 Aug 2011, 10:47 am
keo……big joe????? plz plz plz explain im dying to here this
23 Aug 2011, 10:47 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-40: So you admit then that Luke is a book deal candidate?
23 Aug 2011, 10:48 am
@Ryan(Ryan)-40:
Glad to see even you guys refuse to cross the line from the outrageous to the absurd.
@Gunther(gunther)-21: hey….n donkie is n wonderlike ding
I understand why people want Morne in and some don’t and ever John Smit but how does CJ van der Linde keep making peoples teams and how does he make the real Bok team? He is K@K.
23 Aug 2011, 10:49 am
Keo, just a word to the wise. You can’t spend the rest of your life b i t c h i n g and moaning about P Divvy if this is the kind of team you’ll pick.
Lay off our coaches from now on, secure in the knowledge that you really can’t do any better and if you were coach, you’d be ripped to shreds within a new york minute! On that score, P Divvy is a better man than you.
@JA-JA(JA-JA)-47: * sorry ment to say UBER K@K
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-33: get a room you two
@Michael(mikeybrass)-32:
99% agree with you.
My heart says start SMit but yes, i will cave a little and agree as sub. I like your arguement for that more
Bissie is younger, more mobile and in the prime of his life. Next WC he might not be in such a position and might have lost the chance to show his full worth at a WC.
If Victor can keep his cool then I am a happy chappie with him as captain, he definitely has the respect of his players. With Smit on the bench we can bring him on to bring calm at any time if needed.
@Mike H(Mike H)-24: pull yourself towards yourself
23 Aug 2011, 10:50 am
@Gunther(gunther)-41: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha….
23 Aug 2011, 10:51 am
Keo, are you planning to make a move on Big Joe’s mom?
@Ryan(Ryan)-40:
ryan how could u?? u only have 7 players of colour hahahaha
Breaking News:Francois Louw is in the squad,Mvovo has missed out.There are only 7 players of colour in the squad.
These so called journos are a bunch of clowns… even worse than Pdiv.
The quality of journalism on this site is so pathetic, that most of the time I don’t even read what these fools have to say and find the comments section from the regular posters more interesting.
23 Aug 2011, 10:52 am
Come on you three. We have a settled squad who have almost all been there and done that. It now comes down to execution. Having these changes you lot talk about would do nothing more then ‘unsettle’ the team. Biggest load of crock this article.
And Habana again proved what a good player he is. NZers commentators said it this way. “They NEVER give him the ball, but he does a good job looking for it”. Not to mention Habana is in your face as a winger, and he can have breakout moments. Don’t tell me Francois Hougaard is a try-scorer. That’s a laugh.
Expected more insight from you three. Especially Cardinelli.
23 Aug 2011, 10:53 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-43:
I’ll repeat it for you.
Big Joe saved keo’s life in france in 2007.
Keo neary got decapitated by a turnstile at the Louvre
Big joe pulled him clear just in time.
It’s mancode. They are now brothers for life.
23 Aug 2011, 10:53 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-51: agree. Vic deserves a stint as SA captain.
My only concern is that he tends to get quite emotional with refs when decisions are not going his way. It unsettles the team and doesn’t endear him to the ref … or fans. Other than that, he was the leader that took the Bulls to 3 x TN titles, a few CC’s and led from the front in that 96 – 17 demolition of the Reds when it was needed.
23 Aug 2011, 10:54 am
Hello Muppits,
Here’s the explanation for my World Cup picks that was too long to be included in the main piece.
The biggest call I’d make would be to install Victor Matfield as captain and Bismarck du Plessis as the Springboks’ premier hooker. John Smit will go down in history as the Boks’ finest and most decorated captain, but there’s no getting around the fact that he can no longer offer the team as much as Du Plessis in a starting capacity or play any sort of impact role from the bench. I’d pick Chiliboy Ralepelle, who has enjoyed his best season to date, as Du Plessis’s understudy and hand the quintessential impact player, Schalk Brits, the third hooking berth.
Brits’s inclusion would effect the make-up of my forwards as a group. While he has proved that he can play a tighter role having excelled for Saracens in the forward-oriented northern hemisphere, he can also come off the bench to play as a loose forward in the dying stages. For this reason, I’d also include him as a loose forward option, and thus pick only five ‘specialist’ loose forwards in the squad.
Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts and Schalk Burger would be my starting loose trio with Pierre Spies the impact option from the bench. Brussow is an important player in the context of the Bok game plan, but at present there is no other player in the wider Bok group capable of playing a similar role. I’d recall Francois Louw and take him to the World Cup as a back up to Brüssow. Louw was again one of the standouts in the Super Rugby tournament, and it never made sense to select the ill-disciplined Deon Stegmann ahead of Louw in the Tri-Nations.
I wouldn’t pick Danie Rossouw as a loose forward. He can slot in at blindside flank or No 8 in an emergency, but the recent Tri-Nations showed that he lacks the pace to be a real force in those positions. Play him as a No 4 lock. He excelled in that position when Bakkies Botha was unavailable for much of the 2010 season. He would offer more value at No 4 and has the experience of winning the World Cup, not to mention the experience of playing a number of Super Rugby and Test matches alongside Matfield.
The Boks have no quality alternative to Matfield given that Andries Bekker is unavailable. Johann Muller travelled to the last World Cup as Matfield’s understudy and should do so again on this occasion, but if Matfield goes down with injury, the Boks’ lineout won’t be as imposing.
Beast Mtawarira and Gurthro Steenkamp should goes as the looseheads, with CJ van der Linde offering more experience than form as an alternative tighthead option. It’s disappointing that Saru was never able to clear Brian Mujati for selection. In his absence, Jannie du Plessis will be the first-choice tighthead.
The utility value of Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie and Francois Hougaard shapes my selection of the 14 players in the backs. Du Preez should be the starting scrumhalf with Pienaar providing cover on the bench. Butch James is the best pivot South Africa have at their disposal, while Morne Steyn has done enough to be included in the squad as an experienced back-up. Pienaar and Lambie are further options at flyhalf.
Hougaard is primarily a scrumhalf, but has turned in some terrific performances on the wing for the Bulls over the last few seasons. I’d pick him ahead of Habana, as Hougaard has that gamebreaking quality that Habana has been missing since the 2007 World Cup. The other wings that should travel to New Zealand are JP Pietersen and the underrated Lwazi Mvovo.
The three Stormers centres will feature, with the old firm of Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie holding sway in the starting line-up. Juan de Jongh provides a great alternative to Fourie at No 13, while the Boks have two good alternatives to De Villiers at No 12. Frans Steyn won the last World Cup playing in that position, while Lambie can slot in if required.
There’s no space for Lambie in my match 22 at this stage. Frans Steyn would still be my first-choice fullback, while Gio Aplon would offer the Boks more in that position during the second half when the game opens up. It’s also a period where players like De Jongh, Spies and Pienaar will come into their own.
23 Aug 2011, 10:55 am
@Helen(Helen)-54: I actually know Joe’s mom. I’m laughing thinking about that scenario……
@Gunther(gunther)-59:
i thought he maybe saved him by ripping away a french chocolate crossant from his mouth while keo is on this diet
@Helen(Helen)-54:
she has about 3 feet on keo.
I think, logistically, it’s a tall order.
Smit is a given. For him not to be there is as unlikely as an announcement that the team will travel to NZ by ship to avoid any jetlag.
23 Aug 2011, 10:57 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-42: bro my team might differ a little as we are touring and the conditions there might want more for bulky players
15 Steyn
14 JPP
13 JFourie
12 JDVilliers
11 Habana
10 Butch
09 FDup
08 ALberts
07 Schalk
06 Brussow
05 Matfield
04 Bakkies
03 JAnnie
02 Bismark
01 Beast
16 Smitty
17 Gurthro
18 BJ
19 Russouw
20 Deysel
21 Hougaard covers 9,13,11 or 14
22 Lambie covers 10,12,15
23 Aug 2011, 10:58 am
@Helen(Helen)-60: more .i agree js is not in my eyes getting beterat anything,he must stay on the bench or in the bus,nothing happened when he came on ,on saterdays games,he is no supersub,sorry
23 Aug 2011, 10:59 am
@Helen(Helen)-60:
Yes indeed
I agree he has achieved a hell of a lot and has been one of the finest players ever produced in SA. He probably should have been man of the tournament in 2007 as well.
He kept his cool on Saturday and actually did a great job, I just hope when the pressure is on he can do it.
He is not at home in front of a crowd that loves him but in hostile NZ.
23 Aug 2011, 11:00 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-65:
If they DO travel by ship, our only option then is to bring it to the attention of the Yushin Maru and hope they plot an intercept course somewhere in the Southern Indian Ocean.
ill be really pissed if deysel doesnt make the squad tonight and louw does
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-66:
Never thought I’d agree with you, but thats the exact 22 I’d go for!
23 Aug 2011, 11:01 am
@JC(JC)-61:
Aplon instead of Lambie????
Now, that is is forward thinking. NOT.
Again, I am soooo very happy that P Divvy is our coach.
The Brits argument is so weak.
@JC(JC)-61: sorry ,i dont agree on brits,wat van straus of liebenberg.those are strong men ,who runs the kak out of anyone,to me that is a beter choice
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-71: why ty young man lol
23 Aug 2011, 11:02 am
@JC(JC)-61: I don’t agree with the Schalk option personally, but you make at least a logical point.
A question for you though: We all know that the wales game is vital and so the best possible 22 will likely be chosen. The real question will be how you play the squad in the other pool games. Will you play a guy like Brits as a loosie or will you stick with your other guys? This may leave you at risk of overplaying your “A” team loose forwards.
Unless you feel, as some do, that we really need to play our A team each game to give them syenrgy and momentum come the knockout phases. In that case then the squad players and not really squad players but rather injury cover?
Keen to hear your thoughts,
Oh and whilst I don;t agree with some of your choices of combo’s (Butch for example) they will definately be in the squad and may well get to play.
23 Aug 2011, 11:02 am
Exhibit A:
how little these hacks really know about rugby!
What the hell do they have against JP Pietersen, apart looking slighty dodgy at 15 on the weekend, he has had an awesome season
23 Aug 2011, 11:03 am
@Helen(Helen)-72: i cant believe that anyone would say that they are HAPPY that peter is our coach,cant believe
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-62: Heeeellloooo sweetie!
No bolter is needed in this squad.
No need to select Sadie.
It is not a requisite rule to pick a bolter,the most settled squad do the best.Last time we selected a bolter we went out in GF stage-2003 WC-Danie Rossouw selection after Staaldraad/GeoGate.
My RWC 30
1.Mtawarira,Guthro
2.Bismark,Strauss,Rallapelle
3.Jannie,Mujati
4.Bakkies,Mostert
5.Matfield,Rossouw
6.Brussow,Burger
7.Alberts.Johnson
8.Spies
16 forwards
9.Du Preez,Hougaard,Pienaar
10.Butch,Morne
11.Habana,Mvovo
12.De Villiers,F.Steyn
13.Fourie,de Jongh
14.JPP
15.Lambie,Aplon
14 backs
@WP_(WP_)-76: agree
23 Aug 2011, 11:04 am
@WP_(WP_)-76: JPP is prolly still the best wing in SA
Habana has atlast found form ,i am happy for the bloke
23 Aug 2011, 11:05 am
@WP_(WP_)-76:
from a sharks fan here i think jp has had a weak season, when last did u c him carry the ball with intent? he never runs as fast as he can he always tends to loaf around and is honestly in **** shape, but he does have the talent so ill do what i can to bak him and hope he plays the way we know he can come wc
I see JC and Brits
Sitting in a tree
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-66:
BJ Botha is out of the World Cup. Stick Alberts on the bench and start Spies and I think you have it 100% correct.
23 Aug 2011, 11:07 am
@Gunther(gunther)-59: That is classic!
23 Aug 2011, 11:08 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:
ffuck tac!…some days i’m indifferent on you and some days not, but that post was hilarious……
So, if these men (I use the word loosely) were to have their way, we’d have Big Joe and Prett Boy Brits back in the squad.
This after they have not been invovlved in the team for YEARS!!
In that event, why not pick Cobus Visagie and Mark Andrews??
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-79: Hiyas Mshini
I put BJ as i thought and still think Mujato is unavailable???
and instead of AJ i would have Deysel
other then that my squad would be the same, and of course i would choose Mujati if he is available
23 Aug 2011, 11:09 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-66: I can see that team as well. As you know we’ll differ here and there on one or 2 players, be it Alberts or Pierre, or Butch or Morne, or FLO or Jean. All are good players.
I’d be happy with Alberts before Pierre, and if Deysel goes it wouldn’t be a train wreck even if it wouldn’t be the way I’d choose it.
Butch vs Morne is also a marginal call for me, so ja it’s not like I’m absolutely convinced on the 10 slot, even though I’d still go with Morne, for the reasons you’d go with Alberts, Heavy fields and kicking will play a role like it did on Saturday.
For me saturday gave us the blueprint on how to beat the AB’s, We’ll have to execute it better against the ‘Blacks A team, but that is likely to be the basic game plan.
Against Wales it may be a different story however. Howver Ias a starting team I’d go with the team that I intend playing against the AB’s in the semis (assuming it goes that way) and get them to build synergy and momentum.
For that reason I’d start with Morne.
23 Aug 2011, 11:09 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-84: i can still live with that
and i had no idea BJ is out
guess we will have to see tonight lol
23 Aug 2011, 11:10 am
@Duke01(Duke01)-77: The same way I am happy to eat day old Big Macs if the alternative is a t u r d from a big black alsation
23 Aug 2011, 11:11 am
@Helen(Helen)-78: Hello Dahlink.
I already greeted you on the previous page though. I’m dissapointed that you didn’t see that,
I feel like we’re drifting apart.
23 Aug 2011, 11:12 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-84: my reasoning for alberts is this, defense he is far better and stronger in the ball carrying dept , he also cleans out rucks better
yes speed?? that is spies’s dept lol
23 Aug 2011, 11:12 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-81: Yeah, I;d still say Habana and JP are our best two wings. Habs has had a dodgy season at times but he looks like he’s getting back to his best of late… I hope it continues
23 Aug 2011, 11:13 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-89: agreed boet ,
23 Aug 2011, 11:13 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-90:
BJ hurt himself over the weekend. Won’t be fit in time.
I’m open to Alberts at 8, but I think Spies has been a heck of a lot better these past 2 games, especially with getting go-forward ball. Therefore I’d go Spies because he also owes us something amazing. We all know he’s capable of it. Would rather pick Spies and have higher expectations.
23 Aug 2011, 11:15 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-96: thanks bro i didnt know ,
i’ll be the first to admit , Spies has been a hell of a lot better recently
23 Aug 2011, 11:15 am
@JC(JC)-61: great stuff JC….we very close to being on the same page….respect.
23 Aug 2011, 11:16 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-93:
I think Spies has will show up when it matters. He’s shown us at Super rugby level what he can do. He’s done it for the Bulls. And he’s definitely done it on occasions for the Springboks.
I’m banking on him having BMT. On playing well when it counts. He’s got the all the tools. And anyone suggesting he hasn’t been good these last 2 games either need to watch the games again or just clearly have a dislike of him
(not saying you do… just in general)
23 Aug 2011, 11:16 am
Another bullsh@t article! Thank goodness you guys have no say in SA rugby!
23 Aug 2011, 11:19 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92:
hardenthefuckup.
you keep making puppy eyes at helen and snowball is going to be jealous.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-97: @hendrikp(hendrikp)-99: ja, rewind 2 games and i would have dropped Spies like a hot potato, but he’s come on strong in the past 2 games and given us more than a glimpse of what we are all hoping he’s capable of,
If he continues along this vein he’ll be a great asset at 8 in out game plan.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-99: lol nope mate i have nothing against spies, i do however think defense has always been his weakness
23 Aug 2011, 11:20 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-88:
Howzit boet,never rated BJ,erratic at scrumtime as he cant either be dominant or his inward scrum style can be penalty central.In the loose and cleaning he is a liability-lacks mobility and size.If Mujati was/is unavailable would pick CJ who has looked better in recent weeks and because he can pack at 1/3.
Well you know me and you differ with Deysel,i prefer AJ as you well know.But either player wouldnt let their country down.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-69: Just lob CJvdL overboard and the Japanese will harpoon him for “research”.
@Gunther(gunther)-101:
23 Aug 2011, 11:21 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-82: interesting… yeah at times he seems a bit lazy but he’s got such a turn of speed and is normally decent on decent… I thought he had some good games for the Sharks like against the Waratahs and the Bulls towards the end of the season
23 Aug 2011, 11:23 am
With the mention of Johan Sadie and Schalk Brits it immediately became clear that this article can’t be taken seriously. Sadie from left field and Brits too to add to the already volatile hooker conundrum?
@Gunther(gunther)-101: @President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-106: No harm no foul.
Snowball can go find his own.
If you pick Frans Steyn you are not serious,
JdV has been our biggest problem in backs
Butch brings nothing except a stiff arm , we saw that against OZ
23 Aug 2011, 11:24 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16:
just gave me a bill cosby style hat attack…
when you said you don’t know why they’d pick schalk as he is untested lately at this level…
sheesh…
then i realised which schalk you referred to…
whew…!!
23 Aug 2011, 11:25 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-103:
Yup not much of a defender. But he’s improved a hell of a lot on that this season. Doesn’t miss near the amount of tackles he used to. Still a poor area of his game, but I’m willing to look past it because of his game-breaking ability
Thought Keo writers had more brains then this to be honest. Mark the only one with the common sense to see what dropping Smit would do to the team.
And they all leave Habana out? FFS if you don’t give the guy the ball how do you expect him to do much with it? He goes looking for it… and still scored a few tries in the S15 by doing things you will not see from other wingers… like tacking a quick tap from a penalty and driving over.
If Habana qualified for the All Blacks right now they’d be all over him. Really can’t see what he’s done to deserve this sort of treatment.
23 Aug 2011, 11:25 am
@WP_(WP_)-107:
ya tru those two games u meantioned he did play well but other then that….nothing….sad he never gives it his all, and imho id go with a odwa ahead of him if i had to, odwa might be half the player with half the skill set but that oke gives it his all each and every time
23 Aug 2011, 11:26 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-103: Spies must be used for his strenghts , with Burger with him tackling won’t be an issue, Alberts was a bit dissapointing against AB’s
15: F. Steyn
14: L. Mvovo
13:J. Fourie
12: J de Villiers
11:J Sadie
10: Butch
9: S. Pretorius
8: J. Strauss
7: B. du Plessis
6: H. Brussouw
5: V. Matfield
4: B. Botha
3: J. du Plessis
2: J. Smit
1: C. Oosthuizen
@ufo(ufo)-111:
Sorry for that.
23 Aug 2011, 11:27 am
@WP_(WP_)-107:
basically jp knows he is always going to be picked so he knows he can just loaf till he gets to wear the bok jersey
23 Aug 2011, 11:27 am
WP_’s 22 to face Wales – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Butch James, 22 Patrick Lambie
Who’s with me?
23 Aug 2011, 11:28 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-105:
cj sushi rolls…
23 Aug 2011, 11:29 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-113: to be fair, with centres like bosman and oupa terblanche he doesnt get much good front forward ball to work with
23 Aug 2011, 11:30 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-112:
me too…
but don’t worry… come world cup time… habana IS gonna make everyone eat their words…
just watch…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-116:
no need to be… i’m wide awake now…
23 Aug 2011, 11:30 am
@WP_(WP_)-118: That would be my 22 as well.
23 Aug 2011, 11:32 am
My 22 to face Wales, or anybody when full strength.
1 Beast Mtawarira 2 Bismarck du Plessis 3 Jannie du Plessis 4 Bakkies Botha 5 Victor Matfield 6 Heinrich Brussow 7 Schalk Burger 8 Pierre Spies 9 Fourie du Preez 10 Morne Steyn (he can threaten the line. We’ve scored tries with him before. It’s game plan that needs tweaking) 11 Bryan Habana 12 Jean de Villiers 13 Jaque Fourie 14 JP Pietersen 15 Francois Steyn.
Bench 16 Gurthro Steenkamp 17 John Smit (c) 18 CJ van der Linde 19 Danie Rossouw 20 Willem Alberts 21 Francois Hougaard 22 Pat Lambie.
23 Aug 2011, 11:32 am
@ufo(ufo)-111:
I know exactly how you feel.
I dream that they picked brok at 3 for the boks.
my chest was tighter than natalie portman’s.
23 Aug 2011, 11:33 am
@WP_(WP_)-118: not me…
23 Aug 2011, 11:33 am
@WP_(WP_)-118:
Swap John and Bismarck, and put Gurthro on the bench instead of Butch. Then I’m with you
23 Aug 2011, 11:34 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-122: I like Butch, but I reckon in tight play off games you have to have a ultra reliable goal kicker. One kick could win the match…
I know Wales isnt a play off game but still. Also, I think I’d start Butch in one or both of the games v Fiji or Samoa where a more physical, direct approach at 10 is required and to give him a chance
23 Aug 2011, 11:36 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-126: Thing is, then you have John as Tighthead cover and that is a real worry for me. You almost have to have 2 props and a hooker on the bench then which means a 5-2 split.
23 Aug 2011, 11:37 am
@grant10(grant10)-125: haha, GrantyBoy how could I guess. Ignore the no.2 possy, anfd then?
Besides, in that side John would come off at 50 odd mins for Bissy to play impact, he does such a good impact role I reckon it would suit the team better given that, no matter how much you try to deny it, Smit will be in the 22
But even so, I wouldnt mind bringing on John for the last quarter for the cool head and stability…
23 Aug 2011, 11:38 am
@WP_(WP_)-127:
Yup. We need Morne to slot the important ones.
23 Aug 2011, 11:38 am
@WP_(WP_)-127: Agree. I’d also be picking my team with a view on building momentum for the likely semi clash with the AB’s and as Saturday showed, there is a specific game plan that we need to play against the AB’s, and Morne (if he plays well and the forwards give him the time that any flyhalf needs) is the guy for that game plan.
23 Aug 2011, 11:39 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-126: Yeah, if you want the 5-2 split then I would do the same with Lambie covering 10,12,15..
23 Aug 2011, 11:39 am
@Gunther(gunther)-124: Gee wiz. Brock and Natalie in the same post.
i may have to excuse myself for a bit….
23 Aug 2011, 11:40 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128:
Exactly. I’d go 5 – 2 split. We need that extra bit from the forwards coming off the bench anyway, and our back reserves are versatile.
23 Aug 2011, 11:42 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-131: Yup agree with that, and he seems to enjoy playing the AB’s… A simlar game plan worked in 09 when we beat the AB’s 3-0, and that was with Morne at 10. It’s the only way we can beat them, so why shouldnt we use it
23 Aug 2011, 11:43 am
Keo and cronies should change their names to ‘Butch James fan club’! Morne must start with Lambie at full back and Bismark at hooker. Hougaard is the only player in the backline who looks like doing anything, but I think maybe as an impact player, although he forgot he was playing wing a few times on Saturday!
23 Aug 2011, 11:44 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-134: Yip actually reread your post and that’s basically what you said, Sorry, thought you meant Gurthro in for CJ, not for Butch.
@WP_(WP_)-135: I don’t think we gave the structure or game plan to play any other way effectively . I just hope Morne can replicate his form away from “home”. It has been an issue before.
23 Aug 2011, 11:44 am
@WP_(WP_)-129: for me I woulnt contemplate any Bok game without Bissy / Brussow….they are the keys to a succesful bok defence imho.
I would take plod as commentator……sky sports….
23 Aug 2011, 11:45 am
What if we have Butch and we don’t score tries? Then we’re stuck with an unreliable goalkicker. Hmm
23 Aug 2011, 11:46 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137: *gave = have.
23 Aug 2011, 11:46 am
What about Bismark at 7?
23 Aug 2011, 11:47 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-123: I can’t get used to this idea where the bracketed c is named on the bench.
And Aplon for JP would be my only change
23 Aug 2011, 11:47 am
Sigh.
Thanks for spelling out the joke I’ve semi-subtly been trying to make about John Smit on two attempts now.
It seems subtlety is wasted on this bunch.
23 Aug 2011, 11:48 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-143:
Subtlety or subtleness. Don’t know which one is the correct term.
23 Aug 2011, 11:48 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-142:
Team captain. Matfield makes the decisions on the field.
23 Aug 2011, 11:49 am
@grant10(grant10)-138: haha, good humour . Would make quite a good commetator i think…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137: Ya his kicking percentages seem to go down overseas, but he has put in good perfomrances overseas, so i’m hoping he’s hitting form at just the right time!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-139:
What? With Butch there we will be such a huge threat on attack that we will score 18 points against the All Blacks with tries alone.
Get with the program, man!
@Darryl(Darryl)-141: why?
23 Aug 2011, 11:50 am
@Darryl(Darryl)-141:
Can forget about line-outs then.
23 Aug 2011, 11:51 am
@WP_(WP_)-146: Holding thumbs!!!!
Hardly inventive just for the sake of being different…. my boring pick…
15 Gio… (run holes through the opposition… F Steyn to sub later on in case we need some long range droppies)
14 JPP… (but will send him with a grenade in his pocket)
13 Jaque “The Greatest ‘Who me’…? Thank you!” Fourie
12 JdV
11 Habanista
10 Morne
9 FdP
8 Willem
7 Schalk
6 The Manoeuvre
5 Big Vic
4 Big Buck
3 JdP
2 JS (believe he’s still great at 2 and Bissie can sub when things are looser and have a huge impact)
1 Beast
Bench: French Steyn; Francois ‘Attitude’ Hougaard; Pat ‘The Lion’ Lambie; CJ ‘Both Sides’ van der Linde, Bismarck ‘Scowler’ Du Plessis, Gurthro ‘The Law’ Steenkamp, Danie ‘Old Man RIver’ Rossouw,
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-145:
I figured as much but still looks and feels odd. Damn you Pieter!
23 Aug 2011, 11:52 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-143: haha, my mate was on the sea shepherd boat, the steve irwin, for the last two seasons filming the lefties throwing stinkbombs at the **** for animal planet.
he enjoyed it immensly but felt that the lack of meat and the hairy chicks could do with some improving.
its subtlety.
subtleness is actually spelled suppleness and is an admirable trait in certain demographics…
23 Aug 2011, 11:53 am
Tackles made and Missed
Habs 8-0
FdP 6-2
Bakkies 9-1
Bissy 7-0
VM 16-1
Bruss 15-3
Alberts 13-1
Spies 8-3
M Steyn 14*-1
JdV 12-3
fourie 6-2
Jp 4-2
23 Aug 2011, 11:53 am
15 f sTEYN [ LOSE SOME FAT YOU WALLY ]
14 JPP
13 JF
12 JDJ
11 HABANA
10 JAMES
9 FDP
8 ALBERTS
7 SCHALK
6 BRUSSOW
5 MATFIELD
4 BAKKIES
3 JANNIE
2 BISSY
1 GUTHRO
16 CHILLIPEPPER
17 BEAST
18 D ROSSOW
19 CJ
20 F LOUW
21 F HOUGAARD
22 LAMBIE.
wALES 7….bOKS 35….
23 Aug 2011, 11:54 am
@Gunther(gunther)-124:
hahaha…
be patient…
in 2015…
23 Aug 2011, 11:55 am
@ufo(ufo)-111: lol me to, then thought no cant be this is stormersboy.
23 Aug 2011, 11:55 am
Ball carries and % gained
Alberts 8-80%
Spies 6-83%
Bissy 8-50%
JdV 6-60%
Rucks Hit
Brus 17
Alberts 18
Spies 25
Bissy 10
23 Aug 2011, 11:56 am
@grant10(grant10)-155: Mine would be slightly different:
12. Steyn
14. JPP
13. JF
12. JdV
11. Habana
10. Steyn
9. FdP
8. Spies
7. Alberts
6. Sprout
5. Matfield
4. Botha
3. Jannie
2. Bissie
1. Gurtho
Reserves: Smit, Beast, Burger, Danie, Hougaard and Lambie Pambie.
23 Aug 2011, 11:58 am
@capebull(capebull)-154:
Interesting, Morne Steyn made 14 tackles and missed 1.
Against the Aussies Butch made 10 and missed 5.
23 Aug 2011, 11:59 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-153:
Really? I of course fully support the cause to stop whaling, but I can’t help but be slightly repulsed by the hippyness of the pinkos on the Steve Irwin.
A much better option for me would be to just torpedo the Yushin Maro and get it over with. My solutions tend to follow the Shock and Awe approach, like the way they got rid of Ghadaffi, as opposed to the pacifist approach.
Then the lefties can go back home and live on the dole for the rest of their lives in some surfing sub culture on an Australian beach.
@diewareouboet(diewareouboet)-160: They all want to convince me Butch is the better tackler.
FYI…
I call HIM… (who must be spoken of in hushed and reverent tones)…
THE Manoeuvre…
because…
when he applies…
The Heinrich Manoeuvre…
the opposition have no choice but to cough it up…!!
Keo, You forgot forward no. 17. Chiliboy?
23 Aug 2011, 12:00 pm
@grant10(grant10)-155: It’s interresting that as widely diverse as the views and comments have been on this blog this year that when it comes down to it, there is only a pick here and there’s difference between most people, such as a Smit vs Chilli, or a Butch vs Morne, or a Spies vs Alberts,
The rest pretty much pick themselves,
23 Aug 2011, 12:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-165: Heeeelllloooo sweetie
23 Aug 2011, 12:04 pm
Morne made 14 tackles on Sat, only missed 1.
Maybe we don’t need Butch after all
23 Aug 2011, 12:04 pm
Butch vs Steyn
Tackles
10-14
Missed
5-1
Kicks
3-23
Meters gained
104-987
Playmaker passes
4-8
Nuff said
23 Aug 2011, 12:05 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-165:
And then you get Keo brining in Joe van Niekerk and Schalk Brits.
Go figure.
@ufo(ufo)-163:
Weak.
@capebull(capebull)-168:
Agreed.
23 Aug 2011, 12:07 pm
All said and done PDof’s squad is not going to look nearly as bad as it could have. Pity injuries are excluding Vermulen, J Smith and Bekker.
23 Aug 2011, 12:07 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-165: ja….
but let me tell you ….those 2 or 3 diffrences are huge when it comes to game plans, tactics, etc
Especially Bissy / smit and MS / Butch….
23 Aug 2011, 12:08 pm
@ufo(ufo)-163: LOL classic post. The heinrich manoeuvre. Love it.
23 Aug 2011, 12:09 pm
@Helen(Helen)-166: Hello Dahlink.!
@rangerman(rangerman)-153:
would that be hookers?…
@Olivergm(Olivergm)-172: yes…I would have had all 3 of those injured players in my squad
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-169: Ja. There’s always one or two I guess.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-157:
yeah… thought a nic-stealer had kidnapped him…!!
23 Aug 2011, 12:11 pm
anyway….all conjecture will be put to bed in about 7 hours time…..
23 Aug 2011, 12:11 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-174:
yeah… it’s meant for those with more discerning humour among us…
23 Aug 2011, 12:12 pm
@grant10(grant10)-180: You mean 7 hours till Keo or one of his side kicks posts a KeoTV rant about how PdV messed up and how his squad is superior.
23 Aug 2011, 12:12 pm
Pity injuries are excluding Vermulen, J Smith and Bekker.
23 Aug 2011, 12:14 pm
@ufo(ufo)-181:
‘discerning humour’??? really? You do know that ‘discerning’ does not mean ‘stupid’, right?
23 Aug 2011, 12:14 pm
@Helen(Helen)-183: Juan is awesome. I worry if anything happens to Matfield
23 Aug 2011, 12:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-180: …and we know that Peter Grant will NOT be in the squad, thankfully! Maybe time to pick another name
23 Aug 2011, 12:15 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-185: Grant must be praying too for it’s guaranteed Smit would be the starting hooker if Matfield gets injured.
23 Aug 2011, 12:16 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-185: Agree. We are obviously going to base our game on lineouts and go big on competing in the lineouts and then use the boot mercilessly.
23 Aug 2011, 12:18 pm
the ca-team is ok , problems when we need to rest players :
VM and JdPlessis biggest worry
23 Aug 2011, 12:18 pm
If Matfield an co can perfect our lineouts and find a way of stealing every 3rd opposition throw, we can base our game on a solid 10 man plan with Morne aiming for the corners all the time…
23 Aug 2011, 12:19 pm
@Helen(Helen)-184:
Thought it was pretty clever myself.
Thing is… it’s easy for keo, jc and ryan to pick the squad we won’t see…
cause they’re all guaranteed to be correct…!!
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-165:
spies doesn’t pick himself?
unless you are a member of Antiforum.
in other news it’s good to see that swampie has posted his 1000th Bok team here on keo.
a round of applause.
maybe the lovely helen could organise a cake from one of her customers.
23 Aug 2011, 12:20 pm
Habana has been immense against Aus and All Blacks but they would rather have JP Pietersen in the side, the guy who cant even tackle in the first minute of the game and has been off form for 2 seasons and only had one good spark against the Bulls in the Super15.
Habana will play at 11 I just cant believe that 3 pundits cant realise he is playing well.
My squad:
15 Patrick Lambie
14 Gio Aplon
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Butch James
9 Francois Hougaard
8 Willem Alberts
7 Schalk Burger
6 Heindrich Brussow
5 Victor Matfield
4 Danie Russouw
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Bismark Du Plessis
1 Gurthro Steenkamp
16 Schalk Brits
17 CJ Van Der Linde
18 Bakkies Botha
19 Pierre Spies
20 Fourie Du Preez
21 Juan De Jongh
22 JP Pietersen
23 Adriaan Strauss
24 Tendai Mtawarira
25 Gerrard Mostert
26 Francois Louw
27 Sarel Pretorius
28 Morne Steyn
29 Lwazi Mvovo
30 Francois Steyn
23 Aug 2011, 12:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-192:
probably for the first time…!
23 Aug 2011, 12:21 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-193: what makes you think my customers have cake?
23 Aug 2011, 12:22 pm
@grant10(grant10)-173: Sure it does i understand that, but from a squad perspective it’s irrelavent as they’ll both be there,
23 Aug 2011, 12:23 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-194:
Easy now, big boy…. Habana and immense don’t work gramatically in the same sentence. Yes, he was better, but keep in mind he’s coming off a low base. Still some improvement to make before he reaches those starry heights of 2006/7/8
23 Aug 2011, 12:24 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-99: You were arguing that FLOU “disappears” in games and now you are supporting Spies … the biggest “disappearer” in games …ever!
The doctor shakes his head.
23 Aug 2011, 12:24 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-191: Hendrik, off course you do
23 Aug 2011, 12:25 pm
@Helen(Helen)-186: my name is Grant and I played 10 about 100 years ago…hence the nick….nothing to do with P Grant….just coincidence.
23 Aug 2011, 12:26 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-199:
The dr needs to take a clever pill.
Where has Spies ‘disappeared’??
My guess is that you don’t have an answer for this, because you are so far up your own ar$e that you can’t see past your tonsils!
@grant10(grant10)-201: Ok, I will Grant you that
@ufo(ufo)-151:
LOL……Bissy has a huge impact for 80 min’s !!! Why would you not want that ??
Since when do games against top tier nations become looser ??, these days subs are used to prevent that from happening, players are so conditioned ,games just don’t open up like they used to !! Unless you are playing Namibia or one of the other tier 2 level sides!!
Come on boet we need the best giving their best to win tis thing, the best right now ain’t JS !!
23 Aug 2011, 12:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-200:
What is stupid about it? Explain.
Of course.
@grant10(grant10)-201: If you ever get a job in the public service, you will be referred to as a Government Grant
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-161:
i am also repulsed by hippies but you have to give it to them, they have courage.
the nips had their worst whaling season ever this year because of the lefties efforts and the tsunami pretty much whiped out the town they operated from so its doubtful they will even send out their fleet next year.
he is in the faroe islands at the moment, also with the sea shepherds, trying to intervene in the annual pilot whale cull where 1000′s of pilot whales are trapped in coves and senslessly slaughtered.
the faroe isalnders (norwegian territory) call it “the grind”.
its barbaric and utterly senseless.
did you know that the mitsubishi corporation are actually catching and freezing bluefin tuna as fast as they can so that when the bluefin goes extinct they can maximise profits?
humans are sick mofos.
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-176: uh huh.
23 Aug 2011, 12:28 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-205: Please leave me alone….
23 Aug 2011, 12:28 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-139: Wrong again .. Butch James % in international games is exactly the same or even a little higher than Morne Steyn.
Go check me up if you don’t believe it …
23 Aug 2011, 12:29 pm
@Helen(Helen)-206:
I’m afraid he’s already known in government circles as disability grant.
@Helen(Helen)-206: If you ever work in food industry, you would called “Helen the watermelon”
@Gunther(gunther)-210: Sharp
23 Aug 2011, 12:30 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-199:
Shut up would you.
Spies has in the past become less effective in tighter games. He doesn’t dissapear.
Flouw I see making a turn-over, then i don’t see him doing anything for the rest of the game. Doesn’t contest rucks often enough, not on defense anyway – he just simply doesn’t force the opposition to commit players to the ruck. Isn’t a great ball-carrier. Doesn’t make numerous turn-overs. There are so many players with bigger workrates then him.
23 Aug 2011, 12:31 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-193: In the squad certainly, and on the basis of the last 2 performances, in the match day 22 probably too,
23 Aug 2011, 12:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-208:
Not up for debate? Then what are you doing here?
I’m sure 99% of people would agree it is clever. You just felt like insulting someone.
23 Aug 2011, 12:32 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-207: Faroe islands are Danish territory albeit enjoys authonomy in internal matters. I lived there for some time.
And yes, that “tradifional” culling is repulsive.
23 Aug 2011, 12:32 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-209:
Morne vs Butch
Who has one or more S15 winners medals?
Who is most famaliar with the current team’s style?
Who wouold you trust to knock over a penalty to win the game?
Who has the better disciplinary record?
Who won beat the British Lions almost single handedly?
Again, I know you won’t answer…. those pesky little tonsils are in the way again
23 Aug 2011, 12:33 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-215: If you don’t stop harrassing me, I will report you…. tread carefully H E N D R I K
23 Aug 2011, 12:33 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-209:
Because he doesn’t take shots from the same areas. Also his range is 40m.
Of the kicks Steyn misses they are generally very tough. Butch on the other hand has missed some simple kicks.
Prove me wrong. Actually theres a guy on thesilverfern.com who collects data about all this. Go ask him if you don’t believe me.
23 Aug 2011, 12:34 pm
i remember watching grant play rugby! very good flyhalf! in the Johny Wilkenson mould! — was it not for apartheid, he would’ve walked into the Bok team … Naas wasn’t a patch!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213: now you telling porkies….
spies work rate vs F Louw?
Fark me …
Like comparing Plods work rate to Bissy.
dont be a plonker man.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-214: heeelllooo sweetie
@Helen(Helen)-218: HAHAHA he stalked me last night as well, i was held accountable
@Helen(Helen)-202: Listen up pussycat.
If you even suggest that Spies has not disappeared (many times) in tight games against tough opposition when it gets hot up front then you are as mad as a rabies infected Tik smoker on day 14 of a 2 week binge.
Go and find a crocheting blog .. where all good girls should be and leave the rugby to the boys … see!
@Helen(Helen)-218:
Report me to who? Go ahead. Maybe they can help you.
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-220: tell them Mills…tell them
23 Aug 2011, 12:35 pm
@grant10(grant10)-221:
GRANTed, F Louw is a better turnover specialist, but you really can’t say his workrate is higher than Spies. Silly little boy.
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-43: Cos he is my No 1 replacement should something happen to Spies. He can play 7 & 6 and he is vastly superior to Ashley Johnson.
@rangerman(rangerman)-207:
ja ok…cos john smit came to mind…a very subtle supple….hehe
23 Aug 2011, 12:36 pm
@grant10(grant10)-221:
Didn’t know they played the same position. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
Spies is a ball-carrier man! That’s what he does in this team.
You guys are arguing to include Louw as the reserve fetcher!?!?!?!??!?!? FOR FARKS SAKE!!!!
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-211:
Helen’s Melons?
Flo is a walking penalty … and iif his team is behind he turns nasty – real ou suurgat! doesn’t deserve to make the RWC squad!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213: Spies has been a fairy on the field in the past …. shunning the tough stuff all the time.
If you deny this you make yourself so much less credible here.
23 Aug 2011, 12:37 pm
@Helen(Helen)-218: report the plonker helen….last night he was trying to convince me vermeulen, deysel and johnson were opensiders in the making…
I spat my dummy and almost called Roy to ban the wally myself
@Helen(Helen)-227:
Here we go Helen. You’ve got Keo to report my supposed harassment to. Of course I didn’t call you any names or a ‘good girl’ or anything along those lines.
@justrugby(justrugby)-204:
have always said jr…
that we need the wise heads on the field for the world cup… would start with js at 2 and sub him off the field (not to prop) when bdp comes on…
js is a netter scrummager and better line out thrower than bdp… world championships are won by inches and we need that accuracy on the field… sure js makes the odd mistake but nowhere near as many as bdp…
plus everyone knows bdp is good for a few penalties per game… which we can’t afford at world cups… and oppos target him like they do bakkies to get the penalties and get under his skin and put him off his stride… later in the game the guys won’t be as focussed on trying to rile bdp…
so i’d start with smit… and sub du plessis on later…
whether you agree or not… my choice would be based on logic not on emotion…
23 Aug 2011, 12:38 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-224: Has it ever occurred to you that Spies’ game becomes tighter when the games are tighter and you may not be able to see what he gets up to (with those dangling tonsils and all).
Spies’ work rate is right up there with the best 8′s in world rugby.
You don’t make friends easily, do you?
@dr dre(dr dre)-233: agree doc….give hennie a prescription for dofness
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-219: What a laugh.
I am telling you that Butch intl kick % is the same or higher that Morne.
Face the facts, dont look for excuses for your feeble arguments.
When someone take you on at your posts they are found to be leakier than an A#al queens nought.
23 Aug 2011, 12:39 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-231:
or lack thereof? remember she got balls so no melons
@Helen(Helen)-222: Hello Dahlink.
@dr dre(dr dre)-233:
I don’t deny it. I’ve said it how many times. But that doesn’t mean he isn’t capable does it? Seemed pretty darn good to me these past 2 games.
Flo is up against Burger, Alberts, Danie and Sprout; he won’t make it. Alberts and Danie cover 7, with Burger at a push. Alberts, Danie and Spies cover 8, with Burger at a push.
23 Aug 2011, 12:40 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-235: Hendrik, please leave me alone. you obviously have a different agenda on this blog to anyone else. We are here to talk rugby, you are here to pick up women or whatever that is that you’re doing
@dr dre(dr dre)-239:
Believe what you want. Anyone else on here that is sensible will tell you Morne is a better goalkicker then Butch.
Hell, it seems that Keohane is the only clown at SARugby mag that still rates plod … and he is the only one to axe Bissy completely. Eish.
23 Aug 2011, 12:41 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-215:
thanks bud…
but it’s always best to ignore the helenphant in the room…
23 Aug 2011, 12:41 pm
@Helen(Helen)-244:
0_0 are you serious? I simply asked why the Heinrich Manouvre is stupid and now I’m trying to pick you up?
Liewe f0k.
23 Aug 2011, 12:42 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-239: where do you get your stats little man?
23 Aug 2011, 12:44 pm
@JA-JA(JA-JA)-47: he is as awful as John Afoa, but somehow they both can pack down on either side of the scrum. Message to any aspiring international … go play prop and ask to play 1 and 3.
23 Aug 2011, 12:45 pm
@Helen(Helen)-54: Been there and done that … she declined … said I was too young
@Helen(Helen)-249:
He’s 100% correct actually. Butch has a good kicking % at international level, but he hasn’t kicked much and also is less likely to try them from difficult positions or from further out. Morne has been on fire with the boot for the last 3 years. Only last week Butch missed a simple one from almost in front.
P.S. This is not harrassing you. I’m not trying to pick you up.
@Helen(Helen)-237: Spies becomes a ruck inspector when its gets tough and has done so MANY times in the past.
To deny this is folly and makes you come across as a fool. This is just how it is I am afraid.
Perhaps if you got those dried prune funbags out of your eyes you would be better positioned to actually follow the game properly.
Spies has the heart of a mouse trapped inside a lions body.
I will admit however that he has improved and I will watch him closely going into this RWC.
There are harder 8th men in South Africa.
23 Aug 2011, 12:46 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-248: there you go again… that kind of language and abuse does not help your cause, little man.
Stick to rygby and we can all be friends. Try to pick me up as you now claim, and you will meet the terrier in me!
23 Aug 2011, 12:47 pm
@keo(keo)-250: you lost your balls Keo….you become just another member of the Fat Boys Club.
Shame on you .
23 Aug 2011, 12:47 pm
@Helen(Helen)-249: Listen up Pussycat.
Fact is fact.
23 Aug 2011, 12:48 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-252: stop your flirtations with Helen….does your wife know what you up too?
23 Aug 2011, 12:48 pm
@grant10(grant10)-255: Stupidity to drop John Smit from squad. Got nothing to do with balls, but common sense. Fortunately I have some.
23 Aug 2011, 12:49 pm
@Helen(Helen)-254:
Haha couldn’t help but laugh at that last sentence.
I’m just finding it hard to make you understand things. And an explanation as to why the Heinrich Manouvre is stupid? Not clever… stupid?
Now you say I claim to want to pick you up? What the?
Don’t flatter yourself. You’re probably 3x my age.
@dr dre(dr dre)-253: again, dr swamp donkey, where do you get your stats? How can you claim that he’s a ruck inspector? do you have access to some hidden stats that are only made available to morons?
Spies is an athlete like no other forward in the southern hemisphere, with perhaps Pocock as the exception. He has the heart and skill of a tiger. You’d be silly to take on the RWC without him.
I still think he should be our opensider in defense and allow Brussouw to be at 8 as the second player to the breakdown
@diewareouboet(diewareouboet)-160: ever heard of an effective and ineffective tackle. When Butch connects your grandma feels it … when MS connects your grandma asked for another of those cuddles.
23 Aug 2011, 12:50 pm
@keo(keo)-258:
HAHHAHA thanks Keo
You’re my mate for life
@keo(keo)-258: Pssht ok then…
@grant10(grant10)-257:
Haha I’m still a few years off marriage. The girlfriend would find this sort of thing pretty funny though.
@Helen(Helen)-254: I wouldn’t pick you up .. id drop you off at the vet !
23 Aug 2011, 12:51 pm
@ufo(ufo)-236:
Can’t agree with the logic UFO, the positives Bissy brings far outweighs his negatives, JS negatives far outweigh the few positives.(forgive the pun on outweighs
)
JS is a liability on defense, his work rate is poor , there are enough senior heads to handle any crisis in the side.
Another thing I will categorically state is that SA cannot carry out the skop and jaag game plan effectively if you do not have Bissy and Ratel in tandem.
No emotion at all involved at all on my side, just rugby logic, can you same the same re JS ??
Anyway we won’t get concensus, so lets just support whoever plays !
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-252: ja….but MS threatens the line and defends like a wet paper bag…..
But I will say that he is best suited to skop en jag….
post 2011 send him …plod…spies and a few other passengers to outer mongolia please…..
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-259: I have had encounters with others like you before. They come on these blogs under false pretences and then use ‘clever’ little tricks to find out how old the girls are. Nice one, but I am one ahead of you
Now, stick to rugby and rather go chat up someone on the Heat blog.
23 Aug 2011, 12:52 pm
HAHAHHA
23 Aug 2011, 12:52 pm
@Helen(Helen)-260:
Oh my. I didn’t know that players all sprint for the closest ruck and that the nr. 8 is going to get their 2nd.
You just proved you obviously have no clue. Sorry
No hard feelings.
23 Aug 2011, 12:53 pm
I like Vrede’s squad the best, no John Smit and including Brits and Flo
how many times did the butcher threaten the line against australia?
@keo(keo)-258: no Keo….you were my favorite Journo….always ready to take up the cudgels for what is right ….you have become weak and politically correct….you have dissapointed me greatly…..and I mean this seriously….
Ryan Vrede I think you’ll make a better selector than a journey …
23 Aug 2011, 12:54 pm
@Helen(Helen)-268:
Now I know you’re just taking the p1ss. It’s been fun
23 Aug 2011, 12:54 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-264: so you a kid still….no wonder you talk so much kak….
23 Aug 2011, 12:55 pm
Helen the melon is now Helen the Lemon. Hendrik, STOP BEING SUCH A DOOOS AND LET IT GO MAN. Im trying to read rugby stuff during my lunch hour
23 Aug 2011, 12:55 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-264: You have a girlfriend???? What would he say about your behaviour on this site?
23 Aug 2011, 12:56 pm
@grant10(grant10)-276: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha
thanks sweetie!
@danuk(danuk)-271: viva my man….
@Helen(Helen)-260: All you need to do is watch rugby to know that Spies has not lived up to the hype.
One does not even have to look at stats to prove this .. its patently obvious ..
Ask 80% of the bloggers here .. even Bulls supporters and they will tell you about the bad hands, defence and inability to impose physically.
He has however improved a bit these last couple tests.
Its a fact pussycat ….
@grant10(grant10)-276:
Hardly a ‘kid’. I’m just not an old man.
23 Aug 2011, 12:58 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-277:
I’m the doos? Hmm ok then.
23 Aug 2011, 12:59 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-283: You acting like one, right or wrong just let it go.
Is this becoming a dating site?!
Keo…..you are making no rugby sense….plod for bissy ?
My my my ….how the mighty have fallen….
Even Gavin Rich now coming out and saying Bissy has to start, Brenden Nel and a host of other top journos as well…..
in your hey day you would never choose the party line……
why so weak now ?
23 Aug 2011, 13:00 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-281: Yes, Spies is hitting form at the right time.
it really is a pity that Smith is out ……
@grant10(grant10)-273:
You really think he cares if he dissapoints you? lol – What is a joke is that you do think he cares. That’s pretty arrogant mate.
You still post and post and post and read every article so I think Keo wins.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-287: Long may it continue! He really needs to live up to the hype and this RWC is the perfect place to do so!!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-282: you should be ashamed of yourself…..stalking a decent lady on a rugby site….
23 Aug 2011, 13:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-286: Simmer down my man. Just because his view disagrees with yours is no reason to call him weak. He can be called many things but his willingness to irritate, etc is beyond reapproach
@justrugby(justrugby)-266:
i already said it’s logic.. rugby logic on my side…
world cups finals are tight affairs… you wanna give the opposition a 9 point lead… start bdp…
js work rate in the last couple of games has been very good…
i rate them both highly… would have and use them both as i’ve said… the fact that you won’t use smit despite what he brings would suggest it’s not just logic that keeps you from picking him…
but you’re right about supporting them… i will, and do, support whoever pulls on a bok jersey…
@grant10(grant10)-286:
Because the party line is to drop SMit, he is against the grain. You’re the populist as you well explained by pointing at how many agree with you.
23 Aug 2011, 13:02 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-281:
Oh, ok, so if 80% of the bloggers here believe something, it MUST be true??
C’mon… sometimes the truth is not a democracy. You are a sheep following the herd. Think for yourself.
What did you expect from Spies. Is it not because you think someone as beautiful as Pierre must have a weakness somehwhere, so you are constantly trying to find weaknesses so that you can feel better about your boep, cholestorol, stubble and slumping shoulders? Guage his performance objectively, SD!
Gentleman, gentleman, gentleman…
How is it possible the three of you cannot agree on a 30man squad for a tournament let alone a match day 22 for one test?
Is it that tough to play selector/coach?
@dr dre(dr dre)-290: I hope so, like Danie finally came good at the last WC.
brits?
ja, thats inspiring.
not.
he wasnt a world beater when he left and he isnt a world beater now.
flouw may get a look in, rate him but he is surely behind brussow and schalk for 6 and behind alberts and deysel/ashley for 7?
so why is he being touted?
23 Aug 2011, 13:03 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-284:
Whatever. Can’t see how standing up for myself qualifies as that but I’ll drop it.
@grant10(grant10)-291: Hendrik has no shame…. finally he’s stopped harrassing me, but I had to be firm to get him to leave me alone.
@Helen(Helen)-295: Spies is playing well, but calling him a beautiful specimen is pushing it
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-296:
how often do 3 selectors initially agree on a team?
before they sit down to discuss it?
@grant10(grant10)-286: all the top Kiwi and Poms writers are singing Bissy’s name, they consider Plod a has-been, which is true … and Keo picks him. Eish.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-292: Like so many on here, it’s my way or the hi way…some people just can’t handle a different opinion to their own
23 Aug 2011, 13:04 pm
helen must be a undercover guy …. no chick knows so much about rugby ….
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-296: One has a hidden agenda, one is clueless and the other one cant help he works with morons
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-305: Not Helen but perhaps Llewhellen?
@Helen(Helen)-295: ok ok .. I thought as much … just did not want to say it but now its plan to see ..
You have mirrors and pictures of Spies on your bedroom ceiling and you spend quality time there …
Ahhh ….. !
23 Aug 2011, 13:05 pm
Spies is a wuss, I watched him slip so many tackles on Sat it was cringe material.
Built like a brick shithouse, but plays like a girl. Read has owned him and will again if we meet the AB’s, sad but true. No real heart.
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-306:
Haha – okay then, fair enough!
@Michael(mikeybrass)-287: Thanks Michael, I think the good (witch) doctor has it in for Spies because he envies the man’s physique.
@grant10(grant10)-291:
Haha good point. I feel terrible. Maybe I should go for help
more interesting would be a World Cup squad of combinations
1. Beast
2. Bismarck
3. Jannie
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield
6. Brussouw
7. Juan Smith
8. Johnson
9. du Preez
10. M.Steyn
12. JDV
13. Fourie
11. Mvovo
14. JPP
15. Lambie
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-304: One only had to see the camera shots of PdV’s face to know how much he loves the Boks and wants us to do well. I hope he manages the players right ’cause we have a good shot at being able to retain the Cup.
23 Aug 2011, 13:06 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-308: plan is …plain*
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-305: Perhaps it is sexists like you that keep us off blogs like these…
And then the likes of Dr Dre and Hendrik don’t help either.
@grant10(grant10)-291: ja, like you flirting OUTRAGEOUSLY with carol for two years and making us all want to lose our lunch then losing your rag with her because she wouldnt choose gbs and crew over you?
what did the DA think of that AFFAIR?
@whatever(whatever)-309: Agreed. Its painful to watch.
23 Aug 2011, 13:07 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-315: sadly, all your plans are plain.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-313:
Whats the plan if Brussouw breaks down? Who is our second fetcher? We don’t have one atm, SCARY.
Interesting…
I would venture to say that about 70% or more of each of the three squads contains players from the 2007 RWC…
23 Aug 2011, 13:08 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-289: Keo knows in his heart he has become a weak , party line tower…..
I followed the mans career closely….he was always honest and thought provoking…..however I see a man now wavering and becoming part of the matrix…..it is sad….seeing the fight leave the once hard hitting and honest to the point of distraction young journo I so respected.
Up to Keo to assimilate what I am saying or discard…..entirely up to him. Nothing to do with me being arrogant.
23 Aug 2011, 13:09 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-317:
that’s going to leave a mark
@Helen(Helen)-319: and all your wets are spot.
@whatever(whatever)-320: Automatic Teller Machine?
@rangerman(rangerman)-317: or even you over gbs and crew?
carol is a classy lady but you knew she was married right?
or is she your cousin, your really really really close cousin?
23 Aug 2011, 13:10 pm
@Helen(Helen)-325:
AT THE MOMENT? You doff?
23 Aug 2011, 13:11 pm
@Helen(Helen)-300: well done young lady….that hennie is seriously deranged…
23 Aug 2011, 13:13 pm
@Helen(Helen)-300: Now he will ask you, how firm are you?
@whatever(whatever)-320: well as soon as Agile nurses Stegmann back to his feet he will be here promoting his man
@grant10(grant10)-322:
Keo is in over his head, I’ll GRANT you that
@Michael(mikeybrass)-314: Well, I also love the Boks and want them to do well but the fundamental flaws in our game has been there for a long time now. He is not a coaches arse. I was on the fence re his coaching abilities untill our away leg in the 3N’s this year. He selects an entirely different squad but expects them to play the same rugby as the players he left behind. Totally disregarding the particular strengths each player he selected brought to the party. According to me that was his chance to prove he has what it takes, I had not high expectation of winning either. Just to play good constructive rugby. Fck him. Like I said, I love the Boks too…
23 Aug 2011, 13:14 pm
Hey PA…
How bout your match 22…?
23 Aug 2011, 13:14 pm
@grant10(grant10)-328:
Let’s not get too personal.
23 Aug 2011, 13:15 pm
@RL(RL)-330:
Please no……….penalty machine of note
23 Aug 2011, 13:15 pm
Hennie and Helen know I am taking the pi ss…..
lets not get our knickers in a knot…
23 Aug 2011, 13:16 pm
How about a squad of 30 for the incoming tour of England (I think)
1. Beast, Coenie
2. Bismarck, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy
3. Jannie, WP Nel
4. Flip, Elstadt
5. Bekker, Juandre Kruger
6. Brussouw
7. Burger, Vermeulen
8. Alberts, Spies
9. Hougaard, Duvenage
10. Sias Ebersohn, Jantjies
11. Mvovo, JJ Engelbrecht
12. JdJ, JDV
13. Fourie, Sadie
14. JPP, Aplon
15. Lambie
23 Aug 2011, 13:16 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-326: he tried but failed. Even set up meeting in Cape Town to meet her…
23 Aug 2011, 13:17 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-323:
i like to challenge hypocrites.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-337:
Steyn set to retire?
i would also have Big joe 52 Tests adds experience that Juan had, i would drop John smit though
23 Aug 2011, 13:18 pm
@RL(RL)-330: Agile has wired up his mouth in sympathy…
my power hour is gone, im outa here
@trupisero(trupisero)-338: i think they did meet, shortly before she went to pretoria
and gbs and co set up a website that she also blogs on.
it was like day of our lives man.
@whatever(whatever)-320: Yes….the closest is stegmann or flo.
@grant10(grant10)-336:
Our nickers? Speak for yourself boet
@grant10(grant10)-336:
I’m about 90% sure she was as well
Or at least I hope so. All in good fun.
23 Aug 2011, 13:19 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-345:
I’d go with Flo
23 Aug 2011, 13:19 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-339: Which Steyn? M or F? I think the young flyhalves in the country will surpass him next year.
23 Aug 2011, 13:20 pm
@grant10(grant10)-336: ah, thats better duckie.
wind yer neck in then, hendrik doesnt have the ammo but i do
@trupisero(trupisero)-338: carol is a fantastic lady and a friend….I met her Husband as well and took them to some spots in CT…..Carol remains a firm friend…..dont look for issues where non exist….attack me all you like but please do not bring other people into the arena….it really is not cool
@ufo(ufo)-333:
Probably most similar to Keo’s squad, with the exception Schalk Brits would not come close.
23 Aug 2011, 13:21 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-344: they did. Think ‘cos Grant promised her he was a double for Percy. Sadly not. She had a good time at Loftus with the other lads though, except for the rugga result.
23 Aug 2011, 13:21 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-344:
indeed.
they were the posh and becks of keo.
like sands through the hourglass of time….
there are no winners in the world of internet dating…
23 Aug 2011, 13:22 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-349: huh?
m steyn made me shut my piehole on sat and so did jdv.
smittie was great when he came on, what a man!
first TH of the match with him at 2. no wonder mealamu reckons smittie always hurts his opposite number.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-334: You had no problem getting ‘personal’ with me. I rest my case.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-352:
cool… thanks
23 Aug 2011, 13:24 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-355:
gotta agree on all counts…
23 Aug 2011, 13:24 pm
Did you guys see there are Management positions advertised at SARU.
Rights manager
Legal Advisor
Brand Manager
Senior Manager: Senior National Teams
Sevens Rugby Manager
Manager: Schools, Clubs and Varsity development
There are also a few technical analysts posts open. I am sure a few keolings on here will apply for that.
23 Aug 2011, 13:25 pm
@Helen(Helen)-356:
Probably best not to get precious on this site, won’t last the season if you do…
@ufo(ufo)-357:
Also, Francois Louw or Keegan Daniel instead of Big Joe.
And I would drop CJ altogether, even if it means taking a relative rookie tighthead if BJ is injured.
@grant10(grant10)-351: whats sauce for the goose old boy.
carol is class.
you however?
@trupisero(trupisero)-353: ag gwantie isnt so bad, i would buy him a beer if only to keep his mouth shut for a while as he drank it
@Gunther(gunther)-354:
at least he was at the game.
@grant10(grant10)-351: relax dude, I know all. For benefit of all others here she did say your’e not as big an ******* as 90% of the blog thinks.
23 Aug 2011, 13:26 pm
Anybody who selects a squad of 30 players for a six week RWC tournament and only takes 2 tight heads, is certifiably stupid. The fact that those two are Jannie (the best in SA but by no means a world beater) and CJ (who is just plain kak), confirms their stupidity. What happens if Jannie crocks his knee during the captain’s run, on the Thursday before the quarter finals against either Ire or Aus? You’re gonna play CJ in the starting line up, with JS as reserve TH or vice vica? Either way you are going to see your gat.
With players like Lambie, Steyn, Pienaar, Butch, Aplon who can play more than one position in the back line and who all seem to be assured of places in the WC squad, I’d go with a 17/13 split and take an extra TH.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-359:
No head coach? faaak, pity
@rangerman(rangerman)-355: Our scrum dominance confuses the hell out of me. Don’t know what to make of it. Afoa is useless and it was Woodcock’s 1st game back but we started dominating farely early on. Did we actualy scrum for change as all 8 was packing down for the entire duration of the scrum? Hope it’s not just a false dawn.
23 Aug 2011, 13:27 pm
@ufo(ufo)-358: plus smitty can throw in to the lineout eh?
what a man!
the ab’s didnt score a single point with him on the field but sadly it seems that if smitty doesnt score tries for the boks, no one will.
23 Aug 2011, 13:27 pm
@nama1(nama1)-364:
like england?
23 Aug 2011, 13:28 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-363: exactly…..truth of the matter is I dont really give a fark about 90 % of the bloggers here either…..
probably only about 4 or 5 that actually seem to know anything anyway…..
23 Aug 2011, 13:29 pm
@nama1(nama1)-364: thats a very valid point you make….
@grant10(grant10)-369: And that would be the 4 or 5 that agrees with you right?
The post RWC team will probably look something like this:
15 – F Steyn
14 – JPP
11 – Habana
13 – J Fourie
12 – J D Vil
10 – Lambie
9 – Hougaard
8 – Spies
7 – Burger
6 – Brussouw
5 – Bekker
4 – Flip
3 – Jannie
2 – Bismark
1 – Beast
We will be a force next year too…
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-332: I think PdV is knowledgeable and has good management abilities (which, before the pundits here jump on me, is not all about what you see on the field of play). What he doesn’t have is the ability to translate this onto the field of play as well as he should. He needs stronger assistant coaches.
Saying this, I reckon the reason he didn’t want to change the playing style in this year’s Tri Nations away leg is because he wanted to see which of the players would fit into the predetermined style for the WC. The key for me was last year’s Tri Nations instead where he had to do without Sprout and FdP, with Matfield out of form, and he didn’t come up with the answers (or maybe he did but the assistant coaches wouldn’t/didn’t translate it into the onfield coaching).
Personally, I wouldn’t mind PdV staying on post-WC provided he had fre reign in chosing his own support team. Otherwise, give Meyer the job and allow him to choose his assistants.
23 Aug 2011, 13:30 pm
@grant10(grant10)-369:
Is that cause they agree with you?
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-366: ag i didnt read too mush into it really.
the ab scrum will be very different.
lets see if the boys can do the same against the top ab side.
maybe alberts adds the extra oomph.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-361:
do you have any info on Flo… seems to have dropped off the edge… is he fit… ready to play…???
23 Aug 2011, 13:31 pm
Given the Bulls presser I just read, here are some names you can scrap from the RWC squad to be named tonight:
Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Flip vd Merwe, Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling, Dewald Potgieter
@rangerman(rangerman)-367: Smittie top try scorer for SA in 3N
@grant10(grant10)-369: dont say that grant!
i am hurt.
tell me, why did we get our first TH last weekend with smitty at 2?
23 Aug 2011, 13:32 pm
Now that most people have selected their match 22 allow me to present mine.
1. Guthro
2. Bissy
3. Kannie
4. Bakkies
5. Vic
6. Ratel
7. Burger
8. Alberts
9. Hougie
10. Butch (c)
12. Sadie
13. Ebershon R
14. Jpp
11. Mossie
15. Taute
16. Chili
17. Cilliers
18. Mostert
19. Deysel
20. Pienaar
21. De Villiers
22. Lambie
@ufo(ufo)-376:
Flo is in Bath, fit as far as I know.
@rangerman(rangerman)-367:
great point…!
@Helen(Helen)-372: Question mark if JdV will stay. Morne will stay and I bet the next coach will consider him.
The question is the game plan the next coach will use.
23 Aug 2011, 13:33 pm
If I am the next Boks head coach, I’d now start influencing to make sure my combos play together. For instance, Lambie needs to make the move to the Bulls outside Hougaard. Flip to Stormers alongside Bekker. Brussouw to Bulls with Spies
23 Aug 2011, 13:33 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-377: all good news so far then
23 Aug 2011, 13:34 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-383: Morne Steyn is a great BMT RWC player. The conservative game allows him to play his natural style. I really doubt that he’s a better 10 in S15 than Lambie or even F Steyn
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-377: well none of them did much did they?
@trupisero(trupisero)-378: haha! i know, isnt it great?
what a man!
and funnily enough, smitties upwards curve resembles the exact upward curve he went through just before the last world cup?
oh the fun we will have if smittie is a standout, let alone if we win the darn thing again?
it will be almost as much fun as bashing the kiwis
@nama1(nama1)-364: Who will that extra tighthead be?
@Gunther(gunther)-368: Ja England has like 8 props in there provisional squad.
@grant10(grant10)-369:
blackberry messenger may be the way forward then?
23 Aug 2011, 13:35 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-368:
Haven’t been around much on the web so I haven’t seen their squad yet. If they went that route, it was the right thing to do imo.
It’s not as if you can call up a reserve and he’ll be there and ready to play the very next day if you lose a player the day or even two days before a match.
What about jet leg? Flight fatigue and all that?
@rangerman(rangerman)-379: Plod was not at 2 genius, he came on immediately after that TH, that’s why Bissy was so pissed.
@Helen(Helen)-384: Thats crazy talk! How are you going to do that?
23 Aug 2011, 13:36 pm
@grant10(grant10)-369: Thanks mate, apprecaite it
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-377:
that’s only bad news for those guys…
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-381:
good for him… but sheesh… think he left prematurely…
Our next bok coaching combo is Rassie/Coetzee/Muir with either Rassie or Coetzee as head coach…. I have this on good authority, so you can put money on it
Off topic – repost from Rugbyxv.co.za
Jake White answers readers’ best questions on who should be the next Bok coach and the All Blacks’ decision to send a B team.
Q: Hi Jake, who do you think should be the next coach of the Springboks? After the World Cup many old players will be leaving and the new squad will have to be built up from the ground like in 2004. I know that you are close to Allister Coetzee, and he also fits into the “transformation idea” (let’s face it, it will be a factor again). And although Allister certainly isn’t the worst man for the job, I wasn’t too happy with what I saw at the Stormers this year. They had a wealth of talent and potential, but when things got hot they fell completely short. What are your thoughts on this?
A: I think it’s only fair that Allister gets the job, and that has nothing to do with me having worked with him before. Allister should’ve got the job in 2008, when he knew the players like the back of his hand. Since, the Stormers have finished second on the Super Rugby log twice in the past two years under Allister, something that shouldn’t be shirked at. He’s been groomed by SA Rugby to do the job, and it would be wrong of them not to pick him at the last hurdle again. He’s coached SA ‘A’, SA U23, been an assistant Bok coach – how could they not pick him? He’s gone through the ranks and has a list of achievements to show it would be an injustice if they don’t pick him.
Q: I was wondering why it is that when you were head coach it was so much more cut throat? One bad performance and the media were all over you about losing your job. Even the unions got together to get a motion of ‘no confidence’. But Peter can lose eight out of nine Tri-Nations games, play the poorest rugby I’ve seen from a Bok side since 2003 and every one in the media is quiet, in fact even positive. Am I missing something here? Why aren’t the unions piping up?
A: It also surprises me, but you’d have to ask other people why that’s been the case. I’ve read those articles that have been written and have been amazed that the rules have been different for different coaches. But life moves on, and it makes you stronger. One thing I’ve learnt is that you can’t look back, you’ve got to look forward. Hopefully the criticism I had to endure will make me a better coach in future.
Q: Hi Jake, why do you think there was no outcry when the All Blacks sent over a B team, similar to how we sent a B team to Australasia? And as a supporter, do we have the right to feel upset that our A team couldn’t beat the All Blacks by 40 points and score five tries, like they did to our B team?
A: It wasn’t really an All Blacks B team, they left eight guys behind, while we left 21 at home to go on a training camp. Those All Blacks left behind were also mostly Crusaders players, who’d been around the world twice due to the Crusaders not being able to play home games. Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Kieran Read, and Brad Thorn all justifiably needed a rest. They’ve also got to spend another week in Australia for this Saturday’s Test, so it was also about time away from home. Graham Henry thought his side would be competitive, and they were more than that. He’s also played his A side consistently over the last two years.
All Bok supporters would like to believe we could’ve got a more convincing result, but the Boks were just so desperate for a win – they would’ve taken any kind. We must also be mindful of the fact that we hadn’t won a Tri-Nations Test this year, expecting a bonus point win or something like that was unfair. The result also shows the strength of New Zealand rugby.
23 Aug 2011, 13:37 pm
@Helen(Helen)-372: That tight five alone looks mean. I think there might be a shake up in the backs next year.
23 Aug 2011, 13:37 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-381: But is he in Bath? That is the pertinent question… He may well be in SA
23 Aug 2011, 13:38 pm
@Helen(Helen)-356:
Listen here ******. Haven’t you got some dishes or something to do?
23 Aug 2011, 13:39 pm
@Helen(Helen)-395: What about Heyneke Meyer?
23 Aug 2011, 13:40 pm
@WP_(WP_)-398:
He is usually very vocal on Twitter. And hasn’t denied anything. So I’m guessing he’s in.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-373: Mate he came on the scene with quite a bit of fanfare. Making the Boks play AB rugby and all that. Letting the players talk him into this ultra-defensive gameplan after the “shambles” (personaly I didn’t think it a shambles, or headless chicken as they called it) of 2008 without at least trying to co-implement bits and pieces of what he envisaged from the outset was just plain weak. He can talk a good game like he’s his own man and all that bs but reality shows an entirely different picture. I was an idiot to buy into the hype when he came on the scene
@nama1(nama1)-390:
don’t worry.
we’ll get them some of puma’s flight socks.
I think you will find barney filling in in an emergency.
I would have 3 or 4 reserves on holiday in Nz
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-397: Lambie will be a our torch bearer at 10 for the foreseeable future and will start at 10 in 2015.
OUr tight 5 remain world beaters for a bit longer
23 Aug 2011, 13:42 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-400: Not a popular choice at Saru offices…. Rassie and Alistair have the inside track and have made friends in high places.
my expectation of the squad:
Forwards: (16)
John Smit (C)
Victor Matfield (VC)
Beast
Gurthro
Bismark
Chilli
Jannie
CJ
Danie
Mostert
Schalk
Willem
Pierre
Heinrich
Flo
Backs (14)
Francois H
FDP
Ruan
Butch
Morne
Lambie
Brian
JDV
JF
JDJ
JPP
Frans Steyn
Aplon
Lwazi/Odwa
I’d be surprised if it differs a great deal from this.
@Helen(Helen)-395: I like the other 2 but why bloody Muir again?
The effer is useless
23 Aug 2011, 13:43 pm
@ufo(ufo)-382: ja, look i am a simple rugby lover and bok supporter but it just seems to me that smitty is finding beautiful form again just in time.
fortunately for us this time we dont have to see our front row getting murdered when smitty is not available and gary botha is the second choice.
we have bizness, and i think biz and smitty will rotate for the pool games.
who else in world rugby has this kind of depth at hooker?
oh, its great to be a bok supporter.
i just want to reiterate that in the 4 years of pdv’s reign, we are 6-5 down in terms of wins/losses to the all blacks with the all blacks having had an extra game at home.
(both us and the kiwis have played a b team once).
that surely makes pdivvy one of the most successful bok coaches of all time in terms of results against the all blacks and definitely the most successful coach to have ever opposed graham henry?
after all, henry’s success rate against pdv home AND away is only 54.5%
and the guy gets a roasting on here from a bunch of couch potatoes?
hmmm.
23 Aug 2011, 13:43 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-406: heeeellllooo sweetie
23 Aug 2011, 13:45 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-401: Yup, has steered clear on twitter in fact…
Ya, all I’m saying is dont be at all surprised that he is in
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-388:
Look, we all know that we are light on quality TH in SA. With Mujati not available, I suppose it would be a toss up between Werner Kruger, WP Nel and the Sharkie guy.
None of them fills you with confidence but I’d venture that CJ and JS as TH in the 1/4 or 1/2 finals won’t either.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-406:
so would i… think you’re spot on…
23 Aug 2011, 13:46 pm
@RL(RL)-391: are you sure of that red pu ssy?
i havent watched the game again so i may be wrong.
anyways, we didnt concede a point while he was on so i was well chuffed he was around.
how about you, genius?
23 Aug 2011, 13:46 pm
@WP_(WP_)-407:
Let’s never forget how he brought Epi Taione into the side for a semi-final. Great call that was. Easily the worst performance by any player in a Super rugby game, followed closely by Ben Blairs shocker against the Brumbies.
23 Aug 2011, 13:47 pm
@Helen(Helen)-404: actually Lambie is a 15, he played there at school level and for the baby boks, he spent his first super season at 15 and will play at 15 next season as well … the future is with players like Elton, Sias and van Aswegen … not some utility back.
23 Aug 2011, 13:47 pm
Who’ll be our captain after RWC 2011?
23 Aug 2011, 13:49 pm
@RL(RL)-415: Sorry for you, Lambie is a 10. He is a specialist 10 and deserves an extended run at flyhalf. Taute is a better 15 than Lambie, so too Aplon or even Zane
23 Aug 2011, 13:49 pm
@RL(RL)-415: he will be great at 15.
or 10.
or 12.
but methinks he will decide where he fits best and the rest will simply have to wait their turn.
thats the way it goes.
23 Aug 2011, 13:50 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-413: I am 100% sure of that … and Plod came on after they had raised the scrum white flag.
23 Aug 2011, 13:50 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-408:
Good points mate
23 Aug 2011, 13:51 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-414: haha yeah, I still remeber that head but which earned taione a red…
And who could forget that astounding season Muir enjoyed with the Lions, 14 losses from 14 games, amzing stuff!
@RL(RL)-415:
See that drop goal from Johan Goosen on the weekend?
And he looked pretty darn good in everything else he did for the Baby Boks this year. For me he is the best of the upcoming lot. Then we have a lot of good players in Jantjies, Ebersohn, Cronje & van Aswegen
@Helen(Helen)-417: zane? taute?
no helen, that is not true.
gio is talented to be sure.
but ja, lambie played 15 because of one of the cronje brothers playing 10 ahead of him at mickeymousehouse.
he is a cc winning motm flyhalf at 20.
23 Aug 2011, 13:53 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-422: So, one drop goal and he’s your pick for the future??
23 Aug 2011, 13:54 pm
@WP_(WP_)-421:
Guy has all these crazy ideas rather then allowing his players to settle into a pattern.
Dropped Bradley Barritt after a good season in 2008 for the semi-final also? While playing Adi Jacobs at 13… and Terblanche at fullback.
Blimmin moron. What has he done anywhere to deserve the reputation he started with?
@grant10(grant10)-322:
Ye and so have I – but i don;t deride him when his opinion differs from mine.
I only deride you because you slip into personal insults as soon as someone differs in opinion to you and therefore think you deserve some in return.
@Helen(Helen)-416: Jaun Smith or Joshua Strauss
@rangerman(rangerman)-423: We need Morne at 10 now becuaes Lmabie is maybe just a year shy of having what it takes, but after RWC2011, Lambie will be our first choice fly, at least until next world cup.
23 Aug 2011, 13:55 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-406: i heard Mostert on bench for Stade Francaise on Friday….seems he is not going to WC…
@rangerman(rangerman)-408:
wise words bud… and a very different, and interesting, perspective…
i do think they both get roughed up unnecessarily on this site and in the media… but, if anything, it will just make js more determined… he’s been written off so many times… and he has the experience…
so often bloggers talk about experience being so important… but are ready to throw smit’s out the window… go figure…
and i don’t care if the senior guys run the squad or not… imo… pdivie did the right thing by hanging on to the squad (f you remember most guys on this blog thought he’d get rid of them all and put out his own… all black… squad…
the best managers surround themselves with people who are better than them and let them have input and listen to their ideas and advice… they empower them.. and i think in this regard pdivie has been brilliant…
as naas said… there’s only one team that knows how to win a world cup…
i’m not saying we’ll win it… but i really think we have the squad that can…
i just hope all the supporters and press can put all their differences aside and really get behind the guys…
hell it’s exciting…
@Helen(Helen)-424:
I’m saying he is a talented player. I think he may be the best of them. Is that so bad?
Don’t be upset because I’ve rejected your advances. I’m sure there are pretty of eligible bachelors around your age who will put up with your ****.
23 Aug 2011, 13:56 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-426: deride all you like…..I love it….
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-427: Juan is too old and Strauss won’t command a starting position at lock or loosie.
I’d go with someone like Jannie dup or Burger
@Helen(Helen)-428:
I hope so
@Helen(Helen)-417: well write a letter to Plum and tell him that, cause next season he will be playing Lambie at 15.
23 Aug 2011, 13:57 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-431: Ja, you got that right, you ****** ****! Try russian brides dot com
23 Aug 2011, 13:59 pm
@Helen(Helen)-433: Burger? You want some WP people to flip here? Burger is no leader and Jannie? I don’t think so…. but I’m going to disagree with you on Strauss next year he will be fighting to that Bok 8 jersey…. and that’s a true story I made up.
@RL(RL)-435:
Not to mention Lambie has had all his best performances at 15. Struggled a bit at 10 this year so they brought Michalak in for the important games.
We shouldn’t play him at 10 because we need someone there. We should look out for his best interests. If we do that then we’ll get the best out of him, regardless of where he plays.
And he’s a freeekin fullback.
Andries bekker will be the next Bok Cpt ….
@RL(RL)-435: All the more reason why Lambie needs to make the move to Pta….
23 Aug 2011, 14:00 pm
@Helen(Helen)-436:
You know what. With the current economic climate I can’t afford to pay the upkeep on two females.
Let alone a third so leave me alone.
23 Aug 2011, 14:01 pm
so if flip vd merwe is playing for bulls the weekend…..
and gerhard Mostert is back in grance on the stade francaise bench….
who gets the 4 th lock spot?
23 Aug 2011, 14:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-273:
He must be politically correct since he joined forces with the favourite come stain on your pink speedo gwantie. That oh, so politically correct pick as Springbok……… Little Lulu Twatson.
I am suprised not to see him in your squad. Lost the hard on for Lulu in favour of Bissy. Just watch out, I doubt Bismarck is the camp Camps Bay type.
23 Aug 2011, 14:02 pm
re pdv’s envisaged changing the way the Boks play in 2008, mpundulu posted an interesting article on GH the other day. One thing that stuck with me after reading the article was how GH said he/smith/hansen approached tweaks & alterations to their gameplan. He said something like: you can think up changes in ur strategy but the devil is in simplifying it, make it simple to a point that even when a player is running @ speed it can still be applicable and effective.
Now this got me thinking about our own coach who had ‘dreams’ of having the Boks playing with what he referred to as a ‘positive mindset’. I reckon he couldn’t translate his vision in the most simplified terms, he had this grand idea but couldn’t break it apart to its nuts & bolts so that he can reconstruct it with the ‘senior boks’ paing attention.
Egos played a bug role too in that camp, here were the World Champions being told by this AA coach that he can ‘improve them by 40 percent’ and that they were nothing but ‘robots’
the players showed the moustached one who was baas after he got roasted by the media for he dismal 2008 results.
Now we have coach who is still hardegat, ironically, not about what he came in preaching lol but about the antithesis of what he vouched was his great plan to transform the boks.
Jake White must be laughing his arse off.
23 Aug 2011, 14:02 pm
I hope Louw goes to the WC – I really rate him. Wish he hadn’t been out of teh Bok side for the last year.
Never been a Deysel fan but he had a few good games this 3-nations which impressed.
23 Aug 2011, 14:04 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-408: That’s just it ranger. Its not him. His fortunes depends largely on the personell he has at his disposal. Granted, so would every other coach but in his case without certain key players the gameplan the players decided doesn’t work because the players aren’t there to make it work. So where does his coaching abilities feature in all this. Why, without Brussow does our game fall flat. Tha’s the one thing he got right in all of 4 years…stating the importance of a Heinrich Brussow in any team. All his detractors did have it right in the end. He has been riding on the coat tails of these players for all this time because in the times that they needed his guidance as to onfield strategy and the players available in successfully carrying out that plan, he decided to go with the flow. No way Ricky or even Hougie is a FdP and without Brussow even FdP’s kicking is a bit les effective. How did we go from the best defensive team in ’09 to the shambles our defense has been a year later and still is at times? And the substitutions he makes during games? I think to this day he has still not worked any of this out. But you probably heard it all before
23 Aug 2011, 14:04 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-439: The tender toothpick? Please no!
23 Aug 2011, 14:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-444:
Nice post
@grant10(grant10)-442: anyone but that coward Hargreaves, really … I will even play an injured Muller before that sissy.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-422: Agreed he is the future of Bok rugby. Still a bit green compared to the likes of Sias, Jantjies, Lambie, van Aswegen, Cronje. Give him a few years and he will make the Bok squad.
23 Aug 2011, 14:07 pm
Transformation , PDV wnted the folliwing okes in his team (they would’ve fitted perfectly in his game plan – according to him) :
Lobberts
ismal eal tollie
january
raubenheimer
ashley johnston
morgan newman
… imagine that!!!!!
23 Aug 2011, 14:09 pm
@RL(RL)-449:
Ye please not Hargreaves.
I think Roussow is going as the lock backup, I like Kruger but I hear he just got injured quite badly?
23 Aug 2011, 14:09 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-438: I would like to see him playing superrugby, maybe he should go to the Kings, anywhere but the Bulls cause they will ruin him.
23 Aug 2011, 14:10 pm
Andries Bekker as next Bok Captain?
Interesting…. never considered that before.
23 Aug 2011, 14:12 pm
I like this squad, except for CJ but what can we do he will be there.
Forwards – Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Juandre Kruger, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Pierre Spies, Willem Alberts, Francois Louw.
Backs – Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Pat Lambie, Frans Steyn.
23 Aug 2011, 14:14 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-445: I hope Deysel goes with. He was the standout performer on the away leg of the tri-nations. I would take him ahead of Ashley Johnson who I think is not up to standard of international rugby yet.
23 Aug 2011, 14:16 pm
johan goosen must just stop the doping. Not a good look for one so young to be taking banned substances.
23 Aug 2011, 14:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-457:
Same substance as Chilliboy and Basson. LOL
23 Aug 2011, 14:18 pm
@grant10(grant10)-429: OK, hargreaves in for him then. I was being hopeful.@grant10(grant10)-442: AS ABOVE,
23 Aug 2011, 14:20 pm
@Sannie Bill Who??iams(Xkreni-WP)-443: Luke will have to prove himself as a bok……up to him to do so…..we dont want to replave 1 farked up situation where bok capiie is a passenger like plod, with another.
23 Aug 2011, 14:21 pm
the other two, were given the juice as part of the Bok team, he went out there and copped it on his own and pretended he didn’t know about it. We know the story
chili & basson – not guilty
doper goosen – guilty & banned!
23 Aug 2011, 14:22 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-457: I think they should legalize doping hell force them to use roids. Fans deserve the greatest athletes science can create.
23 Aug 2011, 14:23 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-462:
ROFL!!
23 Aug 2011, 14:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-461:
Not even a performance enhancing drug so can’t say he did it on purpose.
23 Aug 2011, 14:25 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-462: hope that is tongue in cheek…
23 Aug 2011, 14:26 pm
@Helen(Helen)-417:
you cannot be serious telling me that zane is a better option at 15 then lambie, u must b sniffing soap powder
23 Aug 2011, 14:26 pm
This topic is boring now, and already going on 470 posts. Give as a new thread, Keolings.
23 Aug 2011, 14:27 pm
@grant10(grant10)-465: I have HD TV I want my athletes like my video games. Running faster and jumping higher.
Tongue in cheek of course.
23 Aug 2011, 14:27 pm
hey, i don’t care man. It’s there on his record now, johan goosen = doper! Klaar
23 Aug 2011, 14:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-469:
did u c that drop goal of his on the weekend though hahaha, farking machine!!!! ps Spies big time juice bunny too, blood clots in 07 mmmm i dnt think so
23 Aug 2011, 14:31 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-469:
Hehe fair enough.
23 Aug 2011, 14:32 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:
“”"My first thought upon reading this headline was: “Boy, this is going to be interesting,” in the same way as a road accident scene is interesting but nauseating. And indeed, I was not wrong. JC’s squad is a typical mix and match stew that will flop spectacularly. Keo brings in his lovechild Big Joe, but apparently only to give him a freebie World Cup on his resume, much like Skinstad got in 2007, as he doesn’t even feature in the match day 22. Ryan stubbornly sticks to his “Butch James WILL be the first choice flyhalf” line, in an apparent desperate hope that by repeating it enough times it will make it so. Talk about the power of positive thinking shaping your reality. I think not, Ryan. And Schalk Brits. Hehe. Seems like all three of them are on that bandwagon, when our two World Cup hookers should be Bismark and Adriaan Strauss, on merit. Anyway, thankfully for us these three stooges are not picking the World Cup squad, and that says a lot, considering the ability of the three stooges who ARE picking the squad.”"”
Well said Tac!
23 Aug 2011, 14:33 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-467:
All current threads on keo this last week have been painfully boring.
23 Aug 2011, 14:33 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-470:
Don’t think it’s something to be made fun of. Very nearly killed him.
23 Aug 2011, 14:37 pm
deysel and Mvovo in Durban training with sharks and by al accounts avaiable for selection this weekend….Mc c leod as well….probably count them out wc mix as well
23 Aug 2011, 14:38 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-468: LOL
Thought so…good man
23 Aug 2011, 14:39 pm
i remember Xhosakid last year saying that Chilliboy needs to make peace with his anchestors and then maybe he’ll play better … LOL! maybe it was that moetie that was found in his blood! maybe Basson also took a bite of the “beetroot slaai”! help for chilliboy, basson’s game went backwards after that! Innocent my arse!
23 Aug 2011, 14:40 pm
@grant10(grant10)-475:
Maybe Basson instead of Movo – actually not a bad choice.
23 Aug 2011, 14:40 pm
okay…so by power of deduction….no deysel…mvovo….flip vd merwe….wo…..werner kruger…..
big question about F Louw…..
and the 4 th lock…..imo…
rest pretty straight forward
23 Aug 2011, 14:41 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-478: basson also available for bulls….so he is out
23 Aug 2011, 14:43 pm
ill flip if mvovo is left behind and they take basson that useless thing
23 Aug 2011, 14:45 pm
@grant10(grant10)-480:
Leaves few options. Maybe they see Hougaard as the wing cover and take another prop or loosie.
23 Aug 2011, 14:45 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-481:
Gotta agree. I’d rather not have either of them, but if you’ve gotta take one, take Mvovo.
23 Aug 2011, 14:46 pm
@grant10(grant10)-475: @grant10(grant10)-479: Noooooo Deysel should be there and not Johnson.
23 Aug 2011, 14:47 pm
@grant10(grant10)-479:
Obviously the average Johan Muller.
23 Aug 2011, 14:50 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-481: I feel the same way about Deysel if Ashley Johnson makes it.
23 Aug 2011, 14:51 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-482: that may be the thinking …@Sasuke(Sasuke)-484: sorry mate…he is in Durbs preparing for the sharks …lions clash
23 Aug 2011, 14:52 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-485: Who else though? It’s him or Hargreaves really, and I’d have Muller over Hargreaves every day of the week, Juandre is injured so he doesn’t even come into contention.
23 Aug 2011, 14:52 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-485: yip….I am not much of a fan either…..would have preferred Juandre Kruger
23 Aug 2011, 14:53 pm
jeepers we are gonna miss Andries Bekker
23 Aug 2011, 14:54 pm
I think Flip is better, and I reckon a lock pairing of Rossouw and Flip could have done the job against Nambia, Fiji and the other Pacific Islander team we’re facing, whether they are both no.4′s or not.
23 Aug 2011, 14:54 pm
Jake White looks at the positives from the Boks’ win over New Zealand and what it means for the World Cup opener against Wales.
Last week against Australia, Peter de Villiers said the Springboks won the game everywhere except on the scoreboard. The reality is, the All Blacks will feel that way this week, although they didn’t say it. The All Blacks dominated territory, possession, and had by far the most linebreaks, which they’ll take as positives.
The scramble defence and the way the Boks covered back, proves that no one can question their enthusiasm. But coming back to Peter’s statement last week, and he’ll have to agree, the All Blacks had most of the game in Port Elizabeth.
However, we all know as coaches and supporters, and the reason why people were upset last week is, the only place that counts is the scoreboard. That’s why the Boks will feel encouraged and why the win is a boost for them. The way the Bok set piece functioned was also encouraging.
The strength of the scrum and lineout showed how important it is in securing that ball and gaining momentum in other areas, such as gaining field position. In the first 20 minutes, we had little ball, maybe a scrum and a lineout each, but the set piece importance was amplified when we starting getting into the game and shutting them out.
Tactically, a really important aspect that emerged from this game is how the All Blacks wanted to play against us. They kicked the ball straight down the field onto Pat Lambie, landing just outside the 22. From there, the Boks couldn’t kick direct, while it was difficult to kick a decent return kick because of the angles. It also forced the Bok pack to turn around and help back, while the wings had to go to the middle of the field to help. On the counter-attack, the All Blacks could then hit back with width. Because it was difficult for the Boks’ return-kick to be anywhere else other than the middle, the Kiwis could also attack both sides of the field.
It was wonderful to see initiative from the Kiwi coaching staff – and there was a wider message in that come the World Cup. The last time we played Wales, they only gave us three lineout feeds. We’ll look at it in more depth in the preview before our World Cup opener, but it wouldn’t surprise me if Wales followed the way New Zealand played and kicked straight down the field.
While the Boks only conceded one try, to quote the commentators, the Boks were getting carved to pieces early on. The positive was we only conceded five points against those attacking players. Henry said a lack of execution and maturity once they’d made the linebreak cost them, and he was right.
We’ll have to tighten our first phase defence, because you won’t always get away with it and we won’t always be able to scramble to that effect. In a different game, the opposition will finish.
World Cups are won on defence, and Henry praised the Bok defence, especially the physicality and passion. But we won’t be allowed that much leeway every weekend, because the All Blacks did everything right except finish.
23 Aug 2011, 14:55 pm
Would’ve gone Wilhelm Steenkamp personally, but note sure what his injury situation is. Might actually be ruled out. Need a genuine line-out lock, and he’s a sh-i-t-load better then Hargreaves.
23 Aug 2011, 14:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-488: Give Mostert over the lot. Muller is rubbish. Flip is playing some **** rugga in the CC and is one negative ***** since being dropped from the squad and why all of a sudden Kruger? I’ll take old man Wickus Van Heerden over Kruger. I hope it’s Mostert but I read here is already eating frog legs. I really hope Vic and Bakkies make it through this World Cup. We lose one of them… we in k@k, well maybe Danie can fill in for Botha but for Vic there is no replacement.
23 Aug 2011, 14:59 pm
@grant10(grant10)-490:
know its much and we gotta worry about injuries but mostert is gna play some blinding games im sure, and ive got a feeling they will der take muller with the influience coming from smit, but like i said the other day, if need be alberts can shift to lock as part of the scrum, and if we have the likes of spies and burger with what ever locks are left we do have some line out options, i recon we def gna miss juan more with regards to line outs and over all play more den we will miss bekker
Also, Alberts can also cover lock in a pinch. Didn’t he play lock for about 2 seasons at the Lions?
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-494: i also picked Mostert, if you read my earlier post, Thing is, Mostert, Flip, Anton van Zyl are all no 4 locks, and you will not get the Springboks picking 3 no 4′s and 1 no 5. Just won’t happen.
Hargreaves and Muller are likely to be the pool that the 1 is taken from. Like it or not ( I don’t but I do not have an alternative. 4′s are not an alternative for me).
23 Aug 2011, 15:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-496:
You maybe thinking of Deysel?
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-494: Also, Wikus is playing 4 so also not an option.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-493:
if hargreeves is choosen im gna hit the bottle big time tonight n cry my sorrows away haha
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-496: Never played lock for the Lions.
23 Aug 2011, 15:03 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-498:
Nope, Alberts. I’m pretty sure he played lock first.
23 Aug 2011, 15:04 pm
Mostert was very impressive in a weak Bok team in Australasia. For me he is in the Bekker mould, in that he is more robust than Matfield but also more athletic than Bakkies. He is much better than our other lock options.
This from Rugby 365.com:
Grant Ball’s Bok squad:
Forwards: Beast Mtawarira, Gurthrö Steenkamp, John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Juandre Kruger, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Pierre Spies, Willem Alberts, Francois Louw.
Backs: Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morné Steyn, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Pat Lambie, Frans Steyn.
@capebull(capebull)-158: @dr dre(dr dre)-199:
Spies hit the most rucks (if attacking and defensive breakdowns are added together) against NZ and Aus of all the Boks.
He deserves more credit for the crucial role he plays in dominating the breakdowns.
23 Aug 2011, 15:07 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-502:
alberts has played lock for both lions and sharks but only in the last 10 min o so in his first game for the sharks cuz someone got injuired so he just filled in, but he is def capable of playing lock
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-503:
I agree – I was impressed with Mostert
Two more names your won’t hear being read out tonight: Jean Deysel & Lwazi Mvovo
23 Aug 2011, 15:08 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-508:
time for me to hit the bottle
23 Aug 2011, 15:09 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-491: Agree, but if we lose Vic before or during a big game we in ****. We miss Bekker. Daylight between the next in line…no…light years, in fact.
23 Aug 2011, 15:10 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-508: Makes sense to me. Makes it more likely that either Ashley Johnson or Francois Louw will be the openside cover.
If Lwazi is out then it’s Basson or Odwa for the extra wing berth.
How do you see it?
23 Aug 2011, 15:11 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-508:
Honestly, this will probably be the least controversial Bok squad announcement ever.
Other than John Smit as captain, this team is almost indisputably the best available.
23 Aug 2011, 15:11 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-502: Only played lock u20/21 for the Lions and then replaced Jacques Cronje playing at 8 and on the side.
23 Aug 2011, 15:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-511:
You won’t see Basson’s name either, Odwa, yes.
23 Aug 2011, 15:12 pm
Ek sit en kyk uit op Fireman’s Arms. Flo sal daar wees. Dit is nou ‘n given.
23 Aug 2011, 15:14 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-512: Bekker and Juan Smith being the most notable “would be picked if fit”.
For the rest there really isn’t anyone else that we would want to pick.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-512:
Yup, pretty much an obvious group that will be selected.
And given Spiros’ latest article, some folks in NZ are getting nervous…
for this defencive type style of rugby we are gonna apply to this tournament i wish we had the choice of brad barritt for 12, my word no one ever got through his channel, imagine butch barritt and fourie in a backline, it would be like running into a brick wall
Daar gaan een groot skok keuse wees. **** my.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-497: If Hargreaves is called out I’m grabbing the razor blades.
23 Aug 2011, 15:15 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-513:
You’re wrong, but I’m not going to spend the time dredging up old team announcements to prove it to you.
Maybe someone else will be willing to do that. A brief search on google news brought up an article where Alberts replaced the injured Cobus Grobler as lock in 2007, for one. I’m sure there are more examples. But does it really matter? Point is, he can play lock if he has to.
h o o r – ek moet gou gaan kyk wat met daai woord verkeerd is.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-514: After Bjorn’s terrible defensive display I wouldn’t pick him either. Odwa bring a solid game with lots of experience. In a squad situation he’s a guy to have,
23 Aug 2011, 15:16 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-523: heeeellllooo sweetie
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-514:
Don’t know how Odwa squeezes into so many Bok squads.
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-520: I hear you. If he gets picked I’ll be on my knees praying that Vic doesn’t get injured.
23 Aug 2011, 15:17 pm
Oh boy! My biggest nightmare has arrived. It is like a shadow at noon.
23 Aug 2011, 15:17 pm
@Helen(Helen)-524: Hello Dahlink!
23 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
wow, just heard something very interesting … Kolisi was seen with the other Boks today … apparently WP flew Flo in from Bath as replacement for Kolisi who will be going to the RWC ….. there might be a surprise or 2 after all!!
23 Aug 2011, 15:18 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-523:
I highlighted my concerns over Basson’s defence last year already – it is nothing new, will also not pick him because of that. You can get away with it in CC and maybe even Super Rugby, test rugby you will get exposed badly.
23 Aug 2011, 15:19 pm
If Earl Rose is the shock inclusion then I’m gonna need a drink or ten.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-526:
On your knees. You might just make someone excited.
@Ethel(Ethel)-527: shadow at noon? made a kite out of your bra again?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-521: I don’t recall him being a regular starter at lock for the Lions but when he replaced JC he settled in that possie, but I will go with what you saying.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-525:
Versatility mainly, can cover wing and fullback.
23 Aug 2011, 15:20 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-521:
It’s true! Has actually started a few games for the Lions as a lock also, at least one next to Anton van Zyl.
Couldn’t recall it myself. I remember Deysel playing at 4 though.
23 Aug 2011, 15:21 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-529:
Having fun there?
Kanko will be anothe possible surprise tonight… at least we know that Ricky (mechanic) Januarie is out of the picture
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-530: Ja. he has been exposed the last couple of games that he played. It’s a real pity as he offers a great deal on offence. Lwazi isn’t great in certain circumstances either.
Just can’t have that at this level.
At least Odd-one is pretty solid on D.
23 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
If Bismarck makes the squad I’m going to throw my toys from the cot. He doesn’t deserve to be in the squad after his behavior on the weekend.
23 Aug 2011, 15:22 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-539: I agree 100%, sweetie. You’re so clever. Thanks for being here!
23 Aug 2011, 15:23 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-529:
23 Aug 2011, 15:23 pm
just spoke to my mate who is good mates with deysel and he has not made the squad nor has mvovo……case of hansa here i come
23 Aug 2011, 15:24 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-532: I hope not
I’d rather it be the other way quite frankly.
23 Aug 2011, 15:24 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-540: oh, no ,…. don’t tell me, did he do something incredibly distasteful and potentially dangerous by shaking his head or something equally disguting?
23 Aug 2011, 15:25 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-540:
HAHHAHA
now that is a pretty unique view mate
better get your tissues out
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-544: careful, Effel bleeds from the eyes when she gets excited
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-539:
I think you can work with Mvovo.
He will come good with the right coaching.
Lots of talk about the Wales game, the possible Ireland quarter and the possible AB semi, BUT, who will be included in the squad to deal with the not so insignificant matter of stopping 128kg Tualagi in the Samoa game?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-491: Agreed.
23 Aug 2011, 15:26 pm
No one saw My Name is Earl Rose hanging around the Bok squad recently, by any chance? I just need to be prepared, is all.
23 Aug 2011, 15:26 pm
@Helen(Helen)-545:
Ja and he missed all those tackles. And he is big and unskilled. And he said something about someone once that offended someone and now I think that maybe he is a bully and I don’t like bullies.
23 Aug 2011, 15:27 pm
@BullDog15(BullDog15)-549: You grab him at his ankles… you cannot those puppies in the gym.
Mvovo and Deysel at Sharks training today and made available for them this weekend vs the Lions.
So they’re def out of the mix.
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-553: ^ train
23 Aug 2011, 15:28 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-546:
Ag no you think he’ll make it? I really hope not. He’s so useless. I clearly saw him miss a few tackles on the weekend. I’d rather have Deon Fourie. Deon Fourie throws better into the line-outs as well.
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-543:
You didn’t believe me????
I am devastated!
@Gunther(gunther)-548: Agreed. He has potential for sure and will no doubt play a role in internationals going forward.
As you say, a little work here and there.
Bjorn too can improve, but will he? I’m not sure in his case.
23 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-551:
No he is not.
23 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-558:
we’ll see.
now get up off your knees before snowball gets here.
23 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
Just seen Johnson at the hotel… he’s definately in
@Gunther(gunther)-560:
Someone else is on her knees as you speak.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-508:
Ah, I see you are way ahead of me there.
23 Aug 2011, 15:32 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-557:
hahaha, well ive got my case of hansa ready nw,
frikken hell all i need is hargreeves and kirchnier to be included and ill need rehab
@Helen(Helen)-561:
Ag pleeeees. Stop faking it. Typical female.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-556:
I do agree that his behaviour was unacceptable.
You know as well as I he will be there
1st or 2nd choice to start is the question though.
Jean de Vill, Burger and Brussouw are also in…. just saw them too
23 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-564:
Kirchner won’t be included – Hargs… well.
@Helen(Helen)-567:
You renting a room by the hour perhaps?
@Mike H(Mike H)-566:
I think Divvy is smart enough to know that Bismarcks performance really wasn’t up to scratch.
So he’ll start him in the important games, and put Smit on the bench. I HOPE.
Kolisi, This must be a joke?
@Helen(Helen)-567:
Im pretty sure we expected them to be in lol, thanks none the less
23 Aug 2011, 15:35 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-560:
Perish the thought.
@Helen(Helen)-561: You’re really close to the action hey? Anyone else that may be a marginal/surprise? Kanko?
@Ethel(Ethel)-562: Gentle banter only. Mrs Stormersboy has given me a hall pass on Keo, but that doesn’t extend into real life. Fortunately. I’m a creature of habit in certain areas.
23 Aug 2011, 15:35 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-571:
poppa tells us Kolisi makes the squad? Where would he possibly have gotten that sort of information?
He’s pulling your chain.
23 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-571:
hopefully one big joke man
23 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
nope.
had appointment at sandton towers, saw Muir and Gold, so having a cuppa in the lobby.
23 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
It seems the penny is dropping all around SA
Just one role for John Smit
Archie Henderson | 22 August, 2011 00:06
Who would have thought PE could be such
a beautiful place? But was that rugby
result in the Friendly City on Saturday
night a promising portent for the Boks in
next month’s World Cup, or a flash in the
pan?
Whether it turns out to be the former
depends on how much Peter de Villiers has
learned over the previous few gloomy
weeks of the Tri-Nations.
For all the coach’s romantic ideals, he must
by now realise that the Springboks thrive
on Old Testament rugby – even when the All
Blacks throw an Israel and Isaiah against
them.
The Bok plan – and also the winning formula
at any World Cup – is domination up front, a
rugby version of catenaccio in defence and
a Dead-Eye D*ck goal-kicker. On Saturday,
the Boks had all three in the Mandela Bay
stadium as they wore down the All Blacks
18-5 for a psychologically important victory
so close to the World Cup kick-off.
From a narrow, one-eyed, jingoistic, Green
and Gold perspective (is there any other in a
World Cup year?), the win not only lifted
South African spirits, it also sowed doubt in
the mind of Graham Henry.
The All Blacks coach will now know that his
second-stringers (for that was mostly what
the Boks were up against on Saturday) are
vulnerable. If this feeds the Kiwi paranoia,
then good and well. We’ll take any
advantage going to the Land of the Long
White Cloud, which has so often been a
graveyard for our teams.
New Zealanders are a pessimistic lot when it
comes to the Rugby World Cup, a prize they
have won only once despite being
favourites for every one of the six
tournaments played so far. Perhaps a slight
lack of self-belief will help level the playing
fields in a game in which the All Blacks are
the best team in the world when on song.
The Springbok victory at the weekend
might just have done the rest of the rugby
world a favour.
Where the All Blacks did the Boks a favour
on Saturday was in, hopefully, helping De
Villiers make up his mind about the squad
he will name tomorrow that will defend in
the Webb Ellis trophy from September 11,
when the Boks open their campaign against
Wales.
It’s clear that De Villiers has not been able to
sink the Bismarck. Attempting to convince
us that John Smit is a better hooker than his
Sharks team-mate is like saying a fishing
boat can outgun a battleship.
But De Villiers will not let go of Smit as his
Bok captain and we have to accept that.
First, the Bok coach does not have the
courage of Robbie Deans, who stripped
Rocky Elsom of the Wallaby captaincy last
week, and, second, he does not have the
perfect replacement that Deans had in
James Horwill.
Victor Matfield might be a great player but
he does not have the natural leadership
qualities of Smit.
This is De Villiers’s dilemma: a skipper who
has respect, can motivate men in a crisis,
but can no longer hold his own in the team.
Perhaps the answer is to have Smit as a
dressing-room captain who gets to play the
last five minutes or so of a test match, when
this can be risked.
Taking Bismarck du Plessis off when he did
on Saturday night provoked an
astonishingly vehement reaction from the
hooker to the coach’s decision. De Villiers
cannot alienate one of his best players.
The coach also needs to understand that the
Rugby World Cup is not a place for
sentiment. If Morne Steyn is kicking his
goals, as he did on Saturday night, he must
be the flyhalf ahead of Butch James; if
Heinrich Brussouw, Willem Alberts and
Pierre Spies are the best loose trio, then
Schalk Burger must wait for his chance; and
if Bismarck remains in such sublime form,
there is only one role for John Smit: non-
playing captain.
23 Aug 2011, 15:37 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-543: Noooo!!! He was the Lone warrior on the overseas leg of the Tri-Nations! Ashley Johnson’s selection is window dressing.
23 Aug 2011, 15:38 pm
@Helen(Helen)-576:
shout fire and see who runs outta their room haha
@ hendrikp(hendrikp), that guy is even more delusional than I thought. I support WP and can see the massive potential of kolisi (great offloads for loose forward) but to select him at WC (the showpiece of rugby) is ridiculous. No man, if that’s true then is a farce
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-573:
I saw PDivvy sitting with a lady in the carpark. I wonder who that is? Maybe the informant.
23 Aug 2011, 15:39 pm
@Helen(Helen)-576:
No taste! You could do better than that.
23 Aug 2011, 15:40 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-581: LOL that’s funny. But I think the mystery woman turned out to be Percy
23 Aug 2011, 15:41 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-581:
could u spot a video camera haha? just joking helen
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-580:
He’s just messing around. No harm done
@ Ethel(Ethel), he’s giving her a signature with his pen
Kolisi is going … you’ll see! 99% sure! Its a good investment for the future, he probably won’t even play 1 game … its for the experience! good move!
23 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-584:
STRUEASBOB
23 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-573:
apparently kanko has just phoned room service for a hyper allerginic pillow and some shea butter soap.
so he’s in.
23 Aug 2011, 15:43 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-583:
You say Helen is Percy?
stil cant believe it that kolisis is der, hope its incorrect thought, maybe beast caught a bug n hasnt eaten lol
@Helen(Helen)-561: No that lazy oke!
@ Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69) hopefully your inside info is fake, just like your nickname
also Flo practising with Province … no Kolisi … Kolisi spotted with the Boks! unless he is just travelling with the Boks for some other reason …
23 Aug 2011, 15:44 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-587:
Ja rather give him experience sitting on his *** in New Zealand then playing CC rugby, potentially in a final.
Makes perfect sense
23 Aug 2011, 15:45 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-589:
allergenic.
before corpus reads me the riot act.
23 Aug 2011, 15:46 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-593: @seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-591: @Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-594:
Flo is contracted to Bath, only reason he could ever be released if for Bok duty, not WP duty – relax.
23 Aug 2011, 15:46 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-594:
flo with province?? how if he has signed with bath? maybe flo and kolisi swapped ID’s haha
23 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-596: You mean Corpus Testes? Is he around?
23 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
seabiscuit …. Flo is in the country …. WP had agreement with Flo .. if they need him, he must come back and help out ….
Earl Rose, Jannie de Beer and Uli Schmidt…… now I’m confused
@ PissAnt(PissAnt), that makes sense! Let’s hope you’re right, I almost pissed in my jockey
23 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-597:
If you’re telling me that Flo is in the Bok squad then I’m definitely not going to relax. Farce.
Any more news from our roving reporter?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-531: how about TGHMQD? – Rumour or shock inclusion?
Anyone know if Bakkies is in? He’s another one that needs that smurk wiped off his face.
What makes him think he has the right to get cheeky with the All Blacks and get into a push and shove? If the referee had reversed that penalty we probably would’ve lost.
Hopefully they take Hilton Lobberts instead. He’s really impressed me lately.
23 Aug 2011, 15:50 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-600:
ive noticed both in 2007 and 2011 around wc squad announcment time i tent to loose all my hair i wonder what could be causing such a thing lol
23 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
sorry, getting bored now, haven’t seen anyone else. they’ve disappeared like the flies off the wedding cake when Effel arrives
23 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-603:
Not at all, got no news or info on that, just saying Kolisi rumor is rubbish.
23 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-605:
Don’t know what that means.
Got to run, later.
and btw, it will keep the ANCYL happy!
23 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@Helen(Helen)-608:
If you have flies on your wedding cake, then it is time to wash. Sies
23 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-610:
The great hard man Quinton Davids wasn’t it?
23 Aug 2011, 15:54 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-609:
Oh.
Strange how we suddenly struggle to pick 6 world class loosies, when our loose forward depth is normally so impressive.
Spies
Brussouw
Burger
are sure bets.
After that the quality drops off steeply, especially now that Rossouw has clearly lost a yard of pace and is limited to a lock role.
23 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-614:
Oh, no wonder I couldn’t read the code. I’ve got it as TGLMQD, substituting lard for hard.
23 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-610: the great hardman quinton davids.
23 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-616:
I see. He’d still be better then Bakkies then. Less likely to get carded, and we’re better off having him on the field doing ‘not much’ then having Bakkies not on the field at all.
23 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-617: we need a jumper and an athletic but agressive lock to cover for Matfield …
23 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
lardman …. lol.
23 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-613: Thanks for the advice. Maybe you also have some advice on how to remove earthworms and a rat’s nest from a wedding cake. You seem to know about these things
23 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-618:
Not sure what you’re trying to achieve with this sarcasm campaign of yours, but in my humble opinion it’s wearing a bit thin.
Doesn’t quite have the effect you probably want it to have.
23 Aug 2011, 16:01 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-600: @PissAnt(PissAnt)-597: Lol this is actually helping to make the announcement more excited and hopefully worthwhile. Cheers guys I am out. Tomorrow we can start picking our teams for all the Boks games at the World Cup.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-606:
lobberts??? u cant be serious? i think that dude has knuckle dusters or something while he plays lol
Lardman
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-615: That can be said for most positions though.
I mean, with Bekker injured, who are the back-up locks? There’s Danie and… so just Danie.
Props? Kruger, Greyling and Oosthuizen are a distinct next level.
Flyhalfs? Lambie, maybe.
Centres? De Jongh and that’s about it.
Wings? Maybe Basson, possibly Mvovo. But not realy.
So we have our 30 man squad, and beyond them we’re scraping the barrel.
23 Aug 2011, 16:02 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-622:
True. Oh well.
23 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-599:
it’s almost time for him to change his batteries.
an appearance can’t be far off.
23 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-627: I agree with Tacitus, you are an idiot
23 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-624:
No not serious. I’m just trying to get in on making stupid comments. That’s the only way people seem to get along on Keo, by patting the other idiots on the back
23 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-613:
no man
23 Aug 2011, 16:05 pm
@Helen(Helen)-629:
Jeez woman calm down. I’m gonna go slit my wrists now. So depressed that you would think that of me.
23 Aug 2011, 16:06 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-628: That man spilled his blood on the streets of Athlone so that you can blog here today. Show some respect for struggling vet.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-626:
True.
@Gunther(gunther)-589: lol
23 Aug 2011, 16:07 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-630: Try the Huisgenoot blog. They have room for one more, so hurry!
23 Aug 2011, 16:08 pm
@Helen(Helen)-636:
Are you going to join me there? I need the emotional support.
23 Aug 2011, 16:10 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-637: Did you see that I said they only have room for one more? Now, hurry? I told them you’re coming, so they’ll have a virtual koeksister waiting for you when you log on, hurry!
23 Aug 2011, 16:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-633:
it was ketchup.
from a boerrie roll.
and a free one at that.
rolling mass action.
23 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
@Helen(Helen)-638:
I can’t leave without you. Arrange for 2 and we can go.
23 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
Schalk Brits in the squad in absurd to begin with… But to put him in the 20 jersey is ridiculous beyond measure!
What do you want to do with him?
- Change hookers 3 times?
- Put him on as an impact player in the place of Spies, when the game gets loose? You seriously think he is a better option than Spies at the end?
- Or I’ve heard MORE ludicrous things from people, like putting him on wing and centre!!! (bahaha)
No no no KEO my good man:
- Heinrich must NEVER be taken off the field.
- The advantage of Spies pace and fitness comes out in the last 20min, so he can’t be replaced.
- Albert will come on as impact for Schalk
I agree with the 5/2 split because of the versatile backs, but rather:
- Add an extra prop, to ensure set piece dominance for a full 80min ala Rassie
Like many people have said now. You discredit yourself by making such a selection.
23 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
Why would anybody take anything that this fool, Mills_is_kak, alias Quota_Sux, alias Ntini_is_a_quota, alias Boo_Habana etc, etc, etc, say seriously. Everybody knows that he is just here to wind people up wrt POC.
Some people come across as dof.
23 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-640: Are you harrassing me again? You are one comment away from being reported to Ethel, so that she can sort you out! She will strangle you with the hair on her back and then fill your cavaties with aged 12 year-old tampons (which she rolled herself, by the way!)
23 Aug 2011, 16:16 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-408: Well said Rangerman. Spot on.
I’d like PdV to continue. I don’t think he will.
23 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-639: I heard it was period stains from when Effel led the marchers to protest against the unequal treatment of idiots
23 Aug 2011, 16:19 pm
@Helen(Helen)-643:
Not harrassing you. Just feel me and you have become close today. Now you must be my wife. What do you think?
23 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
New coaching structure after RWC:
head coach – Pieter de Villiers
asst coach – Nick Mallet
Fitness coach – Ricky Januarie
Video operator – Jake White
Back coach – Schalk Brits
Forwards – Gary Teichman
What a team!
23 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-633: Katters you there?
23 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
Heyneke wasn’t at the Bulls practice session this afternoon – maybe he is one of the 10 *** coaches for PDV … PDV only at the RWC to promote Energade drinks when the camera is on him during games
23 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-646:
ok, thought you’d never ask! No, go fetch me a beer, b i t c h!
23 Aug 2011, 16:22 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-648: heeeeellllloooo sweetie
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-648: I’m everywhere.
@Helen(Helen)-650:
I like it when you talk dirty to me.
23 Aug 2011, 16:23 pm
what the hell is going in here?
23 Aug 2011, 16:24 pm
@Helen(Helen)-650:
feisty.
daddy likee.
23 Aug 2011, 16:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-654:
nothing’s going in.
yet.
23 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
Is Helen actually Dawn?
And if not, where’s Dawn gone?
23 Aug 2011, 16:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-645: sies man dis seker die miffste ding waaroor jy noupraat ,sies vir jou
@Gunther(gunther)-656:
You really crack me up
@>^..^< katman(katman)-652: Drop me a mail at stormerskeo@gmail when you get a chance. There’s something I want to send you.
23 Aug 2011, 16:28 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-657:
I know.
I miss her like the big spoon misses the small spoon.
@Helen(Helen)-651: Hello Dahlink
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-657: I am not Dawn…. but I did use a different name here before.
23 Aug 2011, 16:29 pm
I’m going to take a stab in the dark and say that Helen and Ethel are characters invented by the Keo crowd to keep the male blog visitors clicking. I’m thinking Helen is Ryan Vrede and Ethel is Simon Borchardt. Bravo, it seems to be working.
23 Aug 2011, 16:30 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-660:
if it’s smut, don’t forget your real friends.
23 Aug 2011, 16:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-654: You don’t want to know, it’s a jungle in here! what with Effel’s hairy back and all
23 Aug 2011, 16:31 pm
I’m concerned that keo would consider Schalk Brits
Schalk still the one player with broad smile immediately after a defeat; I still say ‘your cup cannot run over with joy after a loss’
23 Aug 2011, 16:32 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-665: he he quite plausible.
@Helen(Helen)-663: We were sure this wasn’t your first time on this site, Please don’t turn out to be a dude. I don;t want to have a “crying game” moment
23 Aug 2011, 16:32 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-653: I like it when you don’t talk to me, so hurry along and go check if you wiped your ar$e (I know it’s been bugging you all day and you’re not sure if you did)
23 Aug 2011, 16:33 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-668:
I think mini schalk is next on keo’s talent list.
This is what’s known in the journalism/sports mangement business as foreplay.
or muffing.
23 Aug 2011, 16:35 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-654:
The return of the hillbillies.
@Helen(Helen)-670:
Don’t be like that sweet cheeks. Are you breaking it off with me? Thought we had something special. Oh well.
@Gunther(gunther)-671: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahazhahahahahahahahahahahahahah
you are seriously funny! I hope you make money from your strengths as I do from mine?
23 Aug 2011, 16:40 pm
@Helen(Helen)-674:
hooking isn’t a strength.
@Helen(Helen)-674:
I actually used to run a hollywood porn company.
Sadly it went belly up and now all I have are the memories and one slighlty used starfish bleaching kit.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-673: ja, shame, it’s a pity. oh well, maybe next time? It’s not you, it’s me. Now go check out the ar$e as I told you before you have a few pesky little crusties to contend with
23 Aug 2011, 16:41 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-675: Neither is hunting live stock with a crow bar, but that’s never stopped you, has it?
23 Aug 2011, 16:42 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-665:
HAHHAHAHHAHAHAH A:)
23 Aug 2011, 16:43 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-656: waiting for et@
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-669: bwahahahaha you been cosying up to a dude!
23 Aug 2011, 16:43 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-676: I know the feeling. It must be hard when your business goes limp?
23 Aug 2011, 16:44 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-679: Neither of them has denied it yet
23 Aug 2011, 16:45 pm
@Helen(Helen)-663:
big g?
@Gunther(gunther)-676: you seen the movie middle men with luke wilson?
@Transformation(Transformation)-680:
snowball is just wiping his chin.
he will be along shortly.
leave stormersboy.
he’s hurting pretty bad right now.
nobody like ordering calamari and getting served bratwurst
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-660: Mail sent.
23 Aug 2011, 16:46 pm
@Helen(Helen)-678:
You’ve silenced me. That was such a boring reply I’ve got nothing to say.
23 Aug 2011, 16:47 pm
@nama1(nama1)-672: hi nama long time no see, hope u keeping well.
@Transformation(Transformation)-684:
no.
is it new?
keo must be frikken retarded.
He’d pick britz in a match day 22 that already has smit and bismark in it?
to do what?
cover flank,cover center?
and de jong, to do what from the bench? if you are going to have a 5-2 split your 2 must without a doubt be utilities that can cover a couple of positions reasonably competently.
And what if butch get’s injured early on?
Frans Steyn to then move to 10….a position he has always been kak in?
And Aplon at 14? Why? Didn’t keo see how shite he was the other day under pressure and with his dodgy left boot? Ironically, I would consider him as a back 3 utility
no way hose
keo is great at critisizing but shite at picking a serious match day 22.
23 Aug 2011, 16:48 pm
Notice how pleasant it is here when ET, Effel and poop69 are not around….
By the way, I am not Simon Borchardt.
Some of you might remember me as Jo, but that was many years ago when the bulls babes were still the hottest thing you guys had ever laid eyes on. No-one calls ame Jo anymore, other than some family and fwends
23 Aug 2011, 16:49 pm
You are all wrong:
15 Lambie
14 Pieterson
13 Fourie
12 De Villiers
11 Hougaard
10 James
9 Du Preez
8 Spies
7 Burger
6 Brussouw
5 Matfield
4 Botha
3 Du Plessis
2 Du Plessis
1 Steenkamp
16 mTwarira
17 Smit
18 Van Der Linde
19 Alberts
20 Steyn
21 Aplon
22 Steyn
Blazer Booiz
mVovo
Pienaar
De Jongh
Habana
Louw
Van Der Merwe
Roussouw
BJ Botha
@Gunther(gunther)-685:
@Gunther(gunther)-676: A camcorder, some ceiling mirrors and a busty second cousin doesn’t a porn company make.
23 Aug 2011, 16:50 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-689: yes, on dvd already though…u’ll enjoy it i promise you
23 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
Hahahaha
stormerboy got himself a “jo” which is short for johan? Hahaha
23 Aug 2011, 16:53 pm
@Helen(Helen)-691: Of course you’re not Simon, “Helen”, you’re Ryan Vrede.
23 Aug 2011, 16:54 pm
I think it must be the hardest thing to try and figure out the South African accent.
In the 3N context, we know what Aussies and Kiwis sound like.
How would one describe the SA accent?
23 Aug 2011, 16:54 pm
@Helen(Helen)-691: Bull babes are a contradiction in terms
23 Aug 2011, 16:55 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-698: Unique perfection in hybridity.
23 Aug 2011, 16:56 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-697: nope. wrong again.
23 Aug 2011, 16:56 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-696: hey janet jackson’s other name is “jo” so M is still in the clear…but if this helen is a man then i’ll have to check some of the threads for archive purposes
23 Aug 2011, 16:57 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-697:
she has a deeper voice than ryan that’s true.
but then so does katie perry.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-694:
but we gave it one hell of a shot.
are you interested in the starfish bleacing kit?
the highest bid I have on ebay is $3 from a John in Philadelphia.
He’s asked me not to clean it.
Which is odd.
23 Aug 2011, 16:57 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-698: The Kiwis on this blog probably think we all sound like Ryan “Helen” Vrede.
23 Aug 2011, 16:59 pm
@ trans, I will have to change my nick then! Hahaha
23 Aug 2011, 17:00 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-703: I’ve heard about him. He’s a collector. Calls his showroom his “lab”.
23 Aug 2011, 17:03 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-703: Is the sphinchter bleaching thing a DIY or do you need someone to hold the mirror or seperate the locks?
23 Aug 2011, 17:03 pm
what is the saffa accent? keo doesn’t sound like helen vrede and vrede doesn’t sound like baakies.
23 Aug 2011, 17:04 pm
@ gunther, you’re ffucking hilarious mate, give that man a bells
23 Aug 2011, 17:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-708: Sorry to disappoint. I am not keo, ryan, simon, janet or johan. I am Helen.
23 Aug 2011, 17:12 pm
Ryan is kak dom
23 Aug 2011, 17:17 pm
@Helen(Helen)-707:
Look this was hollywood so natch we got a mexican to do it.
If you are going to outsource it then use extrabollocks.
He has a phd in polishing rusty sheriff badges.
23 Aug 2011, 17:18 pm
Here is my attempt to list some of the discernable ones in SA; I may well have missed another 5:
Kullids
• Namakwaland
• West Coast
• Cape Peninsula: Southern Suburbs
• Cape Peninsula: Northern Suburbs
• Southern Cape (e.g. Pacaltsdorp)
• Karoo
• Bloem/Kimberley/Pretoria/Joburg
Eng
• Cape Pens: southern
• Joburg
• KZN
• Mediter (Port, Ital, etc)
Black
• Other African (Zim, Nig)
• Traditional
• Private school
Indian
• Cape
• KZN
Afrik
• Namakwaland
• West Coast
• Cape: Northern
• Karoo
• Bloem/Kimberley/Pretoria/Joburg
23 Aug 2011, 17:21 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-713: right of the bat i can tell you you missing the limpopo ones
23 Aug 2011, 17:22 pm
Not sure how people could even think of putting in Mvovo before Habana – ok his lost his speed but his defence and work rate on the field is 2nd to none, He save the boks big time on Saturday, whilst JPP sucks on defence he got side stepped once I think. Mvovo has the legs but has no clue on defence and no work rate. I would put Sadie in think he is a natural talent and definitely better option than WOlivier or Jacobs. Bissie is the best hooker in the world but in SA he has to play behind J SMit, ok we need Smit as captain as no one else is up for it, Matfield is no good and who is left…. Smit should stay on the bench and come on at the end if we are in the lead. But Bismark work rate and could swear he has been picking up tips from Brussow, and would say habana on saturday was like wing/ loosie the way he was attacking the ruck
23 Aug 2011, 17:25 pm
Freakin hell!!! The Libyan rebels are busy attacking Ghadaffi’s compound. (CNN)
All hell broke lose over there.
Hope this comes to an end within the next 24 hours.
23 Aug 2011, 17:25 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-713: hi sheriif. so please post the link to the new outpost – i.e that other rugby blog site. the newly created one. any comments you would like to share on that?
i haven’t seen it.
23 Aug 2011, 17:26 pm
My Springbok Rugby World Cup 2011 squad:
John Smit as official captain (but I’d play him from the bench at hooker) and Victor Matfield as vice captain.
Forwards (16):
Beast, Guthro, Jannie duP, CJ vd Linde, Bismarck duP, John Smit(c), Chilliboy, Matfield (vc), Bakkies, Danie Roussouw, Brussow, Burger, Willem Alberts, Spies
Backs (14):
Francois Hougaard, Fourie duP, Ruan Pienaar, Butch, Morne Steyn, Habana, JPP, Aplon, Mvovo, JdV, Jaque Fourie, JdJ, Frans Steyn, Lambie
Match 22 against Wales:
1 Beast 2 Bismarck 3 Jannie duP 4 Danie Roussouw 5 Matfield (c) 6 Brussow 7 Alberts 8 Burger 9 Hougaard 10 Morne Steyn 11 Habana 12 JdV 13 Jaque Fourie 14 JPP 15 Francois Steyn
16 John Smit 17 Guthro 18 Bakkies 19 Spies 20 Fourie duP 21 Butch 22 Aplon
23 Aug 2011, 17:27 pm
by the way. these are all kahk squads.
only the real one counts
23 Aug 2011, 17:28 pm
gaddaffi’s compound has bunker for days, he is prolly a km beneath the surface and if anyone dares to go there he’ll blow the sh*t out if them…
What is with russia saying they spoke to muammar just earlier?
23 Aug 2011, 17:30 pm
Well if the trend is continued, then Ashley Johnson will also not make the RWC cut.
23 Aug 2011, 17:31 pm
@rabooby(rabooby)-715:
“Bissie is the best hooker in the world but in SA he has to play behind J SMit, ok we need Smit as captain as no one else is up for it, Matfield is no good and who is left…. Smit should stay on the bench and come on at the end if we are in the lead.”
Who do you recommend should lead in JS’s absence while he is on the bench?
23 Aug 2011, 17:34 pm
@shooter(shooter)-719:
You speaka da truth.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-721:
What trend? Is Ashley practising with the Cheetahs?
23 Aug 2011, 17:38 pm
@shooter(shooter)-717:
Nothing like that mate
I forgot to say of course that there is no right accent; I did that little exercise here no and was amazed that we can actually communicate with each other meaningfully
So hopefully our kiwi mates can put that down as a basis to start from
23 Aug 2011, 17:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-720:
They said the same thing about Sadam. Him having a bunker beneath his palace designed by some German engineer which were to keep him safe for months. It turned out to be a fat lie.
Never believe the Dept. of Lies and Deceit of the “Big Daddies’ of the world.
His son is turning out to be the Comical Ali of the revolution. Denying that there were any rebels in Tripoli yesterday.
23 Aug 2011, 17:41 pm
@nama1(nama1)-723:
He has been named in their team for this weekend.
23 Aug 2011, 17:42 pm
@nama1(nama1)-723: keeping everybody entertained. very happy i didn’t have to be here for that.
Keo has not got JPP in the 22. go figure.
JPP was actually awesome. with no other bench player this could have been a dropshot when Lambie went off. playing FB for 60 minutes. he should be our back-up 15. opens lots of new opportunities.
like we saw Hougaard playing on wing/ covering scrummie. Hougaard covering 13
Lambie taking the ball at 10…. JP joining the line.
JPP is THE player to run from 15 in SA. if we can get it right.
23 Aug 2011, 17:43 pm
Props
Jannie Du Plessis
Guthro Steenkamp
Beast Mtawarira
Werner Kruger
Hookers
Bismarck Du Plessis
Chilliboy Ralapele
Adrian Strauss
Locks
Victor Matfield (Captain)
Bakkies Botha
Danie Russouw
Gerhard Mostert
Loosies
Schalk Burger
Heinrich Brussow
Pierre Spies
Willem Alberts
Keegan Daniels
Ashley Johnson
Scrumhalves
Fourie Du Preez
Francois Hougaard
Ruan Pienaar
Flyhalves
Butch James
Morne Steyn
Centers
Jean de Villiers
Jacque Fourie
Juan De Jongh
Wings
Bryan Habana
JP Pieterson
Gio Aplon
Fullbacks
Patrick Lambie
Francois Steyn
On more change – Peter De Villiers makes way for Rassie Erasmus as coach.
23 Aug 2011, 17:51 pm
From all that will not make the squad Jano Vermaak is the unluckiest player in SA
bladdy farce
23 Aug 2011, 17:56 pm
Ha ha well unfortunately it will have to be Matfield.
23 Aug 2011, 17:57 pm
Well I say Pieter de Villiers is a far better coach than White could ever be
White was so far out of his depth when sh’t hit the fan he had to hire an Aussie
White couldn’t or wouldn’t trust Rassie or Smal or Coetsee so he turned to an Aussie instead, who turned his dead dour game around on its head, and fixed all his woes in one smart step.
Boks are a very happy group of players, that you can see from their countenance and that speaks volumes for De Villiers man management abilities.
Plus White went into the WC rated 4th behind NZ, Aussie and France, and emerged as No. 1 due to double ranking points earned in WC comps and having beaten the likes of England rank 7, Samoa rank 12, Usa rank 15, Tonga rank 14, Fiji rank 13, Argentina rank 6.. he suddenly turned out to be Lord F’ng Muck on Toast.
Most journalists including this lot at Safika Highbury and the rest reckon PdV is just a clown.. bottom line is Boks are possibly far better prepared now than they were this time in 2007 .. and it already shows.
What they gonna do or say if P.Diddy actually produces a masterpiece and wins a WC unlike the previous one which was won largely by default.. this one they gonna have to win from the front against the best not against outside ranks 6 and 7.
23 Aug 2011, 17:58 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-726:
Oh! Maybe a precautionary measure by Naka?
That will probably mean that the speculation about Flo may be true as cover for HB with Schalk and Alberts at 7.
What’s you feeling about a 17/13 split and selecting a 3rd TH in the squad?
@shooter(shooter)-727:
“…JPP sucks on defence he got side stepped once I think.” (see p. 715)
Well, all it takes is to be side stepped once and you will be called a bad defender and therefore not good enough to be selected.
No matter how many good things you did otherwise you did has no bearing on you being good enough to be in the team. Some people are really not thinking clearly.
23 Aug 2011, 18:01 pm
you – your
23 Aug 2011, 18:03 pm
@ Ashampoopaloo – please tell me your joking, if you think Psilly is better than White or any Coach then you must be watching a different BOk side to what we are watching. Psilly will only have a chance as his using Whites team and they are making all the decisions. Hopefully Rassie can take over Post WC
23 Aug 2011, 18:06 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-731:
White seems to a lot to say or is quoted daily on news24 dot com.
The other day he pointed out Habana defences problems, then the conditioning and today the succession debate.
He is doing Allister Coetzee no favours by throwing his name around; from what I can see Coetzee wants to get on with the job and earn future positions on merit.
Is it a case of if Coetzee is appointed that Jake can say: well that’s what I said (ie they followed my advice)
Why not just chill and wish the Boks well?
23 Aug 2011, 18:06 pm
@nama1(nama1)-732:
17/13 split looks more and more likely.
Don’t think Naka would have selected Johnson if he was not officially released by the Boks….
Personally, a second specialist tighthead to me is crucial, but does not look like its going to happen, BJ is injured, Coenie also playing CC as is Werner Kruger.
For my money, Kanko, Johnson, Deysel, Potgieter all missing the cut – Vermeulen might be a bolter selection, with Flo.
23 Aug 2011, 18:07 pm
JPP did exceptionally well at 15 I reckon he’s a natural playing there… and in fact a very good viable option in WC would be to play JPP at 15 and Aplon at 14 .. I prefer it that way around than the other way.
JPP
Aplon
Fourie
JdV
Habana
Butch
Hougaard
Burger
Brussow
Matfield
Botha
JdP
Bismark
Steenkamp
Beast
Strauss / Chili
CJ
Mostert / Roussow
Spies
Pienaar / FdP
Steyn M. / Steyn F. / De Jongh
23 Aug 2011, 18:15 pm
De Villiers a far better coach than White only problem with de Villiers is he is simply too loyal for his own damn good.. should have parked J. Smit off as the spokesman / press box ambassador / interview taker / player manager No.23 in the squad and got on with winning instead of pussyfooting around with a captain who cannot captain and cannot lead and cannot cut it at the coalface of modern rugby for longer than 10 minutes at a stretch and Boks would never have been in the predicament they found themselves the past 2 years..
De Villiers is a FAR better coach than White and his record undoubtedly shows it already by some margin ACTUALLY !! Once you got the jaundiced judgment out your planked up eyesight then you will see the FACTS for what they palpably and exactly ARE..! poor fools. Blinded by a cake walk no contest WC win where the Aussie did all the coaching and the Fake Flop lapped up all the accolades.
23 Aug 2011, 18:16 pm
@rabooby(rabooby)-734:
JW record before the start of the RWC:
Play: 44
Win: 26
Win %: 59, 1
PdV record before the start of the RWC:
Play: 43
Win: 26
Win %: 60,5
JW vs All Blacks
Play: 9
Win: 3
Win %: 33.3%
PdV vs All Blacks
Play: 11
Win: 5
Win %: 45,5%
23 Aug 2011, 18:17 pm
Kolisi not in WP team for this weekend! Is he going to WC? I’m shocked, happy for the youngster but shocked. Flo also not in WP team, what’s happening?
23 Aug 2011, 18:21 pm
Just read that Deysel/Mvovo back with the Sharks and Johnson back with the Cheetahs.
It seems Flo has leaped frogged Deysel and Johnson. What a shame. Both those players put their bodies on the line down under, so our top Boks could train and rest up in Rustenburg. Not sure what Flo done?
23 Aug 2011, 18:22 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-740: You know I read it on one of the rugby blogs this week that someone mentioned that Kolisi would be a surprise selection. So he could be. I am shocked too.
23 Aug 2011, 18:23 pm
Read that Mostert has been selected for his club in France too. So doubt he is selected.
23 Aug 2011, 18:25 pm
Kolisi would be an absolute bolter and one for a feather in the transformation cap of Saru. and I reckon could work a treat if it so happens.. bolters out the blue are good.. they set the cat amongst the pigeons and keep everybody hopping and guessing which way the wind gonna blow.. a bolter out the blue is what this team can do with.. one little bolter out of 30 won’t harm anyone and may just do wonders which often bust the mediocrity out the window.
Could be just what the doctor ordered now that we getting a little thin at loosie cover and Kolisi can do the business of that i’m sure.. far less of a passenger in the squad than cappy marvelous the galvanizing aura who can do no wrong .. no wrong .. no wrong … no wrong ..
23 Aug 2011, 18:25 pm
@ Puma(Puma), he’s got good skills but he hasn’t been tried against top opposition. The CC this year is watered down therefore cannot really judge him
23 Aug 2011, 18:27 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-740: @Puma(Puma)-742:
Kolisi listed as injured for WP.
But it does look likely Vermeulen cracked the nod.
Either that, or Keo’s love child, Joe van Niekerk.
23 Aug 2011, 18:27 pm
@Puma(Puma)-741: I hope it’s not true because it will be a slap in the face to both players. If Flo is in the mix then why was he not part of the group in Rustenburg then.
23 Aug 2011, 18:28 pm
No I refuse to believe this, I think the top boks (the match 22) being rested and the rest was made available for CC
23 Aug 2011, 18:30 pm
Yes all these wins and stats on Psilly but its still Jake Whites team. He put this team together and drilled them for 4 years. Psilly has not improved the team at all, still the same tactics Jake White was using. I am doubring your rugby knowlede with the is arguement you are trying to justify.
23 Aug 2011, 18:31 pm
@ PissAnt(PissAnt) “injured” like the 23 boks in rustenburg
@HHS, flo was injured, really injured
23 Aug 2011, 18:34 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-750:
Who knows…
23 Aug 2011, 18:34 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-750: Then he should have been in Rustenburg, because miracles was perform in those change rooms.
23 Aug 2011, 18:35 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-745: Only tried out in CC? Just not fair on the players that had to tour down under. What the heck they go there for? We all knew they would get beat. But some thought they had a chance of selection and played out of their skins for it. Don’t seem right to me.
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-747: Have not idea either. Yes it would be a slap in the face of players that really played their hearts out down under hoping for a selection. Can’t understand it. Unless they just gonna call out names later. Some how doubt it. When Jake’s team got called out the players came out one by one. So if these players are with their franchises I think they are not selected. Shame that actually.
@Puma(Puma)-753: not idea = no idea
@rabooby(rabooby)-749:
Don’t feel bad. You are not alone.
It’s a catch phrase with some people. This “I doubt your rugby knowledge.”
23 Aug 2011, 18:37 pm
The bad part is that there will be another 700 thread tonight with the same posts.
23 Aug 2011, 18:37 pm
200 thousand tickets remain unsold and revenue target 15 million pounds short.in their quest to appease the kwis it seems the irb basically shot themselves in both feet.
23 Aug 2011, 18:39 pm
@ HHS, haha
@ puma, agree 100% with you, he shouldve played in tri nations then. I don’t think players will get called up one by one, if I remember correctly a few players got booooed
23 Aug 2011, 18:42 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-746: If Vermeulen is there I have no problem with that at all. He was injured for the down under tour. He played brilliant in SuperRugby. A player that should get the nod. But if Flo and Kolisi is there. Then I really feel for the players that were just used as ‘guinea pigs to the slaughter’ on the down under tour. Some played their hearts out thinking they could get selected.
Then only probably Lambie, JdJ and Aplon have been selected from that tour. Well for now it seems that way. Unless they just going to call out names and players are not there tonight. Somehow doubt it.
23 Aug 2011, 18:45 pm
Wow
It the time of all the rag-tag wannabe ‘selectors’ now
23 Aug 2011, 18:46 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-758: I think they will do it that way. Can’t just see your name up on tv being selected for wc. This what players have been playing for the big prise. They will come out like they done when Jake’s team came out when selected for 2007.
There won’t be any to boo anyone. So calm down. Will only be the press.
Anyhow expect some surprises.
Back later. Going to eat dinner now.
23 Aug 2011, 18:48 pm
White was utter kak… De Villiers never lost 49-0 to anyone .. plus De Villiers has a FAR better record on Eoyt’s AND tri nations ESPECIALLY against NZ where White was absolutely pathetic in comparison..
Eddy Jones coached this team to a non contested WC win.. not White.. White lost to NZ 6 from 9 and scraped his last home win against them by 1 point.. Lost to France and Ireland regularly and couldn’t string a winning team together till Jones showed him how..
And it ain’t Jake Whites team same as its not De Villiers team. or John Smits team even though sometimes he might still think it is…
apart from Beast, Bismark and Spies (who played No.8 for De Villiers at junior level) and Alberts and Brussow, the entire JW front 5 vanguard all played for Streauli . not White
Smit, CJ, BJ, Os ( Kitch / Markgraaf / Mallet), Botha, Matfield, Roussow, Burger, Smith ALL were Streauli Boks before White came along..
FdP played for Streauli and De Villiers played for Harry Viljoen.
Butch, Fourie, Habana, JPP, F. Steyn were ‘discovered’ by White though F. Steyn went to Mexted academy in NZ to hone his skill set straight from school, so ‘discovered’ is actually a bullsh’t term.
Beast, Gurthro, JduP, Brussow, Alberts, Deysel, Spies, Hougaard, M. Steyn, Lambie, De Jongh, Aplon are all PdV instituted players along with a host of others like Jacobs, Basson, Mvovo, McLoed, Louw, etc etc and etc.
So this bullsh’t story that this is Whites team is the biggest load of hogwash garbage you could ever dream up with your jaundiced jaywalking judgmental gibberish gab.
23 Aug 2011, 18:50 pm
@ puma, hope not. I’m outa here as well till lata. @ hondo, is that why you’re here ts ts ts
23 Aug 2011, 18:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762:
Everyoe played for Strauli and Viljoen, they took public opinion like yours and chopped and changed as the public favoured one to the other.
Jake took the players he knew well from U21 level and used them as his core to turn SA rugby from mess into world champs. He valued tradition and making teh bok jersey a jersey that is elite and one to be worn proudly and not handed out to any tom **** or harry that has a good super 14 game.
Yes Jake called on his close friend Eddie to help him but in no way did Eddie win SA a WC, he just added some additional insight. Jake and Eddie are friends, luckily he has friends that can add value to the boks.
Jake was technical analyst under Mallet when we won the world record equalling consecutive wins.
It’s not worth going round in circles with you, we have been doing that since 2007 when you said we would never win the WC.
23 Aug 2011, 18:56 pm
So according to Pissant its Vermeulen who’s gonna be the Rassie instituted ‘bolter” can’t say that I would be disappointed with that call… I reckon it would be A for away as far as the loosie balance requirements suggest..
23 Aug 2011, 18:58 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762: I’d say that Pdivvy is more kak than Jake … Jake had an overall win ratio of 67% … PDivvy has a 57% win ratio.
23 Aug 2011, 19:03 pm
Sharks coach John Plumtree believes the conditioning of rugby players in France is below a professional standard.
One area of concern for the Sharks coach in the Currie Cup is his centre pairing of Meyer Bosman and Marius Joubert.
Both again looked below the pace against the Leopards in Durban last week, especially new recruit Joubert, who arrived from French club Clermont Auvergne prior to the season.
frans steyn?
23 Aug 2011, 19:08 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762:
I think 10 of teh starting 15 for this WC were in the starting 15 for 2007? If you take the 22 it’s higher. This is very much teh Jake team but it still had to be coached but it’s a much easier job apart from dealing with aging issues.
23 Aug 2011, 19:08 pm
i just watched the 2007 rugby wc winners on espn and i think i saw jdup running around in that tv footage,so skoppie is talking his usual bullshit again.
23 Aug 2011, 19:09 pm
With the predicted good or bad 30 bandits including Mvovo, Ruan, F Louw, Johan Muller, CJ and SMIT, the following comparison to the NZ 30 is true.
SA NZ
average age 27.60 27.57
average caps 35.97 36.33
tot plyrs W/C experience 17.00 11.00
tot plyrs > 1 W/C exp. 7 7
23 Aug 2011, 19:11 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-764:
Mallet fired Jake as a walking lap top or something along those lines.. White was in desperate trouble before he hired Jones because he couldn’t see sh’t for trees around his dead end game plan and he knew it.. Jones instilled life into the Boks game which White was at absolute loss how to do.. White couldn’t trust Rassie or Smal or Coetsee to give him the lift he needed so he turned to Jones..
Dunno how much they were ‘friends’ before his plea for help.. they turned out to be bosom buddies after that.
PdV has same loyalty to his junior WC winning players as White had..
Pienaar, M. Steyn, Spies, Chili, etc played for PdV at junior level, including Hargreaves and Beast I think. Not sure who else.
White wanted Rathbone as his captain from his u21 side and Smit was his second choice.
White would not have continued with Smit and perhaps even Matfield post 2009 while PdV has.. shows who has more loyalty than whom…
How come most of Whites players have distanced themselves from him now… any guesses from your austere opinion surrounding that ???
23 Aug 2011, 19:12 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-736:
According to supersport: Johnson returns to the Cheetahs side after missing out on a Springbok World Cup call-up.
Vermeulen? FLouw?
23 Aug 2011, 19:13 pm
all saffas and the one israeli here on keo.co.za should now get behind the boks tonight irrespective of whether their favourite players are selected or not.
23 Aug 2011, 19:17 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-771:
LOL mate, so Eddie won us a WC with 1 months coaching.
Ye sure – great logic.
So if we win this WC, Rassie would have won it for us. another lol
23 Aug 2011, 19:17 pm
one seriously brave ccn female supporter inside the gaddafi compound with heavy fighting taking place around her.
23 Aug 2011, 19:18 pm
PLEASEEEEE pick BIG JOE ….. for once i agree with Keo
23 Aug 2011, 19:18 pm
should read reporter
23 Aug 2011, 19:19 pm
Schalk Brits? Seriously?
And Keo has two hookers on his subs bench, Bismark and Brits, WTF for?
There are FAR better loosies around than Brits. Specialist loosies.
Is this some kind of joke?
23 Aug 2011, 19:20 pm
JW started with a plan to win the WC and stuck with it, a lot like PDV.
The game plan was exactly the same as we have now as well. And under Eddie that plan didn;t change he just help add new ideas etc, which all head coaches should look for.
And Eddie and Jake were close friends prior to the call up – why do you think Eddie was approached rather than the others. Also Jakes rates Smal very highly and Smal always handled the forwards. Eddie mostly added value with the backs running lines, backline input mainly.
We played WC rugby from start to end under JW and the same is true for PDV.
23 Aug 2011, 19:20 pm
All I can say is thank god we have the “dumb” 3 stooges selecting the Boks and not these “dumber” 3 stooges.
BTW is Brits somehow connected with Highbury Safika and/or Keo?
23 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
Lol, does Keo advocate subbing his sub hooker with a sub-sub hooker? Ludicrous suggestion.
23 Aug 2011, 19:22 pm
Well Sabc had confirmed that Lambie and Fransie are in the world cup Squad.
Thought this was gonna be a live thing?
Just have to wait and see when the announce the rest.
23 Aug 2011, 19:24 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-771:they were mates before RWC 2007. i think i read somewhere that jake was in canberra at the invitation of jones – to come & see the structures @ the brumbies – when he got the call to coach the boks
23 Aug 2011, 19:26 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-780:
bwahahahaha
23 Aug 2011, 19:27 pm
@Puma(Puma)-782: Not the biggest news though is it?
23 Aug 2011, 19:29 pm
@Puma(Puma)-782: they’re confirming that they will be available for selection…
23 Aug 2011, 19:30 pm
I can’t fathom why anyone couldn;t see the great job JW did really.
Went from the laughing stock of the world to the WC winners and back as one of the most reveared teams on the planet and rightly so.
+-17 of JW squad will be in the squad for this WC squad most of who are in the starting team. When Jake got them they had hardly a few caps to string together and now many have hundreds.
Honestly mate what does someone have to do to get sense into that brain?
@RL(RL)-766:
Jake got wins against following countries
v IRE 31-17 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein H
v IRE 26-17 Newlands, Cape Town H
v WAL 53-18 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
v PAC 38-24 Gosford N
v NZL 40-26 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
v AUS 23-19 Kings Park Stadium, Durban H
v WAL 38-36 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A
v SCO 45-10 Murrayfield, Edinburgh A
v ARG 39-7 Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires A
v URU 134-3 East_London H
v FRA 27-13 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth H
v AUS 33-20 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
v AUS 22-16 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
v NZL 22-16 Newlands, Cape Town H
v AUS 22-19 Subiaco Oval, Perth_AUS A
v ARG 34-23 Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires A
v WAL 33-16 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A
v SCO 36-16 Kings Park Stadium, Durban H
v SCO 29-15 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth H
v NZL 21-20 Royal Bafokeng Stm, Rustenburg H
v AUS 24-16 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
v ENG 25-14 Twickenham, London A
v ENG 58-10 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein H
v ENG 55-22 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
v SAM 35-8 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
v AUS 22-19 Newlands, Cape Town H
v NAM 105-13 Newlands, Cape Town H
v SCO 27-3 Murrayfield, Edinburgh A
WC Pool A v SAM 59-7 Parc des Princes, Paris N
WC Pool A v ENG 36-0 Stade de France, Paris N
WC Pool A v TON 30-25 Lens N
WC Pool A v USA 64-15 Montpellier N
WC Quart SAF v FIJ 37-20 Marseille N
WC Semi SAF v ARG 37-13 Stade de France, Paris N
WC Final SAF v ENG 15-6 Stade de France, Paris N
v WAL 34-12 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A
to give him his 66 %
How many of those tests were strength vs strength tests ?
And before the WC string of victories against 6th – 15th ranked opposition his win ratio was around 58%not 66%
PdV has played far stronger opposition throughout and his wins were against far stronger opposition like NZ and Ireland away where Jake almost always lost.
Helllooooo sweeeeeeettttiiieeeeeeee!
SABC are about a day behind the “breaking news”.
23 Aug 2011, 19:31 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788: Joel you’ve mentioned those stats before a number of times. Do you have anything fresh for today?
23 Aug 2011, 19:32 pm
who is that doos singing .. hell he sings false.
23 Aug 2011, 19:32 pm
How come sabc knows who’s in?
23 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
Who’s this irish leprechaun singing on supersport
23 Aug 2011, 19:33 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788:
It’s what he started with to where he ended that makes him special.
Restore pride, restore tradition win a WC were his aims and he achieved those.
Now start being grateful you neanderthal
23 Aug 2011, 19:34 pm
keo selects sadie?what a freakin joke.
23 Aug 2011, 19:35 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-794: g10
His name is Ard Matthews
I just changed channels
Jake White: 66.7% (and Bill)
P Diddy: 60.5%
In the end, that’s all that counts.
Out for now watching squad announcement
Is Art suppose to be a singer…. nice try there. Give us the bloody names already.
His name is Ard Matthews
I just changed channels.
23 Aug 2011, 19:36 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-789: Hallo Dahlink!
23 Aug 2011, 19:37 pm
I am afraid I have bad news for you Tac…
23 Aug 2011, 19:37 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-791: dont expect any miracles anytime soon
23 Aug 2011, 19:38 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-804: let us have it M!
There is a usurper to my throne messing around here.
There is only one Dawn.
any news yet?
23 Aug 2011, 19:39 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-808: Only that Ard cannot sing.
23 Aug 2011, 19:40 pm
Flow is in the team.
23 Aug 2011, 19:40 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-809:
23 Aug 2011, 19:41 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-810: Hmmm Grant was saying yesterday that Flou was on a plane back to SA…
23 Aug 2011, 19:42 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-810: Nice
Shurrup oregan and fark off
here we go people…
Is Hoskins a botox junkie or is that too much base?
23 Aug 2011, 19:43 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788:
This is Jakes record against the big boys
Aus p11 w 6 win ratio 55%
Eng p7 w 5 win ratio 71%
Fra p4 w1 d1 win ratio 25%
NZ p9 w3 win ratio 33%
Ire p4 win ratio 50%
Jake was not any Aussies B!atch and he did not lose to Scotland!!!
Divvy is way more kakker than Jake.
23 Aug 2011, 19:43 pm
oh please no meisiekind
23 Aug 2011, 19:44 pm
Bejaysus that is a big mismanagement team?
Where is the os factor?
@RL(RL)-816: RL for once we can agree on something.
Supersport knows how to drag things out, they will take 2 hours to do the 60min news
23 Aug 2011, 19:45 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-818: He’s in the pub downstairs
23 Aug 2011, 19:45 pm
The Baggage handler’s name is called Flipper…. lol?
23 Aug 2011, 19:46 pm
OMG Marius Joubert back in the team!
23 Aug 2011, 19:48 pm
They are going to need a bigger chair for alberts.
He is a behemouth.
23 Aug 2011, 19:48 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-823: nice one
23 Aug 2011, 19:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-824: Nogals hey?
especially next to PDV
23 Aug 2011, 19:49 pm
John Smit left out!
23 Aug 2011, 19:51 pm
Bakkies loves his coach.
Which is nice.
23 Aug 2011, 19:51 pm
no surprises yet obviously, they haven’t gotten to L yet.
Or R.
23 Aug 2011, 19:52 pm
LOL Hulk’s head is too big for the cap
23 Aug 2011, 19:52 pm
4 shockers so far
23 Aug 2011, 19:53 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-830: His head is also too big for his hair.
23 Aug 2011, 19:54 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-832: True!
23 Aug 2011, 19:56 pm
Those caps make them look a bit daft
23 Aug 2011, 19:56 pm
OMG this is gonna take FOREVER
23 Aug 2011, 19:57 pm
OMG this is gonna take FOREVER.
23 Aug 2011, 19:58 pm
Sorry!
23 Aug 2011, 19:59 pm
@ dawn, leave the dishes for later
23 Aug 2011, 20:00 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788: PDV has never beaten an AB team with McCaw and Carter in, i think Jake did if only at home.
23 Aug 2011, 20:01 pm
who is in,who is out?
23 Aug 2011, 20:02 pm
Pour yourself a large grouse sweetcheeks.
Lol! Dishes? What dishes!
Who wants spoilers?
Butch my boy … the only Lions among those losers
23 Aug 2011, 20:03 pm
@ Tecumseh(Tecumseh) no surprises yet mate
23 Aug 2011, 20:04 pm
Floooooooooowwwww
louw is in
Ashley johnson staying home growing his hair and flo in the squad
LOUW
Grouse for later. Eating grilled chops and checking the caps! FLO!!!!!!
23 Aug 2011, 20:05 pm
Francois Louw
COME ON DOWN
so rassie got his wish
Well done Louw but fark me what a slap in the face for some.
bad luck ashley
23 Aug 2011, 20:06 pm
MikeH you’re such a jake white d*cksucker mate…here is the all black team that started in sept 2009 in Hamilton in the last game of tri-nations..read again in HAMILTON!!!!!!
The Starting XV is as follows: (test caps)
1. Tony Woodcock (56 Tests)
2. Andrew Hore (41)
3. Owen Franks (5)
4. Brad Thorn (31)
5. Isaac Ross (7)
6. Jerome Kaino (21)
7. Richie McCaw – captain (74)
8. Kieran Read (10)
9. Jimmy Cowan (26)
10. Dan Carter (60)
11. Sitiveni Sivivatu (38)
12. Stephen Donald (15)
13. Ma’a Nonu (40)
14. Josevata Rokocoko (58)
15. Mils Muliaina (75)
23 Aug 2011, 20:07 pm
Where’s matfield ?!? Wtf
23 Aug 2011, 20:08 pm
Obviously no Hargreaves
johan muller in
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-854: the broederbond got their man Flo … stuff Ashley
can live with f.louw in the team.could have been worse …like magic man stegman.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-857: nope lol
also means no mostert
23 Aug 2011, 20:09 pm
wassgoinon???
odwa is in
Matfield is vc will be announced at the end.
Victor?
At the end with Smit maybe?
Odwa … how odd
@RL(RL)-859:
@Transformation(Transformation)-855:
Ye Carter back after injury but fair deal. Was a great season – the prime time for most of these players.
I called Odwa
23 Aug 2011, 20:10 pm
Mike H and co , jake NEVER beat NZ away NEVER !! PDV did it more than once. Please just lay off and stop whining like babies. This is OUR team. Support it 100%. Pathetic some of u guys.
The ABs can leave out Gear and Divvy picks the cart horse Odwa … Hell.
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-860:
agreed – far better
Odwa waste of space
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-863: noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-860: agreed although i felt Deysel should be there, but flo is a good call
23 Aug 2011, 20:11 pm
Mapoe over Odwa any day of the week … Odwa FFS
23 Aug 2011, 20:12 pm
No WO
chilipip is in
Grilled chops
Lifestyles of the rich and famous.
23 Aug 2011, 20:13 pm
Happy for Chilli he is the future with bizmark after smit era
Oregon is so condescending.
Where is Matfield. Darren said this was alphabetical
@sparticus(sparticus)-870:
I support the boks 100% – just going to defend JW to some peoples ridiculous hatred for him. Which I just can;t understand.
rossouw , this guy is in very poor form , and IMHO very lucky to be in the squad
@zambok(zambok)-880:
Also agree with you there.
23 Aug 2011, 20:14 pm
No meisikind, No adi J.,
23 Aug 2011, 20:14 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-877: so there is a god afterall.
23 Aug 2011, 20:15 pm
Eh, no Earl Rose???
RG will be gutted…
23 Aug 2011, 20:15 pm
matfield to be captain?
23 Aug 2011, 20:16 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-886: Ja. No hargreaves either,
23 Aug 2011, 20:17 pm
Captains come last?
Am waiting for josh strauss.
23 Aug 2011, 20:17 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-870:
I actually like PDIV – i think he has done a lot right in his tenure.
Everyone makes mistakes including JW, Mallet, Woodward etc.
All great coaches.
Team souns as expected, Louw is a welcome surprise. Went with Odwa’s experience and solid defense and commitment to the high ball. Fair deal.
Very few real game breakers is the worry. IN 2007 we had an unbelievable Habana, now we have nobody.
23 Aug 2011, 20:18 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-890: Nah Plod is out
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-889: dont forget brok harris
Ok so no surprises yet, no bolters,
Frans Steyn lyk k@k.
23 Aug 2011, 20:19 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-893: Yeah unlucky.
What! No Schalk Brits!
Is everyone taller than Divvy?
23 Aug 2011, 20:20 pm
Is everyone taller than Divvy? ?
@Dawn(Dawn)-898: even little Hougaard?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-896: hehehehee
John smit last and least
The cups look silly. The guys looks like police academy. Oh and for the haters Jake never beat NZ 3 times ina year etc etc
the new tiger in?
@Dawn(Dawn)-898: no Stegmann isn’t
WTF is Div saying that has not being said already to the boys? Hoskins can do with a PK just to “skrik wakker”.
23 Aug 2011, 20:21 pm
Oh and for the haters JW never lost to Aus at home.
23 Aug 2011, 20:21 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-903: Is Hoskins putting cup in their pants?
23 Aug 2011, 20:22 pm
Smit at 2???? Gobsmacked.
Bismarck to start AND stay on for the full 80. Smit to be used in the smaller games as a sub.
Matfield as captain…only because we seem to win when he does. Odd.
No Habana. He is unfortunately a liability in defence.
The bigger midfields of England, Wales and the All Blacks are going to kak all over Aplon. He is just too small.
Morne Steyn for the bigger games and Butch for the smaller games.
titty is gonna be guttered , no steggies lol
@Mike H(Mike H)-891: Hougaard. Brussouw. M Steyn. F Steyn. All game breakers. Even Lambie.
23 Aug 2011, 20:23 pm
I am not impressed
23 Aug 2011, 20:24 pm
Barneyyyyyyyyyy.
That’s going to upset Antiforum.
The best squad we can put out there IMO.
There’s no one I would have picked that isn’t there,
Muller in at 5 possibly the weakest compromise as Bekker is out, but ther rest will pretty much be the business.
@Dawn(Dawn)-912:
23 Aug 2011, 20:25 pm
well exactly as expect bar 1 player
i posted this this morning, only i had AJ in and not Flow
23 Aug 2011, 20:26 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-913:
23 Aug 2011, 20:28 pm
No vermeulen
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-916: my apologies, also had Mvovo in place of Odwa
@Harder-Faster(Harder-Faster)-911:
Frans a game breaker?
23 Aug 2011, 20:29 pm
Mike H. Ok bud. I agree though. Jake did very well and the discipline and structure he installed back then is still very apparent today. I think u forget we have players like hourgard and aplon still. That’s if they get a chance. Also Jaque Fourie must be the worlds best outsiide centre going into the WC.
@ dawn the only player smaller than pdv is luke watson…..lol speel maa net
23 Aug 2011, 20:29 pm
O vok is alweer Ard
23 Aug 2011, 20:30 pm
No surprises, damn good squad! This clown ffucked the song up hahahaha! Ffucking leprechaun
he’s worst than that rasta hahahahaha
23 Aug 2011, 20:31 pm
Ard what a chop.
You are worse than Rhas.
@Dawn(Dawn)-922: What a nice place to have your Idol audition. Dammit he blows….
Most boring world cup announcement ever I can’t Odwa made it otherwise game breakers sit with lambie Hougaard bizmark brousouw , strategy and tactics with matfield Fdp morne & game closers morne frans but no xfactors
23 Aug 2011, 20:32 pm
Embraboer! Is that ras dumisane reincarnated?
23 Aug 2011, 20:32 pm
Ard is now ****
23 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
Great team besides Odwa now they must pull a finger and win
23 Aug 2011, 20:34 pm
Ard is now f.art
23 Aug 2011, 20:35 pm
Please Ard don’t go sing our anthem in NZ please
23 Aug 2011, 20:36 pm
What happened to keo’s surprise selections? He then had it on good authority
23 Aug 2011, 20:37 pm
What. No josh strauss?
23 Aug 2011, 20:38 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-924:
Heard of Just Jinger?
23 Aug 2011, 20:41 pm
Seems we got a number of Bles Bridges fans on this site
23 Aug 2011, 20:44 pm
@David(David)-920: 3 kicks from inside his own half in NZ? 50m drop-goals? Could break a semi-final don’t ya think?
23 Aug 2011, 20:45 pm
Evening all, and Lol @ Robzim! I’m happy for Flo but Odwa???
23 Aug 2011, 20:49 pm
No real surprises there except Flouw. Really that was a bloody stab in the back to Deysel. Sorry but it is. How some players could put their bodies on the line down under for the top Boks training in Rustenburg and Flo is overseas getting paid by his club and gets selected is beyond me. If Deysel never made it then it SHOULD have been Johnson, but NOT Flo. Jeepers that a sure bloody slap in the face from the coaches to those players.
Odwa was a bit of a surprise too. Though Mvovo would have made it also not to be. But Odwa has experience and is a solid player.
23 Aug 2011, 20:52 pm
Flo played no part at all in the Tri-Nations but gets selected. Damn feel for Deysel. Was out top Player on the away tour.
23 Aug 2011, 20:54 pm
In future NO players playing overseas should get selected NONE. They come back home only to be out of shape and totally behind our standards.
Anyhow that is our team we now must get behind them.
Pleased to see the new comers getting their wc cap. Lambie, JdJ, Brussow, Aplon and Beast. What a pleasure to see them there.
23 Aug 2011, 20:57 pm
@Puma(Puma)-940:
Have you seen the bruisers in the England side? Lets hope we don’t meet them. Aplon and Ndungane are going to get their skinny arses handed to them.
23 Aug 2011, 21:01 pm
@Harder-Faster(Harder-Faster)-936:
Could, is the operative word. Personally, I don’t feel that 3 points out of 3 or 4 attempts can qualify him as a game breaker.
23 Aug 2011, 21:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-939:
Come on, Flo wasn’t selected for the 3N and most of us reckoned that he’d been hard done by after being unceremoniously dropped long before that. How can you call it a back stabbing for Deysel. Flo offers options at 6 and 7 as well as forming a great partnership with Schalk.
23 Aug 2011, 21:17 pm
Let games begin I predict france will live up to their best when they meet new Zealand I c drama unfolding in that pool match
23 Aug 2011, 21:18 pm
Need a few more Sharks in there to prop up the Bulls. The centres can stay and Brussouw of course….until he is bought by The Sharks….then it’s all evened out again.
23 Aug 2011, 21:19 pm
@David(David)-943: Deysel can cover 7 and 6 as well David. Where was Flo on the away tour? Coaches just bluffed the players that they could still get selected. They knew which players they were gonna select. So the rest only went down under to put their bodies on the line against a powerful AB side and Aussie side, so the top boks could train in Rustenburg. They were never ever going to be selected. They were used and that was it.
Deysel sure as heck fell for it cause he played brilliant rugby. Just to get snubbed. He was our best Bok on tour.
Now how much time has Flo trained with these Boks? He has plenty catch up to do I think.
Just hate it when players get told nonsense.
23 Aug 2011, 21:23 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-941: Think Aplon and Odwa will play the pool games and probably not against the top sides. Probably against Nambia.
Aplon is a gutsy player. Have plenty respect for him but can’t see him replace JPP on the wing or Fransie or Lambie at fb. Odwa was solid in SuperRugby. But thought Mvovo might have got the nod.
Anyhow feel very disappointed for Deysel.
23 Aug 2011, 21:24 pm
Okay see we on the wrong thread here. Just stayed logged on this thread when I watched the announcement and answered here.
23 Aug 2011, 21:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-395:
Muir, no way……… he’s worse than Hellium FFS
23 Aug 2011, 21:40 pm
Deysel was unlucky bru. Looks like the HH is going for big solid defenders up front so chances are he is predictably following in Jake White’s path for this RWC. Maybe he was convinced Deysel gets injured too often.
23 Aug 2011, 22:59 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-941: you mean Pietersen and Habana will take care of business?
24 Aug 2011, 00:51 am
I like the backline of:
15 F.Steyn
14 Aplon
13 Fourie
12 de Villiers
11 Hougaard
10James
9 du Preez.
As for the forwards, Spies has got to go to the bench as a super-sub (Burger will be much more effective from 8th man than Spies has done in the last 3 years)and Smit while I don’t believe that he should be there, will be there, though he should also sit on the bench and act as squad captain, while Matfield captains on the field with FdP as vice-captain. My forwards would be:
8 Burger
7 Alberts
6 Brussouw
5 Matfield
4 Botha
3 J du Plessis
2 B du Plessis
1 Mtawariwa
Reserves:
16 Smit (only because he is guaranteed a place, otherwise he’d only be good for an amateur club 2nd team)
17 Steenkamp
18 BJ Botha
19 Rossouw (lock reserve)
20 Spies
21 Lambie
22 de Jongh
No place for hasbeen Habana or Cj vd Linde, who has been so bad since coming back from Ireland that even Western province no longer want him and he has moved to the Lions. I’d also have Sarel Pretorius instead of Pienaar as a backup scrumhalf. I’d have the Lions lock vd Merwe in place of Muller. Not sure about the shock decision to recall Louw at flank, he is decent, but makes a lot of silly mistakes at the rucks, rather have had Johnson in there, he has been brilliant this year.
Thank goodness Kirchner is not in the squad.
24 Aug 2011, 05:25 am
The Missing Links: Mostert (absurd omission since we are playing two Island Nations). Schalk Brits (the man who epitomizes “impact”). Coenie (The Terminator). However, I do see the logic of Ndugane. Safe, reliable defender, suits the PofKop game plan. No matter what: Go Bokke Go! Jou Lekka Ding!
24 Aug 2011, 06:58 am
Pienaar would never make my squad, the man is a merc and should never have worn the bok jersey! Would take McCloud, the man has passion, the most important characteristic in rugby, the rest will follow with good coaching.
24 Aug 2011, 07:52 am
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-954:
I agree about Ruan, although I’m still trying to work out which position he is primarily covering. I assume it’s 9.
I don’t think the WC is the place to start coaching a scrum half.
29 Aug 2011, 06:27 am
Say what you like, but at this stage of the game, the best and most settled first XV combination the Boks can field looks something like this – I expect that this will be the team that fronts up RWC2011 crunch time and does the business for South Africa
15. Frans Steyn
14. JP Pietersen
13. Jacques Fourie
12. Jean de Villiers
11. Bryan Habana
10. Morne Steyn
9. Fourie du Preez (General)
8. Pierre Spies
7. Schalk Burger
6. Heinrich Brüssow
5. Victor Matfield (VC)
4. Bakkies Botha
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Jon Smit (C)
1. Beast Mtawariwa
Bench will be fiddled with on a game-by-game basis, but if everyone is fit, this is the runout team for the crunch games IMO – rightly or wrongly.
Get behind them South Africa, I for one have a good feeling! BOKKE BO