The squad you won’t see

We’ve told you who is likely to make the Springboks World Cup squad, now keo.co.za’s writers pick their preferred 30 as well as their match 22 for the opener against Wales.

KEO’S WORLD CUP SQUAD - Keo believes his squad is so good it needs no elaboration. He picks Johann Sadie and Schalk Brits, while forgotten man Joe van Niekerk makes a shock return from Toulon. Bryan Habana makes his squad, but only as the world’s most decorated tackle bag holder.

Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Pat Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.

Forwards: (16): Pierre Spies, Joe van Niekerk, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (c), Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.

Keo’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Schalk Brits, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

JC’S WORLD CUP SQUAD JC cuts John Smit and picks Schalk Brits. Lwazi Mvovo gets handed a ticket to New Zealand and Bryan Habana has to watch from the stands.

Backs (14): Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Pat Lambie, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Frans Steyn, Gio Aplon.

Forwards (16): Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Schalk Brits, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Johann Muller, Heinrich Brussow, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw.

JC’s 22 to face Wales: 15 Frans Steyn, 15 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Pierre Spies, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

VREDE’S WORLD CUP SQUAD Simple for Vrede really, no place for Smit in the squad (Victor Matfield gets the captaincy) and Bryan Habana is relegated to the bench for the Test against Wales. Schalk Brits cracks the nod, as does Johann Sadie. Francois Louw is in as cover for Heinrich Brüssow.

Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Patrick Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.

Forwards (16): Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.

Vrede’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jacque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bryan Habana.

956 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1120 » Show All

• 1.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Dragon blind squad

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

keo….J Smit!!!!

You losing points you wally….going all politically correct? On what basis choose the fat boy over Bissy? Makes o rugby sense…..at all….and if you dont know it I suggest you have your head read.

• 3.Michael: Reply to this comment

Brits over Smit and these idiots want to be taken seriously? I don’t believe it. More sensationalism designed to generate hits, and I just fell for it :-)

• 4.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

My first thought upon reading this headline was: “Boy, this is going to be interesting,” in the same way as a road accident scene is interesting but nauseating.

And indeed, I was not wrong.

JC’s squad is a typical mix and match stew that will flop spectacularly.

Keo brings in his lovechild Big Joe, but apparently only to give him a freebie World Cup on his resume, much like Skinstad got in 2007, as he doesn’t even feature in the match day 22.

Ryan stubbornly sticks to his “Butch James WILL be the first choice flyhalf” line, in an apparent desperate hope that by repeating it enough times it will make it so. Talk about the power of positive thinking shaping your reality.

I think not, Ryan.

And Schalk Brits. Hehe.

Seems like all three of them are on that bandwagon, when our two World Cup hookers should be Bismark and Adriaan Strauss, on merit.

Anyway, thankfully for us these three stooges are not picking the World Cup squad, and that says a lot, considering the ability of the three stooges who ARE picking the squad.

• 5.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2:

Or it means you need yours read. Thinking you know better than PDV or Keo (far closer to the people that matter in rugby than you ever will be).

Vrede and JC jump on the drop Smit bandwand – spineless :)

Worst case i’d start Bissie and use Smit as a substite. At least then if Bissie gets a yellow card or Victor loses his cool with the ref you have options.

• 6.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Or Bissie is throwing in like he did Saturday as well might need to be subbed.

• 7.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-3:

me 2 but not posting again. waste of time :)

• 8.Ryan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4: MAAK ALMAL DIE BULLE BOKKE!

• 9.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-5: Bissie and yellow cards go together like a horse and carriage ;-)

• 10.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-7: Nah but I enjoy winding Grant up about Smit and Bissie. Good fun in good nature :-)

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

my dream starting 22

1 guthro
    2 bissy
    3 jannie
    4 bakkies
    5 matfield
    6 brussow
    7 schalk
    8 alberts
    9 fdp
    10 butch
    11 habana
    12 jdj
    13 jf
    14 jpp
    15 F Steyn
    16 chilliboy
    17 mujati
    18 beast
    19 d rossow
    20 jvn
    21 f hougaard
    22 m steyn

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-5:

Options? I suppose Smit gives us options, as long as the crew of the Yushin Maru dont’ stop over in NZ for some shore leave and a World Cup game on their way back from Antarctic waters. In that case they may be overcome by a case of harpoon fever when Smit runs on.

Hey, wait a minute. Are you part of the Sea Sheperd society? That would explain your vehement posts in defense of the indefensible in respect to this topic.

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod would make my bok team as supersport commentator….

• 14.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-8: :lol: say no more lmao

• 15.Helen: Reply to this comment

Suddenly I am glad P Divvy is our coach and not one of these three morons.

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-8: I don’t get you picking Schalk when he’s untested at this level of late, I know you guys love him but if you wanted another hooker in place of John then Chilli or Adriaan would be the best bet, Both have experience with the systems and playeIs.

Also Sadie is a good player, but he is unlikely to get game time so it’s not the biggest risk to pick a player like that. I wouldn’t, but I would pick him before Adi or Wynand Olivier, So as a replacement for 13 then I guess he’s as good as any,

The big question is, who would you play if Jaque Fourie got injured? JDJ? or Sadie?

• 17.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-8:

boet elstadt is injured, and keo where is your other love child luke watson??

flippen hell i hope jc never coaches any side in his life

• 18.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-10:

Irratates the **** out of me :) so narrow minded.

Smit is getting better and better with each game he is given game time at hooker. The guy was a prop then injured then a prop/hooker and now a hooker.

The oke is superman but unappreciated :)

Look how FDP is playing post injury. Takes time to get back to your best. Spies is finally recovering as well. Thank god.

Bissie is good though so I see why people back him. His temperament for a WC worries me, but is work rate is high and offers almost an expect loosie at ruck time which no other hooker in SA offers except maybe Ralepelle.

• 19.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-15: or most of the blogging morons :lol:

• 20.Mike H: Reply to this comment

gee bad typing sorry. “Offers almost another loosie at ruck time”

• 21.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-11:

fortunately you don’t get to pick the team swampie.

• 22.Helen: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits???? !! on as loosie cover? C’mon! on what grounds? … or do you intend subbing the hooker twice in a game? That will make Mealamu giggle out loud

• 23.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-15:

haahahahahahahahaha flippen spot on man

• 24.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Between Grant and I we could do 1000 hits for Keo on this topic :) anyway – i must pull myself away.

• 25.Helen: Reply to this comment

keo, do you owe Joe v Niekerk money?

• 26.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

must admit at least these okes dont want habana in their side, u must actually listen to us after all lol

• 27.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-8:

Better than “Make all the Keo bookdeal candidates” Bokke.

• 28.Craven: Reply to this comment

JP Pietersen over Bryan Habana?

Did you guys even watch the game on Saturday?

• 29.Helen: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: Heeeelllooooo sweetie!

• 30.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

to take someone like sadie now , and yes an excellent player , would be silly , he has no test experience at all , not even a warm up

schalk britz?? on what basis????

• 31.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-27: That is the answer to all the new inclusions mate, Hit the nail on the head.

• 32.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-18: Smittie played damn well when he came on. Bissie wrecked havoc in the first half. I like the idea of Smit coming off the bench. Just as the opposition scrum starts to tire, on comes the better scrummager and they experience turbo-reverse in 5th gear :-)

I’d love to see Burger at 7 except for two things – Burger hasn’t played at 7 for ages and was **** for it at the Stormers 3 seasons ago, and Sprout needs two strong ball carriers to operate effectively (Alberts and Spies). Spies is also a better lineout option than Burger and Alberts surely cannot be left out; the guy is a rampaging bull (and not in the falseto Pretoria sense either).

• 33.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-29: hello Dahlink!

Enjoyed your squad pick on the other thread. Pretty much spot on I think.

• 34.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

shalk britz cant cut it in the southern hemisphere what will make him do it now all of a sudden?? jean was kak after returining from that standard of rugby, schalk britz will be kak too, though he could bring the water and kicking tee to da feel in lightning speeds never seen b4……mmmmm….

• 35.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Upon reflection this must be the most accurate heading that’s ever appeared above an article on this site.

• 36.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12: I take PdV’s selections over the three wannabe stooges any day of the week.

• 37.Helen: Reply to this comment

Sadie’s selection is understandable, but not as visionary as you intended it to be.

You have me thinking a bit about Hougaard though. Yes, perhaps a better wing than Habana… other than that your teams are just a little very much stupid.

• 38.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-35: ROFLMAO :-)

• 39.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-11:

I actually agree with your team except Smit for Ralepelle now. Ralepelle post WC (ok a lot of changes post WC anyway)

I would play Burger at 8 and Alberts at 7. Burger almost plays like an 8 these days anyway.

I hope Frans Steyn gives us some decent games. I used to love the guy, but having my doubts of late. Wish he’d had more Bok game time in the last 2 years.

But I guess it was good to give Aplon experience etc

• 40.Ryan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-27: Not true. Luke isn’t in any squad.

• 41.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-25: \

Big Joe saved keo’s life in france in 2007.

Keo neary got decapitated by a turnstile at the Louvre

Big joe pulled him clear just in time.

• 42.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-30: I agree with you. You have enough centre cover in JDJ, Butch and Lambie IMO.

What people forget is that if you are hit by a crucial injury that required the player to fly home then you can fly out a replacement.

So with that in mind I would pick the squad that will play, in the pool and knockout phases. For me JDJ covers both 12 and 13 and will probably get game time in both of these postions, with JDV and JF being rested for a game or 2, but come the NB games it’s pretty much Saturday’s team, with Frans in at 15 and Schalk in at 7. Alberts to the bench and Johnson out. Lambie on the bench for me.

How would you play it?

• 43.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

keo……big joe????? plz plz plz explain im dying to here this

• 44.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-40: So you admit then that Luke is a book deal candidate?

• 45.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Ryan(Ryan)-40:

Glad to see even you guys refuse to cross the line from the outrageous to the absurd.

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-21: hey….n donkie is n wonderlike ding

• 47.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

I understand why people want Morne in and some don’t and ever John Smit but how does CJ van der Linde keep making peoples teams and how does he make the real Bok team? He is K@K.

• 48.Helen: Reply to this comment

Keo, just a word to the wise. You can’t spend the rest of your life b i t c h i n g and moaning about P Divvy if this is the kind of team you’ll pick.

Lay off our coaches from now on, secure in the knowledge that you really can’t do any better and if you were coach, you’d be ripped to shreds within a new york minute! On that score, P Divvy is a better man than you.

• 49.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA(JA-JA)-47: * sorry ment to say UBER K@K

• 50.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-33: get a room you two :mrgreen: :lol:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1120 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.