The squad you won’t see
23 Aug 2011
We’ve told you who is likely to make the Springboks World Cup squad, now keo.co.za’s writers pick their preferred 30 as well as their match 22 for the opener against Wales.
KEO’S WORLD CUP SQUAD - Keo believes his squad is so good it needs no elaboration. He picks Johann Sadie and Schalk Brits, while forgotten man Joe van Niekerk makes a shock return from Toulon. Bryan Habana makes his squad, but only as the world’s most decorated tackle bag holder.
Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Pat Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.
Forwards: (16): Pierre Spies, Joe van Niekerk, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (c), Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.
Keo’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Schalk Brits, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
JC’S WORLD CUP SQUAD JC cuts John Smit and picks Schalk Brits. Lwazi Mvovo gets handed a ticket to New Zealand and Bryan Habana has to watch from the stands.
Backs (14): Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Pat Lambie, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Frans Steyn, Gio Aplon.
Forwards (16): Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Schalk Brits, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Johann Muller, Heinrich Brussow, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw.
JC’s 22 to face Wales: 15 Frans Steyn, 15 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Pierre Spies, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.
VREDE’S WORLD CUP SQUAD Simple for Vrede really, no place for Smit in the squad (Victor Matfield gets the captaincy) and Bryan Habana is relegated to the bench for the Test against Wales. Schalk Brits cracks the nod, as does Johann Sadie. Francois Louw is in as cover for Heinrich Brüssow.
Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Patrick Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.
Forwards (16): Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.
Vrede’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jacque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bryan Habana.

956 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 20 » Show All
23 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
Earl Rose, Jannie de Beer and Uli Schmidt…… now I’m confused
23 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@ PissAnt(PissAnt), that makes sense! Let’s hope you’re right, I almost pissed in my jockey
23 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-597:
If you’re telling me that Flo is in the Bok squad then I’m definitely not going to relax. Farce.
Any more news from our roving reporter?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-531: how about TGHMQD? – Rumour or shock inclusion?
Anyone know if Bakkies is in? He’s another one that needs that smurk wiped off his face.
What makes him think he has the right to get cheeky with the All Blacks and get into a push and shove? If the referee had reversed that penalty we probably would’ve lost.
Hopefully they take Hilton Lobberts instead. He’s really impressed me lately.
23 Aug 2011, 15:50 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-600:
ive noticed both in 2007 and 2011 around wc squad announcment time i tent to loose all my hair i wonder what could be causing such a thing lol
23 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
sorry, getting bored now, haven’t seen anyone else. they’ve disappeared like the flies off the wedding cake when Effel arrives
23 Aug 2011, 15:51 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-603:
Not at all, got no news or info on that, just saying Kolisi rumor is rubbish.
23 Aug 2011, 15:52 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-605:
Don’t know what that means.
Got to run, later.
and btw, it will keep the ANCYL happy!
23 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@Helen(Helen)-608:
If you have flies on your wedding cake, then it is time to wash. Sies
23 Aug 2011, 15:53 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-610:
The great hard man Quinton Davids wasn’t it?
23 Aug 2011, 15:54 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-609:
Oh.
Strange how we suddenly struggle to pick 6 world class loosies, when our loose forward depth is normally so impressive.
Spies
Brussouw
Burger
are sure bets.
After that the quality drops off steeply, especially now that Rossouw has clearly lost a yard of pace and is limited to a lock role.
23 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-614:
Oh, no wonder I couldn’t read the code. I’ve got it as TGLMQD, substituting lard for hard.
23 Aug 2011, 15:55 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-610: the great hardman quinton davids.
23 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-616:
I see. He’d still be better then Bakkies then. Less likely to get carded, and we’re better off having him on the field doing ‘not much’ then having Bakkies not on the field at all.
23 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
@dr dre(dr dre)-617: we need a jumper and an athletic but agressive lock to cover for Matfield …
23 Aug 2011, 15:58 pm
lardman …. lol.
23 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-613: Thanks for the advice. Maybe you also have some advice on how to remove earthworms and a rat’s nest from a wedding cake. You seem to know about these things
23 Aug 2011, 16:00 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-618:
Not sure what you’re trying to achieve with this sarcasm campaign of yours, but in my humble opinion it’s wearing a bit thin.
Doesn’t quite have the effect you probably want it to have.
23 Aug 2011, 16:01 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-600: @PissAnt(PissAnt)-597: Lol this is actually helping to make the announcement more excited and hopefully worthwhile. Cheers guys I am out. Tomorrow we can start picking our teams for all the Boks games at the World Cup.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-606:
lobberts??? u cant be serious? i think that dude has knuckle dusters or something while he plays lol
Lardman
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-615: That can be said for most positions though.
I mean, with Bekker injured, who are the back-up locks? There’s Danie and… so just Danie.
Props? Kruger, Greyling and Oosthuizen are a distinct next level.
Flyhalfs? Lambie, maybe.
Centres? De Jongh and that’s about it.
Wings? Maybe Basson, possibly Mvovo. But not realy.
So we have our 30 man squad, and beyond them we’re scraping the barrel.
23 Aug 2011, 16:02 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-622:
True. Oh well.
23 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-599:
it’s almost time for him to change his batteries.
an appearance can’t be far off.
23 Aug 2011, 16:03 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-627: I agree with Tacitus, you are an idiot
23 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-624:
No not serious. I’m just trying to get in on making stupid comments. That’s the only way people seem to get along on Keo, by patting the other idiots on the back
23 Aug 2011, 16:04 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-613:
no man
23 Aug 2011, 16:05 pm
@Helen(Helen)-629:
Jeez woman calm down. I’m gonna go slit my wrists now. So depressed that you would think that of me.
23 Aug 2011, 16:06 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-628: That man spilled his blood on the streets of Athlone so that you can blog here today. Show some respect for struggling vet.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-626:
True.
@Gunther(gunther)-589: lol
23 Aug 2011, 16:07 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-630: Try the Huisgenoot blog. They have room for one more, so hurry!
23 Aug 2011, 16:08 pm
@Helen(Helen)-636:
Are you going to join me there? I need the emotional support.
23 Aug 2011, 16:10 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-637: Did you see that I said they only have room for one more? Now, hurry? I told them you’re coming, so they’ll have a virtual koeksister waiting for you when you log on, hurry!
23 Aug 2011, 16:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-633:
it was ketchup.
from a boerrie roll.
and a free one at that.
rolling mass action.
23 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
@Helen(Helen)-638:
I can’t leave without you. Arrange for 2 and we can go.
23 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
Schalk Brits in the squad in absurd to begin with… But to put him in the 20 jersey is ridiculous beyond measure!
What do you want to do with him?
- Change hookers 3 times?
- Put him on as an impact player in the place of Spies, when the game gets loose? You seriously think he is a better option than Spies at the end?
- Or I’ve heard MORE ludicrous things from people, like putting him on wing and centre!!! (bahaha)
No no no KEO my good man:
- Heinrich must NEVER be taken off the field.
- The advantage of Spies pace and fitness comes out in the last 20min, so he can’t be replaced.
- Albert will come on as impact for Schalk
I agree with the 5/2 split because of the versatile backs, but rather:
- Add an extra prop, to ensure set piece dominance for a full 80min ala Rassie
Like many people have said now. You discredit yourself by making such a selection.
23 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
Why would anybody take anything that this fool, Mills_is_kak, alias Quota_Sux, alias Ntini_is_a_quota, alias Boo_Habana etc, etc, etc, say seriously. Everybody knows that he is just here to wind people up wrt POC.
Some people come across as dof.
23 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-640: Are you harrassing me again? You are one comment away from being reported to Ethel, so that she can sort you out! She will strangle you with the hair on her back and then fill your cavaties with aged 12 year-old tampons (which she rolled herself, by the way!)
23 Aug 2011, 16:16 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-408: Well said Rangerman. Spot on.
I’d like PdV to continue. I don’t think he will.
23 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-639: I heard it was period stains from when Effel led the marchers to protest against the unequal treatment of idiots
23 Aug 2011, 16:19 pm
@Helen(Helen)-643:
Not harrassing you. Just feel me and you have become close today. Now you must be my wife. What do you think?
23 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
New coaching structure after RWC:
head coach – Pieter de Villiers
asst coach – Nick Mallet
Fitness coach – Ricky Januarie
Video operator – Jake White
Back coach – Schalk Brits
Forwards – Gary Teichman
What a team!
23 Aug 2011, 16:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-633: Katters you there?
23 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
Heyneke wasn’t at the Bulls practice session this afternoon – maybe he is one of the 10 *** coaches for PDV … PDV only at the RWC to promote Energade drinks when the camera is on him during games
23 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-646:
ok, thought you’d never ask! No, go fetch me a beer, b i t c h!
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 20 » Show All