The squad you won’t see

We’ve told you who is likely to make the Springboks World Cup squad, now keo.co.za’s writers pick their preferred 30 as well as their match 22 for the opener against Wales.

KEO’S WORLD CUP SQUAD - Keo believes his squad is so good it needs no elaboration. He picks Johann Sadie and Schalk Brits, while forgotten man Joe van Niekerk makes a shock return from Toulon. Bryan Habana makes his squad, but only as the world’s most decorated tackle bag holder.

Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Pat Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.

Forwards: (16): Pierre Spies, Joe van Niekerk, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (c), Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.

Keo’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Schalk Brits, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

JC’S WORLD CUP SQUAD JC cuts John Smit and picks Schalk Brits. Lwazi Mvovo gets handed a ticket to New Zealand and Bryan Habana has to watch from the stands.

Backs (14): Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Pat Lambie, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Frans Steyn, Gio Aplon.

Forwards (16): Beast Mtawarira, Gurthro Steenkamp, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Schalk Brits, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Johann Muller, Heinrich Brussow, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw.

JC’s 22 to face Wales: 15 Frans Steyn, 15 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Pierre Spies, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

VREDE’S WORLD CUP SQUAD Simple for Vrede really, no place for Smit in the squad (Victor Matfield gets the captaincy) and Bryan Habana is relegated to the bench for the Test against Wales. Schalk Brits cracks the nod, as does Johann Sadie. Francois Louw is in as cover for Heinrich Brüssow.

Backs (14): Frans Steyn, Patrick Lambie, Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Johann Sadie, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez.

Forwards (16): Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Willem Alberts, Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield (c), Bakkies Botha, Johann Muller, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Gürthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Brits.

Vrede’s 22 to face Wales - 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jacque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bryan Habana.

956 Comments

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 » Show All

• 751.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-750:

Who knows…

• 752.HHS: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-750: Then he should have been in Rustenburg, because miracles was perform in those change rooms.

• 753.Puma: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-745: Only tried out in CC? Just not fair on the players that had to tour down under. What the heck they go there for? We all knew they would get beat. But some thought they had a chance of selection and played out of their skins for it. Don’t seem right to me.

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-747: Have not idea either. Yes it would be a slap in the face of players that really played their hearts out down under hoping for a selection. Can’t understand it. Unless they just gonna call out names later. Some how doubt it. When Jake’s team got called out the players came out one by one. So if these players are with their franchises I think they are not selected. Shame that actually.

• 754.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-753: not idea = no idea

• 755.nama1: Reply to this comment

@rabooby(rabooby)-749:
    Don’t feel bad. You are not alone.

It’s a catch phrase with some people. This “I doubt your rugby knowledge.” :lol:

• 756.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The bad part is that there will be another 700 thread tonight with the same posts.
    :evil:

• 757.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

200 thousand tickets remain unsold and revenue target 15 million pounds short.in their quest to appease the kwis it seems the irb basically shot themselves in both feet.

• 758.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ HHS, haha :-) @ puma, agree 100% with you, he shouldve played in tri nations then. I don’t think players will get called up one by one, if I remember correctly a few players got booooed ;-)

• 759.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-746: If Vermeulen is there I have no problem with that at all. He was injured for the down under tour. He played brilliant in SuperRugby. A player that should get the nod. But if Flo and Kolisi is there. Then I really feel for the players that were just used as ‘guinea pigs to the slaughter’ on the down under tour. Some played their hearts out thinking they could get selected.

Then only probably Lambie, JdJ and Aplon have been selected from that tour. Well for now it seems that way. Unless they just going to call out names and players are not there tonight. Somehow doubt it.

• 760.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Wow
    It the time of all the rag-tag wannabe ‘selectors’ now ;)

• 761.Puma: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-758: I think they will do it that way. Can’t just see your name up on tv being selected for wc. This what players have been playing for the big prise. They will come out like they done when Jake’s team came out when selected for 2007.

There won’t be any to boo anyone. So calm down. Will only be the press.

Anyhow expect some surprises.

Back later. Going to eat dinner now.

• 762.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

White was utter kak… De Villiers never lost 49-0 to anyone .. plus De Villiers has a FAR better record on Eoyt’s AND tri nations ESPECIALLY against NZ where White was absolutely pathetic in comparison..

Eddy Jones coached this team to a non contested WC win.. not White.. White lost to NZ 6 from 9 and scraped his last home win against them by 1 point.. Lost to France and Ireland regularly and couldn’t string a winning team together till Jones showed him how..

And it ain’t Jake Whites team same as its not De Villiers team. or John Smits team even though sometimes he might still think it is…

apart from Beast, Bismark and Spies (who played No.8 for De Villiers at junior level) and Alberts and Brussow, the entire JW front 5 vanguard all played for Streauli . not White

Smit, CJ, BJ, Os ( Kitch / Markgraaf / Mallet), Botha, Matfield, Roussow, Burger, Smith ALL were Streauli Boks before White came along..

FdP played for Streauli and De Villiers played for Harry Viljoen.
    Butch, Fourie, Habana, JPP, F. Steyn were ‘discovered’ by White though F. Steyn went to Mexted academy in NZ to hone his skill set straight from school, so ‘discovered’ is actually a bullsh’t term.

Beast, Gurthro, JduP, Brussow, Alberts, Deysel, Spies, Hougaard, M. Steyn, Lambie, De Jongh, Aplon are all PdV instituted players along with a host of others like Jacobs, Basson, Mvovo, McLoed, Louw, etc etc and etc.

So this bullsh’t story that this is Whites team is the biggest load of hogwash garbage you could ever dream up with your jaundiced jaywalking judgmental gibberish gab.

• 763.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ puma, hope not. I’m outa here as well till lata. @ hondo, is that why you’re here ts ts ts ;-)

• 764.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762:

Everyoe played for Strauli and Viljoen, they took public opinion like yours and chopped and changed as the public favoured one to the other.

Jake took the players he knew well from U21 level and used them as his core to turn SA rugby from mess into world champs. He valued tradition and making teh bok jersey a jersey that is elite and one to be worn proudly and not handed out to any tom **** or harry that has a good super 14 game.

Yes Jake called on his close friend Eddie to help him but in no way did Eddie win SA a WC, he just added some additional insight. Jake and Eddie are friends, luckily he has friends that can add value to the boks.

Jake was technical analyst under Mallet when we won the world record equalling consecutive wins.

It’s not worth going round in circles with you, we have been doing that since 2007 when you said we would never win the WC.

• 765.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

So according to Pissant its Vermeulen who’s gonna be the Rassie instituted ‘bolter” can’t say that I would be disappointed with that call… I reckon it would be A for away as far as the loosie balance requirements suggest..

• 766.RL: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762: I’d say that Pdivvy is more kak than Jake … Jake had an overall win ratio of 67% … PDivvy has a 57% win ratio.

• 767.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

Sharks coach John Plumtree believes the conditioning of rugby players in France is below a professional standard.

One area of concern for the Sharks coach in the Currie Cup is his centre pairing of Meyer Bosman and Marius Joubert.

Both again looked below the pace against the Leopards in Durban last week, especially new recruit Joubert, who arrived from French club Clermont Auvergne prior to the season.

frans steyn?

• 768.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-762:

I think 10 of teh starting 15 for this WC were in the starting 15 for 2007? If you take the 22 it’s higher. This is very much teh Jake team but it still had to be coached but it’s a much easier job apart from dealing with aging issues.

• 769.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

i just watched the 2007 rugby wc winners on espn and i think i saw jdup running around in that tv footage,so skoppie is talking his usual bullshit again.

• 770.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

With the predicted good or bad 30 bandits including Mvovo, Ruan, F Louw, Johan Muller, CJ and SMIT, the following comparison to the NZ 30 is true.

SA NZ
    average age 27.60 27.57
    average caps 35.97 36.33
    tot plyrs W/C experience 17.00 11.00
    tot plyrs > 1 W/C exp. 7 7

• 771.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-764:

Mallet fired Jake as a walking lap top or something along those lines.. White was in desperate trouble before he hired Jones because he couldn’t see sh’t for trees around his dead end game plan and he knew it.. Jones instilled life into the Boks game which White was at absolute loss how to do.. White couldn’t trust Rassie or Smal or Coetsee to give him the lift he needed so he turned to Jones..

Dunno how much they were ‘friends’ before his plea for help.. they turned out to be bosom buddies after that.

PdV has same loyalty to his junior WC winning players as White had..

Pienaar, M. Steyn, Spies, Chili, etc played for PdV at junior level, including Hargreaves and Beast I think. Not sure who else.

White wanted Rathbone as his captain from his u21 side and Smit was his second choice.

White would not have continued with Smit and perhaps even Matfield post 2009 while PdV has.. shows who has more loyalty than whom…

How come most of Whites players have distanced themselves from him now… any guesses from your austere opinion surrounding that ???

• 772.Reserve tighthead 2nd player on the teamsheet: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-736:
    According to supersport: Johnson returns to the Cheetahs side after missing out on a Springbok World Cup call-up.
    Vermeulen? FLouw?

• 773.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

all saffas and the one israeli here on keo.co.za should now get behind the boks tonight irrespective of whether their favourite players are selected or not.

• 774.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-771:

LOL mate, so Eddie won us a WC with 1 months coaching.

Ye sure – great logic.

So if we win this WC, Rassie would have won it for us. another lol

• 775.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

one seriously brave ccn female supporter inside the gaddafi compound with heavy fighting taking place around her.

• 776.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

PLEASEEEEE pick BIG JOE ….. for once i agree with Keo

• 777.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

should read reporter

• 778.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits? Seriously?

And Keo has two hookers on his subs bench, Bismark and Brits, WTF for?

There are FAR better loosies around than Brits. Specialist loosies.

Is this some kind of joke?

• 779.Mike H: Reply to this comment

JW started with a plan to win the WC and stuck with it, a lot like PDV.

The game plan was exactly the same as we have now as well. And under Eddie that plan didn;t change he just help add new ideas etc, which all head coaches should look for.

And Eddie and Jake were close friends prior to the call up – why do you think Eddie was approached rather than the others. Also Jakes rates Smal very highly and Smal always handled the forwards. Eddie mostly added value with the backs running lines, backline input mainly.

We played WC rugby from start to end under JW and the same is true for PDV.

• 780.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

All I can say is thank god we have the “dumb” 3 stooges selecting the Boks and not these “dumber” 3 stooges.

BTW is Brits somehow connected with Highbury Safika and/or Keo?

• 781.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol, does Keo advocate subbing his sub hooker with a sub-sub hooker? Ludicrous suggestion.

• 782.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well Sabc had confirmed that Lambie and Fransie are in the world cup Squad.

Thought this was gonna be a live thing?

Just have to wait and see when the announce the rest.

• 783.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-771:they were mates before RWC 2007. i think i read somewhere that jake was in canberra at the invitation of jones – to come & see the structures @ the brumbies – when he got the call to coach the boks

• 784.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-780: :-) bwahahahaha

• 785.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-782: Not the biggest news though is it?

• 786.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-782: they’re confirming that they will be available for selection…

• 787.Mike H: Reply to this comment

I can’t fathom why anyone couldn;t see the great job JW did really.

Went from the laughing stock of the world to the WC winners and back as one of the most reveared teams on the planet and rightly so.

+-17 of JW squad will be in the squad for this WC squad most of who are in the starting team. When Jake got them they had hardly a few caps to string together and now many have hundreds.

Honestly mate what does someone have to do to get sense into that brain?

• 788.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-766:

Jake got wins against following countries

v IRE 31-17 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein H
    v IRE 26-17 Newlands, Cape Town H
    v WAL 53-18 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
    v PAC 38-24 Gosford N
    v NZL 40-26 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
    v AUS 23-19 Kings Park Stadium, Durban H
    v WAL 38-36 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A
    v SCO 45-10 Murrayfield, Edinburgh A
    v ARG 39-7 Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires A

v URU 134-3 East_London H
    v FRA 27-13 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth H
    v AUS 33-20 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
    v AUS 22-16 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
    v NZL 22-16 Newlands, Cape Town H
    v AUS 22-19 Subiaco Oval, Perth_AUS A
    v ARG 34-23 Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires A
    v WAL 33-16 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A

v SCO 36-16 Kings Park Stadium, Durban H
    v SCO 29-15 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth H
    v NZL 21-20 Royal Bafokeng Stm, Rustenburg H
    v AUS 24-16 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
    v ENG 25-14 Twickenham, London A

v ENG 58-10 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein H
    v ENG 55-22 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria H
    v SAM 35-8 Ellis Park, Johannesburg H
    v AUS 22-19 Newlands, Cape Town H
    v NAM 105-13 Newlands, Cape Town H
    v SCO 27-3 Murrayfield, Edinburgh A
    WC Pool A v SAM 59-7 Parc des Princes, Paris N
    WC Pool A v ENG 36-0 Stade de France, Paris N
    WC Pool A v TON 30-25 Lens N
    WC Pool A v USA 64-15 Montpellier N
    WC Quart SAF v FIJ 37-20 Marseille N
    WC Semi SAF v ARG 37-13 Stade de France, Paris N
    WC Final SAF v ENG 15-6 Stade de France, Paris N
    v WAL 34-12 Millennium Stadium, Cardiff A

to give him his 66 %

How many of those tests were strength vs strength tests ?

And before the WC string of victories against 6th – 15th ranked opposition his win ratio was around 58%not 66%

PdV has played far stronger opposition throughout and his wins were against far stronger opposition like NZ and Ireland away where Jake almost always lost.

• 789.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Helllooooo sweeeeeeettttiiieeeeeeee!

• 790.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

SABC are about a day behind the “breaking news”.

• 791.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788: Joel you’ve mentioned those stats before a number of times. Do you have anything fresh for today?

• 792.RL: Reply to this comment

who is that doos singing .. hell he sings false.

• 793.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How come sabc knows who’s in?

• 794.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Who’s this irish leprechaun singing on supersport :-)

• 795.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-788:

It’s what he started with to where he ended that makes him special.

Restore pride, restore tradition win a WC were his aims and he achieved those.

Now start being grateful you neanderthal

• 796.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

keo selects sadie?what a freakin joke.

• 797.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-794: g10 :D

• 798.Dawn: Reply to this comment

His name is Ard Matthews

I just changed channels

• 799.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Jake White: 66.7% (and Bill)
    P Diddy: 60.5%
    In the end, that’s all that counts.

• 800.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Out for now watching squad announcement

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.