Your ultimate World Cup guide
23 Aug 2011
SA Rugby magazine’s 260-page collector’s issue goes on sale this week.
While this is the biggest issue in the magazine’s 16-year history, the price – R25.95 – has stayed the same, giving you exceptional value for money.
In the World Cup edition:
– We analyse all 20 teams: the ‘state of the nation’ going into the World Cup, their big strength and big weakness, the captain, the key player, the coach, the team’s World Cup record etc. It’s all here.
– The fascinating history of the World Cup and the crucial role South Africa played in the creation of the tournament
– A proud Kiwi recommends a few things you might want to try if you are in New Zealand sampling the best the rugby world has to offer
– In Hooked on Rugby, a new show on SuperSport, Bob Skinstad chats to legends of the game about the 2011 World Cup. We reveal some of what they had to say
– Key figures from the 1987 All Blacks side that lifted the first World Cup have some sage advice for Graham Henry’s class of 2011
– Keo on what the Springboks need to do to retain their World Cup title
– Defence coach Jacques Nienaber on what his job entails, how defence systems have changed, and working with the Springboks
– John Smit believes the Boks can become the first team to defend their World Cup crown
– Victor Matfield has ensured his place among the greats of the game
– Why Fourie du Preez is the most important member of the Bok backline
– Gio Aplon could play an important role off the bench for the Boks in New Zealand
– It took a while, but rugby league convert Chris Ashton has fallen in love with the 15-man game
– Pumas lock Patricio Albacete will shoulder more responsibility at his third World Cup
– Brian O’Driscoll wants Ireland to do their talking on the field
– France tighthead prop Nicolas Mas has earned the respect of his opponents
– Wales openside flank Sam Warburton is the complete package
– Scotland lock Richie Gray has shed his ‘Bambi’ tag
– All Blacks captain Richie McCaw has won just about everything worth winning in rugby. Except the one thing he really cares about
– Wallabies fullback Kurtley Beale got his rugby career back on track after finding balance in his life
– Martin Castrogiovanni’s scrumming prowess and passion for the game has endeared him to fans
– Everything you need to know about the 12 stadiums that will host World Cup matches this year
– All the World Cup records that matter
– In an extract from his new book, The Springboks and the Holy Grail, Dan Retief relives the 1995 World Cup semi-final between South Africa and France that was played in monsoon conditions
– What happened to 1995 World Cup-winning Bok hooker Chris Rossouw?
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
PLUS: Get your giant World Cup wall chart inside this month’s issue and follow the Boks’ progress from the pool stage to the play-offs

56 Comments
23 Aug 2011, 06:01 am
That Bismarck Dragon must be p issed of he missed the photo shoot
23 Aug 2011, 06:04 am
Ya he’s prob salking with his agent, must admit though this is the best cover of this mag I’ve ever seen
23 Aug 2011, 06:32 am
Ugh…. Stop being a cockroach, Smit. I doubt his leadership too. Who would get inspired by a fat old pig who slips double the amount of tackles you do.
I hope Matfield is the one who will do the lifting of the cup.
23 Aug 2011, 06:38 am
The All Blacks squad for the World Cup:
John Afoa, Anthony Boric, Daniel Carter,
Jimmy Cowan, Israel Dagg, Andy Ellis, Corey
Flynn, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Zac
Guildford, Andrew Hore, Cory Jane, Richard
Kahui, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw (capt),
Keven Mealamu, Mils Muliaina, Ma’a Nonu,
Kieran Read, Colin Slade, Conrad Smith, Adam
Thomson, Brad Thorn, Isaia Toeava, Victor
Vito, Piri Weepu, Sam Whitelock, Ali Williams,
Sonny Bill Williams, Tony Woodcock.
23 Aug 2011, 06:49 am
What a great cover, Grantie should get it framed…!
23 Aug 2011, 06:52 am
SIVI, MESSAM, GEAR OUT
Tuesday, 23 August 2011
2.38 p.m.
Graham Henry has announced his
30-man squad, and it’s bad news
for Sitiveni Sivivatu, Wyatt
Crockett, Liam Messam, Jarrad
Hoeata and Hosea Gear.
The four players were the
notable absentees as Graham
Henry confirmed all rumours by
sticking with youth and form as
opposed to experience.
The non selection is a blow for the quartet,
but more so for Gear, whose brother Rico
was a shock absentee from the 2007 squad
that travelled to France.
Sivivatu, too, could count himself unlucky
after his stellar performance in the All
Blacks’ 60-14 victory over Fiji saw Henry
heap praise on the Fijian winger, whom he
described as the best player on the field in
the first half.
But in a case of ‘anything you can do I can
do better’, Crusaders and Hawke’s Bay
winger Zac Guildford was chosen ahead of
Sivivatu after a fine outing against Australia.
<Wyatt Crockett's constant infringements at
scrum time saw him lose out to the ever-
athletic John Afoa, who was severely tested
in Port Elizabeth last weekend.
Hoeata, who made his debut for the All
Blacks in Dunedin, is the victim of a
resurgent Sam Whitelock and fit Blues and
All Blacks lock Anthony Boric.
23 Aug 2011, 06:54 am
@ Trans, no hosea gear? Thought GH said he’s the best winger in the country?
the dept Nz have in the back is frightening! Gear, Macalister, Fruen, cruden, and maitland will be sitting at home
23 Aug 2011, 06:54 am
Visitors — overnight in Queenstown or Wanaka and then leave after breakfast on a road trip to Te Anau and then to Mliford Sound and back out again. Bring insect-repellent spray to ward off the sand-flies. If the weather’s sunny, head up the West Coast road up to Greymouth or Westport. The Knysna Garden Route looks like a semi-desert by comparison.
23 Aug 2011, 06:58 am
No Crockett or Sivi, ffuckit we lucky GH is an old man
that means woodcock who got his head scrummed up is asss will be wearing the number 1 jumper? Haha
our changes of retaining WC had improved dramatically
23 Aug 2011, 06:59 am
afoa before crockett!? Yoh, i thoght afoa was given a torrid time on saturday but GH saw differently
23 Aug 2011, 07:00 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-8:Yes, it is a very wet country.
23 Aug 2011, 07:01 am
Changes = chances (the excitement is getting the better of me)
23 Aug 2011, 07:02 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-10: I’m surprised as well. Crockett is also used to scrumming with the other crusader frontrowers.
23 Aug 2011, 07:06 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-8: “The Knysna Garden Route looks like a semi-desert by comparison”
Just a touch harsh. From Wanaka to the west coast is beautiful, but once you’re past Haast it’s all very same same. The glaciers aren’t bad, if you get a clear day, which is a rarity. Not known as the land of the loooong white cloud for nothing
But ja, I’d encourage anyone to make that trip you suggested. Would recommend Wanaka to everyone. Take hiking boots
23 Aug 2011, 07:21 am
Nice cover.
I still think those RWC jerseys looks k@k.
I’ll stick to the ABSA one.
23 Aug 2011, 07:26 am
bloody hell….that front row shot has made me puke on my speedo……will not be able to bring myself to buy this edition with that gravy trainer free loader featuring….sorry , just cant do it….
23 Aug 2011, 07:28 am
Would have been so much more impressive with Bismark packing down in that picture. And everyone knows it.
23 Aug 2011, 07:29 am
any more rumours circulating about WC squad?
I cant believe Crockett and Sivivatu not in Kiwi squad……and Hose Gear!!
Whoa!!
23 Aug 2011, 07:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-17: amen my blue bull brother…..
23 Aug 2011, 07:37 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-17: You cannot have Bissy on the cover again. That will cause a stir because the cover race is between JDV and Schalkie.
23 Aug 2011, 07:37 am
Grant.
Hehe. Looks like this issue transcends provincialism. Ironically they always claim Smit is so good at uniting the different provinces represented in the team. Well, he is certainly demonstrating it on a nationwide scale with his mere presence.
Everyone is united in wanting him gone..
23 Aug 2011, 07:41 am
Smit deserved his spot until 2007. He should have retired with White. Bismark has probably sacrificed the 4 best years of his career to make way for the fading Smit.
Bismark could have gonw down as the reatest hooker in Bok history. Instead, half his career has been spent on the bench.
What a travesty.
23 Aug 2011, 07:42 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-21: It is going to be very interesting to see how the team dynamics pans out on this ‘ tour ‘….
23 Aug 2011, 07:44 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-22: and dont forget the poor looseheads and tightheads who also were sacrificed at The Altar Of the Aura as well……
Self serving oke this Plod……
23 Aug 2011, 07:45 am
Can’t wait to get my edition to take overseas with me on Saturday.
23 Aug 2011, 07:47 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-22: I think the greatest Bok hooker of all time will still be Uli Schmidt ( hope the spellin is correct) – sorry Tac
23 Aug 2011, 07:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-22: lol what are you talking about? Bismarck started all the tests in ’08, ’09, 2010 (when fit) and started in 2011 bar one test.
23 Aug 2011, 07:50 am
the bok lineup for the Wales Test will be so interesting……
PDV….jy moet n paar Ballas wys ….
23 Aug 2011, 07:52 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-27: and check the results when Bissy didnt start……
Boks played 11….lost 10.
Now go give advice to your poms team and stop any disinformation here please 008
23 Aug 2011, 07:53 am
ja, but bismarck’s still sitting on the little chair…in the corner…facing the wall….
23 Aug 2011, 07:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-28:
They haven’t dropped yet.
23 Aug 2011, 07:55 am
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-30: and boks are the poorer for it
@stew(stew)-26: Correct.
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-31: LOL
23 Aug 2011, 08:10 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-21:
wow! lets notify the editors of the oxford english dictionary that the word ‘everyone’ has been redefined to mean ‘two’…thats right tac…lonely old you & grantie….
united by the fire….
23 Aug 2011, 08:43 am
@whatever(whatever)-1: I’m not buying this edition … I would have if Bissy was on the cover .. with Plod there knowing that he is is Bissy’s b!atch, Eish.
23 Aug 2011, 08:46 am
for anyone going to the wc with a spare bit of cash, if your interested there’s a kiwi chick selling her virginity to the highest bidder….she needs the cash for her studies…
http://www.iol.co.za/news/back-page/virginity-for-sale-1.1122448
23 Aug 2011, 08:49 am
Must admit I would prefer to see Bissy there instead of Smitty , how pissed off was Bissy last week when he was pulled , little worrying re team dynamics.
He was my MOTM up until that stage.
23 Aug 2011, 08:52 am
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-37: Shame , cant she even sell it down there ??
23 Aug 2011, 08:56 am
Probably old news, but I see they’ve taken to calling what the All Blacks were subjected to at the breakdown on Saturday the “Heinrich Maneuver”.
23 Aug 2011, 08:58 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-39:
well, it’ll be a bidding process i guess. hope she gets enough for it.
that sort of thing probably hinges a lot on looks. i dunno.
23 Aug 2011, 09:12 am
well i for one really dont trust those ffucking kiwis. i think they’ll target him with the aim to injure if we meet in the semi. this sort of thing by them is not new, targeting key players (o’driscoll, smit…)
23 Aug 2011, 09:15 am
@grant10(grant10)-32:
I fear that Smit’s “aura” and leadership will be a case of “look Ma, the emperor isnt wearing any clothes!” this world cup… sigh
23 Aug 2011, 09:24 am
@whatever(whatever)-1: hehehe. Had a good chuckle there….lol.
23 Aug 2011, 09:25 am
@we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-30: hahahahaha. Good one….
23 Aug 2011, 10:04 am
Transformation – I fear GH seems to be making RWC mistakes already. He should know by now that exprience wins RWCs! Sivi should definitely be in the squad, brilliant winger. The biggest issue for the ABs is that they still have no suitable backup for Carter which is why i would have selected McCallister in the squad!
23 Aug 2011, 10:09 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-46: Sorry this team is for indians(NO CHIEFS)
23 Aug 2011, 10:11 am
@LITELOCK(LITELOCK)-47: Think i just made a monumental kock up………did he play for the Chiefs?
23 Aug 2011, 14:04 pm
@ we have it on good authority that on september 11, a legend will rise…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha) – 42:
Yeah careful we might chase him down and head butt him from behind…. oh wait, that was Baakies;) But seriously, don’t worry, we will be clean, nothing will please me more than a traditional tough as hell but clean NZ v SA semi
23 Aug 2011, 15:25 pm
So what did we learn from this year’s Tri-Nations? That the All-Blacks are better than the B Boks and that the Springboks are better than the B Blacks. Yes, The All Blacks beat the B Boks by a bigger margin than the Springboks beat theirs. This only means they’ve got greater depth in their squad…and we already knew that long ago.
The World-Cup kick-off will change every mind-set of every player once the first whistle goes. Whatever a coach taught his team is all he can do. It’s up to the players to play the game and I’m pretty confident in ours.
23 Aug 2011, 15:30 pm
Hey can I have one brought over for me? I’m not interested in paying courier costs to have it sent to NZ though.
23 Aug 2011, 15:31 pm
The cover could’ve looked better. Especially with Bismarck who might start above John Smit.
23 Aug 2011, 16:11 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-51: Check out the keo.co.za online shop. There is a digital edition available.
23 Aug 2011, 16:24 pm
@Gareth(GarethDuncan)-53:
Cheers.
23 Aug 2011, 16:38 pm
@Gareth(GarethDuncan)-53:
That’s a freaking subscription man. I only want the 1 copy. I’d be better off getting family to courier it
29 Aug 2011, 09:46 am
WOOOOOOW…The latest september SA Rugby mag is freaking great…all the world cup news & views are certainly worth the price.