KeoTV: Why Hoskins should quit
26 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE says Saru president Oregan Hoskins should resign as the failure to transform the Springboks is his fault, not Peter de Villiers’s.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article22 May 2013
Andries Bekker's Stormers career is over - for now. Bekker has been the one highlight in a dismal Stormers season but he hurt his back badly in the loss against the Rebels and is out for between six and eight weeks. He is unlikely to play again before moving to Japan. Bekker is one of several players unavailable for Saturday's showdown with the Reds as the injury list reaches ridiculous proportions. Centre Juan de Jong is also out for a month. Deon Fourie, Scarra Ntubeni, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe are the latest to be ruled out because of injury and they join a lengthy list that ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article26 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE says Saru president Oregan Hoskins should resign as the failure to transform the Springboks is his fault, not Peter de Villiers’s.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
Andries Bekker’s Stormers career is over – for now. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

449 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
25 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-99:
Your desire is however to see him fail, so you can reassure yourself ‘see we are superior’
What one would like to see is that he is afforded the same opportunities as the others. Immediately your mechanical brain goes ‘oh throw money down the drain’
Of course not.
Justice or fairness is the point.
Whoever brainwashed you did a real good job, or was it just the Nuts?
25 Aug 2011, 15:33 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-90: and you have the cheek to question my “humour”? puerile
25 Aug 2011, 15:34 pm
if the “enabling environment” is the same for everybody, the team will be very white buddy, simply because of PLAYING DEMOGRAPHICS.
yes, yes, dale and queens i hear you rant.
just add up all the afrikaans schools and you will start to verstaan mate.
so the kings are to be another anti transformation vehicle then?
sad.
25 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-101:
So many unfounded statements in that post.
I agree fully that he should receive the same opportunities as any other player.
No more, no less.
25 Aug 2011, 15:36 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95: there are more black kids than non-black kids, natuurlik
25 Aug 2011, 15:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-105:
And there are more Chinese in the world than all of the blacks and non blacks combined. What’s your point?
25 Aug 2011, 15:40 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-106: That the Boks should be overwhelmingly ethnic Chinese?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-99: you’re so vindictive, how is he the new black hero?
is sadie the new white hero? how about lambie, taute, etsebeth?
nick koster maybe?
oh Lord for forbid van den Heever? bwahahahahaha
@Transformation(Transformation)-102: it wasnt humour, it was sarcasm laid on thick to match the stupid question by mxhosa.
or maybe heyneke sold their body parts to the east?
anyways, i am out. gotta meet my black business colleague who thinks your type are lazy in mind and in deed.
tjorts.
25 Aug 2011, 15:42 pm
I think the Welsh have been letting their standards slip recently – why I counted at least two players in their squad whose name isn’t Jones. It’s outrageous and not at all representative!
25 Aug 2011, 15:46 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-99: why isn’t kolisi YOUR new hero Tac? he hails from PE was spotted @ EP u12/14 trials.
why can’t you embrace him?
embrace change tac, transform yourself
25 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
Honestly, if I was a black kid from a poor area, I’d want rugby boots, shoulder pads, a scrumcap, proper nutrition, a nice field to play on, a safe environment to train in, a good coach to teach me the skills of the game and good medical cover should I get injured.
All of that stuff means one thing: Financial support.
So by all means, direct money towards supporting these players. Give them every opportunity to develop their talents to the max.
Then let them loose to compete on an equal footing with the white kids.
At the same time, give the same financial support to the hundreds of thousands of white kids who are also growing up in poverty today, but without the benefit of having a government who gives a sh*t about their predicament.
Level the playing field for everyone. And then let the team demographics be whatever it is. Don’t select players based on skin colour.
25 Aug 2011, 15:47 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-109: who said you have monopoly on sarcasm?
you non-black guys nc nc nc
25 Aug 2011, 15:48 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-104:
Ek weet nie eens hoekom ek vies word vir jou nie.
Jy het nog net nie die goed deurdink nie, dis al.
Kom ons laat dit daar my maat van yster en plaat.
25 Aug 2011, 15:49 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-109: i’m not a “type”
25 Aug 2011, 15:54 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-112: non-black unemployment is far less than black employment, fact.
non-black salaries still trump black salaries, fact.
non-black land ownership still trumps black ownership, fact.
non-black wealth still trumps black wealth, fact.
25 Aug 2011, 15:56 pm
transie, we get it, you know how to do smileys. you don’t need to put one after every post. it does not make you look clever and sort of defeats their purpose.
25 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-116:
And how does this correlate to comparative educational levels, skills and relevant work experience?
25 Aug 2011, 15:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-116: we don’t mind if you call us whites. non-black is so … non-commital.
25 Aug 2011, 16:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-91: I believe by implementing a far better scouting system for talent (both black and white) from primary school level in all schools not only the big famous ones and advising the talent unearthed on everything from diet to new training systems. We should have institutions that get the best possible coaches to train talented youngsters who DO NOT go to the big schools and have a system where several small schools in areas get together and field combination teams for 3 or 4 matches a year against the Premier Rugby schools in the country. True sporting ability will be apparent in a youngster even in a very poor environment but the secret is for someone to be there to recognize it. I think a great deal talent gets missed in South Africa both black and white simply because they may not go to a recognized rugby school.
25 Aug 2011, 16:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-90:
lol!
25 Aug 2011, 16:09 pm
seems like transie works for a government department – just gone 4 pm and he’s disappeared.
25 Aug 2011, 16:12 pm
You guys miss the point. It is not about who is or who isn’t good enough. it is about a leader who said hold me accountable. Now I am holding him accountable because so little has happened between World Cups. Hoskins asked to be given another chance on transformation in 2007. He was and he stood there proud as punch to confirm a squad that showed how little had changed since the last WC. If the game is to transform it needs strong leadership. Hoskins is not that answer. He bows to 14 provincial presidents. He gives them what they want and he hasn’t made a hard decision in his tenure. My criticism is aimed directly at one person.
25 Aug 2011, 16:14 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-122: hehehehehehehehehe funny guy
25 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-122: makes sense, hence all the time to blog, and search and cut and paste and……..
25 Aug 2011, 16:15 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-118: and this was all a matter of natural progression? whites are more educated because it was SYSTEMATICALLY engineered to be that way, now how does one fix that situation?
25 Aug 2011, 16:16 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-124: see post 117 please
@SuperStirrer(SuperStirrer)-125: aha, piss-taker
Ok, I’m here now. What’s happening?
25 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-117: why do you care
25 Aug 2011, 16:17 pm
@keo(keo)-123: Keo, happy to meet you. Howz it hanging, swamp donkey?
25 Aug 2011, 16:18 pm
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-119: non-blacks. not everything is about you
I dont understand this “transformation” obsession considering all players are south african people
TRANSFORMATION Hoskins style is a letter to the unions asking for the inclusion of more black players.
Has no one noticed that Hoskins has left 3 of his transformed unions out of Super Rugby?
How is this possible you may ask – only because Hoskins is kept there by the old guard to delay this process.
The process should be that everyone – read all SARU 14 rugby unions have an equal and fair opportunity to play Super Rugby.
Only Hoskins and Marinos cocked this up right royally and failed to demand that each of the SANZAR partners has 6 teams in the tournament and SA Rugby gets the short end and we find ourselves yapping and scrapping like lapdogs over a chewy toy.
This means then that transformation will now have to wait till 2016 when the new Super Rugby tournament starts.
SA Rugby needs to grow a set of balls and address rugby on the premise that the best man gets the job and the best teams get to play but everyone plays on the same equal footing.
There is massive inequality in rugby and it is condoned by SA Rugby.
25 Aug 2011, 16:19 pm
Under Hoskins’ tenure SA rugby has probably experienced its most stable period since readmission. He is a peacemaker, not a sh*tstirrer.
He tries to keep the boat steady, rather than capsize it.
25 Aug 2011, 16:21 pm
@keo(keo)-123: we get it keo, fire away!
25 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-133: imagine the madristas oppressed the catalans for decades and took all the land to themselves, made themselves filthy rich and advanced their people into management jobs based only on being madristas, best schools, best health care, best homes etc…imagine after decades of being disenfranchised the catalans got “emancipated”.
in your mind will the two societies be equal immediately after emancipation?
how long do you think it will take for that society to be “normal”?
25 Aug 2011, 16:26 pm
enjoy your squabbles. i’m going for a pedal in the hills.
25 Aug 2011, 16:30 pm
Keo you say allot more “players of color” should be going to the WC, can you name them please? from experience I can assure that young black players are allot more interested in playing football. Stick admitted on TV that black students are forced to play rugby at their schools but still transformation did not fail, if you watched Craven week you would have realized that. I just think it is hypocritical that you complain about transformation while your own squad that you have chosen on this site contains more white players and if Mvovo is so good why would you leave him out and put in Sadie when you know we have more than enough back-up for the center position.
Transformation made easy for simpletons and racists:
1. Work out what percentage of the population is not white (How, by reinstating the pencil test?)
2. Count how many players there are in a rugby team (Ooh, 15 at a time but 22 in total. And 30 in a RWC squad – confusing!)
3. Demand that the percentage of non-whites arrived at in 1 is matched by the percentage of non-whites included in 2.
4. Profit?
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-138: will join you in an hour, gym wiil be calling
25 Aug 2011, 16:31 pm
This Transformation bulldust is based on an analysis which assumes that pigmentally challenged supporters, coaches and administrators are prejudiced and do not want to see pigmentally rich players succeed.
The cries of “BEEEEEAAAAAAAAAASSSST” in stadiums around SA and indeed the globe expose this crockofshit thinking for what it is.
I suggest that there is another factor in play… Plain old incompetence.
25 Aug 2011, 16:32 pm
@Rugbylife(Rugbylife)-139: where do you live?
25 Aug 2011, 16:33 pm
@Rugbylife(Rugbylife)-139: I am saying a leader made a commitment to be judged on nrs four years ago. I am reminding him of that.
25 Aug 2011, 16:34 pm
Eish man we had a civil war ¿did you know? ¡¡3 years of bloody civil war!!. Guernica, you know?
then almost 40 years of dictadure ¡¡¡¡40 YEARS!!!! we were (still are) the shame of western europe.
And there are no cuotas for the sons or grandsons of the republicans (the losers). my maternal grandfather was republican by the way
We dont need cuotas, a democratic country shouldnt need cuotas.
25 Aug 2011, 16:35 pm
Transformation … you currently have all the opportunities in the world! Because of BEE, EE, transformation or whatever you want to call it, you’ll easily get a job or loan or bursary – much easier than a white oke. But yet, you are on keo 24/7 complaining about the past …. why don’t to use the opportunities available? Do you work for a boss? Is he paying you to be here on keo 24/7? So the white kid works his arse off and gets promoted, you talk k@k on keo and complain because your not?
25 Aug 2011, 16:35 pm
@keo(keo)-144: Why you being so hard on Oregan? Is it because he’s black?
25 Aug 2011, 16:36 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-135: under Verwoed the whites had their most peaceful and privileged time – did not make him right did it? There is so much wrong with the administration of the game and despite this we have our most ‘stable’ time. Talk about have a Ja broer in charge!
25 Aug 2011, 16:37 pm
@Helen(Helen)-147: No it is because he is spineless and has failed to deliver as a leader as per his promise in 2007
25 Aug 2011, 16:39 pm
@Mills_is_kak(p0ppa69)-146: he mills is kak, how is life?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All