KeoTV: Why Hoskins should quit
26 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE says Saru president Oregan Hoskins should resign as the failure to transform the Springboks is his fault, not Peter de Villiers’s.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article20 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article26 Aug 2011
MARK KEOHANE says Saru president Oregan Hoskins should resign as the failure to transform the Springboks is his fault, not Peter de Villiers’s.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

449 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
25 Aug 2011, 20:00 pm
Funny thing is Keo’s “squad that would never be” had fewer black players in it…
25 Aug 2011, 20:12 pm
@skunk(skunk)-242: skunk, i asked the other day but didnt see your answer, how are the kwantu guys doing?
25 Aug 2011, 20:12 pm
i see one of gunther’s family members got arrested in austria for imprisoning his daugters and repeatedly raping them.these german speaking k unts just sickens me.
25 Aug 2011, 20:15 pm
@skunk(skunk)-234: great work skunk but do me one favour…..just keep gunther and rangerman away from those black boys.
25 Aug 2011, 20:19 pm
To be quite honest who cares about transformation?
Surely if you are good enough it will be hard to not use you in a team. Coaches want to win and will do so with the best players at their disposal.
Transformation by numbers will be an injustice to many
25 Aug 2011, 20:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-116:
Ag shame…..
Perhaps those boys picked at age group level were the real quotas. That is where we experiment is it not. In Super and test rugby, all that counts is money and winning = money.
25 Aug 2011, 20:20 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-253: I fail to see if this is funny, serious or just plain nasty
Please explain
25 Aug 2011, 20:21 pm
@Sannie Bill Who??iams(Xkreni-WP)-256: Sannie exactly my point. Did SANZAR not ry and protect this by claiming that the best players available should play at all times, except where there are injuries?
25 Aug 2011, 20:23 pm
@ Tecumseh(Tecumseh) didn’t you get the msg left for you on the other thread? Stop your nonsense man, you’re making this site ffucking unpleasant!
25 Aug 2011, 20:23 pm
Does our Parliamentary Sports committee not have anything better to do with their time? FFS do we even need political interference in sport? NO!
From IOL.
The SA Rugby Union and SuperSport will be brought before Parliament’s portfolio committee on sport after musician Ard Matthews bungled the national anthem on Tuesday in a live television broadcast.
The committee said on Thursday it did not find joy in an embarrassing event witnessed by the whole nation.
Matthews forgot some of the words to Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika before Saru named the 30-man Sprinbok squad to play in next month’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.
“This embarrassing incident occurred at a moment when we were celebrating the victory of the Springboks winning the game against New Zealand in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.”
The portfolio committee said Saru and SuperSport would appear at its next meeting to explain the “debacle” and avoid such “embarrassments” in the future.
Matthews, the lead singer of rock band Just Jinjer, and SuperSport apologised for the bungle on Wednesday. – Sapa
25 Aug 2011, 20:24 pm
One twat is back
25 Aug 2011, 20:24 pm
@JL1(JL1)-257: THIS IS NO JOKE.go to news24 to confirm what gunther’s nazi-loving austrian family member was up to.
25 Aug 2011, 20:26 pm
@ wooden spoon(wooden spoon) 261 – ard was so **** that even ras dumasani complaint about it
25 Aug 2011, 20:26 pm
Sorry, two.
25 Aug 2011, 20:28 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-259: i left you one myself.
you can have a great laugh when rangerman and gunther makes despicable comments but when i meet them head on you all of a sudden becomes the morality police and lose your knickers because i dared to challenge your beloved white brothers.
25 Aug 2011, 20:28 pm
@ dawn, does it mean I’m number 2?
25 Aug 2011, 20:29 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-260: I support the government on this one.
25 Aug 2011, 20:30 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-264: whaaatareyoutalkin’about?
25 Aug 2011, 20:31 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-262: So no need for it on Keo, talk rugby or any other nonsense, but above board
25 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
Hey man even the great Ella Fitzgerald got the words to Mack the Knife wrong in Berlin, 1960. Singers do it all the time.
25 Aug 2011, 20:33 pm
once again tecumseh was proved right today,especially reading on news24 what gunther’s uncle did to his poor daughters,that white men have this perverted sexual gene deeply imbedded in their make-up.
25 Aug 2011, 20:34 pm
@ Tecumseh(Tecumseh) 265- no mate, some of the stuff you say is sickening and totally uncalled for, keep it real man
25 Aug 2011, 20:36 pm
I’m off. I need to go flush a Capo down the loo.
25 Aug 2011, 20:36 pm
Tecumtwat and xkrenitwat
25 Aug 2011, 20:37 pm
@JL1(JL1)-269: go tell that to your uncouth buddy gunther. it’s a well known fact here on keo that white okes and maybe dawn never reprimand their own kind.get of your high morality horse first and go knock on your despicable buddies doors first.
25 Aug 2011, 20:37 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-265: Should call Ras Dumasani as well
25 Aug 2011, 20:38 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-272: what is sickening.the fact of the matter is that gunther’s uncle repeatedly raped his daughters in austria.deal with it.
25 Aug 2011, 20:39 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-275: No time to check all the posts
Yours were on my page as I opened
25 Aug 2011, 20:39 pm
@JL1(JL1)-276: what!…a comrade.don’t be silly now.
25 Aug 2011, 20:41 pm
@ dawn, peew the relief
are you watching boots & all? John robbie knows his rugby
25 Aug 2011, 20:41 pm
Is he dronk?
25 Aug 2011, 20:42 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-274: HOWDY KERB CRAWLER.
25 Aug 2011, 20:43 pm
Silly norugyguru.
What does john robbie know about rugby. He is white!
25 Aug 2011, 20:44 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-281: i had some money on you last night that you would grab helen’s ball in an oil wrestling match.don’t be nasty with me now.
25 Aug 2011, 20:45 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-283: RACIST!
25 Aug 2011, 20:46 pm
Aagh shut up you dumbass.
25 Aug 2011, 20:47 pm
@ dawn, eish, the virus is spreading and affecting innocent people
25 Aug 2011, 20:48 pm
Helen is a wannabe obsessed with her vokken periods
Yawn
25 Aug 2011, 20:49 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-286: come on now prawny.don’t be nasty.
25 Aug 2011, 20:52 pm
Am not getting involved in talk with eedjits. Will be back when more sensible people are back.
25 Aug 2011, 20:52 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-287: apparently the austrian police is investigating whether gunther’s uncle provided the rentboy with any cousins….hopefully no male cousins because gunther would go onto town with them.
25 Aug 2011, 20:53 pm
this piece of half bred scum that crawled out the cape flats gutter and comes spews his half bred filth on open public websites thinking he’s either funny or clever or half arsed educated or full blown idiotic is simply downright outright scum filth trash that is not worthy to even equate himself with any human status.. The scum piece of half bred piece of filth garbage that calls himself clever names he discovers off the internet is outright puerile garbage and should be obliterated from this website let alone obliterated from mankind.
Go crawl back in your hole you piece of scum garbage filth conniving capo trash
25 Aug 2011, 20:53 pm
keo, make yourself familiar with SARU’s transformation charter and all its details, from there you will get perspective as to whether regan has failed or succeeded.
Just trying to nail him on the basis of a press statement will just end up as a cheap publicity ploy.
The world cup is in 2 weeks time, let’s no look for a ‘staaldraad’ when there’s none
25 Aug 2011, 20:54 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-290: go oil that body mama prawny! helen doesn’t stand a chance.
25 Aug 2011, 20:55 pm
The concern in the AB camp is growing, that’s for sure.
I’m beginning to see signs of nervousness or anxiety or deep concern. The tough decisions needed to be made; now it’s one more NB game for them before the big occasion.
The scrunity will begin to increase with every passing day.
AB fans will look for nervousness, uncertainty in the voice , the odd twitching of the voice- which we all know is not a good space to be in
25 Aug 2011, 20:56 pm
@ dawn, I 2nd that notion! @ skop, amen brother amen
I’m outa here as well
25 Aug 2011, 20:59 pm
the day i believe helen is a man is the day i believed skoppie really got mugged in site 5.me thinks he was getting it down with those well oiled rugby playing xhosa mamas when their boyfriends discovered his dirty township secret.they just wanted to teach him a lesson and the next day he cried mugging on keo.interesting to note that there is no police record of the incident.
25 Aug 2011, 21:02 pm
sheriff: graham henry is making jokes about the wallabies transfering the pressure on to deans
25 Aug 2011, 21:03 pm
i wonder whether the delusional skoppie has finally decided where he was born?last time he was still struggling to find out whether springs is a town in israel or gauteng.
25 Aug 2011, 21:07 pm
this is to you skunk:
“It is from numberless diverse
acts of courage and belief that human history
is shaped. Each time a man stands up for an
ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or
strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a
tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other
from a million different centers of energy
and daring, those ripples build a current that
can sweep down the mightiest walls of
oppression and resistance.”
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All