Desperation wins World Cups

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Boks and the Wallabies have the players and the game plan to beat the All Blacks in a one-off situation. But the All Blacks, possibly for the first time in a World Cup competition, have desperation as an ally.

New Zealand did not choke in Brisbane. Australia throttled them and there is a difference between blowing it and being blown away.

Australia blew away any New Zealand complacency but with it introduced perspective to what should be a fabulous World Cup. Any one of Australia, South Africa and New Zealand is good enough to win the World Cup. Forget the northern hemisphere challenge. Neither England nor France has a team with enough quality to succeed in New Zealand.

Australia can beat anyone home and away. South Africa, in a one-off situation, will always back their physicality, no risk approach and strong kicking game to win ugly and the All Blacks, at home, rarely get beaten.

There is a buzz about this World Cup because New Zealand, for the first time since the tournament’s inception, aren’t being put on a pedestal. And rightly so. They stand no taller than Australia and South Africa.

The All Blacks, at full strength, are a fantastic side and in terms of consistency they are the best team in the world. But Australia and South Africa have the players and the game plan to beat the All Blacks in a one-off situation if they get it right mentally and the All Blacks aren’t quite as desperate.

The Boks in Port Elizabeth and the Wallabies in Brisbane delighted in being desperate. Both physically beat up the All Blacks. Both deserved the respective victories. New Zealand’s World Cup squad, all of who played in Port Elizabeth and Brisbane, looked vulnerable and mortal.

The All Blacks, should they win a World Cup for the first time in 24 years, will have to play to the maximum of each player’s ability. If they don’t win it a better team will have downed them. This All Blacks team isn’t good enough to carry the tag of choker into the World Cup. Don’t be surprised if they win the tournament at home, but equally don’t be surprised if they don’t.

Surely that’s a wonderful thing for any sport and any global showpiece event, like a World Cup. No one knows for sure who will win this World Cup and that’s just bloody brilliant.

The Wallabies were outstanding in beating the Boks in Durban and they were sensational in the opening 40 against the All Blacks in Brisbane. The Reds, in winning Super Rugby, were equally impressive.

The core form players of the year have come out of Brisbane and Super Rugby success has been translated into Tri-Nation’s silverware.

Desperation, however, is what wins World Cups. Desperation is what the All Blacks had at Eden Park in 2010 when they hammered the Boks 32-12. Desperation is what the All Blacks had at Eden Park a month ago when they were brutal in winning 30-14 against the Wallabies.

Those two New Zealand wins in Auckland are as significant as the Wallabies two recent successes against South Africa and New Zealand and the Boks win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth. It showed that a desperate All Blacks team is far more of a threat than one believing of its own press and the notion that it is a god given right New Zealand should win Rugby World Cups.

The pressure will never be off New Zealand to win a Test match, let alone a World Cup tournament, but for possibly the first time ever the expectation is measured with realism that the All Blacks must earn the right to win this tournament through a series of performances within the tournament.

Australia, because of form and recent history, have the momentum and the Springboks, because of their World Cup history, will command respect. But the All Blacks have it all to do at the tournament because they have always done it in between tournaments.

South Africa, in Port Elizabeth, exposed New Zealand’s lack of Test quality depth in areas like tighthead prop, loose forward and flyhalf. Australia reinforced the view in Brisbane, especially the ability of flanker Adam Thomson who has never been good enough to make an impact for the All Blacks.

Reds coach Ewe McKenzie was annoyed on the eve of this year’s Super Rugby final in Brisbane when the bookmakers and media made the Crusaders favorites to win comfortably.

‘How?’ asked McKenzie before reminding people his players were the favorites because of form, home ground advantage and confidence taken from beating the Saders earlier in the season?

The same logic was applied to Saturday’s result. Why was home ground advantage and the Wallabies win in South Africa against a full-strength Bok team so easily dismissed when making the All Blacks favorites?

New Zealand are not as good as everyone thinks and Australia and South Africa are better than everyone thinks.

Australia’s win in Brisbane was not a shock but a reminder of the strengths of one team and the mortality of another whose players looked more like bemused penguins in the first 40 minutes than potential World Cup winners.

791 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] Show All

• 751.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-746: What about all the taxpayer money that set him up for life? Surely he must have felt the need to plough something back before heading off to seek his fortune? I mean, what about the people?

• 752.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-747: Hello boet. Ja I look these days, but it’s hardly worth saying anything usually.

The dirty water is a little too dirty. No one is blameless really.

I miss yak skiing.

• 753.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-745:

Brilliant. You’ve been humiliated beyond belief just now and still you sit and try and divert attention from your lies :D

No shame. Just lies and hypocrisy. A fraud of corpus dimensions.

• 754.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ 745: no shame in your world clearly. No need to further engage a delusional mad man intoxicated with his own false greatness.

Hi Sodajoe, how is Minnesota?

• 755.ET.: Reply to this comment

No respectable black rolls with Nusas and at any white institution..

• 756.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-752: Ja, we still take the yaks off-piste every now and then. But it’s not the same anymore.

• 757.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-751:

Nah, it’s a lot easier to sit in Philly and watch everyone else do the hard bit.

• 758.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-754: Minnesota is beautiful at the moment. Lovely weather. Although we had a ton of rain, then extremely hot weather and now the mozzies make the Congo look quite tame.

from a sporting sport of view – everyone in Minnesota is kak, which puts them on a par with the Boks and Leeds, oh joy.

• 759.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-756: Maybe they have bad knees? They just don’r carve like they used to.

• 760.ET.: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-752:

Last time you were here Leeds started winning. Then you disappeared and they shot themselves in the feet again and again.

A weekly visit from you is needed for the graph to go up again.

• 761.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-757: He’s going to kak himself when he gets here and they tell him at the airport about the retrospective community service.

• 762.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-755: Philly Steak. My Leeds buddy. Stop already. You have nothing to prove and you are very smart.

• 763.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-760: Bloody Leeds. I knew it was going to go papgat. And it has. We will sit here knyping all season long.

• 764.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-759: I think it’s global warming to a certain degree. The slopes of the Matroosberg just don’t offer the full experience. Plus we’re getting cheap Chinese yaks these days. Don’t get me started on quality issues.

• 765.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-757: Hamish are you still stuck in the desert?

• 766.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-755:

Kinda lucky that you ain’t black or respectable I guess.

• 767.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Anyway, I must be off. Good night all.

• 768.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-764: Ja, bleddy hell. They don’t handle the ice like they used to.

They even made movie about penguins and all to rub the skaam in.

Bar One’s got to them. I am convinced – slegtes.

• 769.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-767: Bye bud. Hope the Cape is not too wet.

ha ha – first weather win I ever had on Keo.

• 770.ET.: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-763:

No it is far too early to give up already. It is all just a matter of negative circumstance of red and yellow cards and lots of own goals.

Just make a weekly hello appearance and all will be well again.

• 771.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-743:
    Soda, your ears must have been burning, Robzim and I were chatting tonight and decided we really missed your good humour, see you soon I hope.

• 772.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-761:

No probs, he’s got a pad in Putsonderwater.

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-765:

Howdy Joe. Long time no chat.

Still doing my stint in the backwaters I’m afraid, but fark, I can’t believe my luck at the next job I’ll hopefully be going to at the turn of the year. Don’t want to jinx it but it’s a choice of two by the looks of it. One back in SA, other one on a tourist hotspot in the Indian Ocean :D

• 773.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-763:

Yo

• 774.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-767:

Night boet.

• 775.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-773: Hello Pinky. Very long time.

• 776.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

150 – KEO – show some respect you fool.

• 777.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-772: Hamish. An Indian Island tourist hot spot sounds really great to me. Can you take family?

• 778.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-771: Hello Miss Wilcox. Long time. How is Cheltenham at the moment. How is the Welsh Cricket fan, looking forward to September 11′th. You better treat him very very well. Could be a bad day.

• 779.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Johannes Expatinus(hanneslom)-776: And you boet. Flok it, I think I last saw you in 2007. How’s Noord Karolinska?

• 780.Transformation: Reply to this comment

SCANS IN FOR NZ LOOSIES

Tuesday, 30 August 2011
    8.17 a.m.

The injury news isn’t great for
    the All Blacks as Kieran Read may
    miss the entire round robin
    stages of the World Cup while
    fellow loose forward Adam
    Thomson looks set to be
    unavailable for the tournament
    opener against Tonga.

Read and Thomson were both
    absent from the All Blacks’ official
    squad unveiling in Auckland on
    Monday as they received MRI scans in
    Christchurch on their return from Saturday
    night’s Tri Nations loss to Australia.

“Kieran has torn the ligament between the
    tibia and fibula at the front of his left ankle
    and while it’s still early days in his recovery,
    with aggressive rehabilitation we are
    aiming to have him available to play near
    the end of the round robin,” All Blacks
    doctor Deb Robinson said.

“Adam’s MRI scan shows some swelling
    around the inside of his elbow which
    should settle quickly.

“He also has some deep bruising to his
    upper arm and while it’s difficult to know
    how long that will take to settle, we are
    hoping he will be ready for selection for the
    All Blacks’ second round robin match
    against Japan.”

Both Read and Thomson will remain with
    the squad during their rehabilitation.
    The All Blacks assemble in Auckland on
    Friday ahead of their World Cup opener
    against Tonga at Eden Park on September 9.

• 781.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-777:

It’s a 5 year job mate, so it’d definitely be on the cards. Just a whisper at the moment so I’ll see how it goes. More likely I’ll be heading to SA for a year. Either way, not too fussed at the moment.

• 782.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-781: Hope it works out well. Sounds great.

• 783.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Any way good night ladies. See you through the window.

• 784.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cheers Soda

• 785.ET.: Reply to this comment

So the ravenous pack of hyenas have saunterd off to sleep but without a morsel of the lions’ kill despite all their trickery and distasteful ploys.

But as their frustrations irked them for so long now, they have indelibly left behind their collective ignorances and the distortions and lies.
    And these ignorances are appalling and highly revealing of a lack of an ability to rationalise even simple notions.

For example:
    “Anethetist. Not a real Doctor”
    Any such person in western civilised countries needs to be a holder of such degrees as an M.B.Ch.B. or M.D. or M.B.B.Ch. or any such like(depending on the country), in short, a bona fide medical degree and that means being a ” real doctor ” dealing with real patients (clinical).
    Too many fail to grasp that not all real doctors function clinically but devote
    themselves to medical science research with concomitant other functions.
    Anaesthetist are generally in it for the money that their clinical involvment garners them. They work with all types of surgeons in theatres.

I know of NO anaethetist that is involved in medical science research, period. Some may well be involved in clinical research but that will be for a pharmacological agency.

The distortions and lies do not bother me because they are simply not true. What should bother the pack though is the fact that they engage in that out of sheer desperation, so often , and daily , to the extent they begin to believe their own lies.
    It then becomes a means to an end, any end , and we all that end-result of that manner of attitude in apartheid S. Africa , and Germany also ,

I would be rather worried if I had such a pack mentality that results in a loss of my individuality, but too many are deficient and unable to stand on their own because of inherent weaknesses. So they group and think as a group ,come right or wrong

• 786.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-785:

should read “… and we all know that end-result … “

• 787.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-785: Liewe bliksem maar jou kop is vol kak.

• 788.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-787: When he says he works in a lab, what he means is he volunteers for pharmaceutical tests. Two decades of this and it’s bound to have an effect.

• 789.Mao Zedong: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-785: Just had a good chuckle reading your post. The ignorance level on this site is just unbelievable.

• 790.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

France will take down one of the SH teams – they are at their best when written off; SA can win, but not with Smit at the helm.

• 791.lmao: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-33:

“Australia vs South Africa World Cup final people. Remember who said it first :grin:

No sign of SA or Aus anywhere near the WC final. Hendrikp must be predicting the finalists of the 2411 RWC. ABs will have won all the other world cups in between now and then.

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.