Pool D latest – Botha to miss Wales clash

Keo.co.za brings you the latest World Cup news from Pool D.

Botha to miss Wales clash – Bakkies Botha is out of the Springboks’ first game against Wales with an Achilles injury and may struggle to be ready for the next group fixture against Fiji.

Botha has been confined to the gym since arriving in New Zealand, and reports from the Bok camp suggest that he will not be included in the side to play Wales, which will be announced on Friday. Vice captain Victor Matfield told reporters that Botha is unlikely to feature, and it would appear that Danie Rossouw is in line to start at No 4.

Meanwhile, Matfield is still nursing a hamstring injury and is hopeful of a full recovery. ‘We are working hard on rehabbing my hammy and will have a look at it on Friday but I believe I will be ready to play,’ he said.

Johann Muller will provide cover from the bench although Willem Alberts has also been used at lock at training this week.

Jean and co keep close eye on Roberts – Springbok inside centre Jean de Villiers says the Boks will aim to keep Jamie Roberts at bay on Sunday.

De Villiers believes that Wales’ attacks are based around their No 12.

‘He is a true quality and one of his team’s strong points,’ he said. ‘He’s one of the guys on who’s number they push to go forward or to tighten things up and we’ve known that since the Lions’ tour of two years ago.’

De Villiers said the Boks had studied the Welsh defence.

‘They mostly utilise the rush defence, but they have a couple of defensive structures at their disposal. The rugby league guys have brought in their structure to the defences. Previously, the attacks were structured, but only recently did the defences also become better analysed.’

Namibia make seven changes – Namibia coach Johan Diergaardt has made seven changes from the line-up which lost to Georgia in the European Nations Cup. Namibia will tackle Fiji in their opening Pool D match.

Meanwhile, Fiji coach Sam Domoni has named a powerful line-up for the this encounter.

Namibia – Chrysander Botha, Danie Dames, Danie Van Wyk, Piet Van Zyl, Conrad Marais, Theuns Kotze, Eugene Jantjies; Jacques Niewenhuis, Jacques Burger (c), Tinus du Plessis, Nico Esterhuyse, Heinz Koll, Raoul Larson, Hugo Horn, Johnnie Redelinghuys.
Subs: Bertus O’Callaghan, Jane Du Toit, Pieter Jan van Lill, Rohan Kitshoff, Ryan De La Harpe, Darryl De La Harpe, Llewellyn Winkler.

Fiji – 15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Vereniki Goneva, 13 Gaby Lovobalavu, 12 Seremaia Bai, 11 Naipolioni Nalaga, 10 Waisea Sedre Luveniyali, 9 Nemia Kenatale, 8 Netani Edward Talei, 7 Mala Ravulo, 6 Dominiko Maiwiriwiri Waqaniburotu, 5 Wame Lewaravu, 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Deacon Manu (c), 2 Viliame Veikoso, 1 Campese Ma’afu.
Subs: 16. Sunia Koto, 17. Waisea Nailago, 18. Seko Kalou, 19. Akapusi Qera, 20. Vitori Tomu Buatava, 21. Albert James Vulivuli, 22. Iliesa Lomani Rakuka Keresoni