KeoTV: Boks to slay Dragons
8 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE says the defending champions will kick off their 2011 World Cup campaign with a comfortable win.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article19 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article8 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE says the defending champions will kick off their 2011 World Cup campaign with a comfortable win.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

192 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
8 Sep 2011, 20:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-145: well, a Bokke loss would then set up the possibility of an Ab vs Bokke final, so would not be too bad a thing imo… it could also mean one side of the draw would be a veritable minefield, imagine Eng, Aus, Sa and NZ/France on the same side of the draw after the pool stages….
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-146: real dumb of him… I understand he has to show faith in his side, but adding fuel to the oppositions fire isnt the way to do so..
8 Sep 2011, 21:00 pm
@RL(RL)-92:
I certainly hope BaXXies isnt out.
Its always easier playing against 14 men.
8 Sep 2011, 21:02 pm
I just love it when Puma gets excited
8 Sep 2011, 21:03 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-150: We will then give Samoa an afkak opvok like they have never coming as a consequence… It will then be word wakker finals rugby all the way… because they will have to from then on… with no passengers afforded!
8 Sep 2011, 21:04 pm
Stupid Supersport schmucks messed up the team announcement … did’t get the squad!!!
Idiots.
8 Sep 2011, 21:05 pm
5/2 split on the bench
3 fatties on the bench
*** …. big mistake
8 Sep 2011, 21:07 pm
Divvy is talking kak.
8 Sep 2011, 21:07 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-151: If NZ are on their “correct side” – i.e. the one they are expected then undercooked in the final?
Counter intuitive, yes but consider:
Scots/Arg quarters
Then Wales/Ire Semi… Sheezus – both Wales and Ire will be farked by the time they meet ABs
The other side of the draw will be naturals selection – survival of the fittest, and the survivor will be one gnarled, tough team by then…
Could be interesting.
8 Sep 2011, 21:08 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-152: Plod said that they will give it a few days … but he is out.
8 Sep 2011, 21:09 pm
Is no one going to tease Keo about his ‘advertising’…”You can place a bet with Marshall’s”
Tomorrow it might be “Get your shorts whiter than white with new improved Daz washing powder”
8 Sep 2011, 21:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-158: two sides to that coin though, teams on the harder side may just use to much petrol in getting to the final…
regardless, I truly think whoever wins the thing will have to really earn it…
8 Sep 2011, 21:18 pm
@carol(carol)-160: dont you mean getting your black shirts cleaner with daz washing powder? just saying
8 Sep 2011, 21:18 pm
Butch and Hougie are on the bench with the 3 fatties.
8 Sep 2011, 21:19 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-161: All World Cups are truly earned, as you well know…
This World Cup will be no different.
8 Sep 2011, 21:19 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-161: did you hear the good news BaXXies is out … now we can get a real enforcer in
8 Sep 2011, 21:21 pm
@RL(RL)-163: I thought the announcement was only at 10pm, has the squad already been announced?
8 Sep 2011, 21:24 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-166: Nope the “live” announcement was at 9pm on Boots & All … Supersport joined late!
I only got the bench announncement
They will replay it at 09:30
8 Sep 2011, 21:28 pm
Here is the team folks … official
1 Beast
2 Smit
3Jannie
4 Danie
5 Victor
6 Brossow
7Burger
8 Spies
9 FdP
10 M. Steyn
11 Habana
12 JdV
13 Mossie
14 JPP
15 F.Steyn
Bissy, CJ, Guthro, Muller, Alberts, James, Hougie
8 Sep 2011, 21:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164:
@RL(RL)-165: thats bad news, I want the Bokke to be at full strength if we meet them in the semi-final..
8 Sep 2011, 21:30 pm
@RL(RL)-168: very predictable side… wonder how Schalk will go not having played for a while…
8 Sep 2011, 21:31 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-169: It’s great news – Bakkies has been poor all year and only got into the squad cause he is one of the fat boys
8 Sep 2011, 21:39 pm
@RL(RL)-171: Would agree that he hasn’t been the enforcer he was in the past however a WC could have been just the platform to get him back to that level. Its all about the squad and not individuals though and hopefully the 3 wise man have thought about the impact of various “risk” scenarios such as this on their game plan.
8 Sep 2011, 21:39 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-170: he should be fine Pops. AND good evening(our time). Still backing out on that drink in Auckland?
8 Sep 2011, 21:41 pm
expect a bit of ‘rust’. The Taffs will come out firing for sure. I do expect the Boks to take it but it wont be a stroll in the park some want us to believe.
8 Sep 2011, 21:47 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-162:
8 Sep 2011, 21:52 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-173: hey Tassies, mate, Ive told you my timetable, if youre not going to show up theres not much I can do now is there?
I guess it means you wont be able to claim the bounty on my head though…
8 Sep 2011, 23:30 pm
Just purchased two A tickets for the game on Sunday… I’ll be supporting the boks (cos I want to see an AB v Bok semi final) and my wife will be supporting Wales (something to do with the lovely friendly welsh supporters she met at a game at Millenium Stadium…. ugh). I am excited, this will be the game of the round – possibly of all the pool matches.
8 Sep 2011, 23:33 pm
Can’t wait to Sunday! The stadium had better have sorted out its sh*t sound system that made such a mess of the Bok anthem last month….
8 Sep 2011, 23:40 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-177: enjoy mate.
8 Sep 2011, 23:46 pm
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-179: It’s gonna be awesome, even if my wife won’t be speaking to me after her adopted Welsh boyo’s get their ars@s handed to them
8 Sep 2011, 23:53 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-180: it might be a very long wc for her then as those island boys will definitely smell blood after sunday and will be going out to totally slay the welsh dragon once and for all.
9 Sep 2011, 00:00 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-181: Yes, I hope so! Although she supports the AB’s, she tends to support the under dog as well, so cheers when the AB’s get a try scored against them…. there must be a law against that!
9 Sep 2011, 00:10 am
Hey all. Have been lurking on this site for some time and have decided that, with the World Cup, it’s time to participate (yeah yeah, call me a troll). Grateful if someone could explain why South Africans always cheer when Bryan Habana gets the ball. After all, he hasn’t scored an international try in over 2 years (obviously, the tries against Italy don’t count) . . .
9 Sep 2011, 00:13 am
@Sweet Nubbins(Sweet Nubbins)-183: Once Habs gets his confidence back he will be back to his try scoring ways. I think the Bok supporters cheer him on to build his confidence???
9 Sep 2011, 00:16 am
Or clap because he for once managed to be onside and actually capture the ball instead of handing try-scoring opportunities to the opposition with his dumb obsession with intercepts?
9 Sep 2011, 00:27 am
@Sweet Nubbins(Sweet Nubbins)-185: Habana is legend… simple.
Saffas might slag him off or moan about him from time to time, but when the real crunch comes most would rather have him there than almost any other 11 on the planet…
Its not just his scoring that counts ( which is also adversely affected by Dippy Divs tactics) its his wokrate especially his cross cover defence – none better. He also tackles better than most centres because way back when, he was a pretty good one…
Capiche?
9 Sep 2011, 01:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-186: I agree. I’d much rather face the Boks in a semi-final without Habs. Although he is out of form, he could still pull off a 14 point intercept when the AB’s are hot on attack, and put the game out of our reach.
Still, it must be a concern for the Boks that so many of their players are out of form, or coming back from injury. They are leaving a lot to fate…..
9 Sep 2011, 01:07 am
So the self same Mark Keohane that tells the rugby public in South Africa to “grow up” following the delightfully humorous “moer hulle” send off, refers to a voilent terrorist atrocity as a reference to Sundays game
Nice one, keo. Your hypocrisy and shallowness know no bounds.
9 Sep 2011, 01:09 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-187: I must say, my main concern with Habana is form. Appreciate he is still young by most standards but I do wonder whether the Boks should’ve been more focused in the past few years of developing some new talent. We shall soon see.
9 Sep 2011, 02:39 am
@Sweet Nubbins(Sweet Nubbins)-189: As long as he doesn’t find form prior to the end of a semi’final or final against the AB’s, I will be happy
9 Sep 2011, 03:04 am
Good luck to all teams at the RWC, its both a pleasure and an honor to be the host, the atmosphere is superb, many cars with all teams flags, banners, you name, most people here are embracing this event thats about to start
About to head down to the waterfront for some serious celebrations n stuff!
Picking Samoa to shake a few sides, and might squeeze into the quarters ahead of Wales, with SA topping that group
Also picking England to snuff out Aus in their potential semi
and like most kiwis, lets hope we can get the gorilla off our back….
Kia Kaha!
9 Sep 2011, 09:22 am
FOK this better not be some ultimate KKOD!!!!!!
“Keo Kiss of Death”
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All