Pool D latest – Burger back for Boks

Keo.co.za brings you the latest World Cup news from Pool D.

Burger back for Boks – Schalk Burger will start his first Test in 2011 when he faces Wales in the Pool D opener on Sunday.

Burger is named in a new-look loose trio that includes Heinrich Brüssow and Pierre Spies. As reported earlier in the week, Bakkies Botha is unavailable due to an Achilles injury and is replaced by Danie Rossouw in the second row.

Coach Peter de Villiers has opted for experience by naming as many as nine players that started in the 2007 World Cup final in the run-on side. He has gone the conservative route by handing Morne Steyn the No 10 jersey, and the fact that he’s picked five forwards on the bench sends a message to the Welsh. The Boks aren’t going to be playing expansive rugby in Wellington.

Frans Steyn, who injured his hamstring in the Tri-Nations Test in Durban, returns to replace Pat Lambie at fullback.

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 CJ Van der Linde, 19 Johann Muller, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Butch James.

Priestland to start at pivot - Rhys Priestland will play at No 10 in Wales’ crucial Pool D clash against South Africa on Sunday.

James Hook is down to start at fullback, and will form part of a back three that includes the imposing George North and the elusive Shane Williams.

Unlike South Africa, Wales have opted for a more conventional 4-3 split on the bench.

Wales – 15 James Hook, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Paul James.
Subs: 16 Lloyd Burns, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Bradley Davies, 19 Andy Powell, 20 Tavis Knoyle, 21 Scot Williams , 22 Leigh Halfpenny.