Pool D latest – Burger back for Boks
8 Sep 2011
Keo.co.za brings you the latest World Cup news from Pool D.
Burger back for Boks – Schalk Burger will start his first Test in 2011 when he faces Wales in the Pool D opener on Sunday.
Burger is named in a new-look loose trio that includes Heinrich Brüssow and Pierre Spies. As reported earlier in the week, Bakkies Botha is unavailable due to an Achilles injury and is replaced by Danie Rossouw in the second row.
Coach Peter de Villiers has opted for experience by naming as many as nine players that started in the 2007 World Cup final in the run-on side. He has gone the conservative route by handing Morne Steyn the No 10 jersey, and the fact that he’s picked five forwards on the bench sends a message to the Welsh. The Boks aren’t going to be playing expansive rugby in Wellington.
Frans Steyn, who injured his hamstring in the Tri-Nations Test in Durban, returns to replace Pat Lambie at fullback.
Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 CJ Van der Linde, 19 Johann Muller, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Butch James.
Priestland to start at pivot - Rhys Priestland will play at No 10 in Wales’ crucial Pool D clash against South Africa on Sunday.
James Hook is down to start at fullback, and will form part of a back three that includes the imposing George North and the elusive Shane Williams.
Unlike South Africa, Wales have opted for a more conventional 4-3 split on the bench.
Wales – 15 James Hook, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Paul James.
Subs: 16 Lloyd Burns, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Bradley Davies, 19 Andy Powell, 20 Tavis Knoyle, 21 Scot Williams , 22 Leigh Halfpenny.

139 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
9 Sep 2011, 08:19 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-92: Nope I dont see Horwill or McCaw lifting the trophy. It will either be Smit, Moody or Dusatoir.
9 Sep 2011, 08:23 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-68: You know England whipped Aussie at Twickenham about a year ago?
9 Sep 2011, 08:25 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-98:
yeah… if you want a definition of giving it your all… all the time…
Schalk is it…!
@rangerman(rangerman)-97:
aa laaak it… aa laaak it a lot!!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:26 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-101:
It will be Smit!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:29 am
@ufo(ufo)-103:
a lot of us have called for schalk at 7 for ages but it is only due to the unfortunate injury to juan that makes it possible.
would still prefer juan there but this loose triop has speed and two ruck legends so we may see something frightening if they click.
9 Sep 2011, 08:30 am
who are the 11 morons who picked Wales to win by 15+?
Probably Skop and and the other people in his head.
9 Sep 2011, 08:36 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-106:
9 Sep 2011, 08:36 am
one of them was grant10 i am sure.
he is still sulking and trying to wipe the crayfish smears off his bok jersey lmao!
9 Sep 2011, 08:38 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-105:
quite right bud…
if juan was not injured i would’ve gone with heinrich at 6, schalk at 7 and juan at 8 where he played a lot of his early rugby for the states…
9 Sep 2011, 08:39 am
hey chaps ..
where is the best place to watch an internet feed of the NZ game?
any good sites?
9 Sep 2011, 08:40 am
@ufo(ufo)-109: juan at 8?
interesting idea.
@dr dre(dr dre)-110: sorry bud, cant help.
9 Sep 2011, 08:40 am
@ufo(ufo)-109:
actually posted that as well a while ago…
also said i would rather have started with willem at 8 instead of pierre…
but hey… pierre’s been picked so will get behind him 200% and hope his form of late shows a prolonged upwards spiral…!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:41 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111: no probs … stuck in the office and would love to watch the game!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:42 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-111:
yeah.. right now, all fit and available…? i believe heinrich, schalk and juan are musts and as juan has more first class experience at 8 would use him there… he was a huge loss for us…
9 Sep 2011, 08:43 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-108: Where is he btw?
9 Sep 2011, 08:43 am
@dr dre(dr dre)-113:
me too… asked the same question in the other thread…
9 Sep 2011, 08:44 am
@dr dre(dr dre)-110: do you have DSTV at home? If so, log into supersport.com and have your smartcard number, then can watch streaming.
9 Sep 2011, 08:45 am
i just don’t understand it at a time like this south africans who don’t get behind our team…
seriously… i really just don’t understand it…!
9 Sep 2011, 08:46 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-117:
serious…?
great stuff … will do right now… i owe you a couple of windhoeks..!!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:47 am
@ufo(ufo)-109: He also played at 8 for the Boks at the 2003 RWC!
9 Sep 2011, 08:48 am
@dr dre(dr dre)-113: stormersboy suggested this link http://kostatz.webs.com/
personally i am gonna get a drifta.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-115: no idea but he said he wasnt interested in the rugby if smitty was gonna be there.
whatta LOOOOOOOOSER!
9 Sep 2011, 08:49 am
@ufo(ufo)-118: indeed.
9 Sep 2011, 08:49 am
@ufo(ufo)-116: plz lemme know if you find one … i am going to mail a friend now .. will let you know if i come right
9 Sep 2011, 08:51 am
@ufo(ufo)-119: yip. My bloody connection is too slow here in Zambia to stream properly so I have to do the unthinkable and go have a pub breakfast
9 Sep 2011, 08:52 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-121: shot.
9 Sep 2011, 08:53 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-124: ag shame man
9 Sep 2011, 08:54 am
@dr dre(dr dre)-125: pleasure man, hope it works for you.
9 Sep 2011, 08:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-121: Yoh talk about cutting off your nose to spite your face.
9 Sep 2011, 08:56 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-120:
yes he did…
@trupisero(trupisero)-122:
@trupisero(trupisero)-124:
have registered on supersport site… waiting for the fun and games to start…!!
9 Sep 2011, 08:56 am
right, off to the pub. Catch later chaps.
9 Sep 2011, 08:58 am
Anyone know anything about this lightie?
“Wales coach Warren Gatland springs Rhys Priestland surprise for South Africa clash”
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/international/wales/8751507/Rugby-World-Cup-2011-Wales-coach-Warren-Gatland-springs-Rhys-Priestland-surprise-for-South-Africa-clash.html
9 Sep 2011, 09:01 am
9 Sep 2011, 09:02 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-128: big time.
and if we win it he will feel like a proper ****.
oh ja, looks like darren isnt there?
ash, neil andrews and carlos.
oh well, moving along.
9 Sep 2011, 09:03 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-130:
enjoy bud… later
9 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-133: Who is Carlos?
9 Sep 2011, 09:18 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-135: king carlos spencer.
9 Sep 2011, 09:21 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-136: oh cool they got the jackal to lend his expertise.
9 Sep 2011, 10:48 am
Brussow is the best Bok by a loooong stretch, we need to sub him to keep him going for the whole tourney. Bring on Flo and Biz at 50mins and they will combine well.
I would have started Alberts before Shalk but lets see how he goes … Smit better bring his f….. A game, we are missing BB so some cleaning out is required.
Juan, BB, Bekker these guys alone are a massive hole to fill.
9 Sep 2011, 12:29 pm
Schalk is a freak! He came back from a neck fracture, a thumb fracture will only piss him off, go Schalk, show those poor Welsh boys a prequel to the nightmares they will have for the next 6 weeks!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All