Back Bismarck, axe Morne
12 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Springboks have to change who starts and how they play if they want to defend their World Cup title.
Forget the old cliché that this was a character builder for the Boks. This team of champions has enough character and they’ve been through enough scraps in the last eight years to never want to endure another 80 minutes like Sunday’s in Wellington.
The Springboks don’t need more exposure to character-building situations in this World Cup and the head-coaching trio, out of their depth for the last four years, surely don’t need another match to know that the best XV has to start every game in this tournament and that includes Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and excludes Morne Steyn at flyhalf.
The Welsh goal-kicking implosion in the last few minutes means there can be calm in the Bok camp and not the hysteria that would have followed defeat.
There can be perspective and not national persecution. There can be reflection and not condemnation.
Wales flyhalf Rhys Priestland missed a drop goal from smack bang in front with five minutes to play and fullback James Hook fluffed the chance to win the match with an angled 35m penalty three minutes from the end. Had either of those two kicks gone over the mood in the Bok camp and the emotion among the South African rugby public would have been a lot different than it is this morning.
I keep on writing about the honesty needed within our rugby and within the Bok squad. It has never been more appropriate than this morning. Forget patriotism for a moment and focus on pragmatism. The patriotism at this tournament belongs to New Zealand. The Boks need something more tangible to defend the title won four years ago.
The Boks remain one of three teams who can win this tournament. Australia put down the biggest marker in the first weekend and New Zealand’s home ground advantage remains their biggest asset because they are limited as a team and the great among them merely balance out the many mediocre All Blacks playing for a first World Cup win in 24 years.
But for the Boks to move on from the Houdini escape in Wellington there has to be an acknowledgement of what works and what doesn’t. There has to be criticism from within that is not interpreted as a negative but rather is applauded as a positive. To win here the Boks have to change who starts and how they play. Wales gave every South African the most timely reminder that what worked in 2007 won’t be good enough to beat one of Australia or New Zealand in a play-off.
The Boks next nervous 80 minutes will be a probable quarter-final against Ireland and the examination will be as demanding as those questions asked by the Welsh.
Samoa, in the pool match-up, won’t challenge the Boks because they don’t have the game or the composure to win ugly against a side as experienced or powerful as South Africa.
Wales were outstanding. Let’s start there. Welsh coach Warren Gatland tactically got everything right against the Boks. They kept the ball, kept it close, used the powerful Jamie Roberts to run at Morne Steyn all match and played the field percentages almost to perfection.
Welsh captain and specialist fetcher Sam Warburton was colossal. He played with the precision and irritation of a young Richie McCaw and starved the Boks of ball. He deserved to lead a historic triumph in Wellington.
Wales had 60% of territory and possession, conceded just five penalties – only one of them kickable – and poached three South African lineouts.
Yet they still lost because it is not in their DNA to beat the Springboks, and when the biggest moments of the game came their players did not have the nerve, the conviction and the courage in decision making to win it. Wales were in unfamiliar territory against the Boks and the match they talked of all week they couldn’t quite play out according to script.
Aside from Australia – and possibly New Zealand – this Welsh effort would have beaten every team at this tournament, but that will be small comfort to Gatland and Warburton.
The Boks, beaten on the ground, in the air, in the tackle and in the collision, were never beaten in their minds – and the belief that they could conjure up seven points, almost at will, never deserted them.
The opening try to the impressive Frans Steyn was vintage Boks, but what proved to be the match winner from Francois Hougaard in the 65th minute showed the qualities of a champion who has been there before and delivered.
South Africa always had the one punch to strike from anywhere that was more threatening than the collective build-up of so many impressive Welsh attacks.
Bismarck du Plessis was monumental in the final quarter, Hougaard was inspirational and Willem Alberts was destructive. Not so those they replaced.

598 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
12 Sep 2011, 10:02 am
pick the right dragons!
12 Sep 2011, 10:06 am
and that’s your insight first up lol
12 Sep 2011, 10:08 am
” They kept the ball, kept it close, used the powerful Jamie Roberts to run at Morne Steyn all match”
Why didn’t Rassie move F. Steyn into the flyhalf channel when we we were on defence to confront Roberts head on. Why do we have this technical consultant who cannot make technical switches when the heat is on?
12 Sep 2011, 10:09 am
Very fair point Keo, but to be fair, our players (almost al) are not as well conditioned as what they should be, our game plan is not brilliant at the moment, and we were very lucky to pull the win.
We need to pick the right players, yes, but our forwards need to stop taking the ball 2-3m behind every ruck/maul. We need to rather pick and go directly from the bottom of rucks & mauls, and suck in the defense before we run the ball.
I also hope that this game shows that Morne will only be effective when our forwards dominate. Without Bakkies & Juan Smith starting, we are battling to dominate up front.
keo – I think your very wrong Morne Steyn played rather well. He even got the backline running. Anyway Butch will be playing 12 now while JDV is getting better.
Pier Speis is the biggest worry as was he usual paff self!!
@3,
You do not weaken a position to strengthen another…that approach has limitations.
Rather pick a 10 who can defend
12 Sep 2011, 10:10 am
i dont think smitty was bad at all and i think the impact of bizness was timed perfectly.
losing vic and bakkies has obviously diluted our line out.
but spies can catch a short ride to the bench as can habana.
if jdv is out, frans to 12, gio or lambie to 15.
steyn?
eish, tough one but why have a percentage goalkicker in the team if you arent going to play the game in the oppositions half?
pointless imo and the samoans will stomp his head in as they run over him.
I would love to see the following back line
9 FDP
10 Butch
11 Hougard
12 Lambie
13 Fourie
14 Pietersen (with a kick in the pants to work harder off the ball)
15 Steyn
It’s almost as if Rassie was hoping that Morne would be trampled into the dirt for good, just to get rid of him … if that was the plan then Rassie you are indeed a genius.
12 Sep 2011, 10:11 am
My post number 8 is for Fiji of course
12 Sep 2011, 10:11 am
@9, non of our coaching staff are that smart and have that ind of foresight!
12 Sep 2011, 10:12 am
i have to disagree…
the world cup will be won by kicks… we need morne steyn there… sure he didn’t have his best game… but won’t play as badly again…
i would still start with smit… i’ve said that bismarck has the most impact on a game off the bench… and quite frankly… think he proved just that on sunday…
12 Sep 2011, 10:12 am
Axe Morne when he was the only kicker to get all his kicks in the opening games while the rest all showed their limitations. What would of happened had Butch been selected, failed to fire the backline (due to the backline not actually being coached…Muir..) and Butch then going on to miss the hard kicks Morne got. A loss.
Butch can start against the Island teams, however. But Morne on bench.
12 Sep 2011, 10:13 am
@12 – Agree with Smit
disagree with Steyn
12 Sep 2011, 10:13 am
why did we play such beautiful ball in hand rugby for the first 5 mins, score a try and then hoof possession away for the next 60 mins?
wtf?
12 Sep 2011, 10:14 am
Morne’s a rock-steady bet — one who will NEVER ever get carded for dodgy tackling and one whose general midrange goalkicking boot has no equal on earth, So, he can’t tackle like Carter or Cooper or Butch… hey, Naas couldn’t tackle either!
Bismarck is better than Smit — no doubt. But only as a hooker and an extra loosie. He’s a truly dreadful lineout thrower and he has a wose “card-me” hotheaded temperament. than James Dalton.
12 Sep 2011, 10:15 am
SA’s problems started up front, with the exception of Burger the forward ball-carriers struggled to get over the gainline. That all changed when Bismarck and Alberts came on. Until then the backs were working with awful slow ball.
@15 –
We started to defend the lead! Muhahahahahaa
Bullet /RL – Are you guys mental. We need Morne Steyn on that pitch even just for kicking. Now that Du Preez is back to his best he will be able to take the play making off Morne Steyn more and more. Besides it was evident that Morne Steyn plays better when Du Preez is on the pitch!!!
Morne Steyn has got big match temperament when it come to kicking. If it was Morne Steyn taking that last gasp kick that Hook took, M Steyn would have slotted it!! THus winning the game!!!
12 Sep 2011, 10:16 am
butch was lucky to not get pinged a few times… a less level-headed ref than barnes would have pinged him at least twice for high no-arms tackles…
he must be careful…
12 Sep 2011, 10:16 am
“Australia put down the biggest marker in the first weekend”
I beg to differ. They were mauled in the scrums and the score at half time was 6-6. If they come up against England in the quarters or semi’s England will scrum them into the ground and take advantage of the dominance. Italy had them at the scrum but could not turn that into points. A team like England will put the Aussies away.
12 Sep 2011, 10:17 am
look, people can talk about steyns kicking all they like but seriously chaps, how many times can morne be flattened by runners like roberts and also not find touch with clearance kicks before we realise that he was a liability?
thanks for all the penalties morne but you are the weakest link, goodbye.
12 Sep 2011, 10:17 am
Keo,
Rather than focus on personnel we should instead look at the game plan/strategy.
Fourie D, Morne and even Vic were poor on Sunday. Whilst I accept that they are older and undercooked, I believe the biggest reason for their (and others) general cra+pness is the lack of a coherent and workable game plan.
Bring on Bismark and perhaps Butch but you still wont see the step change performance required to win a wc
12 Sep 2011, 10:19 am
Tac – Atleast some here sees Morne Steyns worth!
12 Sep 2011, 10:20 am
@19 – While I agree with you that Morne’s kicking is needed, I am concerned about his defensive frailties.
He was badly exposed by Roberts!
12 Sep 2011, 10:20 am
@BULLET(BULLET)-18:
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-17: not for the first 5 mins biggie, but ja after that we were useless.
big units like beast and roussouw need to do a bit more.
@race of tan(race of tan)-19: du preez back to his best?
BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! the oke was k ukker than kuk.
12 Sep 2011, 10:21 am
WHAT is so difficult about alternating the two Steyns – Morne on our ball and Frans on theirs and depending on filed position, WHAT???
And people are on about Smit/Bismarck – who even noticed the Welsh hooker on knows his name? A far more pressing issue, to my mind at least, is what a liability Pierre Spies was in this match – when are we going to learn???
For the rest, yes we had some luck – but showed lots of balls to scrape through, so thank you Bokke!
12 Sep 2011, 10:21 am
@24 – I agree that Morne kicking is massively important.
I worry that Roberts has shown the way for all the new teams to play against us.It will be interresting to see if Fiji follow the Welsh approach.
12 Sep 2011, 10:22 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-16: and you’re a d00s
12 Sep 2011, 10:22 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-19: FDup is back to his best???
ok mate sorry but that is damn funny
12 Sep 2011, 10:23 am
Start with Bissie, Alberts, Hougaard and Butch. And replace de Villiers with de Jong, Matfield with Muller.
The chance of this happening… probably pretty slim.
12 Sep 2011, 10:23 am
BULLET – Jamie Roberts is a bit of a monster however!! Isnt our loosies meant ot protect Morne Steyn?
What did you think of PriestLands play? I thought that youngster had the game of his life, has massive BMT!!
12 Sep 2011, 10:24 am
sorry Keo, I’m too busy for meaningful insights today.
However, as much as I would love to see Steyn on the bench instead, that horse has bolted. His goal kicking is immaculate but he offers nothing further in attack or defence.
Bismarck HAS to start – I’m a big Smittie fan but Bismarck brings an extra dimension to our pack, and Spies doesn’t deserve to be there either.
Morne “the Gate” Steyn cause that’s what his channel was.
@Train(Train)-23: well it looked like there was a gameplane to me.
skoppie ****** ding!
so stupid, so frustrating and so badly executed.
12 Sep 2011, 10:25 am
I see everyone is forgetting Juan de Jongh is in the squad. Why put him in place of JDV at 12??
12 Sep 2011, 10:26 am
Poor start but a win is a win. Wel all know it was going to be a hard one. We don’t even have to go back to the drawing board because the coaching stuff now what to do. But will they do it ? Why leave the best of the best on the bench ? Play your best 15 , what’s so difficult in doing so ? Why do this coach have to rely on a player that haven’t stand out this season. It’s not going to be easy if we stick to the same old players that’s not up to standard. I hope the coaching stuff will open there eyes.
12 Sep 2011, 10:26 am
one very simple solution to all the woes.
Park John Smit how more complicated you wanna make the connundrum? Had Boks started Bismark at 2, Alberts at B and Hougaard at 9 with Butch at 10 NONE and Zero soul searching would be on the menu this morning. Very simple solution for a seeming complex equation. Wales would simply NOT have gained any foothold in that game. How f’ng complicated can it possibly be?
12 Sep 2011, 10:27 am
Rangerman – The Boks won that game in second gear!! THe Welsh were in 5th. The Boks were alos able to switch it on when they needed. Hougie scored a great try, i wonder if Habs would have used the blindside like that?
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-36: why indeed. When he starts learning that its OK to pass the ball every now and again, then maybe.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-36:
“Why not put him in place of JDV at 12??”
one reads on blogs and the press how we have to have MOrne no matter what??
The reason the Welsh stayed streong against us was very clear
All they did was run at the 10 channel all match long, there they could get through without a problem
that gave them easy passage to the front foot
Now one thing is for sure, the Fijians will also run at that channel, and they will run harder then the Welsh, Also poor and maybe even more so was FDup , his kicking out of hand was rubbish to say the least,against the Fijians we cannot afford to give them cheap ball
12 Sep 2011, 10:28 am
“New Zealand’s home ground advantage remains their biggest asset because they are limited as a team and the great among them merely balance out the many mediocre All Blacks playing for a first World Cup win in 24 years.:
Lol!!!!!!!!
12 Sep 2011, 10:28 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-36: Agreed!
12 Sep 2011, 10:29 am
@ufo(ufo)-12: “sure he didn’t have his best game… but won’t play as badly again” – how do you know this?
12 Sep 2011, 10:29 am
funny thing is we will hear tac and a few others saying “spies didnt have the chance to run around like an olympic hurdler because his forwards werent dominant etc etc”.
but then why could alberts run through the welsh and go over the advantage line when he came on?
because alberts is not a muscle bound soft co ck i suppose.
oh how i wish kanko had been give even 20% of the opportunities this overrated showpony has been given over the last 4 years!
12 Sep 2011, 10:30 am
@Boom15(Boom15)-34: Naas “the gate” Botha. Because that’s what his channel was. But he’s legendary as “Naasty Booter” — because that’s what he did supremely well.
if numbers 1-5 don’t do their work you can pick Tutu at 10 it won’t matter
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-16: rubbish, Plod messed up x2 lineout feeds against the dragons … so much for that theory about Plod being a better lineout thrower.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-17: indeed, Spies is no tight forward at all, the only time he carried the ball into contact was when Brussow pushed him … the Beast is also no tight forward, he likes to play a loose game, standing on the wing trying to play like some glory boy flank, drop him from the 22 and play Guthro who hit and cleared out more rucks in his 25min than Beast did all match.
Then there is Plod, a fat passenger of note who leaves the team playing with one man down actually he and Spies meant we were playing with a handicap of 2 forwards … and Matfield played with an injury so he was playing at 50% of his best.
It is a miracle that we won with 5 1/2 forwards on the park.
Can somebody tell me what Butch James adds to the team? I would rather play Lambie at 12. He and Morne can switch during the game. My team for Fiji
15.) Frans Steyn
14.) JP Pietersen
13.) Jacque Fourie
12.) Pat Lambie
11.) Francois Hougaard
10.) Morne Steyn
9.) Fourie du Preez
8.) Schalk Burger
7.) Willem Alberts
6.) Heinrich Brussouw
5.) Johan Muller
4.) Danie Rossouw
3.) Jannie Du Plessis
2.) Bismarck du Plessis
1.) Beast Mtawaria
16.) CJ van der Linde
17.) John Smit
18.) Francois Louw
19.) Pierre Spies
20.) Ruan Pienaar
21.) Butch James
22.) Juan de Jongh
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All