Back Bismarck, axe Morne
12 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Springboks have to change who starts and how they play if they want to defend their World Cup title.
Forget the old cliché that this was a character builder for the Boks. This team of champions has enough character and they’ve been through enough scraps in the last eight years to never want to endure another 80 minutes like Sunday’s in Wellington.
The Springboks don’t need more exposure to character-building situations in this World Cup and the head-coaching trio, out of their depth for the last four years, surely don’t need another match to know that the best XV has to start every game in this tournament and that includes Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and excludes Morne Steyn at flyhalf.
The Welsh goal-kicking implosion in the last few minutes means there can be calm in the Bok camp and not the hysteria that would have followed defeat.
There can be perspective and not national persecution. There can be reflection and not condemnation.
Wales flyhalf Rhys Priestland missed a drop goal from smack bang in front with five minutes to play and fullback James Hook fluffed the chance to win the match with an angled 35m penalty three minutes from the end. Had either of those two kicks gone over the mood in the Bok camp and the emotion among the South African rugby public would have been a lot different than it is this morning.
I keep on writing about the honesty needed within our rugby and within the Bok squad. It has never been more appropriate than this morning. Forget patriotism for a moment and focus on pragmatism. The patriotism at this tournament belongs to New Zealand. The Boks need something more tangible to defend the title won four years ago.
The Boks remain one of three teams who can win this tournament. Australia put down the biggest marker in the first weekend and New Zealand’s home ground advantage remains their biggest asset because they are limited as a team and the great among them merely balance out the many mediocre All Blacks playing for a first World Cup win in 24 years.
But for the Boks to move on from the Houdini escape in Wellington there has to be an acknowledgement of what works and what doesn’t. There has to be criticism from within that is not interpreted as a negative but rather is applauded as a positive. To win here the Boks have to change who starts and how they play. Wales gave every South African the most timely reminder that what worked in 2007 won’t be good enough to beat one of Australia or New Zealand in a play-off.
The Boks next nervous 80 minutes will be a probable quarter-final against Ireland and the examination will be as demanding as those questions asked by the Welsh.
Samoa, in the pool match-up, won’t challenge the Boks because they don’t have the game or the composure to win ugly against a side as experienced or powerful as South Africa.
Wales were outstanding. Let’s start there. Welsh coach Warren Gatland tactically got everything right against the Boks. They kept the ball, kept it close, used the powerful Jamie Roberts to run at Morne Steyn all match and played the field percentages almost to perfection.
Welsh captain and specialist fetcher Sam Warburton was colossal. He played with the precision and irritation of a young Richie McCaw and starved the Boks of ball. He deserved to lead a historic triumph in Wellington.
Wales had 60% of territory and possession, conceded just five penalties – only one of them kickable – and poached three South African lineouts.
Yet they still lost because it is not in their DNA to beat the Springboks, and when the biggest moments of the game came their players did not have the nerve, the conviction and the courage in decision making to win it. Wales were in unfamiliar territory against the Boks and the match they talked of all week they couldn’t quite play out according to script.
Aside from Australia – and possibly New Zealand – this Welsh effort would have beaten every team at this tournament, but that will be small comfort to Gatland and Warburton.
The Boks, beaten on the ground, in the air, in the tackle and in the collision, were never beaten in their minds – and the belief that they could conjure up seven points, almost at will, never deserted them.
The opening try to the impressive Frans Steyn was vintage Boks, but what proved to be the match winner from Francois Hougaard in the 65th minute showed the qualities of a champion who has been there before and delivered.
South Africa always had the one punch to strike from anywhere that was more threatening than the collective build-up of so many impressive Welsh attacks.
Bismarck du Plessis was monumental in the final quarter, Hougaard was inspirational and Willem Alberts was destructive. Not so those they replaced.

598 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
12 Sep 2011, 20:21 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-500: What is it that you said first?
12 Sep 2011, 20:22 pm
Man that Jacques Burger is fugly, hell are all Burgers as fugly as this Burger and Schalk?
12 Sep 2011, 20:23 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-91:
how many times did F.Steyn* get the Boks out of the doo-doo with his booming punt returns ? and yet you want to put him at 12 ?! And if the Boks keep inviting the opposition to keep attacking like they did vs Wales, who would you rather want as your last line of defence ?
(* Im missing the days of The Hoff already)
12 Sep 2011, 20:30 pm
KIWI TROLL ALERT!
12 Sep 2011, 20:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-101: Yebo! sense at last!
12 Sep 2011, 20:34 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-115: Same old – same old mond-drolle! When’re going to give up poepol!
12 Sep 2011, 20:45 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-501: referring to the title
12 Sep 2011, 20:46 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-503: kiwi troll, best you tell your convict cousins to prepare to be dumped out of the RWC by the dragons … you heard it here first … the dragons to moer the convicts.
12 Sep 2011, 20:53 pm
@RL(RL)-508:
A poll in NZ before the RWC asked which team most people did NOT want to win.
It wasnt your team, Ladies. It was Australia, by a considerable distance. And Engl next.
I know it works well for y’all to think Kiwis hate Safas as much as Safas hate Kiwis, but if the Taffs knock out the Convicts then you’ll hear the cheers in Capetown.
12 Sep 2011, 20:54 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-507: K. Gotcha.
12 Sep 2011, 21:00 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-509: actually troll you will find that Saffas would generally prefer to see NZ win an ordinary rugby match over Australia and England. You see, dislike for Australia and England is universal.
Nothing special there, raise your game troll.
12 Sep 2011, 21:01 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-503: Um, let’s see. He helped us to a World Cup title at 12. But I don’t expect you to understand what that means. You kind of had to be there.
12 Sep 2011, 21:02 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-509: CapeSaders and CapeCanes will light those fireworks and celebrate like it’s 1987 if the dragons knock the convicts, that’s a given.
12 Sep 2011, 21:03 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-511:
then why arent you directing your silly girly little comments at your countryman who raised the point, nanny-goat ?
12 Sep 2011, 21:05 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-514: because you’re a troll and they are not.
Get it?
Raise your game, troll.
12 Sep 2011, 21:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-512:
Um
I was ‘kinda there’, Katman.
In Paris.
In Stade de France.
Cheering your team to victory.
12 Sep 2011, 21:07 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-515:
gee
after all these years
Ive finally met my match.
The Spoon has stirred and now here comes the porridge.
………~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
12 Sep 2011, 21:08 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-514: now why you hating on girls now
You people are far too uptight… I recommend yoga… or chocolate
12 Sep 2011, 21:08 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-516: You know that’s not what I mean. You know exactly what I mean.
And besides, that doesn’t explain why you wouldn’t want to play him at his best position.
And, in case you haven’t seen him boot a ball, Aplon has a pretty decent punt himself.
12 Sep 2011, 21:09 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-517: LUCKY!!!!
12 Sep 2011, 21:09 pm
Whatsgoingonhere
12 Sep 2011, 21:10 pm
Check out Panty taking the high ground now…
As if.
12 Sep 2011, 21:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-521: callingpantyoutforbeingatrollandheiscallingmeagirlnothingnew.
12 Sep 2011, 21:15 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-509: don’t think that’s entirely accurate BP. It might be your version but on the ground here (under the mountain) there is considerable support and admiration for the Kiwis. From all quarters.
12 Sep 2011, 21:17 pm
damn and damn again. Running low on battery. Bad planning.
12 Sep 2011, 21:23 pm
and Spooner is right. Saffers will back the AB’s against Oz and Pom any day of any week. That’s pretty much guaranteed from the dyed in the wool Bok supporter, regardless of the underdog status of the latter two.
12 Sep 2011, 21:23 pm
Morgue time
12 Sep 2011, 21:24 pm
So we all in agreement then!
12 Sep 2011, 21:27 pm
So much for inspirational leadership. When our big inspiration was eventually replaced, the team immediately started to play truely inspired rugby. Suddenly aweful (Smit) became awesome (Bissie). Just think what would have happened if Bismarck, Willem Alberts (for Spies) and Hougaardt (for Du Preez) started the game. If Smit calls him self a true leader, he should do the honorable thing and retire immediately.
12 Sep 2011, 21:28 pm
I’d like to see Lambie start at 15 with Steyn moved to 12, against Fiji. Aplon on the bench and given a decent run of 20 mins. A 4:3 bench with either one of Habs or Hougardt to start and finish. We need to get some attacking moves under the belt.
Ag stuff it, there goes my power. Cheers oaks.
12 Sep 2011, 21:36 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-524: come on chaps, allow Panty to expose his persecution complex. saffas hate kiwis, that’s why you find 3000 member DEEP All Blacks supporters clubs and Transkeians like MPUNDULU who grew up in households where his mom would frown if he turned a Bok supporter
12 Sep 2011, 21:41 pm
I’d play Habana and Smit and Spies against Fiji and Samoa. I’d rather protect Hougaard and Biz by bringing them on for the last 30 min during the pool matches against the islands.
12 Sep 2011, 21:45 pm
@garth(garth)-532: oh. are u banking on one of those islanders doing the business that grant10 failed to do in durban.
12 Sep 2011, 21:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-531: Tell his mom to go for Botox and get over it.
12 Sep 2011, 21:50 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-519:
Ha – didnt see that one comin, did ya ?!
IMO (I still dont get the need for this, on a blog, however….), The Off (thats the Hoff with an H-cut) is, by far, SA’s best bet at 15. Massive defensive player, massive boot. If he’s at 12, you only get half his best attributes (defense) and then you have to endure his poor distribution.
Why would you want Aplon at 15 when the Bok gameplan is kick’n'chase and playing-for-territory ? He’s a good player, better suited for wing at Test level.
12 Sep 2011, 21:58 pm
@raven(raven)-506: poor ravenous imbecile keeps getting drawn to my posts like an iron filing to a magnet, or is it like a fly to a sh’theap.. what you so drawn to dumbass sounds like you need an education or some enlightenment to get you out the droll of a dwang you occupying … daily
you wouldn’t understand you either too young or else just too thick.. like those others that keep needing a smack to their overrated ego looks like yours might be up next
12 Sep 2011, 22:11 pm
So its eventually come around full circle.. even THE most ardent Smit, FdP and Spies hero worshipers are slowly but surely seeing the light… one little incy wincy step at a time… we wouldn’t want to blind them with too much sight all at once they might just faint with the full blast of the realization blowing their brains apart if they had to encompass all of that realization all at once… But it has slowly but surely dawned on them that had we NOT started with Smit, Spies and FdP on Saturday we might very well NOT have been so close to disaster at the 11th hour when the true saviors of the day and of the entire WC campaign.. Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard actually saved their overrated arses… and the rest of the nation to boot.
12 Sep 2011, 22:29 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-535:
Its kinda like kissing your sister when the Panther makes sense…. takes all the fun out of it
12 Sep 2011, 22:30 pm
From Jake white:
Jake White looks at the Boks’ win over Wales and says that type of performance won’t win them the World Cup.
Firstly, it was really hard watching the Springboks play after putting the core of that side together for four years and watching 17 of those players out there in what should be the pinnacle of their carreers.
To adapt Peter de Villiers’s quote after the Boks played Australia in Durban, the Boks lost this match everywhere except on the scoreboard. The scoreboard is all that counts after all, but the Boks shouldn’t be content with the way they won.
The main retort for the quality of the performance is that a ‘win is a win’, but we’ve got to understand what went wrong if we’re to have a decent shot at retaining the title. Winning is what it’s all about, but that showing in Wellington is not the benchmark for winning a World Cup.
Everyone is quick to compare the Boks now to 2007, but in our opening game we got the bonus point against Samoa and scored 60 points. On Sunday, the Boks were lucky to win by a point.
Without sounding like a case of sour grapes and everyone says it’s being negative, but we’ve gone backwards. For such great players to accept those sort of showings is also saddening. Whatever is meant to be will be, and while the win will build confidence, those players that have won the World Cup and who know what it takes to do it, will realise in their hearts that those types of performances won’t be good enough. No team wins a World Cup playing like that.
The impact the bench made was incredible, and that’s because it’s a very strong bench. Bismarck du Plessis and Francois Hougaard were unbelievable, while having the ability to call on Butch James – a World Cup-winning 10 – is not something many teams can do. But many have short memories, and while Hougaard was the hero, it could have been very different if his running from deep with Fourie du Preez late in the match had cost them, if Jame Hook had kicked over the penalty. That wasn’t very clever rugby from the Boks.
It was also strange why CJ van der Linde wasn’t used at all if it was so important to have a 5-2 split.
The bench did their job and while some have called for them to start, but if you swap it around, will you get the same impact from the other guys who started? The bench has long been a debate in rugby, and there are many pros and cons to it.
With regards to the injuries, the coaching staff will try keep Bakkies Botha there as long as possible. They’ll hope all the senior players recover for the knockouts and will play them as much as possible then.
I can’t see the Boks losing to any other sides in their pool, starting with Fiji on Saturday. The Pacific sides will push them, but don’t have too much to offer and the Boks should see them off. However, the way we’re playing, there’s a very real chance we could lose to Ireland in the quarters.
12 Sep 2011, 22:30 pm
@Bod(bod)-538:
Fortunately, it doesnt happen too often..
12 Sep 2011, 22:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-531: Lol
12 Sep 2011, 23:02 pm
Grant Ball, Keo’s ex-bum chum, on rugbyxv.co.za:
Ian Jones and Stuart Barnes offered some great insights and no-holds-barred analysis in their short stints on South African TV, as they do when on Sky New Zealand – informing the public and giving different opinions. But De Villiers and Saru apparently told SuperSport they’re not allowed to use the third member of the triumvirate, former coach Jake White, as an analyst
That the Bok coach decides who can and who can’t analyse the Boks’ sub-standard showings emphasises his insecurities and indicates why we have to listen to commentators and studio guests repeatedly blame refereeing decisions for the poor performances, glossing over the Boks’ weaknesses.
The sooner the public and coaches acknowledge the problems in the Bok set-up, the more chance the Boks have of doing what has never been done before – winning successive World Cups.
12 Sep 2011, 23:08 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-539: You probably don’t need a WC champion’s medal to figure out that based on Sunday’s game the Boks won’t get anywhere near the title this year.
Our coaching trio doesn’t have the balls to drop the deadwood in this side. Simple as that. It’s a bit like your best friend working with you for 4 years and then a few months before retirement you have to fire him from his post because he has been fkcen useless at his job for the last couple of years.
12 Sep 2011, 23:22 pm
@kwas(kwas)-543: Sure the boks stumbled a bit against wales but that’s merely because they changed their game plan. They’d have learnt from that and will be far more direct in their next games. They are still favourite’s in my book!
12 Sep 2011, 23:27 pm
The skunk White trying to blow up his own arse with his own ram horn again while prissily satisfying himself with feathering his own fanny .. piece of garbage schmuck if ever there was one… just for his prissy sissified remarks I hope Boks take it and shove his glorious ego where it fits best up that prissy arsed ransacked backside of his …
As if he would have beaten that Wales side 4 years ago.. when he almost got taken to the cleaners by Connaught, then Tonga and Fiji … he NEVER met any team ranked higher than 6 which was Argentina 4 years ago and his record vs NZ was woefully pitiful to say the very least… Dumb deluded ignorant f’ng arrogant second grade schmuck of all pisswilly self aggrandized schmucks..
12 Sep 2011, 23:30 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-534: Well that’d be quiet an ask!
12 Sep 2011, 23:34 pm
mpundulu gett off it man, new zealand wins by 30 pts and the boks scrape through by the skin of their teeth and you’re still mumbling inanities about us being favourites. Nc nc nc
uyayazi ukuba nini man omakhwekhwetha, ongqaaaaaa phambili
12 Sep 2011, 23:44 pm
Spies anonymous, yes as used. He should be a late sub a la Bobby. But whadabout JPP? Missed a simple tackle against the touchline vs Shane. Did nothing else. His lack of defense is sure to cost us one day. As for the big build up to our first try, better tackle assist from Hook woulda had Frans bundled out. Apart from using up all our luck already we should be AIMING at much better than this. Oh and f*** White and his dull style of play let alone his present petulance.
Play Aplon and Hougaardt on wing
Spies cannot start with Smit
So play Alberts with Smit
Or play Bissmark with Spies
Spies is in my opinion a hard surface player and has always struggled in soft under foot conditions
@Transformation(Transformation)-547: The boks in ’07 stumbled against Connaught, no one with all his senses gave them a hope, they argued with tonga and nearly got pipped by Fiji. The boks love living on the edge. They are the favorites whether you like it or not!
Ezintwana zenkamnkam amabokoboko bazakunya kule ndebe yehlabhati! Hehehehehehe.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All