Back Bismarck, axe Morne

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Springboks have to change who starts and how they play if they want to defend their World Cup title.

Forget the old cliché that this was a character builder for the Boks. This team of champions has enough character and they’ve been through enough scraps in the last eight years to never want to endure another 80 minutes like Sunday’s in Wellington.

The Springboks don’t need more exposure to character-building situations in this World Cup and the head-coaching trio, out of their depth for the last four years, surely don’t need another match to know that the best XV has to start every game in this tournament and that includes Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and excludes Morne Steyn at flyhalf.

The Welsh goal-kicking implosion in the last few minutes means there can be calm in the Bok camp and not the hysteria that would have followed defeat.

There can be perspective and not national persecution. There can be reflection and not condemnation.

Wales flyhalf Rhys Priestland missed a drop goal from smack bang in front with five minutes to play and fullback James Hook fluffed the chance to win the match with an angled 35m penalty three minutes from the end. Had either of those two kicks gone over the mood in the Bok camp and the emotion among the South African rugby public would have been a lot different than it is this morning.

I keep on writing about the honesty needed within our rugby and within the Bok squad. It has never been more appropriate than this morning. Forget patriotism for a moment and focus on pragmatism. The patriotism at this tournament belongs to New Zealand. The Boks need something more tangible to defend the title won four years ago.

The Boks remain one of three teams who can win this tournament. Australia put down the biggest marker in the first weekend and New Zealand’s home ground advantage remains their biggest asset because they are limited as a team and the great among them merely balance out the many mediocre All Blacks playing for a first World Cup win in 24 years.

But for the Boks to move on from the Houdini escape in Wellington there has to be an acknowledgement of what works and what doesn’t. There has to be criticism from within that is not interpreted as a negative but rather is applauded as a positive. To win here the Boks have to change who starts and how they play. Wales gave every South African the most timely reminder that what worked in 2007 won’t be good enough to beat one of Australia or New Zealand in a play-off.

The Boks next nervous 80 minutes will be a probable quarter-final against Ireland and the examination will be as demanding as those questions asked by the Welsh.

Samoa, in the pool match-up, won’t challenge the Boks because they don’t have the game or the composure to win ugly against a side as experienced or powerful as South Africa.

Wales were outstanding. Let’s start there. Welsh coach Warren Gatland tactically got everything right against the Boks. They kept the ball, kept it close, used the powerful Jamie Roberts to run at Morne Steyn all match and played the field percentages almost to perfection.

Welsh captain and specialist fetcher Sam Warburton was colossal. He played with the precision and irritation of a young Richie McCaw and starved the Boks of ball. He deserved to lead a historic triumph in Wellington.

Wales had 60% of territory and possession, conceded just five penalties – only one of them kickable – and poached three South African lineouts.

Yet they still lost because it is not in their DNA to beat the Springboks, and when the biggest moments of the game came their players did not have the nerve, the conviction and the courage in decision making to win it. Wales were in unfamiliar territory against the Boks and the match they talked of all week they couldn’t quite play out according to script.

Aside from Australia – and possibly New Zealand – this Welsh effort would have beaten every team at this tournament, but that will be small comfort to Gatland and Warburton.

The Boks, beaten on the ground, in the air, in the tackle and in the collision, were never beaten in their minds – and the belief that they could conjure up seven points, almost at will, never deserted them.

The opening try to the impressive Frans Steyn was vintage Boks, but what proved to be the match winner from Francois Hougaard in the 65th minute showed the qualities of a champion who has been there before and delivered.

South Africa always had the one punch to strike from anywhere that was more threatening than the collective build-up of so many impressive Welsh attacks.

Bismarck du Plessis was monumental in the final quarter, Hougaard was inspirational and Willem Alberts was destructive. Not so those they replaced.

598 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 51.keo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-33: much better you are forgiven

• 52.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-40: I am sure he passes the same amount of times if not more than JDV? Will be able replacement. Also very good tackler. Better than Lambie in that regard and against the hard running Fijians we need good defence.

• 53.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-46:

Its simple Spies is built for show Alberts is built to go.

• 54.capebull: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-46: You are wrong . Spies and kanko , Koster are the same players. how can any of them play if Beast and Danie are always in the backline

• 55.trupisero: Reply to this comment

The problem with starting all these players is that we will not have a bench capable of making a telling impact. At best they can cover injuries but not up the game.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-42: when adi jacobs was targeted by the same jamie roberts and was battered everyone and their dog were shouting from roof tops that he must be replaced and nothing about someone else must stand in the 13 channel on defence…

interesting :D

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-39: mate, the boks looked sh it, they were sh it and they deserved to lose.

simply put, the welsh were the better team.

morne can get lost, spies too. smitty? well as i said, grind him against the islanders because bizness will rule the playoffs.

habs can also take a hike to the bench or the plane home.

young hougie is a starter in my books.

and frans to 12, lambie/gio to 15.

alberts at 8.

yeeha, easy peasy all over rove goodnight nures fckadilly and fark caps.

• 58.HHS: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-3: Because Rassie is overrated and only good in the eyes of the Province fans. What has he done with the WP so far with all that talent at his disposal?

My question is will Bissy (yes), Hougie (maybe) and Alberts (no) make the same impact when they play for 80 min? Also Brussow was good at times but imo he schooled by that Welsh chappie.

When we were good when we had ball in hand. Those Welshies was no where when we ran at them….. guess we have to get the ball first.

• 59.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-51: now that’s a great relief :)

• 60.RugbyRIP: Reply to this comment

We had two injuries, involving two of our most experienced and crucial players, and our absolute key player – Fourie du Preez – had a nightmare match. Plus someone must have fed Pierre Spies sleeping tablets or Tipex…

And Wales played magnificently…

So, let us take our win humbly and graciously….

• 61.pokkel: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-58:

The only reason that Brussow got ‘schooled’ was because he had no support while the Welsh 7 had support at the breakdowns.

• 62.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-38:

Boring us with your repetitive shite as usual. Tell your mate de Villiers you moron. You were one of the first to toyi toyi when he was made coach.

Now you must live with the consequences.

• 63.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

we’re talking a lot about the boks players, but the welsh need credit. they were hungy, aggressive, relentless, disciplined, direct, and accurate – at everything they did except kick for poles.

dont think you’ll ever see wales play btter than that. however the boks will improve plenty – they have a plan, and it is about hitting form in game 5, not in game 1. only problem with that plan is the youngsters who came off bench seem to have form already.

• 64.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-58: Welsh cappie was brilliant, but to be fair, Heinrich had to make far more tackles and couldn’t really compete for large parts of the game.

• 65.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

For me its pretty clear who the team should be also now that it’s confirmed MAtfield and JDiv is out of this comming weekends game.

15 Lambie Solid with good Boot, also good kicker at poles
    14 Aplon Good left boot
    13 JF
    12 F STeyn can also kick for poles etc
    11 JPP
    10 Butch can kick for poles etc
    09 HOugaard, just looks so much hungrier and faster
    08 Schalk
    07 ALberts
    06 Brussow
    05 Muller
    04 Rossouw
    03 Jannie
    02 BIsmark
    01 Beast/Gurthro

16 Smit
    17 CJ, only because he covers both sides, but mainly TH
    18 Spies, Alberts prolly to move to lock if needed,has lock cover has been called up Mostert?
    19 Flouw
    20 Pienaar
    21 JDJ
    22 Habana

• 66.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-56:

Exactly…..

Roberts made Butch & Morne look like amateurs.James to my suprise was very BANG to tackle Roberts who got over the adv line AT WILL no matter who was standing in his channel.

Morne was abysmal in contact,worse than Adi at the worst of times in fact.

• 67.zoo cleaner: Reply to this comment

Lucky day at the office yesterday. Welsh really coughed that one up. We owe them some beers for the freebie.

De Villiers is over-rated. Ordinary on defence and can’t get Fourie away. Either put Butch or Lambie at 12 or a genuine No12 – like Doppies Le Grange. Don’t laugh – the reason why the Lions penetrate defences more than any other SA franchise is his distribution skills. Can also poach ball on the ground which JDV cannot do. Check his stats – he beats JDV hands down.

Spies, needs to be an impact player when the game is a bit more open. Alberts to start at 8. Burger not too bad and Brussouw was superb but give the Welsh credit for their rucking. Locks are fine – Bakkies makes a big difference. Roussow remembered how to hold onto the ball after an early spill. Thought Muller was excellent.

Front rows are fine, as long as Smit only plays hooker. Bismark’s impact was immense, but that is when he can do the most damage. Bringing on Bismark and Spies puts enormous pressure on the opposition – right way to go.

M Steyn is terrible on defence and its no longer the old days when Naas didn’t have to tackle (in fact he was instructed not to by his coach). Each player needs to be able to tackle and he was terrible. His kicking out of hand was poor, many kicks were too deep to be reclaimed and simply handed possession back. He’s not playing with the precision of S14 2010 – simple.

FDP got better as the game wore on – showing some rustiness that’s all.

F Steyn was excellent – fullback is his place, not 12.

Peterson was OK but needs to work a bit harder.

The less said about Habana the better. Hougaard embarrassed him. He should be in the suites drinking with corporates.

• 68.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I don’t like to say it about such a great player, probably the best scrum-half I have seen but Fourie Du Preez appears to be playing scared, weak under the high ball and especially weak in the tackle. I wonder if he is really recovered from his previous injury.

• 69.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@pokkel(pokkel)-61:

I agree. I saw Brussouw isolated several times while competing for the ball and he simply got mauled off the ball as he wasn’t being supported.

• 70.race of tan: Reply to this comment

rangerman – I agree with Frans Steyn to 12, De Jongh is too smal, and Lambie to 15!!! Atleast we can then give Butch a run at 10 and have Morne Steyn on the bench. We ahve big problems with Spies as who the heck replaces him now? I guess if Mostert comes overs we then have Muller/Mostert at locks and then Rousouw/Burger/Brussouw!!

• 71.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-56: I agree

I have always said Adi is being badly treated, and in my eyes still a damn fine player

• 72.RL: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-32: the loosies are to protect Steyn … the tight 5 must give Spies the platform to run like a gazelle … bullcrap.

• 73.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-68: I dont think so

he is totally off the pace in all facets of play

• 74.24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis: Reply to this comment

CJ vd Linde is faster than Adi

• 75.race of tan: Reply to this comment

RL – I have a feeling the nerves and adrenaline got to the Boks yesterday, so hopefully the Boks can progress from here! We can pull loads of negatives out of this game but there are also huge positives to take as well!!

• 76.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

FS
    JPP
    JF
    JdJ
    GA
    BJ
    FH
    SB
    WA
    HB
    JM
    DR
    JdP
    BdP
    GS

BM, JS, (CJvL), GM, FL, RP, MS, (PL)

• 77.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-17:

true and with so much go forward ball for the welsh I don’t believe their is a player on the planet that could stop roberts dead.

it’s morne for me as well as bismark.
    F.Steyn to 12 and Lambie to 15.
    Hougie replaces Habana and Habs drops out of the 22.
    Aplon or Pienaar on the bench with James.
    Spies to the bench.Alberts to start.

With Smit on the bench we need to carry only one prop on it and can get Louw onto the bench as I believe we definately need another fetcher in case brussow gets injured.

To me that gives a far more dynamic starting 15 as well as bench.

• 78.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-68:

Boet it could also be said that he had an off day. Who knows.

• 79.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-69: 100%

you cant hunt alone

infact if i was the bok coach, i would have selected a very different loose trio , even different to what i selected in my team

8 alberts
    7 flouw
    6 brussow

hell thats 3 fetchers in the team , they could cause havock

• 80.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-71:

Yeah and its a fckin travesty that he has to play behind Terblanche, Joubert etc first the excuse was that Terblanche was cappie-NOW WHAT? Adi was one of the only playrs who did ok vs AB’s in Wellington in this years 3N.

I get more pleasure watching the u21′s play because they actually pick on merit and look to PLAY rugby.Sean Everitt(my old Phys Ed teacher at DPHS) is doing an AWESOME job with them.Deserves higher honours.They tore the Valke apart and never let up-it was the Mthembu/Jafta/Jordaan show all day. Was most impressed by Siseko Jafta-19 years old….Wow

• 81.BULLET: Reply to this comment

27 RIP,

Its not ideal to interchange players in the middle of a game. You weaken 1 position all the time.
    If Morne was meant to be a full back, he would have been.

• 82.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis(p0ppa69)-74:

And Adi is faster than Frans Steyn

• 83.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-79: the 3 fetchers i refer to bei9ng

Brussow
    Flouw
    Bissy

• 84.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Brigadier Van Zyl – I dont agree with starting Alberts. As you need some to come on and lift the game to surpise the opposition and that is exactly what happened. Alberts is a supreme supersub. Goodpoint o J Smit and get hopefully get Flo into the 22.
    I flippin hope Habas can find some form against Fiji, maybe a confidence thing for him!!

• 85.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-79: add Bissie, you got 4. awesome

• 86.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-46: I’m with you on this one.

• 87.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-50:

de jong is not an option on the bench…doesn’t offer the same options that aplon or pienaar can.

• 88.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-80: yeah those 3 plus Lindeque for me had great games

• 89.Helen: Reply to this comment

F du Preez was shocking.
    It is a crime to keep him in the team when someone like Hougaard is waiting in the wings.
    At the vefry least, Hougaard needs to replace DuP as much as Bissy needs to replace Smit, so treat both subs the same way.

• 90.capebull: Reply to this comment

1-Gurthro
    2-Bissy
    3-Jannie
    4- Alberts
    5- Muller cause theres no one else
    6- Brussouw
    7- Burger
    8 Spies

• 91.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I’m probably not the first person here to suggest this (couldn’t be bothered to read all the comments), but for me it’s simple:

Replace John with Bismarck
    Replace Du Preez with Hougaard
    Replace Spies with Alberts
    Move F Steyn to 12
    Start Aplon at the back
    Leave Morne where he is

Oh, and teach Jannie how to tackle, Muller how to clear a ruck, Burger how to run into someone without leading with his arse, Danie how to hang onto the ball, Morne how to kick the ball out and all our backs how to position themselves to actually catch the frikkin high ball.

Then we should be good to go.

• 92.Bouts: Reply to this comment

The tight 5 was an embarrassment was our tight 5. Even Bismarck when he came on. They simply didn’t do their job!! They were never at the breakdowns!

Even if you overlook the fact that Brussow made half the tackles, he was always cleaning up at the breakdowns! That’s not his job, but our forwards were invisible! Even the two steal Bismarck made, go watch who had to clean out the opposition to make it possible! It should have been the other way around.

Yes, the ref had a very strange way of blowing the breakdowns, because the Welsh stormed and fell over the breakdowns almost at every ruck, but the boks should have been better.

And… was Habana on the field?

• 93.Helen: Reply to this comment

We are exiting a phase in SA rugby at the moment.
    See how the GREAT Bulls team of the last few years, is imploding.
    Bulls lagging in CC
    Bakkies injured.
    Vic injured
    F D Preez has a shocker
    Morne is suddenly not the great white hope at 10 anymore
    Spies disappears
    Meisiekind is out of form, so too Kirchner and a few other Bulls

All this is affecting our RWC. If we lose it is because this RWC came one year too late.

An era is coming to an end… is it going down in a blaze of RWC glory or in a whimper?

• 94.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-87:

Don’t understand what you mean. If de Jongh is on the bench and Frans Steyn gets injured, then Lambie moves to the back and you have a specialised centre coming in. If Lambie or Fourie gets injured then JdJ can slot in his normal positions. If the wings get injured Fourie can move on out.

• 95.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Drop Pietersen and Habana for Hougaard and Aplon

Drop Smit and Burger for Bismark and Alberts.

Get Bakkies, Matfield and De Villiers back for the quarters.

That’s the only changes required.

• 96.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@32,
    I thought that Priestland was very good, as was the rest of the Welsh back line. I think that this Welsh team will in 2-3 years, be the dominating team in the NH. They are young now, and need some time together (Like the Wallabies 2-3 years ago when Cooper etc was found)

I think that Keo hit the nail on the head. For all intense purposes, the Welsh should have won. They beat us in possession, territory, penalties etc etc. They are just green, and do not know how to close out a game. We can say what we want, but calm heads and direction won us that game at 17-16 with 13 minutes to go. When FDP started dictating what was going to happen, the players listened and followed. You only get that through experience, and the babies in the Welsh team will lear that in the next few years.

I expect them to be a very serious outfit in 3 years time.

ANY I HATE MIKE PHILLIPS

• 97.capebull: Reply to this comment

Alberst is hard , we need a hard lock. Danie does’nt want to get involved

Alberst ‘s controll at back of scrum suspect , we were lucky to get penalty, but for rest he was Gold

• 98.Horings: Reply to this comment

One of the guys that was totally useless was Beast. Twice in the first couple of minutes he got mauled of the ball at a ruck. That was our single biggest problem. Guthro, Bakkies and Juan Smith not being there in the first 60 minutes to support Brussow at the rucks. In the last 20 Bismark and Alberts took over that job.

I would therefore definitely bring in Guthro as it will also strenghten our scrum, and then I like the impact the bench makes. If Bakkies could start, then Rossouw will make an even better impact.

• 99.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95: and Peire “the Gate” Spies?

• 100.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-89: I always knew that FDP was kak with a few blinders to sell the hype.. Hougaardt is however useless at 9. He is a wing. A damn good wing who is almost as good as Aplon.

Hows the period cramps today ;-)

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.