Back Bismarck, axe Morne

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Springboks have to change who starts and how they play if they want to defend their World Cup title.

Forget the old cliché that this was a character builder for the Boks. This team of champions has enough character and they’ve been through enough scraps in the last eight years to never want to endure another 80 minutes like Sunday’s in Wellington.

The Springboks don’t need more exposure to character-building situations in this World Cup and the head-coaching trio, out of their depth for the last four years, surely don’t need another match to know that the best XV has to start every game in this tournament and that includes Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and excludes Morne Steyn at flyhalf.

The Welsh goal-kicking implosion in the last few minutes means there can be calm in the Bok camp and not the hysteria that would have followed defeat.

There can be perspective and not national persecution. There can be reflection and not condemnation.

Wales flyhalf Rhys Priestland missed a drop goal from smack bang in front with five minutes to play and fullback James Hook fluffed the chance to win the match with an angled 35m penalty three minutes from the end. Had either of those two kicks gone over the mood in the Bok camp and the emotion among the South African rugby public would have been a lot different than it is this morning.

I keep on writing about the honesty needed within our rugby and within the Bok squad. It has never been more appropriate than this morning. Forget patriotism for a moment and focus on pragmatism. The patriotism at this tournament belongs to New Zealand. The Boks need something more tangible to defend the title won four years ago.

The Boks remain one of three teams who can win this tournament. Australia put down the biggest marker in the first weekend and New Zealand’s home ground advantage remains their biggest asset because they are limited as a team and the great among them merely balance out the many mediocre All Blacks playing for a first World Cup win in 24 years.

But for the Boks to move on from the Houdini escape in Wellington there has to be an acknowledgement of what works and what doesn’t. There has to be criticism from within that is not interpreted as a negative but rather is applauded as a positive. To win here the Boks have to change who starts and how they play. Wales gave every South African the most timely reminder that what worked in 2007 won’t be good enough to beat one of Australia or New Zealand in a play-off.

The Boks next nervous 80 minutes will be a probable quarter-final against Ireland and the examination will be as demanding as those questions asked by the Welsh.

Samoa, in the pool match-up, won’t challenge the Boks because they don’t have the game or the composure to win ugly against a side as experienced or powerful as South Africa.

Wales were outstanding. Let’s start there. Welsh coach Warren Gatland tactically got everything right against the Boks. They kept the ball, kept it close, used the powerful Jamie Roberts to run at Morne Steyn all match and played the field percentages almost to perfection.

Welsh captain and specialist fetcher Sam Warburton was colossal. He played with the precision and irritation of a young Richie McCaw and starved the Boks of ball. He deserved to lead a historic triumph in Wellington.

Wales had 60% of territory and possession, conceded just five penalties – only one of them kickable – and poached three South African lineouts.

Yet they still lost because it is not in their DNA to beat the Springboks, and when the biggest moments of the game came their players did not have the nerve, the conviction and the courage in decision making to win it. Wales were in unfamiliar territory against the Boks and the match they talked of all week they couldn’t quite play out according to script.

Aside from Australia – and possibly New Zealand – this Welsh effort would have beaten every team at this tournament, but that will be small comfort to Gatland and Warburton.

The Boks, beaten on the ground, in the air, in the tackle and in the collision, were never beaten in their minds – and the belief that they could conjure up seven points, almost at will, never deserted them.

The opening try to the impressive Frans Steyn was vintage Boks, but what proved to be the match winner from Francois Hougaard in the 65th minute showed the qualities of a champion who has been there before and delivered.

South Africa always had the one punch to strike from anywhere that was more threatening than the collective build-up of so many impressive Welsh attacks.

Bismarck du Plessis was monumental in the final quarter, Hougaard was inspirational and Willem Alberts was destructive. Not so those they replaced.

598 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 351.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

I’ve watched that game again, Gatland is right boks dont play any rugby but we’ve always known that, and the boks had no business winning that game!

• 352.yank: Reply to this comment

Everybody says Gatland got it right re his coaching etc. However, did anyone note that it was the right and timeous introduction of our bench that won the game in the end for SA….and Gatland didn’t intro his bench (save one) at all. Sure the starters played well but can you imagine if this had been SA losing by 1 point and not using the fresh palyers off the bench…..Everyone would have been calling for PdV’s head. The Welsh played great, the Boks didnt seem to be able to get out of 2nd gear….but we still won. Do we have the players to hang in there for the whole RWC (and do the oldies have the staying power??)…….personally I predict we will lose in the semi’s – not the perfect result but somewhat acceptable. Then bring on a new coach, new , younger players when the oldies all go for their pension plans in Europe and the Boks will be VERY ready to win again in 2015.

• 353.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-342: talking about what happened…

for the last few years all and sundry was told on this blog that:

Jantjies (Wp) was a brilliant fullback.
    That Elton Jantjies was now the best 10 in SA.
    That Dollie is actually the best 10 in SA.
    That Stormers have the best scrum in SA.
    That John Smit is the best captain in SA as well as the best 2.
    That Zane is the best fullback in SA – but a week later he was the worst…now apparently he is a centre.
    And i am not even mentioning the Gadget Boy brigade…… o hell the wanted Rose first pick in the bok squad….
    That FdP is still the best 9 in SA.
    That Wp, Stormers and now Lions are the best teams in SA while nothing is won yet!

ag a lot of snot is being posted about a lot of players but hell that a blog! :lol:

so i take everything everyone on this blog says with a pinch of salt… my own included! :lol:

but what ever we do … do not take posts to seirieaaaaaasly! :lol:

• 354.nama1: Reply to this comment

It’s been said for a while now that the Bok’s problems lie a 2, 8, 9, 10, 12 and sometimes also 5.

So now the rugby god’s seem to have heard the prayers of some people and are doing its bit to make PdV and co see the light as well.

5 and 12 are not available for the next game.

2 and 8 should be replaced after their performances yesterday or after their replacements put their performances to shame…… whichever way you want to look at it.
    9 and 10 probably deserves another chance. 9 because it took him about 4 games in the S15 to get his groove back. A couple of games against the minor nations in the group may just help his cause in rediscovering some form…… and 10 because the other option are kak as well.

The question that needs asking is whether we will actually learn anything if the changes are made and it works perfectly well against Fiji, Samoa and Nam…. or if we don’t make the changes and the players who performed poorly have good games, does this mean that they should be selected for the rest of the games? For example, if our tight five dominate like Tac wants and Spies plays and has a blinder against Fiji, does that mean that he should be selected for the knock out phase where we know that our tight five are not going to dominate?

Somehow I can’t see that it will tell us anything. Also PdV and co left SA with a clear idea of who the 1st team players are and I don’t believe that they will deviate from that much, if at all.

• 355.Staal: Reply to this comment

and i am only naming a few…

• 356.RL: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-351: the Boks are the only team on the planet capable of playing without the ball and winning a match.

• 357.Pypkan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-345: And of course it is your right to think that too. I don’t know if I am missing something, but I just can’t agree. The Bulls certainly don’t have Buffoon coaches and Spies was just as ineffective at the Bulls this year. In my opinion he’s had his change to shine for 2 years and he didn’t use it. Time to go.

• 358.danuk: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-351: not sure about that, the best boks team do play rugby, hence why we scored 2 tries with very little ball. We might be playing inconsistent and ****, but we still won

• 359.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-353:

Mate I have never taken anyone seriously here. I have said over and over that this blog has more characters than the Bok team at present.

I’m not delusional and know that we would be VERY lucky to even make the semi-finals, let alone the quarter finals. There has been no planning, structure or game plan to talk of. We also know this team was chosen in 2007 and we all know that it is going to be an uphill battle for the new coach post 2011. BUT hey! I’m a supporter and I cling to every bit of hope there is, whether Spies plays centre or the guitar, whether Steyn or Smit is the FH! That is how seriously I take people here.

• 360.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-356: Quite right! It’s a miracle.

• 361.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-356:

Is that virtual rugby? Without the ball :shock:

• 362.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-358: From what I saw on Sunday, wales brought a game to the pitch, if it weren’t for poor kicking display that was wales’s game for sure.

• 363.Staal: Reply to this comment

anyway – cheers i’m out.

Go BIG – you only live once.

• 364.Paws: Reply to this comment

I really just don’t get it ..

JS was never really any good in my book, but come on, he is really now well past the sell-by date he might have once had.

The hookers at the WC should have been Bismark, Strauss and Chilly. There are hookers playing Vodacom / Varsity cup rugby that would have been better and more dynamic and offer more to the Bok cause than john smit has done in the last 2 years.

… and the Keo and some other have the nerve to say he is not as bad as some think … I equate being a Springbok with being the BEST, or at the very least in the top 2 and at a stretch 3 in your position.

The team is bigger than the person .. unfortunately that does not seem to be the norm at the Springboks.

Smit – must go and use Bimark and Chilly on the bench for cover

Habana / JPP – Hougard must play in place of one of these two because they really both suck.

Spies – Sorry, not much use in NZ, especially behind a beaten pack. Use Alberts

Morne – Very difficult, we need a kicker, need a way to shore up his channel in defence

FduP – Please please find your form

Big Vic & Bakkies – Please please get back to health and fitness ASAP

Brussow / Bismark / Hougard – You Beauties. If all the Boks had your desire and ability we would retain the cup.

Guthro (Beast)
    Bissy (Chilly)
    Jannie (CJ .. do we have anothe TH?)
    ? .. Danie
    ? .. Muller
    Brussow
    Schalk
    FduP
    Morne
    Hougard
    JdeJ
    Fourie
    Can we clone Hougard? (Aplon?)
    F Steyn

Bench: Beast, CJ, Chilly, Lambie, Butch, Flo, ?

• 365.24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis: Reply to this comment

nama1 and Habana & Pietersen? they had a good game cause they are coloured like you? they were, with Smith, the weaklinks in the Bok team yesterday (and last 2 years or so) very bias imo!

• 366.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-362:

ifs and buts don’t count…Boks should have been over the hill and far away against the Ozzies in Durbs a few weeks ago but weren’t and then lost.

personally, I can’t see Wales ever playing better than that…the boks can play a hell of a lot better.

that’s why we are contenders and the Taffs aren’t.

• 367.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-350: Yeah, I see your point.

• 368.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-318: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-325:
    Spies’ speed isn’t of much help currently, it seems.

Another thing.

-Burger got IRB Player of the Year playing as a loosie in a pack where our tight five did not dominate.
    -Brussow made an immediate impact vs the B & I Lions, playing in a pack that did not dominate.

Why can’t your boy Spies do something likewise?

• 369.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-354: Good post. Food for thought.

• 370.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-353:
    Hehehe ;)
    Brilliant
    So true!

• 371.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

just hope the refs protect us from fiji and samoan recklessness. brian Lima may well be remembered for that one tackle….but everywhere inbetween he was a crazy kamakaze.

just like butch james

• 372.danuk: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-362: Unfortunately rugby is about kicking as well. Agree with you that Wales applied all the pressure, but we weren’t exactly doing ourselves any favours with silly mistakes either.

A lot of the 1st half penalties came from us making mistakes and that really kept Wales in the game as well

• 373.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-366: Boks are not contenders, they are favourite’s! I agree they can play their usual game which will make them better but they’ve no business playing wide, that’s not a way for them to win. I think though what we’ve seen thus far is that minnow countries have decided that if a tier 1 nation does not take them seriously, they’ll give them a lot to ponder.

• 374.nama1: Reply to this comment

@24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis(p0ppa69)-365:

You make it about colour, not me. As I said , “It’s been said for a while now that the Bok’s problems lie a 2, 8, 9, 10, 12 and sometimes also 5.” That does not mean that it was said by me although afa Spies goes, I agree wholeheartedly.

On Habana… he should be dropped.
    On JPP… he was the form SA wing in the S15 and he just had an off day. Like Morne and FdP.

Smit, JdV, Spies had been kak for two years now, like Habana.

Your different nics over the years have told me all I need to know about you and your perception of people/players of colour.

So fokkof, Clinton.

• 375.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-373:

boks can play well enough when going wide..problem is our quick ball. there’s not much of it these past 2 seasons. our ruck work and ball retention is mediocre when compared with others.

• 376.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-372: Could not agree more, you have to bring a complete game at the WC and a crucial component of that is consistency in kicking accuracy! I really want to see where is Carter with his still ball kicking as that will be crucial from the quarters onwards.

• 377.danuk: Reply to this comment

Got to give it to Wales though, the move bringing the 8th man into play on the 1st phase was brilliant. I wish we would try things like that

• 378.willievz: Reply to this comment

How about shifting Morne to the wing on first phase defense, similar to the Aussies and Quade Cooper.

Or instruct the nr8 to tackle assist the 10-channel on first phase instead of drifting behind the backline to cover an initial linebreak in the wider channels.

Unfortunately our current 8 might not be the best resource in this regard.

• 379.24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis: Reply to this comment

nama1 oh so we are using real names now are we virgin/virgil

• 380.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-323: uyibuze phi imibuzo?

• 381.24_years_new_zeeland_looking_for_web_ellis_where_the_f_is_web_ellis: Reply to this comment

I heard Ismal Eal Tollie had a shocker for WP …. so Duvenhage will play @ 10 vs the Bulls??

• 382.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Do the Boks have depth???

• 383.ufo: Reply to this comment

sheesh… can’t believe that schalk is being dissed as not good enough and not being a leader and for not hanging onto the ball etc…

he lost one ball near the end when the welsh guy hit it out of his grasp as he went down… that one incident is being used to say he had a bad game…

burger was often the first forward to the breakdown…

jannie dup missed how many tackles, 3 or 4… jjp gave away a penalty and his tackling was pathetic… but they’re not mentioned (for example)… guys just focus on burger’s one glaring mistake to write him off and out of the team…!!

those he say he is not a leader… apparently it was his call to go for touch and take the line out that lead to hougie’s try… brave decision… when most of us… me included… would have gone for posts taken the points and come back for more…

so how is he not a good leaders…?

can anyone explain…?

and can anyone confirm is he did or did not make that call….?

in the studio afterwards they spoke matter-of-fact that it was his call…??!!

• 384.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Digby likely to miss the rest of the tournament.

• 385.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@yank(yank)-352:

warren gatland is just a huge long term failure for the welsh in my opinion. pretty much like pdv really. he’s only managed to make wales look good in stutters and never really built a team with the makings of any visible long term prospects.

quite simply only an idiot would have built their teams campaign around beating the boks and topping the toughest pool in wc 2011. a realistic and pragmatic approach should have been to focus all their energy on samoa instead. to do this of course they would have had to also negotiate wins against fiji and namibia.

as it stands they may very well not progress further than the pool stage as samoa are sure to pick up good bonus points against namibia and fiji as well to probably beat the welsh. to pick yourself up after a run out against the boks for a showing a week later against the samoans is a very hard ask for the worlds number 1 and 2 ranked teams, let alone the welsh.

also, consider that wales after all had been knocked out of the last world cup by fiji in the pool stage (which was their first loss to fiji in 8 games, and could yet very well happen again) and are now banking on beating a powerfull samoa side to whom they’ve lost 3 times and won 4.

perhaps they’ll pull it off but i just dont see it happening.

• 386.danuk: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-378: Spies and Burger did that, problem comes in phase 2 onwards. Our pack struggled in the loose and with quick ball for Wales it was always a tough ask for the loosies to get back to fill all the gaps. That’s probably where Bissie is so important because he does so much work in the loose.

That’s also where I think we missed a Andries Bekker

• 387.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-384:

that’s a great pity…

• 388.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-355:
    oh and…luke watson to captain the boks, also chester williams to coach them…

i’ll keep thinking…?

• 389.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-354:
    Hey Nama
    The right replacements are there already!
    Let me name them for you,
    2- Chiliboi
    8 – Johnson
    9- Jinka
    10- Elton Jamtjies
    12 – JdJ
    5- Lobert/Mabeta when are ready!
    Got to speak out your mind!

• 390.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-384: O’Connor is a more than capable replacement

• 391.capebull: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383: FdP was captain

• 392.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@yank(yank)-352:

in regards the boks, i think they could squeack through the semis perhpas given their experience and the fact that the all blacks will (obviously) be nervous as hell…yes, the term choking would be in order.

to beat the ozzies in a final however seems to me to likely be a ‘final too far’ judging by the looks of the boks compared to the ozzies. rather like engalnd in 2007.

• 393.ufo: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-391:

can you confirm that…? or do you just think he was…?

in the studio afterwards they were quite adamant that burger had made that call and spoke at length about it…

i’m not trying to argue… just would like to know 100% based on info from the team etc…

• 394.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383:
    JS made most of the tackles, ball carries and rucks clean ups among the forwards although SB came second close
    How many had the Beast? ;)

• 395.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-378: Hi Willie hope you’re well.

I think that Pierre puts the guys under unnescessary pressure by not putting in the physical aspect of his game. He should be supporting that channel, but for some reason was AWOL the whole game. Very frustrating.

• 396.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-384:
    @ufo(ufo)-387:
    yes, great pity indeed, for oz as well the viewers…he’s electric and really gets the pulse racing most times he has the ball.

that being said its a relief for the boks if we make it to the final not to have to face him.

• 397.Ethel: Reply to this comment

“dubhula ibhunu” is declared hate speech. Ag shame die arme JUJU is in sy Maai

• 398.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Where would i go look for the stats thingie on the players tackles and that kind of stuff on the net ?

• 399.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-394:

and yet everyone’s calling for smit’s head to be mounted like a dusty old hunting trophy…??? :shock:

• 400.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Rugby: Fiji side sleeping with the enemy
    10:03 PM Monday Sep 12, 2011

The Fiji team which will play South Africa at the Rugby World Cup on Thursday has checked into a Wellington hotel which houses the South African embassy.

A writer traveling with the team and writing both for the Fiji Sun newspaper and the Fiji Rugby Union said “just about wherever we turn in this building we see South Africans. Strange move by the Rugby World Cup powers-that-be to do that to us.”

Fiji beat Namibia 49-25 in its opening World Cup match on Saturday but must now step up to face the reigning world champion. It may also have to do so without first five-eighths Waisea Luveniyali, who suffered a calf muscle strain in the Namibia match.

- AP

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.