Pool A latest – Canada shape for Tonga showdown

Keo.co.za brings you the latest World Cup news from Pool A.

Canada shape for Tonga showdown – Canada coach Kieran Crowley has announced his team to play in the Pool A match against Tonga in Whangarei on Wednesday.

1. Hubert Buydens
2. Pat Riordan (c)
3. Jason Marshall
4. Jebb Sinclair
5. Jamie Cudmore
6. Adam Kleeberger
7. Chauncey O’Toole
8. Aaron Carpenter
9. Ed Fairhurst
10. Ander Monro
11. Phil Mackenzie
12. Ryan Smith
13. DTH Van Der Merwe
14. Ciaran Hearn
15. James Pritchard
16. Ryan Hamilton
17. Scott Franklin
18. Tyler Hotson
19. Nanyak Dala
20. Conor Trainor
21. Sean White
22. Nathan Hirayama
Tonga ring the changes – Tonga’s coach Isitolo Maka has made 11 changes and four positional switches in his team which will play their second Pool A match against Canada on Wednesday.

Captain Finau Maka, Kurt Morath, Siale Piautau and Taniela Moa will remain in the starting XV. Maka switches to blindside flank, Morath moves to fullback while Moa takes over at flyhalf. Piutau switches to outside centre.
Sione Vaiomounga comes in at No 7 for Sione Kalamafoni. Loosehead prop Alisona Taumalolo replaces Soane Tonga’uiha, hooker Aleki Lutui makes way for Ephraim Taufaka and tighthead prop Kisi Pulu comes in for Painao Hehea. Sione Timani will start at lock ahead of Joe Tu’ineau, while oustside lock Tukulua Lokotui comes in for Joe Tu’ineau. Eighthman Samiu Vahafolau starts ahead of Viliami Ma’afu.

Fetu’u Vainikolo takes over the No 14 jersey from Viliame Iongi. Andrew Me’ilei will watch from the bench when Alipate Fatafehi starts at No 12. Thomas Palu comes in at scrumhalf and Vunga Lilo sits out. Suka Hufanga also misses out and wing William Helu comes in.

Tonga – 15 Kurt Morath, 14 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Alipate Fatafehi, 11 William Helu, 10 Taniela Moa, 9 Thomas Palu, 8 Samiu Vahafolau, 7 Sione Vaiomounga, 6 Finau Maka (c), 5 Tukulua Lokotui, 4 Sione Timani, 3 Kisi Pulu, 2 Ephraim Taukafa, 1 Alisona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Aloisio Ma’asi, 17 Soane Tonga’uiha, 18 Halani Aulika, 19 Viliami Ma’aafu, 20 Sione Kalamafoni, 21 Viliame Iongi, 22 Alaska Taufa.