Pool D latest – Flo in for Muller

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from Pool C.

Flo in for Muller - A hamstring injury has ruled Springbok lock Johann Muller out of Saturday’s Test against Fiji.

Francois Louw, a specialist openside flank, replaces Muller on the reserves bench for the Wellington clash. Muller joins Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana, Butch James and Jean de Villiers on the injured list.

Wales unchanged for Samoa showdown - Wales have named the same match 22 that was narrowly defeated in the opener to face Samoa in Hamilton on Sunday.

Wales – 15 James Hook, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Paul James.
Subs: 16 Lloyd Burns, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Bradley Davies, 19 Andy Powell, 20 Tavis Knoyle, 21 Scot Williams , 22 Leigh Halfpenny.

Samoa keep it steady - Samoa has made one change to the starting line-up that beat Namibia for the clash with Wales in Hamilton on Sunday.

Ofisa Treviranus comes off the bench to replace Taiasina Tuifua at blindside flanker, who plays off the wood. Also joining the reserves is uncapped Jeremy Sua.

Samoa – 15. Paul Williams, 14. Sailosi Tagicakibau, 13. George Pisi, 12. Seilala Mapusua, 11. Alesana Tuilagi, 10. Tusi Pisi, 9. Kahn Fotuali’i, 8. George Stowers, 7. Maurie Faasavalu, 6. Ofisa Treviranus, 5. Kane Thompson, 4. Daniel Leo, 3. Anthony Perenise, 2. Mahonri Schwalger (c), 1. Sakaria Taulafo.
Subs: 16. Ti’i Paulo, 17. Census Johnston, 18. Joe Tekori, 19. Taiasina Tuifua, 20. Jeremy Sua, 21. Eliota Sapolu Fuimaono, 22. Tasesa Lavea

33 Comments

• 1.SexyTime: Reply to this comment

Again? Geez, this guy is a walking injury.
    Going to be interesting to see what happens in the 2nd Half when you have Flo, Brussow, Schalk and Bismarck, Alberts on the field.

• 2.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Lots of green-and-gold sicknotes after only one match, in spite of the Rustenberg rehab-and-condition “camp”…

• 3.whatever: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2:

One or two AB ones as well in case you have not noticed, or does your reading of the news only incl stories on the Bokke? A little sad if that is a case….. not accepted as a kiwi in keeweeland yet?

• 4.whatever: Reply to this comment

Two No 4 locks running on, Bakkies will only play a portion of the 80, we all know that, and then Alberts on as lock? Eish!!

• 5.kwas: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-4: Fiji has fckall in the lock department. Should be the least of our worries. The two paloekas dressed up as Bok wings will be the ones targeted by the islanders.

• 6.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Well deserved Flo, pity Vermulen can’t join you!

• 7.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-3:

Someone should research the archives and repost the bit Tackles did during the kiwi/French match during the previous WC. Even better than Extraball’s corpus quote.

• 8.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-7:

Thats a job for Trannsie……….. :)

• 9.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

Why Mostert should’ve been there and this guy on standby. Muller is a real walking sicknote

• 10.ShaunSwindon: Reply to this comment

Jees Johann Muller is injured ALL the time. Send him home please and recall Gerhard Mostert or even Juandre Kruger from the Bulls!

• 11.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Second half:

Alberts to lock in Bakkies place, and Flow only on in case of injury or if we are so far ahead that we want to rest Brussow.

• 12.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@SexyTime(SexyTime)-1: Great point, how does P-Divvy justify picking his favourites when these guys play and the Boks start playing like a real team? Thinking specifically about Smit and Spies in the forwards.

• 13.toothgnasher: Reply to this comment

What is up with the bok medical team? All locks were declared fit before the RWC started. Eventhough they had been struggling during the Rustenberg training sessions: Vic and Muller (Hamstring), Bakkies (Achilles tendonitis).
    And then once they are in NZ all injuries suddenly start flaring up.
    This is ridiculous… We all noticed in Vic’s 1st RWC game that something wasn’t right which was confirmed when he was taken off early.
    Bakkies didn’t even make it on the pitch that day while Muller also didn’t look 100%. They knew all 3 weren’t 100% and should have taken extra back up iso selecting backs that won’t end up playing.
    It’s this type of ignorance that proves how useless springbok management is.
    I guess that they will now wait until the last minute before calling in reinforcements and then these players will arrive 1 day before match day (totally jetlagged/useless to the cause). What a pity…

• 14.Staal: Reply to this comment

Manne – we must stay possitive…

but we must also be realistic… we are scraping the barrel….

• 15.Staal: Reply to this comment

positive

• 16.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to Flo…

Give it all you got… make a statement…

Good luck to the Boks… play with heart and brains…

• 17.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2:

its a worry tackles. Boks and ABs a bunch of walking wounded and those wobblies going strong with steady team selections and momentum building. wont be happy if those wobblies win the cup – but would be awesome for robbie deans fans

• 18.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Well Done Flo.

That bench looks much more balanced now and stronger.

Alberts will be able to do the business at lock when he comes on for Bakkies. If the win is secured Brussouw needs to come off to rest.

• 19.stew: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-17: Agreed we got to watch the threat from the Aussies – building good momentum

• 20.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

go with the flouw…

• 21.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

@toothgnasher(toothgnasher)-13: How the heck can they predict an injury. Sometimes you have to cottonwool wrap your players in order for them to live out the big game.

• 22.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Focus on the all black guys!!!!

• 23.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

It’s all mind games to scare the opposition. That’s what Jose Mourinho, ******** ali and the Australian cricketing team used to do and it got them the results.

• 24.kwensie: Reply to this comment

I would rather move Spies to lock if Bakkies comes off. Spies is more used to the line out calls.

• 25.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

spies is a donkey, he can’t play lock.

• 26.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-19:
    really are the form team to take it.
    gonna be ffucking hard for the boks to beat them in the final.

• 27.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

i said the exact same thing about the Aussies. They should be the favourites and form team to take it. They know they not far from home and would want to do their country proud coming back.

• 28.seamus: Reply to this comment

Crazy as it may seem, I’d like to see how Spies goes at #5 lock. He is 6cm shorter and 2kgs heavier than Matfield, but is incredibly athletic.

He doesn’t like the tight work losies are supposed to perform, but he remains an athletic freak so he could play the Matfield role in the tight-lose and lose.

Thoughts?

• 29.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Can anyone here tell me why Anton van Zyl hasnt got a call up? In Andries Beckers abscence he was a pillar of strength and also when he played for the Babaas. Aside from Matfield and Becker I´d say he´s one of the best 5´s in the country. He is big and strong, deals with lineouts with ease and is a born leader. He has mongrel the works. Instead we´ll end up recalling Flip vd Merwe who is nothing more than solid.

Total lack of insight into who are capable replacements. Even Franco vd Merwe has been playing solid rugby of late.

• 30.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

Kiwi Suzi strikes Boks early with injuries!!

• 31.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Johan Muller could pull a fat tying his boot laces. Totally overrated.

Get Mostert there – at least he has an appetite for rugby.

• 32.Linga Linga Paradise Lodge Mozambique: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-29:

100% with you on that one mate – Anton van Zyl should be there

• 33.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Flo in for Muller is ONE big improvement and a fortuitous twist to this tale far more effective than either Burger or Spies as a ball carrying proponent or link from breakdown to open play

Gurthro Bismark CJ Alberts Roussow Brussow Flo Burger with Beast Chiliboy Jannie Spies off bench would have been the correct way to approach this game and Fiji wouldn’t stand a chance

With Smit Bakkies Spies starting I ain’t all that sure no more until Bismark Alberts Flo come on later to save the day

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.