Boks keep perspective

John Smit and Peter de Villiers said their impressive victory over Fiji is only a step in their journey rather than it being indicative of an arrival at their destination.

The 49-3 scoreline was emphatic and reflects the Springboks’ utter superiority in a contest that could have become tricky had they allowed Fiji to believe they had a chance of an upset. They never, shutting them down through a brutally efficient defensive performance, and an attacking exhibition that, while not flawless, was very encouraging.

Before the sweat had dried on the players’ bodies there are already those hailing the win as the sign of the Springboks rediscovering the form that earned them the title in France four years ago. Smit was having none of that.

‘It was better [than the one point victory over Wales a week ago],’ Smit said. ‘I don’t know about it being the breakthrough performance though. The assessment of our performance is influenced by who we are playing against, which players are selected and what our stated objectives are.

‘Last week I wouldn’t have given us a good mark. This week we controlled the game in a way we never did against Wales and played on our own terms. The most encouraging thing is that the way we played was closer to how we prepared to play in training. There were a couple of players who played well last week and a couple more who did so tonight. We’ll keep building. The intention is to get better every week. It is important to progress and I think we did that tonight.’

De Villiers’ reaction was similarly measured. ‘There are things that were pleasing, like how we broke down the [defensive] wall with our directness. But we haven’t ticked all our boxes,’ De Villiers said. ‘The first 20 minutes belonged to them. We missed some tackles in that period and that gave them momentum. We pride ourselves on our defence. We must be more ruthless there.’

Encouragingly Smit said he started to sense parallels with the quiet confidence that was the outstanding feature of their approach to matches in France four years ago. ‘Before the Test and indeed yesterday afternoon at the captain’s run there was an easiness about our preparation that was similar to 2007. That was so central to our success. It is important to take that attitude into every game,’ he said.

Smit added that he placed more value on restricting Fiji to a solitary penalty than he did on scoring six tries. ‘We spoke about developing the right balance between an aggressive attitude and composure in our defensive game and we’re doing well. Our defence at this point is making it really difficult for teams to attack effectively,’ he said.

De Villiers said there were no serious injury concerns at this stage and allayed fears that Bakkies Botha, who recently recovered from an Achilles injury, had suffered a recurrence, explaining that it was planned to substitute the lock at half-time. The Springboks play Namibia at North Habour Stadium in their third pool match on Thursday.

By Ryan Vrede, in Wellington.

Follow Ryan’s coverage of the World Cup on Twitter

50 Comments

• 1.Greenbok: Reply to this comment

Unlike most of the “journos” on this site?

Dragons.

• 2.Greenbok: Reply to this comment

Was wondering why the Keo boys have been pushing Butch’s swansong so heavily…

With the book to be released on 14 November, it all makes sense now… Never let the rugby facts get in the way of making money… Pfftt.

• 3.Puma: Reply to this comment

WELL DONE BOKKE. :)

Very good win and every player put their hand up today. Well done. Expect Ruan. He needs game time. Just not looking the part. Hougaard should be our back up scrummie.

• 4.shooter: Reply to this comment

They never dragons ? /

They never, shutting them down through a brutally efficient defensive performance, and an attacking exhibition that, while not flawless, was very encouraging.

• 5.loyalty counts: Reply to this comment

Big challenge for Keo this weekend, Aussies beaten and the Boks show an improvement, what will he write about where he can’t big up the Aussie/Kiwi chances or be negative about the Boks. No doubt he will find something!

• 6.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn HAS to replace JDV the plonker if we want to win this WC.

We need Bismarck instead of SMit,

Steyn at 12. and Hougaard on the wing in the place of Habana. That team will definitely beat the Aussies.

But we wont beat the aussies with JDV and Smit on the field, none of them can tackle. And JDV is just so predictable, can’t offload, has no acceleration…..

• 7.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

What’s your team for Namibia guys?

15.) Lambie
    14.) Pietersen
    13.) De Jongh
    12.) F.Steyn
    11.) Aplon
    10.) James
    9.) Hougaard
    8.) Pierre Spies
    7.) Willem Alberts
    6.) Francois Louw
    5.) Johann Muller (c)
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) CJ van der Linde
    2.) Bismarck du Plessis
    1.) Beast Mtawaria

• 8.shooter: Reply to this comment

Perspective ??????????????????????????????
    ?????????????????????????????????????

LOL. maybe look up the word. and then use it in a different sentence.

• 9.shooter: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-7: few changes only. whatever. usually this is a time wasting exercise. but anyway. that’s what i will suggest

15.) Lambie
    14.) Pietersen
    13.) Fourie
    12.) De jongh
    11.) Hougaard
    10.) James
    9.) Pienaar
    8.) Pierre Spies
    7.) Willem Alberts
    6.) Francois Louw
    5.) Johann Muller (c)
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) CJ van der Linde
    2.) Bismarck du Plessis
    1.) Beast Mtawaria

• 10.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

I bet you guys Keo ghost wrote Butch James’s book. No wonder he is calling for his inclusion into the Bok team, more media exposure, and siedaar – ka-ching!

• 11.Greenfields: Reply to this comment

@Pirlet BEL: I think you’ve got it 100% right. Thought JF/JDV was the right combination but the latter has lost some flair – think he’s got injury concerns in the back of his mind. FS and JF was great together. Hougaard in the team is a no-brainer. Smit … I think all the praise from P-Divvy went to his head … and he is too thick to realise that if Aus/NZ journos write him up it is because they do not want Bismark in the starting 15! Facts: our “fearless inspirational leader” went of while we were behind against Wales and we won WITHOUT him on the field. If you watch his 53 minutes today … always on the fringes, do not commit … 2 good moves in minute 24 and 40 and the third time he featured was when he knocked in the second half. Scrums were decent with him there – Bismark on, 3 tightheads!! Last week and this week there were 2 incidents where he could have dived on a loose ball … but he does not want to get injured because he’s too afraid to let Bismark play 80 minutes! He is arrogant and should demote himself to the bench for the sake of his team and country. I am sure ALL the props will pick Bismark. So would Bullterrier Brussouw because he’ll have another ball hunter with him. So please John Smit – do the right thing – you are just too average to start for the Boks – and it might work in the pool games to give Bismark only 20 minutes, but it will not be enough time to play catch-up in the semis against Aus.

• 12.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

@Greenfields(Greenfields)-11: Unfortunately //http://isjohnsmitstillspringbokcaptain.com/ still gives the wrong answer.

• 13.Greenfields: Reply to this comment

Jip alla, just checked the site …. see P-Divvy is web admin so I doubt if it will ever change. Me thinks he forgot his own password!! :-)

• 14.danryan: Reply to this comment

boys, boys, boys
    I had the (mis) fortune of attending an (Irish) mates 40th tonight where the first part of the evening was a private room in an Irish pub in Sydney. On arriving, the bulk of the guests congratulated me on the Bok’s performance v Fiji and we then settled down to enjoy the Aussie game. In the wash-up all the talk was about the Au-SA game in the quarters. It is ON. THe vigour and directness of the Boks was outstanding and there’s no reason to think that we couldn’t replicate the Irish’s intent at the breakdown and their unwillingness to allow the Aussie halfbacks any room to manoeuvre. I watched the 95 final at Ellis Park, last 2007 version here, dare i dream of a repeat dose? C’mooooon the Boks

• 15.Greenfields: Reply to this comment

@ danryan … and you’re stll typing straight!!?? :-)

• 16.Greenjelly1: Reply to this comment

WHY THE BOKKE WILL WIN: let me tell you something about a boer. When his back is to the wall, and a gun is to his head he does not back down. He will use his plowshed, pickaxe,Boer-Bull or Mampoer bottle, but he fights to the death. This is why the Boks excel in sudden death knockouts and why their is such a focus on the world cup, to the detriment of the inbetween years. Balanced philosophy? – probably not. But resilience and winning are in his DNA like no other specimen on earth. Ignore this “Has been” team at your peril.

• 17.Smit: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for Bokke to win this one and make it 3 from 5. We will show the overated AB’s that we can beat them, AUS and a NH team to win the world cup. This time there will be no excuses.

Go Bokke!!!!

• 18.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-3:

totally agree with you ..

• 19.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-7:

i would rest spies .. the rest i agree with

• 20.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

@Greenjelly1(Greenjelly1)-16:

tell that to our cricket team

• 21.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Druk a Drie(Druk a Drie)-19: Spies had a rest against Wales.

• 22.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Surely D Rossouw has earned a rest.

• 23.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Loving all the new levels of bravado that comes with a win vs Fiji

this wasnt a QterF y’know

this time, the QterF will be against a team the Boks have already lost 0 – 2 this year, unlike in 2007 when the Boks made it to the Final versus teams theyd never lost to (Fiji & Argies) – EVER.

Keep up the backslapping, ladies. By the time Australia run on to the field in opposition, youll have convinced yourselves Aus ‘are soft’. Should make for great theatre.

• 24.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-23: Hey boet. I agree. It is Fiji. But nice confidence building win. They took us close last time out, this one was entirely different. One at a time.

But if I had a choice between playing Ireland or Australia in the 1/4′s I would choose Ireland every time.

England & France must be very very happy.

• 25.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-24:

Yo

the best thing about last pms result was that the Draw is now set up perfectly for a SH vs NH Final.

Now, everyone thinks theyre in with a shout.

Best atmosphere ever at Eden Park last pm, this RWC is building to be something special. Players and teams seem to be inspired about playing rugby in NZ, and NZers seem to be inspired by supporting them. Except Australia…

• 26.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

1st choice p.layers i’d play against Nam – F Steyn, FDP, Schalk, Gurthro, Bakkies (40 min again), Habs (if ok), JPP, Smit.

these guys are either still playing into form or recently over injuries. they will get better the more they play.

that QF is now looming large. we’ve never knocked aussie out of the world cup before. here’s our chance.

• 27.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-23:

so the boks performance was not as good as you expected then?

• 28.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Munki

it was FIJI

what were you expecting

a QuarterFinal ?!

I havent heard one single Kiwi singing the praises of the ABs after Japan because

it was JAPAN !

Perspective ?

Japan beat Fiji recently

and the ABs B team beat the Fiji team by 60+

• 29.whatever: Reply to this comment

Well done boys, a much better all round performance (excluding the first 20)

Lets build on this…….

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-23:

Almost as good as the host nation pulling their collective wires over a win against the Japenese??

One eyed fukwit

• 31.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

FIji will run the the boks of the field ! nek minnit 49 – 3

*probably only the kiwi’s will get that one

• 32.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-28:

you did not answer my very simple question.

• 33.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

So do we throw the game Vs Samao?
    I dont think its something rugby players can do
    Ok its messed things up no We havet o beat Oz then most likely ABs in semis to get to the final and play a NH team

• 34.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-33:

lets wait to see wales v samo result. what if we threw it and did not qualify?

we aim to top the pool. simple.

• 35.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-34:
    its not in our culture or nature to thow games this is not Soccer so If Samao beat Wales it knows out Wales if we win the rest
    I cant see us not qualifying even if we lost to samoa

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/not-average-world-cup-related-match-072346447.html

this IS rugby country!

• 37.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-35:
    throws

• 38.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Munki

you appear to ask Ques’s from a certain premise ie “you dont live in NZ, therefore….”

Its hard to answer any Ques from the wrong premise. Like ‘how did SA perform against Fiji ?’ Well, given Fiji is a minnow nation that usually trucks points against a decent team, then how do you judge whether that major rugby nation ‘plays well’ ?

Find me a comment where I assessed NZs performabce vs Japan. It would be like confessing to a Guilty Pleasure – bring out the Gimp…..

• 39.ufo: Reply to this comment

Well done Bokke…

The result was great but more important was how you played… Awesome stuff…!!

But it’s just game number two… long way to go yet… approach each game as you approached this game… play with the same heart, determination, physical commitment, intelligence…

and we should be okay!!

Great game!!!!

• 40.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Munki

perhaps a RWC winning Capt puts it more eloquently:-

“every match at a RWC has meaning but often not the meaning most people think. The match vs Japan was irrelevant as a trial to see who should be selected for the Big Matches. Everyone looks good against weak opposition….”.

Thanks, Capt Kirk.

• 41.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-40: You are a 1st class A-hole! For months you’ve been caarrying about how we had it easy in ’07 and the fact Fiji ran us close for about 10 minutes in that game. You even agreed with that fckwit of a Zinzan that the Boks might not even make it out of their pool. Go fck yourself. I’m realy going to enjoy the AB’s falling flat once again in this WC just because of idiots like you who can’t give credit where it’s due. It’s on the cards. You know it…I know it. the signs are there. The Boks perfomance was as clinical as you like. Probably the best performance by one of the bigger teams, given the opposition. You, trying to rain on every Saffa’s parade with your BS is not going to change that

• 42.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

i am sorry, but i cannot, based on the record of this year, understand why anyone would have Ruan Pienaar in their starting team, on their bench, on the freaking bus, or even at the hotel.

he is a great player, but his current form is terrible and he is like Gaffie squared. he is not great under the current pressure he is experienceing. i kinda feel sorry for him.

think for a second what its like being him at the moment. he is playing 9 behind the guy who everyone in this country is saying is the best 9 in the world. then he is keeping hougie away from the 9 sub position. and he must know what a freakish talent Hougaard is. the pressure on him to not just be good, but do incredible things is massive. and under that type of pressure even very good players find themselves floundering at times. look what happend to cooper under pressure. carter, etc. just because the pressure is coming from his own team doesnt make it any easier.

• 43.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Greenjelly1(Greenjelly1)-16:
    Wow, i thought during that post i should stand up and put my hand over me heart :-)
    But nicely said.

• 44.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-31:
    lol nek minnit
    I sure do get it.

• 45.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

UpTheGuts

“probably the best performance” ?

against FIJI ?!

A Fiji team weakened by Army personnel still IN the islands ? and many of their best players still IN Europe (eg Nacewa and Quovu) ?

if you say so. Whatever strokes your ego. You guys are the best. Against Fiji.

(Fiji lost to Japan in July)

• 46.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bleat Panther is essentially right. The Fijians had to put together a team minus their players from the military.

• 47.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

UpTheGuts

ps – it wasnt “months”. Thats uncalled for. Compketely inaacurate. Total fabrication. Liar !

It was YEARS.

4, to be precise.

• 48.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

UpTheGuts

“probably the best performance” would, usually, not attach itself to a team that missed 26 tackles during 1 match. Against a minnow nation, no less.

The ABs missed 7 vs Tonga.

• 49.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-48: Who gives a sh|t how many bok tackles were missed compared to AB’s? Or what size score AB’s put on the minnows?

This is RWC, the pressure is on … Carters eyes will go wide and teary as usual very soon. You can set yr clock by it.

BTW: AB’s looked very ordinary against Tonga … I guess they are a major nation. Even the tiny Japanese managed a touchdown.

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-42: Totally agree … don’t even know why that idiot RP is on tour. He just messes our entire gameplan up.

• 50.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@TheBoksAreBack(bringbacktheboks)-49:

Youre probably right, ‘Missed Tackles’ shouldnt worry a team whose pre-RWC mantra was ‘Defence Wins RWC’.

So you just scroll right on ahead…..about now !

Missed Tackles (after 2 x matches):-

Engl = 10

ABs = 14

Aus = 16

France = 31

SA = 43

And, sooner or later when tough opposition loom on the horizon, it might just get ugly.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.