Auckland upset a blow for underdone Boks

JON CARDINELLI doubts that the Springboks will be at their peak of their powers for the largely unexpected quarter-final showdown with the Wallabies.

The luck of the Irish is ironically South Africa’s misfortune. After losing four World Cup warm-up games and struggling to beat the USA in their opening Pool C match, Ireland produced an inspired performance to down the Wallabies at Eden Park.

It was an unexpected result that breathed fresh life into what was shaping to be an all-too predictable tournament, and it was a result that should have South Africans feeling more than a little nervous.

Ronan O’Gara said afterwards that the Ireland management had prepared the team to peak for that specific clash, and that it was always the plan to ride the resultant momentum into the play-off stages. Ireland should go on to top Pool C and play Wales in the play-offs, while Australia will finish second and meet the Boks sooner than anybody but an Irishman would have anticipated.

The Boks have played it cool when asked about the Ireland vs Australia result, and just how it will impact on their planning. But make no mistake, that result will have profound repercussions.

Ruan Pienaar admitted it was an unexpected result before attempting to steer the conversation back to the Boks’ upcoming game against lowly Namibia, while assistant coach Dick Muir went as far to suggest that because the Boks play the Wallabies every year in the Tri-Nations, they will not need as much time to analyse and prepare for that probable play-off in Wellington.

But an earlier admission by Muir was more telling. The Boks beat Fiji 49-3 on Saturday, scoring six tries in the process. Muir said that the side had shown steady progress both on attack and defence, and that it boded well for the rest of the tournament. He did, however admit that the Boks had come into this global competition underdone.

It was always the plan of Peter de Villiers and his coaching staff to prepare the Boks to peak in the play-offs, but they would have identified a semi-final showdown against the All Blacks as their defining moment. Going by how the Boks fared in the Tri-Nations and in the Pool D opener against Wales, not to mention their rotten run with injuries, it was always going to be a tough ask.

Had Ireland lost to the Wallabies and faced the Boks in the quarter-final, they would have provided stiff opposition, particularly at the set-piece. The pool matches were initially targeted by De Villiers as an opportunity for his best side to gel as a collective, and the Ireland clash would have been viewed as more a dress rehearsal for the showdown with the All Blacks than anything else.

I don’t think the Boks would have taken the Irish lightly, but they would have backed themselves to beat Declan Kidney’s men and take some confidence into the all-important clash with New Zealand. They would have continued to build in that match and sharpen a few areas before the crunch semi-final at Eden Park.

But Ireland’s victory will force them into an early meeting with Australia. There shouldn’t be a lot of confidence in the Boks at this stage considering their struggles for collective form. Injuries have also contributed to the battle for synergy and the fielding of their best side, as while they hammered Fiji last week four senior players missed the game and only two of the preferred combinations, the halfbacks and back row, started.

De Villiers will make a number of changes again for the match against Namibia, and will recall his first-choice players for the final pool clash against Samoa. This will be the Bok first-string’s last opportunity to improve as a collective before the play-offs.

Muir said that the Boks’ came into the tournament underdone, and that the game against Fiji was a step in the right direction. But can the Boks make sufficient strides before meeting a team of real substance?

Their last defeat to Australia (in Durban) was blamed on a lack of game time, and it wouldn’t surprise to hear that self same excuse rolled out following another defeat to the Wallabies. The significant difference is that one defeat would have resulted in nothing but wounded pride, while the next would have resulted in the Boks’ exit from the tournament.

The Wallabies have beaten the Boks seven times in 11 matches since De Villiers’s tenure began back in 2008. Despite their recent defeat to Ireland, they will fancy themselves to down the Boks again, and their cause should be aided by the return of players like Digby Ioane, Stephen Moore and the Boks’ nemesis, David Pocock.

It is by no means a forgone conclusion, but the odds are heavily stacked against this Bok team. As their own coaches and players suggest, the best players have not enjoyed sufficient game time and they are yet to click as a unit. Their time to prepare and build continuity has been cut by as much as a week, and judging by their recent showings and injury-effect circumstances, they may struggle to produce a collective performance capable of upsetting a Wallabies side with established combinations, confidence and momentum.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

281 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.Brads: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-197:
    You may be right and Guildford hasn’t got a BMT, but that is some leap in logic to suggest this is due to him being under the influence.

• 202.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-197: no, guilford is the most industrious of ALL those wings, GH needs guilford to fire :D

• 203.Johan_Goosen_best_nr10_the_world_will_ever_see: Reply to this comment

he probably klaps his chick/or boyfriend around while drinking! there is more to this story!!

• 204.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-161: Something is just not right about dwarf tossing. Surely it’s offensive to the dwarf community.

• 205.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-202: Guilford alsi runs such nice lines and has great support play.

• 206.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brads: I was being facetious, however, the fact that he resorts to the bottle, after a poor game is not an encouraging sign, I’d leave him out. He’s done poorly in the tight matches, I’ve no confidence in him.

• 207.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-193:

Yeah young Chadwick was very poor,as an Westville old Boy myself it was dissapointing..His mobility before was his strongest feature & ball carrying as a junior…Seems to have been diluted somewhat for the scrumming facet of prop play.His skills were abysmal.But he is still a laaitie,but I dont know how he ursurped Sandile Nhlapo in the first place though….

Can forgive the young ones in Hoffman/Sithole-have huge futures ahead of them.But the oldies are supposed to be experienced and bring about higher standard of play for squad as a collective.

Our locks are very very poor,the 2 DHS old boys are very very average to be kind…They make Ross Skeate look like a superstar.

Time to blood likes of Jordaan,Nhlapo,Mthembu…

Oh Luzuko Vulindlu has also been released by the Sharks,left for France yesterday,joining Toulouse on a short term contract till May.Another young midfielder lost for shi*t like Terblanche,Joubert,Bosman etc

• 208.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Transie: guildford does not fire in the crunch matches, he looks decidedly shaky, besides there’s Kahui, Jane, SBW, toeava, and Dagg who can cover wing. Guildford was just a bad choice that’s all.

• 209.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Lilly

Sadly the dwarf community has a small voice.

• 210.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-207: eish boet sad to see , and i agree time to use the future super stars

blood them for next year, lete them get the taste of the big time

• 211.Brads: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-204:
    Friend of mine ran a bar in London years ago and put on entertainment like dwarf tossing.

The people who really lost out when the PC brigade stepped in and stopped the activity were the dwarf stunt actors.

The stunt actors themselves were lining up to take part.

• 212.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-209:
    haha

• 213.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-204: i agree. I mean, how could they stoop so low!!??

• 214.Brads: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-206:
    I agree somewhat.

His poor performances have dove tailed with a poor performance by the team he has been playing in. He has never shone when those around him have been struggling.

I suppose it is a bit hard to spark things from the wing, but when things are going bad and all you can do is contribute toward the mess that is going on, then what value are you.

• 215.frunobulax: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-69: And hurled profanity at me for and hour and half for knowing nothing about rugby, and allegedly being a racist imperialist secret supporter of apartheid incapable of giving the “flat nose” coach credit.

• 216.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-211:

Blood them now i say. Plumtree has already said we wont win currie Cup,so develop now. Everyone was laughing at the Bulls but they are gearing up a head of steam now.Likes of Greyling,Flip,Jacques Potgieter,CJ Stander,Frans Venter,Arno Botha etc stepping up.While Sharks play oldies.

My Sharks XV

1.Nhlapo 2.Burden 3.van Staden 4.Bresler 5.Skeate 6.Daniel 7.Coetzee 8.Deysel 9.Hoffman 10.Michalak 11.Sithole 12.Jordaan 13.Jacobs 14.Mvovo 15.JLP

16.Cooper 17.Chadwick 18.Marais 19.Mthembu 20.Cronje 21.Lindeque 22.Ludik

• 217.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Apparently keo was there in the pub too. And one of the English forwards (I think it was the bearded fella) mistook him for part of the venue entertainment and flung him a good six or seven meters.

It took a lot of apologising and explaining to defuse the situation. Particularly after keo told his t0sser in no uncertain terms “I am not happy”. To which the brute replied, “Oh, which one are you then?”

• 218.Brads: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-216:

I assume you clicked on the wrong comment and meant this one:-

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-210:

• 219.Johan_Goosen_best_nr10_the_world_will_ever_see: Reply to this comment

marsupalami blood youngsters then you pick Adi? even van Staden is faster than ADi … Adi had his days …!

• 220.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-213:

Sometimes you have to be the bigger peron.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:

Grumpy I should imagine.

• 221.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-220: :)

• 222.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-209: @Brads(Brads)-211: :lol: I know some people consider it funny and entertaining, but these are people we are talking about. I’m just not comfortable with it.

• 223.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-213: :lol:

• 224.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Johan_Goosen_best_nr10_the_world_will_ever_see(p0ppa69)-219:

Adi still has a role to play at Sharks and is younger than both Terblanche & Joubert-better player too. Plus playing a rookie midfield altogether is risky thats why I put Lindeque on bench.

There are enougy youngsters in that team for fresh energy.no need for overload though otherwise team will lose direction somewhat.

• 225.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Speaking of little people, did you read in the weekend papers about the midget psychic who escaped from Polsmoor?

I just saw the headline: Small medium at large.

• 226.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-218:

Yeah my bad.

guess Guilford is definitely going to be Frano Botica of 2011 squad….Boozing..dissapointing, seems to be a big problem amongst the Antipodean youngsters.

• 227.Bod: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:

Ahhhhhh…. finally some form at last I see!!

I was wondering when someone would comment on that stupid looking Pom prop with the beard that makes Gunther look like Brad Pitt

• 228.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-225: He he he he

• 229.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brads: agreed! In a final or semi situation, it’s those guys when chips are down who through industry and x factor assist in reversing the status quo not going into their shells.

• 230.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-227: That Pom’s beard is just made of the off-cuts of Canadian Kleeburger’s chinrug. I reckon he and Josh Strauss should have a deciding beard-off some time soon.

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217: :lol:

• 232.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-89: You, my son, pointed out sweetfarkall… Selections you criticised as been “too slow” for Fiji before the game such as Ndungane, Steyn, Lambie, Alberts all excelled. Nice having a crystal ball whose pre match “predictions” always change in hindsight… Farken prat.

• 233.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-222:

Quite right lilly.

That’s very big of you.

I for one feel bad for hurting their tiny feelings.

• 234.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Jon – were we watching the same game? Boks are now STARTING TO PEAK – any fool can see that; Fiji captain – who was on the receiving end says they are the team to beat now – and Australia will be a lot more worried about us than we will be about them.

For all the lead writers on this blog the glass is always half-full – my cousin tells me that despite top running side Fiji restricted to 3 points “Boks weren’t tackling” and Ryan – despite 49 points on board “Boks lack killer instinct” – when anybody could see it was heroic defence from Fiji that prevented the score being +70 … and now Jon saying they are undercooked …

I give up … let me tell you the whole nation of NZ is suddenly quite worried and that tension will be transmitted to the All Blacks … and traditionally they are not very good at handling it …

Go Bokke – Saturday proved you’ve arrived – Frans Steyn is sensational and Sean Fitzpatrick says he would pick Bismarck first and only in World XV and then select the rest around him … we’re in with a great shot now and will cull the Aussies for sure, no question about it.

• 235.Bod: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-230:

The Canadian and your Lions buddy are ok because their tashes half suite them, unlike the Pom who looks like Humpty Dumpty with a lamb velcro’ed to his chin.

• 236.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-235: A bit like your seat covers then?

• 237.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-102: :lol:

• 238.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-230:

Indeed I haven’t seen a. Muff like that since miss february 1968 showed us her wintercoat.

• 239.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-232:

I find this Shampoo charactor quite entertaining and am deeply offended that he has not sworn at me yet.

It seems as though it is an honour and priviledge to be verbally abused by him!

• 240.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-235:

Thats a bit rich coming from someone who drives a Tazz

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: Good points. The thing with Lambie at 15 reminds me of Fire and Ice.

Rolls Royce Jouba was Ice. Christian Cullen was Fire.

F Steyn is to an extent Fire along with Aplon – full fire. However Lambie is pure Ice.

It comes down to preference: What do you prefer as the last line of defence or 1st point of counterattack: Fire or Ice?

• 242.Staal: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217: :lol:

• 243.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-240: huh? :lol:

• 244.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-162: Great way to talk to a woman, twat…. especially from the hypocrite fool who has lots to say about posters giving some stick straight back to your “Jean D’arc”… :lol:

• 245.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-236:

Sadly bod was unable to take his 1984 280 SL with him to spain.

Fortunately he has secured very decent terms on a Seat ibiza with subwoofers the size of portugal.

• 246.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-240: A lot has changed since you decided to grow your toenails, write agricultural poetry and meditate in a Spanish cave. For one, we now have nine provinces and eleven languages. How’s that for a mind fck?

• 247.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Lord Finklesnoot of Dumfriesshire(bulsemoer)-176: Bows down…

Schweet.

• 248.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-243:

Got it a bit wrong…. the post should have been directed back to my Toyota Tazz driven kitten buddy

• 249.frunobulax: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-171: Please don’t… I’d hate to have to agree with you on something.

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-239: Simple. You must have either: An opinion, at least half a brain, point out obvious hypocrisy and/or have a different but valid point of view….

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.