Boks must now climb Everest

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says a Bok win in a possible quarter-final against the Wallabies would come as a surprise.

Ireland turned the predictability of the World Cup play-offs upside down, but for all the new found hope among South African supporters I can’t see the Boks doing the same thing.

A week ago the Boks were rubbish, according to those on the social network. Once again they are a superpower.

There is no middle ground when it comes to South African rugby supporters – and may it never change. That kind of passion can’t be learned, but with blind faith comes inevitable disappointment when the obvious comes as a real shock. Remember how many were actually stunned when the All Blacks beat a second-string Bok XV 40-7 earlier this year? Too many.

On matters specific to the win against Fiji and the surge in confidence, Frans Steyn reveled in the midfield and the Springboks, apparently by their own admission, did a similar thing in playing the situation and not relying on a pre-match PowerPoint presentation of how to beat Fiji.

Bok lock Danie Rossouw admitted afterwards that it was never the plan for the Boks to be as bold and extravagant and added it showed the Boks could be more than boring.

There is a difference between clueless and boring. The Boks for too long have been clueless and, against better teams, who play with more structure in defence and more precision and aggression at the breakdown, it has been their undoing.

In Wellington, against inferior opposition, the Boks showed the immense individual talent of South African players. Francois Steyn was world class, Rossouw was ferocious and skilled and Heinrich Brussouw, Jaque Fourie, Bismarck du Plessis and Francois Hougaard were as good as they were in week one against Wales.

And never forget Schalk Burger. He is always worth two players. It was fun to watch, fun for the players to be a part of and a shift from the toil and hardship of the Tri Nations. It was a necessary and decisive hit out for the Boks against a team with the odd quality individual, but little collectively.

It is difficult to get too enthused about whipping Fiji and those doing cartwheels because the Boks scored six tries and scored 49 points against a team that conceded 25 to Namibia not only insult the pedigree of the Boks, but also miss the point. Nothing out of the ordinary happened in Wellington.

Fortunately captain John Smit wasn’t one of them and he said the most pleasing aspect was the Boks kept the Fijians tryless, albeit with a bit of help from the Islanders who self-destructed on attack and were never in the match defensively.

Fiji were good in the 2007 World Cup, but only three of the side that beat Wales to advance to the quarter-finals fronted the Boks in Wellington. Get excited that the Boks were willing to back their natural talent and instincts, but don’t get excited that Fiji represent anything in the context of winning this World Cup.

Ireland’s amazing victory against Australia in Auckland was more significant for the Boks than brushing aside Fiji. Every South African loves seeing Australia lose, but it was not the result the Boks would have expected or wanted.

Sure players have to back themselves to beat anyone to win this tournament but every Bok would rather entertain the prospect of Ireland in a quarter-final than an Australian side already taught a lesson in this tournament.

Jake White’s winning 2007 World Cup squad did not get to play Australia, New Zealand or France, but there hasn’t been similar good fortune for Peter de Villiers and there is no tougher assignment than having to beat Australia, probably New Zealand and possibly France in successive weekends in New Zealand. If the Boks negotiate those three mountains they will have scaled rugby’s Everest and it will rank as the greatest ever Bok achievement.

I can’t see it happening and it would be a surprise for the Boks to beat the Tri-Nations champions in the play-offs, if indeed this match-up takes place. As it stands it should with South Africa and Ireland the favourites to win their respective groups.

The Boks, like their supporters, will always have confidence and never be found wanting for self belief, but the reality is Australia has beaten South Africa four of the last five matches, including two in South Africa.

They are also on a three-match winning streak against the Boks and the match will be in Wellington and not at Eden Park – a ground that seems to scramble with the Australian minds as much as Ellis Park does those of the All Blacks.

Ireland’s win, brilliant to watch, exposed the lack of depth in the Australian pack and for the Wallabies to succeed flanker David Pocock and hooker Steven Moore have to be starting.

It makes for a fascinating next three weeks. The Boks will humiliate Namibia and get more than a few bruises against Samoa.

Australia is a different beast and they’re a side that has troubled South Africa even more than the All Blacks.

No matter what anyone may say and despite all the bravado among South Africa’s support base these are more nervous times for South Africa, as defending champion, than Australia as a potential champion.

330 Comments

• 1.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

We want to beat ABs: France
    TOBY ROBSON
    Last updated 13:54 19/09/2011

French coach Marc Lievremont has dismissed a suggestion his side would not care if they lost their match against the All Blacks because it would give them an easier path through to the World Cup final.
    It remains to be seen whether France will name their strongest side for next Saturday’s much-awaited Pool D crunch match against the host nation at Eden Park, but Lievremont made it clear whichever team was selected would do all it could to win.

“What are you saying? Are you saying we should lose against the All Blacks on purpose?” he said, after a French journalist asked if Australia’s 15-6 Pool C loss to Ireland had changed his thinking on the team to face the hosts.

A day after walking out on a press conference, Lievremont continued an apparent disdain for his own media mocking the notion that his side would not try to beat New Zealand.

“If we lose it might be easier, but then again the All Blacks might have exactly the same assessment as us, so they might want to lose against us,” he said.

“With matches ahead against the All Blacks and Tonga I don’t think we are going to start these games thinking we are going to lose, that certainly is not an option.”

He said there was no way of knowing how other results would go and thus impossible to design a favourable path through the knockout stages after just two pool games regardless of results so far.

“We have had a surprise with Ireland, but there might be other surprises as well. Anyway it would not be in the spirit of rugby thinking we might lose it [on purpose].”

Lievremont made the comments after France’s 46-19 win over Canada at McLean Park where he was clearly more pleased with the four-try effort than the scratchy first-up win over Japan a week earlier.

“I’m happy. I’m not going to be unhappy after every match,” he said.

“Today we have ten [competition] points and we can now start the week ahead serenely and prepare for the match ahead of us.

“Of course last week I was annoyed and I said so, but now we need to be confident and prepare for next week.”

Though his side lacked accuracy and purpose early on against Canada, Lievremont was pleased with the way they had stuck to the task and finished strongly in difficult, wet conditions.

There was a hat-trick of tries to right wing Vincent Clerc and a brilliant 50-metre effort from fullback Damien Traille, but France looked unconvincing for much of the test. They were up just 25-19 with 15 minutes to play in a scoreline that could have been closer but for three missed penalties by fullback James Pritchard.

But wing Aurelien Rougerie, sipping a Heinken at the post-match conference, said the players had taken plenty of confidence from the match and had remained calm thorughout.

The French line-up against Canada contained 11 changes to the one that started against Japan, but several players put their hands up with strong performances.

No 8 Louis Picamoles was a force with ball in hand, halfback Morgan Parra showed his worth as a kicker in landing nine shots at goal for a personal haul of 23 points, and Traille had some strong moments at fullback.

One thing that seemed clear was the scrum improved when Fabien Barcella came on to the field early in the second half.

For all that it remains unclear whether Lievremont will continue to tinker, or as the All Blacks are expected to do, name his strongest line-up.

Meanwhile, Canadian coach Kieran Crowley has repeated his call for more regular top-level test matches for tier-two countries.

He felt the difference against France was his players’ inability to maintain their intensity for the entirety of a match few would argue was a highly competitive affair.

- Stuff

• 2.ufo: Reply to this comment

Chances are we had to climb Everest anyway… We could’ve met Aus in the final… now we’ll meet them earlier than that…

i agree with mshiniwami… Far better to win the wc cup beating the BIG NAME teams along the way…!

Go Bokke!

• 3.Staal: Reply to this comment

8848m is not to high for us boks…. :lol:

• 4.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Not like the easy downhill run the Boks fluked in 2007…

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-2: if at all possible i don’t mind winning WC11 against Georgia… a win is a win! :lol:

• 6.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-5:

Neither would I bud… neither would I… :lol:

• 7.race of tan: Reply to this comment

The Boks can beat the Ozzies by putting Frans Steyn at 12, he got our entire backline running again. JDV is the problem in the Bok backline. Maybe PDV could move JDV to the wing the JPP to full back!!! But we need Frans Steyn at 12 , the Boks looked very comfortable and even Morne Steyn made a few line breaks.

Come on Boks we can beat these Ozzies!!

• 8.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Of course, if the Boks deliberately chucked the game against Samoa, they’d be back on the gentle side of the draw again….. Will the Hansie Cronje mentality come through again?

• 9.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

the wobblies will feel the fatigue factor in the coming weeks.

and they are not quite as flash as keo would have everyone believe.

smashed by the kiwis 2 months ago and beaten by the irish 2 days ago.

oh…..and the irish were on ,like, a how many game and year losing steak againstr the wobblies?

nope, boks are being underestimated. that;’s cool with me.

• 10.Kitchener: Reply to this comment

Let’s be honest, chaps, there’s no real change here . . . a Steroid-Bok win over the Boggies in the quarters would have been just as much of a surprise as a Steroid-Bok win over the Shackledraggers.

I’ll definitely be supporting Australia to beat South Africa and New Zealand because I want them in the final . . . the Wallabies may be the Champions of the Southern Hemisphere but they have become England’s bunnies in the last few years.

One more thing . . . the hugely overrated plodder Skulk Burger might be “worth two players” . . . but only if those two players happen to be Laurel and Hardy!

• 11.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Tac – The Big Somaons may just beat us anyway, they are playing very well!
    However the Boks are peaking RIGHT NOW. When the Boks can replace Matfield wiht Rousouw and he wins man of the match, one knows all is well in the Bok camp. I just hope PDV keeps F Steyn at 12 and moves JDV to the wing!!

• 12.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Kitchener – The Ozzie confidence has been smashed, i dont think they will be a threat now!! However i still would never right them off!!

This Ozzie team is a very unlikable team unlike the great Ozzie team of the Noughties, that was a gentleman team and very well liked!!

• 13.rangerman: Reply to this comment

“But wing Aurelien Rougerie, sipping a Heinken at the post-match conference, said the players had taken plenty of confidence from the match and had remained calm thorughout.”

and this is why we love the french.

• 14.Train: Reply to this comment

One other things that the Boks will have learnt from Saturday is that Frans Steyn has to play inside centre and Hougaard is better that Habana and should start.

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-12:

Most likeable Aussie team is IMO the one that won the WC under Nick Farr-Jones… a real gentleman, great leader and thoroughly good guy…!!

• 16.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Everest part of the training programme now?

• 17.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-16:

Kamp BergTrap…! :shock:

• 18.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Train – THank God you agree. WIth F Steyn at 12 the Boks are 100 times better than with bash ball JDV. JDV on the wing is better with JPP at fuilback. Hougie is incredible, the man has mean BMT and oodles of skill1!!

• 19.Staal: Reply to this comment

partykeer is dit regtig moeilik om selfbeheersing hier toe te pas.!

• 20.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-18: hougie will be used to inject fire in the last 30 mins, as will biz probably.

the beast proved he can have a massive impact too.

i would prefer lambie at fullback and frans at 12 but then jdv drops out of the squad, jdj on the bench (covers 12 and 13) and gio too.

but will divvy ever leave jdv out of his 22? i think not sadly.

• 21.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

All the media here and abroad since Ireland’s win has been about how it complicates Aus’ road to the final with them having to beat the Boks amper so asof dit ‘n uitgemaakte saak is.

As I see it, if the French were to play their best team this weekend they could take the All Blacks. But they won’t since a loss to NZ will give them an easier road to a potential final.

The Boks are in pole position as far as preparation is concerned. We’ll deal with whatever draw we’re given.

Aus WC is done while NZ is still tinkering. If they put SBW on the wing in a knockout match vs SA there’ll be flower bombs coming down on his head the whole night.

• 22.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

When gods become men
    Luke Alfred | 18 September, 2011 01:06
    It’s a curiously poignant process, watching a team become a shadow of their former selves. As a fan, you become strangely jammed, hoping, on the one hand, that they succeed, despite evidence to the contrary; on the other, knowing that the march of time is irreversibly clarifying. Time marks you, and despite yesterday’s handsome 49-3 win against a weak Fiji, it has marked the Springboks in New Zealand unmistakably.
    Normally teams are able to arrest decline by succession planning and a degree of coaching courage. But unlike, say, Wallabies coach Robbie Deans, who dropped Matt Giteau before the competition, the Bok coaching staff have failed the bravery test.
    Coach Peter de Villiers has become increasingly convoluted in justifying his support for his captain, John Smit, who threatens to pervert his legacy by sheer bloody-mindedness. Bismarck du Plessis is a hungrier, more confrontational player, a human wrecking ball; Smit is a drowning man clinging to the increasingly tattered shreds of his reputation.
    The justification for Smit’s continued inclusion is that he melds and moulds, unifies and leads. But elite sportsmen are notoriously sensitive to sporting imperfection, and Smit’s outstanding leadership abilities are being compromised by his on-field failings. His authority ultimately derives from his ability as a player. When that ability is compromised, so is his natural authority.
    At a certain level, then, what we are witnessing from afar with the Boks in New Zealand is a human drama. It is the universal drama of man’s pitched battle with time. It might be more. What we might see develop over the coming weeks is a fully fledged tragedy. It is the tragedy of heroes allowing their hubris – roughly defined as an excess of arrogance and pride – to compromise their good sense, and it is playing out on sport’s greatest stage – a World Cup.
    We all allow hubris to compromise good sense. And we all allow hubris to compromise sense, because we are human beings and are prey to the failings of vanity, what the American novelist Philip Roth has called the human stain.
    But our dramas are small, suburban, domestic, private, played out in the head, the kitchen, the bedroom, the car. The national rugby side play out their drama on an infinitely larger stage. It is a stage we all see when we turn on our televisions, a stage that encourages us to all have opinions and a stage that is managed to a surely unpalatable degree by SuperSport, who, more than any other institution in this country, have shaped the cosy, self-regarding realm of what passes for rugby debate in this country.
    If all of this reads like the perverse scratchings of a frustrated, desk-bound hack, take a look at the videos of Fourie du Preez from the 2007 World Cup in France. Here is a player in his natural element in the way a fish belongs in water. He is not only quick-witted, but fleet of foot and smart of hand. In the quarter-final against England, he went round the opposition, he conducted the game. He was confident enough in his body to commit to 50-50 balls. Even with the virtue of hindsight, it’s apparent that Du Preez was playing the game in a dimension no one else was playing in that day in Paris. He was a rugby god, a rarecase of a sportsman completely at one with his talent.
    The Du Preez of the recent Super 15 season was a player petulant and frustrated by turns, someone who spent more time than he should bickering with the referee. His performance against Wales last Sunday was that of a man who has found his lust for the game progressively beaten out of him.
    With him, we are not simply watching a player at odds with his form, where he and that form will be reconciled like estranged partners in a troubled marriage. Du Preez has been playing this kind of rugby for months. To pervert for a moment the title of Milan Kundera’s wonderful book, what we’re seeing in New Zealand is the unbearable pathos of being Fourie du Preez.
    Du Preez and Smit and Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Bryan Habana have just been doing what they’ve been doing for too long to take the punishment any more. Experience has transformed itself into a deadweight, more stubbornness and obstinacy than wisdom. Indeed, you begin to suspect a strange collusion between the senior players and the coaching staff, one which will end in disappointment and possible humiliation come the latter stages of the competition.
    When there is good reason to be bold, De Villiers seems petrified of making an important decision. Perhaps he’ll do something unspeakably brave and bring Gio Aplon off the bench in the 71st minute against Samoa.
    Haven’t the younger, less battered players been wonderful this World Cup? The Heinrich Brussows, the Francois Hougaards, the Frans Steyns? This is also part of the current Bok problem: that there seem to be different degrees of hunger in the side.
    While the younger men are playing rugby with a brio and sense of freedom and personal expression that can be felt thousands of miles away, the older generation are merely going through their lines, pros who have gone through the mind-numbing boredom of doing Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap on the Charing Cross Road one time too many.
    There is a possible corrective to all of this. There are tales of teams discovering themselves during a World Cup, of realising, as the French did in the 2006 soccer World Cup, that they had experienced a rare degree of luck in getting to the knockout stages, so it was time to galvanise themselves. Before meeting Italy in the 2006 final in Germany, remember, France beat Spain and Brazil, two of the pre-competition favourites.
    This might happen with the Boks. We hope it will. We hope matters move along speedily to late-night meetings behind closed doors, with some brave and far-sighted player or member of the coaching team ready to remedy what everyone privately acknowledges. Unfortunately, all the indications are that the Springbok defence of their crown is living on borrowed time, a campaign managed by a confederacy of dunces.

• 23.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

JdV must be dropped from the squad. Play F. Steyn at 12 with Petersen/Hougaart the wings and Lambie at fullback. How can anyone think to put JdV at wing? He is too slow!!

• 24.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-20: I’m with you on that. I can’t believe I am saying it, but after what i saw on Saturday I’d keep Steyn at 12. He did a great job,

• 25.gecko: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4: Or NZ in ’87. The easiest of the lot.

• 26.ufo: Reply to this comment

And wouldn’t Deans have loved a couple of ‘old heads’ (Gits and Sharpe) against Ireland to keep the young guns calm and believing they could still win…?

Rather than Div failing the bravery test… Deans failed the stoopidity test…

Just ask Nick Mallet and Graham Henry… You don’t drop your stalwarts just before a world cup…

rather win and fail a ‘bravery test’… than pass the ‘bravery test’ and lose…

#justsaying…

• 27.Train: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-20: Lambie at fullback, Steyn at 12 and Hougie on the wing. Jean on the bench with Butch to cover any backline substitutions. Neither Jean or Butch are impact players but they add value in experience (can close a game out) and versatile can cover all positions quite competently.

• 28.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-25: Australia, France, England…. they’re all there. And SA had exiled herself and weren’t.

• 29.Suidkapenaar: Reply to this comment

I would gladly contribute to repatriate Keo’s journos to Oz. Do they think that the Boks would not click into gear at some point?

• 30.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-22:

The author has it wrong, these gods will become immortalised icons of RWC.

JS is starting to hit the rucks hard and carrying the ball up more. You can see the confidence in his game growing.

Du Preez delivered speed ball at rucks while his decision making was brilliant, he made some knocks at the ruck but his accuracy is on the up.

Deans has got it wrong, he after 4 years in charge, is resembling his team – good but made to believe they’re better than what they’re actually are.

@ufo(ufo)-26:

Aus had their bravery test on the weekend, and failed.

• 31.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Kitchener(Kitchener)-10: You’re a funny old man in your old age, Kitch. But surely even your blissful dementia cannot mask the undeniable truth that England won’t get anywhere near that final. Let’s not lose sight of the fact that they lucked into a win over the Argies and then spluttered to a victory over mighty Georgia. The best TV bits from those matches were undoubtedly the scenes from the coaching box, where Johnson & Co’s bipolar swings between “fck me, that was almost a disaster” and “fck me, I’m glad that’s over” made for excellent viewing.

• 32.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

Why the hell is it all good that Ireland beat Australia but none of you can back us to do the same? One thing I will admit, is that the selections for that game will be more important than ever. If we proceed to use driftwood players like Bryan Hasbeena, or Jean de Whatsagap, then we will struggle. A lot.

BUT, if Frans Steyn stays at 12, Lambie stays at 15, Hougaard plays at 11, then Bismark and Alberts get introduced early, we will definitely beat Australia. If we manage to win the set-piece battle, as Ireland did, then why would there be any reason that we can’t down the Australians?

• 33.SexyTime: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-19:
    Hy irriteer die kak uit my uit.

• 34.race of tan: Reply to this comment

rangerman – Your right about Hougie he is such a great impact player!! However for the Ozzie match i would still go for JDV on the wing, too much experience there!!:-
    10 M Steyn
    11 JDV
    12 F Steyn
    13 J Fourie
    14 Habana
    15 JPP

With Hougie, Lambie on the bench!! MMM no room for Butch!!! Or Ruan!!!

• 35.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-32: Ofcourse the Boks could beat the Aussies no doubt! Hell, no one thought Ireland could do it, but they have. This is World Cup, anything can happen.

• 36.Helen: Reply to this comment

Ok, so Fra, SA, NZ all have reason to ‘throw’ a game.

Imagine both Fra and NZ try to throw a game. Watch how Richie stops on his way to a breakdown to tie his show laces and Mealamu tosses his lineout ball to the French flyhalf, who then kicks an up and under backwards with not a single kiwi following up the kick

• 37.gecko: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-28: You must have still been in SA in ’87. Probably why you refer to the country in the feminane.

’87 was a joke. One country took it seriously, the guys from the North were all on the piss.

Think carefully what you are saying, as NZ might only have to play one other Top 3 nation to win this trophy. Which means after you beat someone like Ireland etc in the final, you open yourself to all sort of comments.

2007, joke or not, is on record. On the shirt sleeve as such. Maybe you should concentrate on more important matter – like getting your trains running.

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

one day against wales rossouw is sshit and the next against a non-tackling fiji rossouw is the bizniz :D nc nc nc

just wait until we play teams that aren’t constantly fractured on defence and rossouw will be back in the dogbox coughing up possession at the first sign of contact.

• 39.Helen: Reply to this comment

SA have what it takes to win 3 in a row against the best in the world.

The Ausies, on the other hand, don’t seem to have this ability and their game plan is much more dependent on an injury free passage to the final.

The kiwis will have to overcome their chokers bogey three big games in a row. Also, a tall order for a team that is suddenly looking a bit average.

• 40.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Helen – There is no way in hell the All Blacks will throw a game. The media will crucify them! As Fitzie said last night on ITV1, it is all about building momentum going forward.
    HOw on earth England did last RWC God only Knows!!

• 41.Helen: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-34:

JDV would make a great sub instead.

Won’t mess with the team as it is now. Even Vic and Bakkies will have to play their way back into contention.

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-32: because most Bok fans were hoping for a cake walk a.la 2007 :D

this is the problem when in the 4 years preceding the world cup, people “accept” losing and mediocrity and use “we’ve got Bill” as a shield, without Bill we are going to be naked to criticism and that freaks most punters out.

i’m actually glad we are likely to face Aus & NZ. if we are to win this thing, let’s do it the hard way.

Go Big or Go Home.

• 43.Paws: Reply to this comment

Let’s keep some perspective. Even though I was expecting more from the opposition, it was only Fiji we beat.

Every Springbok looked good on the day .. always easy to do when you are dominating the set phases and having lots of go forward. Even players who go AWOL / do not perform to standard in the tight games when the opposition give as good as they get or even dominate in the forwards looked like they belonged there .. hell, even john smit looked like he was playing some rugby.

I just hope PdeV is smarter than I give him credit for and take this game for what it was.

What I did like to see was a very good defensive effort and a practical game plan that suited who the opposition was. On Sat morning I was giving Rassie some of the credit and wondering if his influence was starting to show.… that obviously just got blown out of the water after reading that the players seemed to have gone their own way.

Namibia will be a cake walk, and I’m glad that Wales beat Samoa because suddenly our game against Samoa has picked up in intensity which is what the Boks need before they face possibly Australia in the ¼’s (that is to say if Wales and Samoa win all there other games).

Do we have what it takes to beat Australia / Ireland (1/4’s), NZ / France (Semies), Eng / France / NZ (Final)? I have my doubts, especially when we are keeping passengers in the team at the expense of exceptional rugby players.

• 44.Helen: Reply to this comment

I’d like to hear Giteau’s comment on the Aus vs Ire game.

• 45.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Helen – On my word Danie Roussouw/Bakkies and Alberts were brilliant at locks, but Danie was the MAN. He seems to be getting better and better with age, what kind!!!

Yes maybe keep that line up, that was the best Bok display i have seen since 2009!! Yes it was against a hard tackling minnow team but when we beat a weakened Italy last year we didnt look as good either and we didnt keep Italy tryless!!

THe Boks are beginnig to peak at the right time!!!

• 46.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Keo’s just trying to protect his face from all the egg after saying the world cup was the Wallabies’ to lose.

Ireland shunted the Wallabies around. Ireland does not have a good scrum. The Boks on the other hand have one of the worlds best.

I stated time and time again that any team with a determined defensive system and a decent forward pack would send this Wallabie side packing. And I was right. Tries are their only way to get points. They have no kicker.

So for the Boks…

Lineouts, check.
    Scrums, check
    Breakdowns, check
    Kicker(s) that get the points 95% of the time, check
    ability to drop goal, check
    experience, check

Boks will fok the Wallabies, then fok the All Blacks and then fok the English.

• 47.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Helen – Gits should have been in the Ozzie squad, Robbie Deans to be fired after this RWC!!

• 48.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

“A week ago the Boks were rubbish, according to those on the social network. Once again they are a superpower.

There is no middle ground when it comes to South African rugby supporters – and may it never change. That kind of passion can’t be learned, but with blind faith comes inevitable disappointment when the obvious comes as a real shock. Remember how many were actually stunned when the All Blacks beat a second-string Bok XV 40-7 earlier this year? Too many.”

Rugby is in our blood which is why the average Saffa supporter is so emotional when it comes to the oval ball.

The same reason why a player can be a the saviour one week and **** the following week.

Rugby is a highly emotive topic in this country (which I have no problem with). However it does mean that sometime people can’t separate fact from feelings.

• 49.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-35:

I backed Ireland whole week to beat Aus.

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-32:

Aus RWC is over.

@Paws(Paws)-43:

Our passengers are starting to add their bit. JS/SPIES/HABANA/DU PREEZ will start all the big games.

I’m stating this so many times not because it’s my view but that’s what PDV has said is the plan, it’s starting to work and I find it strange that people are still calling for the supersubs to start. They won’t.

• 50.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

Well I for one think we are slowly improving, and might peak just at the right time. We lost to Aus in the first Tri Nations game, but we were much improved, and one could see that the players lacked game time. The next week we beat a second string New Zealand team, but we played convincing rugby, and any NZ team is hard to beat, regardless of the players selected.

We were not brilliant against Wales, but the Welsh threw everything they had at us. Much the same way Ireland threw everything at Australia. We managed to still grind out a win, against the best Welsh performance I have ever seen. Australia couldn’t manage to win a nailbiter against Ireland. Against Fiji, we did as was expected, but the POINT WAS, we DID do it! It’s not like it was a case of, yes but but but but… We played EXACTLY how we were supposed to against Fiji, and against Wales, we did EXACTLY what we had to to hole off a 70 minute onslaught.

We can only get better every week.

• 51.toby: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-39: It was only a few weeks ago the Boks were nearly beaten by Wales and against Fiji your your team only managed 49 points…**** our B team got 60 against them recently…Hardly anything to crow about…funny if All Blacks did that it would not be an improvement

• 52.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Paws – You say we need to play the youngens but look what happened to the Wallabies!!! No Gits no calming influence!!!
    Right now i cant see any passengers however lets reserve comments until after the game against Samoa!!

• 53.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-49:

I also backed Samoa to beat Wales like i said earlier, but unfortunately that static structured pick me up and drive slowly gameplan was useless, they effectively blew their shot at a RWC Semi vs NZ!

• 54.toby: Reply to this comment

If Boks had their 3 top line players out they would be bad also…same with All Blacks..I’m not writing off the Wobblies at all.

• 55.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-38:

Specially with that upright running of Danie. But luckily he won’t start come the knockouts, he’ll get driven back meters in the early exchanges which would put us on the backfoot and open to counters.

• 56.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@toby(toby)-54:

In a RWC match with that much on the line, the Boks would’ve had the ticker to pull through (our first match up vs a fired up Welsh side).

Of course losing any 3 key players when facing Aus or NZ, we’ll be on the losing side. Same with them if they had to face us with similiar circumstances.

• 57.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

And going back in the last few years and recent games between the two is silly.

2010 Brisbane – PdV selects a team as bad if not worse than the two Ricky Januarie sides that faced the All Blacks.

Spies, Kankowski and Burger were the loose trio in that game, for an example…. that is a piss weak trio and only one real player there. Totally different side to what will play in the 1/4s. No Rassie or Nien in the coaching box back in 2010. Olivier, Pienaar and Kirchner were still stinking up the joint.

Then you count the 2011 second string side and the Boks first proper game back in Durban.

This Wallabie side is too young and too g-ay. Wouldn’t put it past USA on coming close if not beating them.

• 58.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@toby(toby)-51:

Shut your suck machine, choker.

• 59.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-46:

Dont sommer agree with the delivery of the message,LOL BUT I agree WITH the message. Decent pack,set pieces, kicker,defense & kicker and you can take Wallabies. Plus while tricky their backs are lightweight-were held up multiple times by Ireland which was an awesome tactic-Cooper,Beale,Ashley Cooper,O’Connor…lightweights

They will be better with Pocock back though at breakdown so should improve there. Dont think Iaone will make it with a broken thumb.If he does itll be at a push and itll play on his mind-wont be at his powerful best.

Moore is better thrower than Polotu_nau but a poorer scrummager & ball carrier than him. McAlman & McCabe were pathetic as many predicted.

Meanwhile Boks are on the upward curve.And have a tougher pool thus will be well prepared..Wales/Fiji/Samoa

• 60.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

It was to be expected, I suppose. I did not see the game live, but when speaking to everyone about the game, they were in seventh heaven with the Boks’ performance. So, I decided to have a look at what they were raving about.

I still cannot find it. Fiji was pathetically poor. Are we now suddenly the cat’s whiskers because we beat them? A little perspective is needed here.
    Frans Steyn is now the answer at 12, but it was a case of him being made to shine by M Steyn. The latter ran straight on attack and distributed very well. But, then again, it was because he was allowed to do so by a defensive system that was waiting for us to run to them. The Welsh rushed up and to run straight at them and look for gaps in the backline demands a level of bravery and skill that I have not seen in M Steyn as yet.

So, in conclusion, the jury is still out in my mind about F Steyn’s performance at 12. He has played there against England, Samoa, Fiji, Tonga, Argentina and is yet to prove himself against the big boys. Thanks to Ireland, he will have to.

• 61.pierre: Reply to this comment

Keo, are you seriously going to spike the poor Wallabies’ chances with your trademark “Mark Keohane Poison Positive Prediction” twice in the same tournament? We all know by now that when you call it, so it won’t be. And you’ve already doomed the Wallabies to an early exit by predicting that the World Cup “is theirs to lose”. Why don’t you rather shift your focus to the Boks’ other probable opponents in the play-offs and tell us howbadly THEY are going to donner us?

• 62.Paws: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-49:

That is exactly the point and why I have my doubts. The ‘passengers’ will stay, and the rugby players will stay on the bench.

Guthro
    Bismark
    Jannie
    Vic
    Brussow
    Schalk
    FdeP
    M Steyn
    Hougard
    F Steyn
    Fourie
    JPP (personally think he is not good, but we can’t clone Hougard)
    Lambie

Beast, Chilly, Danie, Butch, De Jonge, ?, ?
    This team will improve our odds greatly, I’d say a good mix of experience and youth.

• 63.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@toby(toby)-51:

There is a difference between a who cares warm up game and a world cup pool match, little guy.

It wasn’t the scoreboard that was impressive anyway, it was the complete and utter domination on another physical side. When last did you see 3-4 tight head scrums? Certainly Ol’ Tony WoodCOCK has never done such a thing. So shut your jealous mouth.

• 64.Monty: Reply to this comment

Down here I will be cheering for a bok win in the quarter final. the ABs will then beat the Bok in the semi.
    The semi will be the true final.

The ABs will then go on the claim the trophy that isnthe destiny of Ritchie McCaw.

• 65.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-59:

Wonder who came up with that tactic of holding them up, Smal, our own Gert Smal?

• 66.conan wishes he was a springbok #4 locks girlfriend...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-16:
    everest is ALWAYS part of the training programme…

@Transformation(Transformation)-38:
    you’re starting to sound like ‘body on tap’ now, guy…

• 67.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Kobus Kitty – THe Boks struggled last year in 3N due to being over played. THis year we struggled in the 3N due to resting most of the 22. Howver on Saturday we can see the dividends of those 2 months off!! Trust me this win over Fiji is more important than you realise. ANd starting with Bizzie and Hougie is a mistake they are the perfect impact players for this RWC!!!

• 68.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-65:

Lol yeah I dont know but it sure was effective…Gert has done a great job with Irish forward pack…But his tenure at Stormers & Boks he failed with better ATHLETES to conjure up a dominant CONSISTENT pack….Countless times at Bok level we have to deal with mediocrity upfront especially never able to dominate Ozzies even under his tutelage. Never had a decent tighthead neither. Jannie is playing so much better,best TH since Visagie.

But he must be given his kudos with the Irish,hes done well.

• 69.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Paws(Paws)-62:

I actually back Div on this and it’s coming together oh so sweetly for him.

Look man, JS form is improving and he’ll be better the longer the tournament runs and trust me by QF he’ll be back to his inspirational best. And what team will be ready to deal with a firebreathing Bismarck after having to deal with a hard carrying/bruising defender in Smit?

Spies will get there, did you see the leg drive? He’s adapting his game pretty well and is starting to show signs of the form he had on EOYT2010. He, together with Alberts were the standouts of that tour.

Du Preez is also getting there, it was the speed of our breakdown and our carriers running from deep that sunk Fiji. As a team we’ll only get better at that.

Funny thing is that fans in Aus are saying the Boks will be tired because we are starting to run too much:-) After everyone has been telling us that defending is more energy sapping that attacking…

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT???

• 70.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-68:

And if I’m not mistaken the Irish and most of the 6Nations teams came into this tournament deliberately undone which has led me to believe Aus & NZ will be feeling it come the business end.

More so NZ’s forwards, although they’ve tried to be smart with resting key players such as Brad & Kaino in the run up.

Kaino is looking awesome, however i think Brad’s performances will start dropping considering the year he’s had with the Crusaders.

McCaw has had too little rugby and NZ just won’t admit he’s that he’s not that invisible man of 2010.

Reid’s injury has really put them back, but if he can do a Schalk and come back firing from the getgo he’ll lift their pack’s performance.

• 71.Brads: Reply to this comment

Ignore the 3N – this years comp was a travesty. We thought 2007 was bad when NZ jerked about with their team, this was so much worse.

Forget EOYT or mid YT results. The only teams that play it straight are the AB’s and occasionally the Aussies and Boks. These games are played at the end of each hemispheres season and mean nothing.

Football call them friendlies, we call them tests. They ceased to be that yonks ago.

The only guide is what is happening right here right now. Which team is humming, which team is not. Which team is carrying injuries and has back up, which haven’t.

What happened over the past 20 plus years is meaningless.

For starters, Ireland have until now never beaten Australia in RWC match and this was their 5th crack at it.

• 72.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-70:

should read underdone.

• 73.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-71:

You’re a NZ supporter yes?

How do you see the Boks shaping up from your perspective?

• 74.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Keo – you and your colleagues are going to be eating humble pie by the end of this rournament – were we watching the same game? Boks are now STARTING TO PEAK – any fool can see that; Fiji captain – who was on the receiving end says they are the team to beat now – and Australia will be a lot more worried about us than we will be about them.

For all the lead writers on this blog the glass is always half-full – my cousin tells me that despite top running side Fiji restricted to 3 points “Boks weren’t tackling” and Ryan – despite 49 points on board “Boks lack killer instinct” – when anybody could see it was heroic defence from Fiji that prevented the score being +70 … and now Jon saying they are undercooked … and you we have a mountain to climb …

I give up … let me tell you the whole nation of NZ is suddenly quite worried and that tension will be transmitted to the All Blacks … and traditionally they are not very good at handling it …

Go Bokke – Saturday proved you’ve arrived – Frans Steyn is sensational and Sean Fitzpatrick says he would pick Bismarck first and only in World XV and then select the rest around him … we’re in with a great shot now and will cull the Aussies for sure, no question about it.

• 75.race of tan: Reply to this comment

wpstormerbok – J Smit is improving big time!! I agree that J Smit should always start and then release Bissie!!! Also Hougie is turning into a supreme impact player. And yes finally Spies is beginning to shine!! AND FRANS STEYN IS THE REAL INSIDE CENTER!!!

• 76.RL: Reply to this comment

Keo, go to your hotel room loo get some toilet paper and wipe your mouth cause you are talking kak.

The convicts drew 6-6 in their first 40 against Italy and the Paddies. They are very very beatable and TO make matters worse for them their depth sucks – 3 first team players out and they lose to Ireland, 6 out and Samoa beats them.

Moer them up front and their show pony backs are interesting match observers … if by some miracle your chosen champions to be get to the final bet on the NH team to moer them up front … bet on it.

• 77.Cannon: Reply to this comment

“There is no middle ground when it comes to South African rugby supporters – and may it never change”…..this also starts with you the Jerno Keo, get on the bus brother.
    I can’t believe you have forgotten that we should have beaten the Aussies in Durban and outplayed them for 60 minutes of the test match, only to lose because the boys hadnt play in over a month.
    There is no rocket since to beating Australia, dominate the set pieces and it’s goodnight nurse. I think you are underestimating us and thats sad coming from a bok supporter. It’s almost like you want them to fail.

• 78.Cannon: Reply to this comment

I say bring on everest, it’s just big pile of rocks with fluffy snow on top.

• 79.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-75:

Amen to that. The way the Boks are set to come down on this tournament has me thinking of a PDV quote from a few years back. The one about all the k#k you have to get through to get from the pit to the palace.

We on our way to the palace right about now :-)

• 80.Helen: Reply to this comment

@toby(toby)-51:

Tubby, you have quite an aggressive edge to your comments.
    Is that the antidote for choking?

• 81.RL: Reply to this comment

Keo Bieber O’Connor can’t kick to save his life …. moer them watch their kicks go left and right of the uprights.

QC is even worse.

• 82.Cannon: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-74: Amen brother go and look at some of the kiwi Jerno sites. They are talking us up big time yet our Jerno’s are so negative. Piss’s me off!!!

• 83.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@Cannon(Cannon)-77: Well said Cannon – it is because he would hate to see PDivy achieving success. I think that is more the issue than anything else.

• 84.Cannon: Reply to this comment

@Gregs(Gregs)-83: Absolutely!!!!

• 85.Helen: Reply to this comment

If the last few weeks’ performance were to be placed on a graph, you’d see that the Boks are on an upward curve, aussies peaked 1 week before the cup and the kiwis 3 weeks before the cup.

• 86.Helen: Reply to this comment

Keo will still take credit if the Boks win, because after all, he got P Divvy the job, remember? So he’s covered all bases and can’t lose either way

The world really needs more people like keo.

• 87.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Well, on the upside, if the Boks manage to get past Aus they will have some great spirit and self belief. Which is what they would need for the All Blacks! Also, while the All Blacks should have a much easier quarter final, they will still be playing and getting tired and hurt and so on, it’s not like they have a bye.

So I almost think for us winning the WC cup Aus in the quarters has not harmed our chances. What it has done is increased our chances of going out in the quarters of course, but who cares, if they don’t win it I don’t mind if it’s semi’s or quarters.

• 88.Brads: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-73:
    Hard to say.

Logic says that that PdV is wasting talent on the bench that should be better used in the starting 15.

eg – Bismarck du Plessie and Hougaard. Question though, what is their role in the scheme of things. Would they be just as influential coming on at the start ratrher than as impact players.

Personally I think they are more valuable as impact players. The balance of the team looks better than if the roles of Smit v du Plessis and Habana v Hougaard were reversed.

As for the game plan, it is working, stick with it.

My only concern is injuries, just like for the AB’s. No team can afford them.

Imagine if the Boks lost both Steyns.

• 89.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Cannon(Cannon)-78: Bakkies doesn’t have to climb Everest, he just takes a few steps down and he’s there!

• 90.Paws: Reply to this comment

Why settle for a 20-25 min cameo / impact when those players can offer the same impact and intensity over an 80 min period?

Boggles my mind.

The first names currently on a Springbok team sheet should be Bismark, Brussow and Hougard

• 91.Cannon: Reply to this comment

I reckon Keo is a closet AB supporter and he sits with his Cape brothers at Newlands donning his “I love Richie Mcaw” T-shirt.

• 92.coma: Reply to this comment

Spies was rubbish against Fiji, hard to find any boks that had less running meters than him. We have been told for months to wait for this type of game to see his true potential – it never came.

Was he maybe doing all the tackling? Hehe, that would be funny. Alberts to take his spot and rotate with Burger. Flo to the bench.

Hougaard in for Ndugane, Matfield for Rossouw (replace Bakkies after 45min). The rest to stay “as is”.

Beast, Bissie, Rossouw, Aplon is enough power off the bench.

• 93.Cannon: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-89: Ha ha if the bakkies won’t go to the mountain, the mountain blerrie well will go to Bakkies.

• 94.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-89: Very, very smart. I agree with that :) – and then he sits down and craps all over everest (and keo).

• 95.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-88:

That’s the way PDV has settled, what use or impact would Habana and JS offer? Not much.

But with their form improving Div knows he can rely on them to subdue the opposition, and also in the fiery opening exchanges of a knockout match these players have seen it all, done it all and will keep a calm head whereas our young guns might be rattled by an inspired opponent from the start or a couple of decisions going against them.

@coma(coma)-92:

Won’t happen. Ndugane will fall out for Habana, the reason he started ahead of Hougie is because PDV wants to keep the impact of his bench.

Spies improved suffiencently against Fiji and he’ll be unsurprisingly surpringly you come QF.

• 96.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-95:
    damn the spelling!

But in all the selections wont change guys, no matter how many team sheets get posted. The management along with the experience of the seniors has chosen the route they feel will lead them to glory.

Bench players will be as much a part of our success as the starting line-up and after this weekend the players will trust in Div even more.

Just the calm way PDV and JS reacted at the post match conference, they know where they are in the journey and won’t allow the players to get ahead of themselves. Like Aus did :-)

• 97.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I think this article underestimates how good Ireland are as a team. There is also a SH bias against how well prepared and good a couple of 6N teams are looking in this WC. No, not France and England, but Ireland and Wales. I suspect if neither of Ireland and Wales slip up on an Italy or Fiji banana peel respectively it is one of them who will go all the way to make the final if things pan out to being a NH and SH subdivision in the knockouts.

Yes, you heard it here first – either Ireland or Wales to make the final – not France or England.

• 98.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

In the words of Bob Marley “The harder the battle the sweeter the victory”
    Yes Keo Bok Supporters are not Realist. We know that this is almost impossible to achieve but we do hope.
    But the victory at Ellis Park in 1995 against an AB’s side that had GREAT players was achieved.
    Slappes try in 1998 and Ricky’s in 2008 went against all odds.
    So I will always believe.

• 99.Paws: Reply to this comment

So, we can say this about PdeV tenure as a Bok coach:

2008 – Fail
    2009 – Pass
    2010 –Fail
    2011 – Currently a fail, if he wins the WC a pass.

Overall, if he does not win the WC a fail and generally an embarrassment to Springbok rugby.
    If he does win it, all will be forgive and he will be seen as a misunderstood (literally and figuratively speaking) rugby genius?

I personally hate how the WC is perceived as the Alpha and Omega of all things rugby.

• 100.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Ireland does not have the mental capacity to play 3 games like they did this weekend to lift the trophy.

France’s off-field issues and temperamental brain-farts during 80 minutes in a match will see them get badly punished by the top teams, starting this weekend.

The draw does now just about ensure a North/South RWC final. England, however **** I will not discount just yet.

What I found interesting in the Ireland game is they played a pressure type of games the Boks are known for – it is the blueprint to win a RWC.

The All Blacks lifting the Cup has just improved about 10-fold. I believe this final will be similar to the 1999 RWC.

But ja, let’s see if the French can lift themselves this weekend.

• 101.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Paws(Paws)-99: We beat the AB’s for the 1st time in 10 years in 2008 and only for the second time since readmission.

• 102.thefifthbeatle: Reply to this comment

Adolescent; but still is d@mn funny! sorry if have seen before.

Bakkies Botha is so sterk, hy kan ‘n bladsy uit facebook uit skeur

Bakkies Botha bel nie die verkeerde nommer nie, jy antwoord die verkeerde foon

Bakkies Botha doesn’t flush the toilet, he scares the sh*t out of it

Death once had a near-Bakkies Botha experience

Bakkies Botha doesn’t need a GPS. Bakkies Botha decides where he is.

Bakkies Botha can tweet from a pay phone

Toe Alexander Graham Bell die foon ontwerp het, was daar reeds 3 missed calls van Bakkies Botha af

The Vredefort dome was not created by a meteorite, Bakkies Botha decided to put
    his foot down

Die enigste tyd wat Bakkies rustig raak is as Riaan die nuus lees om 7

Wanneer Bakkies melk op sy rice crispies gooi, bly hulle tjoep f*kken stil

Die eerste ding wat Bakkies doen wanneer hy by die see aankom, is om twee
    lengtes te swem

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

It could just be a good thing we face Oz in the quarter and not Ireland. We just may have underestimated Ireland. We will never underestimate Australia. Boks will be ready.

If Pocock or Moore is not back for Oz they will be in trouble against the Boks. Even if they are back I feel we can beat Oz in the quarters. We should have beaten Oz in Durban by plenty. Only very basics cost us. Handling errors was the biggest problem that day. Had we just held onto the ball we could and should have got a few tries against Oz. Cause all those handling errors was just about on their line. Also if Beast and Fourie passed we would almost definitely crossed their line. So tidy that up and we should have the beating of them.

Really feel we could beat Oz. But to face NZ after a very hard especially that it will come after playing two tough games two weeks in a row. Just have to hope for no injuries. But feel we have the team to do it.

We Boks supporters know well that it was only Fiji we beat on Saturday, it was the way we played that will give the players so much confidence. Confidence is what the players need right now and that game gave it to us. Just showed if we keep possession we can also play a brilliant attacking game. If we have to play the kick and chase and do it to perfection, no other team in world rugby can play it better than us.

So there we have it. We can vary it up if we have too. Just need to select right. Frans Steyn is absolutely awesome at inside centre. He has to start there no question. Danie was brilliant on Saturday. So even if we don’t have Victor back we know what we have in Danie. Actually never thought any of our players besides Bekker could play better than Matfield. Danie did and he was immense. Even Morne Steyn was great. Never thought I would say that, but Morne played very well on Saturday. The whole team did. We played as a team. Every player put their hand up and done well. Only player that needs game time is Ruan. He was not up to it. He needs to get game time this week against Nambia.

If we don’t pick up any more injuries I think we can go all the way.

Go Bokke. Just believe and it can happen. Stay positive.

• 104.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-100:

Agree regarding Ireland. The AB’s are still fiddling with selections and if they try SBW on the wing in a do or die vs the Boks they’ll be in deep trouble.

Can you see Australia doing a 3 on the trot? Can you see the Boks doing it?

I truely believe we’ll bully Aus into submission and kill off their title ambitions when our bench arrives.

And if the AB’s don’t settle on combo’s we’ll bully them as well.

• 105.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: Sorry 3rd paragraph.

Should read – But to face NZ after a very hard game.

• 106.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103:

I don’t see why Aus would be that physically taxing in this QF, their performances are steadily declining and they’ll just have to field their best pack these next two games. They can’t rest Pocock, Genia or Cooper because their media won’t allow it.

Whereas the Boks WILL field our best packs because we came into the Cup deliberately undercooked therefor our performance is still improving.

• 107.Just For Kicks: Reply to this comment

Yawn Keo, you and Ryan really are the epitome of what every rugby fan isn’t – a supporter who backs his own team to win. Your negativity is unquestionable, and you really should be remembered for that. I have seen very little, if any bloggers stating that the boks ‘are a superpower’ again. It is you and your sniveling one trick pony’s that have come up with that. Every blogger is, however extremely upbeat about what they saw on Saturday, and may well believe that our chances have improved after seeing that match. Whether Fiji (who ran us close last WC) were a team ranked in the top 5 or in the mid teens, makes little difference to the fact that it was a hugely improved performance by the boks, and we love watching such rugby.

Somehow, you need to, just for a bit, start watching rugby with your heart again. In your head it has turned you into a bitter and twisted person who thinks the only way to get readership is with the constant barrage of negative comments. Loosen up old chap, take a leaf out of all the other world journo’s books out there. Support the boks, write good things when they do well, and constructive things when they don’t. It’s a common trend among the other journo’s, and what is more they have a decent group of readers too!!!

Last WC we had the easy road to the final. This time it may be more challenging, but imagine the glory, Keo, if we get there. We will, I have no doubt of that. Lets not think about how, why, or when we are going to lose the WC, lets cross that bridge if we come to it rather. Lighten up Keo, the traffic cop did!

• 108.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103:

Don’t think Ruan will be part of the big games, he’ll make way for Butch.

Only reason he was there is because Butch was injured, Frankie covers wing and emergency 9.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-97: Yesterday on the wrap up show they had Garth Wright, Heinecke Meyer and Alistair Coetzee analysing the game and it was very clear that Gert Smal had done his homework very thouroughly, not just on the Wallabies but also on the ref. One of the points that they made was how Ireland managed to slow the ball down at ruck time, thereby denying Cooper quick ball, with out which he was “stuffed” to quote a Coetzee technical term. ;)

Garth was sying that they way the game was blown favoured a NH interpretation of the ruck above a SH one, which favoured the Irish quite a bit.

One of the points made also was the importance of being able to read the ref in each circumstance and game, as they will blow thing differently from each other.

If Ireland can do it so can we.

Looks like we’ll have to…

• 110.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-104: I feel we will too.

This Bok team got huge belief in themselves on Saturday. Whether it was Fiji we faced or not. They way we won, it was the right medicine we needed. Confidence. It makes for a huge factor.

Key thing now is try not to pick up anymore injuries.

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: I agree with you 100%. Good post!

• 112.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: Absolutely. We have to know how the ref interprets the breakdowns, because they all seem to ref different there.

Actually was gonna say that in my post above.

• 113.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-104:

Pocock will make a massive difference to the Aus team – they lacked someone who works in the trenches on the weekend.

They have concerns at the scrum too.

Oz really could not afford to have lost this match. Their road to the final now includes the Boks, then NZ and then whoever makes the final if there are no significant upsets.

I am not reading too much into the Boks victory.

Of course there were some positives especially from Morne Steyn and FDP (still below par but at least improving) imo. But our defense close in is still shockingly poor, our ability to clean up and around the ruck not good enough which undermines our direct style of play.

A lot of questions about the All Blacks will be answered this weekend, but smart money has to be on them to beat a NH team in the final.

• 114.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: My main concern if Victor is not fit is the gathering of the ball after restarts. I think we came up short on Saturday and could have lead to a try by Fuji.
    Victor is a must in the big games I don’t have any doubt about that.

• 115.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-108: Yes but we may need Ruan to play fh this week. Don’t think it is a problem against Nambia.

Just hope Lambie gets over his wrist injury. Think he picked that up in the tip tackle. He landed on his wrist. Shame as it was about 79min into the game when that happend. He was very good on Saturday and that allowed Frans Steyn to play 12. I know we have Aplon that can play FB too.

• 116.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: Good post Pooms. I agree.

• 117.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-111: Thanks M.

I feel a whole lot better and more confident about our Boks after Saturday.

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-106: For sure. We will improve and get fitter with each game. Just hope no more injuries.

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-116: Thanks HG.

• 119.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: Interesting. Smal is a bit of an unsung hero for Ireland I reckon… Saw footage of all the players hugging an awaiting grinning Smal one by one in the change room after the match… Big respect there.

• 120.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-108: I don’t understand why Ruan is even part of the squad. He cannot handle pressure games – he was very poor on the away leg of the Trinations.
    We should have taken Vermaak or Duvenhage instead – future Bok prospects imo.

• 121.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-113:

Agree with you on Australia and said earlier if they could’ve somehow snuck a victory like the Boks did vs Wales they could’ve regathered, boxed cleverly and reach finals.

Right now they’re dizzy and the Boks will put them out of their misery.

There are still some aspects SA has to work on like you mentioned and it’s heartening to know that they know exactly what is needed. They’ll improve immensely by the time we’re done with Aus.

@Puma(Puma)-115:

That’s my biggest hope now, getting Lambie to start again this week. Aplon can do the job but the Boks would want Lambie to further gel with JP and with Habana back the combo would’ve had a good run out.

Butch is backup flyhalf so I really don’t see Ruan starting there. Only change would be Jannie to completely get a well deserved break and if PDV has a big heart he’ll rest JS as well with Bismarck starting and Chilli on bench.

Otherwise there’ll be no changes, PDV will play his best team for all the games they need time on the park.

• 122.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Gregs(Gregs)-120:

Thing is Ruan has been part of the setup and he’s been to the WC so that’s probably what got him a role in this competition, albeit a minimal one.

• 123.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-119: Yeah, a few G’s in the change room I expect. They really did a job on the Aussies for sure. If they do nothing else they’ll be celebrating that for some time to come.

• 124.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

My biggest gripe with the Boks so far is their one-on-one tackles. Too many players lack the commitment and accuracy needed to stop the ball carrier dead in his tracks, so you find that team mates have to cover for them, fall back, drift etc. And this opens up gaps.

Danie’s tackling, despite his MOM award, was poor. Jannie Dup’s tackling was equally poor. Morne Steyn, Spies, Odwa, Lambie (and Butch and JP, in the first game) all slipped straightforward tackles.

I reckon they should all spend an afternoon looking at how Mossie, Alberts and Gurthro halt a threatening move.

• 125.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-114: Yes I agree.

Just great to see Danie playing a outstanding game. When we lost Bekker I was seriously worried if Victor picked up a injury. Now we know we can count on Danie. Don’t worry about the gathering of the ball after the restarts. I am very sure we will be working on that.

• 126.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-123: I reckon Ireland or Wales will be doing more than celebrating one game before this tournament is over….

Price on a Boks vs Wales/Ireland Final ?

Can you farken imagine?

• 127.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-125: hiyas brudda ^5 you well??

Danie was brilliant 2nd half bro , first half he was shocking missing like 5 to 6 tackles
    he has the habbit of going in with the shoulder and just slips tackles

other then that and one or 2 droppped passes?? brilliant

• 128.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-122: But that does not make sense. Why not take someone that actually offers you something.He is just a waste of a passenger in this group. We have enough worthy experience in the squad.

• 129.toby: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-58: Haha..hit a nerve Kobus Kitty..funny how a good game against a minnow and Bok’s supporters crowing like troopers….Believe you have improved all you want…

Kobus you know when it hurts when you need to make a personal attacks.

At least I’m not realistic to believe that ‘Bok’s can’t win, but Black’s n Wobblies have just as much chance too…

• 130.toby: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-80: Helen your paranoid about choking..I think more that Kiwis….about edge just having a bit of fun…no harm lol

• 131.Nils: Reply to this comment

It would be a very interesting QF. Very pissed off yellow wasps from across the ditch vs sofar gaining momentum horned animals. Can’t wait already.

You, Irish better not screw up this upcoming titans clash and beat Italians!

• 132.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-126: Well they way they played on Saturday Ireland will fancy a QF win for sure, and then it’s all bets are off really.

I for one would love that!

• 133.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-131: LOL. Well said. The Italians loom large as a banana peel to WC predictability again.

• 134.richboy: Reply to this comment

No Matter how Old or Tired these Boks are , the only way we can defeat the Aussies is to Bully them in the Scrums, Maintain the Ball for long periods and slow down the Game> If we try compete with them with a fast paced open game we will have cooked ourselves. Tough Scrumming and Solid Defence will win this Game

• 135.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Gregs(Gregs)-128:

I think in the case of emergency Ruan would be ahead of the pack of inexperienced contenders, plus his versatality (9, 10, 15) as a backup got him the nod maybe?

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-126:

The Irish had a lot of their key players only recently returning so they may be maturing as a team just on time rather unexpectedly?

• 136.Sannie Bill Who??iams: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:

Or the ones the all bleghs fluked whem they won in ’87. The Bokke not there and the Samoans not invited. They probably knew they would get hammered by them as well.

Hey Kiki Keo you short ****. Were you being tossed when the Tindall got caught with his fingers in the pu….pie? How about writing something positive for a cange and say the other teams have a mountain to climb.

Or are you still sour after 2003 and the fact that PDivvy did not pick your fellow dwarf Little Lulu?

• 137.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-121: I think we have to look to what awaits us after the Nambia game. We face Samoa, Wallabies and NZ. To go all the way we have to rest players. This would be the ideal game. Cause to beat NZ we can’t get to that game with injuries or dead on our feet.

Quite a few could rest this week or even against Samoa some could rest.

• 138.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132:

But funnily enough I actually feel Samoa missed a great chance at RWC greatness.

If they beat Wales they could’ve knocked over Ireland and couldve had a decent shot at getting somewhere in this comp!

• 139.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132: If Wales play the way the played against the Boks… against an Ireland playing like Wobbly beaters… Shew, a QF of note… Will make a the France/Eng QF look positively boring :wink:

But throw in a Fiji and Italian banana peel and there’s much life left in the group stages yet.

(PS: Whats the price on a USA win over the Wobblies :wink: That’ll be the farken day…)

• 140.Sannie Bill Who??iams: Reply to this comment

The wobblies frail psyche has been shattered by the Irish. Bring on the convicts I say….

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-127: Howzit bro.

Yeah he did slip some tackles, but looking at it as a whole, he was immense I thought.

Saying that, my (mom) would have gone to none other than Frans Steyn. He was awesome.

• 142.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-135: Yes, and these guys are the “golden generation” of Irish players, many of whom fubar-ed their last RWC outing, and who want to make amends.

• 143.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-137:

But remember Puma, the time doesn’t need any more rest than the week between matches since they’ve hardly played the last 2 months.

Also, with our rotation at loosehead, our early sub at hooker it’s only really Jannie that needs a full break.

In the second row Matfield & Botha need time on the park so they’ll play if fit.

Schalk thrives on playing, Brussow might get a break as well but Spies needs confidence so he’ll play.

Du Preez needs game time to improve his form which is coming along nicely. Morne is benifitting from playing with him again so Butch will probably only get a look second half.

Mossie might get a break in the centres but his new combo with Frans needs time. Habana has been well rested and looked good in the last 2 Trinations games, so he along with JP will play.

No rest needed for the wicked im afraid :-) !

• 144.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143:
    i mean the Team, not time eish

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@richboy(richboy)-134: We will have taken note of the Ireland game. They played normal Bok rugby there…hehe.

Jeez, Gert Smal has worked well with their forwards.

• 146.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-142:

This time around they’ve prepared to play their best rugby during the tournament and not before it, like the Aussies have unfortunately.

• 147.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143: Good post.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-138: True. They just haven’t got it together this time around. Ireland should beat Wales (although that isn’t a given) and meet either France or England in the semi’s.

Makes for a wide open draw really.

• 149.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-146: You may be right… I hope.

• 150.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143: I know we need more game time but this is a long tourney still. If we make it to the final and I am feeling we just may. Then we definitely need some players rested for a whole game. Somewhere along the line.

Rotate some players from here until the quarters. Which we are doing I know, but do it with others as well. Rest some for the whole game against Nambia or Samoa.

• 151.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143: Agree totally that Jannie needs a rest. A whole game to rest. CJ play him for the full game against Nambia. He surely needs game time.

• 152.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

100 – Pissant

Would be far more in France’s interests to ‘lose’ to NZ this weekend and keep petrol in the tank by going the other route to the Final – play either a Bok or NZ team exhausted from the semi-final … and then play French rugby at its best.

Not an impossible scenario – upsetting the cattle cart and cocky predictions is what they do better than anyone.

France or SA to bring back the Cup – so long as it isn’t NZ or Wallabies.

• 153.RL: Reply to this comment

Auckland – Samoa centre Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu has described Rugby World Cup organisers’ treatment of Samoa as “like slavery, like the holocaust, like apartheid” in a foul-mouthed rant on Twitter.

Fuimaono-Sapolu was livid after the 17-10 loss to Wales in Hamilton on Sunday that Samoa had to play the critical match to make the quarterfinals only four days after meeting Namibia, while Wales had a full week off after losing to South Africa.

He dared the IRB to suspend him.

Among his tweets:

“Ok, it’s obvious the IRB are unjust. Wales get 7 days, we get 3. Unfair treatment, like slavery, like the holocaust, like apartheid.”

“IRB, Stop exploiting my people. Please, all we ask, is fairness. If they get a week, give us a week. Simple.”

“I wonder how would these tier 1 teams function after only three days rest.”

“Give Wales 3 days off, and give Samoa a week!! We would kill them!!!”

“Hey IRB. Suspend me but give Wales the same days off as Samoa.”

The World Cup scheduling was favoured towards TV ratings winners, the big tier one teams who deliver to the IRB broadcasting rights money which, in turn, pays for development of the game in the tier two nations such as Samoa.

Samoa and Wales were in the toughest group in the tournament, alongside South Africa, Fiji and Namibia. Samoa has to play its four pool games within 16 days. South Africa has 19 days and Wales 21.

Talk about whinging … who did they play 3 days before Wales, Namibia? Hell they could have fielded their B team, klapped the desert rats and saves thier A team for dragons.

• 154.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-153: Classic.

• 155.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Ireland are more than capable of messing things up for themselves and ending up back on the Boks’ side of the draw.

Gert Smal has done wonders with the Ireland forwards, yes, but they are still plagued by that word all Province and Stormers fans will recognise well – inconsistency. And with Ireland, that is far from from restricted to the forwards.

• 156.styv: Reply to this comment

keo, you have been wrong so many times before, so I’m not holding my breath on your predictions!! come on bokke!!

• 157.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-153:

Didn’t hear them moaning in ’07 when they played a Tongan team who’d had 3 days rest when they’d had 6 themselves.

ps. they lost then too.

• 158.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-155: They still have to play Italy. Who had Oz at 6-6 at half time before Oz eventually pulled away.

Could Italy pull off a win against Ireland? They just may. They have Mallett as their coach. So he will have them ready too..lol. Well they could who knows.

• 159.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-155: “still plagued by that word all Province and Stormers fans will recognise well” Ahem :lol:

Like your work. Triple edged sword :lol:

• 160.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-155: Against who though? Don’t see it happening really. Italy?

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay I am off.

Cheers everyone. Catch up later or tomorrow.

• 162.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-159: Yeah. Not really that funny.

• 163.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-162: Hehehehe

• 164.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-161: Cheers.

• 165.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-147:

And here we have to commend PDV. He took the heat for ‘resting’ his players for the TriNations tour as well as persisting with JS and a few other old heads. Div’s getting it right.

@Puma(Puma)-151:

Jannie is a valuable asset to this team, he understands he has an important role and has really lifted his game.

When last have you seen Jannie stranded at first receiver gasping for breath and dropping the ball like a warm patat? He’s come along nicely the good ol’ Doc.

• 166.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-148:

What do we make of the French so far?

Im trying to see something special, it’s threatening to come out any moment so will it be seen this weekend?

Their 9/10 combo is on par with the AB’s on balance, NZ’s centres are better and in the back 3 they cancel each other out.

I think their 8 who played this weekend together with their captain when he returns will be a handful if France can get parity in the tight-loose.

• 167.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160:

As previously mentioned, Italy are capable of it.

They really should have beaten Ireland in Rome this year (missed 2 penalties and a conversion, lost narrowly). Yes, they’re a completely different prospect when not playing at home, but if it turns into a forward’s battle they’ll be in with a shout.

D’Arcy looked like he’s done his hamstring against the Wallabies too, which would be a massive boost for Italy.

• 168.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-162:

Wasn’t meant to be funny, sadly.

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-166: For me they look good without looking amazing. They have a history of lifting their game when they are on tour against higher ranked teams so this is perfectly set up for them I guess.

I’m not picking them this time though. Just don’t see NZ losing this one.

For me the only teams that can arrest the black tide will be us and Australia.

• 170.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-167: I hear you but after what I saw from them against Australia I will be surprised if Italy can pull it off.

But this tournament has thrown up it’s share of surpises so far, so why the hell not I guess?

• 171.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-165: He took heat not for “resting” but for the way he stupidly painted himself into a corner in doing it… The denials, the stupid lies… Nope, I refuse to be a Dippy apologist. Instead I see the influence of Rassie and Nienaber coming through with the Boks at the moment…. Rassie is coaching the coaches in the matchday box all the time for all to see.

• 172.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: did you see when stransky showed footage of our scrums and then asked “does jannie scrum in” none of the “panel” denied it :D it was there in the clips we just saw.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-171: yeah, like Eddie did to Jake…it’s quite funny to see :D

• 174.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172: I saw that. Fact is, every tighthead scrums in when they can get away with it, as it’s one way to get that right shoulder.
    I don’t think Jannie is any different to any of the others…

I must say though, I found yesterday’s program to be one of the more illuminating that I’ve seen in quite a while! That’s one hellofa pannel that they have there.

What did you make of it?

• 175.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-171: I think having Jaques and Rassie there may just make enough of a difference to make us genuine contenders.

What do you recon?

• 176.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-173: For once we agree :lol:

• 177.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-175: I do and will stand to be “humbly corrected” on all things Stormer if we do :wink:

There is a notable pattern coming through on D… tempered and steeled by Bulls power and obvious Sharkie/Vrystaat intelligence on offence :lol:

• 178.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-177: Dare i dream???? :D

• 179.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-178: hehe

• 180.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-171:

But as @Transformation(Transformation)-173: mentions here, shouldn’t he be credited for bringing them in similiar to Jake when Eddie came on board?

Div knew our defence let us down in 2010, and this is something which is usually the cornerstone of all good Bok sides so bringing in Nienaber was a good decision on his part, not so?

Also, getting Rassie was Divs call.

What i want to see now as some well worked playes without our structure, like Spies taking the ball at spide on the wider channels after quick ruck ball. Setpiece plays from attacking line-outs/scrums in the opposition’s 22. The way I see we might see things like that going into the last pool match.

The resting of players we’ll never know as we had doctors confirming these players were injured and SANZAR checking up on it and Div came out clean. But you’ll dispute this fact so we’ll leave that one for the archives.

But give the man some credit as you’ll see he made the hard decisions, had to take the heat for that and right now it’s looking like it has an almighty chance of working out for him.

• 181.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

dang!@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-180: well worked plays WITHIN our structure!

• 182.cab: Reply to this comment

Keo is not giving the boks any odds, this is a great side, its in the bag.

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

oops, side = sign.

as long as he keeps calling them against the Boks we’ll go all the way.

• 184.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-153: This guy needs to check himself! Samoa played their very first game against Namibia, got virtually an extra week in preparation time than all the other teams, having not played in the first rounds, when Namibia had just come off a game against Fiji! Fark him, he needs to pipe down!

• 185.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

The France/NZ pool game will be interesting. The loser will not have to face Australia/South Africa in the semi’s, end up in the easier half of the playoffs and have an easier route to the final. Now there is a reward for losing a match!

A great draw is such a beautiful thing to waste and Australia did it!

Personally, I think we can smoke the Aussies in the quarters. They were lucky to win the Durban 3N test. Remember it was the first test this year for our “A-team” and they were clearly running out of steam at the end combined with the lack of cohesion of playing a few games together – they are an upward curve now. The only worry is the jawbreaker test against Samoa before the quarters.

• 186.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-180: Look, DippyDicky and Gold have been a farkup based on a calamity for too long now for me to credit Dippy with anything whatsoever. He had control over who his assistants were from when he first became Bok coach and DickMuir especially has been spectacularly deficient as backline coach.

He tried to get rid of them and was spectacularly unsuccessful when nobody wanted to touch the assistant jobs with a bargepole. While the three clowns were on tour in the 3N, Rassie was quietly teaching the “injured” back in the “secret” training camp how to defend and be a team again.

Fark if I’m going to credit Dippy for a job he and his coaches should have been doing for 4 years now.

• 187.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-186: Well said. There’s enough evidence to show PDV up as out of his depth at this level. No further evidence required.

• 188.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-186:

I posted this last week as well and this is how I see it.

Div’s made his mistakes, and he’s admitted to it.

#1 Not backing his own plan when he came into power. Instead he bargained with the seniors and on the back of that we beat Australia by a record score when Jongi scored 4 i think.

#2 We then went on tour2008 and won all our games. In 2009 we won the Lions series as well as Trinations. PDV’s next blunder came as he took a tired outfit on tour in search of more glory when the better option would’ve been to take younger guys and develop them further. He’s admitted to this mistake just recently and has to live with it.

#3 He tried to get rid of Gold n Muir, couldn’t do so as he had isolated himself. Another mistake by him which he acknowledged and learned from. Nienaber didn’t want to help the Boks, but Div gave Rassie an opportunity at WC glory and this opened the way for Nienaber to join in. In the end Div got his man by hook or by crook.

So by taking all of these things into account from 2008 – 2010 you’ll see that Div took it all on board and from there formulated his strategies for 2011.

Ultimately he, like Deans & even Henry with a 80 plus % will be judged on how they do at this WC.

• 189.Rentals: Reply to this comment

Boks will smoke Aussie’s. Their inexperience showed against Ireland. Genia can’t play behind a losing pack and Cooper has got too clever (reverse pass, 10 min to go and 5 points in game). Also I don’t think Quade will want to face All Blacks right now, if ever there was a bit of needle between them he’s aggrevated it.

• 190.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Personally, I rate the current Springboks as mountaineers.

The real Everest remains for the New Zealanders who will need to perform despite mounting public pressure on them to finally win the damn thing.

Will they be able to overcome the odds as that plucky New Zealander, Edmund Hillary, did in 1953?

Or will Fate have yet another cruel twist in store for them?

• 191.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Catt attack: Quade Cooper needs shooting Paul Cully
    September 19, 2011
    Comments 63
    .Press Gang

Jonah Lomu charges through the tackle of Mike Catt in Cape Town in 1995. Photo: Getty Images

You knew it was coming, and they did not disappoint.

With more than a hint of “we told you so” the English press has gone to town on the Wallabies, with All Blacks legend Sean Fitzpatrick leading a chorus of fulsome praise for Bryce Lawrence while 2003 World Cup winner, and Jonah Lomu doormat, Mike Catt declared that Quade Cooper “needs shooting”.

“The points came from scrum penalties, and there will be controversy about that,” Fitzpatrick wrote in The Sunday Times. “But I thought that the referee, Bryce Lawrence, had it right, because Ireland were clearly on top. The props get the credit for this but for me it was Rory Best at hooker who was at the centre of things.”

Advertisement: Story continues below The theme was predictably mirrored by Times colleague Stephen Jones. “It was up front where Ireland excelled,” Jones opined . “…with Cian Healy, Rory Best and Mike Ross engaging with the Australian pack, dominating and beasting them after a slow start with such a devil-like finality that the New Zealand referee, Bruce Lawrence, was compelled to award the penalties which win them the match.”

Former England international Paul Ackford, in the London Telegraph, went even further, arguing the man who sent the Twitterati into a lather practically deserves a knighthood. “The annihilation of the Wallaby scrum was complete and Kiwi referee Bryce Lawrence deserves huge credit for the way he administered the contest,” Ackford wrote. “Most southern hemisphere referees opt out of awarding penalties…the Wallabies were very second best but some refs would have bottled it.”

The Guardian’s Eddie Butler concurred that the Wallabies scrum was turned to “rubble” by the tournament’s oldest squad, but also hinted at the magnitude of the surprise, given that Ireland’s props – Cian Healy in particular – have experienced of plenty of criticism themselves from northern critics. “If a measure of eye-rubbing incredulity went with the Irish resurrection, it grew even more remarkable with the manner of its making,” Butler wrote. “It was born of a scrummage that won the engagement, as they say – the critical moment of impact.”

But Catt, like all good backs, was averse to handing out all the praise to the fat boys.

“Full credit to the the Irish pack for the way they rattled Australia but Quade Cooper, the Wallabies fly-half, needs shooting for a performance like that,” Catt wrote in the London Telegraph. “His game management was awful. This is a World Cup and it’s all about winning games of rugby. But Cooper tried a lot of fancy tricks in the first half which didn’t come off and put Australia under pressure.

“His failure to manage the game allowed Ireland back in every time Australia scored. When that keeps happening it just kills your team. It was wet and greasy in Auckland, there were never going to be many tries scored and it wasn’t going to be a day for clever chip kicks.”

Yet for all the analysis, the striking image chosen by The Sunday Times to lead their sports liftout said it best. Taken by Philippe Lopez, it showed a grimacing Will Genia being hauled backwards by Stephen Ferris from the base of that first-half scrum. While the lonely figure of James O’Connor is pictured trying to support Genia, the determined face of Paul O’Connell lurks behind Ferris.

For the record, Jones’ Wallaby player ratings were as follows: Beale 7, O’Connor 6, Fainga’a 4, McCabe 5, Ashley-Cooper 5, Cooper 6, Genia 6, Samo 5, McCalman 4, Elsom 5, Horwill 4, Vickerman 6, Alexander 5, Polota-Nau 5, Kepu 3.

Ackford saw it this way: Beale 8, O’Connor 6, Faingaa 5, McCabe 4, Ashley-Cooper 5, Cooper 7, Genia 7, Samo 4, McCalman 3, Elsom 5, Horwill 5, Vickerman 5, Alexander 3, Polota-Nau 4, Kepu 3.

Quote of the day: “You’re married. Pull your head in, mate.” The words of an unidentified Australian tourist to Mike Tindall outside the Altitude Bar, as reported in The Mail on Sunday.

Insight of the day: “It would seem Martin Snedden and his New Zealand organising committee have played a blinder in persuading Kiwis to embrace fixtures that would not normally arouse global interest.” The Guardian’s Robert Kitson is impressed by the crowd and atmosphere at the Argentina v Romania game in Invercargill.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/rugby-world-cup/catt-attack-quade-cooper-needs-shooting-20110918-1kg7z.html#ixzz1YP7qyZgz

• 192.francois93: Reply to this comment

“Ho Ho average rugby player John Smit”
    and now you know why Kitch Christie was a legend, win or lose Bokke behind you all the way every day till Billie comes home or you come back on your shields.

Keo, your arrogance is immense but I commend your continued cheap shots at the Boks you are an excellent motivational erm,….TOOL.

• 193.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-188:

Thanks for reminding me of that snotting we gave the Wallabies at Ellis Park in 2008 :lol:

• 194.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-187:

There’s enough evidence to suggest otherwise. He won’t be in the Hall of Fame as far as winning % goes, but the man as put himself and his team in the best possible position to be immortalized in world rugby.

• 195.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-190:

Fate might take a cruel turn this weekend already, with nobody willing to give the French a sniff, as always!

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-193:

Don’t be too shocked if the QF takes shape like that, highly unlikely but like Div said before that match if we click in this tournament somebody’s gonna get a hiding!

• 196.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-187: @wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-188: My mind is made up on Dippy.

I’m just glad that we may be seeing the Boks awaking from an extended stupour of slumber. I hope its no false dawn. The difference is Rassie and Nienaber – change in influence – change in outcomes…

• 197.francois93: Reply to this comment

and no I actually have never said the Boks were rubbish, and I have never stopped rating Smit and Matfield as players, fark Pienaar you called them crayfish, so close buddy they are actually prawns.

• 198.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The Irish scrummed smart really – keep the ball at 8 for a second or two to keep a no8 pick up in the minds of the Australian’s, then put in a secondary shove as soon as they began to break anticipating it.
    Lawrence was giving the penalties based on dominance and Irish tactics ensured that even when the Aussies gave as good as they got they still looked well beaten. Experienced pack and good coaching.

• 199.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Everyone wanna shoot PdV for bringing the Boks this far.. its due to PdV that they firing the way they are.. Its PdV that has gotten Rassie on board whereas Jake the snake went for an Aussie fake to get him out of a jam…

PdV has wrested and invested ALL his faith and his honor and the potential Glory plus ALL his loyalty in his right hand men.. he has EVEN patched things up with Gold, and Muir.. now he has Nienaber and Rassie in his corner.. with Matfield and Smit pulling for him..

He has ALL the Boks pulling together.. including fdP who was ready to chuck it after 2007 AND Frans Steyn who didn’t want nowt to do with a little brown skinned coach after his holy white mentor baled for the back door…

So in REAL terms IN SPITE of what most these two faced pseudo Bok supporters suggest here.. it is NOT the puppet being pulled along by the short and curlies via the puppeteers of the JW circus.. he is running his OWN show.. ringmaster at the helm.. and although he don’t show the grandiose plumage of a fake two faced ego maniac like his predecessor.. he is STILL getting FAR more respect and result from his collection of troops by AMALGAMATING the forces of antithesis together as BEST as he can.. and by and large is SUCCEEDING WAY past the negative representations of those who hate his guts..

• 200.francois93: Reply to this comment

I seem to recall a certain wet and cold night in Ireland and a certain Jake white and co being pilloried for losing to gosh darn it Ireland, mmmm the wonder boys of Auss just been done, I wonder what these woeful and inept and inferior and also not getting paid lots of money to play rugby Northern hemisphere non professionals will serve up next. I mean the entire northern hemisphere year revolves around the outbound and inbound tours, its not like they have a competition to focus on like the tri-nations oh unless you disregard that second rate palooka comp called the six nations, dont wanna win that just want to beat the Southern Hemisphere rugby gods ;-)

• 201.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-199: Nope. You are wrong. Sick of your two-faced bullshit now. Now STFU.

• 202.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-196:

Agree the difference is Rassie and Nienaber, but Div brought them there like Jake brought Eddie in. Same result.

@Hier kom groot k..(Hier kom groot k..)-185:

I feel Samoa have become overly structured and against organised teams who play this type of game much better they’ll get taken to the cleaners.

Their ruck ball is too slow, they pick and drive too much and under utilise their big runners giving them static ball. Against weak defense systems like Namibia this is not a problem as they can simply power their way through, but against a green wall or like it happened against Wales they become easy pickings.

• 203.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-194: They are pseudo Bok supporters this lot .. they want the win without giving credence to the actual designer of the plot…

If Boks win this thing this time its down to PdV on his OWN.. IN SPITE of what the nay saying chorus bring to the circus sing along.. including myself who have had GRAVE doubts about the selection policies all along.. PdV has stood FIRM by his OWN principles of loyalty to his stalwarts IN SPITE of the baying chorus to have his head on the chopping block for downright treason.. and LARGELY due to either his utterances or else his tone of voice.. or at worst down to the Wrong hue of his epidermis.. He STILL has them pumping one for all and all for ONE..

• 204.francois93: Reply to this comment

here is a thought, maybe the Boks were not that bad against Wales, maybe Wales might be GASP good.

• 205.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-201: Get fucked skunk.. get sick as much as you desire I continue to tell cn’ts like you to your dumb fck face EXACTLY HOW IT CUTS moronic imbecilic idiotic SCHMUCK!!

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-205: A two face liar… nothing more, nothing less… Maybe throw in a bit of hypocrisy too to put the popped cherry on top. Now, again… Shut up.

• 207.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-203:

We’ve all doubted him at some point during his tenure but he’s stuck to his guns even when some of his supporters started questioning his moves.

Like ive stated, he’s made mistakes but he’s also learned from them. What more do supporters want from him?

Even the debacle where he moved JS to tighthead, he handled it by admitting it didnt work and worked hard at getting John back in form at hooker and you can see a glimmer of confidence coming through JS’s game again. That’s all down to PDV’s management.

• 208.francois93: Reply to this comment

I seem to recall Samoa putting a second string Auss away but Wales put them away with room to spare and oh the physically superior Samoans seemed just a wee bit beaten up afterwards, hmmm but no Boks were shite and who is Warren Gatland really, I mean the scoreline in that test had nothing to do with an outstanding Welsh team, I mean the aussies and kiwis would never have allowed themselves to be beaten by Northern hemisphere opposition now would they?

• 209.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-202: I don’t rate Jake the Snake… I also don’t rate Dippy. Like managers or leaders out of their depth they have sponged off the talents of other people. It has nothing to do with their ability other than to piggy back on the abilities of someone else.

But I have said all this before and dont need to say it again

• 210.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-200:
    The 2004 or the 2006 game? ;)
    The Boks were very understrength in 2006, and in transition in 2004, but Ireland played well in both and you can only beat what is in front of you.

@francois93(francois93)-204:
    Wales certainly aren’t a bad team, and much like several others are only going to get better as the tournament progresses. A casual glance at their (now short-term) injury list might give a few people who think they’ll be “easy” in potential KO games pause for thought. They still need to get there though.

• 211.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-207: PDV has “management”… You mean making a farkup and relying on either luck or others to get him out of the dwang. Fark that for a ball.oshit.

• 212.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-209:

Okay, now I at least understand where you’re coming from.

I’m not saying either of them are God’s gift to coaching, but if Div can deliver us from NZ with Bill in our cabinet once more the man would’ve achieved his ultimate goal.

The next guy coming in must get us on par at least with NZ as far as winning % goes, that should be the next Bok coach’s job discription.

• 213.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

same old **** different day

if we win its PDIv on his own
    if we lose , its the fault of SMit and FDup and **** and Gold

HERE IS AN F*CKING FACT, IF WE WIN OR LOSE ITS DUE TO EVERYONE THERE ,

• 214.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-207: He got FAR more humility AND credibility in him than that runt of a skunk White could EVER have .. and he has taken every learning curve ON the CHIN when it hasn’t worked and gone about correcting his flaws and mistakes.. He has NEVER put his ego above the team and always tried as best possible to combine the talents to their best intents..

ANYONE who would have taken over a WC winning team would have struggled to jostle the synergies between the seniors and the management.. check how England fell apart after Woodward and the players presumably ran the show.. PdV has taken ALL the parameters of the entire mix mash of forces and tried his utmost to meld them together into a winning cohesive combination.. in spite of what many of us might have done different.. he has gone about it pragmatically and ALWAYS put his team and his players first…

• 215.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-210: Tartan couldn’t agree more with you, I am first and foremost a Bok supporter but hell the Southern Hemisphere is an arrogant place to be, I respect every country who runs out onto that field, you dont just turn up and win it should be bloody hard work and not a given.

I mean there is always this huge arrogance and disregard for the northern hemisphere and inevitably one of the Sanzar countries cops a hiding. Problem is most of the supporters have no Idea of history and pay no respect to guys like Gareth Edwards, Barry Jon and co

• 216.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-206: Seems you are unable to get the message dumb fck punk .. get fucked.. how else you want I spell it out for you piece of know nothing miserable arrogant screwball skunk ?

• 217.RL: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-208: second string? They had 9 first team players in that team that lost to Samoa.

• 218.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-213: There is no “I’ in team. :D

There is a “me’ though. Never could figure that out.

But ja, so many of these posts are starting to look redundant.

• 219.francois93: Reply to this comment

I mean didn’t the Irish put one over on the wallabies last year or was it the year before and now all of a sardine everyone is shocked, I mean come on Paul O Connell was a lions captain so he must suck, Bod was rated as the best center in world rugby up until a few years ago likewise with heaslip and a couple of other players, nor do I believe that Robbie Deans was unaware of this, what grates is when journos claim something get it wrong and then play pass the blame game, Keo should simply have come back and said Wallabies were hammered Boks better than I though.

• 220.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-213: Well its about TIME somebody gave the coach SOME credibility for doing this thing TOGETHER because half baked runtarse pseudo bok supporters reckon its EVERYBODY ELSE BUT the national coach who’s pulling the strings..

If it were not for PdV players like Smit and Spies and Habana would have been OUT on their EARS if left to the likes of the pseudo rat pack of so called Bok supporters who see Hero’s and Villains with totally skewed up lenses of self righteous bigotry !

• 221.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-211:

There was a brief period before the Lions series i think where JPP was out of form. PDV intervened when everybody was calling for his head, taking him in the training group and JP came back storming again.

Moving JS had a degree of success in the short term (Lions series as well as that big push he gave against NZ when we wont the TriNations title in NZ).

But on balance it didn’t work with our scrum getting demolished on too many occassions.

What should PDV have done? Persist with it? Or admit it didn’t work and move on.

Sometimes coaches take risks and it doesn’t always pay off. But in all the risk was taken at the right time, not like Ted still trying SBW on the wing when he’s left his best wing in Gear out of his squad.

Div now knows – JS to TH – No-no. Oliver as Bok – No-no. Kirchner at fullback – No-no. Ruan at flyhalf in a pressure situation even though he is way more talented than Morne – NO-NO.

• 222.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-218: :LOL: M

• 223.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-218: There’s an “I” in ‘Win” though…

• 224.francois93: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-217: Sorry RL that’s true by the way aside from the world cup met John Mitchell at melrose arch the other and thanked him for turning Lions rugby around, am humbled and blessed that after so many years staring to get that old magic back at ellis park.

• 225.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-213:

And you can see this squad is pulling together with PDV directing his men dilligently. I’ve never seen him so quietly confident as he was after Saturday’s match.

Div wasn’t trumpeting his squad as the best, in fact he was just focussed on how we reacted in those first 20 minutes when Fiji came hard at us, he was judging his team on that and not on all the fancy things that happened later.

• 226.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-222: How’ve you been mate? We must have a cuppa sometime this week. Lots happening my side.

• 227.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-226: say when , lol

• 228.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-223: NOt when it comes to the Blue Bulls there isn’t. ;)

• 229.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-227: I’ll call you tomorrow OK? We can make a time.

• 230.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-174: i enjoyed it even though i wished they had another adventurous coach in the mix because heyneke & coetzee are conservative to the extreme and garth just follows their lead.

i found myself sighing every time heyneke meyer said ” a lot of people say scrums are irrelevant BUT the irish game showed that scrums are very important”

now it’s one thing to make a point and it’s another to try and sound messianic, which people was he on about? where did they say scrums are not important? what was the context?

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-212: Agree there. But I will give credit where credit is due… just not to him.

• 232.RL: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-224: nice, saw Mitch in the stands on Friday, mingling with the crowd and signing autographs … he is popular :wink:

• 233.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-213: Post of the day. Well said.

• 234.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-230: Yes, I cannot understand when scrums had become unimportant. I think that we know all too well the value of a good scrum, mostly when we don’t have one and the pressure that it places on us.

But ja, they did make a refreshing break from the usual analysts.

Garth I think made a very good point about the spoiling at the breakdown and the ref blowing it differentlty, which i hope PDV was paying attention to. Also the way they used the tackle as a means to set up a maul and then turn over posession and get a scrum put in. I think this is a tactic that will become very popular at this comp.

• 235.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-215:
    It’s just the way it is in the SH, but I blame the ANZAC part more for that ;)

Too many whiners in that region describing drop goals, playing for territory, penalties as “English/NH anti-rugby”. Fokk, you take what you can get, keep the scoreboard on your side and when your opponent has to chase the game you go through the gaps.

It’s hard to keep respect for a region’s teams when you don’t respect their style. A style, which, incidentally should look familiar.

• 236.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-218: Next time someone tells you that, remind them that there is a U in cnt.

• 237.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-236: hahahahaha thanks for that, I’m certainly going to save that. That’ll come in handy in the near future for sure!

• 238.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-229: cool @Puma(Puma)-233: thanks brudda :lol:

• 239.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231: Lets just face it you a 2 face cn’t that will NOT give credit where credit is due you two faced piece of garbage 2nd grade underhand punk .. It don’t SUIT little ragamuffin cn’ts like you to give credit WHERE its due.. So runtcunt punks like you WON’T .. two face second grade half arse bok supporter that you are..

• 240.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-202: I dont think Samoa has the game to beat the Boks, but I am worried about those “coconut-tackles” as Kitch Christie used to call them. Remember what Samoa did to Andre Joubert’s hand in 95 and Liefling almost got decapitated by Brian Lima in 03. Samoa is basically out of the quarters after the Wales loss and will be gunning to smash our boys as hard as possible in their last game in front of a sell-out North Harbour crowd filled with Samoans. Injuries from this game will hurt our chances in the knockout stages.

• 241.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Another thing which could determine the outcomes of tight matches is the Ref.

NH refs seem to allow the defense more time to have a grab at the ball in the ruck while with SH teams to get 1 shot and if you mess it up you get penalised.

Also the NH refs aren’t that strict with defenders going off their feet at the ruck when trying to support a team mate to a potential turnover. SH refs will blow guys up flying off their feet even if your player got their first.

So for this reason it would be wise not to take the ball too wide when playing under a NH ref since chances of turnovers will be greater.

But with SH refs you can still get away with securing ruck ball out wide as players will hold off from trying the steal as they would be penalised quicker.

Well that’s just a trend I’ve seen so far. So in all it would not be that bad for us playing SH teams because if we were to face NH teams with a NH official they could’ve made it really difficult for us since they’re more used to that sort of officiating.

• 242.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-238: Yeah no mincing words there just the honest truth. Well said.

Anyhow what you think of Frans Steyn at 12? I thought he was brilliant. Was my mom. Also how I wish we could get him back at the Sharks. What a massive talent we let go.

• 243.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Hier kom groot k..(Hier kom groot k..)-240:
    Possibly a match for the master of the one-armed tackle, Mr. James, to get some match sharpness if he’s back from injury…

• 244.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-239: Two faced is as two faced does… and you have demonstrated many times. Now shut up – will be your best contribution yet… I promise :lol:

• 245.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

By the way everyone, Tinotei shampoo thought the Boks would crash and burn against the Fijians. He aslo said that Snor was useless (and a few other expletives) and he said Snor was NOT coaching the Boks.

After the Fijians got thumped by the Boks Timotei shampoo SUDDENLY got amnesia and conveniently FORGOT about all the snot he had said a day before the game…and de Villiers was proclaimed a hero.

This sack of shita mile high cretin is a two faced lying moron with dogsballs for brains. How can we believe a word this tosser says from now on…..I ask you..

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-241: Insightful words. Now you speak sense here.

• 247.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-245: Right Said Fred :lol:

• 248.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hier kom groot k..(Hier kom groot k..)-240: Yes I am worried about injuries we could pick up in that game too.

My feeling our 2nd side can beat them. Thinking of the injuries we may pick up there. What is your thought if we played our 2nd side against them? For safety we pack our bench with our best. Only bring them on if we get in trouble like we done against Tonga in the last wrold cup.

• 249.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Everest shmeverest
    It was done before, however, based on what I saw watching the game against the 6th ranked Wales, the odds aren’t great
    And there will be the referees to consider, maybe anton r can talk to them before the game? ;)

• 250.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Hier kom groot k..(Hier kom groot k..)-240:

This Samoan side seems much more professional and better coached than previous ones which ironically has robbed them of that unpredictability and mean streak they’ve always had.

They got dominated by Wales at the collisions because of static ball which they seemed to think was a good ploy.

Everybody’s saying Australia played dumb, no they just got undone by all the smoke up their own arsse. Samoa played dumb, and we’ll just send our bruisers down their 10 channel all day, they won’t see much ball I’m afraid and when they do the Boks will hit them back with smiles on their faces because they hit the line with no momentum.

• 251.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-244: Keep it coming two face … you trying to jump on your fuckwit jelly wobble bandwagon here .. keep trying.. garbage 2 face half arse bok supporter who CANNOT give CREDIT where it is DUE !!!

If Boks WIN this thing it will most CERTAINLY have sweet fanny fuckall to do with little pseudo runtcunt half arsed bok supporters such as you and EVERYTHING to do with PdV who will have ALL the credibility in the WORLD if Boks take this thing from the very Best of the worlds rugby playing nations..

So on behalf of PdV I say to sniveling little half arsed runtcunt feeble fuckwit creeps like yourself… SHOVE your half baked dubious fucked up half arsed CREDIT where it fits best RIGHT up that dubious half baked piece of trash miserable pseudo Bok supporters ARSE

• 252.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-245: Pull out the evidence Right said the two faced Apartheid Riot Police Impostor… pull out your evidence two faced racist anti PdV pseudo bok supporting scum

• 253.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-242: thought so too re fransie , kid played out of his socks , i always been saying he must play 12 , close to the action,

Lambie superb, hell most of the team

very few giving schalk credit but i tell ya he was tackling like a demon

• 254.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-246:

That’s why I think the Boks struggled against Wales, afterwards the players said the Ref allowed players to ‘flood’ the breakdown, meaning a piling up of bodies and this makes it hard to clean out a thief that’s why their 7 enjoyed so much success.

Kaplan on the other hand blew guys up left and right and even handed out a yellow card for breakdown infringements in the Georgia vs Eng game i think? SH refs want quick and clean ball, NH are happy to see a contest at the breakdown.

• 255.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-251: I will give credit where it is due. However credit will not be due to obvious incompetents thats for sure. Be a silly blind apologist – its your choice and you are free to do so. I certainly will not prevent you from reverting to type…

• 256.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

Oh, how I hope we prove Keo wrong. Ek begin sommer bid vir die eerste keer in jare.

• 257.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-254: Yes, very good analysis.

• 258.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-249:
    Samoa will take the field with the intention to maim the Boks, as a favour to the ABs and possibly to the Wallabies, there is some affinity there between them
    They will get away with it too: that off the ball spear tackle on Lambie only earen Fiji a penalty, remember those guys will get away with a lot!

• 259.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-248: It is an idea, but with Australia waiting in the quarters you would probably want to play your best side in the last pool game to build cohesion and momentum for the knockouts. We will probably already rest some players for Namibia and I don’t think it is wise to only put your A-team on the pitch again in the quarterfinal

• 260.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-255: Yeah you so fckng ‘COMPETENT’ ain’t you.. you feeble little runtcunt piece of sniveling half baked pseudo two face Bok supporter… who the FCK you think YOU are for labeling somebody YOU deem to be inferior as INCOMPETENT… while little runtcunt creeps like yourself spell out the EPITOME of what Incompetence actually represents.. !!

• 261.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-251:
    Give a credit for beating the 15th IRB ranked Test team? ;)
    did you roll a ‘zingaleh’ Skop? it sure looks that way

• 262.ies: Reply to this comment

What a fickle buch of supporters we have on here. One win and PDV is “directing his men dilligently” – this after all and sundry were saying that “others” were calling the shots – and F Steyn is Gods gift to rugby (remember the fat oversized fullback??)

• 263.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-260: Doesn’t take a brain surgeon to see someone out of his depth. If you can’t see it then you’re blind as a bat. But me my guest and continue with blind incompetent observations of the three blind incompetents – Dippy Tricky and Goldie (half incompetent). It suits you to be an incompetent… just dont forget to find a scapegoat – every incompetent needs one. We know who yours is… Barney. But with logical, reasonable people they all see the truth. Just not yours :lol:

• 264.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

It’s been good.

Gotta go, gotta go. (in the Notorious BIG’s voice once more)

May the power be with PDV :-) !

• 265.WhatIf: Reply to this comment

Webmaster – how you tolerate this 251/252 ashampoopaloo is a mystery. Discussion is good, disagreement also fine – but simple, vulgar gutter-speech and playing the man is beyond any norms of acceptable conduct!

• 266.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-261: Credit is wherever it is due wherever that may be.. and in this case it is due to PdV and his TEAM.. in spite of what half arsed half baked racially driven nincompoops who cannot give credibility where it is due will feign and fall about in all their fraught disharmonious dishonesty .. same as in 2007 Boks beat 13, 14, 6 and 7 rank team to get crowned top of the heap.. so we toppled 15th rank Fiji and now its all a cockahoop accreditation to Rassie and Nienaber and Smit and Matfield and whoever else .. but NEVER to PdV..!!

‘zingaleh’ whatever that may be is not smoked in my household.. sorry to disappoint..

• 267.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-253: Yes agree on Burger. He was superb.

When I was thinking who would be mom thought it would go to either, Fransie, Burger or Danie.

Mine would have been Fransie. He was outstanding.

Lambie was very good at fb. Now really keeping my fingers crossed his wrist injury is not serious. Otherwise we will see Fransie put back to FB. I think his best position is 12. Also if Fransie plays at 12 it is best for the team too. Lambie was very good at fb. So no need to worry there at all.

JPP had a superb game too. So did John and Brussow. Heck all of the team had great games. But outstanding has to be Frans Steyn.

• 268.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-254: wales did it against us and samoa. they NEVER release the tackler or roll away. they thwarted samoa twice within inches of their goal line by holding on and piling bodies on top of the tackled player and pilfered the ball.

when the bulk of referees picked by Paddy are NH then the teams from up north are wise to play them as they know them.

• 269.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ies(ies)-262:

Before i run, just want to state I’ve never said the players run the show.

I’ve always believed it is a collective effort from the management and senior players in JS, Matfield, Du Preez etc with PDV calling the shots.

He’s not a dictator, but he’s been prepared to take a roasting when his team has failed and has always backed them publicly even when their form took a dip, likewise the players have backed Div even when he made errors.

• 270.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Timotei shampoo is a faud people. A foulmouthed de Villiers hating then de Villiers loving very confused fraud, that changes his mind like the weather.

You heard it here live and in stereo on Keo Radio 69.69. Rock n Rolllllllllllll!!!!

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-264: Good one. Cheers

• 272.Transformation: Reply to this comment

paddy on the breakdown:

http://www.ewn.co.za/Story.aspx?Id=73542

• 273.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@WhatIf(WhatIf)-265: Truth hurts don’t it double talking two face … if you can’t stand the smell of the stench in the kitchen keep the two faced Nazi arsed vermin out of it.. or go someplace else.. as long as they creep around pretending they holier than the sh’t oozing from out their nazified arseholes they will continue to be outed … from whichever corner they hide their two faced heathenist racist sniveling snouts..

• 274.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-268:

That could be another reason Samoa looked so poor at the breakdown, in the end it just became a big mash-up. Just checked now, the ref for that game was : Allain Rolland. Says it all.

• 275.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-269: Very few true Bok supporters like you around … VERY FEW INDEED.. see if you can spot them here.. I doubt I even can see ONE other amongst the scraping heathenish scum who call themselves Bok supporters when they EMPHATICALLY ARE NOT !!

• 276.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Oor en uit.

BOKKE!!!

• 277.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hier kom groot k..(Hier kom groot k..)-259: Thanks for your opinion buddy.

Yeah you right, I am all for that going with momentum. Just that it is Samoa and injuries can come from that. We pick up injuries to key players before we play Oz we then could struggle. If we lose Brussow to injury we could be in trouble. Let alone one of our other key players.

So it is something to think about.

If we don’t lose any to injury my feeling we will beat Oz. It is the injuries to key players that may cost us. So just hoping like crazy we come out of the Samoa game injury free.

• 278.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-266:
    zingale = Cannabis in Yid
    Christie managed to beat the ranked 2,3 & 1 in 1995
    He had no Eddie Jones or Rassie to fall back on, both those rugby coaches are miles ahead of White and PdV respectively
    Simple?

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-274: remember the last penalty Hook missed, where the player tackled Hougaard and NEVER at any point showed “daylight” none as he wrestled the ball from frankie who held on and Barnes blew it immediately!

• 280.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Brooklax is available at your local chemist. Mind the gap!

• 281.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-278: gave that up 40 odd years ago before the hippies hit the skids .. like I said sorry to disappoint..

Christie beat 1, 2 and 3… Mallet couldn’t and Jake fluked his way around them with Eddy propping him up for ALL he was worth…

Now What you gonna say if PdV ACTUALLY takes out Aussie, NZ and Eng/France/ Wales to take the title.. who you gonna berate THEN.. like the two Nazified 2 face supporters here Tweedlededumb 1 HG and his Apartheid riot police scum of a clown up his fanny tweedlededee 2 GW two face slimeball who WILL NOT give PdV Credit for ANY of IT ?? .. I guess you might find all manner of excuses to obviate him of the honor too..

• 282.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-276: Cheers wpstormerbok.

• 283.WhatIf: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-273: Your childish outbursts are like a blind man thrashing around in the dark, hoping desperately to strike something. Count to 10 and breathe deeply. This is not life, its just a chat site.

• 284.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Timotei you gonna wash the brown stuff right out of your gob?

How long had you been shrieking at us about Smit and co. being the Boks coaches?

Please Timoti, enlighten us. Why have you changed your mind Timotei, whyyyy?

• 285.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@WhatIf(WhatIf)-283: Put it out there and it will be struck.. keep that stench away and then perhaps you can have the peaceful goody two shoes everybody loves everybody else site with all their warts and all..

You want peace and goodwill to all mankind then SHOW it.. otherwise keep your half arsed two faced underhanded second grade hypocritical slithering snake eyed scum faced racially infested fucked up lies to yourself..

• 286.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Please don’t talk Po@s to a priest.

• 287.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-285: Superiority complex…? Your ego is rampant :lol:

• 288.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-285:

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy???????
    Is lying normal for you in your veeeeeellage?

• 289.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-284: I said Smit was killing this team with his selfish desire to be a national hero and by keeping Bismark from a starting place.. I called him a cancer and all manner of evil things BECAUSE I believed he is or was putting his OWN personal ambitions ahead of his country and his team…

I have been calling for Matfield or anyone to lead the team and for Bismark to start

.. HOWEVER.. PdV has seen fit to do it the way HE has honorably decided from his OWN position.. whether you deem it to be a weakness.. he might see his loyalty as being a strength..

I have NOT condoned MANY of PdV’s selections throughout his tenure and have called AGAINST them vehemently on this site.. Smit, FdP, Spies being the notable wrong choices in my estimation..

YET STILL PdV has gone about this WC campaign his OWN way to The BEST of his ability.. whether deemed by you and your two faced skunk of bumchum HG to be INCOMPETENT.. he has STILL done it HIS way and NOT YOURS or MINE or ANYBODY else..

and for THAT I take my hat off to him.. and IF he wins this thing HE deserves ALL the credit that goes with the Victory which is STILL one hell of a long way off from being realized..

• 290.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Guys, you gonna give Skop’s Nokia a breakdown.

• 291.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

When you hear the signal, it will be 8.31 and 14 seconds….poop.

• 292.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-289:

Thanks.

• 293.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@WhatIf(WhatIf)-265:

You are nw on this site arent you?

This is the keo jungle….The most volatile blog on the worldwide web…

Skopskiet(ashampoopaloo) is a staple on this site,been banned more times than you cant count but he still is a beast around here…LMAO

Pay homage….hahahahahahahahahaha

Keo isnt for the sensitive

• 294.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-287: Not HALF as rampant as yours is you two faced 2nd grade piece of self righteous incompetent anally annulled bok supporting slithering snake eyed runt

• 295.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-292: you welcome … best I don’t add anything to that in the interest of the peace corps here

• 296.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-293: Thanks Mshini..

best I duck out while ahead and leave you to take up the slack with this bunch of half baked half arsed half witted second grade pseudo Bok supporting cast over here..

• 297.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-295:

No you were quite good actually. Explained perfectly..and I was just giving you a hard time.

• 298.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-278:

With all due respect its not fair to lump the 2 generations together-coaching or otherwise. Christie is a legend,100% for Boks,but only coached less than 20 games for Boks…Not saying De Villiers,White etc are better etc but they are coaching in the pro age,the former in amateur age. Far too different in context,landscape, developments, influences etc..John Connolly had an impressive record with Wallabies when he coached in the amateur era….returned to coach post 2006…SAw his ARSE….

• 299.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-294: You going to take a dump yet… And whats going to come out – a Panty or two… maybe an Mshiniwami, a Trannie or even a Prawn that have been stuck up there causing intellectual constipation for such a long time…

A real David Koresh intellectual pygmy “leader” for the Keo dumbfuks aren’t you :lol:

• 300.cab: Reply to this comment

Boks need to take it a game at a time, but id be very tempted to rest some of the key players against samoa…smit must start here asb.

• 301.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bismark needs game time though hey cab.

• 302.malcolm: Reply to this comment

I think it is far to early to accredit blame or praise on anyone in the boks setup. We still do not know how good or bad this team really is. We were lucky (ref interpretations or not) to beat Wales (who looked very average against Samoa) and then looked pretty good against Fiji (who any of our Super rugby franchises would beat). We are only really going to know when we play the Aussies (who themselves look very beatable.) Its turning into a weird World Cup with none of the teams really looking that good and a team like Ireland in with a real shot at now making the final.

• 303.WhatIf: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-293: Thanks for the Beginners Guide! I had better keep my head down. Ashampoopaloo may have to come up for breath again.

• 304.cab: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-301:
    ja but can u imagine he gets picked for the samoans and gets injured, i say keep bismarck, bakkies and alberts for australia – but they did look alot better against fiji, it is weakened fijian side tho – the samoans going to be a far tougher prospect. it was quite remarkable however to see the difference steyn made at 12, he is also tossing the ball around nicely, the french influence has rubbed off nicely and timeously, rather than poorly. He’s still a bit mfuta but he carries it ok and tackles well.

• 305.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-289: I do it MY WAY… PdV does it his nearest competent saviours way… anything but his OWN WAY… Because he doesn’t have a way.

You looking mighty dof with each passing post. Now shut up before you make even Dippy look competent.

• 306.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Jake White reckons we Played a disinterested Fijian side with their eye focused more on Samoa. Aich!!

• 307.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Bokek WAGS
    Giving good shags
    Boys in bliss
    Too good to miss.
    The Wallabies
    wanking and the Paddy’s
    Skanking,
    Kiwis celibate
    while Bokke celebrate
    Ritchie getting itchy
    But can’t control his bitchy.
    There’s mud in your eye when
    England’s doing each other and their mothers
    Like a bunch of nyes.
    With Bokke WAGS
    the Cup’s in the Bag!

• 308.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-307: Outstanding!

• 309.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-306: Of course he does, what else would we expect dearest Jake to say

• 310.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-306: What a load of bollocks. Fiji were pretty ferocious and in the game stats wise right to the very end. they NEVER looked disinterested. I´m sorry Jake but these boys had the last WC near upset in the back of their minds and I wouldnt be surprised if they thought they could possibly do it again. Disinterested pfff. jake now you are being a real beiatch.

• 311.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

How much were the Aussies paid to lose to Ireland?
    Anyone know

• 312.cab: Reply to this comment

JW can also talk alot of nonsense – disinterested is rubbish. The boks cleaned them up tho no doubts. Tricky one Fiji but well navigated. Samoa going to be interesting and then the big one. Is Namibia the lowest ranked team I’m tournament? Probably also get up for there cousins tho.

• 313.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

To KEO – yes the Ozzies have won the last 4 of 5 and have a winning streak against us, however who is to say that little spell is not about to be broken? Are we to believe we are inferior and incapable of beating them? Why would that be? If the boys find some synergy, which definitely appeared to be the case on Saturday (yes I know it was a second tier team but they still played a lot better together than the previous week and I thought it was a fairly tough physical match with the stats proving it was a lot more even on field than the scoreline suggests in terms of territory, possession, turnovers, pernalties etc – difference was our defence was resolute and we took our chances)

On a player by player basis is what Australia, and New Zealand much better than what we have?
    1 Beast and Gurthro are amongst the best looseheads out there
    2 Bismarck the best hooker interantionally
    3 Jannie dup – been solid more than anything and at least a match for what Oz has
    4 Bakkies or Rossouw easy matches for Vickerman or Thorne
    5 Matfield – easily as good if not better than Horwill and Ali Williams
    6 Brussouw as good as Pocock and I´d say currently better than McCaw
    7 Burger – are Elsom and Kaino better? I doubt it – at least on a par
    8 Spies – here we lose something against Radika Samo or Kieran Read but with Alberts and Rossouw as bench options we gain some parity again
    9 Fourie du Preez – if he picks up more form he is an equal to Genia and better than Cowan even out of form
    10 M Steyn – not as elusive as Cooper or Carter but a solid kicking option
    11 Habana or Houghaard – with Ioane out and possibly SBW on wing its out there
    12 If we keep F Steyn at inside centre i´d say Nonu and McCabe have a good match
    13 Fourie vs Fainga or Smith? Parity at the very least
    14 JP Pietersen vs Kahui or O Connor? depends on how JP plays on the day but I guess this one we concede
    15 Lambie as opposed to Dagg Muliana or Beale – we are close but a bit behind again I´d say.

But with a forward pack of equal potency we could well take either of our southern counterparts. Our main differences are weaker fullback and one wing and weaker flyhalf and eighth man. We somewhat make up for those deficiencies with Bismarck, Matfield, Brussouw and the strength of our bench.

Its not impossible. If you ask me South Africa also have the drive to do it. It would be a big feather in the cap of the seniors to win 2 RWC in a row. A very powerful way to go out. I think they will have the passion.

• 314.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Maybe South Africa should apologise to the IRB and say Hook’s kick did go over and that Wales won, see if they can get away from the Aussies and Kiwis that way?

• 315.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-313: One crucial bit of info you forgot to add. Graham Henry, Robbie Deans and P-Divvy. Ooooops game over for the Bokke no matter what!

• 316.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-314: Good point… An option after the Samoa game is in the bag :lol:

• 317.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

Ok so if my memory serves me correctly, wasn’t keo punting the Aussies as the greatest prospect for world cup glory just a day before they went down to Ireland, the mighty giants of NH rugby – read played 4 lost 4 in the build up to the WC, ranked number 8. Keo, a wise man once told me, when you in a hole stop digging. Aus have problems. In truth, the reason they lost against Ireland is because they don’t have what SA has i.r.o. BMT and experience. If they were in the same position as SA were against Wales they would have lost as well.

• 318.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

Boks smashed Fiji
    but Fiji are cr @p

• 319.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-313: Spot on, I think the guys are looking better than I expected and Frans Steyn definitely made a very big difference on Saturday

• 320.danuk: Reply to this comment

I think our coaches on Saturday stumbled on the missing link for our backs, a more mature Frans Steyn at 12, but having said that I’d reserve my opinion after the game against Samoa.

Personally I’d love to see Flo and Brussouw together as well.

Spies should go look at the French no. 8 for some lessons on good play. He wasn’t bad on Saturday but with his speed he should do much much more. Same for Habana, go have a look at how Odwa got himself involved …

• 321.devin_hester_is_blitz: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-2: well said ufo…if we can’t win the big games, who cares?

“it will rank as the greatest ever Bok achievement”…no it won’t Keo. Peaking for 3 games in a row in some one-off do-or-die encounters is easier than winning the Tri Nations back in ’98. Neither did the ’95 win compare to that either, for similar reasons (+ home ground advantage).

If winning the WC is *all* that counts then we should concede the Samoa game. But please let’s not quake in our boots at the frightening prospect of playing an *actual* contender before the final if we aren’t prepared to sacrifice some reputation along the way. Haven’t we been doing that all year already anyway? 40-7 vs NZ anyone?

• 322.Getafix: Reply to this comment

With a midfield of of Steyn and Fourie + the best winger in world, Hougaard, our forwards must just do their job….

• 323.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-322:

And o ad injury to insult, we also have the best kicker on the planet….

• 324.Getafix: Reply to this comment

to

• 325.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jake white nevet fails to show how much of DOOS he is..”disinterested” my foot. he must fark off to aus soon rather than later.

• 326.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-315: Fortunately he´s not the only one on the coaching staff and the senior players have played long enough to know a trick or two. I dont think a game plan different from what theyve done before will make any difference either. look at Australia vs Ireland – won by the forwards with penalties. This we can do. Who would have said that? Forget the expansive craze – the finals will be tough slogs.

• 327.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-317: Have to agree there. The loss to Samoa reiterates that point. In fact I´ll go a step further. Theyre just plain young and cocky. They thought theyd walk the Ireland game too hence them feeling shellshocked – they never expected to lose.
    Now that works to our advantage because theyve won 4 of 5 on the trot against us and beat us in the Tri Nations. Were just walkovers according to them. I say thats 100% fine. Bring it on.

• 328.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-320: Even more than that – Saturday had many points of note:
    1 Gurthro is back from injury – he´s hitting his best form again and pushing Beast whilst at it
    2 Smit was solid enough and in a tight game he´d manage with Bismarck coming on just after halftime – thats pretty devastating.
    3 Jannie Dup has stepped up a notch. Not only has he been solid but on Sat he carried the ball well
    4 Bakkies is Bakkies and Alberts did an admirable job at lock giving us the option of having 5 loose forwards in forwards at once – Rossouw, Alberts, Burger, Louw, Spies and still another on the bench in the form of F Louw. What was that about the breakdown?
    5 Rossouw was immense. He is really stepping up to the plate again after some bad games. With Matfield on the mend we are in a good position
    6 Brussouw – the man is magic and he seems to be holding up well after coming back from injury
    7 Burger has played out of his skin in these 2 matches to date meaning its no fluke – he will rise to the biggest of occasions and we can rely on him to help fill that void that Juan Smith left
    8 Spies had a much better and more physical game – he´s not the best but he is making some progress
    9 FDp still not at his best but improvd performance. if he hits his straps around quarters to semis we´ll be laughing
    10 M Steyn has stepped up and is trying to play more attacking rugby, he´s trying to defend better and his kicking is spot on as usual. he knows his shortcomings and its obvious he´s working hard on them
    11 Odwa was a far more solid replacement than I would have thought and Houghaard is the best option above Habana.
    12 F Steyn´s best position like I always said. he brings the physicality a player of De villiers´size does but much more. Our backline came alive for the first time in over year
    13 Jacques Fourie is playing some very fine rugby of late
    14 JP Pietersen looked far more involved and not as lethargic as he did vs Wales.
    15 Lambie was solid at the back and gives us an attacking edge from there.

Ruan Pienaar is a chop and shouldnt play again at the Cup.

• 329.jeest: Reply to this comment

Despite what the great “kiss of death” Keo thinks, the Boks will be very hard to beat this WC. Experienced teams are always successful and this year will be no different.

The Wallabies will be more dangerous following this loss – I don’t think they will win but their form for the last 3 years is to win a couple, lose one, win a couple. The loss was on the cards but I still think they are too young to win the comp. And Deans is a good team manager but he is a **** coach. Aussie have made a serious mistake but not putting Ewen in that role.

Blacks still the favourites but lets hope the Boks ruin their tournament. If not us then I’m happy for anyone else to do the same.

• 330.kapie: Reply to this comment

The Boks were totally awesome on Saturday.

They played with so much ferocity and purpose that we could watch in awe how our team were thrashing their opponents.

To suggest that I was a proud South African on Saturday is an understatement. I was an ‘extra proud South African’

Hougaard and Pieterson are not afraid to attack the advantage line. They displayed a natural flair when they have ball in hand. Hougaard is a game breaker.

Jacque Cronje a very strong runner. He has the ability to touch down in the corner with very limited space. He has proved this too often now.

Heinrich Brussouw and Bismarck were colossal.

Danie Rossouw was him old self again, setting up the one wave of the attack after the other. He deserved to be named ‘man of the match’

The Bokke played as a cohesive unit and naturally took the ball out wide. Fiji is no minnow team; they play their rugby hard and played against top rugby playing nations. What we achieved on Saturday was unthinkable because we barely scraped through against Wales. It showed that we can play fifteen man rugby. It showed that we are not afraid to take the ball out wide. It showed that we have character. It showed that we have flair. It showed that we are a force to be reckoned with, but most importantly it showed why we are the defending world champions.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.