Boks must now climb Everest

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says a Bok win in a possible quarter-final against the Wallabies would come as a surprise.

Ireland turned the predictability of the World Cup play-offs upside down, but for all the new found hope among South African supporters I can’t see the Boks doing the same thing.

A week ago the Boks were rubbish, according to those on the social network. Once again they are a superpower.

There is no middle ground when it comes to South African rugby supporters – and may it never change. That kind of passion can’t be learned, but with blind faith comes inevitable disappointment when the obvious comes as a real shock. Remember how many were actually stunned when the All Blacks beat a second-string Bok XV 40-7 earlier this year? Too many.

On matters specific to the win against Fiji and the surge in confidence, Frans Steyn reveled in the midfield and the Springboks, apparently by their own admission, did a similar thing in playing the situation and not relying on a pre-match PowerPoint presentation of how to beat Fiji.

Bok lock Danie Rossouw admitted afterwards that it was never the plan for the Boks to be as bold and extravagant and added it showed the Boks could be more than boring.

There is a difference between clueless and boring. The Boks for too long have been clueless and, against better teams, who play with more structure in defence and more precision and aggression at the breakdown, it has been their undoing.

In Wellington, against inferior opposition, the Boks showed the immense individual talent of South African players. Francois Steyn was world class, Rossouw was ferocious and skilled and Heinrich Brussouw, Jaque Fourie, Bismarck du Plessis and Francois Hougaard were as good as they were in week one against Wales.

And never forget Schalk Burger. He is always worth two players. It was fun to watch, fun for the players to be a part of and a shift from the toil and hardship of the Tri Nations. It was a necessary and decisive hit out for the Boks against a team with the odd quality individual, but little collectively.

It is difficult to get too enthused about whipping Fiji and those doing cartwheels because the Boks scored six tries and scored 49 points against a team that conceded 25 to Namibia not only insult the pedigree of the Boks, but also miss the point. Nothing out of the ordinary happened in Wellington.

Fortunately captain John Smit wasn’t one of them and he said the most pleasing aspect was the Boks kept the Fijians tryless, albeit with a bit of help from the Islanders who self-destructed on attack and were never in the match defensively.

Fiji were good in the 2007 World Cup, but only three of the side that beat Wales to advance to the quarter-finals fronted the Boks in Wellington. Get excited that the Boks were willing to back their natural talent and instincts, but don’t get excited that Fiji represent anything in the context of winning this World Cup.

Ireland’s amazing victory against Australia in Auckland was more significant for the Boks than brushing aside Fiji. Every South African loves seeing Australia lose, but it was not the result the Boks would have expected or wanted.

Sure players have to back themselves to beat anyone to win this tournament but every Bok would rather entertain the prospect of Ireland in a quarter-final than an Australian side already taught a lesson in this tournament.

Jake White’s winning 2007 World Cup squad did not get to play Australia, New Zealand or France, but there hasn’t been similar good fortune for Peter de Villiers and there is no tougher assignment than having to beat Australia, probably New Zealand and possibly France in successive weekends in New Zealand. If the Boks negotiate those three mountains they will have scaled rugby’s Everest and it will rank as the greatest ever Bok achievement.

I can’t see it happening and it would be a surprise for the Boks to beat the Tri-Nations champions in the play-offs, if indeed this match-up takes place. As it stands it should with South Africa and Ireland the favourites to win their respective groups.

The Boks, like their supporters, will always have confidence and never be found wanting for self belief, but the reality is Australia has beaten South Africa four of the last five matches, including two in South Africa.

They are also on a three-match winning streak against the Boks and the match will be in Wellington and not at Eden Park – a ground that seems to scramble with the Australian minds as much as Ellis Park does those of the All Blacks.

Ireland’s win, brilliant to watch, exposed the lack of depth in the Australian pack and for the Wallabies to succeed flanker David Pocock and hooker Steven Moore have to be starting.

It makes for a fascinating next three weeks. The Boks will humiliate Namibia and get more than a few bruises against Samoa.

Australia is a different beast and they’re a side that has troubled South Africa even more than the All Blacks.

No matter what anyone may say and despite all the bravado among South Africa’s support base these are more nervous times for South Africa, as defending champion, than Australia as a potential champion.

330 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Paws(Paws)-99: We beat the AB’s for the 1st time in 10 years in 2008 and only for the second time since readmission.

• 102.thefifthbeatle: Reply to this comment

Adolescent; but still is d@mn funny! sorry if have seen before.

Bakkies Botha is so sterk, hy kan ‘n bladsy uit facebook uit skeur

Bakkies Botha bel nie die verkeerde nommer nie, jy antwoord die verkeerde foon

Bakkies Botha doesn’t flush the toilet, he scares the sh*t out of it

Death once had a near-Bakkies Botha experience

Bakkies Botha doesn’t need a GPS. Bakkies Botha decides where he is.

Bakkies Botha can tweet from a pay phone

Toe Alexander Graham Bell die foon ontwerp het, was daar reeds 3 missed calls van Bakkies Botha af

The Vredefort dome was not created by a meteorite, Bakkies Botha decided to put
    his foot down

Die enigste tyd wat Bakkies rustig raak is as Riaan die nuus lees om 7

Wanneer Bakkies melk op sy rice crispies gooi, bly hulle tjoep f*kken stil

Die eerste ding wat Bakkies doen wanneer hy by die see aankom, is om twee
    lengtes te swem

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

It could just be a good thing we face Oz in the quarter and not Ireland. We just may have underestimated Ireland. We will never underestimate Australia. Boks will be ready.

If Pocock or Moore is not back for Oz they will be in trouble against the Boks. Even if they are back I feel we can beat Oz in the quarters. We should have beaten Oz in Durban by plenty. Only very basics cost us. Handling errors was the biggest problem that day. Had we just held onto the ball we could and should have got a few tries against Oz. Cause all those handling errors was just about on their line. Also if Beast and Fourie passed we would almost definitely crossed their line. So tidy that up and we should have the beating of them.

Really feel we could beat Oz. But to face NZ after a very hard especially that it will come after playing two tough games two weeks in a row. Just have to hope for no injuries. But feel we have the team to do it.

We Boks supporters know well that it was only Fiji we beat on Saturday, it was the way we played that will give the players so much confidence. Confidence is what the players need right now and that game gave it to us. Just showed if we keep possession we can also play a brilliant attacking game. If we have to play the kick and chase and do it to perfection, no other team in world rugby can play it better than us.

So there we have it. We can vary it up if we have too. Just need to select right. Frans Steyn is absolutely awesome at inside centre. He has to start there no question. Danie was brilliant on Saturday. So even if we don’t have Victor back we know what we have in Danie. Actually never thought any of our players besides Bekker could play better than Matfield. Danie did and he was immense. Even Morne Steyn was great. Never thought I would say that, but Morne played very well on Saturday. The whole team did. We played as a team. Every player put their hand up and done well. Only player that needs game time is Ruan. He was not up to it. He needs to get game time this week against Nambia.

If we don’t pick up any more injuries I think we can go all the way.

Go Bokke. Just believe and it can happen. Stay positive.

• 104.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-100:

Agree regarding Ireland. The AB’s are still fiddling with selections and if they try SBW on the wing in a do or die vs the Boks they’ll be in deep trouble.

Can you see Australia doing a 3 on the trot? Can you see the Boks doing it?

I truely believe we’ll bully Aus into submission and kill off their title ambitions when our bench arrives.

And if the AB’s don’t settle on combo’s we’ll bully them as well.

• 105.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: Sorry 3rd paragraph.

Should read – But to face NZ after a very hard game.

• 106.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103:

I don’t see why Aus would be that physically taxing in this QF, their performances are steadily declining and they’ll just have to field their best pack these next two games. They can’t rest Pocock, Genia or Cooper because their media won’t allow it.

Whereas the Boks WILL field our best packs because we came into the Cup deliberately undercooked therefor our performance is still improving.

• 107.Just For Kicks: Reply to this comment

Yawn Keo, you and Ryan really are the epitome of what every rugby fan isn’t – a supporter who backs his own team to win. Your negativity is unquestionable, and you really should be remembered for that. I have seen very little, if any bloggers stating that the boks ‘are a superpower’ again. It is you and your sniveling one trick pony’s that have come up with that. Every blogger is, however extremely upbeat about what they saw on Saturday, and may well believe that our chances have improved after seeing that match. Whether Fiji (who ran us close last WC) were a team ranked in the top 5 or in the mid teens, makes little difference to the fact that it was a hugely improved performance by the boks, and we love watching such rugby.

Somehow, you need to, just for a bit, start watching rugby with your heart again. In your head it has turned you into a bitter and twisted person who thinks the only way to get readership is with the constant barrage of negative comments. Loosen up old chap, take a leaf out of all the other world journo’s books out there. Support the boks, write good things when they do well, and constructive things when they don’t. It’s a common trend among the other journo’s, and what is more they have a decent group of readers too!!!

Last WC we had the easy road to the final. This time it may be more challenging, but imagine the glory, Keo, if we get there. We will, I have no doubt of that. Lets not think about how, why, or when we are going to lose the WC, lets cross that bridge if we come to it rather. Lighten up Keo, the traffic cop did!

• 108.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103:

Don’t think Ruan will be part of the big games, he’ll make way for Butch.

Only reason he was there is because Butch was injured, Frankie covers wing and emergency 9.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-97: Yesterday on the wrap up show they had Garth Wright, Heinecke Meyer and Alistair Coetzee analysing the game and it was very clear that Gert Smal had done his homework very thouroughly, not just on the Wallabies but also on the ref. One of the points that they made was how Ireland managed to slow the ball down at ruck time, thereby denying Cooper quick ball, with out which he was “stuffed” to quote a Coetzee technical term. ;)

Garth was sying that they way the game was blown favoured a NH interpretation of the ruck above a SH one, which favoured the Irish quite a bit.

One of the points made also was the importance of being able to read the ref in each circumstance and game, as they will blow thing differently from each other.

If Ireland can do it so can we.

Looks like we’ll have to…

• 110.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-104: I feel we will too.

This Bok team got huge belief in themselves on Saturday. Whether it was Fiji we faced or not. They way we won, it was the right medicine we needed. Confidence. It makes for a huge factor.

Key thing now is try not to pick up anymore injuries.

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: I agree with you 100%. Good post!

• 112.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: Absolutely. We have to know how the ref interprets the breakdowns, because they all seem to ref different there.

Actually was gonna say that in my post above.

• 113.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-104:

Pocock will make a massive difference to the Aus team – they lacked someone who works in the trenches on the weekend.

They have concerns at the scrum too.

Oz really could not afford to have lost this match. Their road to the final now includes the Boks, then NZ and then whoever makes the final if there are no significant upsets.

I am not reading too much into the Boks victory.

Of course there were some positives especially from Morne Steyn and FDP (still below par but at least improving) imo. But our defense close in is still shockingly poor, our ability to clean up and around the ruck not good enough which undermines our direct style of play.

A lot of questions about the All Blacks will be answered this weekend, but smart money has to be on them to beat a NH team in the final.

• 114.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: My main concern if Victor is not fit is the gathering of the ball after restarts. I think we came up short on Saturday and could have lead to a try by Fuji.
    Victor is a must in the big games I don’t have any doubt about that.

• 115.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-108: Yes but we may need Ruan to play fh this week. Don’t think it is a problem against Nambia.

Just hope Lambie gets over his wrist injury. Think he picked that up in the tip tackle. He landed on his wrist. Shame as it was about 79min into the game when that happend. He was very good on Saturday and that allowed Frans Steyn to play 12. I know we have Aplon that can play FB too.

• 116.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-103: Good post Pooms. I agree.

• 117.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-111: Thanks M.

I feel a whole lot better and more confident about our Boks after Saturday.

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-106: For sure. We will improve and get fitter with each game. Just hope no more injuries.

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-116: Thanks HG.

• 119.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: Interesting. Smal is a bit of an unsung hero for Ireland I reckon… Saw footage of all the players hugging an awaiting grinning Smal one by one in the change room after the match… Big respect there.

• 120.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-108: I don’t understand why Ruan is even part of the squad. He cannot handle pressure games – he was very poor on the away leg of the Trinations.
    We should have taken Vermaak or Duvenhage instead – future Bok prospects imo.

• 121.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-113:

Agree with you on Australia and said earlier if they could’ve somehow snuck a victory like the Boks did vs Wales they could’ve regathered, boxed cleverly and reach finals.

Right now they’re dizzy and the Boks will put them out of their misery.

There are still some aspects SA has to work on like you mentioned and it’s heartening to know that they know exactly what is needed. They’ll improve immensely by the time we’re done with Aus.

@Puma(Puma)-115:

That’s my biggest hope now, getting Lambie to start again this week. Aplon can do the job but the Boks would want Lambie to further gel with JP and with Habana back the combo would’ve had a good run out.

Butch is backup flyhalf so I really don’t see Ruan starting there. Only change would be Jannie to completely get a well deserved break and if PDV has a big heart he’ll rest JS as well with Bismarck starting and Chilli on bench.

Otherwise there’ll be no changes, PDV will play his best team for all the games they need time on the park.

• 122.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Gregs(Gregs)-120:

Thing is Ruan has been part of the setup and he’s been to the WC so that’s probably what got him a role in this competition, albeit a minimal one.

• 123.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-119: Yeah, a few G’s in the change room I expect. They really did a job on the Aussies for sure. If they do nothing else they’ll be celebrating that for some time to come.

• 124.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

My biggest gripe with the Boks so far is their one-on-one tackles. Too many players lack the commitment and accuracy needed to stop the ball carrier dead in his tracks, so you find that team mates have to cover for them, fall back, drift etc. And this opens up gaps.

Danie’s tackling, despite his MOM award, was poor. Jannie Dup’s tackling was equally poor. Morne Steyn, Spies, Odwa, Lambie (and Butch and JP, in the first game) all slipped straightforward tackles.

I reckon they should all spend an afternoon looking at how Mossie, Alberts and Gurthro halt a threatening move.

• 125.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-114: Yes I agree.

Just great to see Danie playing a outstanding game. When we lost Bekker I was seriously worried if Victor picked up a injury. Now we know we can count on Danie. Don’t worry about the gathering of the ball after the restarts. I am very sure we will be working on that.

• 126.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-123: I reckon Ireland or Wales will be doing more than celebrating one game before this tournament is over….

Price on a Boks vs Wales/Ireland Final ?

Can you farken imagine?

• 127.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-125: hiyas brudda ^5 you well??

Danie was brilliant 2nd half bro , first half he was shocking missing like 5 to 6 tackles
    he has the habbit of going in with the shoulder and just slips tackles

other then that and one or 2 droppped passes?? brilliant

• 128.Gregs: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-122: But that does not make sense. Why not take someone that actually offers you something.He is just a waste of a passenger in this group. We have enough worthy experience in the squad.

• 129.toby: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-58: Haha..hit a nerve Kobus Kitty..funny how a good game against a minnow and Bok’s supporters crowing like troopers….Believe you have improved all you want…

Kobus you know when it hurts when you need to make a personal attacks.

At least I’m not realistic to believe that ‘Bok’s can’t win, but Black’s n Wobblies have just as much chance too…

• 130.toby: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-80: Helen your paranoid about choking..I think more that Kiwis….about edge just having a bit of fun…no harm lol

• 131.Nils: Reply to this comment

It would be a very interesting QF. Very pissed off yellow wasps from across the ditch vs sofar gaining momentum horned animals. Can’t wait already.

You, Irish better not screw up this upcoming titans clash and beat Italians!

• 132.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-126: Well they way they played on Saturday Ireland will fancy a QF win for sure, and then it’s all bets are off really.

I for one would love that!

• 133.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-131: LOL. Well said. The Italians loom large as a banana peel to WC predictability again.

• 134.richboy: Reply to this comment

No Matter how Old or Tired these Boks are , the only way we can defeat the Aussies is to Bully them in the Scrums, Maintain the Ball for long periods and slow down the Game> If we try compete with them with a fast paced open game we will have cooked ourselves. Tough Scrumming and Solid Defence will win this Game

• 135.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Gregs(Gregs)-128:

I think in the case of emergency Ruan would be ahead of the pack of inexperienced contenders, plus his versatality (9, 10, 15) as a backup got him the nod maybe?

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-126:

The Irish had a lot of their key players only recently returning so they may be maturing as a team just on time rather unexpectedly?

• 136.Sannie Bill Who??iams: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:

Or the ones the all bleghs fluked whem they won in ’87. The Bokke not there and the Samoans not invited. They probably knew they would get hammered by them as well.

Hey Kiki Keo you short ****. Were you being tossed when the Tindall got caught with his fingers in the pu….pie? How about writing something positive for a cange and say the other teams have a mountain to climb.

Or are you still sour after 2003 and the fact that PDivvy did not pick your fellow dwarf Little Lulu?

• 137.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-121: I think we have to look to what awaits us after the Nambia game. We face Samoa, Wallabies and NZ. To go all the way we have to rest players. This would be the ideal game. Cause to beat NZ we can’t get to that game with injuries or dead on our feet.

Quite a few could rest this week or even against Samoa some could rest.

• 138.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132:

But funnily enough I actually feel Samoa missed a great chance at RWC greatness.

If they beat Wales they could’ve knocked over Ireland and couldve had a decent shot at getting somewhere in this comp!

• 139.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132: If Wales play the way the played against the Boks… against an Ireland playing like Wobbly beaters… Shew, a QF of note… Will make a the France/Eng QF look positively boring :wink:

But throw in a Fiji and Italian banana peel and there’s much life left in the group stages yet.

(PS: Whats the price on a USA win over the Wobblies :wink: That’ll be the farken day…)

• 140.Sannie Bill Who??iams: Reply to this comment

The wobblies frail psyche has been shattered by the Irish. Bring on the convicts I say….

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-127: Howzit bro.

Yeah he did slip some tackles, but looking at it as a whole, he was immense I thought.

Saying that, my (mom) would have gone to none other than Frans Steyn. He was awesome.

• 142.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-135: Yes, and these guys are the “golden generation” of Irish players, many of whom fubar-ed their last RWC outing, and who want to make amends.

• 143.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-137:

But remember Puma, the time doesn’t need any more rest than the week between matches since they’ve hardly played the last 2 months.

Also, with our rotation at loosehead, our early sub at hooker it’s only really Jannie that needs a full break.

In the second row Matfield & Botha need time on the park so they’ll play if fit.

Schalk thrives on playing, Brussow might get a break as well but Spies needs confidence so he’ll play.

Du Preez needs game time to improve his form which is coming along nicely. Morne is benifitting from playing with him again so Butch will probably only get a look second half.

Mossie might get a break in the centres but his new combo with Frans needs time. Habana has been well rested and looked good in the last 2 Trinations games, so he along with JP will play.

No rest needed for the wicked im afraid :-) !

• 144.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143:
    i mean the Team, not time eish

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@richboy(richboy)-134: We will have taken note of the Ireland game. They played normal Bok rugby there…hehe.

Jeez, Gert Smal has worked well with their forwards.

• 146.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-142:

This time around they’ve prepared to play their best rugby during the tournament and not before it, like the Aussies have unfortunately.

• 147.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143: Good post.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-138: True. They just haven’t got it together this time around. Ireland should beat Wales (although that isn’t a given) and meet either France or England in the semi’s.

Makes for a wide open draw really.

• 149.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-146: You may be right… I hope.

• 150.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-143: I know we need more game time but this is a long tourney still. If we make it to the final and I am feeling we just may. Then we definitely need some players rested for a whole game. Somewhere along the line.

Rotate some players from here until the quarters. Which we are doing I know, but do it with others as well. Rest some for the whole game against Nambia or Samoa.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.