KeoTV: Boks face premature exit

RYAN VREDE says the Springboks’ World Cup journey will end in the quarter-finals.

823 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 51.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

I would say it was Spies best game of the year so far, but he could still improve alot.
    Im am not Danie Rossouw fan, but he had a big game against fiji. My only concern is that he misses way to many tackles, especially in the first 20 mins where he missed 5 takles putting the boks under pressure.

The Boks are on the up, but it doesnt seem to be spotted by these so-called journos on this site. Why so negative?

• 52.Staal: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-44:

The Aussies are a bad mix of overplayed undercooked players, their WC is all but over.

eish… big words those! :lol:

remember they won us on our home soil…. so what does that make us? :lol:

• 53.@camull99: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-12: This is exactly the kind of writing this website has lowered itself to. Don’t know what happened, but seems like Keo wants to be controversial.

• 54.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-46:

That will be the difference between the defending champions and the pretenders in this tourni, PDV has stated this repeatedly that’s why players performing on the bench won’t be promoted unless there are injuries and these players know their roles that’s why each time they come on they play like caged up animals let loose.

@rangerman(rangerman)-48:

The Aussies’ legs simply won’t last, remember they’ll be under immense pressure and scrutiny for their last two pool matches and the minnows both have good packs and they’ll attack them there. Aus will win but there might be casualties.

In the QF we’ll do what France did to us on end of year tour 2009, send us home with bloodies faces.

• 55.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-54:

Rather send THEM home with bloodies faces :-) !

• 56.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

I think Auz should be more worried than the boks come QF. The boks bench is too strong for them, i think that is where we will win the game

• 57.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-52:

Staal, our preperations has been spot on so far.

Remember our first choice team didn’t tour during TriNations.

That first game on homesoil we were still early in preperation mode, if you think back PDV even taking off Brussow with the game in balance. That was the plan, to give Ratel a hit out and take him off. The result didn’t matter as PDV has always had an eye on the Cup.

The Aussies beat us and that was good for them, remember they played their best team throughout and in Brisbane they peaked in that first half, running the AB’s off their feet.

The problem for them is not so much as peaking at the wrong time but rather their inability to sustain that level of performance because of the load of rugby they’ve been playing since EOYT2010.

Similiar to the Boks in 2009 we peaked when we beat Aus in Aus, but than we had just enough in the tank to sustain it to beat NZ in NZ to take the final.

Then we went on tour and our performances dipped because of fatigue. Injuries followed because of this and we had to rebuild through 2010.

The building will stop come SF in this Cup, our players will be as close to their peak as they were in 2009.

• 58.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-52: cmon staal, our lads hadnt played in 8 weeks.

thats the point isnt it?

we WERE undercooked, they ARE overcooked.

they are big words i agree but though i respect the aussies, i dont think we should fear facing them in a 1/4.

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-54: ja, as chris says, our bench may prove to be the difference.

gotta go make the moola, have a good day!

BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 59.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-48: He certainly did look broken mentally.

The Aussies have their own issues to address.

The Deans-Giteau issue will still be pressing on the players, as well as the Elsom-Horwill issue.

• 60.Staal: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-57:

@rangerman(rangerman)-58:

guys – no problem. Just wanna say let’s take it a game at a time please….

• 61.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

If SA plays its best team that is with Steyn at 12, Hougaard at 11, Bismarck at 2, I am extremely confident that we’ll beat Australia. But yes, with Smit and JDV who miss 10 tackles a game and who destroy all our ambitions on attack, we have no chance.

• 62.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-58:

Howzit Ranger

Yeah Jannie has been unsung hero of late,that break he made in midfield vs Fiji was brilliant.Plsu his work at setphases etc was immense.Definitely impressed

He is in my Team of the week

Team of the Week

1.Healy (Ire)
    2.Best (Ire)
    3.du Plessis (SA)
    4.Rossouw (SA)
    5.O’Connell (Ire)
    6.Brussow (SA)
    7.O’Brien (Ire)
    8.Picamoles (Fra)

9.Parra (Fra)
    10.Steyn (SA)
    11.Kahui (NZ)
    12.Nonu (NZ)
    13.Fourie (SA)
    14.Clerq (Fra)
    15.Beale (Aus)

Player of the Week: Danie Rossouw

• 63.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@coma(coma)-10: Agree 100% – that is an AWESOME team!

Im so glad that Keo are not backing the Boks. They backed Aus and see whats happened, they called for Butch and see what happened. On and on the kiss of death goes

• 64.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-60:

Exactly what the Boks are doing I believe, if you hear the talks in the media NZ & Aus are already in the final :-) !

@Pirlet BEL(Pirlet BEL)-61:

JS/Spies/Du Preez/Habana will start in the big games. PDV wont change that, the powerplay bench is a big part of our strategy this year.

Only headache for Div now is the form of F.Steyn at 12. The Boks backline looks like a completely different beast with him there. Unfortunately for JDV his WC curse will continue.

• 65.Helen: Reply to this comment

Ryan, you must be talking through your ar$e again, coz your breath smells bad…

Are you then by defintion saying that Aus have a better chance of going all the way after losing to Samoa and Ireland recently. So, you believe Aus have what it takes to win 2 big ones in a row, but SA not? Not cool, man.

Au contraire, my friend, Aus depend on too many things going their way, ie, not a single injury among the forwards. SA, on the other hand, have the depth to compete even after 3 or 4 big injuries.

• 66.MG: Reply to this comment

I said this on another thread, but I think this is very relavent to this one.
    The team should be at full strength against Samoa. A nice hard game game before Aus, great prep. And then Aus will again be great prep for the All Blacks in the semi, and off course, the All Blacks will be the ultimate prep for the final! I have a great feeling about this RWC. Things are working out nicely. I am not worried like other people about the “hard road” , I embrace it. This time, if the Boks win the RWC, there will be no whining that we did not play Aus or NZ. Well I hope they will finally realise that we are worthy Champs

• 67.coma: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-23: Is jy pistoff omdat ek Spies uitlaat?

• 68.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@MG(MG)-66:

We’ll play our best team vs Samoa, PDV has said on numerous occassions he wants his first team on the park to gain as many minutes as possible.

I think with our performance on the weekend it has given him an unexpected luxury of resting a few key players since the team is slightly ahead of schedule in terms of overall cohesion.

I’m not saying we were perfect, but they were better than expected to the point where they themselves were suprised. This would’ve instilled great believe in the squad who’ll now fully understand Div’s vision.

• 69.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

i@Helen(Helen)-65:
    I also don’t get the logic being applied by some of these journos

2 days ago the boks were going to beat Ireland and lose to NZ in the semi

now since Ireland beat Aussie – the boks will lose to Aussie in the quarters ????
    isn’t it logical to assume the boks should beat Australia if they were going to beat Ireland?

its like no matter what happens the boks should lose so where does it end?
    According to keo and friends if the boks win that game against Aussie they will lose to the AB’s in the semi – if the boks win against the AB’s they are certain to lose in the final… if the boks win the final they are will definitely not be able to defend the title in 2015

• 70.MG: Reply to this comment

Boktillzero, brilliant post. Ryan has NO clue how to analyse this RWC. Maybe he should go against his “Gut feeling” everytime, he might end up being a great rugby writer?????

• 71.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Ryan – were we watching the same game? Boks are now STARTING TO PEAK – any fool can see that; Fiji captain – who was on the receiving end says they are the team to beat now – and Australia will be a lot more worried about us than we will be about them.

For all the lead writers on this blog the glass is always half-full – my cousin tells me that despite top running side Fiji restricted to 3 points “Boks weren’t tackling” and Ryan – despite 49 points on board “Boks lack killer instinct” – when anybody could see it was heroic defence from Fiji that prevented the score being +70 … and now Jon saying they are undercooked …

I give up … let me tell you the whole nation of NZ is suddenly quite worried and that tension will be transmitted to the All Blacks … and traditionally they are not very good at handling it …

Go Bokke – Saturday proved you’ve arrived – Frans Steyn is sensational and Sean Fitzpatrick says he would pick Bismarck first and only in World XV and then select the rest around him … we’re in with a great shot now and will cull the Aussies for sure, no question about it.

• 72.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Ryan, you’ve got no idea man.

What are these things that must go the Springboks way? What bounce of the ball?

All we need to do is pitch on the day. The Springboks are a more physical and more experienced side then Australia. If the Boks defend the way we all know they can, Australia haven’t got a hope in hell.

And the difference for the Springboks now? Schalk Burger. Look at his performances the last 2 games. Play like that against Australia and they’re going to have a very very VERY hard time.

Australia are the ones that will need luck.

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-62: @rangerman(rangerman)-58: something joel stransky asked the “panel” on Masterplan was “is jannie scrumming in”

meyer, coetzee grudgingly said yes, as the evidence in the clips was there for all to see. he might get pinged by other referees. good runs from him, beast, guthro & bismark.

the frontrower who was missing in action in terms of carrying the ball was smit!

• 74.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-72:

You’ve backed Schalk to do the job from at 7 from the beginning, the way he’s popping little passes when on the backfoot, or even taking it flat on occassion has been a revelation.

His physicality on attack and defence has always been there, only thing i don’t like is him going in with his butt?! lol this usually causes him to go to ground with no hope of going over the adv line. Other than that his combo with Brussow has given us a new dimension.

• 75.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-73:

Come on Transformation, give Smit some credit. His workrate at rucks were good and his support of the ball carrier around the fringes allowed us quick ball.

A much better game from JS.

• 76.poppa69: Reply to this comment

gees, lot of blokes here jumping the gun thinking Aussie will be a foregone conclusion for the Bokke..

youve won 1 game from the last 6 against them…

they know how to beat your team, and being a young team they will not run out of puff like so many are hoping..

good luck okes, youll need it for that 1/4..

• 77.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-9: Thank goodness.

• 78.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-48: Yup, the traditional Aussie cockiness got its comeuppance… Ireland showed an Emperor with no clothes and that on any given day in the World Cup each nation is at least competitive and no Nation will bendover for another… Except a Kirwan coached Japan 2nd team for the “Mighty” ABs…

• 79.Sean: Reply to this comment

We might have a great back-up pack ……..But …if Brussouw is injured we are a gona . He is without doubt imperitive to our winning the 1/8 and 1/4 . Skulk is brilliant but sadly Spies is nowhere .He is always running away from the contact point , and just can’t read a game to be in the right place at the right time .

• 80.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-62: Now thats a blaady good team selection… I personally would swap F Steyn for Nonu, the Irish laaitie for M Steyn, and Traille for Beale… But marginal. Good one.

• 81.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-76: yea, how dare they believe that their team can win. they should all be like Ryan and just sit in the corner with their arms folded like the grumpy kid in class because they now have to face the Aussies and are sure to lose. you Kiwi trolls mock any signs of belief that Bok supporter have in their team, and in doing so you inadvertently display your own arrogance in that you can’t fathom that any team could be confident when they don’t have the same sterling results as the ABs. i’ve known a few Kiwis over the years, but i’ve never come across the likes of you, BP and co, but i guess every country has their rotten apples.

• 82.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-76:

Not jumping the gun at all. The sad thing for Aus is they won’t have the reserves to deal with the Bok bench come that last quarter.

If they could’ve somehow found a way to overcome Ireland the way the Boks did against Wales, they could’ve paced themselves and with the easier route could’ve snuck in to make the final.

But this trip-up has effectively knocked them out as they won’t last the distance vs an improving Bok outfit.

• 83.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Sean(seanbokpool)-79:

You can say that for all teams. If NZ lose Carter or McCaw they’re in trouble, Aus lost Pocock and Moore and struggled.

All the teams need their key players fit to win this thing so you can’t use that against the Boks.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-75: yeah against FIJI, that’s like giving pats on the back for Northampton beating the Valke.

• 85.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-62: @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-80: Here is my team of the week:

1-Steenkamp
    2-Smit
    3-Du Plessis
    4-Bakkies
    5-Rossouw
    6-Brussow
    7-Burger
    8-Spies
    9-FDP
    10-M.Steyn
    11-JPP
    12-F.Steyn
    13-Fourie
    14-Ndungane
    15-Lambie

No bias, of course.

BOKKE !!!!!!!!!!

• 86.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-80:

Sexton? He was the only guy in the Irish team who looked like he wanted to lose! Had a very average game, especially at the start. Morne deserves it given his performance against Fiji.

And I’d include Schalk and give him the best player of the week award :)

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-81: a few examples of “believe in their team ” rather arrogant IMO, but hey, each to their own..

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-72: “All we need to do is pitch on the day. The Springboks are a more physical and more experienced side then Australia. If the Boks defend the way we all know they can, Australia haven’t got a hope in hell.”

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-71: “we’re in with a great shot now and will cull the Aussies for sure, no question about it”

• 88.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-85: Hehe… The impish coach Willie at work :lol:

• 89.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-84:

Still, in a RWC match Fiji always come out all guns blazing and JS kept up with the pace, that’s been one thing he has been lacking before the tournament.

He’s not there yet fully and I dont think the coaching staff expected them from him, but be sure he’s performances are improving steadily and by the QF he’ll be a menace in the tight-loose.

Also, the timing of Bismarck coming on has been excellent. With 35 minutes to go he’s simply too much for a tiring opposition pack to handle.

• 90.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-86: Drop goal Sexton… Wanted to lose? Huh? Yes, he missed kicks but overall was better than given credit for.

• 91.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-87:

Arrogant? I’ve been saying it all year. I’m giving them a chance… I just don’t think they’ll cut it, with rugby being a contact sport and all.

• 92.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-86: Close one between Incredible Schalk and O’Brien, but O’Brien shades it due to Aus been the oppsition… Schalk will be best blindsider for many more games before this tournament is over.

• 93.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-89:

I don’t know man. I thought they’d have been better off starting O’Gara. Sexton just looks really unsure of himself. Hope he comes right because he’s their hope for the future it seems. Wonder what happened to the other guy, I think his name was ‘Paddy Wallace’.

• 94.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-91:

1 win from your last 6 games against Aussie, including a loss in 2009 when you had your full team available..

but yeah, as your words state, Aussie havent got a hope in hell… :roll:

• 95.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-89: Agree 100% with you and like your coining of the phrase “power bench”.

Cage them, then release them.

By the time they take the field they are so hungry to play and their presence will reenergise their peers.

Just imagine the mood of the opposition when they see a fresh Bismarck, Beast and Hougaard running up at the same time… :lol:

• 96.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-94:

Figured out your best backline yet?

Time is running out.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-94: deans is 2 from 13 against the all blacks, do you expect australians to cower and fawn towards the ABs?

why only include the loss to australia in brisbane when we klapped them twice that year @ Newlands and Perth? hehehe :D

• 98.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-94: TINKER, Taylor, Soldier, Spy… has Ted found out your best run on side…

Or will Sunny Bill be the Super Sub, running on at flank or eight on a field near you soon…

• 99.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-97:
    we will see the AB top side this weekend, and I hope that it will remain the same team from here on in, but one never knows with the Cartel…

@Transformation(Transformation)-97: of course not, but I see a lot of calls about you guys already being through Aust, as I highlighted above… far be it from me to suggest that it wont be an easy game for you guys… alright then Trans, so youve won 3 from 8 games against them since 2009… happy now? my point being they have beaten you guys more than you have them recently, but according to many Aust DONT have a hope in hell…hope your team feel the same way…

• 100.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-94:

A loss in 2009 when we had our full team available? So losing to Australia in a one-off test with a strong line-up means you are done for? Then the All Blacks might as well quit now buddy.

As for strongest line-up. We had Ruan Pienaar at fullback and Odwa Ndungane on the wing. So we lost in Brisbane? We still went 5-for-6 in that Tri Nations, beat the All Blacks 3-times in a row and Australia twice.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.