KeoTV: Boks face premature exit

RYAN VREDE says the Springboks’ World Cup journey will end in the quarter-finals.

823 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 101.Dusky: Reply to this comment

As kak praat ‘n siekte was…..

• 102.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-98:

All Blacks will choke against Australia or SA, of that I am 110% sure.

Mark this post.

• 103.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-96:

Apparently the best backline could now feature SBW on the wing potentially.

They’ll have a lot of time to look back on it and wonder while at home watching the Boks play in the World Cup final.

I’m thinking Henry and co. will stick with Cory Jane. They’ve got a weird obsession with his chip-and-chase tactics.

• 104.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-102: Have done. Well and truly MARKED! :lol:

• 105.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-100: really? are you saying that team in 09, to borrow a BigHit euphemism, “wasnt your strongest team” ?

since then, youve beaten them ONCE in 5 attempts, losing at home even…

the result is not a foregone conclusion, and in the last two years theyve had your number…

but hey, I’ll take great delight in reminding you IF you guys do lose to them…

• 106.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-102:

Agree man. This All Blacks team isn’t a World Cup winning team. They’re average.

And to think that Henry and Hansen actually said that it’s a good thing to lose 2 tests before starting your World Cup campaign. How can it ever be a good thing to lose?

All Blacks supporters (Ryan Vrede etc.) are the ones who need to start facing reality. They aren’t nearly as good as they’re made out to be.

• 107.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

I hear all the excitement, I’ve even got butterflies as well but then I say, it was Fiji. Smit, spies, and Danie russouw played well these guys have struggled immensely over the last few seasons. though I don’t care much for stransky, he had a point jannie du plessis was scrumming, this afforded spies plenty of room at the back to make strides. Danie russouw continued to miss tackles, however, he had bullocking runs, his try near the end jogging past 4 Fijians spoke volumes of where Fiji was towards the end. I’m not taking away from a convincing performance from the boks but this is Fiji. The boks should always molest them.

• 108.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-105:

And nowhere to be found if we beat Australia and New Zealand I’m guessing.

It was a near strongest team, but we went 2-for-3 against Australia, including winning in Australia!

2010 was a bad year for us, but so was 2009 for the All Blacks who got beaten three times by the mighty Springboks (when we had our strongest team, yes). By your theory that means we are a better side?

• 109.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Australia won’t be under prepared for the knockout stages, with Moore and pocock back they’ll be more in sync, Jim Williams really needs to earn his pay check, that pack needs a slap from 1-8. Against the boks in Durban and the ABs in Brisbane they brought a hard edge to their game that laid the platform for both their wins. Now they are all soft again! There’s no way deans, nucifora, and Williams will allow that to happen again!

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-108: nah, I dont disappear when my team loses Hendrik, unlike a lot of Saffa supporters..

HG
    Tacitus etc…

“in 2009 we didnt have our strongest team, in 2010 we did and we all know the result”… its such an easy cop out excuse that one hendrik, as Ive just shown….

• 111.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-107:

Could say the same thing about Japan (a second-XV at that). The **** you would think are a much less physical side then the Fijians, and pretty much guided the All Blacks to the tryline. Then we get Jeremy Paul telling us that the Japanese are actually a better team then Fiji so New Zealand were better on the day :lol: What a joke I know. Might have played for Australia but obviously hasn’t lost that Kiwi mentality.

• 112.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-108: 2 for 3, winning in Aust?? what year was this?

pardon… in 2009 you beat them twice at home and lost in brissy.. in 2010 you beat them in Pretoria, they beat you in brissy and Bloemfontain…

2011 we know they beat you twice, in Durban and Sydney..

so WHEN did you beat them in Aust?

• 113.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-105: Poops, dont you know when its time to stop disparaging the Boks and their supporters… like when NZ is host of a fine WC and when the AB’s are overwhelming favourites to win the tournament… not to mention the fact that your SH “rivals” lose to Ireland or just stumble to a win over Wales or blowout a win over ill-prepared “minnows” Fiji… Yours and Panty’s continual bitterness now just exposes you fools.

• 114.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-95:

Our bench really is our strength and i can’t understand why the scribes are failing to recognise this. Our starters would be on par with most other teams’ but our subs are really a notch above the rest.

• 115.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-110: hg is a rhodesian,so he doesn’t count. :D

• 116.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-111: funny Japan winning the Pacific nations cup this year huh? against Fiji, Samoa, tonga etc…

they lost to Samoa, beat Tonga and Fiji…

must have been the Fijians “superior physicality” huh? eish…

• 117.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-110: I “disappear”? Ja, Pooper, please continue exposing your true self… an unmitigated cnt much like Panty

I don’t have to aid anymore in this endeavour you and Panty are achieving all on your own. :lol:

• 118.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-107: Excuse me but let me put this in perspective for you – a handful of weeks ago New Zealand played Fiji. On a like for like basis they also didnt play all their best players but in majority the teams are pretty equal – we had 6 better players in certain positions on Satruday and New Zealand had 6 better players the rest more or less on par with each other. New Zealand beat Fiji by 46 points. We beat Fiji by 46 points. Right up to the last whistle Fiji were playing their hearts out. They are rough and physical and even Brussouw mentioned this. If you look at stats Fiji had almost equal stats in terms of possession, penalties, turnovers, territory etc. These guys were not Japan. Lets face facts. They were very much in control of play for large facets of the game. We caned them by the same margin as the Blacks did with virtually equal strength teams.

The Bok display on Saturday wasnt flawless – just like New Zealands was a bit rusy on that day. But the fact is they boys played damn well with conviction and passion. I havent seen that in over a year. In perspective they played exatcly the way the Blacks did. It was a very convincing performance and the proof of this will be when Fiji face Wales. Expect it to be a very closely contested game. This Fiji side made errors but theyre no pushovers.

• 119.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

france and kiwi final.this will be a great advert for world rugby.

• 120.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-110:

Kiwi mentality. When the All Blacks win they are obviously the best, but if they lose it’s forgotten about.

I look forward to your excuses… whoops I mean explanations as to why the All Blacks didn’t win this World Cup at home.

• 121.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-112:

We did beat Aus in 2009 away, with our backs showing they can run. It was the second match on tour we lost, then we went to NZ and clinched the title on your patch.

That Bok team peaked vs that game in Aus where we were all over them from the go. Our performances declined on that end of year tour, we picked up injuries and 2010 we struggled due to that.

But now the foot is on the other foot, with the Aussies being in the position we were with their team having peaked vs the AB’s. That’s why we can’t see them beating us in the QF.

• 122.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-115: You, Pooper and Panty mates? Exactly appropriate :lol:

• 123.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-116: Oh and was that a full strength Fijian side they played? Where some of the Fijian players not still playing club rugby in Europe?

• 124.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ok – i got to go…

but just some advice… :lol:

We only played Fiji.

The Wallas & the Ab’s a friggen streets ahead of us imo…….

so let’s keep our heads down and work hard to give them a go cause on any given day any one of those 3 can win each other….. and that’s the nature of the WC. It’s not a series….

• 125.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Who is that tool on keotv ?

• 126.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-116:

Did Japans second-string XV win that tournament? Puts it in perspective a little doesn’t it.

• 127.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-116: Just a quick question – did those islanders have all their European and S15 players… Just a question… Before I “run away”.

I do however understand if you had difficulty in reading the team lists… :lol:

• 128.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-124: Yes

• 129.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-113: what bitterness, Im just saying a lot here think the Bokke have ALREADY beaten Aussie, and Im just pointing out that recently theyve been the better team between the two…

trying to get you guys to err on the side of caution, but hey, go ahead… the fall is so much further when you think its already a DONE deal…

funny, Saffa supporters were in deep dismay after the Wales game, then beatinng an average Fiji (who lost to Japan this year) and suddenly your team is going to walk over Aust??

ok then, if AB supporters said that we’d be ostracised on this blog for saying so… double standards anyone?

• 130.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-112:

We beat them in Perth 2009. Check if you don’t believe me :)

• 131.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Hendrikp: the ABs took nothing out of playing Japan B. It’s hard to assess from a technical perspective where you are, from scrums to lineouts and breakdowns. The ABs put 70 odd on the Fijians just before the trinations, but it does not mean much, they were not tested in any department. The Aussies though were tested and failed dismally, they’ll be far better prepared than the ABs come knockout stage. The boks as well as they came within a whisker of losing to wales in a very tough match.

• 132.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-121: my mistake, it was in perth, but thats a home game for you guys anyways :D

• 133.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-129:

South African supporters weren’t in dismay. There were only a handful on here who actually made much of a fuss about it (like ashampoopaloo). Most agreed that we did well to win, despite performing terribly and that if we can play like that and still win, we’ll be a lot better when we actually perform.

You’re always going to get supporters who see the glass as half empty. Don’t throw us all in with them though.

• 134.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-123: pre-wc games doesn’t count for much.oh,i see some fijians are still playing for their clubs in france.poor fijian team=poor bok team.

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-124: the point Im trying to make, but obviously because its come from a kiwi they all think Im “having a go at SA”..

precious arent they?

• 136.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

As for Ryan – jy praat kak boet. It all depends on who De Villiers starts. If Habana and Jean de Villiers copme back into the team it does look grim – if we continue with the team that beat Fiji we stand a very good chance — we just need to get rid of that idiot Ruaan Pienaar and with Matfield back it looks even better. Australia failed to win a proper test rugby match and thats exactly what theyll be facing in the quarters. Our forwards were massive on Saturday and I cant see Ireland besting them on the day – ditto Australia. Especially if Pocock is out. A lot of what happens depends on the fitness of some players such as Carter and McCaw and more importantly Read. Anything can and will happen. These Boks played with composure and passion on Saturday. If they keep on this track they can take anyone. They beat New Zealand a few weeks ago – comprehensively not by a point. They can do it again. Many of the senior All Black players are in the same boat reagrding form and being the best in their game no longer. Ali Williams, Brad Thorne, Mils, McCaw. Ditto Oz with Rocky Elsom. Other players havent been that impressive of late – namely the Franks Brothers – they are going to regret leaving Wyatt Crockett out of the team. If Slade has to play they are in deep trouble. All the tinkering and mixing and matching combos for the All Blacks is also going to bite them on the ***. many things can happen and if the Boks keep playing the way they did on Sat they can take anyone. Anyone on the given day.

• 137.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-129: nobody believe Fiji are the best team in the world, they are just pleased that the Boks put in a decent performance for a change… why is this such a bitter pill for you to swallow? it has literally nothing to do with the ABs. BP was on here seconds after the win banging on about the same “Japan beating Fiji” nonsense, it’s really pathetic.

• 138.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-129:
    “trying to get you guys to err on the side of caution” – Pooper wants the best for SA supporters and is showing the way… :lol:

Actually don’t give a fark what you want. Lost on me, especially considering yours and Panty’s recent behaviour… No credibility as a result at all….

Capo class posters deluxe :lol:

• 139.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Slumtown: the welsh will put Fiji away by some way, the two contentions for wales in their was SA and then Samoa, the rest of the chaps will be a formality. My argument is that Fiji and Japan, though energetic don’t pose a structural impediment to either the boks or ABs, thus it’s hard to assess development of the scrum, lineout, and the breakdowns. These three are the cornerstone aspects of rugby today. I think the boks will have more of a test against Samoa then Fiji, however, they did face up to wales which was no walk in the park. With all this said, the boks and wallabies are better prepared now for the knockout stages then the ABs, they’ve had real tests, one each.

• 140.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Dumbest coach in the World Cup Award goes to: Marc Lievremont.

And Divvy hit the nail on the head with the ‘haka overload’. It’s way too much. You’d think everyone doing random hakas and having a laugh would be disrespectful. And ‘flash mob hakas’ must be the stupidest thing ever. The Haka should only be performed on special occasions, such as welcoming ceremonies or before an actual game, and definitely not in shopping malls.

• 141.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-129: Its not that they beat them Poophead – that is a given. Its the way they beat them. At least when we beat them we kept them scoreless. You have to admit this was a very cohesive game by the bOks the likes of which we havent seen in months. If youre talking about being honest give credit where its due. our defense was solid (even with a lot of missed tackles – which is something they have to work on), we scored tries from some good running rugby, almost every player in the team showed improvement and more commitment and passion. It looked like a completely different team.

• 142.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-132:

LOL, but seriously Bok supporters have a right to feel optimistic because we can see that our team is shaping up in context of the challenge that lies ahead.

We aren’t writing anyone off. except Aus :-)

They blew it, just like Samoa did.

• 143.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Sick of Habana being criticised for giving it 100%. Not his fault he’s not getting the ball. Maybe Hougaard would be a smarter choice because he’s a different sort of player – not really a winger and runs different lines on attack etc.

But that doesn’t make Habana useless. He’s every bit as good as Digby Iaone (who I rated as the best winger at this competition before his injury), but he doesn’t get near as much ball. Everything Habana does comes down to him coming in looking for work, and he is probably the best at pulling-off the rushing defense out of any winger in the world.

• 144.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-131: 70 odd??? Youre talking absolute sh!t3. They beat them by 46 points exactly – same as we did 2 days ago.

• 145.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-135: you spend your life on this blog belittling Bok supporters and trying to take away any joy they get from supporting their team, so you have no right to suddenly turn around and say they’re being precious. you’re entire reason for being here is to make people feel worse about their team, you bring nothing positive to this site.

• 146.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-141:

My feeling exactly.

In the NZ vs Japan game i actually said the AB’s did good, did what they had to do and they could take heart from the performance of Ellis at 9 he could solve their problem there.

Also Kahui has stepped up just in time, and Kaino will be up there with the best performers at this Cup.

• 147.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

And I seriously think some of the fat kiwis (read: Weepu) along with some of the geriatrics (read: Thorne) are going to pull a poepstring or dislocate a tongue performing this modern day Andrew Lloyd Webber haka. It’s all big and theatrical and “scaaaaary” but it’s not worth the risk. One of these days they’re all going to retreat after the show and Big Brad is going to remain there, stuck in his wide-legged “I poop on your porch” stance, unable to straighten up.

• 148.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-144:

Score was 60 – 14. I’d have won by 20 if it meant not conceding any tries. All Blacks opened it up well in that game, but they didnt really ‘dictate’ play.

• 149.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Hendrikp: the haka is central to pacific island cultures, it’s not up to puffy to decide when it’s enough. He’s a cheeky one that Giuseppe!

• 150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-147: Hehehe

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.