Aplon in, Bismarck out

The Springboks have made five changes to their starting line-up to face Namibia at the North Habour Stadium in Auckland on Thursday.

In the back division Bryan Habana and Gio Aplon replace JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane on the wings. The latter duo are dropped from the squad completely. Francois Hougaard gets a start at his preferred position of scrumhalf, with Fourie du Preez playing off the wood.

Among the heavies, Willem Alberts starts at openside flank in place of Heinrich Brussow, whose is named among the reserves alongside another specialist fetcher, Francois Louw. CJ van der Linde earns his first start at the tournament at tighthead prop in place of Jannie du Plessis, who’ll watch from the stands.

Chiliboy Ralepelle, omitted from the 22 for the first two Tests, will get game time off the bench, while Ruan Pienaar and Juan de Jongh’s versatility means the back division are well covered.

After the victory over Fiji in Wellington coach Peter de Villiers said that he valued continuity in selection, but on Tuesday explained that he needed to rotate with a view of having a full fit squad.

‘The biggest challenge for us it to manage the players. We’ve had two bruising encounters and we have to be sensible if we want to have 30 players fit throughout the tournament. We’re getting thin in some areas, injuries are our biggest concern at this point,’ he said.

Captain John Smit acknowledged the difficulty of preparing for a match just five days after their victory in Wellington, but stressed complacency wouldn’t be a factor.

‘There are challenges every weekend, but motivation isn’t one of those. It is important for us to be ruthless. There are still a lot of areas we want to improve and if we don’t have the proper focus we won’t get what we want out of this match,’ he said. ‘This is an opportunity to carry on the journey to where we want to be and improve our standards. Having played two games here and a couple before some guys have had enough game to move towards their best form. That needs to continue.

‘In a week like this with as short a turnaround you don’t get that much field time to prepare. So the challenge is achieving perfection in the base areas of our game, the set piece and so on.’

The Springboks are expected to beat Namibia comfortably and should negotiate Samoa’s challenge without too much problems, setting up a quarter-final against Australia. Asked whether he had cast his mind ahead to that epic tussle Smit said: ‘One thing about the World Cup is that at this stage there are so many permutations floating about. If you get wrapped up in what lies ahead you may lose sight of what you want to achieve at present. We have to think a week at a time and not worry about what lies ahead.’

De Villiers was bullish when probed on the issue of Habana’s form, arguing that the former IRB Player of the Year wouldn’t have breaking the South African try-scoring record (he is the joint-highest scorer) as a central focus.

‘I don’t think people understand the ethos of this team. If you can point out one player that puts his personal interests above those of the team’s I’ll send them home immediately. There are personal goals we achieve in life and if Bryan breaks the record it will be a wonderful achievement. But what if he scores and we lose? That ultimately is no good.’

Springboks – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Willem Alberts, 5 Danie Rossouw, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (c), Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Francois Louw, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Juan de Jongh.

608 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 201.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Rossoneri got you down on the petition, I always want to reach into the tv and give them a back hand twice, very hard!

• 202.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-197: Yes Michael that is right but if he had not been dropped and we had the benefit of an experienced world cup winning captain at our disposal instead of feeding a young Captain in Teichman to the wolves that just maybe the result may have been different

• 203.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-190:

I believe his mates call him swoop.

funny thing though FDP with no hair, a suntan and those sticking out ears…

well he kind of looks like Bill – the trophy I mean.

I wonder if it’s a sign?

• 204.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-203: :lol:

• 205.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-203: and that guy has got sieriaaaaas kudos!

• 206.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-203: He looks more like the greengrocer at the corner cafe when I was growing up.

As for Schalk, he can call himself anything he likes, I’m not going to argue with him……

• 207.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Willievz: please read post 167, I’ll put you down tentatively please confirm shortly! I’ll organize you a cup cake.

• 208.francois93: Reply to this comment

The Mighty micks owned Genia and Cooper, Less Kiss who was a consultant under Harry Viljoen and was regarded by the Boks as a failure stated publicly that they would go looking for Cooper on defense and establish if his standing at fullback was hiding or a deans ploy, guess we know the answer. Kiss must know a trick or two.

• 209.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-167:

True true

Ruan got done by this when he got on the field.

• 210.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-206:

did he make you take your change in chappies?

indeed schalk has the biggest hands I ever seen.

capable of a thermonuclear poesklap.

I’ve never seen him raise them in anger though.

• 211.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Madvillain got you down, you are officially a petitioner mate!

• 212.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-210: But he does go out into the bush occasionally and gouge a Lion or two ;-)

• 213.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-200: dude run along, your childish ramblings meant as sarcasm are not worth it… :D

an upset by a determined irish team and all of a sudden you want to use it to shore up your love for john smit? bwahahahaha :D

• 214.francois93: Reply to this comment

No Transie not my love of john Smit dude, your wonder boys got owned by an inferior team, I’m sure an “upset by a determined welsh team would have had Grant and you foaming at the proverbial chops” lol, Genia is really THE BEST IN THE WORLD HEY TRANSIE ;-)

• 215.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-213: No Transie not my love of john Smit dude, your wonder boys got owned by an inferior team, I’m sure an “upset by a determined welsh team would have had Grant and you foaming at the proverbial chops” lol, Genia is really THE BEST IN THE WORLD HEY TRANSIE ;-)

• 216.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-174:

Spot on.

Guru of Gangstarr used to say experience is the best teacher.

I cannot find fault with PdVs actions when one considers what we did to Franscois and Gary in the past.

Nick Mallet did not learn from it, PdV, to his credit has shown a bit of the grey matter there.

**** Muir and Rassie were there in 99. They were with Nick for much of his tenure.They will have inside information of the change in team dynamics after Gary was dropped. I would think more than PdV, these guys are John Smit’s advocates

• 217.madvillain: Reply to this comment

As of December 2009, the Springboks have won 17 of their 27 matches under the helm of De Villiers.

The 62% win percentage includes a 57% win percentage against the All Blacks, the Springboks’ fiercest rivals.De Villiers is the first Springbok coach since Nick Mallet to have a 100% win record over the All Blacks in a single year (2009).

De Villiers is also the first coach since Nelie Smith to have secured a series win over the British and Irish Lions.

• 218.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-215: how old are you? :D

• 219.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-210: Back then chappies cost 1/4c.

As for Schalk’s hands. I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of a “flattie”. I think it would sting for weeks.

But ja, I think off the fleld he’s got that whole “gentle giant” thing going on.

Back in the day when I was in high school we had to do “cadets” every thursday, dress up in government issue khaki and parade up and down the sports fields. From time to time the reps from the real army would come and check us out. In our case it was Schalk Burger (Snr) and Niel Burger (WP wing) which was quite a treat. I think they were given that job as part of their national service, in order to give them enough time to play the game as well.

I remember shaking Snr’s hand at one of the parades and thinking that this “oom” has the biggest hands I’ve ever seen.

• 220.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-207: Oh…

Well then…no cupcake needed for such a noble cause :lol:

I’m in !!!!

• 221.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Francois93: not to enter your fracas, as I’m in the process of growing my petition entries but it’s universally accepted that genia is the no.1 scrummy in the world. Are you joining the petition?

• 222.francois93: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-215: take it on the chin like a man Transie, you set yourself up for this over months of constantly praising Genia and Cooper and lamenting how terrible the Bok equivalents were, and now all undone by some Micks in green with a bad attitude I mean you are the master of reminding us all how powerful the AB’s are and how clever the Aussies are and how if you picked they would all be in a world team with the only player getting a nod from SA being Bissie.

Well guess what Transie just like what happened to the Boks and Auss and the All Blacks in the past, a team of players who are super committed, have planned well and have one goal in mind, will always beat individual brilliance.

I think that the two teams who had there preparation right over the last two years have been the Boks and the All Blacks, for once Henry got over the ra ra inspired have to win every game and planned for the bigger picture, Not surprised if NZ win the world cup dude for once they actually have a pragmatic approach.

• 223.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Willievz: you are on record! Welcome.

• 224.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-220:

if you like pundie can call you cupcake?

less calories that way and a smaller carbon footprint.\

everyone is a winner.

• 225.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-222: :wink:

• 226.francois93: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-221: I rate genia as a brilliant scun-half, never sold by the nonsense of the best in the world tag, dont wanna hear it about any player or sportsmen, never thought Fourie was the best in the world, just world class. That’s why i would take Pacquiao over Mayweather any day of the week.

• 227.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Gunther you are on the list, congrats you’ve joined a great cause! I’ve a cup cake for you too.

• 228.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-211:

Do explain what the petition is all about

• 229.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-222: take what on the chin? :D

the irish dominated the aussie pack and limited their quick ball and took the penalties, great game plan.

now does that take away everything genia and cooper have done for the past 2 years?

like i said, run along…you’re out of your depth.

• 230.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Francois93: those in the know, nick Farr jones, Justin Marshall, George gregan laud genia as tops. Nonetheless, I need your paw print for the petition are you in?

• 231.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-227

nkosi cupcake.

• 232.Staal: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-227: keep it going… you gotto get that list to at least 100 muppits!

then you can sommer prosecute the next 9 who does it!

• 233.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Madvillain: I refer you to post 167.

• 234.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Gunther: only a pleasure mate. Hope your dad gets better soon.

• 235.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-229: so would a welsh win have taken away anything Fourie and Smit have done over the last eight years? but I would bet you everything I own that if the Welsh had won, you would be selling to all and sundry about how bad Du Preez and co are and how wonderful the Aussies are, and the “Aura” this and the “Aura” that, pray that Jons Smit does not start against the Wallabies in the quarter final and pray the Boks dont win it, cause if they do well……………………………………………..I on the other hand dont have nasty things to say about Genia and Cooper, see if Deans had been smart he would have begged Mortlock to come out of retirement so he could do the dirty work for Cooper and have another solid Goal kicker but then by your standards you probably dont think much of old Stirling being over 25 and all

• 236.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Staal: that’s my target 100, thereafter I’ll full rights to drop any scrumhalf I like and at 200 fire any backline coach who persists with this nonsense.

• 237.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

Boesak lashes out at whites
    2011-09-20 09:15

Durban – Controversial cleric Allan Boesak has lashed out at white people while delivering the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Steve Biko memorial lecture on black consciousness.

Boesak said white South Africans loved Nelson Mandela more than jes us because even je sus was more “radical” and Mandela did not go too far when taking a stand on social justice, reports The Times.

Boesak added that if Mandela said some of the things je sus had said they wouldn’t like Mandela any more, and that Mandela understood South Africans very well.

He said it was interesting that white people only loved Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu when he talked about forgiveness – but slammed him when he spoke of correcting the social injustices of the past.

Boesak said white people created a false sense of victimhood when social injustice was mentioned.

On the other side of the “false innocence of whiteness” is the false innocence of black elite groups, he said.

“They have made alliances with the old wealthy elite, alliances against the masses and are part of the small 20% of the country’s top elite who now gobble 75% of our GDP while 53% of our masses live in dire poverty and get between 6% and 8% of what is left. That is not black consciousness.

“What we say to white people is you have to leave your false innocence behind,” Boesak.

• 238.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-224: Good idea.

Cupcakes make me choke :lol:

• 239.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-224: wazzup you piece of nazi-loving vermin rentboy scum.how is that nazi-loving afrikaner scum of a father doing today?

• 240.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-237:

SA has surpassed Brazil as the country with the highest Gini-coefficient some time ago.

Old news that.

• 241.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-237: Ah yes, the thief who stole fund money from the Danes and Paul Simon. Why isn’t he still locked up?

• 242.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-237: and long may it continue, the corrupt corrupting everyone and money begets money and well welcome to capitalism, something I seem to recall Boesak knowing only to well.

• 243.Staal: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-240: jy’t my amper verloor daar, luckily there’s g oogle. :lol:

• 244.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-235: is this your attempt to shut me up? :D

if you want to vicariously gloat over an irish win, go ahead. fdp had a kak game against the welsh but we still won, smit was his usual going-nowhere-fast self and was on the bench when we won the game. the boks were outplayed by the welsh and were in fact LUCKY to win.

the was nothing LUCKY about the irish win, they played out of their socks, cian healy was massive in the scrums, ferris, o’brien & heaslip were all over the park and monstered elsom, mcCalman & samo. with stephen moore out injured the aussie fielded polota_nau who had a shocker on the night with lineouts, so ireland were more than happy to kick for territory and THEN contest the skew lineouts tatafu was throwing and it proved to be a great tactic.

so get to understand the game before trying to jump on my neck in your defence of john, you run the risk of making your name gat. oops, too late tl tl tl

• 245.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Boesak. Shame. A weak attempt to remain relevant.

Not working.

• 246.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

boesak is absolutely right.whites have created this falsehood of victimhood especially when their cozy saffa lifestyle is threatened.the racist ramblings of henniep yesterday is a clear example of this.according to the plonker henniep blacks are only after whites shiny cars,university places and grand houses when laws are mentioned to rectify the economic and social ills of the past.boesak got this spot on.

• 247.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-244: lol Transie I cant shut you uo, like you I am key board cowboy. I note your analysis of the game and well in defence of the obvious you neglect to mention that Genia was trashed by O’Brien and Ferris and that Quade has no kicking game to speak of. I wonder why and oh, nice twist but answer my question Transie and dont sidestep alla Cooper, if this loss takes nothing away from Will and Quades achievements then surely the same must be true for John and FDP or is it really a case of double standards Transie ;-) and oh, no I somehow get the feeling that after tirade upon tirade about John and praise singing of Auss, I really dont have a “gat” name after this weekend.

• 248.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-244: But Transie I am sure that injury’s and second choice players and all that were not a factor in the Bok defeats to Ireland it was all because of how bad John Smit and co were right?

• 249.Staal: Reply to this comment

ek’s honger

• 250.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Tecumseh 239: that’s really out there! Perhaps a smidgen inappropriate.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.