Aplon in, Bismarck out
20 Sep 2011
The Springboks have made five changes to their starting line-up to face Namibia at the North Habour Stadium in Auckland on Thursday.
In the back division Bryan Habana and Gio Aplon replace JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane on the wings. The latter duo are dropped from the squad completely. Francois Hougaard gets a start at his preferred position of scrumhalf, with Fourie du Preez playing off the wood.
Among the heavies, Willem Alberts starts at openside flank in place of Heinrich Brussow, whose is named among the reserves alongside another specialist fetcher, Francois Louw. CJ van der Linde earns his first start at the tournament at tighthead prop in place of Jannie du Plessis, who’ll watch from the stands.
Chiliboy Ralepelle, omitted from the 22 for the first two Tests, will get game time off the bench, while Ruan Pienaar and Juan de Jongh’s versatility means the back division are well covered.
After the victory over Fiji in Wellington coach Peter de Villiers said that he valued continuity in selection, but on Tuesday explained that he needed to rotate with a view of having a full fit squad.
‘The biggest challenge for us it to manage the players. We’ve had two bruising encounters and we have to be sensible if we want to have 30 players fit throughout the tournament. We’re getting thin in some areas, injuries are our biggest concern at this point,’ he said.
Captain John Smit acknowledged the difficulty of preparing for a match just five days after their victory in Wellington, but stressed complacency wouldn’t be a factor.
‘There are challenges every weekend, but motivation isn’t one of those. It is important for us to be ruthless. There are still a lot of areas we want to improve and if we don’t have the proper focus we won’t get what we want out of this match,’ he said. ‘This is an opportunity to carry on the journey to where we want to be and improve our standards. Having played two games here and a couple before some guys have had enough game to move towards their best form. That needs to continue.
‘In a week like this with as short a turnaround you don’t get that much field time to prepare. So the challenge is achieving perfection in the base areas of our game, the set piece and so on.’
The Springboks are expected to beat Namibia comfortably and should negotiate Samoa’s challenge without too much problems, setting up a quarter-final against Australia. Asked whether he had cast his mind ahead to that epic tussle Smit said: ‘One thing about the World Cup is that at this stage there are so many permutations floating about. If you get wrapped up in what lies ahead you may lose sight of what you want to achieve at present. We have to think a week at a time and not worry about what lies ahead.’
De Villiers was bullish when probed on the issue of Habana’s form, arguing that the former IRB Player of the Year wouldn’t have breaking the South African try-scoring record (he is the joint-highest scorer) as a central focus.
‘I don’t think people understand the ethos of this team. If you can point out one player that puts his personal interests above those of the team’s I’ll send them home immediately. There are personal goals we achieve in life and if Bryan breaks the record it will be a wonderful achievement. But what if he scores and we lose? That ultimately is no good.’
Springboks – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Willem Alberts, 5 Danie Rossouw, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (c), Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Francois Louw, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Juan de Jongh.

608 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
20 Sep 2011, 11:41 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-246: He’s a common skelm (caught, tried and imprisoned), so I can see why you admire him. You guys probably share some common murky ancestry, rendering you predisposed to thievery, bestiality and feelings of intense racial inferiority.
20 Sep 2011, 11:43 am
o hell, now the thread has gone south,
i’m out – gonna chow some fillet en pap van gisteraand.
cheers.
sien net-nou.
20 Sep 2011, 11:43 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-246: the prejudice you demonstrated against Afrikaaners yesterday renders any statement you make on this topic irrelevant. the situation is rather complex and it’s clear you have little intention to explore the subject fully, or to at least represent a balanced viewpoint. so may i suggest you instead post about rugby (this rugby blog) rather than herald your ignorance for all the world to see.
20 Sep 2011, 11:45 am
@Tecumseh(Tecumseh)-239:
like I said before my little dog whisperer, at least I know who my father is.
the best part of yours dribbled down your mother’s leg.
now run along …. fluffy wag vir dje.
and a gentleman never keeps a poodle waiting.
20 Sep 2011, 11:59 am
@Gunther(gunther)-254: your father is nothing but an afrikaner nazi-loving piece of scum.the sooner this piece of low-life piece of sh yte goes the better for all of us.he is nothing but vermin scum.
20 Sep 2011, 12:00 pm
@francois93(francois93)-247: to answer you, on current FORM…fpp and john are closer to being the best in the world as allan boesak will ever be to donor funds!
it is one game, where the aussie were dominated up front and their backs nullified now you want to paint it as if the australian halfback combo is the kakkest in the world when they have been the leading lights for the past 2 seasons…
if cooper has “no kicking game to speak of” go and watch the reds vs stormers game at newlands and come back when you’ve learnt something. cooper was duely criticised for trying to do everything himself instead of managing the game and turning the irish forwards back and plating the game in their half. but with a faultering lineout, that tactic would’ve been useless seeing vicerman was subbed for simmons and horwil was not dominant.
forget about trying to nail me, you won’t…up your game
20 Sep 2011, 12:00 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-256: *duly
20 Sep 2011, 12:04 pm
@francois93(francois93)-248: um, who was injured the last time the Springboks LOST to ireland? please tell me
please tell us.
20 Sep 2011, 12:05 pm
Last comment for the day, like the Boks have been made to look average on the day by the right tactics and planning the converse is possible for any other team. The fact is in tight situations where nothing is working, its all about experience and being able to change the game plan accordingly. The fact is John offers nothing off the bench but Bissie most certainly does, as does Alberts and Hougie and possible even Ruan Pienaar on a brain working good day.
Muir was around in the Skinstad era and like Bob was at his best off the bench and turned more than one game for us, never quite reproduced as a starter. I believe that Bissie will make an impact as a starter or off the bench but I can certainly see the value in him as a bench option along with Alberts and Hougie.
Think this tactic may be better suited to the Boks who play an intensive forward dominated game where fresh forwards are crucial to continue the intensity. Anyways just my opinion if it works hero’s if it doesn’t zero’s.
Regardless of winning or losing the Boks are legends in my eyes, and wont feel to sad if Ritchie hold up Billie Ellis at the end of this year, he certainly deserves to be a world cup winning Captain.
Always 2015 and a new coach and team and then we get to see if the Boks of 2004 – 2011 were as good as I relive they were and are or if all of the new blood will set the world on fire, I don know it was an almighty long time between 1995 and 2007.
20 Sep 2011, 12:06 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-254: please let me know when that thing of a nazi-loving afrikaner vermin scumbag kicks the bucket.will make a donation to a charity as a form of celebration.
20 Sep 2011, 12:16 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-256: Really did he kick in the Reds v Stormers game, on a dry pitch with very little to no pressure on Genia and the Reds scrum going backwards, but wait Morne did that at the Bulls and it looked EASY, see bit different when pack is getting monstered and its raining and Genia is getting hammered but no when FDP kicks badly cause of the same reasons its cause he is baaad and I didn’t mention injury’s Transie you did dude, I accept our loss to Ireland, they beat us on the day begins and ends there.
And please go through my comments and tell me were I said genia or Quade were bad players, dont invent facts to suit yourself guy, I have nothing but respect for Cooper and Genia, because they have been owned a couple of times by Ireland and England does not mean they are baaaad, it means on the day they were beaten. You are excellent at research go back and look for comments by me on Cooper and Genia from two three years back, I think you might be shocked guy and oh dude just be honest in your intents for once and say I dont rate Smit, never have never will dont care if he wins a million matches or a hundred trophies, I just dont rate the guy because I just dont, would be much better and the how about a nice glass of shut the hell up afterwards cause we all ahve players we dont rate I could wax lyrical about Wayne Fyvie and the fact that I thought that he was ever mentioned in the same breadth as Pienaar but guess what guy no one cares
20 Sep 2011, 12:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-256:
Sbali the NH teams seem to own Genia/Cooper/Robbie Deans….
HAve you seen Deans record…. 28 wins….21 LOSSES..1 draw…eish..Best coach in the world hmmmmm…..even Blackadder has a good record aT SADERS SO FAR…MAKES YOU WONDER
20 Sep 2011, 12:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-257:
SBALI….Where is Bryce-in-OZ??? lmao
20 Sep 2011, 12:37 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-262: yeah, saw that last night and read david campese’s scathing critique of cooper and deans. and he ended by saying it’s a pity that due to p’neill’s unilateral decision the wallabies will still have deans for another 2 years…
i think the levee has broken in aus now…deans is about to get it.
20 Sep 2011, 12:39 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-263: i was asking about him on the other thread… he has turned in to Braddock – Missing in Action
20 Sep 2011, 12:40 pm
And Transie I bow to your superior rugby knowledge I mean you obviously played at the highest level, have been a front row forward and have extensive coaching experience while I have none of these, was a mediocre wing and an average kicker and played until varsity but hey I dont presume to know my *** from my elbow about what a hooker does or doesn’t do on the field guy or what happens in the scrums or why scrum-halves have to drink till they fall over and pick fights with guys three times their size, maybe that’s why I dont trash teams and players guy, cause maybe I dont know as much as they do. bye guy you take care now and punt whomever you dig guy,
20 Sep 2011, 12:45 pm
@francois93(francois93)-266: Ag, don’t worry about Transie. He’s actually a Barca poefball supporter and somehow found himself on a blog for a game quite alien to him… You know… its like trying to explain what a tighthead is to the Wife or Girlfriend – just have patience.
However he is quite enthusiastic
20 Sep 2011, 12:46 pm
@francois93(francois93)-266: you have gotten to know him well
20 Sep 2011, 12:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-264:
Scathing indeed…
Deans seems not to be good at all with the media as well.His post match interviews are dour and abrupt. Also seems to be at complete opposite end with Oz rugby landscape/culture….Dingo doesnt seem to be international coach compatible,seems a little bit much for him.The attention etc He is also 13-2 vs Henry as well….
Not going with Beau Robinson,Matt Giteau,Nathan Sharpe as backups seems to be telling at the moment.
McAlman & Mcabe….Eish
20 Sep 2011, 12:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267: BWAAAAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA
hiyas HG
20 Sep 2011, 12:48 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267: NOw Mshini knows his stuff re the Oval ball lol
but then again he is a SHARKS supporter
20 Sep 2011, 12:52 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-262: I’ve always doubted Deans, there’s something peculiar about that man. However, you cannot challenge the quality of Genia. Mshini, please read entry 167, and join the complaint.
20 Sep 2011, 12:52 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-270: Howzit SL… Eish that Transie gangile sometimes. I’m watching him
20 Sep 2011, 12:54 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-271: Yeah, Mshini does know – in between the name dropping – there is a solid bit of knowledge there.
20 Sep 2011, 12:54 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-268: Nah have chatted to Transie before I get that most of the time he is stirring the pot, guess we all do benefit of being a Keyboard cowboy, I think Transie is actually a huge Bok fan and uber competitive about winning every game, no bad thing and if he doesn’t rate Smit and co he doesn’t. No issue from me, but man up and accept that Quade and Genia are not rugby messiahs just skilled players who are as fallible as anyone else amd maybe FDP and JS are not the worst players who ever played.
20 Sep 2011, 12:58 pm
What do you chaps think of a Scotland win against the English, worth a bet? English looking a bit off the boil, Scots always have one big performance in them? I almost had it on Saturday, had Boks over Fiji, Irish over Wallabies and Pirates over Chiefs, at 200 to 5000, and then the bloody ref screwed my Pirates.
20 Sep 2011, 13:00 pm
@francois93(francois93)-266: the sanctimony dripping from this post betrays your seemingly delicate sensibilities that i have supposedly hurt.
hardenthefuckup!
20 Sep 2011, 13:01 pm
@francois93(francois93)-275: No, Transie is the no. 1 fan of Francois Steyn… Strues Bob I reckon he nearly cried when Frankie shaved off his long locks.
20 Sep 2011, 13:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-277: lol, nah I am soft that why i played wing guy
20 Sep 2011, 13:02 pm
@francois93(francois93)-276: It’s not 1990, I don’t see Scotland beating England but I must qualify that statement this is a crazy world cup!
20 Sep 2011, 13:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-278: That is pretty funny guy
but yeah, I bet Transie wears John Smit jammies
20 Sep 2011, 13:04 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-167:
Yeah, I totally agree. Was something that was started by Gregan to a large extent when organising ball carriers for the multi-phase attack-namely Finegan to take it up who was the most mobile of blokes.
I do think scrummies are over doing it plus they arent varying it enough.There is a time and a place for it but at present they are doing it far to much.And its not indicative of displaying some sort of “tactical nous” as they seem to think. Kills momentum
20 Sep 2011, 13:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267: @President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-271:
look at this howdy natal boys, care for some can rat hunting?
20 Sep 2011, 13:07 pm
@francois93(francois93)-276:
Maybe but dont think so…Unless they are in Murrayfield & rain is belting down, Culcutta Cup in the balance with bagpipes serenading every inch of the stadium…England will still win
20 Sep 2011, 13:08 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-280: yep struggling to justify this one myself, but I think its possible and a Scotland win will probably make the bet pay so it is what it is, may as well go for the whole bowl of chips Frogs over NZ, Scotland over the Pomms and need a third leg to really make this one pay like maybe Pirates over Sundowns, cant lose two big games in a row
20 Sep 2011, 13:09 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-282: did you see ruan against fiji? i could’ve punched him if he was in front of me!
what did you think of jake’s comments saying the fijian team that we played on the weekend were “disinterested” and focusing on the samoa game hence the bok victory?
20 Sep 2011, 13:10 pm
@francois93(francois93)-275: lol oh hell boet I know Transie all to well, he aint known as TROLL for nothing ……..
And yes he does support the Boks, his chick Rossi supports the AB, but thats her choice!
20 Sep 2011, 13:11 pm
@francois93(francois93)-281: No, Transies squeeze wears Barney jammies… Just gets Transie passion levels up…
20 Sep 2011, 13:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-283: Yeah, I’m hunting for one little gundwane right now
20 Sep 2011, 13:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-286: BWAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA ok so thats the new excuse for FIJI??????
20 Sep 2011, 13:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-289: lmao
20 Sep 2011, 13:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-283: lol
20 Sep 2011, 13:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-288: dudes lets not talk about women at this stage mine is hysterical at the mo, I am being beaten daily for intervening on E-entertainment channel while the rugga is on, even had the remote thrown in my little ones bath so now on manual override till this afternoon, sigh why the hell did I ever get married, but yeah, will take the beatings with a stoic outlook, at least I dont look like John at the moment eish, he looks like he went a couple round with Tyson.
20 Sep 2011, 13:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-288:
20 Sep 2011, 13:18 pm
@francois93(francois93)-293: lol
you sound like my son in law
20 Sep 2011, 13:18 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-282: Allister Coetzee speaks of a scrummy providing a team rythm, I think Gregan epitomised this, the game was played around, and perhaps Marshall to an extent. My contention at present is that scrummies are purposefully delaying play without there being a direct benefit for their side. I understand having temperament and patience when building phases, organizing your runners and offensive formations but there’s still a massive role that quick recycled ball plays on multiple phases to increase pressure on the opposition and create mismatches between forwards and backs. What Kahn Fortuali’i was doing for Samoa was just frustrating, he’d turnaround, his back to the ball, and begin to lecture his forwards, it’s utter madness, in the meantime, the ball is in open play.
20 Sep 2011, 13:20 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-282: I’ve stamped your hind leg on the petition! welcome.
20 Sep 2011, 13:20 pm
@francois93(francois93)-293: Naah, I built up much credit with the banshee for these six weeks… It has cost me much in time, planning, moolah and Kurt Geiger currency… but so far it has been worth it.
20 Sep 2011, 13:22 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-295: Man, I dont know about you, but it has required negotiations worthy of a Superpower Summit. So far so good.
20 Sep 2011, 13:22 pm
@francois93(francois93)-285: Don’t bet against England or New Zealand, everyone saw what happened to Australia, they’ll be ready! Can’t help you on the soccer don’t know much about that game.
Join the petition and be a good chap.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All