KeoTV: Backing the Boks
23 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE is realistic about the Springboks’ World Cup hopes but that doesn’t mean he isn’t patriotic.
18 Jun 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Rather a scrap than a sensational effort against a courageous but limited Scotland. The Springbok coaching staff gained more because of the struggle against Scotland and there certainly won’t be complacency against Samoa. South African rugby supporters tend to be reactionary and very different in their reactions every weekend. When New Zealand struggled to beat France in the first Test in Auckland and South Africa were brilliant in patches against Italy many on social networks expressed confidence ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article23 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE is realistic about the Springboks’ World Cup hopes but that doesn’t mean he isn’t patriotic.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
Heyneke Meyer's decision to back a host of youngsters in this quadrangular Test series will have long-term benefits for the...Read More
Francois Louw, the man who changed Heyneke Meyer’s mind, has undergone a life-changing experience of his own. Louw admits he's...Read More
John Smit begins his new job as CEO of the Sharks on 1 July. In the June issue of SA...Read More
Wales scored a last-minute try to sneak in for an 18-17 win over the Baby Boks in their Junior World...Read More
The Boks will not become the No 1 team on the planet until they become the world's leading team at...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

146 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
23 Sep 2011, 11:07 am
@KEO & general rugby public
Mate, hats off for trying anything to sound like you behind the Boks but goodness me let’s get real for a minute. Since when I wonder has being dressed like a clown that got hold of Springbok kit and promoting getting pissed on Klippies and coke had anything to do with being fully behind the Boks or made you proudly South African. It’s embarrassing to say the least.
Now it finally makes sense the nonsense you were writing. I mean how can anyone write anything worth reading when they pissed on that ****. Mate, rather lay off the booz, watch the game and do the writing first and drink after if you really have to. Stay away from the camera if you gonna dress like that with a bottle of booz under your arm please, you making us true Bok supporters look like we love carrying screw drivers & other tools in our socks 24/7…
I didn’t care about the score against Namibia as the score takes care of itself if the quality of the play is good. But it was a pretty bad performance from the Boks. I gave us a 2/10 against Wales, an 8/10 against Fiji and to be honest I can’t give us more than 5/10 against Namibia. We had many good moments but I’m only gonna talk about the bad ones. Our lineouts were bad, the scrums were good in the first half but we put in less effort in this department in the second half. Our handling errors were appalling in general even though it got better in the second half. I couldn’t help laughing at the comment Bobbie Skinstad made in the first half saying that we should expect the handling errors to be this bad, as the Boks aren’t used to getting so much ball. Still don’t know what he was talking about, don’t think he does either and maybe felt he needed to say something, anything, doesn’t matter how bad or stupid it might have sounded. I mean these players have been catching a rugby ball since they were 4 years old, how in God’s name do you suddenly understandably drop the ball because as a Springbok side you not used to having it so often. Goodness gracious me Bobbie… rather say nothing when you gonna say stuff like that mate. The actual reason we were making so many handling errors and generally being so average to our standards in the first half can be summed up by one word, intensity. It just wasn’t there. One thing we do have a tendency to do in South Africa is drop the urgency and intensity when the game is already won. We tend to slack off when we have achieved our goal or think we have instead of putting the pedal down and really taking the other team to the cleaners. It’s the same reason that Australia and New Zealand and many other top teams always have a chance of winning against us as we tend to lie down and take a breather when we think that we might have done enough to win. The same reason that we have many times been over 15 points ahead of other top sides and then only won the game by a few points when the final whistle has gone. That is the one thing that the Boks need to change going into the play-offs if they are to make sure that they bring the cup home. Plsy to increase the lead, DON’T DEFEND IT!. Trust me on this it’s true if you think about it. And never trust anyone unless it’s me. Intensity or urgency is our main reason for the poor performance against Namibia.
But mark my words…This is the best Bok side we have ever had and they have all the potential to easily win this World Cup but beware of defending a lead because in my mind this could be their only downfall.
And just for Keo because he loved it so much…
Go Bokke!
Viva Bokke!
Bliksem Hulle!
Moer Hulle!
Bring the Cup Home where it belongs! You have what it takes; show the world what I already know!
23 Sep 2011, 11:08 am
@ufo(ufo)-100:
This is not the *** pride rugby festival mate. ‘Back to the Wall’
23 Sep 2011, 11:11 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-102:
underestimate that pride and what it means at your peril…
23 Sep 2011, 11:12 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-90: Totally bru!
23 Sep 2011, 11:12 am
@ufo(ufo)-103:
Hehehe
23 Sep 2011, 11:44 am
LOL Keo! We would have believed you to be patriot if you actually bought all those goodies… wearing them in the store isn’t exactly ‘patriotism’!
23 Sep 2011, 11:47 am
is keo really convinced that Ireland are better than the boks ? Surely if the Irish could do a number on the Wallabies hopefully the boks can at least scrape home by 1 point .
23 Sep 2011, 12:06 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-106: Ha ha, yes that’s just a bit creepy. Specially the Bok onnerbroek, which you can’t see in shot here. Can’t imagine the store manager was too pleased, despite the publicity.
23 Sep 2011, 12:29 pm
Keo patriotic? You are the complete idiot overselling the Aussies. So you have been caught with your panties down you little cretin. First it was your hack job on Morne, then the garbage against Frans. Just admit it, you are a pretentious little fool who knows stuff all about the game and you are motivated by anything but rugby. And to make matters worse, your little henchmen inflate your ego. Get real, you want some perspective? Start by taking a good long look at yourself.
23 Sep 2011, 12:52 pm
with all those goodies on Keo and with the bald head…Keo looks like one of those kids from reach for a dream
23 Sep 2011, 12:54 pm
Kak funny video, a lot better than some of the articles
23 Sep 2011, 13:10 pm
@MADaboutrugby(MADaboutrugby)-101:
Player 23?
23 Sep 2011, 13:17 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-110:
manikins have bald heads. Explains the non-anatomically correct thing too
23 Sep 2011, 13:30 pm
@MADaboutrugby(MADaboutrugby)-101: Long post… obviously some effort which is to be commended…. But just a quick one, are you drinking the same shy’te that Keo waves around?
23 Sep 2011, 13:51 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-2:
Don’t think the “glass” was half empty when he made this video
23 Sep 2011, 13:56 pm
That is actually damn embarrassing to say the least, dont fool your self Keo, you and your minions’ patriotism lie with the Wannabes , you are at your happiest when the Boks do poorly. Comic relief? definitely. Patriot to SA? NOT A CHANCE!
23 Sep 2011, 14:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-114:
Was wondering the same thing myself. Admiral passion though for the post!
23 Sep 2011, 14:11 pm
JASSSUSS … have another drink bru
Haaaaaaaa… Injured by USA B team
Faingaga knocked out because he doesn’t know how to tackle
McCabe dislocated shoulder
Palu hamstring tear
Beale ripped balls
Horne broken cheekbone
weak.
23 Sep 2011, 14:14 pm
there’s NO WAY keo will be happy if the Boks win the world cup, his “end of an error” diatribe will prove fruitless in the same way he called it WRONG with jake in 2007.
the competition is still in the pool stages yet there he is drunk as a skunk trying to assure us that he is NOT unpatriotic. who asked you keo?
your own conscience gnawing @ you?
23 Sep 2011, 14:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-119:
no, they all read the comments at keo hq.
23 Sep 2011, 14:31 pm
I’ll say this over and over again; Mark Keohane is a self-serving dipshit who profits from all of us idiots who frequent this site to get our rugga fix. I suspect he pulls this type of nonsense to get everybody rubbed up. It’s more attention and traffic on his site. I was listening to Ali Coetzee and Heyneke Meyer on TV the other night. It was so refreshing to hear some proffessional perspective from men who actually know what they’re talking about. There’s a reason they’re paid the big bucks to coach while others are writing columns. As the saying goes; “Critics are the ones who hide up in the mountains while the war is being fought, and when it’s done they come out and shoot the wounded”.
23 Sep 2011, 15:03 pm
@Sasquatch(Sasquatch)-121: so a Keo christmas card is out of the question then?
23 Sep 2011, 15:17 pm
@Sasquatch(Sasquatch)-121:
yup, its like the chicken-hawk republican politicians in the usa,. when their turn to serve they conveniently have/find all sorts of really, really good excuses for why they cant go to the army and fight in a war but when older and in politics they’ve got the biggest mouths, acting super brave and calling for wars left, right and centre.
23 Sep 2011, 16:38 pm
The Boks are doing wll so far, better than the predictions!
We a beat No 20 ranked team by 78 points, we also managed to beat No15 ranked team by 46 points!
Admittedly we won by only one point against the No 6 ranked and that with some help from the referees, however it’s just an insignificant detail
Great performance!
I always knew that Habana, Aplon and De Jongh can score tries, it just depends who is the opposition!
23 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
Keo,
That was embarrassing.
You made your name drink doos, not just doos.
23 Sep 2011, 17:31 pm
paul joseph GUNTHER Goebbels is, by his admission, white and as such cannot jump adequately but more importantly cannot adequately pump too.
Imagine the enormity of his exposed inadequacies, as a typical white, if he should go up against Dennis Rodman?
Now that man Rodman can really jump and pump with the very, very best of them in this world as his history will reveal.
So what does Gunther Goebbels do? He goes to Europe and buys something 14′ long and black(but he is white).
Does anybody doubt that that thing solves not one but , in fact, two problems?
What else can it be but a 14″ long, black s t r a p o n?
Happy people all round, thereafter.
23 Sep 2011, 17:58 pm
WTF was that? Stick to the articles china
As for not klapping Oz –
1. Our forwards are going to bend their pack backwards that they see their poepstrings. If Pocock isnt fit by then theyre in even deeper dwang
2. We have Brussouw and Matfield, we have Bismarck and Gurthro and Beast, we have Jannie and Bakkies and Danie, we have Burger. Nuff said
3. If its wet there aint going to be much running buddies – our favour
4. They got nailed today with injuries by USA – cant see them all being fit for the quarters. Jury still out on Pocock and Ioane too.
5. Quade is jittery, his tackling is suspect – he´s going to get his Boofhead shoved up his alie
6. Their kicking is up the pole – come finals that is going to be a big no no – as opposed to Morne Steyn who has scored 2 rounds of 100% kicks thanks very much
7. Our team is finding some nice synergy and if we stick with Frans Steyn at 12, keep Habans gamtime limited in favour of Houghaard and bring Aplon in off the bench and possibly de Jongh we can match their backs – period. We are finding some form at the right time.
8. The Wallies confidence got dented by that loss to Ireland – they dont feel so invincible anymore, and this big win over the USA may just have brought back a bit of cockiness which is all we need.
9. Pray tell why we should be worried about the Wallabies? We can take them – will be tough but we can take them. If we believe we cant we should just go home.
10. Our pool has been tough – so we´ll be battle hardened after they cruise in with wins over USA and ahem cough cough – Russia. We will be waiting and relishing the carnage that will ensue.
23 Sep 2011, 21:27 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-127: Don’t get too cocky. The Wobblies ship is creaking but they still seem to be much more capable of intelligent play than we do. They can still one up on us. Brute force alone will not help us win. If we keep Frans at 12 we have a better chance. If we bring JdV back and move Frans to 15 you can kiss this RWC goodbye.
23 Sep 2011, 21:42 pm
What’s this kak about Keo saying Jdv should be back at 12 and Frans to 15? Its all over rover if that happens. Its little wonder why the Boks have been so static on attack. JdV brings nothing to the game and adds no value.
Steyn offers physicality, excellent distribution skills and vision. He has really varied his play now and is offloading in the tackle sucking in two defenders at a time because of his size. Morne seems to thrive off Frans. Keep the current midfield partnership. And keep this impact bench thing going but with some tweaks, start Hougaard on the wing and Bismarck. And then this team will do the business in the QF.
JdV should be on the bench or out of the 22. In fact I would rather see JdJ replace Steyn if he got injured. Replace Frans with Jean and watch it all fall apart. Watch Morne go back into his shell. The ball will not get past 12. Crashball robotic idiot. I don’t rate JdV at all anymore after seeing the new improved Frans.
23 Sep 2011, 21:52 pm
@Rugbylife(Rugbylife)-116: Keo profits more from the Boks demise than their success. There is more to write about in failure than success. It is also because Keo will know that he will have massive sloppy egg on his face if they do win the RWC.
I for one though am not a fan of PdV and it is no coincidence that the Boks have suddenly improved with the inclusion of Rassie in his coaching team. PdV has done a total Jake White. From the team he has picked to bringing along technical advisor and hey presto dramatic improvements.
If we do win this RWC Rassie should get the credit for it not Div because he has shown in 4 years of coaching he did not have a clue. You do not suddenly become a good coach overnight.
23 Sep 2011, 23:23 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-128: Just saying the way Keo and co goes on its a foregone conclusion that we stand no chance whatsoever. I´m just saying get real. Those are a lot of factors in our favour too. Proof is in the pudding I guess. I think the Oz backs are devastating but theyre not a complete team yet and their success in the Tri Nations and Super 15 this year is going to their heads.
23 Sep 2011, 23:29 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-129: Dont forget Buthc at 10 and drop Morne. The kuk they write and that were supposed to lap up. Jean De Villiers is the cancer in the backline if you ask me. And whilst theyre at it they can keep Habana on the sidelines too. My perfect team for the finals would be:
1 Gurthro
2 Smit (hes going to be there so he´s in)
3 Jannie
4 Danie Rossouw
5 Matfield
6 Brussouw
7 Burger
8 Spies (not convinced about Alberts at 8 – too slow)
9 Fourie du Preez
10 M Steyn
11 Francois Houghaard
12 Frans Steyn
13 Jacques Fourie
14 JP Pietersen
15 Patrick Lambie
16 Beast
17 Bismarck
18 CJ van der Linde
19 Bakkies
20 Alberts
21 Juan de Jongh
22 Gio Aplon
No place for Muller, F Louw (unfortunately), Ruaan Pienaar, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana.
23 Sep 2011, 23:40 pm
I agree with all the pro-Bokke views so far – this side should keep its A+ game for the quarters (where they will defeat Australia, no doubt at all about that – irrespective of what game the Wallabies bring to the table) and then play the Game of their Lives in the semi-final: if they can do that the whole country of New Zealand will go into deep trauma, shock and mourning.
Frans Steyn is in majestic form – as we who have never waivered in singing his potential have said all along. His centre play is a revelation and what’s been missing in our backline for as long as I can remember.
Having said that I am open-minded to his playing fullback because that is now the area of weakness – Lambie, Pienaar, whoever, are all very ordinary there – and it is the CRITICAL position. Steyn is the best fullback on the planet and has been for 10 years. Let’s try out Jean de Villiers against Samoa – though, if it’s a rib cartliage he’s unlikely to survive it. And if he doesn’t play well – then we have to move Frans back there – because it is a critical position also; and play Lambie – but prepare for the Antipodean teams targeting him and it will be torrid.
As for that Bok pack ….. yirrah, yissus man but can they donner?
24 Sep 2011, 00:08 am
Looking forward to seeing how the kiwis pack stands up to the French… might be a sight for sore eyes!!!
It will be a tough one for the kiwis to realise that they could of won this WC if they’d just let Carl Hayman play…
24 Sep 2011, 00:42 am
Eish Keo. Jy praat die lekker man.
24 Sep 2011, 00:45 am
Can everyone who said F. Steyn was fat and useless please stand up. Can everyone who said M. Steyn can’t tackle, and John Smit can’t play 80 minutes please stand up. Also those who said Danie Rossouw is a has-been. Sommer all those who like to praat k@k.
24 Sep 2011, 01:14 am
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-133: Jean will not be any better. It’s like saying, lets play Carter at 15, he ticks all the boxes in terms of skill set, so seeing as it’s THE weakness, we must have him there. He just won’t be able to do it. Frans is not even in the top 10 15s at test level. He has never been a world class 15, and was badly shown up by both Kirchner and Aplon last year. He is not a natural 15. 12 is a far more important position, as seen by how Jean has singlehandedly stunted our backline the last 4 years. We will never beat any meaningful opposition with him. Frans simply must play 12, it’s the ONLY way we can get the most out of him and truly benefit the team. Agreed though on Lambie. An average player all round.
24 Sep 2011, 01:40 am
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-133: Lambie has had two games at fullback still coming back from injury and suddenly he is an average player. ***** I say give him another chance. You can’t move Frans so who else is going to play fullback? It is another example of poor planning by the 3 stooges.
And good god what have you some of people calling for Smit to stay been smoking? You want Smit to play for 80 minutes?! You can’t be right in the head if you think that. You want a fat slow cumbersome hooker on for 80 minutes in place of the best hooker in the world, a human wrecking ball and an extra fetcher. Bismarck is 5 times the player than Smit and he is practically 2 players in one.
It is a goddamn disgrace that this oke is sitting on the bench right up until the 60th minute. And dropping Louw from your 22 is also shocking. He was brilliant against Fiji. I would prefer to see Louw and Brussouw combine as a loose trio instead of headless chicken Schalk. With Bismarck, Louw and Brussouw you would have 3 fetchers on the ground and if you bring on Alberts you’ve 4 big ball carriers there. It would cause absolute havoc for the defending team.
I agree about dropping JdV. Keep Morne where he is for now. He seems to play much better with Frans next to him. Habana should be subbed half-way through for Hougaard.
24 Sep 2011, 02:01 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-137:
So umm… you rate Kirchner as a better fullback than Frans? Oh. What a thickshit. Steyn is better suited at 12 and should remain there for the rest of the world cup, but that is not to say that he is not a devastating fullback. He kicks 20-30 meters further than any other player in world rugby.
Lambie should be alright at fullback as long as du Preez is there. du Preez is always fielding at the back and taking the pressure off the 15.
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-138:
Louw sucks, he was exposed in 2010 3n. Burger is the heart of the forward pack and is the worlds best linkman.
24 Sep 2011, 03:02 am
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-138: Smit will stay. Thats it. Make your peace. My point is, and I am surprised that you are unable to see it, that Smit was called fat and useless 15 765 times in the past 6 months. If someone is so fat and useless, how would he be able to play for 80 minutes? Can you play test rugby for 80 minutes? How much do you weigh?
I’ve said it many times. Bismark is better. No one can dispute that. But, Smit is playing his heart out. Acknowledge that. He will go down as a Great. Respect to the man.
As far as your other “facts” about who should play when and where are concerned, I agree with most.
24 Sep 2011, 03:07 am
I hate it when people feel the need to break others down. Faark! It irritates the living shite out of me. If any fool who has a mouthful about Smit can do better, or even stand in his shoes for 5 minutes, let him do it. All talk. Bullshite talk. They can say things but will never achieve what Smit, PdV, Muir, Gold, Burger or any other Bok achieved.
Typical big fish in a small pond syndrome.
24 Sep 2011, 04:48 am
This nob should rather stay in New Zealand cause every thing he says about them boks is negitive.lol.
24 Sep 2011, 07:17 am
Keo, patriotism aside, what have Australia done since starting the RWC that suggests they will knock the Boks out of the tournament? Please provide a compelling argument.
24 Sep 2011, 08:15 am
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-130:
Agreed. Think given his contempt for us saffer supporters and his support for Aus it would be best to juts ignore this despicable little ****.
24 Sep 2011, 10:35 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-139:
Kichner beat more defenders than Lambie and Frans put together the last three years. Aplon the better defender. Frans is only on par with Kirchner. so the only idiot is you. I did my research before posting you think stompi. A big boot at 15 is not enough. He is not a good 15, not a natural 15. One try does not change that.At best 15th best test option, that ONLY because of his boot. He is however our best 12 by a considerable distance, he even says so himself.
24 Sep 2011, 13:25 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-145:
You think Kirchner is better than Steyn. Okay… time to attempt to memorize your generic name so I can skip your posts from now on.. okay done.
Bye.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All