Matfield to front Samoa
23 Sep 2011
Victor Matfield, Johann Muller and Jean de Villiers are all expected to feature in the Springboks’ final World Cup pool game against Samoa.
The three players have not played since the Boks’ opening game against Wales. Matfield and Muller have been sidelined with hamstring injuries, while De Villiers injured his ribs in that bruising battle with the Dragons.
The Bok management has confirmed that these three players will be considered for next Friday’s game, and that it will be important for the trio to get game time before the probable quarter-final showdown with the Wallabies.
Technical adviser Rassie Erasmus did, however, suggest that playing in such a physical clash could do more harm than good.
‘We hope that all those guys might be available for the game against Samoa,’ he said. ‘I think the coach and the selectors will have to decide whether that it is the right game to take a chance on those guys, but they will be ready.’
Erasmus added that there were no further injuries sustained in the big win over Namibia, and that Bakkies Botha’s substitution was part of the ongoing management of his fragile Achilles tendon.
Having Matfield back in the second row will allow Danie Rossouw a much needed break, although the coaching staff may opt to deploy Matfield and Rossouw as the starting lock combination from hereon in. Rossouw has certainly proved himself to be an indispensable member of this Bok team in the last three weeks.
Meanwhile, there is uncertainty over the role Butch James will play in next week’s clash with the Samoans.
James replaced De Villiers at centre in the first game against Wales, but picked up a hip injury that precluded him from the next two games against Fiji and Namibia. It was a blow to the Boks’ plans considering the coaches wanted to start James against Namibia and give him some real game time before the play-offs.
Word from the Bok camp is that James has battled to train because of the injury, and for the moment it appears as if Morne Steyn will continue as the first-choice flyhalf in the big play-off matches.
It’s a worrying situation given Steyn’s poor defensive performances against Wales and Fiji don’t bode well for a quarter-final meeting with the best attacking side in the world.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Auckland

184 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
23 Sep 2011, 13:31 pm
@francois93(francois93)-150:
Ja, but if you think about it our tactical kicking wasn’t such a big part of our game plans against Fiji and Nam.
I think FS will start to play a bigger role, in terms of kicking, in the upcoming tests.
23 Sep 2011, 13:33 pm
@francois93(francois93)-150:
Ahem Mr. Amstel talking should have read “that flattens attackers”
23 Sep 2011, 13:42 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-148: I suggest you get your facts straight before you talk about Spies, get facts and we can talk.
On Jono yes I agree with all you said he was great , Pitty he had to retire so young, but he had weaknesses also, that could and was exploited.
23 Sep 2011, 13:49 pm
@PrimeOptimus(PrimeOptimus)-151: Agree that stats differ on 2 sites , but both cases Spies stats are better
23 Sep 2011, 14:08 pm
@capebull(capebull)-153:
What facts are you talking about exactly?
Spies is a poor no.8, especially for the last 24 months or so. He doesnt make destructive tackles knocking players behind advantage line,he struggles with control of ball at back of scrum when under pressure,he NEVER offloads-havent seen him once set up another space. He for all his athleticism cant smell likes of Kieran Read,Sergio Parisee etc even 35 yr old Radike Samo had a more impressive 3N than him.
Spies is on the upward rise to a certain extent at the moment but he still doesnt INFLUENCE games for a player of his “supposed ability”. he simply cant in pressure game where pack has parity or slight advantage in collisions.he needs a perfect dominant pack to influence games-which isnt good enough at that level because the chance or having such dominance is limited against quality opposition.
He has had 5 good games in Bok jumper: 06′ vs NZ-Rustenburg,07′ vs Eng,’10 vs Ireland,11′ vs Oz,11′ vs Fiji….And he has nearly 50 Test matches. No modicum of consistency in HIGH quality performance.
Anyone who understands and analyses the game can see he hardly EVER makes tackles using his shoulder to increase impact at collision(uses wrap around technique that hardly is destructive) nor is his clean out technique sound. Ball skills are average,especially on the ground-where he almost always invariably drops/knocks it forward.
At almost 50 Tests do you think he has produced consistent performances in Bok jumper worthy of being in that class of player with so many caps?? Honestly?
23 Sep 2011, 14:41 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-155: I am saying base your view on Spies on someting more than your emotions, go and look at the rugby stats that are available and you will see you are wrong.
All number 8′s battle with control if the scrum is in reverse
Spies takle players at 81 % success rate with Alberts 61% , I think Id rather stop players 81% , than drive 60% into the ground and miss 40%
23 Sep 2011, 14:43 pm
@capebull(capebull)-156: The hold up technique is that the same that was used and praise by all when Irish beat the Ozz ?
23 Sep 2011, 14:44 pm
@capebull(capebull)-156: His average ball skills was evident whet he put two players away to score tries against Nam
23 Sep 2011, 14:49 pm
please remember the stats about carrots!
don’t eat that stuff!!!
23 Sep 2011, 14:54 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-155:
Spies has been outstanding in the last three games.
23 Sep 2011, 14:55 pm
@capebull(capebull)-156:
Please boet, stop now. Seriously.
No one in SA, not even Spies himself thinks he is playing well at the moment.
He is the weakest 8 in international rugby right now. Out of the top tier teams.
Even that nobody 8 from Aus, McAlman I thnk, said that he was the softest 8 he had played against.
He never drives a player back in the tackle, except if Burger or Rossow etc have made the tackle first. Then Spies joins in and looks all aggressive etc. Its actually laughable.
Worse still is when he has ball in hand. Has there ever been a bloke his size and speed etc who gets dominated by backs in the contact situation more than Spies. Just stop with the stats already. If the stats were that accurate, Spies would have been made MoM and not Alberts.
Spies need to grow his heart, he doesnt have one. No matter how much gym you do, you’ll never grow the old ticker.
23 Sep 2011, 14:58 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-160:
What universe do you live in pal.
The Fiji and Namibia games were tailor made for a player like Spies.
Great scrum dominance with slightly weaker defenders and gaps all over the place for him to use his athleticism and still he was nowhere.
And it was FIJI and NAMIBIA!
23 Sep 2011, 14:58 pm
just a sobering thought….
(you don’t have to pay me for this….)
if any of us have changed our perceptions, ideas about any of the boks after the last to games you must be joking…..
who did we play? Pofadder would have been better opponants..
the test will start in 2 weeks time……
only after that game will we know where we stand… imo. (although i have a bloody good idea already
)
23 Sep 2011, 15:00 pm
ai spelling!
23 Sep 2011, 15:03 pm
@Staal(Staal)-164:
I forgive you…
23 Sep 2011, 15:12 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-162:
Pal?
He was all over the park. You were so busy checking out Lambie you missed the game…pal.
23 Sep 2011, 15:12 pm
Amen to the spies is a wonan’s blouse debate.
23 Sep 2011, 15:17 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-167:
amen?
bless you my son.
23 Sep 2011, 15:34 pm
Capebul
U get stats of the last 2-3 games then base an ENTIRE argument on Spies abilities agaisnt top tier opposition
Then u compare him to the man of the match Alberts and deem Spies was better
Keep your stats because ur context is ludicrous at the very least
23 Sep 2011, 15:38 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-162: Only you and Mr Misiwimi
23 Sep 2011, 15:41 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-169: Its not my stats , when people chose mom , its not based on stats but on emotion, like yours thats runnig away with you.
Sure Spies wasnt his best last two years , but his getting there, and when it counts he will be ok , like Morne, Smit , Danie
23 Sep 2011, 15:43 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-162: So thats why @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-169: I am sure
23 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
@capebull(capebull)-171:
Dont lump some of those names with Spies as likes of Spies,Danie,Morne have had seasons where the consistently throughout Test matches put top quality performances & influenced the overall result greatly(positively).
in the same 2 year span Spies hasnt won Man Of the Match,so I suppose everyone else has the problem in judging emotionally against your educated non-emotional view of Spies?? Highly doubt it.
The very fact he cant arouse any emotion with his performance contributes to the fact that he is below avg to be honest.
Suppose it was emotion running away with the likes of me & John Galt etc when Spies was made foolish by Izzie Dagg vs NZ,or was completely outplayed by Read,McAlman/majority of international 8′s??
You clearly are from the “Deon Stegman is awesome statistically” school of thought thus he is brilliant.Hit 42 rucks without effecting any sort of contribution.
Blah blah blah,any one with 2 eyes can see Spies is average.Isnt even a after thought for the Sh sides.
23 Sep 2011, 16:28 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-173:
Should be:
“likes of Smit,Danie,Morne” etc
23 Sep 2011, 16:33 pm
@capebull(capebull)-171: where is spies getting? how long does it take this guy to get there?
23 Sep 2011, 16:34 pm
I would play Lambie at flyhalf in the quarters. The opposition won’t get through him and he is a reliable goal kicker. He simply does not fall off tackles like Morne Steyn, John Smit and Danie Rossouw. He will make every tackle and allow us to focus resources elsewhere rather than defending the flyhalf channel when Morne Steyn is at pivot.
23 Sep 2011, 16:45 pm
When it comes to Morne Steyn this Keo.co.za rugby site has simply no journalistic integrity.
JC honesty !
23 Sep 2011, 17:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-175:
When he gets to a 100 Tests maybe…
Just like Ruan Pienaar
23 Sep 2011, 17:57 pm
@Uys(Uys)-177: how long must we wait for this oke to “evolve” in a Bok jersey?
http://www.keo.co.za/2009/05/15/spiess-cognitive-evolution/
24 Sep 2011, 01:08 am
“It’s a worrying situation given Steyn’s poor defensive performances against Wales and Fiji don’t bode well for a quarter-final meeting with the best attacking side in the world.”
Get over yourself Jon. Are we even watching the same WC? Come now. Don’t act on your feelings.
24 Sep 2011, 02:25 am
@capebull(capebull)-156:
Anyone that only goes by stats when judging a player is incredibly thick. Stats are a basic guideline that should only be glanced at.
Spies is a foking joke. Burger is how a true 8th man should be playing, and Burger will be the Bok 8th man in 2012 once Smith gets back.
24 Sep 2011, 03:29 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-181: “Anyone that only goes by stats when judging a player is incredibly thick. Stats are a basic guideline that should only be glanced at.”
Really? Just a glance? People who judge people by emotion are incredibly thick in my opinion. So, you are the foking joke.
24 Sep 2011, 04:44 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-182:
You will watch your tongue when you speak to me.
24 Sep 2011, 07:31 am
I sincerely hope it’s Alberts to start the big ones this RWC. Spies can be an impact player off the bench, even as a cover for wing in a rugby league way. Schalk, Brussouw and Alberts together will be awesome. Hopefully Victor and Bakkies to start with Danie as the perfect replacement as/when necessary. As much as I like Beast, Steenkamp has been great and should start. And it goes without saying that the Du Plessis brothers must start. This WC will be won by the team that best uses its bench/impact players and in Beast, Danie, Hougaard and with Smit, Butch and even Spies and JdV we have the best balance and overall experience any team could wish for…….Just hope the coaches get the timing right !!.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All