Bismarck unleashed on Samoa
24 Sep 2011
Springboks coach Peter de Villiers confirmed that Bismarck du Plessis will start against Samoa.
Du Plessis has been in white hot form in recent months, but has had to be content with cameos in the final quarter given De Villiers’ loyalty to captain John Smit. He was omitted from the squad to play Namibia, but De Villiers has now revealed he will be in the run-on side for the Test against the islanders next Friday.
‘The one thing I can tell you today is that Bissie will start. John needs a rest. He’s like Duracell [batteries] at the moment, he just keeps on going. Not that he squeals, but I have to manage him too,’ De Villiers said.
The coach also revealed Bakkies Botha has suffered a recurrence of the Achilles tendon. ‘He’s a worry at the moment. I don’t think that Bakkies is where I want him to be,’ he said. ‘He’s such a valuable player in our side but a 90% fit Bakkies won’t be good enough. He’ll have to be 100 per cent. He’s in doubt for Samoa. We’ll be guided by the medical team and by Bakkies himself.’
The Springboks struggled in their opener against Wales but easily negotiated the challenge of Fiji and Namibia. Asked to assess where his team stood at this point in the tournament, De Villiers said: ‘It’s like going on a flight. You know where you want to be but everything up in the air causes you to go off your course. But the main thing is to land safely at the airport and we’re on our way to the airport.”
Samoa are favoured to beat Fiji in Auckland on Sunday but will hope that Fiji do them a favour when they play Wales next week, then beat the Springboks, in order to progress from the pool. De Villiers was lavish in his praise of the islanders: ‘Samoa is actually a revelation in world rugby. They’re in the minds of the people. They were a minnow but they’re not any more,’ he said. ‘Samoa is New Zealand’s second team. They’ve been coached like New Zealand, they act like New Zealand, they play like New Zealand.’

73 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
24 Sep 2011, 09:05 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-47:
only their 3rd test of the season, and not an A-side without Bakkies there.
Just getting better and better, be afraid me old china, be very afraid.
24 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-50:
Again what are you basing all this on a one point victory over the Welsh or your wooden spoon in the Tri nations, Fiji and Namibia don’t count mate.
24 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-49: It was stupid and wrong. Somethings we regard as jokes – and I believe it would have been put back – are viewed differently by others. The Boks have been in NZ long enough to know what is regarded as appropriate or not.
Just like we don’t regard drunken Aussie playerss damaging taxis, harassing women etc as appropriate in Cape Town.
24 Sep 2011, 09:07 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-52: A victory is a victory inn the WC. The march continues.
24 Sep 2011, 09:08 am
@cab(cab)-51: Hier kom the Bokke!
24 Sep 2011, 09:08 am
@cab(cab)-51:
Sure you’ll be up ther come finals time but all this hype about the Bokke after the Fiji game was ridiculous next we’ll be hearing Steyn and Fourie are the worlds premier centre pairing on the back of that performance, to date Wales is your only yard stick.
24 Sep 2011, 09:12 am
Got to run chaps 60,000 at the garden of Eden tonight going to be a great show, go Black.
24 Sep 2011, 09:12 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-52: Buddy we as Bok supporters have watch each game the Boks have played for years whether the opposition is strong or weak. I myself have been part of the Bok setup.
To me it is clear as daylight that we are a different team and you as a Black supporter should worry.
24 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
@Getafix(phil72)-43:
What ****. Why are ppl so stupid and pathetic like yourself?
24 Sep 2011, 09:17 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-56:
Catch a wake up – it is your NZ press and the English press that is making a big deal about the result against Fiji. So don’t come cry here for your own stupid comments. Back in SA most critics argue for areas of improvement.
24 Sep 2011, 09:19 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-56:
Chrisst even the Gerno owner of this website has the boks to lose against Auz..
24 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
Be interesting to see how things go with Bismark starting. Hoping for no serious injuries, will be big ask to get that wish though. **** news about Bakkies.
24 Sep 2011, 09:27 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-56: Wales have played their final. We have yet to play ours.
24 Sep 2011, 09:32 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-56: All this “sincere” concern with “dumb” Saffas running away with this optimistic, unreal abandon of hope for their “useless” team is [sniff...sniff] truly touching. Thanks my little sheepshagger. True brother in arms aren’t you…
Of course the Boks are no match for the almighty infallible… conquerors of Tonga… and dare we say it the Pacific Nations Cup “Champs” Japan…
24 Sep 2011, 09:56 am
Hows the airplane chirp? Where does he come up with all this stuff? Read the bible too many times? lol Either way were going to miss his meandering tongue. He´s unique I´ll give him that.
24 Sep 2011, 09:58 am
@Guns(Guns)-62:
Read the article you genius Twat:
The coach also revealed Bakkies Botha has suffered a recurrence of the Achilles tendon. ‘He’s a worry at the moment. I don’t think that Bakkies is where I want him to be,’ he said. ‘He’s such a valuable player in our side but a 90% fit Bakkies won’t be good enough. He’ll have to be 100 per cent. He’s in doubt for Samoa. We’ll be guided by the medical team and by Bakkies himself.’
24 Sep 2011, 10:33 am
@Getafix(phil72)-66: no great loss as with Matfield back and Danie in full swing were covered – hopefully we just keep filling in with Alberts cos I prefer him to Muller.
24 Sep 2011, 11:43 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-3: Seriously??? you going to complain about the word “squeals”??! It was obviously said in a light-hearted way in the same tone as the Duracell joke.
Leave PDiv alone – rather commend him on all the good stuff he said that is quoted above.
24 Sep 2011, 11:45 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-27: HAHAHAHAHA oh Tackles, I do hate you, but that was FUNNY!
Your girlfriend Poppa though @poppa69(poppa69)-26: is a DOOS
24 Sep 2011, 11:55 am
I see the same old folks doing the same old.
Had a blast in New Zealand and must commend them for being super polite and very friendly. Great host nation just a pity there isn’t more hype and more visitors.
A bit cold for me these days but just as great as I remember it.
Goyougoodthings
24 Sep 2011, 14:13 pm
Again this would be my Bok 22 to face Smoa…..
15. Patrick Lambie.
14. J.P. Pieterson.
13. Juan De Jongh.
12. Jean De Villiers (vc).
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Butch James / Morne Steyn.
9. Ruan Pienaar.
8. Willem Alberts.
7. Francois Louw.
6. Heinrich Brussow.
5. Victor Matfield (c).
4. Johann Muller.
3. C.J. Van Der Linde.
2. Bismark Du Plessis.
1. Gurthro Steenkamp.
16. Tendai Mtawarira.
17. Chilliboy Ralepele.
18. Jannie Du Plessis.
19. Danie Rossouw.
20. Pierre Spies.
21. Francois Hougaard.
22. Gio Aplon.
24 Sep 2011, 14:38 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-26: You really are such a bitter sourpuss with no sense of humour whatsoever! Its not as if they stole something of great value and refused to never give it back.
At least our players are not involved in actually crime like Cooper the burglar or Howlett behaving like a child and jumping all over people’s cars after the ABs chocked out of the last RWC.
Get a grip man. You’re always looking to make a racist jibe about SA and how our society supposedly functions. You’ve never even been there so you know f.all about it. What a c.unt.
24 Sep 2011, 15:23 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-3:
When it comes to Bismarck’s through-ins, we should call him Missmark! I am positive he will have a good game, as always, great player that he is. And being in the run on team will really motivate him.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All