Bismarck’s the best

Bismarck du Plessis has used the World Cup to enhance his reputation as the world’s No 1 hooker.

Du Plessis made an immediate impact for the Boks when he came off the bench in their World Cup opener against Wales, helping to turn a 16-10 deficit into a 17-16 victory.

‘To have a replacement hooker like Du Plessis coming off your bench is something no team in world rugby can match and is a massive weapon,’ Wales coach Warren Gatland said after the game. ‘He really put himself about in the time he was on. I’d say he was probably their most influential sub. I’m glad we didn’t have to play against him for longer.’

In the latest SA Rugby magazine – a 172-page bumper edition – we analyse Du Plessis’ season and lament the fact that he’s been relegated to the Bok bench to accommodate captain John Smit.

Conrad Smith and Ma’a Nonu are totally different players but together they form a potent midfield combination

– Wallabies coach Robbie Deans took a big gamble when he made James Horwill his new captain, just three weeks before the World Cup

Heinrich Brüssow used the home leg of the Tri-Nations to fight his way into the Springboks’ World Cup squad

– How Bryan Habana rediscovered his form ahead of the World Cup

Manu Tuilagi has brought muscle to England’s midfield

– Thirteen years after making his England debut, Jonny Wilkinson is still setting the example for his team-mates

– Having been left out of Ireland’s squad for the 2007 World Cup, Tommy Bowe made sure the selectors couldn’t ignore him in 2011

– Outgoing France coach Marc Lievremont will be remembered for his conservative approach to the game, odd selections and public outbursts

– Western Province flank Siya Kolisi has made the most of his opportunities in this year’s Currie Cup

– Sharks wing Sibusiso Sithole wants to refine his game

Jaco Taute has all the attributes required to play at the highest level

– There’s something special about Johann Sadie

Clint Newland and Ross Kennedy are playing an important part in EP’s rugby renaissance

– A host of players are representing their adopted countries at this year’s World Cup

– The Webb Ellis Cup is closely guarded when it travels around the world, but that wasn’t always the case

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

351 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nonu & snakey are the WORLD’S BEST CENTRE COMBO dragons, say it keo “journos”…say it.

• 2.OCO: Reply to this comment

How about an article along the lines:
    “Why did SA have to suffer the dreadful Jean DeVilliers for 4 years when reinstated at #12 after the 2009 RWC replacing the vastly superior incumbent Frans Steyn?”
    Somehow I doubt we’re going to see this in print.
    Better to throw up smokescreens.

• 3.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Jean de Villiers is a legend. Time to focus on the positive. Frans Steyn’s time has come.

• 4.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-1: indeed, indeed … they will not say it, there is a JDV book deal coming up and they cannot jeopardise sales by stating the obvious. :wink:

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@OCO(OCO)-2: you’re the only one who watched a rwc in ’09.

in 2008 jean de villiers was sublime SA Player of the Year recipient, francois steyn on the other hand was being boo-ed by guppy fans at kings park.

jdv & adi were sshit hot that year & he deserved his spot.

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

a SARugby issue with articles on both Sbura & Siya :-)

• 7.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Habana rediscovered his form?

• 8.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6: why no article on Pat Cilliers … he is the one who moered Siya at the bottom of a ruck, forcing his victim, Siya, to leave the field semi-concussed. :smile:

• 9.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The best 8 in the world is now available for selection this weekend, he’ll make a big difference.

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-8: why should thuggery be rewarded?

• 11.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

leave Biz on the bench and select JdV to start – that would be the Opposition Dream Pick !

• 12.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-9:

Lets just hope he last 40-50mins before they haul him. Would love to think he is fit enough for 80mins but he’s too key and will be needed for the brutal Argies forward onslaught. Major problem is that he’s had vvvvvery little footy this International season.

• 13.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-10: because he spent the season moering everyone who was unfortunate enough to go up against him … admit it he deserves magazine time.

And remember, moer hulle is not thuggery.

• 14.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-12:

He’s definitely undercooked but if he holds up come finals time he’ll be a massive asset for the pack, can you imagine the set piece moves off the back of the scrum, lovely stuff.

• 15.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-9: Take your Kiwi goggles off! The best 8 has been in storming form all world cup, the best Kiwi 8 is now available for selection, but you are right, he will make a big difference.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-15:

and who might that be?

• 17.HHS: Reply to this comment

SI and SR covers look almost the same except for the green arm. A article about a Lions player…. I’ll go out and buy this one.
    Hey Keo and pals… how about a story of the “future problem” the Boks are going to have for the number 10 spot?
    All the youngsters going for that position.. like Jantjies, Goosen, Eberson, Lambs and those WP boys. Get the pro’s and con’s of each and weigh them up against another…. just a thought…. would be interesting.

• 18.HHS: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-17: Would make a nice cover too of all the young chaps in their S15/CC kits :)

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-17: the keo bunch aren’t bothered, they’ve already picked lambie as the “future of SA rugby” & the “baby-faced assassin”.

i read somewhere on the web this morning already where lambie’s apparent “influence” in the bok team was being quantified as huge :roll:

• 20.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19:

If he plays 15 at this WC can he stop Dagg?

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-20: in a one-on-one situation lambie will cut dagg down to size but if it is a foot race the sorry, lambie is a carthorse.

• 22.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19: We all have our favorites. I have Jantjies and Goosen. Guess we cannot blame them for backing theirs. I saw the Lambie article… personally I’m not to comfortable with him at our last line of defense (yet).

• 23.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-22:

In a potential semi with the Ab’s he’ll have Nonu, Kahui, SBW , Dagg etc running at him i’m sure he’ll do fine.

• 24.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@23. Although Lambie will do fine our Fb against you, if it happens that way, will be Frans with JdV at 12.

• 25.ufo: Reply to this comment

Good luck to Bismarck and the Boks… make the most of it…!

Just keep your discipline in check and don’t react to any off-the-ball stuff… or start any off-the-ball stuff yourself…

• 26.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-24:

Probably, you’ll lose plenty on attack with JDV there as he offers very little but then again you’ll be playing to your game plan so he’ll suit that type of play.

***/ Canada game was superb, beautiful setting, great atmosphere and weather there were plenty of SAFFA’s saying this was going to be a lemon, NZ must hold this thing every 3rd or 4th time other than Wales no country supports rugby totally like NZ.

• 27.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26:

I’d call you one-eyed… But even that one’s got a black patch on it…!! :roll:

• 28.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-16: Sergio Parise.

• 29.Staal: Reply to this comment

“Bismarck du Plessis has used the World Cup to enhance his reputation as the world’s No 1 hooker.”

in 44 minutes… :lol:

• 30.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-29:

only a few of us will see the humour in that statement…!! :wink:

• 31.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

yes, but bismarck still throws in skeef.

and heinrich never had to fight his way in anywhere…i mean…wtf?

• 32.Staal: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-30: :lol: ek s

• 33.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-32: huh still typing & gone is my posts? :shock:

Wanted to say: ufo you are awake… like always… :lol:

• 34.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-33:

as are you!!

• 35.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-27:

Maybe a little (smiley face) but these c lowns saying NZ should NEVER have the WC again are talking through their a rses, this will be the best one yet.

• 36.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-28:

He doesn’t have the rugby smarts that the next AB captain has, great player though.

• 37.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-35:

i haven’t see anyone here say that… but not saying they haven’t… but i have heard new zealanders say well before the world cup that this could very well be the last time new zealand holds any major sporting event… not stirring… that sentiment was expressed quite often from your own countrymen…

but to say you and wales are the best is crazy… are you old enough to have seen the 95 world cup…? maybe you just remember that distant past where sa put on a little event called the football world cup…? and which was widely proclaimed by many around the world as being the best and vibiest one ever…

so a little perspective may get your comments more serious attention…

okay… it’s back to the smileys after that…

• 38.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-37:

UFO I didn’t say Wales or NZ was the best in that comment just that they are the only two countries where rugby is the no 1 sport and has total support, England, France, SA etc the round ball rules does it not for the majority of the population?

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-35:we know it is, black panty has been letting us know

• 40.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-38:

you making huge assumptions there NZinChina…

hop on a plane and come spend a few days here… you’ll see… nothing unites south africans quite like rugby… (and madiba)…

happened in 95 and 2007… and when we have big games…

don’t be fooled by sensationalist, hit generating press…

heck… even the petrol attendants follow the games and know the bokke by name…

just ask francois pienaar and john smit how well known and loved they are going into any township…

• 41.francois93: Reply to this comment

Mr. Gatland as per normal astute analysis, you would be my pick as AB coach any day of the year, to spell it out for the whole world, the battleship had a massive impact off the bench and changed the game, “weapon that no team can match” off the bench, wonder what might have happened against Scotland last year id we had a bench that could change the game.

P Divvy getting hammered by all and sundry because Bissie should be the starter but for all the rugby geniuses out there, how do you think we are going to match the AB front row? well enter Rassie and his tactics against the Bulls in the currie cup a few years back, take a teams strength and turn it into a weakness, the Bulls scrum at that stage was considered the best in SA so select two front rows and scrum them into the ground.

Now when you bring on the second front row who do you want off the wood, Bissie or John. Well bob I think I might take the battleship for fifty.

• 42.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Another article on Bismark being better than Smit?

Jeez, this is getting stale.

We all know Bismark is the best hooker in the world.

Next topic.

• 43.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-40:

so im wrong, the majoriy of the population in SA support rugby? ( spent 6 weeks in SA in 96′)

• 44.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-35:
    you could never afford another one after this.

• 45.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-43:
    no, but the point is that the percantage of the population that supports rugby over here is bigger than the entire populations of nz and wales combined.

• 46.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

This mag has it spot-on regarding Taute and Kolisi. Probably the two most impressive CC players this season.

• 47.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-43:

so do most new zealanders only support rugby and never support your other teams and sports people…? come on bud… don’t be a simpleton…

football may be the majority sport… but the whole country does in fact get behind the rugby…

believe or don’t i don’t really care… but to deny it all the way from china doesn’t see you in the most credible light…

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-41: we want chili! he matched and slightly bested the “battleship”

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-46: sharks_lover will say marcel coetzee is better than kolisi :D

• 50.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-48: hey Transi guy, for once I agree with you on Chili’s quality and am sure that I will get smashed by Keo lites for saying so only issue with Chili but I prefer experience over brute strength and power, also have the feeling that Matfield may not make it out of the Samoa game in one piece and as you know I am a John Smit fan so I am biased ;-)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.