Bismarck’s the best

Bismarck du Plessis has used the World Cup to enhance his reputation as the world’s No 1 hooker.

Du Plessis made an immediate impact for the Boks when he came off the bench in their World Cup opener against Wales, helping to turn a 16-10 deficit into a 17-16 victory.

‘To have a replacement hooker like Du Plessis coming off your bench is something no team in world rugby can match and is a massive weapon,’ Wales coach Warren Gatland said after the game. ‘He really put himself about in the time he was on. I’d say he was probably their most influential sub. I’m glad we didn’t have to play against him for longer.’

In the latest SA Rugby magazine – a 172-page bumper edition – we analyse Du Plessis’ season and lament the fact that he’s been relegated to the Bok bench to accommodate captain John Smit.

Conrad Smith and Ma’a Nonu are totally different players but together they form a potent midfield combination

– Wallabies coach Robbie Deans took a big gamble when he made James Horwill his new captain, just three weeks before the World Cup

Heinrich Brüssow used the home leg of the Tri-Nations to fight his way into the Springboks’ World Cup squad

– How Bryan Habana rediscovered his form ahead of the World Cup

Manu Tuilagi has brought muscle to England’s midfield

– Thirteen years after making his England debut, Jonny Wilkinson is still setting the example for his team-mates

– Having been left out of Ireland’s squad for the 2007 World Cup, Tommy Bowe made sure the selectors couldn’t ignore him in 2011

– Outgoing France coach Marc Lievremont will be remembered for his conservative approach to the game, odd selections and public outbursts

– Western Province flank Siya Kolisi has made the most of his opportunities in this year’s Currie Cup

– Sharks wing Sibusiso Sithole wants to refine his game

Jaco Taute has all the attributes required to play at the highest level

– There’s something special about Johann Sadie

Clint Newland and Ross Kennedy are playing an important part in EP’s rugby renaissance

– A host of players are representing their adopted countries at this year’s World Cup

– The Webb Ellis Cup is closely guarded when it travels around the world, but that wasn’t always the case

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

351 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 51.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-48:
    no transie, thats not true.

1. smit (or bissy)
    2. bissy (or smit)
    3. strauss
    4. chilli

• 52.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-47:

funny last time I was at Loftus I don’t remember seeing too many balck people but I’ll take your word for it, have to run good talking to you mate

• 53.francois93: Reply to this comment

Oh ***** jumping ****** can we go one day on a rugby blog where the conversation is actually about mmmmmmmmmmmm…………………………………………FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRKKKKKKKKKKK rugby!!!!!

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-50: the boks finished the game against Wales – our toughest one yet – sans victor & john and STILL made good game decisions…against samoa, we don’t need dome bloody “aura”

• 55.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Bismarks the strongest, not the best.

• 56.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-54:

“dome bloody aura” :lol:

• 57.francois93: Reply to this comment

Transie you know guy, you and I dont agree on this point and we will continue to kick this one back and forth, lets make the dealio, I wont talk about John and will support the Boks even if they start your fave Meyer “the right stuff ” Bosman at hooker. guy you dont dig John and I dont mind, I do hope you dont mind guy.

• 58.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

ryan and john get into trouble with campground owners:
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=10754710

• 59.Staal: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-52: honestly man — didn’t you know…

they were all covered in BLUE paint…

it’s Blue Bull country! :lol:

• 60.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-52:

cool… but that is only indicative of how many black people go to loftus… not how many get behind the boks… two issues…

but come to newlands next time… for a different perspective…

i’m outta here too

• 61.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-59:

hehehe… of course..!!

• 62.Brad DK: Reply to this comment

– How Bryan Habana rediscovered his form ahead of the World Cup

This must be a fictional article! Cause it’s not based on truth, that’s for sure…

• 63.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26: JdV plays according to the team gameplan. For the last couple of years the Boks have played a tight forward based game, either kicking and applying pressure or hitting up in the midfield and recouping through the forrwards. This is the job that has been asked of him. Even at the Stormers, this tight gameplan has seen the backs used primarily as a defensive unit.
    If the Boks do decide to open it up JdV will offer a lot more creativity than Frans as he is much more aware of the space available. Just look at his intercept record as evidence of his reading of the play. Too many people think because Frans was running riot against Fiji he is now a more creative 12. All the Boks ran the ball that day. Guthro scored a wingers try and all the forwards ran like backs. It is in the tighter games the JdV will be so valuable. None of the opposition backs hold any fear for him. Frans is certainly very good at 12 but I think his strengths are best used at 15.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-57: i have nothing against john as an individual, in fact i recokn he is up there amongst great saffa sportmen. his current form is like the benny mcarthy issue before the SWC last year, but our coach them made the decision to DROP our dikgat top goalscorer because he wasn’t cutting the mustard and it was the right decision!

i won’t stop commenting on his kak performances when he has them in the same way i don’t spare habana, morne, spies, danie, beast.

• 65.GTLG: Reply to this comment

@Brad DK(Brad DK)-62: They tried to slip that in, just like they slip his name onto the teamsheet.

• 66.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: heheheheh, you said cut the mustard, I must now reply and ask you to stop this tomfoolery of yours and the skulduggery inherent in your dislike of John Smit.

Kidding guy, say what ya like its a free world cuzz, I shall not refrain from chirping either. I bite my thumb at you Sir.

• 67.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Its nice being away from Keo for a while, I’m now back, just like Bismarck is starting, quiet refreshing…

• 68.chch: Reply to this comment

Sorry for the arrogant attitude of some of our police.

Forks me off to see someone try to justify being non-apologetic because the accusations were serious. That’s just stupid if the person was innocent.

We do have quite high employment. It does mean that many stupid people have jobs that they should not have.

• 69.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64:

Dont buy SA rugby magazine anymore. Same sh*t different day.Use to buy every issue from time I was in high school to varsity.Then the BS started with the innuendos, trying to influence selection through stories, campaigns against specific individuals or for them,The politics of the sport,acrimonious & self serving relationships being exposed etc Then the hype machine blah blah blah.

SA rugby STILL hasnt done a reasonable piece or cover of the remarkable story of the brothers Ndungane……Fckall publicity really. Same sh*t on Jaque/Jean De Villiers,Spies,Bismark,Burger etc regurgitating the SAME BS.

How about a cover and story of Guthro Steenkamp(the G-Unit)?? Or a story cover and story of the future of SA rugby-THE NEXT GENERATION(namely: Kolisi,Sadie,Koster,JJ,Carr,Jantjes,Sithole,Marcel Coetzee,Goosen etc) Something new and INSIGHTFUL

Thats why American publications & programs foster so much interest.Forward thinking and insightful.

• 70.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-69: look i’m not accusing simon brchardt and his gang of being journalists in the mold of scoop jackson at SLAM magazine who unearthed gems like tracy mcgrady in high school.

i personally only buy it if there’s a particular article of interest to me.

• 71.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-69: guthro on the cover? :shock: simon told me those type of players don’t sel magazines.

i just saw juan de jongh on the cover of Men’s Health, so hopefully these twats will also jump on the bandwagon

• 72.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-71:

Mxihm!! What BS!! The American market is the most fickle/aesthetically inclined on the planet but Ive seem SI covers on even Offensive Linemen in NFL!!! Sh*t like E60 is one of the biggest programmes viewership wise on ESPN and they do the most interesting stories which may or may not be the “flavour” of the month. But sports fans love that sh*t.

Imagine a story on say: What ever happened to Richard Bands???(Full expose) or a piece on the flop move from Rudolph Straeuli acquiring Namibian prop Keeus Lensing on the biggest contract in SA rugby at the time…

• 73.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Or a story on Hilton Lobberts-picking up the pieces of a once promising career-his lost athleticism-etc

• 74.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

A story on Willem Alberts-how he was featured on show 7-14-21 about upbringing in SA,his injuries that led him to quit rugby in mid 2000′s,his return in 2006 then now Bok only 3 /4 years later.An EXPOSE not sum short story.

Free ideas…

• 75.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

You guys do know that Stu Dickenson has retired from being a ref. Good Bye Stu, you had some really bad matches, but I’m not mad at ya. :lol:

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-74: i hear ya chap, great ideas you got!

and all we get are regurgitated stories on bismarck, spies, burger, frans steyn etc.

didn’t pdv and victor buy shares in boland? last week heyneke meyer revealed that the bulls are trying to get vic as their lineout coach but nothing is on paper yet.

• 77.RL: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-74: Ja that show pony Spies gets too much magazine time … why not put Strauss on the cover, a close up of the bearded one with his Lion Maine will sell, surely.

• 78.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Just a thought, if we lose to Samo by more than 7 we are out of the WC – is that correct.

• 79.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-68:
    thanks for that.

• 80.Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter: Reply to this comment

What do you guys think, best SA team:

15. Pienaar
    14. Spies
    13. J Fourie
    12. F Steyn
    11. F Hougard
    10. B James
    9. F du Preez
    8. S Burger
    7. W Alberts
    6. H Brossouw
    5. V Matfield
    4. B Botha
    3. J du Plesis
    2. B du Plesis
    1. G Steenkamp

16. J Smit
    17. Beast
    18. CJ vd Linde
    19. D Rossouw
    20. F Louw
    21. M Steyn
    22. J de Villiers

Unlucky. Lambie, Pieterson

• 81.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-68: Black Panther is sure going to reinforce his assertion that u’re not a “real kiwi” now!

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-68: I don’t think for a second that any rational reader attributes the action of a small group to the country as a whole.

Fools everywhere. Even New Zealand, as it turns out. Seems like the locals that were quoted know that too.

Case closed really.

• 83.RL: Reply to this comment

@rabooby(rabooby)-78: that’s retarded man … even if they lose and do not secure a bonus point they still finish top of the log and will still play convicts in the QF.

• 84.Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter: Reply to this comment

Post RWC team:

15. J Taute
    14. Spies
    13. J Fourie
    12. F Steyn
    11. ???
    10. P Lambie
    9. F Fougard
    8. S Burger
    7. W Alberts
    6. H Brossouw
    5. Bekker
    4. ???
    3. J du Plesis
    2. B du Plesis
    1. Coenie Oosthuisen

16. Beast
    17. ???
    18. ???
    19. ???
    20. ???
    21. M Steyn
    22. ???

• 85.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: I was wondering about the potential conflict of interest as well. Victor is (I think) one of the major shareholders, if not the biggest. It makes it hard to split his roles then. Particularly if Boland get back into the top division, which is a distinct possibility.

I watched the highlights of the Kings game this weekend. They had the measure of the visitors for sure!

• 86.WP_: Reply to this comment

What is up with Keo and his minions and their **** sucking of Bismarck? Getting very boring now…

• 87.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-86: We get at least one article a day on Bismark. He is getting quite a build up to this match on Friday.

• 88.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-83:
    not true.
    it would depend on whether wales also pick up a bonus point win vs fiji. this would take them to 15 each and leave sa on 14. this means we’re out.

@rabooby(rabooby)-78:
    so to answer your question, yes its possible (but i thought they needed 4 or more tries and not a score greater than 7 to secure a bonus point, or is both possible?)

• 89.Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter: Reply to this comment

Keo likes sucking ballas. Bismark obviously has a big set

• 90.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter(richardmarais)-84: I suspect it may look a bit like this…

15. Lambie
    14. Aplon
    13. Fourie
    12. Steyn/ De Jongh (if Steyn is still overseas)
    11. Mvovo
    10. Steyn/Jantjies
    9. Hougaard
    8. Spaz
    7. Burger
    6. Ratel
    5. Bekker
    4. Danie/ Mostert
    3. Jannie
    2. Bismark
    1. Gurthro

Players in the mix (if not now then in the near future):

Elton
    Taute
    Elstadt
    Basson
    Goosen
    Eberson (x2)
    Baardman.

• 91.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Would we have heard about the Taupo story if the guy wasnt 1. Foreign 2. Black and 3. a Journo ?

If he was a Local White Plumber – and I sure there are many in pubs around the country – then this wouldnt even have been news at the KFC Drive-Thru.

When 2 members of the public make accusations of illegal activity to the cops, then theyre duty-bound to act. Sorry to hear the dude was hassled, but I dont believe for a minute it was solely because “he was black”, which seems to make a better journalistic angle than anything else here.

The Bok Captain helping nick a shop sign, far more damaging credibility-wise, has been simply brushed off in comparison. Funny that.

• 92.RL: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-88: EISH … lose to NZ B without picking up a bonus point then yes they are out.

What are the odds on this happening.

• 93.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter(richardmarais)-84:

4. etsebeth (but he’s young and must be allowed to grow into the position).
    pat lambie is the girlfriend of the guy who cleans morne’s boots.
    juan smith still wants to play post wc.
    coenie is being turned into a th.
    so maybe beast and chilli at lh.

• 94.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-91:
    ja, keep thinking that.

@RL(RL)-92:
    well, i certainly wouldn’t bet money on that in a million years…ever…

• 95.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

sorry chilli at hooker.

• 96.WP_: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-87: I know… What a yawn-fest!

• 97.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-91: i understand your commitment to trolling, but in this case it could backfire and make you look like an apologist for what is surely a case of racial profiling. just let it go and talk rugby for a change

• 98.Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93: Coenie at tighthead would be good. SA don’t have much depth at TH, certainly more looseheads

• 99.Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-90:

4. Danie/ Mostert (both going overseas)
    1. Gurthro (going overseas)

I would like to see Elsterd at blinside flank, playing a similar role to J Smith.

Estebeth is a big unit, lets hope he progresses

• 100.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-74: Great ideas Mshini! I hope Keo and SImon are reading!

Ive been a subscriber to the mag for a while and I agree it is becoming boring. The GOOD articles are short, there is too much about Kiwi and Aus players and blerrie Marc Hinton (I dont give a fark what he thinks).

There is a definite agenda of support for certain players, ignoring others and the “interviews” are very bland and have the SAME type of question and answers over and over.

There should be more info on stats in games (like a certain UK paper published the penalty counts for & against each RWC team. It was fascinating – The Boks have a great ratio, it was like 23 given and 31 awarded. Most teams were even or had negative ratios – the ABs had a negative one.)

There should be more articles of interest – like Lobberts and the angle on Alberts you mentioned. I hope the “journalists” on the magazine read our posts and take note.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.