Bismarck’s the best

Bismarck du Plessis has used the World Cup to enhance his reputation as the world’s No 1 hooker.

Du Plessis made an immediate impact for the Boks when he came off the bench in their World Cup opener against Wales, helping to turn a 16-10 deficit into a 17-16 victory.

‘To have a replacement hooker like Du Plessis coming off your bench is something no team in world rugby can match and is a massive weapon,’ Wales coach Warren Gatland said after the game. ‘He really put himself about in the time he was on. I’d say he was probably their most influential sub. I’m glad we didn’t have to play against him for longer.’

In the latest SA Rugby magazine – a 172-page bumper edition – we analyse Du Plessis’ season and lament the fact that he’s been relegated to the Bok bench to accommodate captain John Smit.

Conrad Smith and Ma’a Nonu are totally different players but together they form a potent midfield combination

– Wallabies coach Robbie Deans took a big gamble when he made James Horwill his new captain, just three weeks before the World Cup

Heinrich Brüssow used the home leg of the Tri-Nations to fight his way into the Springboks’ World Cup squad

– How Bryan Habana rediscovered his form ahead of the World Cup

Manu Tuilagi has brought muscle to England’s midfield

– Thirteen years after making his England debut, Jonny Wilkinson is still setting the example for his team-mates

– Having been left out of Ireland’s squad for the 2007 World Cup, Tommy Bowe made sure the selectors couldn’t ignore him in 2011

– Outgoing France coach Marc Lievremont will be remembered for his conservative approach to the game, odd selections and public outbursts

– Western Province flank Siya Kolisi has made the most of his opportunities in this year’s Currie Cup

– Sharks wing Sibusiso Sithole wants to refine his game

Jaco Taute has all the attributes required to play at the highest level

– There’s something special about Johann Sadie

Clint Newland and Ross Kennedy are playing an important part in EP’s rugby renaissance

– A host of players are representing their adopted countries at this year’s World Cup

– The Webb Ellis Cup is closely guarded when it travels around the world, but that wasn’t always the case

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

351 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 101.rabooby: Reply to this comment

RL who is the restart bru, you obviously have not seen the point system

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors

If Samo dont get 7 tries but beat us by more than 7 point then they will get 4 and tie with us on 14, If Wales get the Bonus against FIGI then they finish top and Samoa will be 2nd as we lost to them. Not saying its going to happen well it should not happen but its still to close for my liking.

• 102.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-85: yes the visitors who has 3 players sinbinned by that doos marius jonker!

in the 1st match we beat then fair & square, but them the breaks.

• 103.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Schalk is Pote Fouries daughter(richardmarais)-99: I hear you about Elstadt, thing is there are very few good no 4′s around. Mostert and Elstadt are pribably the best, while we have quite a few good 7′s around, including Alberts. That was my thinking there.

If Gurthro is gone then it’s Beast for sure.

• 104.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-97: he can’t help himself, it’s world cup time & new zealand are hosting “possibly the best one yet” as he has “heard from tourists.”

• 105.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-102: Marius Jonker hates us.

• 106.capebull: Reply to this comment

I see Castro is the man .

Remember he ended Gurthro’s tour 2 years ago in NH,

Gurthro then handed him his marching orders in Witbank, now called something else, but Gurthro scrummed him there ( this new place ) to pieces

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-102: True, but it basically means that the Kings and Boland should be strong candidates for promotion.

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107: ja, Boland has a game in hand and we’re only 1 point ahead of them. well firstly those mop heads at SARUhave to decide as to how the playoffs will be played, if we will have playoffs as 4 teams in the current premier div have to drop!

• 109.David: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-100:
    I have a feeling that the “favouring” of certain players, has more to do with some players refusing to talk to Keo and his minions, and less to do with promoting favourites. :wink:

• 110.capebull: Reply to this comment

WC stats:

Most tries
    NZ 24 , SA 20
    Least Points against
    SA 19 , Eng 22

Most Points scored – Morne 48 incl 2 tries ( toe nie Butch nie Keo )
    Kicking
    Para 90%
    Morne 85%
    Dan the Man 67%

Penalties Conceded

Eng 39, NZ 36 , SA least @ 25

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108: Don’t the bottom 2 play off against the top 2 in the lower division? So basically the usual suapects then?

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-111: no, remember currie cup next year has been revised to Premier 6 instead of the current 8

• 113.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

well guys last few posts before we duck to Kiwi. Loooong flight awaits. 27 hours in the air as pain and suffering in exchange for a 10 day party. And that’s only one way.

• 114.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-112: Like you said there’s no promotion.

Saru wants to push Kings to S15 , how will it work if they are not even the best in first devision ?

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-113: enjoy Tassies, all the best china! :D

• 116.capebull: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-113: Try not to look like a drug dealer.

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-114: what do you mean “not the best” when they are the defending champions?

don’t make your name gat because of you prejudices :D

• 118.David: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-113:
    Hope you’re not a smoker. :evil:

• 119.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-117: Was’t that last year ? It seems this year it could be Boland.

• 120.David: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-114:
    Doesn’t the Kings S15 franchise also include the Eagles and Bulldogs?
    It’s a bit like the Brumbies, when they first started.

• 121.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-115: thanks Transie. I’ll try to enjoy myself without you.

• 122.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-117: You seem quite well informed does the promotion work on the results of last year or this year ?

• 123.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-116: damn. You saw me in my new shades then huh? And I thought I was just being cool.

• 124.capebull: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-120: I don’t want to ask , you can see Transie is very sensitive about the subject.

• 125.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-118: the only time I smoke David, is when I get the ball on the left wing with only the tryline to beat.

• 126.capebull: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-123: Enjoy, must be trip of life time.

• 127.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I’ve never blogged on a weekday afternoon before today. You guys all retire young or just hand in a sick note?

• 128.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-126: yip. long in planning. We targeted this WC because we figured it’d the best of the lot. Seems its heading that way. Bought a hundred pack of Garonsans this morning, as insurance.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-119: well there’s the little matter of a FINAL that still has to be played, whether boland finishes 1st or 2nd…whoever wins that match is the champion. get it?

so how are the Kings “not the best” when the 2011 final has NOT yet been played? :roll:

• 130.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-120: yes it does. it will be based in PE.

• 131.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

land at 1.45pm in Auckland on friday. I don’t have to tell you what time the Samoa game’s being played. Home those Kiwi camper vans can turn on the gas because ain’t missing that game for anyone and its on the other side of town.

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-131: hey aucklifoa is not jozi!

• 133.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

outta here guys. Just thought I’d say totsiens and simultaneously make you a little jealous. Got a plane to catch. Chat from Kiwi later in the week.

• 134.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-132: nope but their customs might be just as k#k

• 135.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-129: Let me xplain my question.

Are they , the Kings going to be promoted regardless wheather they win the B div this year. ? Or was the win last year so good that they deserve the promotion.

Or don’t they need to deserve anything , they will get promoted regardless the fact that they could end up not being the best team in B div, let alone the teams like Pumas and Leopards ?

Does the B div comp result have any influence on the promotion ?

• 136.David: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-125:
    “…with only the tryline to beat.”
    You mean when they’re running away from you? :lol:

• 137.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-109:
    surely players ‘talking’ to keo & co cant be good for the careers?…

@capebull(capebull)-110:
    its his ‘defense’ they’ve been soooo worried about…

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-113:
    remember to do asse exercises regularly by the hour. its pretty easy just clench your asse cheeks tightly and release, clench and release…a bit like trying to squeeze a big constipation stool out…the purpose of this is to protect yourself against deep vein thrombosis…its deadly.

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-135: no man, if the Kings don’t gain promotion this year, 1st Division is where they stay…no favours.

• 139.capebull: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-137: Only 19 points conceded 3 games I will give and rest OK

• 140.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-138: I am talking about promotion to S15 , or is that of the cards for now ?

• 141.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-140: at the moment i think they will be promoted to S15 regardless of whether they’re playing in 1st division, but knowing SARU nothing is cast in stone.

• 142.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-140: I think, like is the case with the Stormers and WP, they are considered two seperate franchises. So the CC team and the Super 15 team isn;t nescessarily the same thing.

• 143.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-141: It will be interesting to see if they make it S16, or lose one of other SA teams.

• 144.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-142: especially when the Super rugby team is made up of THREE unions, but most just think it’s cheeky’s team and their defences (read prejudices) flare up :D

• 145.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-143: the Kings were promised participation in 2013 if i remember well and the current deal is not up for renewal for about 5 years…so we’ll see which franchise will “drop”

• 146.capebull: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-142: So how does Strormers look next year.
    15 Get new talent
    14 Geo
    13 Fourie
    12 JdV /Juan
    11 Habana ???? is he finished
    10 Zorba ????
    9 thin
    8 Koster/Duane
    7 Schalk/ Kolisi-he looks good
    6 ????
    5 Bekker
    4 Elstad
    3-1 Usual suspects

• 147.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-144: I don’t like Cheeky , but I remember a strong EP team, that was good for SA rugby, so if he can make them strong again good , I still don’t like him but respect what he does.

Great stadium, in PE

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-146: Yes, that will be the mainstay of the team, with additions of players like Pieter Louw at 6, and a host of flyhalf options, Van Aswegen, Zorba, Grant.

Loosies include Carr. Also Kitshoff (who is currently with the Namibian squad). There are quite a few other fringe players around too.

Etsebeth should start getting some game time, along with Steenkamp

Duwenhage will play 9, with Groom/Schreuder to backup.

Jantjies will play 15 no doubt (I wish we’d signed Joe Pietersen when he came back)

Habs will play still.

Gio can play 15 with Poolman at 14 (although he hasn’t convinced me.)

I do expect that they may sign a player or 2. Just to bolster stocks.

There are some good younsters waiting in the wings and some may get their chance. I do think that losing JJ and Sadie is most unfortunate. Lionel too for that matter. They would fit in nicely.

Whitehead isn’t the biggest loss if you ask me.

If you were to ask me the squad would look something like this:

Backs:

Gio, Jantjes, Poolman, De Jongh, De Villiers, Fourie, Van Aswegen, Grant (sadly), Zorba, Duvenhage, Groom, Schreuder, Brache, AN Other

Forwards

CJ, Brock, Blaauw, S Kitshoff, Fourie, Liebenberg, Elstadt, Bekker, Steenkamp, Etsebeth, Burger (capt), Vermeulen, PLouw, Koster, Kolisi, Carr

• 149.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-139:
    yes but its keo who needs the convincing…after all ‘butch james will be our 1st choice flyhalf at the world cup’…i read it here…it must be true…

• 150.capebull: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-148: Yes Wp has a lot of good youngsters, I like Carr, loosies at plenty-curtesy of Varsity Cup.

Nothing special at 9, 15 and 1, 3 and 4

I get the idea Elstad was just filling , although he is as hard as you get , but short though , especially if Bekker is out

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.