Bismarck’s the best
27 Sep 2011
Bismarck du Plessis has used the World Cup to enhance his reputation as the world’s No 1 hooker.
Du Plessis made an immediate impact for the Boks when he came off the bench in their World Cup opener against Wales, helping to turn a 16-10 deficit into a 17-16 victory.
‘To have a replacement hooker like Du Plessis coming off your bench is something no team in world rugby can match and is a massive weapon,’ Wales coach Warren Gatland said after the game. ‘He really put himself about in the time he was on. I’d say he was probably their most influential sub. I’m glad we didn’t have to play against him for longer.’
In the latest SA Rugby magazine – a 172-page bumper edition – we analyse Du Plessis’ season and lament the fact that he’s been relegated to the Bok bench to accommodate captain John Smit.
– Conrad Smith and Ma’a Nonu are totally different players but together they form a potent midfield combination
– Wallabies coach Robbie Deans took a big gamble when he made James Horwill his new captain, just three weeks before the World Cup
– Heinrich Brüssow used the home leg of the Tri-Nations to fight his way into the Springboks’ World Cup squad
– How Bryan Habana rediscovered his form ahead of the World Cup
– Manu Tuilagi has brought muscle to England’s midfield
– Thirteen years after making his England debut, Jonny Wilkinson is still setting the example for his team-mates
– Having been left out of Ireland’s squad for the 2007 World Cup, Tommy Bowe made sure the selectors couldn’t ignore him in 2011
– Outgoing France coach Marc Lievremont will be remembered for his conservative approach to the game, odd selections and public outbursts
– Western Province flank Siya Kolisi has made the most of his opportunities in this year’s Currie Cup
– Sharks wing Sibusiso Sithole wants to refine his game
– Jaco Taute has all the attributes required to play at the highest level
– There’s something special about Johann Sadie
– Clint Newland and Ross Kennedy are playing an important part in EP’s rugby renaissance
– A host of players are representing their adopted countries at this year’s World Cup
– The Webb Ellis Cup is closely guarded when it travels around the world, but that wasn’t always the case
Click here to subscribe to print edition

351 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
27 Sep 2011, 20:42 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-198:
You watching this Dawn? I’ve got popcorn in the microwave, it’s great stuff. I’ve always loved a good courtroom drama.
‘Denny Crane’
27 Sep 2011, 20:45 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-186:
He reappeared in Endgame. Typical Irish. They’ll be there again. Waiting for Gatland.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-200:
The weather girls are nice
Anyway, it’s live dude, no opinions or agenda’s. And Al-Jazeera are still prattling on about the Arab strap…errrr, spring…
@JockBok(JockBok)-197: Laugh now skirtsy… Pity there will be no digisphere left for me to be able to log onto Keo and say “I told you so”…
I’m gonna go native.
27 Sep 2011, 20:47 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-203: Al Jazeera too… all the same thing just different flavours… Live? Yeah anyone can tell a slanted bunch of lies live…
Like landing on the moon was live… Pfft.
27 Sep 2011, 20:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-187:
Every day is a new day. This has been building up for a loooong time. Bottom line is there was too much liquidity sloshing around the system and too much consumption. An evil combination. Always had a suspicion you knew these things anyway.
Two good reads for you are “Too big to Fail” and “The demise of the dollar”. The last one was published in 2004 and is inevitable at some point in the future.
Back to rugby.
Two Six Nations matches this weekend. Scotland will throw the kitchen sink at the Poms. But can’t see Italy beating Ireland.
27 Sep 2011, 20:51 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-194:
Yet we have our own doctor, Wouter Basson, who is on trial before the medical council, for far worse crimes and the MSM doesn’t mention a word.
27 Sep 2011, 20:51 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-196: At the end of the day, I am in the ET fan club.
27 Sep 2011, 20:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-204:
It’s not worth it, you’ll last 5 minutes. Read ‘Dies the fire’ by someone called something Stirling.
Rather get incredibly pissed, slap your boss, and pomp his secretary on his desk.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-205:
It’s live, as in, it is on live, on tv, live, with cameras in the court and the only person talking is the lawyer.
27 Sep 2011, 20:53 pm
Is the world ending soon?
27 Sep 2011, 20:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
A membership of one.
27 Sep 2011, 20:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
I always wondered how as one who doesn’t suffer fools gladly, you are on board and riding that train. In the buffet car with a cold beer nogal.
I really tried hard for a bit but he is a farkin complete and utter tool of the highest order and I couldn’t bear not calling him out on his inane dribblings. But hey ho, each to his own I guess
27 Sep 2011, 20:56 pm
Vorster was a lesbian at Koffiefontein
27 Sep 2011, 20:57 pm
Am noting the drug names for future reference.
27 Sep 2011, 20:57 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-206: Liquidity is a goner… Kaput… Fcked up… (I had a whole essay written where these brackets are and decided to press delete)
27 Sep 2011, 20:58 pm
Michael Jackson? Was he the basketball player?
No hang on, that’s the other one.
27 Sep 2011, 20:58 pm
@David(David)-207:
Sure, it’s all over the SA sites but it’s not live on TV. Go figure.
27 Sep 2011, 20:59 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-209: Maybe there… But the rest… The worst is that “embedded” journo shy.te. I just see those Blue helmets and it tells me one thing – A big porky on the way…
27 Sep 2011, 21:00 pm
ET got offended when HG asked him “are you black”
27 Sep 2011, 21:02 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-218:
Ag, tune in and give it a bash. Or is Strictly Come Dancing on the other channel?
27 Sep 2011, 21:02 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-212:
Ja, you lazy African.
I”ll still never forget the time he deprived himself of sleep for the first 3 days of the WC and has since said these pool mis-matched poool games are rubbish.
And waiting for the KO stages.
When I caught him out replying to the wrong blogger in his sleep deprived state, the fallout lasted for 3 days.
He’s very special, that one.
27 Sep 2011, 21:03 pm
Wouter Marais was seen with Gery Okkert at the Canada game.
@Dawn(Dawn)-219:
Because he’s not I guess.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-215:
So what’s new? I recognised the problem 4/5 years ago. The financial world has been riding a bubble of its own making for years.
27 Sep 2011, 21:04 pm
HG are you dronk what are you blathering about please.
I think Wouter’s trial would be much more lekker.
27 Sep 2011, 21:05 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-221:
Best ignored. It’s just easier.
27 Sep 2011, 21:06 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-212: ET is many things, but a fool he aint… thats for sure. But if he gives me anymore uncalled for uphill as on Saturday then we will fight (I actually miss our fights – some classics… especially the one where he came up with his boerewors/whitey aggression thesis… or when he got so the moer in when I asked him straight “are you black?”… When we had our tiff on Saturday, he brought that up – I think it was over 2 years in the past when I asked him that. Jeez I laughed myself silly this side
)
Now Black Pants, for an example, is a fool. Or Poops.
27 Sep 2011, 21:07 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-220: Hardly watch TV… Other than Spooks… Now thats gospel.
27 Sep 2011, 21:08 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-219: I asked ET that about 2 years back…
27 Sep 2011, 21:12 pm
@David(David)-192: you could say it like that .. a Tragicomedy in 2 acts .. act 1 : 1987 – act 2 : 2011.. perhaps Godot surfaces this semester yet.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-199:
This capitalist dream state has only existed in earnest the last century which is a very short span of time in man’s extended history and had its beginnings with the industrial revolution embarking only 2 centuries ago
The past 100 years has seen man reaping the fruits of his labor where capitalism was born upon the backs of ethical work and the sweat of mans brow..
the past half century has seen capitalism sucking the marrow from out all the effort and fake fictitious profiteering has been largely the order of the day across house of card stock markets globally
Such rife siphoning of the blood flow of economic reality where application of work toward resource has dwindled and where raw labor is not vested into the equation any longer will obviously bring about the collapse of the capitalist system due to overpowering human greed being the runaway train.
Was bound to collapse in its own fraught instability and now the new order of a new medium of workable laws of scales of economy will need to enter into the consciousness of those still caught within the throes of insatiable capitalist wealth.
27 Sep 2011, 21:13 pm
@David(David)-224: Yeah. Nobody knows who owes who and money keeps getting “printed” (Cant even be bothered now, just conjure up some digits on some computer terminals) a la Gideon Gono style. Voodoo shi.t
The only currency of value now is information. Thats it. Its Reaper stuff now. But Dont fear the Reaper.
27 Sep 2011, 21:14 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-227:
You misread, I said tool. But either way, his actions are incredibly foolish in the way he promotes his silly little agenda’s like anyone actually cares. But sure, I’d rather not talk about him when he’s ‘not here’ so moving on swiftly…
Spooks is excellent but I cried when Keeley Hawes left…
27 Sep 2011, 21:15 pm
Agreed
Moer hulle
27 Sep 2011, 21:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-227:
The problem with ET is that nobody reads between the lines. Sure, there’s an understandable bitterness which is based on personal experience and knowledge, but he also knows which buttons to push to provoke a reaction.
27 Sep 2011, 21:17 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-230: Capitalism is good… But Blood sucking Vampire Squid is not good. Socialism is good, but Siberian Gulag Stalinism, not good. I think we’ve really done it now though… Whatever ism is next, I dont know… Big Brotherism or Informationalism maybe… Fark, I dunno .
27 Sep 2011, 21:19 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-232: Keeley Hawes of Life on Mars…? A hunny… Like the new main spaai… Also nice, but deadly…
27 Sep 2011, 21:21 pm
@David(David)-234: Yeah, there’s only one ET.
27 Sep 2011, 21:22 pm
@David(David)-234: Doesn’t make him less of a twat. And how come he’s the only one who can’t build a frikkin bridge over his bitter personal experience? I’ll tell you why. Because without his bitterness and resentment he’s just an empty shell. He hasn’t been around here to grow with the times in SA. It’s all he has to define himself by. Sad, really.
27 Sep 2011, 21:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231:
And the biggest culprit of all is the Fed. If they can’t pay you, they’ll just print more.
And they’re amongst the list of countries to have achieved a downgrade this year. Major, major concern.
27 Sep 2011, 21:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-236:
She was in the first few series. If you haven’t seen them, you’ll get them cheap on dvd. Well worth a watch if you like the latest ones.
27 Sep 2011, 21:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-238:
That was actually rather emotional. I’m welling up here…
27 Sep 2011, 21:29 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-103: Why on earth aren’t Elstadt and Mostert covering lock at this RWC?! Beggars belief!
27 Sep 2011, 21:29 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-239: US decided no QE3… That “downgrade” was a bulldust episode if you ever saw one… Ratings Agencies of the West…. About as trustworthy as a Keo article
27 Sep 2011, 21:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-235:
You quite right. Both systems have been abused. The problem isn’t with capitalism per se, it’s with societies lack of control over how it’s regulated.
27 Sep 2011, 21:32 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-240: Yup she is the same bird as in Life on Mars, Ashes to Ashes… DI Drake… Mmmm
27 Sep 2011, 21:32 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-241: That will pass.
27 Sep 2011, 21:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-243:
Ja, the ratings agencies are not blameless by any stretch. They fanned the fire when it was at its worst. Because initially they didn’t want to bite the hand that fed them.
27 Sep 2011, 21:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-245:
That’s the one. Check out Tipping the Velvet if you are a fan. Funny as helll and lots of lady lurvin going on as an added bonus. It was a BBC mini series a few years back. You’ll probably get in at amazon for a fiver or so. Brilliant.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-246:
It was indigestion. Panic over.
27 Sep 2011, 21:38 pm
Georgia over Romania tomorrow. But I think I went too high.
But then again, Romania thinks this is a touch rugby tournament.
27 Sep 2011, 21:43 pm
@David(David)-244: Regulators… A swear word… Name a regulator that hasn’t been corrupted by vested interests…. By their very nature are insufficient, unworkable.
Everyone talks about Risk, calculates Risk and then you have dumfcks that bet on Risk where the upside (or downside to disaster) is infinite??? One big pinball machine with balls nobody knows who shoots, nobody knows who owns, bouncing off roulette tables with big green 0′s and nobody knows who the house is….
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All