Boks to fight fire with an inferno
27 Sep 2011
The Springboks intend to outbully the confrontational Samoans in Friday’s Test at North Harbour Stadium.
After a disappointing campaign in the Pacific Nations Cup, Samoa stunned the rugby world when they beat the Wallabies 32-23 in Sydney. Many believed the historic win signalled the beginning of something special, and the massive Samoan contingent in the greater Auckland area moved to buy tickets to the Samoa vs South Africa World Cup pool clash on 30 September.
The North Harbour Stadium will be at full capacity this coming Friday. There is a big South Africa-fan base in that part of New Zealand, but it won’t compare to the number of spectators clad in the blue of Samoa.
Both sets of fans will be expecting a physical romp, and there’s good reason to believe that this Samoa side will be tougher to top than sides of previous years. While they’re as physical as their predecessors, they play with more structure and purpose.
The Boks have taken note of Samoa’s performances at the 2011 tournament. They weren’t quite good enough to beat Wales, although they were competitive for large parts of that match. They steamrolled Namibia and hammered Fiji. They’re unlikely to dominate the Boks upfront, but there’s no doubt that they will try to win the battle at the collisions.
It will be a bruising contest, and there may be casualties if neither side is willing to move away from an attritional approach. Samoa have already spoken about moving the ball around, but the Boks intend to take the islanders on at the coalface no matter the cost.
It’s a strategy that should bring them the desired rewards, but they will be hoping that it doesn’t lead to further injuries to key players a week out from a quarter-final against Australia.
Bok centre Jaque Fourie said that playing two intensely physical matches back-to-back shouldn’t be a problem for this South Africa team. Following last week’s win against Namibia, the Boks enjoyed a couple of days rest, and Fourie believes this has made all the difference. The Boks have used this time to recharge and prepare themselves for an all out war at the point of contact.
‘It’s going to be physical, I’m sure we’re going to be feeling the bruises afterwards,’ said Fourie. That’s why it was important that we had the break. Your body needs to be fresh, but your mind needs to be fresh as well.’
Several players have stood out for Samoa in this tournament. Scrumhalf Kahn Foutali’i, who also plays for the Crusaders in the Super 15, has been one of the more direct No 9s while the 120kg winger Alesana Tuilagi will be an attacking threat if he’s brought into the line. Centre Seilala Mapusua is another who will look to impose himself in the tackle.
Fourie played down the threat of these individuals. While he acknowledged their talents, he believes the collective is more dangerous than before because Samoa are now using their natural talent and inclination for contact to pursue a common goal.
‘They’re a very physical team, and as is the case with the Fijians, if you allow it to get loose, they will punish you. If your kicking game and first-phase is not up to standard, they will punish you.
‘All round they’ve got a good team, so we’re not going to focus on one or two players. They stay in their structures, so we have to look at how we are going to beat the team rather than the individuals. They’re dangerous in broken play, but they seem to be even more dangerous now that they’re structured.
‘I think they’ve modelled their game on how the All Blacks play.’
The Boks have the pack to boss the islanders proving they don’t go into the game with a complacent attitude. They will also need to take the fight to the islanders in midfield, and this is where men like Frans Steyn, Fourie and even Jean de Villiers will need to prove their worth.
‘They’re very direct and physical, there’s no funny business,’ said Fourie. ‘You know what to expect, they just come straight and hard, and there defence is good as well.
‘We need to be clinical in what we want to do; we need to be as direct and physical as we can be.’
In the build up to the Fiji and Namibia matches, the Boks promised to play direct, pragmatic rugby. What transpired against Fiji was a looser albeit profitable approach against a weak defence. The Boks were also too adventurous during the early stages against Namibia, and the loss of structure led to frustration and unnecessary errors.
As Fourie suggests, the clash against Samoa will require a lift in accuracy and intensity. The Boks should beat Samoa, but their success will be determined by their ability to maintain a high standard over the course of 80 minutes. A consistently physical effort will ensure they beat the Samoans by a comfortable margin and take some much needed momentum into the play-offs.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Taupo

537 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
27 Sep 2011, 09:01 am
@Gunther(gunther)-14: He even put fake bite marks in his finger…
27 Sep 2011, 09:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-47:
Sigh.
You disappoint me.
And you are a stuck record.
I think the reason for your reaction is that the incident in Taupo has destroyed any moral high ground you (as a New Zealander) might have for looking down on South Africans as the “racist Dutchies” you describe them as.
The fact of the matter is that bigotry and racism exist all over the world.
Now take a deep breath and rather distance yourself from what happened in Taupo?
27 Sep 2011, 09:03 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-44:
Kevin McCallum, and it appears you, simply because you posted it without an editorial, want this to be pigeon holed as a race issue.
Really, is this what you think?
27 Sep 2011, 09:05 am
@Brads(Brads)-53:
Oy mate, I’m just “returning serve”.
27 Sep 2011, 09:05 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-47:
Why be defensive? The reason why this is a story is because it was a journalist in the company of other journalists. (the black part escalates it)
So you had a couple of dumb cops in Taupo. We have more than our share.
However it does not make it right.
Say it was wrong and a mistake and then move on….
27 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-52:
@Brads(Brads)-53:
You answered my question.
27 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@Gunther(gunther)-14:
It was that dirty Vaka…
…although he was bitten…just not by Fransie…
27 Sep 2011, 09:07 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-52: funny that, you guys all post and dwell on the NEGATIVE of NZ, and expect us to just ignore the fact…we all know NZ isnt perfect, but the constant vilification here is ridiculous..
so much for being rugby partners huh? people like HG constantly chirping at NZ for his own bigoted reasons, well Im going to continue posting the NEGATIVE stuff about SA…
if you dont like it tough, but Im not going to sit by and watch you guys continually put the boot in..
capische???
Oh desr.
Another day another poo with his clothes on.
@Brads(Brads)-53: is vata a drug dealer?
27 Sep 2011, 09:12 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-58: Boo farken hoo… Grow up now or ready yourself for a Maori Toss that will make any dwarf toss look tame…
I have always said this WC is good, with great atmosphere, but tempered by some silly Kiwis particularly prats like you and the rubbish you bring onto Keo.
You validate all I say with your past couple of posts.
@poppa69(poppa69)-58: yeah right, as if you started posting negative sshit about SA because HG and the like were vilifying new zealand!
remember Springboks vs All Blacks, Bloemfontein 2009?
@Biscuit(Biscuit)-55:
This issue was discussed last night when the story first broke.
The Police were told that a black person at a local hotel was distributing drugs. They responded.
What is the drama?
Had the person been described as a dwarf and only Keo fitted the description, would the Police be acused of being biggoted to small people?
27 Sep 2011, 09:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-58:
Who posted the article of the Boks that stole the sign?
@poppa69(poppa69)-58:
By all means, post negative stuff where it is objective and factual – but can you please stop generalising?
All generalisations are false – including this one.
@Transformation(Transformation)-62:
@Mr Black(Mr Black)-64:
27 Sep 2011, 09:14 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-58:
Of course there are some idiots on the blog that dwell on anything negative about anywhere. The same idiots are constantly negative about SA ito Employment Equity, BEE, govt, economy, opportunities etc.
Sinking to their level is dumber than they are because you are doing it consciously.
A balanced discussion is cool. Deflection and defensiveness wastes your time and does not make others think of you as free-thinking which is a quality admired in NZers/.
I am leaving for NZ on Oct 12 to watch the semis and the finals. I cannot wait.
NZ people that I have met (male and female) are knowledgeable about rugby. I will start slowly on the banter (McCaw is a cheat, ABs weren’t poisoned, Barnes is a great ref)
No doubt I wil write many positive things about NZ once I am there and when I return.
27 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
so HGs maori toss is acceptable to all of you guys? isnt that racial stereotyping, the very thing you guys are complaining about happening in Taupo?
ah, hypocrites!!
27 Sep 2011, 09:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-60:
Was he charged? No
Was he released minutes later with the standard apology for any inconvenience? Yes
Is he going to lay an official complaint – No
Why not? because he wants his 15 minutes of fame.
27 Sep 2011, 09:16 am
@Biscuit(Biscuit)-67:
Too true. I have a lot of Kiwi mates and to be honest, the majority of Kiwis I’ve met are brilliant people.
I even tried to defend poppa69 up until recently, but I’m afraid he’s completely gone off the reservation in recent times.
27 Sep 2011, 09:17 am
Oh ***** jumping ****** can we go one day on a rugby blog where the conversation is actually about mmmmmmmmmmmm…………………………………………FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRKKKKKKKKKKK rugby!!!!!
27 Sep 2011, 09:17 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-58:
I have tried hard to give you the benefit of the doubt.
I have even tried to smoke the peace pipe with you, which you declined.
I have asked you nicely to refrain from racist comments here, which you have ignored.
I tried to consider that maybe you were provoked into this racist bahaviour, but your racism of this morning was totally unprovoked.
You are making it hard for me to like you.
Most of us are tolerant and forgiving and so my offer for peace remains open. I hope you will reconsider and accept, because I am sure you can’t be such a nasty animal in real life, unless you’re blogging from a prison cell somewhere
27 Sep 2011, 09:18 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-58: Poeps, what are you doing here? I thought you’d come apart again.
And by the way, no matter how you spin it, this is a racist incident that happened in a Kiwi town that should be spoken about and apologised for. Trying to explain it away by flinging back some tired, age-old racist stereotypes just doesn’t cut it, old chap. It means you’ve lost whatever argument you’re trying to have before you’ve even started. Surely even you are sharp enough to get this?
27 Sep 2011, 09:18 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-68: STFU fatty. Go take your insulin.
27 Sep 2011, 09:19 am
new zealand man sets pitbull on partner:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10754721
27 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
@Brads(Brads)-63:
If Keo had been detained it would have been written up even more. The difference was we probably all would have applauded and assumed his obnoxious behaviour caught up with him.
This became a bigger deal because he was a journo.
Detained based on a description? Hah. So the description was that he was black? Good description. By the way I own a bridge in London. Want to buy it?
It’s not a huge deal. The Taupo police screwed up. You have a couple of dumb cops in Taupo. We have far more.
However to instantly deny that your police may have made an error.. Come on
27 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
Here we go again
Same thread as yesterday
27 Sep 2011, 09:22 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-62: “HG and the like vilifying NZ”… me…? Wenzane, uyamanga umfana. Hamba donsa ucingo wakho. I only vilify silly sheepshaggers and overrated AB’s.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-73:
And yet the NZ High Commission in Pretoria has already apologised for the incident…
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-75: Lol. Poppa69?
27 Sep 2011, 09:23 am
so “maori toss” is acceptable?
“dutchie toss” I assume wouldnt be?
how very duplicitous…
Trash these Samoans, Bokke. I got no love for them or their dodgy tactics. NH refs seem to have emperial guilt and we get to play them every world cup. Pdivvie was spot on, they’re a NZ B team.
Its funny how they seem to roll over with their bums in the air everytime they meet their older brothers, but seem to run through walls against the boks.
Crush them Bokke.
@Brads(Brads)-69: a south african rugby journalist selling drugs in new zealand? must be thick cops in taupo or whoever “reported” that sshit is an arsehole!
27 Sep 2011, 09:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-81: Is maori a racist, offensive term? “Dutchie” certainly is. Now STFU before I maori toss you into the middle of next week, numbnut.
27 Sep 2011, 09:25 am
@Biscuit(Biscuit)-76: If they detained Keo, do you think we could bribe them to lock him up with Jake the Muss, just for an hour or so
@poppa69(poppa69)-81: is “maori” a derogatory word Poppa?
because “duchy” or “dutchmen” is
fall back china.
Deja vu
27 Sep 2011, 09:26 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-84: the way you use it, yes…
27 Sep 2011, 09:26 am
Players born elsewhere in the Samoan RWC 2011 squad: Census Johnston (Auckland, New Zealand), Anthony Perenise (Wellington, New Zealand), Olé Avei (Wellington, New Zealand), Daniel Leo (Palmerston North, New Zealand), Kane Thompson (Paraparaumu, New Zealand), Kahn Fotuali’i (Auckland, New Zealand), Jeremy Sua (Wellington, New Zealand), Tusi Pisi (Auckland, New Zealand), Sailosi Tagicakibau (Auckland, New Zealand), James So’oialo (Wellington, New Zealand), Ti’i Paulo (Christchurch, New Zealand), Filipo Lavea Levi (Hamilton, New Zealand), Junior Poluleuligaga (Auckland, New Zealand), Tasesa Lavea (Taihape, New Zealand), Paul Williams (Auckland, New Zealand)
16 in all. Come on they ARE a NZ B side. If you can’t make the All Blacks go play for the Samoans. Only remember your roots!!!
27 Sep 2011, 09:27 am
@Biscuit(Biscuit)-76:
I never said the Police didn’t make an error, nor did I say they made a mistake.
They followed procedure, and apologised to the man for any inconvenience.
There was no strip search or overnight detention.
As I said last night, is the carrying of a press card in SA some sort of immunity from Police inquiries?
@poppa69(poppa69)-88: A great sport on Keo… You are the perfect tosser.
@poppa69(poppa69)-81: The sooner you deal with the fact that you are a low-brow, intellectually challenged, shallow, aggressive racist, the sooner you can find true happiness down at your level in life. Accept it, embrace it and live the life that you deserve.
@Dawn(Dawn)-77:
Yes, I think I’m just going to cut and paste my comments from yesterday.
Definition of insanity, doing the same thing and expecting a different result. Sadly we are all a bit insane here
27 Sep 2011, 09:28 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-78: hey wena siphukuphuku, this is what poopa said in #58 “people like HG constantly chirping at NZ for his own bigoted reasons”
now poopa is a LIAR for saying he started thrashing SA because of people here equally “vilifying new zealand” and he knows it! he is a LIAR!
27 Sep 2011, 09:29 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-92: that coming from the man who finds anothers culture the very centre of mirth and merriment huh?
take a look at yourself w@nker, you may just find your “comments” can be construed as racist too..
27 Sep 2011, 09:30 am
Okay. Another thread dedicated to war. I think I’m going to read the insulting rhymes on the Biltong thread for entertainment.
@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-89:
Calling Samoa a NZ B side suggests they could make the NZ A side if they performed.
@Brads(Brads)-33:
huh…?
the only fantasy is you believing i admitted something i never did…
we were discussing the PIs getting bonuses for injuring bok players… how does that translate into “most of the digs at NZ here on Keo are based on fantasy”?
sheesh bud… get a grip…
or lay off the meds…
27 Sep 2011, 09:31 am
Staal nou vra jy waarom ek sê dat Spies beste 8 by WC is ?
Dis tragies dat ons nou al weer die selle ou twak as gister moet veduur, die hele ou klomp twak oor NZ vs SA en die rasse issues van die past en verlede.
Ag nee kom ons los die twak en praat eerder rugby.
27 Sep 2011, 09:31 am
I see very little racism in this Taupo incident.
Police received a tipp off that a black man was offering narcotics to patrons.
Should the police have ignored the fact that Vata was black?
It’s like saying that Police are looking for a big breasted, kind hearted, attractive woman that stole the stripes off a zebra crossing. Will I be offended if they interrogate me? No.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All