Boks shift into knockout mode
28 Sep 2011
Dick Muir says the Springboks will play finals rugby against Samoa and that Morne Steyn has a campaign-defining role to play in South Africa’s remaining matches.
There have been a number of rumours doing the rounds in the Bok camp over the last week. There was first talk that the Boks would ‘throw’ their final pool match to avoid facing Australia in the quarter-finals, talk that was refuted by technical adviser Rassie Erasmus.
Then there was a more subtle suggestion that the Boks would move away from their pragmatic game plan and favour a more expansive approach. The latter strategy would be implemented to ensure the Boks went into the play-offs without serious injuries incurred through an all-out-war of attrition at the gain line.
The Bok management has once again rubbished the rumours, and the make up of the match 22 certainly lends substance to their claims. On Wednesday, Muir pointed out that only the All Blacks are guaranteed a place in the next round. He confirmed that the Boks want to win Pool D and will be doing everything in their power to beat Samoa on Friday.
‘It’s a must win for us. We are looking at it as a knockout game,’ said Muir.
‘We came into this tournament underdone and what’s been great about this pool is that it’s been as physical as we anticipated. We’ve been able to rotate the squad and use a horses for courses policy, and I’m happy with what we’ve achieved.
‘Obviously there are a few things, such as the tactical kicking, that we need to work on, but otherwise the physicality of these three clashes has been good for us.’
The Boks will aim to impose themselves at the set-pieces, collisions and breakdowns, and their backs will also look to contain the more explosive members of the Samoa backline. Spectators can expect a series of high-hanging kicks from the Bok 9 and 10 in this match and indeed in every other match between now and the end of their campaign.
Muir intimated that if the game plan is executed correctly, the South Africans will accumulate points. While the Boks have a number of attacking players at their disposal, they employ a pattern that relies on their best goal-kicker, Morne Steyn, to score points. Muir said the management’s preferred No 10 will be pivotal to the Boks’ success on Friday and in next week’s probable quarter-final against Australia.
‘We took a view a while back that kicking accuracy was going to be important in this tournament. We saw how Morne performed against Namibia last week, it was an exceptional effort and that’s the standard we expect from him. Goal-kicking is going to be key going into the tight games.’
In July, Butch James was the selectors’ favourite to wear the No 10 jersey at the World Cup, but after he missed a relatively easy penalty against the Wallabies in Durban, Steyn was reinstated. The Bulls’ sharpshooter took his opportunity in the subsequent Test against the All Blacks, kicking all 18 of the Boks’ points in a approach many hailed as a World Cup finals template.
Muir extolled the virtues of Steyn in the context of this game plan. He did mention James as a fallback option, but for now Steyn is the man in whom the coaches and selectors will place their faith.
‘Butch has a World Cup winners medal around his neck. He has a huge amount of experience and is not the type of guy to get flustered in pressure situations, so we know we can call on him. He’s been very competitive on the training field, and we believe he is ready.’
Jean de Villiers is another who was expected to start the big matches at this World Cup, but when he sustained an injury in the first pool match against Wales he unintentionally gave Frans Steyn a chance to make the position his own.
‘Frans has shown that he’s not just a kicker,’ said Muir, who gave Steyn his big break at the Sharks in 2006. ‘He’s a very special player with a lot of vision, he likes to play what’s in front of him and if you can blend that into your structures you will have a dangerous player. He’s got that extra X factor with the boot too, being able to kick it over from anywhere.
‘He’s been given a gap and he’s taken it. It doesn’t mean that he’s the preferred No 12 for the rest of the tournament, but Jean is going to have to fight for his position. Jean will have an opportunity off the bench this week. He’s also a player who we believe has a lot of the X-factor.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Taupo

183 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
28 Sep 2011, 05:32 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-83:
you’re so childishly obtuse you’re laughable… as usual you miss the point… you’re stacking them up and now have more misses than a usa teenage beauty pageant…
IF namibia played the ABs you would have a rational comparison…
the point being no other tier one team had to play two PI teams of hard-hitters that even (honest) AB supporters acknowledge will “no doubt” be hitting the Boks hard…
but you know the point…
and denying that when even your own (honest) countrymen know it to be true just makes you look even sillier…
but hey… don’t let me stop you… i’ve tried to be friendly with you too often only to discover you’re too determined to be unreasonable and play the lonely victim…
if you were drowning and a saffa offered you a hand to save you… you’d be so intent on proving your hatred you’d actually slap the hand away and drown…
as i said the other day… just enjoy the rugby dude… for the rugby’s sake… everyone else is… you’re watching rugby for the sole purpose of finding ‘evidence’ to knock south africans and south africa…
the sad thing… and it really is sad and i sincerely feel sorry for you… the sad thing is… that when the world cup is done and dusted… whoever wins… everyone else is going to have great memories of the rugby and of new zealand…
and your only memories are going to be of having fights with south africans on a website called keo…
but if that’s the way for clock ticks… well… wind it up…
28 Sep 2011, 05:32 am
Anyway, time to get ready for work. And BP, it’s true. You fellas have this sown up. We might as well pack up and go home. The AB’s are the best! No one comes even close. Congratulations
28 Sep 2011, 05:33 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-99:
Bismarck isn’t a show pony and shouldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Sonny Bench. Sonny Bench is like a maori version of Spies.
28 Sep 2011, 05:33 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-99:
well said…!!
28 Sep 2011, 05:36 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-98: Yep, the tight 5 is our weakness, specifically loosehead prop, and one of the locking positions.
Loosehead – we are really missing Crockett I believe. Woodcock is only good for 60 mins these day. And our scrum goes to pieces when Ben Franks comes on (this has always been he case, like Afoa he is a weak scrummager).
Lock – one older head like Thorn and Williams would be OK, but not two of them.
Also, McCaw has been slow to find his form and fitness, and I don’t think he has been an 80 minute player yet this year.
If Woodcock, Thorn and McCaw dig deep and kill themselves for 80 mins, I think our pack will be competitive enough to give us a fair chance of a win against you guys. Not a certainty by any means. But if they fail to “man up”, I don’t think we have much chance at all.
Don’t think I’m not patriotic – I do believe those guys have that game in them. But I’m just realistic enough to admit that there is a chance they won’t bring it!!
28 Sep 2011, 05:36 am
yeah.. outta here too…
great day all…!!
28 Sep 2011, 05:43 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-103: At the risk of encouraging you to flame me further, I would profer the opinion that Spies is the European version of a long line of All Black failures at No8… Sione Luaki, Mose Tuiali’i (SP?), Ron Cribb, Aran Penne etc etc. For an Aussie version see Rakidi Samo, good on the front foot but happiest playing on the wing (and the Aussies are reportedly thinking about playing him there in their next game!)
SBW is a back, and an aggressive b*stard (look at his league career if you want evidence of that).
Bismark is just as likely to lose you guys a game by getting sent off as SBW is of losing via an intercept pass. High impact players will do that to you….
28 Sep 2011, 05:44 am
outta here too….
PS – I want to school in Taupo, apart from the scenary it’s a sh@t hole full of mongrels!
28 Sep 2011, 05:57 am
@ufo(ufo)-101:
I know this is going to sit a little uneasy with you
but
1 of my oldest, best mates, was born you-know-where and educated at Jeppe High. I cant quite pick his accent, but I suspect its not Kiwi.
Another great mate is Godfather to one of my sons (I think I might have 2 of them). He’s also from you-know-where.
And I employ 4 x you-know-where’ers in my business (London HQ).
By all means “feel sorry for” me. ooooooh, an anonymous blogger hates me. I, too, feel no little pity for anyone who translates rugby-specific banter in to “hating a Nation” (which, btw, Ive never visited) and “all its people”.
Goodbye, Mr Chips.
ps – Im curious. When was the bit when you “tried to be friendly” with me ? was it that time you called me “a liar” about the Fijian players in Europe, when I was subsequently proved to be correct ? you guys….
28 Sep 2011, 06:01 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-105:
thought the scrum looked quite solid vs renown-scrummagers, France.
I agree that Crockett was a better option that makeweight Afoa, but Woodcock is essential and playing back in to form in the cauldron of RWC footy. Play him.
28 Sep 2011, 06:51 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-44: Comparison is mute? It had better speak up then, hey?
28 Sep 2011, 06:55 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-103: SBW has Samoan heritage, not Maori.
28 Sep 2011, 06:59 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-59: Grey College Bloemfontein’s 1st XV would whip Namibia.
28 Sep 2011, 07:12 am
@ 107. Corporal. You seem like a readonable guy who is interested in an intelligent rugby conversation. A word of advice. Ignore Kobus. He is like a mooning driunk by the side of the
freeway. Save your efforts for the more deserving.
28 Sep 2011, 07:17 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-114:
yo
Frans at 12 or 15
and
if at 12
who goes to 15 ?
I think its odd that in an attempt to shore-up the midfield, the Boks are weakening the 1 position that dovetails perfectly with their own kick’n'chase gameplan given that Frans’ howitzer boot at the back often turned D in to immediate A.
your thoughts ?
28 Sep 2011, 07:20 am
@ 107. Corporal. You seem like a readonable guy who is interested in an intelligent rugby conversation. A word of advice. Ignore Kobus. He is like a mooning driunk by the side of the
freeway.
28 Sep 2011, 07:23 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-109:
109.Black Panther:
hehehe… now you sound as plausible as idi amin insisting he did not hate white people because his 2IC was Bob Astles and he (idi amin) played rugby as a youngster…
if you employ saffas it’s only because we work hard and have a good reputation in London for just that…
where is my post did I say I hate you…? Please go back to my post ( in this thread – not too hard)and cut-n-paste where I said I hated you… I said a pitied you…
You see, you’re so determined to play the little victim that you simply make up anything to fabricate the point…
you and I have never discussed, let alone argued about, Fijians in Europe… please be so good as to cut and paste (with dates and times) the posts in which you and I discussed Fijians in Europe and where I called you a liar…?
as far as your hating South Africa and South African’s protest all you like… the evidence is in almost every post you make.. you display it for all to see…
as far as trying to be reasonable with you… I offered sincere good luck to all AB supporters before the opening game, saying you should all enjoy and cherish this special time and that i was proud to call you brothers in rugby… many AB supporters responded in kind… you didn’t even bother to respond…
when the ABs beat the French… I congratulated them and the supporters here I know by name… you included… again most responded in kind… but again you didn’t even have the grace to acknowledge my comment…
and I have twice in the past tried to reason with you.. even apologized once for all past heated exchanges… and said lets reboot and start again… the only rebooting you did was to get your kicks and insults in and told me you don’t need any saffa friends… thing is you’re so consumed by rage you don’t retain the good and only seek out and hang onto the bad…
BP the sweeping generalisation is a common tool of the bigot… you always talk of saffas as a whole, you never qualify it to say ‘some’ saffas… of the saffa who said this or the saffa who said that… a comment by one saffa is read and translated by you into ‘all saffas’…
If you want to come across as less of a bigot and be seen not to hate South Africans qualify and limit your statements to target the people who actually made derogatory statements… instead of your usual blanket coverage of saffas this and saffas that…
This is good advice BP… you really should take a while, digest it, and use it…
But chances are you’ll just spew and rant even more…
28 Sep 2011, 07:23 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-116:
Indeed kitty is the only p u ssy I’ve ever disliked.
28 Sep 2011, 07:30 am
BP. If all fit Jean at 12 and Frans at 15. Otherwise De jongh. Fransies boot at 15 is a gameplan on it’s own. No worries at all about the midfield. All 3 centres are well up to the task. What our midfield delivers depends on how the ball gets past Morne if at all.
28 Sep 2011, 07:32 am
i don’t hate anyone BP… it is such a negative energy consuming emotion and there’s no place or time in my life for it…
life is way too fleeting to hate anyone or be consumed by rage… it requires active participation by the hater to keep alive… i rather expend energy positively building good relationships…
but still enjoy good fun banter… of course…
28 Sep 2011, 07:38 am
@ufo(ufo)-117:
being totally frank and 100% honest ?
I simply dont care whether you think Im BSing or not.
My comments are rugby-specific and relate to some, but never all, Bok fans. Do I think youre all SCUM like Whatever ? or self-absorbed peacocks like Boy George ? or absolute Gentlemen like Puma ? or friendly intellectuals like SodaJoe ? or total ******* like Peaches ? or weighed down under massive chips, like you ?
dont rush your Answer. Give it some thought.
28 Sep 2011, 07:38 am
Dr Dre says that Argentina to shock and beat the united pacific ferns!
The doctor has spoken.
28 Sep 2011, 07:44 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-121:
“being totally frank and 100% honest ?”
okay…
28 Sep 2011, 07:47 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-119:
oh for ffucks sake man!
the boks have been playing only but running rugby with a team thats scored not only the second most points for (yes, they’re attacking) but also still have the least points against (because wow, they are also still defending too) and somehow the flyhalfs got nothing to do with that…really?…i mean really now?….
28 Sep 2011, 08:16 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-9:
You had everything spot on there except the Nonu vs Steyn stepping.
28 Sep 2011, 08:17 am
@ufo(ufo)-101: Beautifully said.
Must say, I pretty much stopped posting here because of all the haters – there are many other sites where I can actually have a decent rugby conversation where debate remains debate and don’t progress into an all out war of words.
28 Sep 2011, 08:22 am
@ufo(ufo)-120: I’ve noticed it too…Poppa of course being a fair bit more unhinged than BP…but yea the selective reading does get boring, they’ll scrol past 10 reasonable posts and fixate on the 3 negative or insulting ones…they’ve become blind to anything said that does not conform to their views that all saffas are out to insult and belittle their country..I’ve made (and also seen) a lot of very positive and complimentary posts about the RWC, like you, but haven’t seen them respond to any of those…they just hone in on the bullshit. Pity, because they actually know their rugby but the constant repetitive default replies, and their precious sensitivity about all things Kiwi was boring 2 months ago already!
28 Sep 2011, 08:23 am
@King Shark(King Shark)-126: Can you imagine this place if/when one of our teams are knocked out? Think I’ll head for the hills
28 Sep 2011, 08:30 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-115: I think that the result in improved backline play indicates that they are onto something with Frans at 12. Yes, we don’t have his booming boot at the back, but he may drop back on occasion to field those kicks, I don’t know.
If they play Lambie at 15 he has a long enough boot IMO.
I was sceptical at the beginning for sure, but I’ve seen enough to support an extended run at 12 for him. For now.
28 Sep 2011, 08:31 am
1987. The number that gives a tiny glimmer of hope to the all mighty all blacks and their supporters.. How many of you guys could actually wipe your own arrsess back then? The funny thing is that what happens between world cups doesn’t really phase us, because the ultimate prize only comes along every 4 years, and new zealanders feel the same, they won’t admit it until they start winning the bill.
Maybe this time with absolutely everything in their favour they will win the thing and stand alongside the two bigboys of the RWC.
Bokbefok.
28 Sep 2011, 08:34 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-127:
only two months?….
28 Sep 2011, 08:35 am
@124. Reechie. We have only been playing running rugby in the last two games against Fiji and Namibia. Morne can send it wide – but the Boks don’t usually against top opposition. It depends on the gameplan on the day.
28 Sep 2011, 08:50 am
@ufo(ufo)-123: Broer, you’re p!ss!ing into the wind… these okes will never change. Not as long as we’ve got a hole in our @rse.
They’re too self-absorbed & caught up with contemplating & admiring their navels. Massive complexes… small-man syndrome, inferiority (or is it superiority??), self-consumed, denial, arrogant, world-needs-to-bow down-to-us… I don’t know.
& then they’re threatening to pull out of 2015…
In Natal, we refer to these types as “Boega Minna’s” – constantly demanding attention.
28 Sep 2011, 08:57 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-105: I’m not happy with Woodcock either. He is primarily the reason France scored that second try. He doesn’t have the legs anymore. Crocket is sorely missed. Thompson scares me too. So glad that Reid is back. Richie also needs to become Richie again.
28 Sep 2011, 08:59 am
@jocuba(jocuba)-133: Just a bit of perspective there. Black Panther did not make that decision. NZRU did. Must we hold you personally responsible for everything that Oregon Hoskin’s does?
28 Sep 2011, 08:59 am
As long as we have Franstasties we can beat any team!
28 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-132:
sure, i hear you but your last line throw away comment suggests its more about the flayhalf than it is about the gameplan on the day…to quote: “What our midfield delivers depends on how the ball gets past Morne if at all.”…unqoute…
28 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-72: Kobus, if only, the whole position of flyhalf was ONLY about kicking. Aside for that stat, which Morne has in the bag, he is utter rubbish.
28 Sep 2011, 09:09 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-116: Apt description, but even those guys by the side of the highway can be funny.
28 Sep 2011, 09:09 am
I think all of the debate around NZ and SA is moot, please guys dont take the focus off Australia, Cooper and Genia will be hurting at the moment after the Ireland game and the Aussies will want to beat us very badly. I dont for one second believe that Australia based on one game are a terrible team.
This is the same Aussie team who got smashed by the AB’s in NZ but were happy to return the compliment in Auss. Lets just focus on the Wallabies.Perspective fellas.
28 Sep 2011, 09:10 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-132: Morne is brave enough to try it against lesser opposition, but will always revert to kicking when he is under pressure. Always.
28 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-107:
When was the last time Bismarck was sent off? Has he ever been yellow carded in an international? Tell me, it apparently happens so often that you must be able to recall the last time he was sent off. Or is that just a myth? He barely gets penalized.
28 Sep 2011, 09:18 am
@francois93(francois93)-140:
personally, .i think their injuries will sink them.
just too many key players with niggles or worse.
28 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-135: I thought I was talking collectively… obviously, not obvious to you… or are you just a little bit precious?
28 Sep 2011, 09:22 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-138:
Morne has proven to be world class especially with du Preez.
Anyway, your opinion is absolutely less than dogshit.
28 Sep 2011, 09:28 am
@141. Rossoneri. It is not a question of feeling brave, but of the gameplan chosen by the coaches. Morne has buckets of BMT. Just consider how many high pressure kicks he converts.Che also has a good eye for the gap, but the Boks play one of the most structured games and they don’t usually wander too far from the script.
28 Sep 2011, 09:29 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-143: For sure the Aussies have some big injury’s, turned green when I saw the Fainga hit, having likewise copped a knee in the head with a similar result, still missing a day and a half in my life, cant remember a farken thing. Be very surprised if he doesn’t have a serious concussion. That aside they could still make life very difficult for us, the worst possible thing is to give Aussies the underdog card. Pressure release valve of note, we should be talking them up from morning till night and doing everything in our power to put them in the spotlight come the quarterfinal. Place as much pressure on Genia and Cooper as possible, something very cleverly done by the Irish. As far as I am concerned cant hurt, can only help.
28 Sep 2011, 09:31 am
@francois93(francois93)-147: yeah with Samo out they’ll have to sramble to fill the gaps.
28 Sep 2011, 09:41 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-148: Yep, also have to decide if its Vickerman or Sharpe, personally if I was Deans, my choice would be Sharpe and Horwill, lots a grunt needed against the Boks and try to limit Line outs, which I am pretty sure would have already been the plan.
28 Sep 2011, 09:47 am
Agh all this talk of tougher pools blah blah
Namibia have been diabolical
BUT
Fiji & Samoa would beat Canada,Japan.Lets not forget Samoa beat the Wallabies & ran Wales close.
Wales on current form and especially if the faced a French team with Parra at 10,Dulcalcon at 3,Yachvilli at 9, Pape at 4, Szarzewski at 2 etc I would back them to beat France.Reece.Warbuton,Faletau,Phillips,Roberts,Williams have been better than anything France have mustered up.Only Clerq,Parra(AT 9) Picamoles have impressed somewhat. If you look at form book it clear for all to see.
Tonga would beat Namibia.
SA group might no be group of “death” but it was more competitve & of more quality than that of NZ.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All