KeoTV: Inside the Bok war room
28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. The Sharks looked to have conjured up a remarkable victory when Charl McLeod scored and Pat Lambie converted in the 75th minute. But within two minutes the Sharks were guilty of a lineout infringement and Steyn punished the lack of discipline. The Sharks had opportunities to sneak the victory in a frantic finish but lacked the decision-making to turn a possession and field position advantage into victory. The Bulls, thanks to Steyn's kicking, consolidated their position at the top of the ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

624 Comments
28 Sep 2011, 03:43 am
idiot
28 Sep 2011, 04:05 am
Keo, I have not posted a comment on Keo for about 3 years, but I feel I need to point out that these latest contributions on KeoTV are pointless and not insightful. We are in the middle of an exciting world cup – surely some good rugby related journalism would be far better than this drivel?
28 Sep 2011, 04:09 am
hilarious. the not so hilarious part is that keo’s plan looks as well thought out as that of the coaching team.
28 Sep 2011, 04:33 am
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/video/5687650.
28 Sep 2011, 05:01 am
Time to change the name Keo TV to Keo Kak. Pathetic!!!!
28 Sep 2011, 05:37 am
Crikey Moses. What are you guys smoking over there??? I want some!!! I love this video, man. Keo is like Dennis Hopper in “River’s Edge”. Mal pitte!
28 Sep 2011, 05:39 am
Well he’s finally lost it. Will someone put him in a padded cell please?
28 Sep 2011, 05:45 am
hahahahaaha its amazing what a nutter can do with a camera! Perhaps he’s trying to be the Bok coach and a like for like replacement when Div moves on? Give him some barbie dolls and get him to do the All Black analysis!!!
28 Sep 2011, 05:48 am
Let’s hope he’s not suicidal. Kiwis love to jump
28 Sep 2011, 06:30 am
Now that was an unforgettable episode of Keo tv. Well presented by that dwarf smurf, Keohane.
28 Sep 2011, 06:32 am
My favorite part was when Keo introduced the muscle freak, that is Spies.
28 Sep 2011, 06:34 am
Aaaaah and that show horse Habana … classic
28 Sep 2011, 06:44 am
10/10 for the Habana (one-trick has-been) show pony comment from Keo. Likening Bismarck to Simba the lion king also very apt.
28 Sep 2011, 06:49 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4: now that was a kak video, that part where those guppies were blowing smoke up Smitty fat one was disturbing but it was not as sickening as watching that CapeSader standing there with his all black shirt and his all black cap explaining why he supports the chokers, I puked by breakfast out!
Guys WARNING do not watch that video.
28 Sep 2011, 07:30 am
keo couldn’t get inside the boks war room even if he brought free booze, a load of prossies and lots of boom for the guys…
.’inside the war room’…tsk, tsk…
28 Sep 2011, 07:30 am
I think Keo has finally lost it.
That is the last Keo video I will ever watch.
28 Sep 2011, 07:32 am
@RL(RL)-14: Thanks for the publicity! Now everyone will watch it!
28 Sep 2011, 07:37 am
@RL(RL)-14: True story:
That CapeCrusader was my high school woodwork teacher!
What are the odds.
28 Sep 2011, 07:40 am
Well done Keo… we need more humor … daily!!!!
something to laugh about… can’t be bad for you!
28 Sep 2011, 07:41 am
That was superb KEO, good work mate!
28 Sep 2011, 07:44 am
That was like watching re-runs of Egoli…. painful and just a little concerning.
28 Sep 2011, 07:46 am
@Helen(Helen)-21:
Pretty much like reading your comments, crass and cheap.
28 Sep 2011, 07:47 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-18:
They’re everywhere it seems.
One minute he’s just an ordinary teacher and the next he’s run into a toilet and come back wearing an all black shirt and his underpants outside his trousers and a tablecloth round his neck.
While watching Keo and these plastic animals … i just googled about NZ’s animals.
“Lizards, frogs, and bats are the only indigenous land animals in New Zealand. Dogs (kiri) and rats were introduced by the Maori, and red and fallow deer, trout, salmon, Australian opossum, rabbits, and domestic animals have been introduced over the last 150 years by European settlers. “
and that is that……
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-22:
28 Sep 2011, 07:48 am
@Gunther(gunther)-23:
Gunth, howz it hanging?
28 Sep 2011, 07:49 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-20:
Only a kiwi can enjoy bad television like that….i’m glad keo impressed someone.
28 Sep 2011, 07:50 am
@Staal(Staal)-24:
You never have to worry about retrieving your golf ball from the rough.
28 Sep 2011, 07:50 am
@Helen(Helen)-27:
KEO is an impressive guy.
28 Sep 2011, 07:51 am
@Staal(Staal)-24:
now, depending on keo’s mating habits while on tour, keos might be the latest addition to NZ’s list of species
28 Sep 2011, 07:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-28:
and in the rough i have been yesterday…… more than once!
@Gunther(gunther)-23:
He was never the sharpest tool in the shed. And a rumoured alcoholic.
@Helen(Helen)-30: oh – thought he was married….
28 Sep 2011, 07:54 am
@Staal(Staal)-24:
No snakes?
Bonus.
28 Sep 2011, 07:55 am
What a waste of 5 minutes and 8 seconds.
28 Sep 2011, 07:56 am
At the end of next month, when the webb ellis is back in SA, we’ll be talking about our new coach Rassie and captain Burger.
28 Sep 2011, 07:57 am
@Helen(Helen)-36: Stop smoking that stuff!
28 Sep 2011, 07:58 am
@Helen(Helen)-36:
and you’ll still be talking about labias
28 Sep 2011, 07:58 am
@Helen(Helen)-26:
Like a Berlin deli.
28 Sep 2011, 07:59 am
oh ok, because i just googled that wwe plastic toy doll…they’re about 5 us dollars so just turn it into rands, his name’s batista and he actually looks a little like spies…
and that is that…
28 Sep 2011, 08:00 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-40:
28 Sep 2011, 08:02 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-40:
Spies won’t be happy, Read is back to school him again in 8th man play
28 Sep 2011, 08:08 am
WTF!!!! Keo, what are you smoking boet?!
28 Sep 2011, 08:09 am
Its a lame video, Mark. I know you guys dont have much to work with over there but come on.
28 Sep 2011, 08:12 am
I’d like to make a video and post it as keo tv.
It will be way more entertaining than this cr ap
28 Sep 2011, 08:13 am
The video was probably made a long time ago.
You notice how keo says Habana will probably score 5 tries against Namibia??
What’s up with that?
28 Sep 2011, 08:13 am
Keo,
You are one brave Dude.
28 Sep 2011, 08:14 am
All those years running this rugby blog has finally took its toll on poor old Keo.
@cane(cane)-47:
By “brave” you mean ‘stupid, silly, adolescent and witless’, right?
@cane(cane)-47: Brave, yes.
Creative? No.
28 Sep 2011, 08:18 am
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-43:
…something he picked up at a Taupo bar.
28 Sep 2011, 08:19 am
Ok I have to admit I found the vid quite funny
28 Sep 2011, 08:25 am
Check out this article from RUGBY 365 (which is where I get all my decent rugby news from):
The All Blacks would consider pulling out of the 2015 Rugby World Cup unless commercial restrictions imposed on teams were revamped, New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) chief Steve Tew said on Wednesday.
Tew said such a drastic and unprecedented step would be “the very last port of call” but could not be ruled out, as current arrangements meant his organisation posted a loss every time the quadrennial tournament was held.
“That’s obviously a last resort and our style is to be consultative, collaborative and to try to work with everybody to find a solution,” Tew told Radio New Zealand when asked if the All Blacks could boycott the 2015 World Cup in England.
Tew said IRB rules penalised major unions in World Cup years because their regular Test schedules were curtailed and teams were not allowed to promote their sponsors during the tournament.
He said this meant that competing at the 2011 World Cup was costing the NZRU more than NZ$13 million ($10.3 million).
“It’s putting pressure on the balance sheet and frankly, in the current environment, we just can’t afford to run a World Cup-year loss, nor do we think it’s necessary.” he said.
Earlier, Tew told Britain’s Guardian newspaper: “The prospects of us going to England in 2015 under the current model are very slim. We cannot continue to sign on for an event that costs us so much money.”
He told Radio NZ that the NZRU had been pushing the IRB for changes to the commercial arrangements for eight years and had gone public to try to ensure the issue was finalised by 2015.
“Now is not a bad time to make sure the issue is raised and considered, to give ourselves enough time to find a solution without having to go to any drastic measures,” he said.
“We have the support of most of the major unions and a review is not only necessary but now, in our view, quite urgent.”
Tew said the bulk of the NZRU’s NZ$13 million shortfall came from television revenues and gate receipts lost because the annual Tri-Nations competition was shortened in World Cup years so it did not clash with the tournament.
He said other major unions faced similar problems, estimating their combined losses at 35-40 million pounds ($55-63 million).
Tew said solutions the IRB could consider were changing the World Cup date, to allow a full Tri-Nations schedule, or paying more money to participating unions.
He also said the IRB’s World Cup sponsorship rules, designed to avoid any clash between team sponsors and the IRB’s own corporate supporters, should be relaxed.
“In football, the FIFA model, there is room for both sets of sponsors to get some coverage during the World Cup period and we think that’s something we should be looking at very seriously,” he said.
A Rugby World Cup Ltd. spokesman said the commercial model that applied to the tournament was being reviewed .
“We are committed to working in collaboration with our unions to ensure that the tournament continues to balance the strategic needs of our unions with the ability to provide the financial platform for the development of (the) sport,” he said.
28 Sep 2011, 08:27 am
The real irony is that these “spiff” videos are not posted by choice. Mark and the gang have no real access to the boks, hence the lack of substance.
28 Sep 2011, 08:28 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-42:
seriously, i dont think read will be match fit enough quick enough.
i think teddy-g’s gonna make a mistake playing him.
28 Sep 2011, 08:29 am
This video was damn funny!
28 Sep 2011, 08:31 am
@Helen(Helen)-49: @Taahirah(Taahirah)-50:
Keo has dared to be different.
He knew he would be ridiculed by many Posters.
But decided to have some fun in the Toy Shop anyway.
Keo, JC and Ryan will be having a great laugh, Slurping back some Castles.
Seeing how seriously some Posters are taking things.
(now I’m not saying this is good. But fun and brave yes).
28 Sep 2011, 08:33 am
@Derrida(Derrida)-54:
i know, i wonder if this fact is lost on keo?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53:
oh puulleeaze…the all blacks can just ffuck off and go play with themselves if thats the case…see if anyone cares….
this guy cant be speaking for the collective because it just a stupid statement.
28 Sep 2011, 08:36 am
Its bullshit.
How would NZ pulling out by themselves help improve their balance sheet?
Its a bargaining tactic because their coffers are emptier than Mrs Hubbard’s pantry.
28 Sep 2011, 08:37 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53: New Zealand will bleat about anything! Would they be happier of rugby didn’t develop around the rest of the world? Is the spirit of rugby taken into account in any decisions the NZRFU makes? I think not, its all me me me as far as they are concerned. Tossers.
28 Sep 2011, 08:38 am
Toy Story Uncut?
28 Sep 2011, 08:39 am
Big babies.
28 Sep 2011, 08:39 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-56:
well, you know the old saying about he who laughs last…so just watch out for when the wild animals say howzit to the all blacks…see the ‘blackness’ drain out of 4.5 mil kiwis quicker than they can light a spliff…
and then keo will be all ‘yayyy go bokke!’…yes, he’s got two faces…
28 Sep 2011, 08:40 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-56: so how’s that list going?
28 Sep 2011, 08:42 am
@Derrida(Derrida)-54: indeed, they are social outcasts and are no more than interested tourists.
28 Sep 2011, 08:42 am
Part 2 of my sniper doccie tonight.
Can’t wait.
hooha
28 Sep 2011, 08:43 am
@cane(cane)-57:
I get you, but this video is not silly in a good way. It is silly in a poor way.
The whole “by the time you watch this Habana would’ve scored 5 tries against Namibia” thing is also erring on the wrong side of excellence. Am I the only bothered by this?
28 Sep 2011, 08:46 am
@Gunther(gunther)-59: This we know. They’ve struggled to make a profit for years.
This is a classic clash of the interests of competing teams/individuals and the corporate sponsors of the “owners” of the tournament (in this case the IRB, but it applies equally to FIFA and the IOC).
NZ haven’t sorted themselves out internally, now they basically want the IRB to subsidise them
I wouldn’t be surprised if sponsors the co-incidently sponsor the NZ Rugby team become the official sponsors of the IRB in future.
To be fair, they’re probably the biggest drawcard for the game. And they know it.
28 Sep 2011, 08:47 am
Sorry grammar
28 Sep 2011, 08:47 am
Keo, why don’t you do stand-up comedy?
Is it because you’re so unfunny… or because no one would believe you’re standing up?
28 Sep 2011, 08:48 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: It’s just negotiation 101 at play.
28 Sep 2011, 08:49 am
So, am I right in thinking this is how the qrts and semis are shaping up?
Qrts
SA vs Aus
Wales vs Ire
NZ vs Arg
Eng vs Fra
Semis
SA vs NZ
Eng vs Ire
28 Sep 2011, 08:49 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-60:
the spirit of rugby by that do you mean NZ should never get another world cup for financial reasons, Tew points out all the other top nations agree but don’t have the balls or ranking to say anything, NZ is the top draw card in world rugby we want our share and why shouldn’t we
28 Sep 2011, 08:51 am
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-70:
the way he flip flops between opposing opinions, keo has a bright future as a stand up chameleon
28 Sep 2011, 08:53 am
@Derrida(Derrida)-54:
Burned too many bridges.
No-one in the bok camp will speak to keo.
Yep, the world certainly needs more people like keo! A real prize fighter!
28 Sep 2011, 08:53 am
@Helen(Helen)-67: We’ve come to expect less from Keo over the years. Holding him to a “lower” standard, if you will. Expecting the “short” end of the stick. You know….
28 Sep 2011, 08:54 am
@Helen(Helen)-72:
Quarters yes, semi’s are speculative
28 Sep 2011, 08:55 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73:
Why threaten to pull out though? Petulant?
Can’t have a 2015 World Cup without the reigning champions!
28 Sep 2011, 08:56 am
@Helen(Helen)-75: You’ve hit the nail on the head with the burned bridges thing.
Keo is putting his cards on Luke being the next Springbok captain and Cheeky being the next coach. They are the only ones who will still speak to him.
For now.
28 Sep 2011, 08:56 am
Steve tew and his minions have not had the interests of NZ rugby at heart for a long time now…their corporate sellout to Adidas only highlights this…
offering ridiculous money to lure SBW back with the backroom promise of an AB jersey further emphasises this..
its their mismananagement that now sees the NZRFU financial sheet looking as dire as it is…
the sooner he and his board are gone, and real rugby men are re-instated, the better for the game in NZ..
28 Sep 2011, 08:57 am
Hmmm… this thread make one wonder once again.
Is KEO’s team still banned from the Boks (unofficially) since their ‘indiscretions’ from a few years ago? The story Keo blew out of proportion earlier this year about the Boks in Rustenburg most probably didn’t help either.
Hmmm… this would probably explain the constant ‘sarcasm’ towards the boks.
28 Sep 2011, 08:58 am
So Tew reckons that if NZ pull out they’ll earn the money that they currently lose from a tournament that will still be shortened?
Popped collars, shades in doors and probably white shoes with that outfit. Keo show us your Ed Hardy collection. Eish…
The Kiwi’s arrest Vata Ngobeni but they allow “gangsta” Keo to walk around NZ like a boss.
@Helen(Helen)-75:
Fronting an active and dynamic blog while being a suck up to the establishment at the same time would be hard act to master.
28 Sep 2011, 09:01 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-80:
Good post.
You’re a very pleasant blogger when you keep it to rugby.
At the moment your team looks unstoppable.
28 Sep 2011, 09:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-80: I actually agree with NZRFU about this. It is similar to FIFA at this stage. The only guys scoring from World Cups are the administrators of the International body. They walk away with millions each!
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73: The problem with NZ’s finances start at local level. They cannot fill stadiums on a NPC or Cup level, it’s shocking to see how empty the stadiums are.
A weak local state of financial affairs translates into a weak national balance sheet.
It’s amazing actually how NZ manage to remain the top team in the world in spite of these challenges.
This is why they are pushing the Tri Nations part. Because revenues generated by the SA sponsors contribute a dispraportionate amount to the NZ coffers, (SANZAR).
SA By contrast have a very healthy local comp, Tri Nations and Super Rugby aside.
So the AB’s won’t be winning a WC before 2019……..
28 Sep 2011, 09:03 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-81:
I believe Peter de Villiers went as far as to ban the team from speaking to anyone from keo.co.za.
For all we know, he’s even asked the players not to even read the website!
@poppa69(poppa69)-80:
How are you today sweetie
@David(David)-82:
NZ wont pul out of the RWC.
But as stormersboy said, this is negotiations 101.
NZ want changes and make an outrageous demand, the IRB will counter with next to nothing, but in the end a bone will be thrown that relaxes the rules just a tad and everyone will walk away claiming to be a winner.
28 Sep 2011, 09:04 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-89:
Fat chance. I know there is at least one Bok who posts here under a pseudonymn… you know who you are.
28 Sep 2011, 09:04 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73:
i dont understand what you mean by “we want our share”?
we bring our teams and our money to the table…and you just bring your team and then you take our money from the table. wtf?
we already pay to keep you in the s15 as well the 3n and now you want us to pay for your wc’s too? grief!…
28 Sep 2011, 09:05 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-86: Except that all the other top tier nations manage to maintain a very healthy balance sheet outside of any WC revenue. Not NZ for many reasons (some which I have pointed out, and some that Poppa has also correctly pointed out)@poppa69(poppa69)-80:
28 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
Man these videos are just getting creepier and creepier. Its no wonder they dont have direct access to the Boks. How can you be a serious journo about a sport in your country when your national team wont let you interview them? The time of my departure from this blog is drawing near it seems. The banter is fun but also stupid at times. The insults too much. I understand that theyve said things that are unpopular and for the most part I support that, but I guess it could have been done with a bit more tact. A lot of webs and journos have said the same things in a different way.
If it was funny at least there would be that – but it isnt. Its just juvenile.
28 Sep 2011, 09:06 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:
If South Africa did pull out of SANZAR it would be a financial body blow to the ARU and the NZRFU.
South Africa is a major cash cow.
28 Sep 2011, 09:07 am
@Helen(Helen)-92:
Leave Agile *** Tyrant out of this.
28 Sep 2011, 09:07 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93:
Ja, NZ rugby relies heavily on revenue from SA. Without it, the former ‘gem’ of world rugby (kiwis) would hurry down to the 2nd tier and fight for a place in the top 5
A fairer system would see more Samoans plying their trade in SA than in NZ.
28 Sep 2011, 09:08 am
@David(David)-82: I’m not sure what he is thinking. Or even if he is thinking…..
28 Sep 2011, 09:08 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-95:
I remember the days when keo would get ‘guest bloggers’ online and we had a chance to ‘interview’ coaches and players. Now that would make for an interesting blog
28 Sep 2011, 09:09 am
I’m guessing that Toyworld picked up Keo and Ryan’s caravan park tab, hence this plug.
Next we’ll be treated to rugby metaphors and analogies from the local laundromat.
28 Sep 2011, 09:09 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73: Ah. That’s a different argument altogether. NZRFU’s issue is about the number of sponsors allowed. For your argument… who’s scoring from all the tourists? That’s why a country wants to host the WC, for the tourists. That’s outside NZRFU’s ‘jurisdiction’.
28 Sep 2011, 09:10 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:
I was unaware that NZ shared in the money SARU garners from their local sponsors. NZ certainly don’t share in the gate revenue from SA venues which is reasonable.
But taking a slice of south Africa’s locally generated sponsorship income, that is new!
Can you confiorm that?
28 Sep 2011, 09:11 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-96: Absolutely.
It’s a cardthat i’ve been dissapointed that SARU haven’t played strongly enough in previous negotians, around things line the regional format of the Super 15.
Without us NZ would resort back to playing the Bledisloe cup as theit stalwart midyear test series and the ARU would lose all their marquee players to League and Europe.
They know it, we know it. Why we don’t use it is beyond me.
28 Sep 2011, 09:11 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-101: I doubt it. Pretty sure Toyworld wasn’t too happy to find a guy with sunglasses and weird clothes in the little girl’s segment… and even a pervert recording everything.
28 Sep 2011, 09:12 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-102:
South African tourists to NZ have strict instructions to not spend any money while in NZ. Instead, they are encouraged to pay their way by giving rugby advice to the locals.
28 Sep 2011, 09:14 am
@Brads(Brads)-103: The SANZAR agreement shares the revenue between the 3 countries 9 I cannot remember the exact formula, it should be easy to google if you have time). The largest potion of the revenue comes from Multi-Choice I believe. So whilst we generate the lions share of the revenue, we share a dispraportionate amount of that with the other 2.
28 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
@Brads(Brads)-103:
Just look at the attendances at NZ games. It is clear that they are the poor cousin in the Sanzar arrangement.
SA subsidises NZ rugby, always have and sadly always will.
If it weren’t for SA revenue, New Zealand would struggle to keep their players.
@Brads(Brads)-103: Ah. Indirectly yes. Remember that hosting unions (the provincial unions) have to pay a large amount (millions) for the rights to host a game between international (including SuperRugby) games. All these sponsors and gateway fees make part of that fee. It is paid to SARU, who in turn pay SANZAR (and/or IRB… depends) and each partner gets his share.
@Helen(Helen)-100: yeah – the only real reason I still come here is for the banter, apart from that I get my real rugby news elsewhere. Thats not so overly opinionated and one sided. I do agree with a lot they say but I also feel theres always an agenda. Like the Butch James thing. In the Tri Nations I may have supported that view to some extent but how Steyn came right in the last game and has continued to impress has been a revelation. he is a points machine, he is the only flyhalf in the tournament who is kicking the leather off the new ball and getting a better strike rate than before (all other flyhalves have dropped in accuracy – with players like Jonny Wilkinson and Boofhead Cooper down to a measly 50% accuracy and the likes of Dan Carter down to a low of 67% as opposed to our man sitting at (85% accuracy with 2 of the 3 tests at 100%) – now that is impressive. He also has huge BMT, is realy trying to tackle more, and run more – he has taken the advice and is heeding it. So to still be saying that Butch James should be our man going forward is really dubious. He offers little more than harder tackles in comparison to Morne. Even 4 years ago it was Percy slotting the kicks not Butch.
28 Sep 2011, 09:16 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107:
That makes the kiwi arrogance on this blog so much more unbearable.
28 Sep 2011, 09:16 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-97:

was thinking the same thing.
@Helen(Helen)-98:
well, in a nutshell..yes…
although i’m pretty sure a lot of the other big heads in nzru and outside of it dont think the same way. it just looks bad.
28 Sep 2011, 09:17 am
@Bouts(Bouts)-105: From a distance the store manager thought Ryan was filming a seven year old.
28 Sep 2011, 09:19 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-107:
That is not answering my question.
My understanding was only the income from the SANZAR contract with Newscorp was divied up and as SA had the largest TV audience. SA got the largest slice of the cake.
You have now thrown out the notion that the income from all sponsors go into the pool.
That is news to me
Can you confirm it?
28 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
i have not posted since the 2007 world cup but i follow the posts from time to time , i agree with an earlier post we want more informative info , these are huge games now so we want great insight , not the ramblings of a wierdo in a toystore
28 Sep 2011, 09:21 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-85: look, Ive been projecting my anger due to personal reasons onto you guys and realise its been completely abhorrent, disgusting, inflammatory and wrong… I wish I could take things back but I cant, its something Im definitely not proud of and I will have to live with it… for that I truly am sorry..
not so sure on the AB’s, Reid just returning will either be a spectacular success or an utter failure, and I dont have confidence in penalty machine Thompson or NZ’s version of Spies Vito against the likes of your pack.. We still have weaknesses at front row, lock and at halfback… Argentina will give us some gauge as their forward pack is highly competitve, but they still fall short of the combativeness of your pack. I do think they will provide us with a much needed step up in intensity, thus helping us to build towards the all important semi… (Aussie or the Bokkes will require a lift again)..
all kiwis will be apprehensive, things seem to be following the same patterns as previous WC’s, and I worry we will be underdone come semi time… again..
@Bouts(Bouts)-86: to a point I do too, its like the signage deal that caused the riff in 2003 and meant Aus hosted alone… but the reported amount of money spent on the 2007 campaign (if true) was ludicrous.. it highlights poor management IMO..
28 Sep 2011, 09:22 am
Interesting stats so far:
Most Points For:
NZ 161
SA 153
Eng 121
Least Points Against:
SA 19
Eng 22
Aus 26
Most Tries For:
NZ 24
SA 20
Eng 17
Least Tries Against:
SA 1
Aus 1
Eng 1
SA is the only team that features in every one of these stats.
28 Sep 2011, 09:23 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
***** pops they’re gonna eat you alive now
28 Sep 2011, 09:25 am
@Helen(Helen)-90: Im alright, yourself?
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: Say what? Wow. Blown away.
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
Forgiven!
Welcome back
*holds out manicured hand of peace*
@Brads(Brads)-114: It is well summed up in post 109.
The main gist of the point is that NZ share in Revenue out of the SANZAR agreement that is dispraportionate to the revenue that they contribute.
@Helen(Helen)-108:
Correct, the money required to run NZ rugby is horrendous.
Some fool in the NZRU accounting room decided several years ago to start gouging the local fans.
We have voted with our feet.
28 Sep 2011, 09:26 am
My experience with Poppa has never been negative. I have stuck to rugby with him and he’s responded in the same way.
It’s like that with most things in life. You get what you expect.
28 Sep 2011, 09:27 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-118:
Humility is the highest form of Humanity.
It is universally respected, even in SA, believe it or not!
28 Sep 2011, 09:27 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: I think read will be just the tonic needed. Unless he cant make the step up quickly enough but he is a 100% er kind of guy. So I cant see him not making an immediate impact – just like Brussouw. Agree Adam Thompson is a brain **** penalty machine and why he is there instead of Todd the f knows. He was highly impressive in the Super 15. Richie still seems a bit off the pace himself. But I think a return from Read would be a huge boost for the Al Blacks – he´s been the missing piece to the puzzle.
28 Sep 2011, 09:28 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: Hey, I can actually read through that post.
On the Argies, I think their pack/front row will be less competitive without Roncero at loosehead. And certainly without Lobbe at 8 (and as captain). Those were two of their most influential players and I fear for their chances now. Also, Contemponi is still battling a rib injury, so they’re not looking too good right now. Pity.
28 Sep 2011, 09:28 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-126: a great no Phart is a swear word too – childish prats.
28 Sep 2011, 09:29 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-119:
I am floating on a cloud of Poppa69 admiration, thanks for asking.
28 Sep 2011, 09:32 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-122:
Okay, we agree NZ doesnt share in the local income generated by brewery sponsors etc, so we are only talking about Newscorp revenue.
By population SA is around 10 times the size of NZ and 3 times the size of Aus.
Are you suggesting SA should get something like 70%, Aus 20% and NZ 10% ?
28 Sep 2011, 09:33 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-118: if they do then I deserve it, so have to man up and take it on the chin..
@Helen(Helen)-121: appreciate that offer, thanks..
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-126: yep, Read brings that balance to the loosies, a retreaded 6 that has grown with each game he plays… i wonder if his injury is fully healed though? it would be catastrophic if he reinjures himself…
Todd or the younger Braid would have been a much better option than thompson, who proved conclusively in 2009 he couldnt step up to test rugby, our version of Meisekind
28 Sep 2011, 09:34 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
The kiwis will have to subdue our scum and keep 100% of their lineout ball against SA. If they do that, our loosies are taken out of the game and breakdown momentum sits firmly with kiwis. Our hope is that Vic regains his legendary status as a lineout kingpin. Too much of our hope rests in him
We are more worried about our half back pairing. Morne can be a weak link on defense and FdP has had a few shockers recently. I really hope Nonu refuses to play on a Saturday for religious reasons and that Carter hangs up his boots for ‘personal reasons’ before the semi… we can hope
28 Sep 2011, 09:35 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: I also think the Argies are a poor shadow of their 2007 selves. The All Blacks will have no problem dispatching them, and therein lies the problem. Until Semis you guys would still not have had an adeqaute challenge from anyone. Its a real pity because the French shuld have been the ones. In retrospect looking at that match I think the 3 tries in a matter of minutes just did them in completely.
But for a pro team to crumble like that and not fight back is quite sad. In addition their defence was woeful. So with no direspect at all to the Blacks that really wasnt a huge test of character. Luckily the Boks had a tough one vs Wales and possibly Samoa will be a bit of a physical challenge though I´m positive we are going to annihilate them on Friday. Just hope the injuries dont mount. What you can take from the games is that Dagg is and has been for some time, the best 15 you can field, Kahui is doing great work on wing, and your centre pairing is working well. I have some reservations about the Franks Brothers. Think they were hyped a lot and arent necessarily delivering at the moment. Stil think the selectors missed a trick by leaving out Wyatt Crockett.
Whitelock also doesnt seem to be as strong at lock as he was a year ago. The pack is definitely the only issue at present. Albeit a minor one.
28 Sep 2011, 09:37 am
@Brads(Brads)-130:
They only have 20% of the trophies in Super rugby that wouldn’t be right mate.
NZRFU has been smacked on the currency in this deal, kiwi was around 45 cents when they first negotiated so their NZ$ revenue from this deal has fallen signicantly I think they hedged early on but either way its hurt them big time.
28 Sep 2011, 09:37 am
@Brads(Brads)-114:
no, you mean sa provides the largest slice of the cake.
as the deal involves sharing broadcast revenue of which sa is the biggest generator.
our broadcast revenue is always much more than oz or nz yet we share the the amount given to our rugby unions by newscorp evenly.
as for additional sponsorship monies being shared, i dont know.
28 Sep 2011, 09:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-127: agreed, I would have liked them at full strength, and depth has always been their problem…those 3 players are a huge loss for them, but the style of game they bring imo is similar to what SA offer.. perfect for NZ to prepare, assuming our teams meet in the semi of course..
we’ve been known to bottle it on occassions
@poppa69(poppa69)-131: lol – at the Meisikind comment – yes he´s been extremely dissapointing making some horrific mistakes when attempting to pilfer ball. I agree 100% Read is massive. He is probably the single biggest threat in the loosies for me. The way he was playing before the Cup was absolutely devastating. he is hugely physical. They speak of Kaino being physical but Read really outdoes him by quite some way. If he stays fit you guys will be in good shape. So far the loose trio has been very suspect with Vito and Thompson and a slightly off colour Richie. Hope Read pulls through well.
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: Saffas, suckers for an apology, troof and reconciliation and all that.
Good on you kno.bber and good to see you trying to talk sense again. But that dont mean I aint going to toss some Maoris when I feel like it.
28 Sep 2011, 09:39 am
RL: on the petition, I’ve under performed mate, I’ve not been on the job, I need to push it harder!
28 Sep 2011, 09:39 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-131:
I’m sure you will mate, lets not get too soft on them though its going to be a big month
28 Sep 2011, 09:42 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-136: BTW – really nice to have some decent banter for a change. Especially now that the Cup starts in earnest. May the best team win. Of course I want our lot to retain the Cup and make history but I also acknowledge that it would be really special for the Kiwis to take the cup this year after all the hard work and exceptional form. So I´m a bit torn on the issue – hey but only a bit
28 Sep 2011, 09:43 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
Good on you mate.
Remember what Yoda says:
Anger leads to hate; and hate leads to the dark side…
28 Sep 2011, 09:43 am
@Brads(Brads)-130: NO. What I have been saying is that NZ is in trouble financially. They cannot generate enough revenue from local sources to remain profitable under the current circumstance.
The revenue that they receive from the SANZAR agreement (a great deal of which is not locally generated) has masked the problem to an extent. If SA pulled out of the SANZAR agreement it would probably precipitate a collapse. They should concentrate on getting their house in order locally. That way they wouldn’t alsways come off as the poor cousins in the whole thing.
PS as the post 109 pointed out, it’s not just newscorp.
And one of the reasons that Multi-Choice generate the revenue that they do is that they broadcast not just in SA but throughout Africa and this is a major factor in the revenue generation.
There would not be a local (NZ) alternative that could fill the gap if Multi-choice pulled out, which it certainly would if SA were not involved.
I was lamenting the weak negotiation skills displayed by SARU in not using this bargaining chip better to defend it’s own interests in certain matters (most notably the shocking capitulation of SARU on the regional format of the new Super 15, which benefits the Australians and no one else (no beef with NZ on that score). They are using the Super 15 to compensate for a non-existant local regional comp like our Currie Cup at the expense of the local competitions of the other 2 countries (most certainly your NPC and to a lesser extent our Currie Cup). one of the reasons your local NPC has struggled for attendance is that they are spoiled by the amount of Supe Rugby that they can see. So in essence, a ever expanding Super Rugby format (to the main benefit of Aus at the moment) is canabalising the attendance of the local competitions.
28 Sep 2011, 09:45 am
@Helen(Helen)-117:
Yes, those stats are damned good and considering the competitive pool SA are in, they are arguably way better than NZ.
Here are some more:
Total scores against
SA 19
NZ 39
Average scores
SA 51 – 6
NZ 54-11
28 Sep 2011, 09:47 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-133: @Helen(Helen)-132: we certainly missed a trick not picking Crockett, but I think his failings on that EOYT counted against him… was a standout during the Super season, but henry and Co have shown they havent learnt from 2007..
I cannot understand why you would pick someone like Boric (untried due to injury) and totally disregard the man who DID the job in 2010, namely Donnelly… I understand his form in super rugby was down, but the man stepped up when required… the old adage of it being harder to get into the AB team than out of has fallen away, and we may rue that yet again…
on the Franks brothers, Owen is world class, Ben Im not sold on… Dagg has been superb since injury, I guess youth can be an advantage, I still have my reservations on his defense at times… Whitelock also was injured, so perhaps he is still to regain that form??
Helen, I think big Vic has unfortunately started to lose his invincibility, but agree he is vital… I think if our teams meet you will see the ABs kick for open spaces rather than the sideline… though they may play Williams, I think those two have had some fantastic battles in the lineout, and perhaps thats why he was selected in the squad to combat Vic?
28 Sep 2011, 09:48 am
try not to overload poppa everybody, please.
28 Sep 2011, 09:48 am
Toyworld 3. The All Blacks.
Franks…………..Teddy Bear.
Hore………………….The Incredible Hulk toy.
Woodcock………..A Bulldog
Whitlock…………………..Capt Haddock.
Brad………………………Bison.
Ritchie……………….G.I Joe.
Jerome………….Black Rhino
Read………………..White Rhino.
Cowan……………………Tin Tin.
Dan………………………Ken (Barbie’s boyfriend).
Ma’a………………………………..Decepticon
Sonny Bill…………………….Wolverine.
Jane………………………………..Tarzan
Kahui………………………………..Maori Smurf.
Dagg…………………………..Transformer.
G. Henry……………………………The Fat Controller.
28 Sep 2011, 09:49 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
Who is this.
28 Sep 2011, 09:51 am
I think I know the reason for the NZRU’s financial woes.
Counterfeit goods.
If every “political” Cape Kiwi supporter (or Mighty Half Blacks) did the right thing and bought the real deal, they’d have plenty to go around.
But of course that just wouldn’t be them.
28 Sep 2011, 09:51 am
You back on the medication Popps.
28 Sep 2011, 09:53 am
@cane(cane)-147:
Hore has to be Polygamous Barbie.
28 Sep 2011, 09:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-149: ;D
aint that the truth boet.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143:
You are correct, NZRU are in trouble.
However, where I say Newscorp I actually mean all broadcasting rights, as distinct from local sponsorship in any format that might take.
Yes, if SA were not involved, then a massive chunk of the appeal of SH rugby would be gone, but that is not the case. SA are here and they do compete.
The reason broadcasters outside of SA are interested in screening games, and paying big bucks to do so, is because it is a wider competition than just the Currie Cup.
I will wager you anything you like that the income earned via external broadcasting from the S15 is massively more lucrative to SARU than the Currie Cup.
@cane(cane)-147: Piri = Teletubby.
(maybe TinkywInky?)
28 Sep 2011, 09:56 am
Hahahaha, how many times has poppadoos apologized over the years? Plenty! How Many times has he threatened not to come back? Plenty! A leopard never ever changes it’s spots, once a doos always a doos. He will revert back to normal soon, that much is a certainty!
28 Sep 2011, 09:56 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:
Listen this cape crusader rant is now getting boring
Los hulle uit.
Laat hulle doen wat hulle wil.
28 Sep 2011, 09:57 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-156: You’re secretly one of them, aren’t you? The double life of dawn…
@whatever(whatever)-155:
With that kind of rubbish, who can blame him.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: cheers mate, you dont need to toss maoris, just hand us an amber liquid and we’ll jump
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-141: agree totally, may the best team win, and if it is not to be the ABs, then one of our SH partners would be the preferred option…the old enemy before the convicts, though I would rather face the Aussies in the semi than you guys, only because I think we still have the wood on them..
and against your team it is definitely a 50/50 game and the ticker may not last..
Under the last SANZAR agreement, the ARU received 29% ($US93M) of total revenue with NZ and SA getting 33% ($US107M) and 38 % ($123M) respectively. As part of the protracted negotiations surrounding the awarding of the new Super 15 franchise, all SANZAR Nations agreed to split revenue from the new deal equally as each country would have 5 teams.
The trade off for this concession to the ARU was that the new broadcast deal only included Super 15 games and Tri-nations tests with each Nation being able to negotiate its own deals for rights to their respective in-bound international test and domestic competitions. When these revenues are added to the bottom line, things look decidedly paltry for the ARU.
It has been estimated that with Currie Cup and in-bound tests, SA Rugby has been able to negotiate an extra $US58M, an increase in revenue of 46% on the old agreement. The NZRU, whose NPC is estimated to be worth $US20M, will increase revenue by 13%, even before in-bound test revenue is factored into this figure.
With no third-tier competition to hock, the ARU stands to only increase revenues by 7% or $US7M before in-bound test revenues are considered, not a great prospect given the poor TV ratings of this year’s tests.
So Sanzar activities are split equally however domestic comps and inbound tours are not. Nor should they be. This it is why it is in Australias interest to marginalise our domestic competion.
Interesting to note the difference in perceived value between NZ and SA domestic comps.
28 Sep 2011, 09:58 am
@whatever(whatever)-155:
and you’d know
28 Sep 2011, 09:58 am
Poops, it takes a man to apologize. Good on you mate
I assume I don’t have to ask helen to make you a bunnychow?
28 Sep 2011, 09:59 am
@cane(cane)-150: upped my dosage
28 Sep 2011, 10:00 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-158:
28 Sep 2011, 10:00 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-157:
Are you calling me a toothless rabid Cape Crusader cheap AB jersey wearing alkolis anoniem?
Howveryfuckingdareyou.
28 Sep 2011, 10:01 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-161: leave him be mate, proofs in the pudding… I have to earn that right again…
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-162:
The next bunny chow I pull out goes straight into the DHL bag to popp69
@Gunther(gunther)-160:
The rand is worthless so that is also a big help to SA.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:
You know, you’re right.
Majat Half Black shirts are a dime-a-dozen at Cape Town station…
28 Sep 2011, 10:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
welcome back pops.
@poppa69(poppa69)-166:
Pops you defended NZ and the black jersey don’t beat yourself up too much
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93: JA, “the All Blacks are the biggest drawcard in rugby” didn’t you know?
they want their “share”, dammit or they will go on strike!
Steve Tew has been consulting Zwelinzima Vavi on the best methods of “collective bargaining”
they can’t be playing in World Cups and not getting paid…how the likes of Argentina, Romania, Georgia & Namibia afford to bring teams to the World Cup without being part of a money spinning alliance is a miracle!
Justice 4 the All Blacks
28 Sep 2011, 10:03 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-135:
Wrong.
You threw that comment in without doing a lick of research.
@Dawn(Dawn)-165: I drove past your beemer the other day and I saw you used tippex to put a large silver fern in the back window. While I commend your creativity, you might regret your choice of medium come re-sell time.
Now we just need to reform ET and Langers… and this place will be as peaceful as a rehab clinic during Sunday breakfast
28 Sep 2011, 10:05 am
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-162: thanks
@Gunther(gunther)-170: cheers gunther, yourself and Whatever especially I hope you guys can look past my idiocy.. and thanks
28 Sep 2011, 10:06 am
@Gunther(gunther)-160: Very interesting, particularly that last point. I’m not surprised that ours is more valuable, but the difference is quite surprising.
But 100% correct on the Aussies and the local comp issue.
28 Sep 2011, 10:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-172:
Give him a day or two and normal service will be resumed, seen it before and gave the benefit of doubt, but was disappointed. Happy to lay odds
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-171: yeah, but I also overstepped some pretty obvious boundaries, theres no defense for my defense of the AB jersey with the rubbish I used…
28 Sep 2011, 10:10 am
@Brads(Brads)-153: There’s no doubt that we benefit out of the Super comp. That wasn’t really my point.
I’m still amazed at how the NZRU and a team like the Saders can remain so competative whilst remaining so marginal financially. A credit to them.
I do think they can improve their financial management greatly though.
Give that man a Bells
Makes me want to wear my All Black jersey today. Yes, Popp, I have one and wear it more often than I intend to coz it goes so nicely with everything…
@>^..^< katman(katman)-174:
Cullarts never pimp their rides with Tippex.
How do you know us!
28 Sep 2011, 10:11 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-180:
Don’t stress it, man.
We all overstep from time to time.
You apologised, now just move on.
28 Sep 2011, 10:12 am
@whatever(whatever)-179:
Give the man a break… haven’t you ever stuffed u and hoped for forgiveness?
Trust me, it is easier to forgive than to ask for forgiveness, so hats of to our Maori friend. I think we should all have a moment’s silence followed by a haka wherever we are, to celebrate this moment of Wolrd in Union we’re witnessing
28 Sep 2011, 10:13 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-172: Transie guy that is a pearler, yep makes you think how the hell have Argentina managed to become a competitive team and actually achieve what they have. I mean its not like Sanzar have ever tried to do anything for Argentinian rugby no we left that one for the northern hemisphere. I mean the IRB have literally had to hold a gun to SANZAR’s collective heads to include those pesky Argentinians in a competition and what do we offer them, The awe inspiring Vodacom Cup.
Fu k me if you carry on like this I may shed a tear
@Transformation(Transformation)-172: LOL
28 Sep 2011, 10:14 am
Not
28 Sep 2011, 10:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-180:
I say again. Who is this.
28 Sep 2011, 10:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-176:
let’s not be using me and whatever in the same sentence.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-174:
it depends on the target market.
wait until they discover it’s actually a modified jetta.
28 Sep 2011, 10:17 am
Poppa,
*extends hand* Reckon we should all move on from the past. I remember you were one of my favourite posters before the dark period. Here’s to rugby instead.
28 Sep 2011, 10:17 am
don’t be unnecessary.
this is the best world cup ever!
28 Sep 2011, 10:18 am
@Helen(Helen)-185: Agreed.
Kitchener in 4-3-2-1 to ruin the peace!
28 Sep 2011, 10:18 am
The 5 year deal for S15 is this – Figures are in millions
SA US$180 – 48%
NZ US$120 – 30%
AU US $100 – 25%
The disproportionate amout for NZ compared to Aus is because Aus doesn’t have a domestic comp to prop up and the other two unions (NZ & SA) have ganged up and screwed them to the floor.
Compare that to the previous split for the S14
SA US $123 – 38%
NZ US $107 – 33%
AU US $93 – 29%
However, it does show that despite all the assumptions from SA commentators, SARU does in fact have teeth and have secured the best deal from the partnership.
28 Sep 2011, 10:19 am
@whatever(whatever)-155: it’s because of you and KKK that Poppa lost his sshit, so please leave him alone, he is taking his medication now!
28 Sep 2011, 10:19 am
@Gunther(gunther)-191:
just dont tell him Im about to go do my rounds..
later all…
28 Sep 2011, 10:20 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-192: thanks Michael…
28 Sep 2011, 10:20 am
Poppa guy just remember one thing when you blog with SA dudes. “THIS IS SPARTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” and guy I also used to enjoy your posts, not that my opinion is any more valuable that ice on a glacier.
28 Sep 2011, 10:21 am
@Gunther(gunther)-191:
Shrink your head dude……….
28 Sep 2011, 10:21 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
popps u dont need to take anything back, u a passionate AB supporter and a very decent guy too.
28 Sep 2011, 10:22 am
Good morning all, middle of week can not wait for Friday ?
Maybe just maybe Castro and the Mallet squad can do us a favour this week end.
28 Sep 2011, 10:23 am
Hate it when bloggers go all soft in the head.
28 Sep 2011, 10:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-198: What you did this morning (my time) is brave. It takes a gentleman and a brave human being. In return, I hope you accept my apologies for the things said from my side and that we can all move on properly. Buy you a drink if you’re ever in Blighty.
@francois93(francois93)-199: Yes we love nothing better than banter and the odd argument
@Transformation(Transformation)-196:
Transie, I take no responsibility for popps, he said what he said off his own bat. Just saying I have seen this all before …de jevu boet
Happy to be proved wrong though!
@Dawn(Dawn)-203: Don’t worry. Kitchener will be along later to toughen us up
@Dawn(Dawn)-203:
28 Sep 2011, 10:25 am
Burp!
28 Sep 2011, 10:27 am
Weather forecast for this weekend is “changeable”.
Here in NZ that means bursts of squally rain followed by sunshine then it all repeating itself every half hour.
28 Sep 2011, 10:28 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-204: Sheesh guy we should be a nation of bloody lawyers, I mean Safrican dudes love to rumble.
28 Sep 2011, 10:30 am
Amazing that 71% of people who took part in the (current) poll believe that this Bok team can beat the Aussies and AB’s on successive weekends.
I wonder whether it is only a case of patriotism that took their brains away or whether they are truely deluded.
since we all kissy kissy, its not right calling mccaw cheater either – but is he crooked of hoe?
@Brads(Brads)-195:
that’s not just super 15.
that’s for everything.
why should sa (or NZ for that matter) share their income from domestic comps and inbound tours?
how is that ******** them to the floor?
come now.
As for ET and Kicth, I think we should lock them both in a padded room and give them each a knife and crowbar.
Once a day, we can send someone in to sweep the blood and give a bunny chow to whoever is still conscious.
silly all blacks
@Brads(Brads)-173:
ok i didnt research it but whats wrong about it?
under the old sanzar deal newscorp paid $550 mil for worldwide broadcast rights over 10 years, this money was evenly split between the three member unions yet our contribution in broadcast viewership is the highest (as mutichoice pays more, in turn to newscorp, to show these games here, to a bigger audience).
isn’t it fair to say that sa accounts for more of the revenue that newscorp makes than oz and nz does? if sa ‘offered’ the same amount in revenue to newscorp as you guys do dont you think it would make the whole deal less attractive to newscorp?
sa viewers contribute the most in order for newscorp to make a profit…in turn they can then pay sanzar a lot of money for the tv rights…the money from sanzar was evenly split between unions…
the reworked sanzar deal gunther mentions only marginally changes that as i’m pretty sure that sa viewers are still the major contributors to revenue, after the fact.
i mean, think it through man…is there any way that nz viewers could generate $107 mil in revenue for the nzru under any and all possible circumstances?
Keo – please take Butch off this page….
or i’ll get my shotgun and “take” it off the world wide web…..
the man is glaring at me…
please man…. i can only take it for so long….
28 Sep 2011, 10:31 am
@Brads(Brads)-209:
Love it “changeable”……….leaves it open for the day………………5 seasons in one day as Hellium said………
28 Sep 2011, 10:31 am
are you on drugs???
this thing is preposterous. journalism, seriously?!
i hope you have a day job.
28 Sep 2011, 10:32 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-211:
I will back the boks against the Ausies, but against the kiwis it will be do or die. Whoever wins THAT semi will deserve the cup
28 Sep 2011, 10:33 am
did anyone hear Helium when he said we want to play our “maps”, hy bedoel ons wil al ons kaarte speel….
@Helen(Helen)-214: Have faith in the Jocks, if they win end of Kitchener although I am sure he will slide back in under another name, but it wont matter cause we will always have the You Tube file. If I lose look out for my rebirth as Pienaar95
@Staal(Staal)-216:
If he winks, log off
28 Sep 2011, 10:35 am
@Staal(Staal)-216: Jy al Vic se book ge-pre-order?
Of maak jy hom sit op die plaas, en laat hom die boek aan jou voorlees?
28 Sep 2011, 10:35 am
@Staal(Staal)-216:
Agree, it’s like a Moray eel staring at you- Unsure whether it is shy or or about to become aggressive.How is the diving going?
28 Sep 2011, 10:36 am
@whatever(whatever)-222: now you’ve got me sierieaaaasly worried
@francois93(francois93)-210: If you want a nation of lawyers then visit Malta. Virtually every politician there is a lawyer…
@francois93(francois93)-210: We also like making up over a good braai after and grumble about something else
28 Sep 2011, 10:38 am
@Gunther(gunther)-213:
You have come in late.
The issue started over a comment that SA gave away more than their fair share of the SANZAR income, and lacked the balls to stamp on their partners to get what they deserve.
My figures refute the original assertion.
However, I am bored with the topic – lets move on!
28 Sep 2011, 10:39 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-176:
“and Whatever especially I hope you guys can “………..”
Phukk me, Popps. Don’t get too carried away.
Lay off the purple ones.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-226: lol, well Layers are like Sith apprentices to their Darklord Politico masters. the biggest oxymoron in the world is “an independent judiciary”
@Robzim(Robzim)-224: Moray
just came back from Red Sea last month… going to Madagascar in months time and Dec in Moz….
eish but the rand is not good!
yourself?
28 Sep 2011, 10:40 am
sorry 2 months ago.
28 Sep 2011, 10:44 am
@francois93(francois93)-230: There are a few good Maltese sayings for it, none of which I know how to write even though I am married to a Maltese
@cane(cane)-229:
Cane, who’s pissi ng in your ear?
Let the man apologise in peace
@Michael(mikeybrass)-227: the sanctity of the braai, thine sacrosanct place where all ills are forgotten while the wood burns and the meat chars, where grown men are made whole and hearty and beer is served in ice cold mugs and women fade to a distant buzz whilst contributing salads and such. Sigh the world would be a sadder and more desperate place without the braai in it.
28 Sep 2011, 10:45 am
@Brads(Brads)-228:
your figures are for everything not the super 15 cash (which is shared equally).
moving on.
@Robzim(Robzim)-224:
his eyes are too close together.
the sinister vibe is probably the photgrapher putting a fine stocking over the lens to give it grainy look.
I did the same thing when I took muff shots for Hustler in the 90′s for extra pocket money
28 Sep 2011, 10:45 am
@Staal(Staal)-232:
Hou op!
Jy laat my lag!
28 Sep 2011, 10:46 am
OK guys – gotto run.
be good and go BIG!.
You only live once!!
@Staal(Staal)-231:
Just back from Europe- sadly no diving- closest to it being the sighting of a jumping fish at Dartmouth,England.
Otherwise fine, thanks.
@Robzim(Robzim)-211:
Even I voted YES Robbie.
The key word is, “Could” the Boks beat…………………………….
Well of course they could.
29% of those participating in the Poll are obviously morons.
28 Sep 2011, 10:48 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-237: hey – time flies!
28 Sep 2011, 10:49 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-239: before i go just wanna say i’ll friggen never ever get in those cold waters…. never ever!
i’ve got standards man… standards…. min 26degrees or i stay up top!
28 Sep 2011, 10:50 am
I CANT FUKING BELIEVE HE RATES SPIES!!!!!! THIS OKE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT RUGBY!!!!!! IM NEVER LOOKING AT THIS KAK SIGHT AGAIN!!!!! I THINK KEO JUST JUMPED TO MY MOST ANNOYING PERSON IN THE WORLD
1.MARK KEOHANE
2.JULIUS MALEMA
I THINK IM BOUT TO HAVE A HEART ATTACK!!!!!
28 Sep 2011, 10:52 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: Feel better?
28 Sep 2011, 10:52 am
@cane(cane)-240:
I think ET voted a few times.
He has free SkypeGoogleInterweb.
It’s one of his special powers as a Cape Crusader.
28 Sep 2011, 10:54 am
@francois93(francois93)-235: I couldn’t put it better
My wife’s always amused to see me so happy on the rare days I can braai in England. She also knows better than to dare suggest how to cook the burgers!
Tablet for seabiscuit please
@oneslickpenguin(oneslickpenguin)-218:
Penguin.
The brilliance of the above piece,
is.
It is a piece of ****.
Even Keo will most likely admit that.
But hey ………………………………….WTF.
Fun in a Toy Shop…………………………..why must we grow up.
28 Sep 2011, 10:55 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: Have a braai dude. You’ll feel better.
28 Sep 2011, 10:55 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: lights the bong of peace, takes a very deep pull and hands it over ” chill bra, its all good”
28 Sep 2011, 10:57 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-249: heheheh lol, never let them get their hands on the tongs, the credit card, the new car, the tv remote all acceptable, fight for the tongs like your life depends on it.
28 Sep 2011, 10:58 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243:
The only reason Keo held up a toy Macho Man (or whatever it was), to represent Spies, is because you couldn’t find a toy Show Pony.
28 Sep 2011, 10:58 am
you = he.
28 Sep 2011, 10:59 am
I see you boys have taken up the NZ national pass time… drinking all day
@francois93(francois93)-251: She doesn’t know where the tonmgs are hidden *grins*
Who braais burgers?
Here we braai real meat and chicken.
28 Sep 2011, 11:00 am
@francois93(francois93)-251: I managed to get her addicted to biltong years ago
The SA store at Embankment in London sells great original and chilli biltong.
28 Sep 2011, 11:01 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-256: Burgers, steak, chicken, the whole lot ! Of course we braai burgers
28 Sep 2011, 11:01 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-233: Don’t let Capo read this. He might get the wrong idea.
28 Sep 2011, 11:02 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-256:
That’s what the Whoore Susie said.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-255: heheheh, keep mine hidden in the garden shed, my missus wont go in there on account of a foul and mysterious odor emanating from deep within. Nothing like three day old pizza to keep unwanted visitors out.
@cane(cane)-252: Ha ha.
28 Sep 2011, 11:03 am
@francois93(francois93)-261: Mine’s in the shed too, hidden by my cycle bike which she doesn’t dare move on pain of death
28 Sep 2011, 11:04 am
Too much *** kissing going on today….Bok’s overrated at the moment..I can’t wait for Wobblies to kick your arses and bring you guy’s back down to earth again.
Without Steyn you guys would be no hopers:)
28 Sep 2011, 11:05 am
@cane(cane)-260: My mothers name is Suze
28 Sep 2011, 11:06 am
eish same old ***** as per daily requirements
@toby(toby)-264:
With Quade you guys are no-hopers.
Please make sure he’s picked for the quarter final
Poppa no one believes that bollocks…
28 Sep 2011, 11:09 am
@Helen(Helen)-267: Helen their not my team..actually I would prefer a Bok’s vs AB’s final but don’t see your boys will get past the Wallabies..
@francois93(francois93)-265:
The Susie I speak of,
is one,
Susan Dawn Von Dronkalaar.
Please, please, francois…………………………………say it is not so!
@toby(toby)-264: Good job we have two Steyns then.
28 Sep 2011, 11:11 am
Samoa will face an angry bok team this week.
Expect 80mins of relentless bone breaking clean-outs and a barrage of perfectly placed up and unders, not to mention a scrum that will run backwards
28 Sep 2011, 11:12 am
@cane(cane)-270: hehehehe, sheesh I think it should be mandatory for everyone who logs onto keo to have at least one joint before doing so, feel the love dudes stop the hating. I am feeling Lennonesque at the moment.
28 Sep 2011, 11:13 am
@whatever(whatever)-205: i know what you mean, he “apologised” in july and said he won’t post again and now another “apology” today…
let’s give him the benefit of the doubt but not be surprised if the monster comes out once the all blacks knock the bokke out of the semis – if we’ll even get there.
but for now, let’s support the patient.
28 Sep 2011, 11:14 am
@toby(toby)-264:
too right toby.
too much **** kissing.
But lets just enjoy the moment’.
The calm before the Quarters.
I for one, give notice,
come the Quarters…………….it’s …………..”No more Mr Nice Guy”.
28 Sep 2011, 11:16 am
@Helen(Helen)-272: Don’t say “running backwards” or Grantie will be here with turbo-reverse before you can say “first gear”.
@Transformation(Transformation)-274:
Shweeeet
@toby(toby)-269:
I have no doubt that we’ll get to the semis.
1) Ausies have a wounded ego and recent losses to Samoa and Ireland have done their confidence no favours.
2) Boks are peaking and getting back to their preferred forward dominance.
3) Our squad is settled and we have game breakers that break the opposition in the last 30mins.
4) Quade Cooper is a liability at RWC.
5) Having a foreign coach when you’re playing for national pride detracts from the emotion and patriotism that the boks will obviously experience. SA respond better to the intense emotions of big games.
Thise are the fluffy reasons. The practical reasons is that Aus will not have an answer for Brussouw, Hougaard, Burger, Steyn & Steyn
@Transformation(Transformation)-274: There are a few bloggers on here who could benefit from apologising from time to time.
28 Sep 2011, 11:17 am
@toby(toby)-264: Too bad he is one of our players then isn’t it
28 Sep 2011, 11:18 am
For the record Transie, he has apologised about three or four times prior to July, but happy the go with the flow…………….
Bok’s been rubbish in Tri-Nations they only won 3 of 16 attempts and they don’t deserve a larger share of revenue….in fact major total underachiever’s
Who said we need you guy’s so badly anyway…the Ab’s could do a Bledisloe cup every year and slay the NH for fun and revenue every year.
@francois93(francois93)-273:
Lennon got shot.
I, on the hand, feel a bit PaulMcCarthyesque. he’s a survivor
28 Sep 2011, 11:20 am
@toby(toby)-282: We supply the bulk of the audiences, hence the bulk of the revenue stream, and the Aussies haven’t exactly won the Tri Nations more times…
You guys rely on us.
@Helen(Helen)-278: Wobblies bet your team recently on your turf:)
Poor Quade can’t even sell a dummy anymore because by now everyone knows it’s probably stolen.
28 Sep 2011, 11:21 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a D cup)-279:
Still most of us find it a very hard thing to do.
Specially if someone wound us up first.
Or we are intoxicated!
Or both.
28 Sep 2011, 11:21 am
@toby(toby)-282:
bwhahahahaha…..
NZ rugby will join the ranks of Samoa and Cook Island if it were’nt for the cash, revenue, support and publicity generated from SA’s die hard fans.
How does all this change with the Argies joining next year?
I wouldn’t mind developing their rugby a bit. NZ have been riding on our coat tails for too long now and even with all the support, haven’t won a world cup in 24 years
28 Sep 2011, 11:22 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-284: Aussies aren’t the ones whinging though…they should perform then start bitchin:)
28 Sep 2011, 11:22 am
@toby(toby)-285:
Sammoa beat the aussies recently ON THEIR TURF, buddy pal
28 Sep 2011, 11:23 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-286:
Oooooooooh katman………………………………………………..A pearl.
28 Sep 2011, 11:23 am
hahahahaha
28 Sep 2011, 11:24 am
Can’t wait to see Quade yellow carded for Breaking and Entering the ruck from the side…
28 Sep 2011, 11:24 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-279: ja nee, but if they apologise today and then next week they back to talking smack then what?
28 Sep 2011, 11:25 am
@cane(cane)-252: Ah. Yeah. Agree.
But that’s a toy of Batista from WWE. Even though he’s now a steroid-pumping wrestler, that guy would have been scary in the US rugby team! Hmmm… I’d say he’s about 2meters tall and seems to be really strong even though he’s pumped the way he is.
Hehe. On CNN there was an article recently where the americans talked about Lomu, which was considered a freak. Then he continued by saying they have hordes of freaks in the US who would rule rugby.
Guess they don’t understand why we call him a freak. Not because he’s big, but rather that he’s strong, fast and can play 80min despite the fact that he’s so big.
@whatever(whatever)-281: don’t worry, i know…got it on record.
I can see Helen in the morning putting her hands together pushing it out so that all the knuckles crack and says: OK, kom al julle KEO bliksems!!!! Vandag Moer ek julle!!!!!
28 Sep 2011, 11:26 am
@cane(cane)-291: “Oooooooooooh”… Chrissakes, are you mo.f?
When Quade scores a dubious try, they won’t use the tv ref, but instead a squad from CSI will be on hand
@Helen(Helen)-288:
True we haven’t won a WC for 24 yrs.
But we still kick your arsses with regular monotony.
28 Sep 2011, 11:28 am
@Helen(Helen)-288: Puma’s just a cash cow ..they have never beaten the AB’s or Bok’s and Wobblies 4 times…waste of bloody time….and will just give Bok’s supporter’s a chance to whinge about long travel times:)
@Transformation(Transformation)-294:
Then we castrate them with the back end of a soup spoon
@Helen(Helen)-283: I always thought Ringo was the best looking of the bunch
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-298:
care to explain
28 Sep 2011, 11:29 am
@Helen(Helen)-290: We beat your second string team, you bet ours (Ab’s) is bloody meaningless lol
28 Sep 2011, 11:30 am
@cane(cane)-300:
Saw your arse last game dude!
28 Sep 2011, 11:32 am
@toby(toby)-301:
Arg will take a season or two to get into it, but then they’ll challenge the Aussies for third place
28 Sep 2011, 11:32 am
@Helen(Helen)-299: I won’t care cause it’s not my team…..you can blame it all on a Paddy conspiracy:)
28 Sep 2011, 11:33 am
What is with this keo tv **** what a crock of ****.
28 Sep 2011, 11:33 am
@toby(toby)-305:
Samoa, ranked 12th, beat the Ausies AT HOME
Ireland, well past their prime and ranked 6th before the world cup, beat the shackledraggers good and solid.
Proud recent history
28 Sep 2011, 11:34 am
@Helen(Helen)-307: It’s really just because your team is sick of being wooden spooners..haha
28 Sep 2011, 11:34 am
@toby(toby)-301:
Argentina have few if any, Home based Pro’s.
I think they should have been given a couple of Super Teams first.
Putting them straight into a 4 Nations, is putting the cart before the horse.
They will win nothing, and only add to the already ridiculous travel schedule.
28 Sep 2011, 11:35 am
And speaking of toys (and Quade), I believe he was gutted to find out that 1267 Aussies did not in fact buy his action figure last year.
And who calls a car a mini cooper anyway?
lol eyes to the right.
@Helen(Helen)-310: Aussie are like hot n cold water and it’s gonna run hot on your day I bet:)
@toby(toby)-311:
you a kiwi?
must say, you sound like you’re from Sri Lanka
@cane(cane)-312: Descartes before deshorse, fark I better log off.
28 Sep 2011, 11:36 am
@Helen(Helen)-310:
Ireland have the OLDEST squad at this WC.
Australia have the youngest.
I’d like to Ireland go all the way to the final.
28 Sep 2011, 11:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313: lol at-least Helen is sort of funny
28 Sep 2011, 11:37 am
@pompies(pompies)-314:
Pompies from pa?
28 Sep 2011, 11:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313: lololo, I shall call him mini Genia, its Just like the real Quade only one eighth the size.
Fark now I really gotta log off.
28 Sep 2011, 11:38 am
@Helen(Helen)-316: If your going to have a go do better than that…that was sad
28 Sep 2011, 11:40 am
Ok I’m off see you wooden spooner’s:)
28 Sep 2011, 11:41 am
@francois93(francois93)-317:
Descartes!!!
I think you are on the wrong site franz.
28 Sep 2011, 11:41 am
**** cane from wellington is it ? Howzit going bro.
28 Sep 2011, 11:43 am
@cane(cane)-324: Yep I am way to chilled for Keo today dude, Wallabies, Boks, AB’s ahhh shud up and pass the beer guy.
28 Sep 2011, 11:46 am
@pompies(pompies)-325:
It’s been a long long time pompy.
Welcome back
( a cyber handshake over the time zones).
Hey……………………..what’s with the **** before the cane ??
28 Sep 2011, 11:50 am
hit witha s bro who’s moderating nower days?
28 Sep 2011, 11:52 am
scared of the boks yet?
28 Sep 2011, 11:54 am
cane you tackles and big hit have me worried.
28 Sep 2011, 12:07 pm
huh? what’s with all these suisides in our country..
first it was Kebble,
Lolly
his prokerower
and now another guy….
28 Sep 2011, 12:08 pm
@pompies(pompies)-328:
Moderating………………………………………………….not sure if it’s done at all Pompy.
I think they rely on some kind of spell-check filter.
It’s like the wild west here most days.
Today however is a feel good day.
Poppa (a kiwi) has apologised for some 3 months of tirades against your cuntrymen.
Which, most of yours, have accepted with grace and dignity.
But this a phony peace.
As tension builds into the quarters and beyond,
so to, will manners and niceties fly out the window.
28 Sep 2011, 12:11 pm
1.Guthro(Beast 60 mins) 2.Smit(c)-(Bismark 50mins) 3.Jannie(CJ 65mins) 4.Bakkies(Rossouw 55mins) 6.Brussow 7.Burger 8.Spies(Alberts 55mins)
9.du Preez 10.Morne 11.Habana(Hougie-60mins) 12.Steyn 13.Fourie 14.JPP 15.Lambie
vs
1.Kepu(Slipper 65 mins) 2.Moore(Polotu-Nau-60 mins) 3.Alexander 4.Horwill 5.Simmons 6.Elsom(Higginbotham 60mins) 7.Pocock 8.Samo(McAlman 55mins) 9.Genia 10.Cooper 11.Iaone 12.McCabe(Barnes 55mins) 13.Faingaa(O’Connor 65mins) 14.Ashley Cooper 15.Beale
Quarter Final.
Close game but would back the Boks by 5
28 Sep 2011, 12:13 pm
@toby(toby)-289: Yeah, it’s the Kiwis who are bitching about money
28 Sep 2011, 12:15 pm
@cane(cane)-300: PdV’s record is 5 wins out of 11 matches against you guys with one extra match having been played in NZ and us having sent a B team against you on 2 occassions under him. Not exactly “regular monotony”
28 Sep 2011, 12:16 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-333:
Boks by 5.
I’d agree.
But the Aussies are a Team that can manufacture 7 points from nothing.
They may not be quite there yet. But they have potentially the best back line in modern times.
28 Sep 2011, 12:18 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-335:
okay……………………………………….
You got me there Mikey.
how about:
-semi-regular monotony.
28 Sep 2011, 12:19 pm
@Staal(Staal)-331:
The f*cked up underworld of this country…Drug world,human trafficking, “security companies”, nightclubs, “tow-truck services” etc…Sh*t is going belly-up…Benoni,Alberton,Boksburg,Jhb’s etc ” FINEST”…..Run by Eastern European’s,Lebanese,Portuguese,Italians etc…(Generalisations of course BUT more of them than any in that world)
Read Killing Kebble…..Sum scary sh*t right there.Disgusting vile human scum walking these of SA
28 Sep 2011, 12:21 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-333: You forgot JdV
28 Sep 2011, 12:22 pm
@cane(cane)-336: Not if you dominate them up front
28 Sep 2011, 12:23 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-338:
I know.
And that’s just the police force.
ahem I mean service.
28 Sep 2011, 12:24 pm
@cane(cane)-336:
True about backline,but more accurately-Genia/Cooper/Oconnor/Iaone/Beale…
But as you said,no there yet…. And the fact that they still have a weak pack.Robinson HUGE loss for them and banking on Polotu-Nau & Palu to provide hard edge has not materialised as they are heavily undercooked.
Add no one in team is a 80% goalkicker.
28 Sep 2011, 12:26 pm
@capebull(capebull)-340:
Also true.
But that dominance must show no cracks.
28 Sep 2011, 12:28 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-341:
Old remnants of the apartheid “hit squads”(CCB) still circulating within police force,intelligence bodies as well as these “so called security companies”,businesses in nightlife etc….
28 Sep 2011, 12:29 pm
@capebull(capebull)-339:
I didnt forget…
He will only come on if there is an injury.Enforce change unless he gets last 10-15 mins
28 Sep 2011, 12:30 pm
@pompies(pompies)-330:
Pompies, what’s up with the name?
Is that the Beaufort West equivalent of a quicky?
28 Sep 2011, 12:30 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-342:
Oz goal kicking is pathetic. I agree mish.
Considering their Coach was a goal kicker himself, it seems strange that this aspect of their game has not improved over the last year.
28 Sep 2011, 12:32 pm
As is the nature of this competition, all games in the knockout stages could go either way, with the exception of the NZ vs Arg semi which I feel is a foregone conclusion. Aus vs SA is 50/50 i reckon, whoever turns up on the day will take it, both teams capabable of putting on a horror show when the mood takes them. NZ vs SA is more like 65/35, we’ll have to do everything right and have a bit of good fortune to progress, imo. even in 2009 when we had the ABs number, the away game was still pretty tight.
28 Sep 2011, 12:34 pm
I wonder why Quade has not been given a run on open side flank.
If rugby balls were shaped like laptops, he’d make Brussouw feel like a ageing cat burglar hiding in the Mr Price change rooms
28 Sep 2011, 12:35 pm
So Keo’s little comedy act gets 350 posts.
Impressive.
Imagine what will happen when the 3 Stooges join forces.
JC, Ryan and Keo.
a.k.a. Larry, Curly and Moe
28 Sep 2011, 12:36 pm
@cane(cane)-347:
i can see them starting Barnes at 12 but Deans seems to be huge fan of McCabe.In fact their midfield in McCabe/Faingaa is the epitome of average.Style points on the outside backs
28 Sep 2011, 12:37 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-338: @Gunther(gunther)-341: who killed Hazel Crane?
28 Sep 2011, 12:38 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-351:
As I’ve been saying all these months. Their midfield is mediocre, nevermind average.
28 Sep 2011, 12:40 pm
@cane(cane)-350: he could have posted a Palme d’Or winning documentary and people would eventually be talking about something different in the comments section
@cane(cane)-350:
same reason that Paris Hilton gets fan mail.
just waiting for keo’s s ex video to be leaked.
probably with a stern disclaimer that “no koala bears were in the making of this video”
no koala bears HURT, that is
28 Sep 2011, 12:43 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-352:
Who killed Hazel the Crane?
Probably Jeffrey the Ostrich.
He never came clean on his whereabouts that day and his DNA matched the bird sh it found on the back seat
28 Sep 2011, 12:45 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-351:
He needs to pick an octopus at 12 to make sure gets to the no-look, no-hands, no-purpose passes from Quade
28 Sep 2011, 12:46 pm
Mossad.
28 Sep 2011, 12:46 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-351: before o’connor started his boozing, ashley-cooper was the 13, with mccabe as the incumbent 12 – since barnes excused himself because of migraines and deans’ fallout with giteau – and faingaa as the sub…
28 Sep 2011, 12:47 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-359: in that case lets get to another subject please..
28 Sep 2011, 12:48 pm
Keo and Ryan need to leave this Cafe now. It’s getting embarrassing. Are they sleeping there at night too?
28 Sep 2011, 12:48 pm
Bangcolile abelungu sbali.
That case is still not solved i Think. But its suspected (as said on the book-Killing Kebble) it had a Lebanese organised crime connection as her patner/love interest at the time was an individual with ties to that world.
The book alludes to a lot of things one of those was Crane’s shooting…That world has little respect for human life…Crazy thing is that,that world has a lot of close connections/links with prominent business,old money and religious groups,even rugby fraternity…Scary
28 Sep 2011, 12:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-359: that was also some crazy sshit…bikers at a robot spraying the lead and zipping off…
did yuri the russian also go in the same way last year?
28 Sep 2011, 12:51 pm
@Staal(Staal)-361:
They are watching you as you speak.
In fact they have a submarine parked in your dam.
Waiting for a headshot on an unsuspecting kudu.
The delights of kosher biltong.
28 Sep 2011, 12:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-364:
“Yuri the Russian”??
Sounds like a character in The Whole 9 Yards
28 Sep 2011, 12:52 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-362: no, this is Toy World now, not the Bok Cafe
28 Sep 2011, 12:53 pm
indeed.
and my mate cyril.
28 Sep 2011, 12:54 pm
Dude they found one of Lolly Jackson former business associates dead in Alberton this morning.Executiion style.After early in week finding his lawyer burnt to death…
Kushubile BLIND
28 Sep 2011, 12:54 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-362:
No, but their love bug combi is parked at the roadhouse, so they’ll probably kip there tonight
28 Sep 2011, 12:55 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-369:
With a friend like Lolly, who needs Dr Kivorkian?
28 Sep 2011, 12:56 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-368:
Beeker or Green?
28 Sep 2011, 12:57 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-159: Like I said yesterday. I luv ya Poppa!
@Helen(Helen)-371:
@Helen(Helen)-370:
28 Sep 2011, 12:59 pm
@Helen(Helen)-366: Yuri the Russian is playing in the World Cup. I think he is the flyhalf.
28 Sep 2011, 13:00 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-367: Ok then. Better. I thought the owners of the shop were going to have to have them forceably removed from the premises for making video’s in their shop.
28 Sep 2011, 13:01 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-373:
I think he’s gone now.
washing the feet of some holy person and biting chunks out of the inside of his cheeks.
All part of the redemption process.
who’s this “mafia” type guy who’s out ons bail? read somewhere he is a kingpin around all this…
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-369: YESSES!!!!!!
awadlali lamangamla neh?
28 Sep 2011, 13:02 pm
ons = on
28 Sep 2011, 13:03 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-376:
a communist flyhalf!
Now, that’s an orignal concept.
He makes sure every member of the backline handles the ball for an equal period of time and if someone gets hurt, they all punch themselves in the balls in solidarity.
28 Sep 2011, 13:04 pm
and to top it all our some of our top cops seems to have missed the “ethic classes”…
28 Sep 2011, 13:04 pm
@Helen(Helen)-382: LMAO!
28 Sep 2011, 13:05 pm
@Staal(Staal)-379:
That the Czech fugitive.
He was caught engaging in anal s ex with a man from Melrose..
Apparently the Czeck’s is in the male!
28 Sep 2011, 13:07 pm
@Helen(Helen)-385:
Were you really a Bulls babe? Didnt know those chicks are this clever.
Googled it:
Radovan Krecjir
@Staal(Staal)-383:
Cops and ethics in the same sentence?
That’s like saying eenie miney Mo Shaik is head of Government Intelligence
28 Sep 2011, 13:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-380:
Filth ndoda. Absolute filth.
Ilaba abahambisa izingane zabo ekuseni esikoleni(St Davids etc) bese ntambama bakwazi ukubulala abantu.Ebusuku abuyele ekhaya ayofunda ibedtym story kwintwana yakhe.And sponsor the 1st rugby team.
28 Sep 2011, 13:09 pm
@Helen(Helen)-388: ys daais tragic man!
28 Sep 2011, 13:09 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-386:
You think I’m clever?
That’s so sweet.
I have a few well paid ghost writers that blog here for me, Casper, Gabriel and then some new guy who left his body in the boot of a Mazda outside Teasers
28 Sep 2011, 13:10 pm
what the hell is it with us….
or are we just the same as all the others?
28 Sep 2011, 13:11 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-386:
Yes, I was one of the Babes when Steve used to be the Loftus cheerleader.
28 Sep 2011, 13:13 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-389: hawu hawu hawu…sizophela sbali
28 Sep 2011, 13:13 pm
@Staal(Staal)-387:
They’re gonna track your search to you I.P. address and before you know it, you find your labrador floating in the koi pond and your friends start calling you a p*** for no reason…
gets some eyes in the back of your head buddy. It;s been nice knowing you
28 Sep 2011, 13:14 pm
@Helen(Helen)-378: Told ya he is a good guy.
28 Sep 2011, 13:14 pm
We All Post ****.
Why can’t Keo have a little fun.
I am in awe of the man for his bravery.
And so should you muppits.
The fun could be over soon. enjoy the moment.
28 Sep 2011, 13:16 pm
@Helen(Helen)-395: labrador?, my boerboel is not impressed with your “name-calling”!
28 Sep 2011, 13:16 pm
gotta see this: http://lockerz.com/s/142656541
28 Sep 2011, 13:17 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-396:
Hitler was also a good guy until he spent 2 days watching keo tv re-runs. The very next day Mein Kampf had its first chapter written.
Something to do with the psyco-anal wiring of non-saffas, that they are unable to hold their sh it together in the face of severe provocation
28 Sep 2011, 13:19 pm
@cane(cane)-397:
what’s brave about mocking the boks and the coaching staff behind their backs?
28 Sep 2011, 13:20 pm
@Staal(Staal)-398:
Once Krejir’s boys are done with him, he’ll be a labrador. They remove the testosterone, the balls, the teeth and the bi tch attitude and voila! a lab!
@rugby911(rugby911)-399: Talking about a “overinflated view” of himself…
So some guy playing gotcha with sharks at Fish Hoek beach… just lost the game…!
But lucky to survive… apparently… (so far…)
28 Sep 2011, 13:22 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-401:
If you don’t have the courage to laugh at Snor behind his back, how the helll will you be able to do it to his face? Baby steps Gunth, baby steps
28 Sep 2011, 13:22 pm
@Helen(Helen)-402: now me and the dog are worried!
28 Sep 2011, 13:23 pm
@ufo(ufo)-404:
not the ***-shampooer?
@Helen(Helen)-385: Sjoe, lets not make pictures. Czeck’s mate I suppose!
@Staal(Staal)-406:
Be worried staaldraad, be very worried…
They are probably surrounding your camper van as we speak.
28 Sep 2011, 13:24 pm
@ufo(ufo)-404: ya- eish Carcharodon carcharias issie n man se maat nie….
daai goed vra vrae met hul tanne…
28 Sep 2011, 13:25 pm
@Redrover(Redrover)-408:
Ja, he was caught with his d i c k in the cookie jar, so to speak.
Or as they say in OUdsthoorn, he got his nerd stick stuck in the mud box
28 Sep 2011, 13:27 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-407:
no but i’m sure we’ll be hearing from skop…
@Staal(Staal)-410:
yeah… they certainly do… no details yet but the guy is apparently still alive…
the last attack all they found was a bathing-cap.. so this guy is very ‘lucky’…!
28 Sep 2011, 13:27 pm
@cane(cane)-337: Nah, even stevens between the Boks and All Blacks since the last WC.
What will be interesting is to see how both sides go post-WC.
28 Sep 2011, 13:28 pm
@ufo(ufo)-404:
The Fish Hoek sharks are domesticated.
All part of the outer city, job creation inititaive launched by Zille.
They use unempyable school leavers to swim with sharks while covered in marmite. The sharks take one bite and never again.
28 Sep 2011, 13:29 pm
@Helen(Helen)-400: We all go nuts on here now and then. Beneath it all, we are decent folk.
28 Sep 2011, 13:30 pm
@ufo(ufo)-412:
Latest Shark sightings by the sharkspotters in CT:
Fish Hoek 26 September
Fish Hoek 25 September
Fish Hoek (x3) 24 September 2011
Muizenberg 18 September 2011
St James 16 September 2011
Muizenberg (x2) 16 September
So, the bloke took his chances I guess.
28 Sep 2011, 13:30 pm
@Helen(Helen)-405:
it’s not just divot.
he mocked matfield and spies.
it’s unnacceptable.
I’ve phoned afriforum three times already today.
28 Sep 2011, 13:31 pm
@ufo(ufo)-412: But I believe it’s cost him an arm and a leg.
Well at least a leg…..
28 Sep 2011, 13:31 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-413:
Not too worried about the AB’s after world cup.
They’ll probably forfeit a few games as there’ll be huge delays getting SBW through airport security, even without a towel around his head
28 Sep 2011, 13:32 pm
manne – those thing are friggen huge….
and have an attitude worse than a Jack Russel with a Pitbull stuck in his throat!
Seen them in the water…. beautiful but friggen scary…
28 Sep 2011, 13:33 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-416: to be honest – it’s actually tragic that we don’t see them there (and further up) more often….
28 Sep 2011, 13:33 pm
@Helen(Helen)-414:
They get hold of skopskiet and they’ll wish they were vegetarian.
Skop is an old timer and therefore should be cooked over a long low heat.
coq au vin if you will.
He certainly shouldn’t be eaten raw on the hoof.
28 Sep 2011, 13:34 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-415:
We all are decent folk on here every now and then. Beneath it all, we are nuts.
…maybe a more accurate take on us?
28 Sep 2011, 13:36 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-417:
Didn’t know that. Spies? Really? Did he insult Adonis? This has to stop.
I am writing to Huisgenoot as we speak.
28 Sep 2011, 13:36 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-422: raw on the hoof..
28 Sep 2011, 13:38 pm
just to get my fatcs correct…
who is this langers you all talked about yesterday & what’s skoppies new nic now?
facts
@Helen(Helen)-424:
It’s impossible to get through.
Apparently they are still celebrating national braai day.
@Gunther(gunther)-422:
You’re right, old timers need to be slow roasted over a spit, but some of my Maori friends claim that you fist stuff the old person’s cavaties with what’s left of their medication.
Makes for a nutritious snack between meals
28 Sep 2011, 13:40 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-428:
I hear they’re in Ladybrand for the unveiling of a bust of Pik Botha.
Both members are there, so they won’t answer the phone today.
28 Sep 2011, 13:41 pm
@Helen(Helen)-429: where the hell did you come up with this “swamp donkey” comments of yours? i had to google it..
vrek snaaks.
28 Sep 2011, 13:41 pm
@Staal(Staal)-426:
langers is is Sir Shaun Fatcakes of Stevenage.
Quantity Surveyor and one time caddie at Langebaan Country Club.
Skop is now an assshampooist at Shaggers Hair Salon.
28 Sep 2011, 13:42 pm
@Staal(Staal)-421:
The Sharks or the Spotters or both
The spotters are fairly effective as a warning system for beach recreational users but due too human error, weather conditions and water quality issues it is obviously not foolproof. And people of course ignore the warnings.
Skoppy is the chairperson of the Anti- shark brigade- is probably out hunting now on his lilo with a loaded speargun in the hand
28 Sep 2011, 13:42 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-432: aha – so he is Body on Tap!
28 Sep 2011, 13:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-416:
sure did… i don’t go in.. if it’s rained and the beach is wet i won’t even go on the beach…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-418:
no ‘arm done then…
must say it’s quite nerve-wracking waiting for a name… and hoping it’s not someone i know…
28 Sep 2011, 13:43 pm
@Staal(Staal)-426:
You don’t want to know.
Whatever happens, when Krejir’s boys ask you if you know Langers, say you don’t, cause they’ll use you to get to him.
They’ve been looking for him since that Teasers girl claimed that someone sniffed her underwear… while she was wearing it! …in Shoprite nogal!
28 Sep 2011, 13:44 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-433: naw – talking about the sharks man.
we need more sharks…. in the water i mean!
28 Sep 2011, 13:45 pm
@Staal(Staal)-431:
Swamp donkeys are quite special.
Becaue of the constant damp, their hooves become ever less solid, until they end up walking on what can only be called lumps of vegetable soup
28 Sep 2011, 13:46 pm
@Staal(Staal)-437:
Agree 100%
28 Sep 2011, 13:46 pm
@ufo(ufo)-435: Yes I can imagine. I heard he lost a leg. I really hope he pulls through.
28 Sep 2011, 13:47 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-433:
yeah… it’s crazy how many people still swim here…
the spotters normally do good work… and if visibility is bad they put out the black flag anyway…
thing is we just had a city wide power-outtage… i wonder if they couldn’t blow the siren because there was no power…?
28 Sep 2011, 13:48 pm
@ufo(ufo)-435:
wet beach..
but without batting an eyelid i had to push a Tigershark away once (actually on more than one occasion) at Aliwal.
nogal difficult to do it and hold the video camera still without shaking…
28 Sep 2011, 13:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-417:
28 Sep 2011, 13:50 pm
@Staal(Staal)-442: That beats my Rhino story hands down.
28 Sep 2011, 13:52 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-444:
i gave the youtube link a while back will look for it.
had quite a few clips on yuotube about sharks but haven’t been there for a while.
28 Sep 2011, 13:53 pm
@ufo(ufo)-441:
indeed.
what’s wrong with a whistle?
or one of those grootbeks that scream PRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOVINCE
all afternoon at cricket matches?
28 Sep 2011, 13:53 pm
i like the guy who read out the ‘real’ news on 702fm hehehe
http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-africa/meet-the-man-who-blew-the-news-1.1146085
28 Sep 2011, 13:54 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-444: come dive with us in Aliwal…
50 sharks (Black tips, Bull, Tigers and Dusky’s all around you) they pass you in an arm’s length….
@Gunther(gunther)-446: YOu leave my mother out of this.
@Staal(Staal)-442:
sheesh bud… you’re braver’n me for sure…
i’ve gone cage-diving and watched the breaching sharks off seal island in false bay… you really can’t appreciate the size of these really quite beautiful creatures until they’re eyeing you out for din-dins…
it’s not the length that’s so impressive… (long as they are…) what really popped my eyes was the GIRTH of these things… they are seriously massive…
28 Sep 2011, 13:55 pm
highbury should have him on as a guest blogger.
28 Sep 2011, 13:56 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-446: LMAO!!!
28 Sep 2011, 13:58 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-444:
Don’t be so harsh on yourself.
The bulls were playing that day.
Staal was painted head to toe in Loftus Blue.
The sharks thought he was a mermaid.
28 Sep 2011, 13:58 pm
@Staal(Staal)-448: I’d love to dive Aliwal. I’ve dived a fair bit here, and a couple of the islands (Mauritius etc) but I believe the Aliwal is amazing!
The Cape is **** for diving. One or 2 wrecks but no viz.
Mostly I just snorkel for bugs off the holliday house. Which isn’t the worst pasttime in the world
28 Sep 2011, 13:59 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-446:
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-449:
hehehe… will need to make a though for future power-outs…
28 Sep 2011, 14:00 pm
@ufo(ufo)-455:
make a plan though
28 Sep 2011, 14:01 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-453: Or maybe a smurf?
28 Sep 2011, 14:02 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-449:
sorry bud.
but if she kicks might skottel over again this summer doing the mexican wave she’ll be in line for a poethklap.
@ufo(ufo)-450:
it’s not the length that’s so impressive… (long as they are…) what really popped my eyes was the GIRTH of these things… they are seriously massive…
We’re still talking about sharks hey?
28 Sep 2011, 14:02 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-446: Prooooviiiinnnnceeee….can I have the Job!
28 Sep 2011, 14:04 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-458:
yes…
28 Sep 2011, 14:06 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-458: LOL. I was wondering the exact same thing.
Don’t be fooled by that knocking the skottel thing over. That’s an old Northern Suburbs move. While you are diving to save your food she’s raided your cooler box and liberated a few beers
Works every time.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-454: but then again–
we chuck the sea full of sardiens…. wait a few minutes and here they come….
don’t blink is a good suggestion…
news24 reports “A swimmer who was attacked by a shark at Fish Hoek was in the water after shark spotters had closed the beach due to a shark sighting.”
farking idiot…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-454:
Depending on what you are interested in Aliwal might be the best but here are some good spots in CT . If you want some “kicks” out of diving with or near sharks (no cage) in the WC you must get hold of Mike Rutzen or Andre Hartman of Gans Bay- if you are interested i can mail you their details.
28 Sep 2011, 14:07 pm
manne – ek moet ga oefen.
Cheers.
Chat more.
gaan GROOT!
Jy lewe net 1 keer.
28 Sep 2011, 14:08 pm
@Staal(Staal)-465:
for sure…
cheers bud…
28 Sep 2011, 14:09 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-457:
oooooooooh.
there goes YOUR hunting invite.
oh well more billies for bwana one shot.
28 Sep 2011, 14:10 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-461:
ahhh the Durbanville Dummy?
(not you Robbo).
28 Sep 2011, 14:11 pm
The New Zealand Herald reported that 2 South African rugby journalists were arrested last night for feeding liquor to a Hobbitt, which is a protected creature in NZ. Their claim that the creature was actually another journalist called Mark Keohane was eventually proved to be true when the police checked their story with the Springbok coach who apparently told them while he didn’t know what a Hobbitt was he could confirm that Keohane was actually a 2 faced bast*rd.
Interviewed on his release, Keohane stated angrily that he’d had enough of this World Cup. “Being thrown around a bar by a drunken crowd of England rugby players was bad enough,” he moaned, “but this was the final straw.
This is not the first incident Keohane has been involved in since arriving in the country. 2 days ago, a suspicious suitcase was spotted abandoned in the Springboks training room during a briefing session. After clearing the building the bomb squad discovered that the suitcase contained Mr Keohane and a tape recorder.
The tape was confiscated and handed over to Graham Henry and Keohane released with a warning.
28 Sep 2011, 14:11 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-401:
You see it from your point of view.
I from mine.
In saw no mocking.
Only light hearted humour.
28 Sep 2011, 14:12 pm
This place is like a gentle breez on a hot November afternoon when ET and Kitch aren’t here.
However, when they are here, there is a distinct smell of month old baby vomi t and mongoose sh it.
28 Sep 2011, 14:13 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-464: I’ve seen a few sharkies off gaans over the years. We used to pull some perlemoen out there back in the day. Never had to avoid anything though.
To be honest I’m not that keen to get up close to the whites here. Too much chumming by Kempo and Co makes me nervous. Cage sure. But “au naturel”?
Not too keen to be honest
I’ve seen some of the stuff that those 2 have done on Discovery and they are both Mal.
28 Sep 2011, 14:13 pm
@David(David)-469:
Class Davey. Class. (as always).
28 Sep 2011, 14:14 pm
@David(David)-469:
Did you post that letter from a girl in the army to her parents on here the other day? I am looking for it
28 Sep 2011, 14:15 pm
Rugby wins as SABC and DStv battle
CRAIG RAY | 28 September, 2011 00:10
The SABC is smashing Supersport in a Rugby World Cup TV battle, a sign the game has great appeal beyond subscription television.
The Boks’ first game of the tournament, against Wales just over two weeks ago, was watched by 3.39million viewers on SABC2 while 683 372 watched it on DStv’s Supersport1 and another 334 390 on Supersport4 (part of a limited bouquet).
This gives the pay channel just over a million viewers on two channels.
These statistics will certainly interest the South African Rugby Union, which is caught between a lucrative income from Supersport and the desire to spread the game to places where DStv is not widespread.
Supersport holds the broadcast rights to all major rugby tournaments but the SABC has secured limited rights to games, including all the Springbok matches, for the duration of the World Cup.
Repucom, a company that analyses statistics on TV viewership of sport, has been tracking audience figures, supplied by the Television All Media Survey throughout the current Rugby World Cup.
Along with the Wales-SA figures, it showed that, for the Boks’ second game, against Fiji, SABC2 viewership increased to 3.44-million while Supersport’s dropped to a combined 820000, although DStv numbers don’t reflect Supersport’s HD channel 171.
By last Monday, SABC had shown 10 live games with an average audience of 1.26 million. Supersport had shown all the games and had an average audience of 220 556 on Supersport1 and 89 862 on Supersport4.
The national broadcaster has apparently ploughed millions into its RWC coverage and, despite constraints, it is producing the goods.
The SABC is taking rugby to parts of the country that can’t afford Supersport subscriptions. For rugby authorities, the SABC would hold the key to growing the sport through TV and radio stations that bring the game to millions of listeners.
28 Sep 2011, 14:15 pm
@cane(cane)-470:
Keo is a long way outside the Burns family circle of trust.
He is on the outside of the tent pissing in.
And he loves asparagus.
28 Sep 2011, 14:16 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-468: Ed Zachery! LOL I see you’ve had some experience in the move. Works at the pubs at Edward Street too when you’ve run out of wages from Friday
28 Sep 2011, 14:16 pm
@David(David)-469: Classic stuff.
28 Sep 2011, 14:19 pm
@Helen(Helen)-474:
That wasn’t me. I only post original material.
28 Sep 2011, 14:22 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-475:
The problem is that DSTV has a contract with Newscorp for the S15 and 3N, so it would only leave the CC and tour matches for SARU to sell.
28 Sep 2011, 14:22 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-472:
Right, lol, I am glad to see that you are not braver than me- i have also seen quite a few while diving and even while surfing but it was not ‘voluntarily”.
Those blokes just know when to approach the Whites- Mike reckons he can read them like a book and so far he has not made a mistake- but yeah, I will rather take my chances facing bakkies in a ruck then facing even a ‘tame” white at Dyers.
28 Sep 2011, 14:23 pm
@David(David)-469:
excellent stuff bud…!!
that’s interesting and good news transie…
28 Sep 2011, 14:28 pm
what…?
has a shark scared everyone off the site…?
@Robzim(Robzim)-481: Totally. There are some things that I draw the line at. Sharks without a cage. Blooukrans Bunji. The Epic.
Not on my bucket list. Or even close to it.
Back in the day when i used to windsurf at Blaauberg we’d spot them regularly but for some or other reason it never freaked us out.
When I saw the episode of Wild Boys where they were in the water with the Whites I decided that this is not the actions of a rational human being
you’re safe… bismarck’s in new zealand…
28 Sep 2011, 14:30 pm
Not really surprising those stats.
Unfortunately for those who cant afford DSTV, its all about rights paid to SARU by Supersport.
SABC cant compete on this front.
It is an unfortunate situation though. It goes without saying that if SARU want to grow the game in SA, they’d surely want it to reach a wider audience. Its all about the benjamins.
28 Sep 2011, 14:32 pm
Reckon swimming with sharks without a cage would be a fairly terminal entry on a bucket list. That or the beginning of a very short list.
28 Sep 2011, 14:32 pm
what i especially like about that is the fact that the tv viewership audience was almost as big as the entire population of nz….sweet….love the rugga…
28 Sep 2011, 14:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-485:
Yip, the Blouberg one’s are generally placid
I am now off for a gentle mtb ride in Majic forrest where there are only human sharks who (i hope) are harmless – CU.
28 Sep 2011, 14:38 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-490: Cheers enjoy bugger.
28 Sep 2011, 14:42 pm
@David(David)-469:
28 Sep 2011, 14:44 pm
Interesting stats on Penalties conceded this far at the WC: From Rugby 365:
Here, at a glance, are how the teams have scored on the disciplinary sheet:
Pool A
New Zealand – penalties conceded: 12 + 11 + 11 = 34
France – penalties conceded: 10 + 9 + 7 = 26
Pool B
England – penalties conceded: 12 + 14 + 12 = 38
Argentina – penalties conceded: 15 + 9 + 9 = 33
Scotland – penalties conceded: 11 + 6 + 11 = 28
Pool C
Ireland – penalties conceded: 9 + 8 + 11 = 28
Australia – penalties conceded: 15 + 12 + 4 = 31
Italy – penalties conceded: 9 + 5 + 8 = 22
Pool D
South Africa – penalties conceded: 10 + 7 + 6 = 23
Wales – penalties conceded: 5 + 14 + 10 = 29
Samoa – penalties conceded: 11 + 12 + 7 = 30
* The Boks are also second on two other tables – points and tries scored. Hosts New Zealand top both of those.
28 Sep 2011, 14:44 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-489: i knew you would see it that way
28 Sep 2011, 14:45 pm
‘Just another bad idea from the southern hemisphere’
September 28, 2011 – 2:22PM
France’s loose head prop Fabien Barcella is not a fan of GPS tracking systems. Photo: AFP
French players have been fitted out with GPS navigation systems at training to measure how far they are running, but the idea is not to everyone’s liking.
Prop Fabien Barcella says that he is dead set against it.
“We don’t need that to know if guys are running well or not,” he said.
Advertisement: Story continues below
“On top of that when we fall to the ground, it gets in the way. It’s just another bad idea that we have got from the southern hemisphere teams. One of the downsides of professionalism.”
English like fighting, eating
No big surprise at how the England team likes to relax — with a bit of fighting and competitive eating.
Flanker James Haskell said a group of players including Matt Stevens, Lee Mears and Alex Corbisiero were big fans of Ultimate Fighting Championship “We really enjoy it. Sometimes it’s difficult to get on TV,” Haskell said.
“There’s a lot of fans who come out of nowhere. A lot of the boys are keenos, knowledgeable about it and spotting what was going on.
“I was just there to watch a tear-up.”
And prop Stevens said he was the team’s competitive-eating king after seeing off an unnamed rival.
“I beat someone on an eat-off, someone a similar size to me. I was very proud of that moment. It was chocolate and sweets,” said the burly Stevens.
“I wouldn’t take me on in that area.”
Canada give top marks for Hawke’s Bay
“It’s been 10 out of 10,” Canada’s coach Kieran Crowley said of his team’s experiences in the wine-producing region of Hawke’s Bay, where they were based for almost two weeks.
“The guys have really enjoyed it, seen the area and had good times. It’s been a really neat environment. Possibly the management have seen too many wineries but we’ll talk to them later.”
Canada captain Pat Riordan added his words of praise, saying: “We’ve managed to enjoy some hospitality and meet the locals.
“Willie from the local hunting and fishing store has been awesome, I’ve met him a couple of times, he’s a is a real neat character.
“A couple of the guys are thinking about coming back and settling down here.”
May I have your autograph?
When it comes to being overawed in the presence of greatness it seems even top rugby players are no different to everyone else.
Nic Johnson, the United States backrower who turned on a sterling performance in a beaten pack against Italy on Tuesday, admitted afterwards to being blown away merely by being in the presence of his opposite, Italian captain Sergio Parisse.
Such esteemed company made the Americans feel “like we are superstars, when most of us are just amateurs who have given up our lives to be here,” Johnson said.
“I can’t help but get starstruck sometimes. When I see the other players like Sergio in the locker room I want to go up and ask for a photo or an autograph.”
AFP
28 Sep 2011, 14:55 pm
Seriously guys what are the odds that the Boks can win it again in 2011?
0.01% ?
28 Sep 2011, 15:00 pm
@David(David)-469: ROFLMAO ROFLMAO. BRILLIANT
28 Sep 2011, 15:03 pm
i get NSRI notices…. so here goes…
SEA RESCUE – FISH HOEK – Tuesday, 28th September, 2011. Shark incident:
At 12h24 NSRI Simonstown volunteer duty crew were activated following reports of a man being bitten by a shark while swimming at Clovelly Corner close to Fish Hoek Beach.
NSRI Simonstown volunteer duty crew launched their sea rescue craft and EMT (Emergency Medical Treatment) paramedics, CMR (Cape Medical Response) paramedics, Metro EMS, ER-24 private ambulance service, the Discovery ER-24 helicopter, Disaster Management and Fish Hoek Surf Lifeguards responded.
The SA Police Services, responded to assist.
On arrival on-scene a 42 year old man was found on the shore suffering complete amputation of his right leg, above the knee, and partial amputation of his left leg, below the knee. It appears he was rescued from the water by a bystander who left the scene before we could identify him.
The 42 year old man is believed to be a British citizen but resident locally in South Africa, and believed to be from Plumstead, but this has not yet been confirmed.
The man was stabilized on-scene by paramedics and airlifted to Constantiaberg Medi-Clinic hospital by the Discovery ER-24 helicopter in a critical condition but he is now believed to have been stabilized.
The man was conscious when paramedics attended to him on the beach but was sedated on-scene by paramedics in their efforts to stabilize the patient.
From what we understand the City of Cape Town shark spotters had flown the “sharks present – no swimming” flags since early this morning and bathers to Fish Hoek and the individual had personally been warned, by the shark spotters, not to swim due to the presence of at least 3 White Sharks visible in the water close inshore since this morning.
At this time of year warnings are also posted, through the press, by NSRI and the City of Cape Town warning of higher than normal concentrations of shark activity close in-shore particularly along the False Bay coastline where shark researchers have identified the phenomenon of increased shark activity close inshore.
We are encouraging bathers and surfers not to enter the water today and to be generally cautious swimming or surfing along the False Bay Coastline and, where shark spotters are present, to obey the shark spotters instructions.
-ENDS-
28 Sep 2011, 15:07 pm
“On arrival on-scene a 42 year old man was found on the shore suffering complete amputation of his right leg, above the knee, and partial amputation of his left leg, below the knee..”
That is hectic!!
28 Sep 2011, 15:08 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-499: Tasty morsel.
What an idiot.
28 Sep 2011, 15:08 pm
Gentlemen Start Your Engines!
28 Sep 2011, 15:16 pm
General question: does anyone know where you can get DVD’s of old games? I’m looking for complete games, not just highlights or something. If not DVDs to buy, is there anywhere these can be downloaded? By old I don’t mean ancient or anything, just over the past 20 odd years or so
28 Sep 2011, 15:16 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-500: Yup, but unfortunately he cannot kick himself for being dof!
28 Sep 2011, 15:18 pm
You know that Keo is just going to end up throwing those toys out of the pram
28 Sep 2011, 15:26 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502: wait for Alucard to get here, he knows exactly where to download games. he’s got “in game sources” that he uses for stats.
28 Sep 2011, 15:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502:
i know in the old days there was a shop in auckland park (sabc hq – for our overseas bloggers)… and they had ‘videos’ of the old games and tours…
dunno if they still have the shop or dvds available but may be worth calling them…
28 Sep 2011, 15:27 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-499:
shorking.
28 Sep 2011, 15:30 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-495:
“On top of that when we fall to the ground, it gets in the way. It’s just another bad idea that we have got from the southern hemisphere teams. One of the downsides of professionalism.”
these froggies really do make me laugh sometimes hehehe
@Transformation(Transformation)-494:
@David(David)-469:
28 Sep 2011, 15:35 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502:
i cant remember who, but there’s a blogger who has vhs tapes from way, way back…just ask transie, i think he’ll know who it is…
28 Sep 2011, 15:36 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-509: Definately Alucard. Or as I like to call him, Alutard.
28 Sep 2011, 15:38 pm
WP team looking patchy
15. Heinrich Steyl, 14. Danie Poolman, 13. Berton Klaasen, 12. Marcel Brache, 11. JJ Engelbrecht, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nick Fenton-Wells, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Adriaan Fondse, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg (C), 1. JC Kritzinger
Reserves:
16. Deon Fourie, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Tertius Daniller, 19. Nick Koster/P Louw, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Johann Sadie, 22. Conrad Jantjes
28 Sep 2011, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-505: hahaha, i’m not sure i want to be seeing the videos he’s been watching
@ufo(ufo)-506: sounds promising, i’ll get on that, thanks man…
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-509: is there a way to get vhs in digital format? i’ll check with transie though, thanks…
28 Sep 2011, 15:42 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-510: ja, he collects his OWN stats cos verusco and statspro are unreliable and THEIR “interpretation of a n effective tackle includes even the ones where spies is driven back by israel dagg”
28 Sep 2011, 15:44 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-496:
The bookies say there is a 9% chance that SA will win it. Same as Aus.
60% chance that NZ will take it
28 Sep 2011, 15:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-513: yeah. The guy’s a comic loving kid who’s nick is Dracula spelled backwards. Whaddaya expect
28 Sep 2011, 15:46 pm
So, based on the disciplinary stats, the final should be between SA and Italy?
28 Sep 2011, 15:49 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-515: …woah, only just realised that
28 Sep 2011, 15:50 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-510:

but seriously, does he really have them on vhs? or are you guys just ******** with him?
@Transformation(Transformation)-511:
really now…one bad loss to the cheetahs and wp’s looking patchy…
politics transie…you’d make a killing….
28 Sep 2011, 15:53 pm
lets see what happens in durbs.
28 Sep 2011, 15:54 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518:
there’s a school of thought that they’re actually betamax.
and that he blogs on a commodore that is older than he is.
inverse geekchic.
28 Sep 2011, 15:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-511:
patchy is being kind…
have said from the beginning of the season i don’t expect us to make the semis… even when we where placed second…
the youngsters have given a great showing… but this season is one for blooding (and losing) youngsters…
next year is gonna be a whole different story though as the ‘senior’ guys are on a mission to win a trophy or two… that’s why they’re all staying on after the WC and why I guess the impatient youngsters are moving outta town…
28 Sep 2011, 15:55 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-517: Try and keep up Barnsey
Actually when the kid gets here he”ll get all indignant and start telling you about how it’s actually a fantasy character in some comic who bases his persona on Dracula spelled backwards or something yadda yadda zzzzzzzzz
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518: No actually he said that once.
Actually, more than once. Ask Transie
28 Sep 2011, 15:57 pm
Imagine it. The year is 2051
Uganda hosts the 17th world cup. Opening game in the Lee Chang Mandarin Heroes stadium.
Minnows Australia and one of their newly acquired colonies, New Zealand put up a brave display of running rugby on Friday night. New Zealand winger, Klasie van Staden scored a hat trick before Thinus Steyn (son of former springbok Francois) slotted 4 drop goals from behind his own goal line for the Australians. The third umpire had to be called in to judge one of the kicks as it appeared he’d made irregular use of his laser guided iris implant.
Both teams made full use of the recently unbanned substance Anabolica Fiximus, taken anally during the half time break. It lifted the spiirts of both sets of forwards and their increased aggression resulted in 4 players being airlifted to the nearby US airbase for cathartic valiscous treatment and then resussitation.
The final score was 12 – 9 as per the recently introduced scoring system which counts the number of players who can touch both their ears at the same time without assistance.
After their victory over the kiwis, Aus now have improved odds of meeting South Eastern Midlands Samoa in the final of the prized John Smit Cup (renamed since his heroic efforts in winning the cup way back in 2011)
28 Sep 2011, 16:01 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-159: Heheh I hear you. Yeah I think essentially the forwards are the wallies main problem. SA vs NZ is very fairly weighted up front, but you guys have the wood on us with the backs. I could see the reaction of the Kiwi crowd at the French match and the peeps really look like they could do with that win. They were cheering their heads off everytime the All Blacks scored. We all do for our own teams but sometimes you can see it just means a bit more so it obviously meant a lot for them to get one over the French after last time.
Either way unfortunately it wont be an SA vs NZ final. We have to first get through the Wallabies and then through you lot. Going to be one huge ask for the Saffa team but the way theyre playing currently is heartening. Must say those Tournament stats Helen was rattling off made SA look pretty impressive. Nice to see our lot actually scoring tries and looking cohesive for a change. We´ve suffered miserably over the last year man.
The old foe. Greatest nod for ultimate respect.
Hope the personal issues are getting sorted for you.
28 Sep 2011, 16:05 pm
@Helen(Helen)-523: Nice!
28 Sep 2011, 16:10 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
hey poppa… just read your post now because of Slummie’s post above…
haven’t read any others so don’t know what anyone else has said…
personally, i’ve never had a problem with you even though we’ve traded blows from time to time… but as far as i’m concerned, such a sincere post can only be respected, and any past history is water under a duck’s back…!!
really hope your personal issues are being addressed and sorted…
all the best bud…!
28 Sep 2011, 16:13 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518: what do you mean?
the guy told me multiple times that he has the games on vhs, since the ’90s!!!!!!
he told US he has written a “comprehensive dossier” on how kak PdV is.
he says:
- Bismarck is overrated, and has only made four ball steals in three years.
- says de jongh got “torn apart” by the all blacks at soccer city
- says kankowski has had only one decent game for Boks against Italy or something
All this from his vhs tapes
28 Sep 2011, 16:15 pm
@ufo(ufo)-526: i’ll remind you of this post when he sshits on you again
28 Sep 2011, 16:17 pm
World Cup Pool R, opening game
Old rivals South Africa and the Independent People’s Republic of Western Cape locked horns in an epic encounter. The free flowing rugga was spoilt by the ongoing race relations of Africa, with both teams calling other keos.
South African captain, John Smit silenced his critics and even two spectators with one barn storming run after another. Japie Zille, the captain of IPRWC team badgered the ref about Smit’s illegal use of his zimmer frame during these runs.
Both teams struggled in the lineouts, but Geoff Longshlong eventually achieved dominance in this facet of play with his 3.03m frame towering over the opposition. Geoff also reached the milestone of the first artificially designed human to reach 10 caps in a IPRWC jersey.
Japie Zille, in his concession speech after the game, thanked Buddah for the opportunity to play.
28 Sep 2011, 16:24 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-520:

i own a commodore 64…was my first pc…64k memory 8 bit processor..i still have it laying around somewhere
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-512:
yup, vhs to digital convertors…simples…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-522:
28 Sep 2011, 16:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-528:
hehehe… okay…
sure, i’ve been surprised by some of his posts but haven’t really had a personal issue with poppa…
we’re back to square one… we’ll get on ‘that’ when the dice rolls that way again… hopefully we just hit the ladders and miss the snakes…
i wrote a piece recently about how we as saffa’s find it so hard to say sorry, own our mistakes and be accountable for our actions… so i truly respect people who sincerely do just that… so big kudos to poppa from me…
even when we do disagree in future..
28 Sep 2011, 16:26 pm
The All Blacks would consider pulling out of the 2015 Rugby World Cup unless commercial restrictions imposed on teams were revamped, New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) chief Steve Tew said today.
Tew said such a drastic and unprecedented step would be “the very last port of call” but could not be ruled out, as current arrangements meant his organisation posted a loss every time the quadrennial tournament was held.
“That’s obviously a last resort and our style is to be consultative, collaborative and to try to work with everybody to find a solution,” Tew told Radio New Zealand when asked if the All Blacks could boycott the 2015 World Cup in England.
Tew said International Rugby Board (IRB) rules penalised major unions in World Cup years because their regular Test schedules were curtailed and teams were not allowed to promote their sponsors during the tournament.
He said this meant that competing at the 2011 World Cup was costing the NZRU more than NZ$13 million ($10.3 million).
“It’s putting pressure on the balance sheet and frankly, in the current environment, we just can’t afford to run a World Cup-year loss, nor do we think it’s necessary.” he said.
Earlier, Tew told Britain’s Guardian newspaper: “The prospects of us going to England in 2015 under the current model are very slim. We cannot continue to sign on for an event that costs us so much money.”
He told Radio NZ that the NZRU had been pushing the IRB for changes to the commercial arrangements for eight years and had gone public to try to ensure the issue was finalised by 2015.
“Now is not a bad time to make sure the issue is raised and considered, to give ourselves enough time to find a solution without having to go to any drastic measures,” he said.
“We have the support of most of the major unions and a review is not only necessary but now, in our view, quite urgent.”
Tew said the bulk of the NZRU’s NZ$13 million shortfall came from television revenues and gate receipts lost because the annual Tri-Nations competition was shortened in World Cup years so it did not clash with the tournament.
He said other major unions faced similar problems, estimating their combined losses at 35-40 million pounds ($55-63 million).
Tew said solutions the IRB could consider were changing the World Cup date, to allow a full Tri-Nations schedule, or paying more money to participating unions.
He also said the IRB’s World Cup sponsorship rules, designed to avoid any clash between team sponsors and the IRB’s own corporate supporters, should be relaxed.
“In football, the FIFA model, there is room for both sets of sponsors to get some coverage during the World Cup period and we think that’s something we should be looking at very seriously,” he said.
A Rugby World Cup Ltd. spokesman said the commercial model that applied to the tournament was being reviewed .
“We are committed to working in collaboration with our unions to ensure that the tournament continues to balance the strategic needs of our unions with the ability to provide the financial platform for the development of (the) sport,” he said.
28 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-529: You’re only half right. The IPRWC will wipe the floor with the rest of SA as we know that all the best players are born here in the Cape. And the 3.03m player is Dries Bekker Jr, son of legendary Springbok Andries, the first springbok to play over 200 tests.
28 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
on ‘that’ SQURE when
28 Sep 2011, 16:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-529: @Helen(Helen)-523: Brilliant stuff – you made my day! I hope you get to episode 3 before you bleed to death or something stupid like that
28 Sep 2011, 16:33 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-533:
He’s Andries’ son, but due to dad’s promiscuity, no-one knows who the mother is… Maternity tests were performed on 93,003 women who claimed to be the mother and the most likely candidate seems to be a test tube in Plattekloof dental clinic. Andries says he never had se xual relations with that test tube, but a 1.3m long pubic hair was found on the scene. Invetigation is ongoing
28 Sep 2011, 16:33 pm
@madvillain(madvillain)-532: a bit late on he uptake mntan’ enkosi…
All Blacks hooker Keven Mealamu said players would be devastated if they were unable to compete at the next World Cup.
Mealamu is certainly hoping the boycott does not happen.
“It would be devastating for our country and for rugby players,” said the veteran hooker.
“All we can control is what we do on the field and try and leave it up them to try and make that happen.”
“It would be devastating for us as rugby players to know we wouldn’t be able to make it to the next World Cup.”
28 Sep 2011, 16:35 pm
http://www.news24.com/Multimedia/MyNews24/Fish-Hoek-attack-shark-spotted-20110928
Check out this from news 24. footage of the aftermath of the shark attack and clearly shows the shark in the water.
He’s a big fella too!
28 Sep 2011, 16:36 pm
@Helen(Helen)-536: lol touche’ lass.
28 Sep 2011, 16:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-533: were you aware of this?
The IRB doesn’t force the Sanzar nations to reduce the Tri-Nations competition in RWC years. That’s their call.
28 Sep 2011, 16:37 pm
@Helen(Helen)-536: Claims were denied that the freak was conceived during the previous RWC opening ceremony when the love dance, called the Faka, was performed…
28 Sep 2011, 16:39 pm
What the hell is up with that WP side? Some interesting names in there.
Gwant must be doing his nut. Circus by the sea indeed.
They’ll probably give the Shorks a run this weekend.
This years CC is so farking AVERAGE!
28 Sep 2011, 16:40 pm
This is hilarious – was Keo pissed when he did this skit ?
enjoyable, your best work Mark.
28 Sep 2011, 16:40 pm
you gotta love how some of these kiwi websites are spinning this one
Tew has said that if the IRB doesn’t rethink the way they distribute money out of the World Cup’s massive profit pool, then New Zealand could well pull out of the next tournament in England. Yes, England.
So Tew has delivered a hammer blow to the next hosts by threatening to withdraw the game’s iconic team. A World Cup without the All Blacks would be, well, like a milkshake without milk.
28 Sep 2011, 16:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-527:
well then, he gets full marks for dedication. i mean ffs to make the time to rewind and fast forward vhs tapes of all the bok’s games in order to compile match analyses of the players performances…sjoe…wow…there’s bok supporters…and then there’s ‘bok’ supporters…
jan and elton, take a step back and cover your eyes…you’re about to get blown away…
28 Sep 2011, 16:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-540: The Tri Nations wasn’t shortened this was it? All 3 teams played the required home and away leg against each other.
It;s possible that the Bledisloe Cup and possibly the mandela cup may have lost a fixture? Not sure.
But the IRB doesn’t force them to do anything of the sort I’m sure.
28 Sep 2011, 16:42 pm
Fark me what a calamitous day.
And that’s a biiiiigggg shark.
28 Sep 2011, 16:42 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-542:
28 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
2057. Super83 Final
Floyd Shivambu Stadium, Harrismith
Queensland Reds vs North Eastern Natal Midlands Mongooses
The Reds showed no signs of jet lag after their late morning flight of 34 minutes from Brisbane Intergallactic and played with their usual aggression. Even when the Mongooses ran onto the field, they maintained the aggression, but still only toward each other and some of the spectators.
Mongoose Captain, honourable chief Sithole (IV), was seen handing the touch judge a R300,000 note, but the ref thought a penalty was sufficient punishment for the infringement. Minutes later, the same touch judge tripped a Reds player moments before he crossed the try Mongoose try line.
In his post match interview, Reds coach, Quade Cooper accepted the defeat, but said the travelling distance and rife corruption in SA are to blame for their lack lustre performance. He could be seen pic-pocketing the cameraman’s laptop during the interview. A citing commission is looking into the matter
28 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-547: We’re gonna need a bigger boat!
28 Sep 2011, 16:49 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-542: where is G10 these days?
28 Sep 2011, 16:50 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-541:
The faka starts with a mass hand-off over a marie biscuit.
The last one to drop his load on the cookie has to eat the cookie.
Nothing builds team spirit like a pre match game of soggy marie.
Who needs Staaldraad, when you have TRekdraad?
28 Sep 2011, 16:53 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-550:
Classic line!
28 Sep 2011, 16:55 pm
Or, “there’s always a bigger fish”!
28 Sep 2011, 16:58 pm
Magtag francois93 was high as a kite today
Smoking some good stuff
28 Sep 2011, 16:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-553: Yes it was on TCM the other night and i watched it with the wife. Great movie.
28 Sep 2011, 17:02 pm
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/springboks/news/110928/Hougaard_claims_difficult_to_ignore
interesting story.
28 Sep 2011, 17:04 pm
Later peeps.
Into the traffic I go.
28 Sep 2011, 17:12 pm
Butch staring at me all day will keep me awake tonight.
By the way, what’s up with his little smirk?
The photographer asked him to imagine spear tackling Morne Steyn from behind during the captain’s run
28 Sep 2011, 17:13 pm
@chch(chch)-504: He bite off more than he can chew
28 Sep 2011, 17:15 pm
@Helen(Helen)-559:
well, you might like it but i’m with staal on this one…it really freaks me out that he’s looking at me…’like that’..i don’t like it.
look…he’s doing it again…
28 Sep 2011, 17:16 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-545: don;t you remember just after the away tri-nations games where he compiled a WHOLE minute to minute detail f what Lambie was doing on the field?
that was funny
28 Sep 2011, 17:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-562:
Transie, I had another bowel movement today. You interested?
28 Sep 2011, 17:20 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-561:
He’s looking at me.
I’ts like he knows something about me.
Some secret, like how I am not really a size 8 anymore..
stop looking dammit!
Ok, I am a 10, happy now?
Stop it!
28 Sep 2011, 17:20 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-562: this was hilarious. he actually compiled two reports i do believe, one for Lambie and one for Morne…
28 Sep 2011, 17:25 pm
@Helen(Helen)-563: hey stuff of helen, you’re revolting!
28 Sep 2011, 17:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-559: Nope Keo promised him he´d be the prime flyhlaf come WC time. Too bad he was lying hehe
28 Sep 2011, 17:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-565: yes, the lambie one had bits that said “lambie carries the ball up and at the last minute passes to jacobs who gets carooned by the all blacks and SPRINGBOKS LOSE possession”
28 Sep 2011, 17:31 pm
Ag ja. Home Time for me. See ya’ll later.
28 Sep 2011, 17:50 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-551: Namibia
28 Sep 2011, 18:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-562:
ag transie, i have to admit i actually loved that minute by minute breakdown of lambie’s play…being a morne steyn cheerleader and all…
but yeah, it was uber funny…
@Helen(Helen)-564:
size eight of what?..
28 Sep 2011, 18:34 pm
good news sports fans!
dewani’s coming home and papa wag vir hom:
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3842250/Home-Secretary-approves-Dewani-extradition.html
28 Sep 2011, 18:40 pm
oh, and about the guy who got chowed by a great white at fish hoek…he’s a brit…go figure…
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3842020/Shark-attack-Brit-fights-for-life.html
28 Sep 2011, 18:41 pm
He won’t come back they will appeal
28 Sep 2011, 18:54 pm
yes, but hopefully his appeal will be turned down.
imo he’s guilty.
28 Sep 2011, 19:00 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-575:
Send him to pollsmoor.
Capo will keep him company.
28 Sep 2011, 19:04 pm
Heard on radio that extradition can be overturned if accused is suicide risk and he def is!
28 Sep 2011, 19:05 pm
Hopefully he gets appealed in prison, but then again he likes it that way
28 Sep 2011, 19:06 pm
If he’s suicidal then he should prove it
28 Sep 2011, 19:08 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqjzAd7gwtQ
28 Sep 2011, 19:08 pm
Apparently he already took overdose
28 Sep 2011, 19:11 pm
Ja over the dose into the asss
28 Sep 2011, 19:17 pm
Onnodig
28 Sep 2011, 19:20 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-576:
unfortunately it wont happen that way as the sa gov had to pledge to keep him in a safer jail somewhere upcountry and also house him in his own cell. it was the only way to get them to agree to the extradition.
so no, justice will not be as severe and deserving as most people would like.
anyways…what a chop…she was quite a cutie pie and he kills her because he’s a backyard ranger…world’s a crazy place..
28 Sep 2011, 19:25 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-584:
She was a beauty. Many adore her now. Like John Lennon’s killer, he will not survive parole. Uitkyk.
28 Sep 2011, 19:26 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-584:
He’ll be safe with capo.
He prefers poodles.
28 Sep 2011, 19:29 pm
@ConradP(ConradP)-580:

nice…
.just watched it…and…thinking about the try by habana against the ozzies…sshit! but bryan was fast back then…
28 Sep 2011, 19:50 pm
backyard rangers can be crazy people, i dont know why…
i’ve certainly had a few guys, who i though i was making great friends with at the time as they were so nice to me and we were enjoying our drinks, take a very sudden and very sharp left turn on me…and ask me things like ‘can i suck your ****’…jeezuz!…and then go beffok and blame me for ‘leading them on’..even though i didn’t know where the mother/F they were coming from…talk about playing it in an offside position…
backyard rangers…world’s a crazy place….
28 Sep 2011, 19:54 pm
that all folks,
cheers…
(p.s: i dont mean any hurt against any rangers out there…if you’re reading this…its a free country…live proud, just dont be crazy…)
28 Sep 2011, 19:58 pm
Hooliha I am learning things here
28 Sep 2011, 20:00 pm
With a name like “i_love_u_bakkies” I can sort of understand what those backyard rangers are on about
You tease you! Ts ts ts
28 Sep 2011, 20:04 pm
And then he’s nogal surprised and indigant!
28 Sep 2011, 20:05 pm
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-6:
HAHHA i enjoyed the video as well
28 Sep 2011, 20:07 pm
Only thing i’m scared of is Keo talking up the Boks
we are bound to lose our next game
The Aussies scare me come WC. 1999 is imprinted in my mind. However Cooper is not a Larkam
28 Sep 2011, 20:10 pm
Keo, nice video!
28 Sep 2011, 20:11 pm
@Helen(Helen)-552:
Stunning. So that’s where you graunched a 1000 clits
28 Sep 2011, 20:13 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-510:
I actually see I to eye with some of old Alucard points
I do think Bissie is slightly overhyped yes. He is good but not superman like many make him out to be.
28 Sep 2011, 20:13 pm
Kreepy keohane
28 Sep 2011, 20:14 pm
@Helen(Helen)-552:
Yuk!!
28 Sep 2011, 20:21 pm
what a load of toss. keo you are just kommin boet, the vid isn’t funny and you are butt-ugly.
28 Sep 2011, 20:25 pm
@sandeno(sandeno)-600:
‘toss – “kommen” – butt’
there’s more to this comment than meets the eye.
what are your real feelings towards keo?
28 Sep 2011, 20:27 pm
Talking about backyard rangers
28 Sep 2011, 20:31 pm
for people knocking about, go have some fun with the French take on the ABlacks team, some proper, insightful and fun loving journalism
http://www.lequipe.fr/Rugby/coupe-du-monde-2011/All-Blacks-inside.html
28 Sep 2011, 20:32 pm
Goodie
Sniper has started
Hooha
28 Sep 2011, 20:39 pm
@sandeno(sandeno)-603:
I’m singing in the rain
just signing in the rain…
28 Sep 2011, 20:46 pm
Funny, I always see Victor Matfield as a gorilla…. Not a giraffe!!
28 Sep 2011, 20:46 pm
I’m farking tired, the power cut at work today and guess what. A lot of people couldn’t work but farkit my PC was working just fine. Can you believe it?
Ridiculous
28 Sep 2011, 20:47 pm
Someone might have already made that important rugby observation but frankly I cannot be arsed to trawl through 13 pages of Kiwi baiting to check!!
28 Sep 2011, 21:04 pm
this was quite funny, but disturbing at the same time….
28 Sep 2011, 21:07 pm
@Helen(Helen)-559: Helen, I too have been disturbed by that photo of Butch and his lavicious smirk, I thought it was just because I am (a) a Kiwi and (b) male!
28 Sep 2011, 21:11 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-610:
That’s why we aren’t playing Butch. Carter and Woodcock would be too energized.
28 Sep 2011, 21:12 pm
No kiwi baiting here peace has broken out all over! Pops has reformed.
28 Sep 2011, 21:35 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-612:
Oh, perhaps I will have a bit of a read then!
Quiet evening here in Blighty!
Programme about Manta Rays in the Maldives…..Ho Humm !!
28 Sep 2011, 21:39 pm
Am glued to the sniper show!
Gung ho and all!
28 Sep 2011, 21:41 pm
Heavens, it appears that Sharks also take huge chunks out of Manta Rays!!
28 Sep 2011, 21:42 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-614:
Sounds as riviting as my choice!
Fancy a game of I – Spy ?
28 Sep 2011, 21:48 pm
What di I have to do?
28 Sep 2011, 21:51 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-617:
I spy with my little eye something beginning with ‘B’….!!
28 Sep 2011, 21:53 pm
28 Sep 2011, 22:16 pm
Too tired after calamitous day!
28 Sep 2011, 22:30 pm
Now Valencia v Chelsea…..!!
Am loosing the will to live, where are the Night Owls when you need them?
28 Sep 2011, 22:38 pm
Have to hand it to Keo, his ‘Toy Story’ is more entertaining than European Cup Football!!
28 Sep 2011, 22:41 pm
29 Sep 2011, 07:24 am
OMG, just wacthed the clip.
my wife thinks i’ve lost it if this is the reason i spend so much time here