KeoTV: Inside the Bok war room
28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

624 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All
28 Sep 2011, 15:08 pm
Gentlemen Start Your Engines!
28 Sep 2011, 15:16 pm
General question: does anyone know where you can get DVD’s of old games? I’m looking for complete games, not just highlights or something. If not DVDs to buy, is there anywhere these can be downloaded? By old I don’t mean ancient or anything, just over the past 20 odd years or so
28 Sep 2011, 15:16 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-500: Yup, but unfortunately he cannot kick himself for being dof!
28 Sep 2011, 15:18 pm
You know that Keo is just going to end up throwing those toys out of the pram
28 Sep 2011, 15:26 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502: wait for Alucard to get here, he knows exactly where to download games. he’s got “in game sources” that he uses for stats.
28 Sep 2011, 15:27 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502:
i know in the old days there was a shop in auckland park (sabc hq – for our overseas bloggers)… and they had ‘videos’ of the old games and tours…
dunno if they still have the shop or dvds available but may be worth calling them…
28 Sep 2011, 15:27 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-499:
shorking.
28 Sep 2011, 15:30 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-495:
“On top of that when we fall to the ground, it gets in the way. It’s just another bad idea that we have got from the southern hemisphere teams. One of the downsides of professionalism.”
these froggies really do make me laugh sometimes hehehe
@Transformation(Transformation)-494:
@David(David)-469:
28 Sep 2011, 15:35 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-502:
i cant remember who, but there’s a blogger who has vhs tapes from way, way back…just ask transie, i think he’ll know who it is…
28 Sep 2011, 15:36 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-509: Definately Alucard. Or as I like to call him, Alutard.
28 Sep 2011, 15:38 pm
WP team looking patchy
15. Heinrich Steyl, 14. Danie Poolman, 13. Berton Klaasen, 12. Marcel Brache, 11. JJ Engelbrecht, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nick Fenton-Wells, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Adriaan Fondse, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg (C), 1. JC Kritzinger
Reserves:
16. Deon Fourie, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Tertius Daniller, 19. Nick Koster/P Louw, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Johann Sadie, 22. Conrad Jantjes
28 Sep 2011, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-505: hahaha, i’m not sure i want to be seeing the videos he’s been watching
@ufo(ufo)-506: sounds promising, i’ll get on that, thanks man…
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-509: is there a way to get vhs in digital format? i’ll check with transie though, thanks…
28 Sep 2011, 15:42 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-510: ja, he collects his OWN stats cos verusco and statspro are unreliable and THEIR “interpretation of a n effective tackle includes even the ones where spies is driven back by israel dagg”
28 Sep 2011, 15:44 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-496:
The bookies say there is a 9% chance that SA will win it. Same as Aus.
60% chance that NZ will take it
28 Sep 2011, 15:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-513: yeah. The guy’s a comic loving kid who’s nick is Dracula spelled backwards. Whaddaya expect
28 Sep 2011, 15:46 pm
So, based on the disciplinary stats, the final should be between SA and Italy?
28 Sep 2011, 15:49 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-515: …woah, only just realised that
28 Sep 2011, 15:50 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-510:

but seriously, does he really have them on vhs? or are you guys just ******** with him?
@Transformation(Transformation)-511:
really now…one bad loss to the cheetahs and wp’s looking patchy…
politics transie…you’d make a killing….
28 Sep 2011, 15:53 pm
lets see what happens in durbs.
28 Sep 2011, 15:54 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518:
there’s a school of thought that they’re actually betamax.
and that he blogs on a commodore that is older than he is.
inverse geekchic.
28 Sep 2011, 15:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-511:
patchy is being kind…
have said from the beginning of the season i don’t expect us to make the semis… even when we where placed second…
the youngsters have given a great showing… but this season is one for blooding (and losing) youngsters…
next year is gonna be a whole different story though as the ‘senior’ guys are on a mission to win a trophy or two… that’s why they’re all staying on after the WC and why I guess the impatient youngsters are moving outta town…
28 Sep 2011, 15:55 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-517: Try and keep up Barnsey
Actually when the kid gets here he”ll get all indignant and start telling you about how it’s actually a fantasy character in some comic who bases his persona on Dracula spelled backwards or something yadda yadda zzzzzzzzz
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518: No actually he said that once.
Actually, more than once. Ask Transie
28 Sep 2011, 15:57 pm
Imagine it. The year is 2051
Uganda hosts the 17th world cup. Opening game in the Lee Chang Mandarin Heroes stadium.
Minnows Australia and one of their newly acquired colonies, New Zealand put up a brave display of running rugby on Friday night. New Zealand winger, Klasie van Staden scored a hat trick before Thinus Steyn (son of former springbok Francois) slotted 4 drop goals from behind his own goal line for the Australians. The third umpire had to be called in to judge one of the kicks as it appeared he’d made irregular use of his laser guided iris implant.
Both teams made full use of the recently unbanned substance Anabolica Fiximus, taken anally during the half time break. It lifted the spiirts of both sets of forwards and their increased aggression resulted in 4 players being airlifted to the nearby US airbase for cathartic valiscous treatment and then resussitation.
The final score was 12 – 9 as per the recently introduced scoring system which counts the number of players who can touch both their ears at the same time without assistance.
After their victory over the kiwis, Aus now have improved odds of meeting South Eastern Midlands Samoa in the final of the prized John Smit Cup (renamed since his heroic efforts in winning the cup way back in 2011)
28 Sep 2011, 16:01 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-159: Heheh I hear you. Yeah I think essentially the forwards are the wallies main problem. SA vs NZ is very fairly weighted up front, but you guys have the wood on us with the backs. I could see the reaction of the Kiwi crowd at the French match and the peeps really look like they could do with that win. They were cheering their heads off everytime the All Blacks scored. We all do for our own teams but sometimes you can see it just means a bit more so it obviously meant a lot for them to get one over the French after last time.
Either way unfortunately it wont be an SA vs NZ final. We have to first get through the Wallabies and then through you lot. Going to be one huge ask for the Saffa team but the way theyre playing currently is heartening. Must say those Tournament stats Helen was rattling off made SA look pretty impressive. Nice to see our lot actually scoring tries and looking cohesive for a change. We´ve suffered miserably over the last year man.
The old foe. Greatest nod for ultimate respect.
Hope the personal issues are getting sorted for you.
28 Sep 2011, 16:05 pm
@Helen(Helen)-523: Nice!
28 Sep 2011, 16:10 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
hey poppa… just read your post now because of Slummie’s post above…
haven’t read any others so don’t know what anyone else has said…
personally, i’ve never had a problem with you even though we’ve traded blows from time to time… but as far as i’m concerned, such a sincere post can only be respected, and any past history is water under a duck’s back…!!
really hope your personal issues are being addressed and sorted…
all the best bud…!
28 Sep 2011, 16:13 pm
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-518: what do you mean?
the guy told me multiple times that he has the games on vhs, since the ’90s!!!!!!
he told US he has written a “comprehensive dossier” on how kak PdV is.
he says:
- Bismarck is overrated, and has only made four ball steals in three years.
- says de jongh got “torn apart” by the all blacks at soccer city
- says kankowski has had only one decent game for Boks against Italy or something
All this from his vhs tapes
28 Sep 2011, 16:15 pm
@ufo(ufo)-526: i’ll remind you of this post when he sshits on you again
28 Sep 2011, 16:17 pm
World Cup Pool R, opening game
Old rivals South Africa and the Independent People’s Republic of Western Cape locked horns in an epic encounter. The free flowing rugga was spoilt by the ongoing race relations of Africa, with both teams calling other keos.
South African captain, John Smit silenced his critics and even two spectators with one barn storming run after another. Japie Zille, the captain of IPRWC team badgered the ref about Smit’s illegal use of his zimmer frame during these runs.
Both teams struggled in the lineouts, but Geoff Longshlong eventually achieved dominance in this facet of play with his 3.03m frame towering over the opposition. Geoff also reached the milestone of the first artificially designed human to reach 10 caps in a IPRWC jersey.
Japie Zille, in his concession speech after the game, thanked Buddah for the opportunity to play.
28 Sep 2011, 16:24 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-520:

i own a commodore 64…was my first pc…64k memory 8 bit processor..i still have it laying around somewhere
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-512:
yup, vhs to digital convertors…simples…
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-522:
28 Sep 2011, 16:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-528:
hehehe… okay…
sure, i’ve been surprised by some of his posts but haven’t really had a personal issue with poppa…
we’re back to square one… we’ll get on ‘that’ when the dice rolls that way again… hopefully we just hit the ladders and miss the snakes…
i wrote a piece recently about how we as saffa’s find it so hard to say sorry, own our mistakes and be accountable for our actions… so i truly respect people who sincerely do just that… so big kudos to poppa from me…
even when we do disagree in future..
28 Sep 2011, 16:26 pm
The All Blacks would consider pulling out of the 2015 Rugby World Cup unless commercial restrictions imposed on teams were revamped, New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) chief Steve Tew said today.
Tew said such a drastic and unprecedented step would be “the very last port of call” but could not be ruled out, as current arrangements meant his organisation posted a loss every time the quadrennial tournament was held.
“That’s obviously a last resort and our style is to be consultative, collaborative and to try to work with everybody to find a solution,” Tew told Radio New Zealand when asked if the All Blacks could boycott the 2015 World Cup in England.
Tew said International Rugby Board (IRB) rules penalised major unions in World Cup years because their regular Test schedules were curtailed and teams were not allowed to promote their sponsors during the tournament.
He said this meant that competing at the 2011 World Cup was costing the NZRU more than NZ$13 million ($10.3 million).
“It’s putting pressure on the balance sheet and frankly, in the current environment, we just can’t afford to run a World Cup-year loss, nor do we think it’s necessary.” he said.
Earlier, Tew told Britain’s Guardian newspaper: “The prospects of us going to England in 2015 under the current model are very slim. We cannot continue to sign on for an event that costs us so much money.”
He told Radio NZ that the NZRU had been pushing the IRB for changes to the commercial arrangements for eight years and had gone public to try to ensure the issue was finalised by 2015.
“Now is not a bad time to make sure the issue is raised and considered, to give ourselves enough time to find a solution without having to go to any drastic measures,” he said.
“We have the support of most of the major unions and a review is not only necessary but now, in our view, quite urgent.”
Tew said the bulk of the NZRU’s NZ$13 million shortfall came from television revenues and gate receipts lost because the annual Tri-Nations competition was shortened in World Cup years so it did not clash with the tournament.
He said other major unions faced similar problems, estimating their combined losses at 35-40 million pounds ($55-63 million).
Tew said solutions the IRB could consider were changing the World Cup date, to allow a full Tri-Nations schedule, or paying more money to participating unions.
He also said the IRB’s World Cup sponsorship rules, designed to avoid any clash between team sponsors and the IRB’s own corporate supporters, should be relaxed.
“In football, the FIFA model, there is room for both sets of sponsors to get some coverage during the World Cup period and we think that’s something we should be looking at very seriously,” he said.
A Rugby World Cup Ltd. spokesman said the commercial model that applied to the tournament was being reviewed .
“We are committed to working in collaboration with our unions to ensure that the tournament continues to balance the strategic needs of our unions with the ability to provide the financial platform for the development of (the) sport,” he said.
28 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-529: You’re only half right. The IPRWC will wipe the floor with the rest of SA as we know that all the best players are born here in the Cape. And the 3.03m player is Dries Bekker Jr, son of legendary Springbok Andries, the first springbok to play over 200 tests.
28 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
on ‘that’ SQURE when
28 Sep 2011, 16:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-529: @Helen(Helen)-523: Brilliant stuff – you made my day! I hope you get to episode 3 before you bleed to death or something stupid like that
28 Sep 2011, 16:33 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-533:
He’s Andries’ son, but due to dad’s promiscuity, no-one knows who the mother is… Maternity tests were performed on 93,003 women who claimed to be the mother and the most likely candidate seems to be a test tube in Plattekloof dental clinic. Andries says he never had se xual relations with that test tube, but a 1.3m long pubic hair was found on the scene. Invetigation is ongoing
28 Sep 2011, 16:33 pm
@madvillain(madvillain)-532: a bit late on he uptake mntan’ enkosi…
All Blacks hooker Keven Mealamu said players would be devastated if they were unable to compete at the next World Cup.
Mealamu is certainly hoping the boycott does not happen.
“It would be devastating for our country and for rugby players,” said the veteran hooker.
“All we can control is what we do on the field and try and leave it up them to try and make that happen.”
“It would be devastating for us as rugby players to know we wouldn’t be able to make it to the next World Cup.”
28 Sep 2011, 16:35 pm
http://www.news24.com/Multimedia/MyNews24/Fish-Hoek-attack-shark-spotted-20110928
Check out this from news 24. footage of the aftermath of the shark attack and clearly shows the shark in the water.
He’s a big fella too!
28 Sep 2011, 16:36 pm
@Helen(Helen)-536: lol touche’ lass.
28 Sep 2011, 16:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-533: were you aware of this?
The IRB doesn’t force the Sanzar nations to reduce the Tri-Nations competition in RWC years. That’s their call.
28 Sep 2011, 16:37 pm
@Helen(Helen)-536: Claims were denied that the freak was conceived during the previous RWC opening ceremony when the love dance, called the Faka, was performed…
28 Sep 2011, 16:39 pm
What the hell is up with that WP side? Some interesting names in there.
Gwant must be doing his nut. Circus by the sea indeed.
They’ll probably give the Shorks a run this weekend.
This years CC is so farking AVERAGE!
28 Sep 2011, 16:40 pm
This is hilarious – was Keo pissed when he did this skit ?
enjoyable, your best work Mark.
28 Sep 2011, 16:40 pm
you gotta love how some of these kiwi websites are spinning this one
Tew has said that if the IRB doesn’t rethink the way they distribute money out of the World Cup’s massive profit pool, then New Zealand could well pull out of the next tournament in England. Yes, England.
So Tew has delivered a hammer blow to the next hosts by threatening to withdraw the game’s iconic team. A World Cup without the All Blacks would be, well, like a milkshake without milk.
28 Sep 2011, 16:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-527:
well then, he gets full marks for dedication. i mean ffs to make the time to rewind and fast forward vhs tapes of all the bok’s games in order to compile match analyses of the players performances…sjoe…wow…there’s bok supporters…and then there’s ‘bok’ supporters…
jan and elton, take a step back and cover your eyes…you’re about to get blown away…
28 Sep 2011, 16:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-540: The Tri Nations wasn’t shortened this was it? All 3 teams played the required home and away leg against each other.
It;s possible that the Bledisloe Cup and possibly the mandela cup may have lost a fixture? Not sure.
But the IRB doesn’t force them to do anything of the sort I’m sure.
28 Sep 2011, 16:42 pm
Fark me what a calamitous day.
And that’s a biiiiigggg shark.
28 Sep 2011, 16:42 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-542:
28 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
2057. Super83 Final
Floyd Shivambu Stadium, Harrismith
Queensland Reds vs North Eastern Natal Midlands Mongooses
The Reds showed no signs of jet lag after their late morning flight of 34 minutes from Brisbane Intergallactic and played with their usual aggression. Even when the Mongooses ran onto the field, they maintained the aggression, but still only toward each other and some of the spectators.
Mongoose Captain, honourable chief Sithole (IV), was seen handing the touch judge a R300,000 note, but the ref thought a penalty was sufficient punishment for the infringement. Minutes later, the same touch judge tripped a Reds player moments before he crossed the try Mongoose try line.
In his post match interview, Reds coach, Quade Cooper accepted the defeat, but said the travelling distance and rife corruption in SA are to blame for their lack lustre performance. He could be seen pic-pocketing the cameraman’s laptop during the interview. A citing commission is looking into the matter
28 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-547: We’re gonna need a bigger boat!
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All