KeoTV: Inside the Bok war room

MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.

624 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 51.Helen: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-43:

…something he picked up at a Taupo bar.

• 52.castlelager: Reply to this comment

Ok I have to admit I found the vid quite funny

• 53.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Check out this article from RUGBY 365 (which is where I get all my decent rugby news from):

The All Blacks would consider pulling out of the 2015 Rugby World Cup unless commercial restrictions imposed on teams were revamped, New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) chief Steve Tew said on Wednesday.

Tew said such a drastic and unprecedented step would be “the very last port of call” but could not be ruled out, as current arrangements meant his organisation posted a loss every time the quadrennial tournament was held.

“That’s obviously a last resort and our style is to be consultative, collaborative and to try to work with everybody to find a solution,” Tew told Radio New Zealand when asked if the All Blacks could boycott the 2015 World Cup in England.

Tew said IRB rules penalised major unions in World Cup years because their regular Test schedules were curtailed and teams were not allowed to promote their sponsors during the tournament.

He said this meant that competing at the 2011 World Cup was costing the NZRU more than NZ$13 million ($10.3 million).

“It’s putting pressure on the balance sheet and frankly, in the current environment, we just can’t afford to run a World Cup-year loss, nor do we think it’s necessary.” he said.

Earlier, Tew told Britain’s Guardian newspaper: “The prospects of us going to England in 2015 under the current model are very slim. We cannot continue to sign on for an event that costs us so much money.”

He told Radio NZ that the NZRU had been pushing the IRB for changes to the commercial arrangements for eight years and had gone public to try to ensure the issue was finalised by 2015.

“Now is not a bad time to make sure the issue is raised and considered, to give ourselves enough time to find a solution without having to go to any drastic measures,” he said.

“We have the support of most of the major unions and a review is not only necessary but now, in our view, quite urgent.”

Tew said the bulk of the NZRU’s NZ$13 million shortfall came from television revenues and gate receipts lost because the annual Tri-Nations competition was shortened in World Cup years so it did not clash with the tournament.

He said other major unions faced similar problems, estimating their combined losses at 35-40 million pounds ($55-63 million).

Tew said solutions the IRB could consider were changing the World Cup date, to allow a full Tri-Nations schedule, or paying more money to participating unions.

He also said the IRB’s World Cup sponsorship rules, designed to avoid any clash between team sponsors and the IRB’s own corporate supporters, should be relaxed.

“In football, the FIFA model, there is room for both sets of sponsors to get some coverage during the World Cup period and we think that’s something we should be looking at very seriously,” he said.

A Rugby World Cup Ltd. spokesman said the commercial model that applied to the tournament was being reviewed .

“We are committed to working in collaboration with our unions to ensure that the tournament continues to balance the strategic needs of our unions with the ability to provide the financial platform for the development of (the) sport,” he said.

• 54.Derrida: Reply to this comment

The real irony is that these “spiff” videos are not posted by choice. Mark and the gang have no real access to the boks, hence the lack of substance.

• 55.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-42:
    seriously, i dont think read will be match fit enough quick enough.
    i think teddy-g’s gonna make a mistake playing him.

• 56.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

This video was damn funny!

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-49: @Taahirah(Taahirah)-50:

Keo has dared to be different.
    He knew he would be ridiculed by many Posters.

But decided to have some fun in the Toy Shop anyway.

Keo, JC and Ryan will be having a great laugh, Slurping back some Castles.
    Seeing how seriously some Posters are taking things.

(now I’m not saying this is good. But fun and brave yes).

• 58.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Derrida(Derrida)-54:
    i know, i wonder if this fact is lost on keo?

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53:
    oh puulleeaze…the all blacks can just ffuck off and go play with themselves if thats the case…see if anyone cares….

this guy cant be speaking for the collective because it just a stupid statement.

• 59.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Its bullshit.

How would NZ pulling out by themselves help improve their balance sheet?

Its a bargaining tactic because their coffers are emptier than Mrs Hubbard’s pantry.

• 60.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53: New Zealand will bleat about anything! Would they be happier of rugby didn’t develop around the rest of the world? Is the spirit of rugby taken into account in any decisions the NZRFU makes? I think not, its all me me me as far as they are concerned. Tossers.

• 61.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Toy Story Uncut?

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Big babies.

• 63.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-56:
    well, you know the old saying about he who laughs last…so just watch out for when the wild animals say howzit to the all blacks…see the ‘blackness’ drain out of 4.5 mil kiwis quicker than they can light a spliff…

and then keo will be all ‘yayyy go bokke!’…yes, he’s got two faces…

• 64.Staal: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-56: so how’s that list going?

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

@Derrida(Derrida)-54: indeed, they are social outcasts and are no more than interested tourists.

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Part 2 of my sniper doccie tonight.

Can’t wait.

hooha

• 67.Helen: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-57:

I get you, but this video is not silly in a good way. It is silly in a poor way.

The whole “by the time you watch this Habana would’ve scored 5 tries against Namibia” thing is also erring on the wrong side of excellence. Am I the only bothered by this?

• 68.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-59: This we know. They’ve struggled to make a profit for years.

This is a classic clash of the interests of competing teams/individuals and the corporate sponsors of the “owners” of the tournament (in this case the IRB, but it applies equally to FIFA and the IOC).

NZ haven’t sorted themselves out internally, now they basically want the IRB to subsidise them

I wouldn’t be surprised if sponsors the co-incidently sponsor the NZ Rugby team become the official sponsors of the IRB in future.

To be fair, they’re probably the biggest drawcard for the game. And they know it.

• 69.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Sorry grammar

• 70.Hooker22: Reply to this comment

Keo, why don’t you do stand-up comedy?

Is it because you’re so unfunny… or because no one would believe you’re standing up?

• 71.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: It’s just negotiation 101 at play.

• 72.Helen: Reply to this comment

So, am I right in thinking this is how the qrts and semis are shaping up?

Qrts
    SA vs Aus
    Wales vs Ire
    NZ vs Arg
    Eng vs Fra

Semis
    SA vs NZ
    Eng vs Ire

• 73.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-60:

the spirit of rugby by that do you mean NZ should never get another world cup for financial reasons, Tew points out all the other top nations agree but don’t have the balls or ranking to say anything, NZ is the top draw card in world rugby we want our share and why shouldn’t we

• 74.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Hooker22(Hooker22)-70:

the way he flip flops between opposing opinions, keo has a bright future as a stand up chameleon

• 75.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Derrida(Derrida)-54:

Burned too many bridges.
    No-one in the bok camp will speak to keo.
    Yep, the world certainly needs more people like keo! A real prize fighter!

• 76.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-67: We’ve come to expect less from Keo over the years. Holding him to a “lower” standard, if you will. Expecting the “short” end of the stick. You know….

• 77.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-72:
    Quarters yes, semi’s are speculative

• 78.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73:

Why threaten to pull out though? Petulant?

Can’t have a 2015 World Cup without the reigning champions!

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-75: You’ve hit the nail on the head with the burned bridges thing.

Keo is putting his cards on Luke being the next Springbok captain and Cheeky being the next coach. They are the only ones who will still speak to him.

For now.

• 80.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Steve tew and his minions have not had the interests of NZ rugby at heart for a long time now…their corporate sellout to Adidas only highlights this…

offering ridiculous money to lure SBW back with the backroom promise of an AB jersey further emphasises this..

its their mismananagement that now sees the NZRFU financial sheet looking as dire as it is…

the sooner he and his board are gone, and real rugby men are re-instated, the better for the game in NZ..

• 81.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Hmmm… this thread make one wonder once again.

Is KEO’s team still banned from the Boks (unofficially) since their ‘indiscretions’ from a few years ago? The story Keo blew out of proportion earlier this year about the Boks in Rustenburg most probably didn’t help either.

Hmmm… this would probably explain the constant ‘sarcasm’ towards the boks.

• 82.David: Reply to this comment

So Tew reckons that if NZ pull out they’ll earn the money that they currently lose from a tournament that will still be shortened?

• 83.HHS: Reply to this comment

Popped collars, shades in doors and probably white shoes with that outfit. Keo show us your Ed Hardy collection. Eish…

The Kiwi’s arrest Vata Ngobeni but they allow “gangsta” Keo to walk around NZ like a boss.

• 84.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-75:
    Fronting an active and dynamic blog while being a suck up to the establishment at the same time would be hard act to master.

• 85.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-80:

Good post.

You’re a very pleasant blogger when you keep it to rugby.

At the moment your team looks unstoppable.

• 86.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-80: I actually agree with NZRFU about this. It is similar to FIFA at this stage. The only guys scoring from World Cups are the administrators of the International body. They walk away with millions each!

• 87.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73: The problem with NZ’s finances start at local level. They cannot fill stadiums on a NPC or Cup level, it’s shocking to see how empty the stadiums are.

A weak local state of financial affairs translates into a weak national balance sheet.

It’s amazing actually how NZ manage to remain the top team in the world in spite of these challenges.

This is why they are pushing the Tri Nations part. Because revenues generated by the SA sponsors contribute a dispraportionate amount to the NZ coffers, (SANZAR).

SA By contrast have a very healthy local comp, Tri Nations and Super Rugby aside.

• 88.Tiptackle: Reply to this comment

So the AB’s won’t be winning a WC before 2019……..

• 89.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-81:

I believe Peter de Villiers went as far as to ban the team from speaking to anyone from keo.co.za.

For all we know, he’s even asked the players not to even read the website!

• 90.Helen: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-80:

How are you today sweetie :-)

• 91.Brads: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-82:
    NZ wont pul out of the RWC.

But as stormersboy said, this is negotiations 101.

NZ want changes and make an outrageous demand, the IRB will counter with next to nothing, but in the end a bone will be thrown that relaxes the rules just a tad and everyone will walk away claiming to be a winner.

• 92.Helen: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-89:

Fat chance. I know there is at least one Bok who posts here under a pseudonymn… you know who you are.

• 93.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-73:
    i dont understand what you mean by “we want our share”?
    we bring our teams and our money to the table…and you just bring your team and then you take our money from the table. wtf?
    we already pay to keep you in the s15 as well the 3n and now you want us to pay for your wc’s too? grief!…

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-86: Except that all the other top tier nations manage to maintain a very healthy balance sheet outside of any WC revenue. Not NZ for many reasons (some which I have pointed out, and some that Poppa has also correctly pointed out)@poppa69(poppa69)-80:

• 95.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Man these videos are just getting creepier and creepier. Its no wonder they dont have direct access to the Boks. How can you be a serious journo about a sport in your country when your national team wont let you interview them? The time of my departure from this blog is drawing near it seems. The banter is fun but also stupid at times. The insults too much. I understand that theyve said things that are unpopular and for the most part I support that, but I guess it could have been done with a bit more tact. A lot of webs and journos have said the same things in a different way.
    If it was funny at least there would be that – but it isnt. Its just juvenile.

• 96.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:

If South Africa did pull out of SANZAR it would be a financial body blow to the ARU and the NZRFU.

South Africa is a major cash cow.

• 97.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-92:

Leave Agile *** Tyrant out of this.

• 98.Helen: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93:

Ja, NZ rugby relies heavily on revenue from SA. Without it, the former ‘gem’ of world rugby (kiwis) would hurry down to the 2nd tier and fight for a place in the top 5
    A fairer system would see more Samoans plying their trade in SA than in NZ.

• 99.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-82: I’m not sure what he is thinking. Or even if he is thinking…..

• 100.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-95:

I remember the days when keo would get ‘guest bloggers’ online and we had a chance to ‘interview’ coaches and players. Now that would make for an interesting blog

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.