KeoTV: Inside the Bok war room

MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.

624 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 151.Helen: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-147:

Hore has to be Polygamous Barbie.

• 152.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-149: ;D :D :D aint that the truth boet.

• 153.Brads: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143:
    You are correct, NZRU are in trouble.

However, where I say Newscorp I actually mean all broadcasting rights, as distinct from local sponsorship in any format that might take.

Yes, if SA were not involved, then a massive chunk of the appeal of SH rugby would be gone, but that is not the case. SA are here and they do compete.

The reason broadcasters outside of SA are interested in screening games, and paying big bucks to do so, is because it is a wider competition than just the Currie Cup.

I will wager you anything you like that the income earned via external broadcasting from the S15 is massively more lucrative to SARU than the Currie Cup.

• 154.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-147: Piri = Teletubby.

(maybe TinkywInky?)

• 155.whatever: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha, how many times has poppadoos apologized over the years? Plenty! How Many times has he threatened not to come back? Plenty! A leopard never ever changes it’s spots, once a doos always a doos. He will revert back to normal soon, that much is a certainty!

• 156.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:

Listen this cape crusader rant is now getting boring

Los hulle uit.

Laat hulle doen wat hulle wil.

• 157.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-156: You’re secretly one of them, aren’t you? The double life of dawn…

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-155:

With that kind of rubbish, who can blame him.

• 159.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: cheers mate, you dont need to toss maoris, just hand us an amber liquid and we’ll jump :D

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-141: agree totally, may the best team win, and if it is not to be the ABs, then one of our SH partners would be the preferred option…the old enemy before the convicts, though I would rather face the Aussies in the semi than you guys, only because I think we still have the wood on them.. :D and against your team it is definitely a 50/50 game and the ticker may not last..

• 160.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Under the last SANZAR agreement, the ARU received 29% ($US93M) of total revenue with NZ and SA getting 33% ($US107M) and 38 % ($123M) respectively. As part of the protracted negotiations surrounding the awarding of the new Super 15 franchise, all SANZAR Nations agreed to split revenue from the new deal equally as each country would have 5 teams.

The trade off for this concession to the ARU was that the new broadcast deal only included Super 15 games and Tri-nations tests with each Nation being able to negotiate its own deals for rights to their respective in-bound international test and domestic competitions. When these revenues are added to the bottom line, things look decidedly paltry for the ARU.

It has been estimated that with Currie Cup and in-bound tests, SA Rugby has been able to negotiate an extra $US58M, an increase in revenue of 46% on the old agreement. The NZRU, whose NPC is estimated to be worth $US20M, will increase revenue by 13%, even before in-bound test revenue is factored into this figure.

With no third-tier competition to hock, the ARU stands to only increase revenues by 7% or $US7M before in-bound test revenues are considered, not a great prospect given the poor TV ratings of this year’s tests.

So Sanzar activities are split equally however domestic comps and inbound tours are not. Nor should they be. This it is why it is in Australias interest to marginalise our domestic competion.

Interesting to note the difference in perceived value between NZ and SA domestic comps.

• 161.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-155:

and you’d know

• 162.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Poops, it takes a man to apologize. Good on you mate :-) I assume I don’t have to ask helen to make you a bunnychow? ;-)

• 163.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-150: upped my dosage :lol:

• 164.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-158:

• 165.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-157:

Are you calling me a toothless rabid Cape Crusader cheap AB jersey wearing alkolis anoniem?

Howveryfuckingdareyou.

• 166.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-161: leave him be mate, proofs in the pudding… I have to earn that right again…

• 167.Helen: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-162:

The next bunny chow I pull out goes straight into the DHL bag to popp69

• 168.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-160:

The rand is worthless so that is also a big help to SA.

• 169.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:

You know, you’re right.

Majat Half Black shirts are a dime-a-dozen at Cape Town station…

• 170.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-116:

welcome back pops.

• 171.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-166:

Pops you defended NZ and the black jersey don’t beat yourself up too much

• 172.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93: JA, “the All Blacks are the biggest drawcard in rugby” didn’t you know?

they want their “share”, dammit or they will go on strike!

Steve Tew has been consulting Zwelinzima Vavi on the best methods of “collective bargaining”

they can’t be playing in World Cups and not getting paid…how the likes of Argentina, Romania, Georgia & Namibia afford to bring teams to the World Cup without being part of a money spinning alliance is a miracle!

Justice 4 the All Blacks

• 173.Brads: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-135:
    Wrong.

You threw that comment in without doing a lick of research.

• 174.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-165: I drove past your beemer the other day and I saw you used tippex to put a large silver fern in the back window. While I commend your creativity, you might regret your choice of medium come re-sell time.

• 175.Helen: Reply to this comment

Now we just need to reform ET and Langers… and this place will be as peaceful as a rehab clinic during Sunday breakfast

• 176.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-162: thanks

@Gunther(gunther)-170: cheers gunther, yourself and Whatever especially I hope you guys can look past my idiocy.. and thanks

• 177.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-160: Very interesting, particularly that last point. I’m not surprised that ours is more valuable, but the difference is quite surprising.

But 100% correct on the Aussies and the local comp issue.

• 178.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172:

• 179.whatever: Reply to this comment

Give him a day or two and normal service will be resumed, seen it before and gave the benefit of doubt, but was disappointed. Happy to lay odds :)

• 180.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-171: yeah, but I also overstepped some pretty obvious boundaries, theres no defense for my defense of the AB jersey with the rubbish I used…

• 181.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-153: There’s no doubt that we benefit out of the Super comp. That wasn’t really my point.

I’m still amazed at how the NZRU and a team like the Saders can remain so competative whilst remaining so marginal financially. A credit to them.

I do think they can improve their financial management greatly though.

• 182.Helen: Reply to this comment

Give that man a Bells

Makes me want to wear my All Black jersey today. Yes, Popp, I have one and wear it more often than I intend to coz it goes so nicely with everything…

• 183.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-174:

Cullarts never pimp their rides with Tippex.

How do you know us!

• 184.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-180:

Don’t stress it, man.

We all overstep from time to time.

You apologised, now just move on.

• 185.Helen: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-179:

Give the man a break… haven’t you ever stuffed u and hoped for forgiveness?
    Trust me, it is easier to forgive than to ask for forgiveness, so hats of to our Maori friend. I think we should all have a moment’s silence followed by a haka wherever we are, to celebrate this moment of Wolrd in Union we’re witnessing

• 186.francois93: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172: Transie guy that is a pearler, yep makes you think how the hell have Argentina managed to become a competitive team and actually achieve what they have. I mean its not like Sanzar have ever tried to do anything for Argentinian rugby no we left that one for the northern hemisphere. I mean the IRB have literally had to hold a gun to SANZAR’s collective heads to include those pesky Argentinians in a competition and what do we offer them, The awe inspiring Vodacom Cup. ;-)

• 187.whatever: Reply to this comment

Fu k me if you carry on like this I may shed a tear :)

• 188.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172: LOL

• 189.whatever: Reply to this comment

Not :)

• 190.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-180:

I say again. Who is this.

• 191.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-176:

let’s not be using me and whatever in the same sentence.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-174:

it depends on the target market.

wait until they discover it’s actually a modified jetta.

• 192.Michael: Reply to this comment

Poppa,
    *extends hand* Reckon we should all move on from the past. I remember you were one of my favourite posters before the dark period. Here’s to rugby instead.

• 193.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172:

don’t be unnecessary.

this is the best world cup ever!

• 194.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-185: Agreed.

Kitchener in 4-3-2-1 to ruin the peace!

• 195.Brads: Reply to this comment

The 5 year deal for S15 is this – Figures are in millions

SA US$180 – 48%
    NZ US$120 – 30%
    AU US $100 – 25%

The disproportionate amout for NZ compared to Aus is because Aus doesn’t have a domestic comp to prop up and the other two unions (NZ & SA) have ganged up and screwed them to the floor.

Compare that to the previous split for the S14
    SA US $123 – 38%
    NZ US $107 – 33%
    AU US $93 – 29%

However, it does show that despite all the assumptions from SA commentators, SARU does in fact have teeth and have secured the best deal from the partnership.

• 196.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-155: it’s because of you and KKK that Poppa lost his sshit, so please leave him alone, he is taking his medication now! :twisted:

• 197.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-191: :lol: just dont tell him Im about to go do my rounds..

later all…

• 198.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-192: thanks Michael…

• 199.francois93: Reply to this comment

Poppa guy just remember one thing when you blog with SA dudes. “THIS IS SPARTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” and guy I also used to enjoy your posts, not that my opinion is any more valuable that ice on a glacier.

• 200.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-191:

Shrink your head dude……….

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.