KeoTV: Inside the Bok war room
28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article23 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article28 Sep 2011
MARK KEOHANE reveals the Springboks’ plan to retain the World Cup.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

624 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
28 Sep 2011, 10:21 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
popps u dont need to take anything back, u a passionate AB supporter and a very decent guy too.
28 Sep 2011, 10:22 am
Good morning all, middle of week can not wait for Friday ?
Maybe just maybe Castro and the Mallet squad can do us a favour this week end.
28 Sep 2011, 10:23 am
Hate it when bloggers go all soft in the head.
28 Sep 2011, 10:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-198: What you did this morning (my time) is brave. It takes a gentleman and a brave human being. In return, I hope you accept my apologies for the things said from my side and that we can all move on properly. Buy you a drink if you’re ever in Blighty.
@francois93(francois93)-199: Yes we love nothing better than banter and the odd argument
@Transformation(Transformation)-196:
Transie, I take no responsibility for popps, he said what he said off his own bat. Just saying I have seen this all before …de jevu boet
Happy to be proved wrong though!
@Dawn(Dawn)-203: Don’t worry. Kitchener will be along later to toughen us up
@Dawn(Dawn)-203:
28 Sep 2011, 10:25 am
Burp!
28 Sep 2011, 10:27 am
Weather forecast for this weekend is “changeable”.
Here in NZ that means bursts of squally rain followed by sunshine then it all repeating itself every half hour.
28 Sep 2011, 10:28 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-204: Sheesh guy we should be a nation of bloody lawyers, I mean Safrican dudes love to rumble.
28 Sep 2011, 10:30 am
Amazing that 71% of people who took part in the (current) poll believe that this Bok team can beat the Aussies and AB’s on successive weekends.
I wonder whether it is only a case of patriotism that took their brains away or whether they are truely deluded.
since we all kissy kissy, its not right calling mccaw cheater either – but is he crooked of hoe?
@Brads(Brads)-195:
that’s not just super 15.
that’s for everything.
why should sa (or NZ for that matter) share their income from domestic comps and inbound tours?
how is that ******** them to the floor?
come now.
As for ET and Kicth, I think we should lock them both in a padded room and give them each a knife and crowbar.
Once a day, we can send someone in to sweep the blood and give a bunny chow to whoever is still conscious.
@Transformation(Transformation)-172:
silly all blacks
@Brads(Brads)-173:
ok i didnt research it but whats wrong about it?
under the old sanzar deal newscorp paid $550 mil for worldwide broadcast rights over 10 years, this money was evenly split between the three member unions yet our contribution in broadcast viewership is the highest (as mutichoice pays more, in turn to newscorp, to show these games here, to a bigger audience).
isn’t it fair to say that sa accounts for more of the revenue that newscorp makes than oz and nz does? if sa ‘offered’ the same amount in revenue to newscorp as you guys do dont you think it would make the whole deal less attractive to newscorp?
sa viewers contribute the most in order for newscorp to make a profit…in turn they can then pay sanzar a lot of money for the tv rights…the money from sanzar was evenly split between unions…
the reworked sanzar deal gunther mentions only marginally changes that as i’m pretty sure that sa viewers are still the major contributors to revenue, after the fact.
i mean, think it through man…is there any way that nz viewers could generate $107 mil in revenue for the nzru under any and all possible circumstances?
Keo – please take Butch off this page….
or i’ll get my shotgun and “take” it off the world wide web…..
the man is glaring at me…
please man…. i can only take it for so long….
28 Sep 2011, 10:31 am
@Brads(Brads)-209:
Love it “changeable”……….leaves it open for the day………………5 seasons in one day as Hellium said………
28 Sep 2011, 10:31 am
are you on drugs???
this thing is preposterous. journalism, seriously?!
i hope you have a day job.
28 Sep 2011, 10:32 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-211:
I will back the boks against the Ausies, but against the kiwis it will be do or die. Whoever wins THAT semi will deserve the cup
28 Sep 2011, 10:33 am
did anyone hear Helium when he said we want to play our “maps”, hy bedoel ons wil al ons kaarte speel….
@Helen(Helen)-214: Have faith in the Jocks, if they win end of Kitchener although I am sure he will slide back in under another name, but it wont matter cause we will always have the You Tube file. If I lose look out for my rebirth as Pienaar95
@Staal(Staal)-216:
If he winks, log off
28 Sep 2011, 10:35 am
@Staal(Staal)-216: Jy al Vic se book ge-pre-order?
Of maak jy hom sit op die plaas, en laat hom die boek aan jou voorlees?
28 Sep 2011, 10:35 am
@Staal(Staal)-216:
Agree, it’s like a Moray eel staring at you- Unsure whether it is shy or or about to become aggressive.How is the diving going?
28 Sep 2011, 10:36 am
@whatever(whatever)-222: now you’ve got me sierieaaaasly worried
@francois93(francois93)-210: If you want a nation of lawyers then visit Malta. Virtually every politician there is a lawyer…
@francois93(francois93)-210: We also like making up over a good braai after and grumble about something else
28 Sep 2011, 10:38 am
@Gunther(gunther)-213:
You have come in late.
The issue started over a comment that SA gave away more than their fair share of the SANZAR income, and lacked the balls to stamp on their partners to get what they deserve.
My figures refute the original assertion.
However, I am bored with the topic – lets move on!
28 Sep 2011, 10:39 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-176:
“and Whatever especially I hope you guys can “………..”
Phukk me, Popps. Don’t get too carried away.
Lay off the purple ones.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-226: lol, well Layers are like Sith apprentices to their Darklord Politico masters. the biggest oxymoron in the world is “an independent judiciary”
@Robzim(Robzim)-224: Moray
just came back from Red Sea last month… going to Madagascar in months time and Dec in Moz….
eish but the rand is not good!
yourself?
28 Sep 2011, 10:40 am
sorry 2 months ago.
28 Sep 2011, 10:44 am
@francois93(francois93)-230: There are a few good Maltese sayings for it, none of which I know how to write even though I am married to a Maltese
@cane(cane)-229:
Cane, who’s pissi ng in your ear?
Let the man apologise in peace
@Michael(mikeybrass)-227: the sanctity of the braai, thine sacrosanct place where all ills are forgotten while the wood burns and the meat chars, where grown men are made whole and hearty and beer is served in ice cold mugs and women fade to a distant buzz whilst contributing salads and such. Sigh the world would be a sadder and more desperate place without the braai in it.
28 Sep 2011, 10:45 am
@Brads(Brads)-228:
your figures are for everything not the super 15 cash (which is shared equally).
moving on.
@Robzim(Robzim)-224:
his eyes are too close together.
the sinister vibe is probably the photgrapher putting a fine stocking over the lens to give it grainy look.
I did the same thing when I took muff shots for Hustler in the 90′s for extra pocket money
28 Sep 2011, 10:45 am
@Staal(Staal)-232:
Hou op!
Jy laat my lag!
28 Sep 2011, 10:46 am
OK guys – gotto run.
be good and go BIG!.
You only live once!!
@Staal(Staal)-231:
Just back from Europe- sadly no diving- closest to it being the sighting of a jumping fish at Dartmouth,England.
Otherwise fine, thanks.
@Robzim(Robzim)-211:
Even I voted YES Robbie.
The key word is, “Could” the Boks beat…………………………….
Well of course they could.
29% of those participating in the Poll are obviously morons.
28 Sep 2011, 10:48 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-237: hey – time flies!
28 Sep 2011, 10:49 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-239: before i go just wanna say i’ll friggen never ever get in those cold waters…. never ever!
i’ve got standards man… standards…. min 26degrees or i stay up top!
28 Sep 2011, 10:50 am
I CANT FUKING BELIEVE HE RATES SPIES!!!!!! THIS OKE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT RUGBY!!!!!! IM NEVER LOOKING AT THIS KAK SIGHT AGAIN!!!!! I THINK KEO JUST JUMPED TO MY MOST ANNOYING PERSON IN THE WORLD
1.MARK KEOHANE
2.JULIUS MALEMA
I THINK IM BOUT TO HAVE A HEART ATTACK!!!!!
28 Sep 2011, 10:52 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: Feel better?
28 Sep 2011, 10:52 am
@cane(cane)-240:
I think ET voted a few times.
He has free SkypeGoogleInterweb.
It’s one of his special powers as a Cape Crusader.
28 Sep 2011, 10:54 am
@francois93(francois93)-235: I couldn’t put it better
My wife’s always amused to see me so happy on the rare days I can braai in England. She also knows better than to dare suggest how to cook the burgers!
Tablet for seabiscuit please
@oneslickpenguin(oneslickpenguin)-218:
Penguin.
The brilliance of the above piece,
is.
It is a piece of ****.
Even Keo will most likely admit that.
But hey ………………………………….WTF.
Fun in a Toy Shop…………………………..why must we grow up.
28 Sep 2011, 10:55 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: Have a braai dude. You’ll feel better.
28 Sep 2011, 10:55 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-243: lights the bong of peace, takes a very deep pull and hands it over ” chill bra, its all good”
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All