‘All Blacks are still favourites’
29 Sep 2011
Bryan Habana has challenged the popular perception that the Springboks are the team to beat at this World Cup.
Many of the New Zealand newspapers, television shows and radio stations have hailed the arrival of the Boks following their two big wins against Fiji and Namibia. ‘Can anybody beat this side?’ seems to be a popular question and theme running through the local media.
The All Blacks made a statement last Saturday when they thumped France 37-17. It was a significant result, as it all but ensured that they won Pool A (they should collect a further five points against Canada this Sunday). It was also a significant performance, as while a number of individuals shone it was a polished collective effort that sent the strongest message to New Zealand’s would-be challengers.
Habana confirmed that the Boks have taken note, and moved to play down the hype born on the back of South Africa’s big wins over Fiji and Namibia.
According to Habana, only one team has arrived at this tournament. For a team like the Boks, the recent performances need to be viewed in context. They are still a long way away from where they need to be.
‘The All Blacks have really laid down a marker, and they are the only team to have qualified for the play-offs,’ said Habana. ‘They are still the favourites.’
Habana said there’s still room for improvement before the do or die game against the Wallabies in the quarter-final. The Boks also won’t take anything for granted against Samoa, as a loose performance against the islanders could potentially cost them a place in the final eight.
‘When we went away from our structures [against Namibia] there were individual errors. We were good when we got back into our structures later in the game.
‘I believe the best is yet to come from this side. It’s been difficult [to build much momentum] with all the injuries over the last three weeks. The [first-choice] combinations haven’t had much of an opportunity to play together. There’s a lot to improve on, and we should start to see those combos clicking in the coming game.’
The Boks put 59 points past Samoa in the previous Test between these two sides. Habana was in top form on that occasion, scoring four tries.
Unfortunately, the Boks’ most prolific try-scorer has struggled to rediscover that kind of form in the subsequent four years, and in 2011 the team as a collective has battled to fire against the top sides. While Samoa is not in the top echelon, they will ask more questions than Fiji and Namibia.
‘They’ve improved a lot since 2007,’ said Habana. ‘They’ve always been physical but they are playing with a lot more structure in 2011.
‘We have to give our all. You can’t go into this game worrying about injuries [ahead of a probable quarter-final], rugby is a collision sport not a contact sport. If you’re worried about injuries you shouldn’t be playing rugby.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Auckland

172 Comments
29 Sep 2011, 06:09 am
“Popular perception”? Where? Valkenberg?
29 Sep 2011, 06:23 am
Has there EVER been a team MORE desperate to avoid the ‘Favourites’ tag whilst simultaneously harbouring incredibly insatiable egos ?
I mean – Bryan HABANA ?!?
*chortle*
29 Sep 2011, 06:39 am
The supporters and players of the United Pacific Ferns are completely shitting themselves for the playoffs with a team full of mentally shattered players and a nation of desperately wanting people.
29 Sep 2011, 06:44 am
ABs are virtually unbackable favourures, really. They have everything going for them – a strong and settled side, home advantage, sentimental support and goodwill stemming from the Christchurch quakes, a coach who has world cup experience and key personnel motivated by one last crack at Bill. To not win this thing now would put all previous losses in the shade,
29 Sep 2011, 06:50 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-4: got to disagree with some of your points..
strong and settled side? who is the first choice locking partner for Thorn? the first choice scrummy? Thompson at 8? wtf??
picking wingers who havent played a game in this WC?
GH has LOSING WC experience, and seems to have repeated this formula with his squad selection… Boric after no game time, though Im still miffed he didnt give Donnelly a crack this year, regardless of Super form.. Woodcock over Crockett etc.. we need some of PDVs inspired selection choices to assist us ( injury enforced
)…
29 Sep 2011, 06:51 am
@BP. What’s with the chortle? Were you home educated using The Beano?
29 Sep 2011, 06:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-5: He had it right with Hoeata. He was the form NZ lock in the S15. Selecting Boric to let go of Hoeata was truly daft. The issues you raise is all his own doing tho.
29 Sep 2011, 07:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-5:
Whitelock/Weepu.
29 Sep 2011, 07:04 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-2: We don’t perform as favourites as we do as underdogs
29 Sep 2011, 07:05 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-7: agreed… seems its not only PDV who has his own little fat boys club
the Auckland slant in some of his selections just doesnt make sense (and this from a blues fan)…
as you say, it his petard to hoist himself upon..
29 Sep 2011, 07:05 am
@JL1(JL1)-9:
After the Wesh game you couldn’t be favourites.
29 Sep 2011, 07:08 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-8: much prefer Cowan myself… not a Weepu fan, often takes too long to clear the ball from a ruck, allowing the opposition defense to realign..
29 Sep 2011, 07:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-5: And don’t they look silly now for omitting Crockett because of scrum penalties he concedes and now Woodcock seems to be getting on the wrong side of the ref anyway? Always said that what Crockett brought to the Crusaders and AB’s game far outweighs his ‘alleged’ weakness in the scrum. The day my hope increased tenfold when Crockett didn’t make it.
29 Sep 2011, 07:11 am
Boks are nowhere near being favourites in this WC , thats plain rubbish…
AB’s have basically destroyed all before them accept the Aussies in the 3N’s
Yes we know the Boks played a weakened b team blah blah blah, but the AB’s have been tops now for 2 years and have home ground advantage , that already makes them about 70% favourites, no matter whom they start against
29 Sep 2011, 07:12 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-2: only ego here seems to be urs that from day in and day out you troll like a child in search of attantion, you are an insult to the likes of CHCH who is a decent sporting Kiwi , and of course a few others that blog in here
29 Sep 2011, 07:13 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-13: still baffles me that choice… why not take Woodcock and Crockett, omitting Afoa who is a poor substitute…I knwo Afoa can play all 3 front row positions, but if need be we dont have to fly anyone in to the tourny, and you can still replace someone through injury…
crazy stuff…
29 Sep 2011, 07:14 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-13:
The AB scrum will be fine, its whats behind it that you should be worried about.
29 Sep 2011, 07:14 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-10: please names these fat boys??? because if ur referring to SMIT you making a huge mistake , or is it you cant think of anything decenet to say in life so you insult on a blog from behind a monitor???
29 Sep 2011, 07:16 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-12:
I think Weepu will play the big ones though.
29 Sep 2011, 07:17 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-18:
How about Spies?
29 Sep 2011, 07:17 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-18: come back when youve got out the other side of the bed… did you not see the smiley?
I was talking about GH having favourites, much like PDV…
but continue..
29 Sep 2011, 07:20 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-16: Ja. He could’ve picked a better balanced side. Players on form too. Franks, Hore, Crockett, Hoeata, Thorn, Kaino, McCaw and Read. It would’ve taken something realy special to put this pack on the backfoot. Anyway, water under the bridge but I’d be lying if I said I’m not enjoying GH getting it wrong again.
29 Sep 2011, 07:25 am
Look and learn boys
29 Sep 2011, 07:26 am
uptheguts
I didn’t think Hore was in such good form, Mealamu surpassed him to my mind.
29 Sep 2011, 07:28 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-17: Not too phased mate tbh. Only SBW scares me as one can make a perfectly legimate tackle but still end up behind your own goal line, watching Dan lining it up. We can handle what the others throw at us.
29 Sep 2011, 07:29 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-6:
~ ~ ~ belly wobble ~ ~ ~
29 Sep 2011, 07:30 am
@Gunther(gunther)-23:
Have you got some new material or will it be more of the same today?
29 Sep 2011, 07:31 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-15:
and a Good Moaning to you too
29 Sep 2011, 07:32 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-25:
of course you can, no side ever worries you mate with a 55% winning ratio recently that attitudes surprises me but each to their own
29 Sep 2011, 07:34 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-24: Depends on how you see the game turning out. Pick and go, up the guts type of game, then Mealamu is probably your guy. Hore is a Bismarck imitation(
), competing on the ground. And since Ritchie is apparently no longer required to make a steal at a breakdown, an extra man contesting could be needed.
29 Sep 2011, 07:35 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-27:
He needs to invest some Keo Comedy Dollars in a session with Dr Nils Crane.
I feel positively liberated after cashing mine in.
29 Sep 2011, 07:36 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-29: And Dagg of course. Haven’t you heard mate? This Springbok side is a totally different beast when a WC is on the line.
29 Sep 2011, 07:38 am
As is said this (on the day the kept their coach) … let me say this again.
AB’s will win this with a country mile..
they are streets better than anyone else and in NZ are unbeatable..
respect….
29 Sep 2011, 07:38 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-30: its the line out skill that worries me, and Mealamu has been better this season than Hore in that aspect… I do agree Hore is a better pilferer, but the gain line battle will be huge should our teams meet, and with read and McCaw i think we will be ok in competing on the ground…
29 Sep 2011, 07:39 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-31:
Of the thousands of jokes he has posted here I think i’ve found at least one funny
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-27:
Its a classic.
And classics never go out of fashion.
Four years later it’s as fresh as the day it slithered off your tongue and onto the floor.
You were favourites then too non?
@Staal(Staal)-33: reverse psychology 101?
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-20:
29 Sep 2011, 07:40 am
@Staal(Staal)-33: let me guess…but you’ll love it when you’re wrong?
@poppa69(poppa69)-37: naw – you should know me better.
@poppa69(poppa69)-34:
Count Read out for the RWC. He’s a gonner until I see him run out on to the pitch.
29 Sep 2011, 07:42 am
off topic, but did you guys hear about the woman who had a live grenade removed from her face..
talk about a ********…
29 Sep 2011, 07:42 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-42: b l o w j ob
29 Sep 2011, 07:43 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-41: there was an article in Stuff saying he was fine half an hour after the incident at training… I expect he will be named in the starting side after reading the article..
29 Sep 2011, 07:44 am
@Staal(Staal)-40:
Ek sien jy het n buffelbul gekoop,was op die Beeld se voorblad.
Goeie werk.
Wanneer nooi jy my plaas toe?
29 Sep 2011, 07:45 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-32:
I didn’t see anything against the Welsh that would have any team too worried the hype after Fiji and Namibia was very amusing if you get past the Moans tomorrow your 1/4 against the Aussies will be a 50/50 game
How is this even an argument? Ofcourse ABs are the favourites. In my mind we are a member of the dark horses all with an outside chance of winning it. Aussies, Ireland, England and France being the others. Ireland and England would have to hope we or the Aussies beat them ABs though, no way they’d be able to do it.
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-39: i am a Bok supporter…. i am also a rugby supporter…
they are better than us in collecting points…. and that’s how they decide who win….
29 Sep 2011, 07:46 am
@Staal(Staal)-33: Streets better? Yes
Unbeatable? No
29 Sep 2011, 07:48 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-44:
I could k*ss you right now, Pops.
Thank God youre in Australia.
29 Sep 2011, 07:49 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-45: hengse klomp geld daai broer…
een slangpik en hys gone….
maar hel dis n mooi dier daai.
ek wou nog bie oppie swartwitpense maar my moed het my begewe….
manne cheers ek moet waai.
29 Sep 2011, 07:50 am
@Gunther(gunther)-36:
It was “watch and learn ” not look but i’m happy to take that one on the chin and I can always rely on you to remind me on a weekly basis
29 Sep 2011, 07:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-50: I still worry they may be bringing him back too early, especially after the training mishap… dont expect him to play a full game though, he definitely needs the hit out..
29 Sep 2011, 07:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-53:
Why the need to rush him ?!
bring him off the bench in QterF, give him 30mins vs tiring defences.
He’s from Papakura. We breed em tough there, fella. Ask Jerome.
29 Sep 2011, 07:55 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-46: Yep. From our Qtr final on it will be 2009 revisited. Just wait. We dominated a lot of the key areas in Durban with an underdone side. PE our defense was shocking but Wales scored a single try, albeit dubious with a wealth of possession.
29 Sep 2011, 07:56 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-52:
Its been a while my china.
What with the World Cup on our doorstep again and your boys being the favourites again and you blowin hard again it seemed topical.
You not going back to take in a few games?
29 Sep 2011, 07:59 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-54: lived at Ramarama for just over a year and attended Tipene, so know full well that area
29 Sep 2011, 07:59 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-55:
They were the youngest least-experienced Wales side in their history. And they made the Boks look like amateurs for 60mins.
29 Sep 2011, 08:01 am
@Gunther(gunther)-56:
Was back in town for the opening night quick six day piss drinking trip, couldn’t spare any longer the twins are still young and have just started crawling so its all hands on deck, get Trany to check the archives no favourite tag from me the only comment I’ve made is that beating NZ at the garden of Eden will be a difficult assignment.
29 Sep 2011, 08:05 am
read is in his moer.
29 Sep 2011, 08:06 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-58:
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/all-blacks/5706536/Kieran-Read-a-definite-ABs-starter-Hansen
29 Sep 2011, 08:07 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-58:
and sadly, for the welsh….the scorboard actually does matter…
29 Sep 2011, 08:07 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-61:
Great news Pops, silky skills off the back of the scrum.
29 Sep 2011, 08:11 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-63: yep, they mention Kahui is still out and Jane may not play because of the head knock… Guilford may get his first WC game…
29 Sep 2011, 08:13 am
Well done Bryan… good realistic feet-on-the-ground stuff…
Anyone who doesn’t believe the All Blacks are sizzling hot favourites to take the title…
are just stirring…
or really need their heads read…!!
29 Sep 2011, 08:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-64:
Mills will go to 99 not out then
29 Sep 2011, 08:17 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-66: yep, a back three of Mils, Guildford and Toeava Id imagine… think they will want to nurse dagg after his scare versus france, maybe on the bench with Slade as their utility…
29 Sep 2011, 08:18 am
2 of England’s coaching staff has been suspended.Seems they tried to switch the ball when Jonny was going for the poles.
29 Sep 2011, 08:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-67:
Dagg needs game time though if he’s over his niggle and Slade needs to see some action as well. DC will drop another one over just to keep them guessing.
29 Sep 2011, 08:27 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-69: Im hoping they will stick to the core of the side that faced France…
just read on stuff that Mike Cron is leaving the AB setup after the WC…not happy..
29 Sep 2011, 08:36 am
And when did this popular perception occur?? I thought it was still the kiwi’s and that some kiwi articles where saying that the Boks are the best bet to topple them but thats it! Where can I find an article that the Boks are the current team to beat? I’d love to read it.
29 Sep 2011, 08:37 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-58: Yep, we had no right to win that game but we did. Surely that counts for something. The way they worked that try to clinch it was simply awesome. What you call believe…if you will.
29 Sep 2011, 08:46 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-62:
Not what Krusty has been telling everyone.
29 Sep 2011, 08:47 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-57:
no sh*t.
My Dad had his office in RamaRama and my Uncle owns half the farmland.
Knew a nice Maori girl there….hope she wasnt your sister….
29 Sep 2011, 08:49 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-59:
Nice good on yer.
Would loved to have been there.
29 Sep 2011, 08:53 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-73:
it dosn’t matter for the boks because we’ve beaten them 26 times already, but it matters to the welsh because everybody beats them again and again…
for some teams the scoeboard doesn’t matter…but for others its everything…
29 Sep 2011, 09:08 am
Bookies and journos opinions are just that opinions.
SA are the biggest threat to the AB’s in MY opinion.
All things going as expected, NZ and SA should meet in the semi, but I would like to sound out a word of caution here.
Australia!
Don’t get ahead of yourselves SA!
29 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
the Aussies will all be injured or back in jail way before the final. No threat at all!
29 Sep 2011, 09:15 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-74: there you go Panties, KKK is not the only one with more than one farm here
29 Sep 2011, 09:19 am
this would be hilarious if it came to pass
Hansen wants top job
Thursday, 29 September 2011 2.38 p.m.
Steve Hansen has confirmed he wants to take over from All Blacks head coach Graham Henry after the Rugby World Cup.
With fellow assistant coach Wayne Smith joining the Chiefs for next year’s Super Rugby campaign and scrum coach Mike Cron also stepping down from his All Blacks role to concentrate on developing young talent, interest has turned to Hansen’s future.
When asked what his plans were post-World Cup, the man who succeeded Henry as Wales coach replied: “I can’t answer you because I don’t select who becomes the next All Black coach.”
But he made it clear he wanted the All Blacks top job after eight years working alongside Smith as Henry’s assistant.
The trio will bring up their 100th Test match in charge of the All Blacks against Canada in Wellington on Sunday.
There was plenty of feeling when captain Richie McCaw reached his century Test milestone against France on Saturday, but Hansen did not expect this Sunday to be quite so emotionally charged.
“I don’t think it will be too emotional. It is a pretty good achievement though,” Hansen said.
“I don’t think you will see another head coach do that. It’s a long campaign to be able to do it, I think eight years.”
“He (Henry) has been pretty successful with it too. He’s got a great record hasn’t he? About 85 or 86 percent (success rate). The rest of us just tagged along for the ride.”
If the All Blacks win the 2011 Rugby World Cup, Hansen is likely to be the favourite to take over from Henry.
But if New Zealand Rugby Union chief executive Steve Tew is true to his word, the All Blacks may not contest the next tournament in England in 2015 if a restructuring of the International Rugby Board and World Cup financial and commercial models are not undertaken.
Currently, the top-10 rugby nations lose millions of dollars of revenue and sponsorship by attending the tournament and Tew has said that is just not sustainable.
Tew’s stance has the backing of Hansen. “If that was what was deemed to be the right thing to help the game then that’s what you do,” he said.
“All Steve said was there needs to be a look at the model for revenue … because we are going broke. That’s the reality.”
“Can we afford the game? I’m not sure about that. You’d have to ask him (Tew) about that. That’s what he’s saying. We need to have revenue-sharing. It sounds a good model to me.”
“(But) it’s an administrator’s job to administrate the game. Our job is to coach and the players job is to play.”
“You have an awareness of what’s going on around you. We’re supportive of what he’s saying. End of story really.”
29 Sep 2011, 09:20 am
@umbhoxoswede(umbhoxoswede)-71:
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/5685130/French-says-Springboks-look-best-for-World-Cup
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/best-of-sport-analysis/news/article.cfm?c_id=1502180&objectid=10754525
I just saw a doublecab bakkie with the reg” MCCAW 07″.
Must be Staal.
I just saw a doublecab bakkie with the reg” MCCAW 07 GP”
Must be Staal.
29 Sep 2011, 09:24 am
Boks, the perpetual overachievers, when will they as standing world champs be favourite’s, and own the tag?
29 Sep 2011, 09:25 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-84: we are the favourites, now what?
29 Sep 2011, 09:26 am
Hansen would make an excellent coach …after the choke goes down.
@Transformation(Transformation)-80:
As a comedy show its would pall into insignificance compared to the PdV series.
Now that has been a classic.
Right now we are all waiting to see if the writers will surprise us with a twist in the final episode..
@Transformation(Transformation)-80: he was being groomed for the job in 07 Trans, so old news that one..
29 Sep 2011, 09:28 am
@Brads(Brads)-87:
Like Forrest Gump
Becoming a winner without anyone anywhere knowing how!
29 Sep 2011, 09:29 am
Hansen would be okay. Repeat okay.
Not my preference though.
29 Sep 2011, 09:32 am
Transie 87: please preface all your comments concerning the boks with the favourite’s tag, please, in order that we AB fans know who we are up against and can plan appropriately!
Sinilindele magwalandini!!!! lol
29 Sep 2011, 09:33 am
@Brads(Brads)-87: yep, more “if kevvy said he didn’t do it, then he didn’t”
29 Sep 2011, 09:35 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-88: i didn’t know that, let Stevvie get the JOB!
29 Sep 2011, 09:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-93: was supposed to happen after 07, but things went pear shaped….
29 Sep 2011, 09:41 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-91: all black supporters have developed all sort of theories to avoid being tagged as favourites bwhahahaha “in 2003 england were the favourites because they’d beaten everyone going into that tournament”, now we have new zealand who has a better win ratio than the 2003 english team literally ducking being tagged as favourites….love it
us supporters of World Cup favorites, the Boks, are not concerned with sideshows and tag shirking
29 Sep 2011, 09:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-79:
maybe it’s just one really big farm.
with lots of um sheep.
29 Sep 2011, 09:55 am
@Gunther(gunther)-96: i’m nore worried about the Maori girl Panties says he “knew” in NyamaRama…
29 Sep 2011, 10:05 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-95:
29 Sep 2011, 10:07 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-97:
haibo!
29 Sep 2011, 10:07 am
All Blacks have already planned their tickertape parade and road routes.
29 Sep 2011, 10:13 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:
ironicly enough, its exactly what they USED to say about Wales
not now tho
29 Sep 2011, 10:14 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-79:
funnily enough, my Uncle is a complete knut too.
29 Sep 2011, 10:16 am
@Gunther(gunther)-96:
China was right
your new material is lamer than a neutered ram
29 Sep 2011, 10:19 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102:
that figures.
tree
apple.
29 Sep 2011, 10:29 am
I don’t believe anyone is questioning the All Blacks’ status as favourites for the tournament after their demolition job of France last weekend, but they’re still chokers.
I am reliably informed that come the final (against England of course), the All Blacks will not be performing the haka before the game, they’ll be performing the Heimlich manoevre instead.
29 Sep 2011, 10:56 am
@bokgat1(bokgat1)-81: Yeah I read those two articles already. Bills is talking about strongest threat to the AB’s and Lievermont…..well Lievermont is Lievermont, take what he says with a pinch of salt. I dont see articles saying Boks are THE TEAM TO BEAT, they aren’t, but they are building momentum nicely though. Tough pool games like 2007 may end up helping them v Australia in the quarters. If we can manage to take them the belief will be powerful enough to give the All Blacks a heck of a go!
29 Sep 2011, 11:00 am
@Kitchener(Kitchener)-105: On themselves because of the pressure?
29 Sep 2011, 11:15 am
@umbhoxoswede(umbhoxoswede)-107:
Yes, on themselves old bean, on themselves.
29 Sep 2011, 11:18 am
Favorites, schmavorites. Futile guessing as nothing has changed and will not in near future.
We all know, each of the big boys – NZ, Aus and SA – should beware each other very and very much. I’d no such worries if it would have been a “best of 3″ or “best of 5″ type series but in one-off anything is possible and nothing is dead certain.
29 Sep 2011, 11:19 am
kitchener – It is quite sad to know that England can reach the finals when they definitely deserve not too. Min dyou Wales tore them apart in the warmups so if Wales get to the Semis i can;t see Engladn beating them!!
Lets hope the Italy beats the Irish, it can happen!!
29 Sep 2011, 11:23 am
@Kitchener(Kitchener)-105: To be honest, I’d be happy to see English in the final, if it comes to saving the nerves.
However for the sake of win-win final I will cheer for France.
29 Sep 2011, 11:26 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-110:
Not sure if I’m following you, old boy . . . if England do get to the final, why exactly would that be undeserved?
Yes, Wales did beat England in a pre-RWC warm-up game at the Millennium stadium but firstly, it was just a wam-up game (as the name implies) and secondly, England beat Wales at Twickenham the week before. Did you not know that? Why would you bother makingcomments on Northern Hemisphere rugby when clearly don’t know an awful lot about it?
29 Sep 2011, 11:29 am
1995 will always be hailed as the greatest RWC because to date it is the only world cup that had two SH teams in the final.
The Irish just spoilt a great party.
29 Sep 2011, 11:30 am
kitchener – Wales still outscored the pongos in the first game 3 tries to 2!! All i am saying another England final will be boring, i would rather Wales, Ireland or even better France be there!!
I can’t see England beating Wales and or France this year!! Problem is England do play perfect RWC rugby!!
29 Sep 2011, 11:32 am
Jeraldjay – Italy could do to Ireland what Ireland did to the ozzies by draggin them into a forward tussle and tacklin ghte daylights out of them!! On current form i can’t see it happening, Ireland are looking very good!!
29 Sep 2011, 11:41 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-114:
Just so I’m quite sure I’m understanding you correctly . . . so you think that the team that scores the most tries is the team that wins a game of rugby?
If you’re worried about being bored during the RWC final if England play in it then there’s a rather simple solution, old chap . . . just don’t watch it . . . unless you like being bored of course.
29 Sep 2011, 12:03 pm
Gunther
hes married to my Dads sister
Id call you a smartarse but that would be an insult to all the other aaaaaarses out there
29 Sep 2011, 12:05 pm
@Kitchener(Kitchener)-116: let me translate what race of tan is trying to tell you (we know that lateral thinking is not a trait the english value):
you are a k n o b.
thats all.
on your bike son.
29 Sep 2011, 12:13 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-118:
Oooh . . . internet hard man alert!
Hmmm . . . are you suggesting that race of tan is a dribbling moron who can’t even speak for himself, old prune? By Jove, that’s a bit patronising of you, what?
29 Sep 2011, 12:26 pm
@Kitchener(Kitchener)-119: This charachter reminds me of ol Crouchback. In fact he is Crouchie. Alternatively , he could also be WPTID – dunno why I think this though. By Jove!
29 Sep 2011, 12:28 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-117:
who gives a toss.
29 Sep 2011, 12:33 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-120: crouchy was at least amusing this impostor is just puerile and trifling
29 Sep 2011, 12:34 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-120:
he’s a crouchback tribute band available for weddings and barmies.
our quota blowhard pom for the world cup.
unfortunately we have to hand him back after the tourney ….
(or earlier if the roses wilt).
29 Sep 2011, 12:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-122: unjani mfodini? kuleveki ndi busy kakhulu maaaaan. uzibonile ke i-ABs, sibabi chap.
29 Sep 2011, 13:17 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-124:
Ababa impela kodwa bheka iFrance yayidlala obani? Parra at 10,Yachvilli at 9,Bonnaire at 7 ahead of Harinodiquoy, intwana Dulcalcon at 3 ahead of Mas, Szarzewski ahead of classy Servat, Rougerie ahead of genuine 13 Marty,Traille ahead of Heymans??? Livriemont uyasangana ekhanda,futhi that team never played together before.Kodwa Parra at 10 takes the cake,uyisibhanxa uLivremont.
Read usemanyaleli,ulimele shuthi funeke nidlale uThompson who makes Spies looks like inkanyezi.
Zizoduma come Semi”s sbali! belie dat!!!
29 Sep 2011, 13:54 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-125: Hayi ke chap ndikuvile mfodini kodwa, though Livremont is not a full set upstairs, I thought the French scrum pressured the ABs in the second half, it’s very clear that McCaw is not an eighth man, his ball control at the back was abysmal. uThomson yena, andimazi uba ufitter njani kwi-forwards ze-Abs, uRead fekha abuye ngoku! The intercept try was entirely Thomson’s fault, where have you ever heard of a forward running sideways away from a flat ball! Uphambene uThomson finish en klaar. Now for more technical stuff, did you observe that every break outside of the SBW off-load was generated off mismatches, the Carter, Nonu, and Dagg line cuts were all against forwards because the french did not have enough time to properly set their defensive lines and correct any mismatches.
amabokoboko, sinilindele magwaladini, i-semis zilula chap, sizanuhlafuna nje!
29 Sep 2011, 14:17 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-125:
uwathathe wonke S’bali
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-124: Yeah, WHAT HE SAID!!! hehehe
29 Sep 2011, 14:19 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-126:
Yeah I saw that, Dagg,Carter,Nonu and later SBW generated linebreaks through mismatches against forward. The French couldnt keep up with pace thus defensiv lines were all over the place but most IMPORTANTLY the French dont have a GENUINE out and out opensider/breakdown specialist as Dusseatoir is more of a tearaway,multiple tackling,high workrate openside and doesnt excell at breakdown work. And neither did the French commit enough men to breakdown to counterruck to slow down ball.This allowed Ab’s to get quick ruck ball and there is no better side on the planet when given quick ball.AB’s proceeded to cutting them to shreds. AB’s had forward and set piece dominance in first half and early 2nd half add winning collisions-it was good night nurse.Very clinical.
But the French were abysmal as well.Played for exactly 10 mins in that game,rest couldnt get phase play going,slips tackles & kicked aimlessly.Only Picamoles the 8 showed up.Resr were asleep.
29 Sep 2011, 14:22 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-126: u-Jane akaphuncukanga kwi-forwards, ezazibhanxa ze-backline yama-french za-drifta zalandela uNonu kuba wayebagxumisa – decoy runner., even udusatoir walandela emva kwe-centre then u-jane wangena ekrobeni kwabeseku-late ke ngoku igqabadula ingathi yinkabi yehashe lantwana yakwa-jane!
29 Sep 2011, 14:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-127:
LOL,ubonile?Akakangiphenduli uKeo kuleya thread.
Unamanga. Ngikhathele uyena
29 Sep 2011, 14:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-129:
Dussetior was outstanding in 2007 vs NZ….In 2011,he was rubbish. They clearly planned for him to rush off every set phases mostly the lineout to cover midfield channel ngoba bebesaba uNonu.AB’s adapted and use Dagg & Jane on inside channels.Bang game over!
Carter was sublime
29 Sep 2011, 14:35 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-128: The French build up to the cup was not ideal. With Livremont’s latin temperament coupled with French inconsistency it was always going to be a recipe for disaster. I’m not clear on Dussautoir game, he does not attack the ball on the ground but there seems to be a feeling by the coaches that the defending team’s poaches at the breakdown are being nullified by the refs, therefore, there’s more of a focus on counter rucking, I think Kaino got away with one, McCaw none really, he’s focus was on linking, tackling, and carries. May the “Black Destroyer” was emulating that strategy but if you don’t attempt to counter ruck then what’s the point when you are up against the greatest attacking force known to man!!!!!
29 Sep 2011, 14:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-129: Mfodini uJane uyadlala, uyamkumbula ngoku wanika uMorne Steyn iGugulethu shuffle wamshiya?! The ABs play what’s in front of them, their analysts must have picked up on Dussautoir breaking away from the lineout early evidencing a healthy channel for Jane to do his work, however, it was the timing of Weepu’s pass that set up that try.
29 Sep 2011, 14:44 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-131: i know! but that was hardly revolutionary from the ABs even the barren Stormers used that move against the Sader @ newlands where Sadie ended up being the cutter while sbw & fruean were drifting to check jdv & mossie.
angicasule lama-french yazi, bengithi sizobuka umdlalo odlubhedu!
umbonile u-dagg nalomadantso wakhe ukuthi uyaphumelela, adlubulundele?
29 Sep 2011, 14:45 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-131: Carter was on fire, he’s always commanding when he hits the line.
29 Sep 2011, 14:49 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-133: ndiyangqinelana nawe 100% yiyolonto ndithe aphe ngomvulo that uPiri udlale kakuhle, as long as the french backed off him he punished them, as soon as the closed down his space uyewehla umdlalo wakhe…
la-pass yona iye yandiphambanisa, ivele yajingiswa nje emoyenim yanyengezwa! hayi ke gqi qhaphu inkonyane lakwa-jane…sublime stuff
29 Sep 2011, 14:55 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-133: hayi suka, yayingeyo “gugs shuffle” leya u-jane wadlula kuMorne ingathi udlula ezimpahleni ezonkwe ocingweni…no shuffle just a slight jink and blistering pace…
if you want to see the GUGS SHUFFLE, check out FRANKIE HOUGAARD making a moemish out of the covering Namibian 15
yoh yoh yoh!
29 Sep 2011, 14:56 pm
Thanks for excluding the majority of us from your convo!
29 Sep 2011, 15:02 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-138: uxolo mfondini
29 Sep 2011, 15:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-134: @Transformation(Transformation)-134: uya geza he! That move was developed by Heyneke Meyer at the Bulls, hence FDP and Hougaard have used it a few times at international level and several times at Super level. However, you still have to perfect it, Mils and Guildford used it against the Boks as well with much success. It’s not Jane’s fault chap, Wayne Smith, umhlobo wakho, told them to use it.
uDagg madoda uyi cutshe yasemva, umbi, nimbonile, cutting people to shreds, zisani elagusha lenu, uLambie, naye samkatsa clean!
29 Sep 2011, 15:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-136: lol. unyansile ibinhle, ibingumculo, a music.
29 Sep 2011, 15:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-137: hehehehehehe, HIYO! Hayi maaaani, ndiyibonile la Mitchell’s Plain dance-off no-Hougaard ememe lamfana wase Namibia kwi-Sekile! Kodwa i-step sika Dagg ngo 2010 e-NZ when he came on as a substitute was memorable, and iyi-combo ye-goose step ne-gugu le trois, yaye inhle, igumculo, it was a music, ibelitheko kaNomsa, ivanya yade yaphela!
29 Sep 2011, 15:25 pm
Nils: agreed mate, I think the best of three matches in the knock out stages would make the WC amazing, 9 straight weeks of knockout rugby! There’d be no argument on the winner then.
29 Sep 2011, 15:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-135:
Ndoda uMcCaw while still class, akasekho destructive kwiBreakdown. And with Heinrich/Pocock so effective there its going to take Ab’s more “inventiveness” to breakdown fast aligning defensive lines because balance of loose trio is integral to way AB play.
All Blacks placing everything on McCaw and his influence….Wise???
29 Sep 2011, 15:33 pm
now IF i was a vindictive ****-stirrer…
i would remind AB supporters of their comments about the justice for bakkies episode saying the boks should operate within the system and were arrogant to take a stand outside of the system… etc… etc…
and then i would say…
look at NZ threatening to pull out of the 2015 world cup over a little money… how arrogant of them holding the whole rugby world to ransom… and threatening not to come and play with everyone else because (they think) they’ll have the toy and will make the comp meaningless unless they bring it to the party and play…
IF i was a vindictive ****-stirrer… i would say that…
but i’m not…
so i won’t…!
29 Sep 2011, 15:39 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-138:
Sorry bud. What would u like to know? Basically we just talking about the All Blacks and tries scored vs France and how weak France was.And the fact that likes of Jane/Dagg copied that unside move from du Preez/Hougaard at Bulls where the delayed short pass beats the inside man almost every time.Danie Rossouw also runs it very well,timing of pass is crucial.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-142:
Lesa step sika Dagg,the sideway shuffle-goose step-accelerate is all class.Uyayisebenzisa sometimes ngoba akanayo iOUT and OUT speed yo kushiya amaOUTSIDE backs so uyabanyisa ngayo! Wamuqeda uSpies in 2010 YOH!! Kodwa anyone can chow Spies on D…
Tell me something madoda@Transformation(Transformation)-139: @mpundulu(mpundulu)-143: Have u seen ukuthi uSpies unenkinga.He generates spped by running straight especially on kickoffs,covering aimless kicks BUT he kills all the moment with that RIDICULOUS ineffectiveness sideways “step/movement” he does prior to contact which leads him to be smashed backwards. Uyasinda,a big boy so akakwazi to explode off the pivot planting foot for that move to be effective. He just needs to RUN STRAIGHT,he will be a lot more effective that way.Even on scrums he does lawamasimba!! Technique is rubbsih maaaaan!!! NjengoVito who is too much of a lightweight upstairs.
29 Sep 2011, 15:44 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-142:
bwahahahahahahaha yoh ungathethi ngalo-try, lantwana u-dagg yadlula phantsi kwamakhwapha kuSpies no-Burger!!!!!!!!!!! then gqi gqi uAplon no Kirchner yabavuthulula nabo yalala emgceni
uMcCaw couldn’t hold his emotions and went hugged the boy whose bulging eyes and gaping mouth showed off exactly how he felt about what he just did
i was SOOOOO p!ssed off
29 Sep 2011, 15:51 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-146: i’ve seen it and have asked myself before why because it is a “momentum killer” for yena, akanawo ncam amandla e-leg drive njengo vermuelen for instance. uma siyibona thina lento why bangamtsheli oocoach bakhe vele?
29 Sep 2011, 16:10 pm
Mshini, transie: I’ve observed this of spies, the issue is that he’s too upright when he attacks the defensive line going head, he’s been put in reverse a few times when he’s tried to engage the big guys front on. Mshini, you are dead right his technique on runs and scrums is very poor. Spies’s time is over, he’s impact in tier 1 test matches won’t be evident, he also seems to avoid contact points, his efficacy on clean outs and ball protection is also poor, how does he keep his position in the team?
29 Sep 2011, 16:13 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-147:
Dagg opens his eyes WIDE & blows his cheeks up everytime he does that move…You knows what coming but almost always gets through.
@Transformation(Transformation)-148:
Mate I dont know myself.I just dont think he listens its instinctual,habitual.Much like Danie Rossouw can NEVER lower his carrying technique and lead with the shoulder into contact & protect ball in contact. Its been 10 yrs same sh*t!! Luck of the draw with those 2 at the best of times.
29 Sep 2011, 16:15 pm
Mshini: Dagg pace is a bit suspect over 50 meters plus, but he has enough tricks in his luggage to be seriously over the weight limit.
Please don’t get me wrong, I thought McCaw had an amazing game against France, he slowed down the ball effectively, at some points he was acting as the 9 for France and organizing their forwards at the breakdown point, just genius. The AB’s have figured that a well balanced and working in tandem loose trio permits for an advantage at the breakdown both offensively and defensively, however the key is that they must work in tandem and hunt as a pack.
29 Sep 2011, 16:18 pm
Mshini: the reason defenders can’t pick up on the Dagg goose step even though he gives them plenty of advance warning is because it’s so beautiful, they know they are about to be an intrinsic member of a highlight reel!
29 Sep 2011, 16:24 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-150: like ishilo it’s the same thing with vito.danie…vito coughed up three quick knock-ons when he came in brisbane, danie is a serial offender ke
29 Sep 2011, 16:26 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-149:
Dude i dont know myself. He is almost on 50 caps and STILL very below par.No consistency what so ever. And now he is getting older where his speed will start to depreciate. Not that that speed has set him apart from pack anyway. I really think Kankowski has been shafted for this bloke,if kanko was a NZder he would be a superstar-he reminds me of a more athletic but less hard Ron Cribb.His skills set is good he just needs refinement.Definitely think he would have been more effective than Spies had he had the same consistency in selection.But he has dropped off himself the last 8 months or so.
Alberts would do a better job, a big rig of an 8 not a classical 8 but would do the job and assist in strengthening the pack and he gets over the advantage line AT WILL.Against ANYBODY-that momentum is intergral in Test rugby.
Spies is the Reuben Thorn of SA in terms of his invisibility.
29 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-152:
hahahaha lol!!! what bs!!!! killed me with that nonsense
29 Sep 2011, 16:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-152: hahahaha uyageza!
29 Sep 2011, 16:29 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-152:
As much as I like Dagg step/shuffle,nobody looked better on his feet stepping that Tana Umaga at his peak as a winger….Poetry in motion….(Rua Tipoki also had one HELL of a left foot step)
Tana in 2000 Test in SA stepped Chester-it like Williams had given up ages ago.
29 Sep 2011, 16:45 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-157: who is the best young stepper in SA at the moment…i like paul jordaan’s step @ pace…frankie hougaard is also a top stepper.
29 Sep 2011, 16:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-158:
Those 2 have great feet
BUT
Tshotsho Mbovane has no peers sbali in SA.He not only has great feet on EITHER foot he is explosive too.Plenty of gas to burn.
Hougaard,Aplon,Jordaan,Mjekevu all very good as well.
But the kid from Gugulethu is a sight to behold in space
Young JP du Plessis also very good feet.
29 Sep 2011, 17:13 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-5: GOOD POST.
29 Sep 2011, 17:56 pm
Madoda, if kankowski was in NZ, he’d have taken over after Rodney, it’s hard to teach expression and kanko has oodles of it, NZ coaches would have ensured that kanko is versatile, therefore have both a loose and tight game, he’s not afraid of the tight exchanges (no one from St. Andrew’s fears an adult engagement), it’d be more a matter for him to read the game more accurately. The sharks coach has been a disappointment in that regard, kanko should be playing a Read type game.
Don’t forget reihana’s stepping prowess, there was a light brown midget from England who could turn it on proper. Tana on the wing was a true revelation, his work rate showed up Lomu’s deficiencies a lot, hayi ke the king, Christian Cullen, was just messy! Do you guys still remember that Fijian wing who played for the blues, rupeni caucau-something, that boy had tasty feet and a gas heater, actually more a blow torch, Henry tried to get him citizenship but he started that Fijian indiscipline nonsense.
29 Sep 2011, 19:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-121:
I suppose that given your irresistible urge to always comment, that makes you a toss’er then.
well theres a surprise.
29 Sep 2011, 20:01 pm
@ufo(ufo)-145:
yes yes, youre SO right
its JUST like sending your National team out to defend the
um
‘honour’
of a serial THUG who had just committed his FOURTH (official) act of intentional injury on an opposition player, injuring him out of his livelihood for 7months….
the same player who then went on to main one of his OWN players (G.Aplon) within weeks, but only because his team and the whole Nation told him to “keep doing it”, the same player who was then banned for his FIFTH offense for dry-humping an opposition player which ended in a reverse-Liverpool Kiss
and lets not forget the Boks chose to protest – on the field of play – about their victimisation for foul play the very week after Schalk Burger had EYE-GOUGED a player in the very FIRST minute of a Test match.
if I was a vindictive sh*t-stirrer, I too would say that
but Im not
so I wont.
29 Sep 2011, 20:07 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-162:
An irresistable urge to comment.
That is rich coming from a serial crybaby like yourself.
Hey pal you seem bitter.
Now there IS a suprise.
Still a **** tho’.
And a two-faced prick to boot.
29 Sep 2011, 20:15 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-164:
ooooooh, youve now morphed in to Boy George II !
he, too, isnt clever enough to write his own material and instead re-mixes the hits of yesteryear and releases them as-if they were his own.
voulez vous un c*ck-star ?
29 Sep 2011, 20:48 pm
“‘They’ve improved a lot since 2007,’ said Habana. ‘They’ve always been physical but they are playing with a lot more structure in 2011.”
Yeh the difference between us and Samoa is that we haven’t actually improved that much. In fact we’ve gotten worse!
29 Sep 2011, 21:28 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-163:
But you are.
So you do.
In a nutshell.
29 Sep 2011, 21:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-167:
does this mean you
dont care
anymore ?
29 Sep 2011, 22:12 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-167:
poor old Gunther
stuck in a rut
an anti-Kiwi terrorist using ammo recycled from the opposition
Keos’ own
Cli Che Guevera
30 Sep 2011, 00:15 am
The best step of recent times Stormers vs Waratahs S14 Semi-final 2010…..Juan De Jong HotStepping the life out of Kurtley Beale,what a Classic
30 Sep 2011, 01:25 am
@AssassinWP(Ashraf Ismail)-170: Now that’s the truth he chewed him like a 2cents chappies bubblegum. De Jong issue is that he does not have a 10 who can facilitate those runs, and he has a tendency to cut back but not step back into the flow, which makes him excessively predictable. Equally, if the boks focused on creating mismatches de Jong would be lethal on attack but has to have instinctive stepping versatility read the situation.
30 Sep 2011, 06:54 am
Anti kiwi terrorist?
Moi?
There are many decent kiwis about.
Its just that you aren’t one of them.
Silly boy.