Samoa bring Boks back to earth

RYAN VREDE watched Samoa give the Springboks a reality check despite going down 13-5 at the North Habour Stadium.

The Springboks’ showings in the last fortnight has seen even some usually astute commentators divorce from their senses to join the unadulterated celebration of the team. Tonight was a jolt of note for the defending champions, who would have been beaten by a more refined opponent, so impotent were they on attack (zero linebreaks) and porous on defence (they missed 27 tackles, in line with their average of 26 per match).

They undoubtedly benefited from Samoa’s early tactical naivety. So much for the structured Samoa that could have beaten the Springboks had they not relied on misplaced enterprise – running from deep in their territory – as much as they did. It was a nonsensical tactic to employ, particularly since they looked more than capable of mixing it in the heavies and establishing a better attacking platform on the rare occasion they chose to.

The islanders were denied despite long passages of play in possession in the first half, then undermined their cause in the second half with a string of handling errors, laboured decision-making and poor discipline, the worst example coming from Paul Williams who was red carded at a crucial juncture for shoving Heinrich Brussow in the face.

The numbers were evened out a minute later when John Smit was binned for what was adjudged to be a deliberate knock down with 10 minutes to play. But Samoa never possessed the killer blow. Their effectiveness rode on hope of defensive lapses, when more certainty and purpose would have served them better. Indeed they played like rave music was pounding in their minds, when they should have tuned in to a station that promoted greater composure.

The Springboks will testify to the ferocity and bone-melting qualities of a Samoan tackle and the islanders were rarely asked any telling questions. The Springboks’ opening try was birthed by multiple phases setting up a centre-field ruck before the ball snapped left to Bryan Habana. Morne Steyn converted, before Frans Steyn reminded of the Springboks’ unique trump card by banking a 58m penalty.

Morne Steyn kicked another just before the break, but the 13-0 scoreline going down the tunnel spoke to attacking impotency against competent and combative defensive units which is deeply concerning. The sterile, uninspiring fare they served up on attack tonight won’t see them progress beyond the quarter-final in Wellington next week.

Samoa burst into life in the second half, dominating possession and territory. The Springboks’ much-vaunted structure capitulated and they were reduced to a bumbling mess in the face of incessant attack. George Stowers, immense on the night, crossed for a try which Tusi Pisi crucially failed to convert.

You sensed the Springboks were on the ropes, and they will speak of their character in denying their opponents, but the reality is so much different. They were tested to their limit by a side they have consistently thumped by an average of 50 points.

This Springboks side is a pretender to the one that captured the title four years ago. Their journey continues, but surely not for much longer.

By Ryan Vrede, at the North Habour Stadium.

Follow Ryan’s World Cup coverage on Twitter

1,781 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1136 » Show All

• 1.bok2007: Reply to this comment

Bokke Dragons?

• 2.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

boks by 30+

• 3.Guns: Reply to this comment

Go Bokka!!!

Have to watch afterwork *#%^*%

• 4.Staal: Reply to this comment

Got my bok jumper on… looking forward to it.

let’s hope we build cause the Wc only starts next week! :lol:

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke!

• 6.scar: Reply to this comment

Work excuse – check
    biltong – check
    sole controle over the remote – check
    GO BOKKE!!!

• 7.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

GO BOKKIESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 8.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Nom nom nom nom.

Staal pass the billies.

• 9.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I have a neaking suspicion that this will not be as close as some are saying.

• 10.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

I want Samoa to win

• 11.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Samoa will be physical but will fade away after 20min, bokke by +20

• 12.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Mavis, pop a sleeping pill and maybe in your dreams samoa will win ;-)

• 13.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9:

Ssssshhhhhhh!

If the boks give the moaners a hiding they will suddenly be worse than Japan.

A win is a win ou pel.

• 14.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9: Meaning we are go to thrash them or them us ?

• 15.scar: Reply to this comment

@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-10: You probably have other irrational needs as well…

• 16.Staal: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9: not “on good authority” :lol:

• 17.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Come on Bokke!!!
    Im on a flight tonight to Auckland and I dont want to pass you on your way home. Much like the NZ supporters club passed the Kiwi team in Singapore in 2007.

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-13: Sure and I’ll take it anyway we get it, all in the name of “momentum”

Hope we don;t pick up any disciplinaries or injuries. That’s my biggest concern frankly.

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-14: We are going to thrash them like a schoolboy in his dad’s Beemer.

• 19.francois93: Reply to this comment

francois93 to boss Francois93, “ahem I have to watch rugby today, cant go to work”

Boss Francois “ahem I too have to watch rugby today and cant go to work” Francois93 ” well………”

Boss Francois93 “Well……….”

Francois93 “who’s bringing the beers”
    Boss Francois ” me and me”
    Francois “love ya boss”
    Boss Francois93 “love me too”;-)

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9: yeah keep “neaking” :D

• 21.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-17: lol

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-13: no, some of the ‘Moan’s players were barred from playing in the RWC by sheisty european clubs.

• 23.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

(blows vuvuzela)

BOKKE!!!

• 24.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A moment of truth.

Samoan moering?

• 25.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-23: the f’ing Kiwi’s have outlawed teh Vuvuzela at the RWC. Im taking one in up my pant leg. Listen closely during the haka if we make it to the semi, that will be me. Similarly during the Asu v SA game, Ill be blowing during before their anthem.

• 26.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-18: oh good, was starting to worry they might be able to beat us, must say i am a bit worried about injuries after this game.

• 27.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-25: go BIG my friend, go BIG! :lol:

• 28.poppa69: Reply to this comment

if you want to blow the vuvuzela go watch that hooligan soccer sport!

• 29.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-17:
    reminds me of those kiwi supporters who were interviewed in that doccie or was it on the news, who bought tickets for the semi’s and final only hehe (because realistically, where else could the all blacks be headed? haha)

to say they were devastated was an understatement….dont know why though…cos they at least had tickets to see the magnificent boks crush the english…now that was…devastating…

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it’s amazing, the Bok Jersey has become such a hot commodity in the townships…2 weeks ago i drove to the Transkei and was surpised to see on a saturday when chiefs & pirates were going to play in a MTN8 final worth 8 million rands, mos people i saw were wearing Bok jerseys hehehe

now one can’t go anywhere in the ‘hood without seeing one, even the mamas selling fruit & veg are rocking them hehehe

the best though was the facebook status update from a female friend “um, come on guys, please tell me, how good are namibia in rugby?”

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-24: no “tossing” today please ;)

• 32.iceman: Reply to this comment

@scar(scar)-6:

Hey Scar you for got the most important thing!

The BEER!

• 33.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-18:

No we are going to thrash them like the schoolboy who got thrashed for thrashing his dads beemer.

• 34.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I allready have my final tickets. Will probably be NZ vs England! also have my After party tickets next to the stadium! Big All Black Party … The owner and his wife is allready busy with the RWC ice mould & Cake (in the form of Richie lifting the cup) Can’t wait!

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-30: Good one!

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Transformation, easy if it is given to them for free hey! Thank aunty Ramos for that one. idiot that she is! f*ck Absa, f that, f this, f everything!!!!

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-28: hey calm down… *passing more meds* :D

• 38.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-28:
    but its a ‘cultural tradition’ and means a lot to us, you especially should understand about practising a cultural tradition before games… :lol:

we let you haka so why not let us vuvu..hmmm?…

• 39.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-31:

Fifteen men went to toss
    Went to Toss some Samoans
    Bismarck and All the Boks
    Went to Toss some Samoans

• 40.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Naas says boks by 15.

Liking him less each day.

Ash Willemse reckons 66.

I think he’s had a breakfast beer.

Not in itself a bad thing.

• 41.bok2007: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-34: Glad to see NZ peeps arent putting too much preasure on your boys then. ;)

• 42.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@francois93(francois93)-19:

How ya doing today!

• 43.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A fake poppa cnt is present

• 44.cab: Reply to this comment

Come Boks – i’m nervous of this game, hope they got their eye on the ball – the atmosphere is going to be electric, samoa might play out their boots.

• 45.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-25: Hey. Enjoy yourself, but I got a feeling you’ll probably miss the rest of the game. Just have a backup plan to watch the game elsewhere.

• 46.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-36:

Relax.

• 47.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-34:
    It could be a very long wait. :lol:

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-36: free jerseys? you are delusional…and get a life!

• 49.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Morning all.
    Go Bokke.
    I am sitting in the Eagle Peak Spur in Newcastle ready to watch the game on the bigscreen:-)

• 50.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-38: Argh… I wouldn’t call a decade old thing culture.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1136 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.