Samoa bring Boks back to earth
30 Sep 2011
RYAN VREDE watched Samoa give the Springboks a reality check despite going down 13-5 at the North Habour Stadium.
The Springboks’ showings in the last fortnight has seen even some usually astute commentators divorce from their senses to join the unadulterated celebration of the team. Tonight was a jolt of note for the defending champions, who would have been beaten by a more refined opponent, so impotent were they on attack (zero linebreaks) and porous on defence (they missed 27 tackles, in line with their average of 26 per match).
They undoubtedly benefited from Samoa’s early tactical naivety. So much for the structured Samoa that could have beaten the Springboks had they not relied on misplaced enterprise – running from deep in their territory – as much as they did. It was a nonsensical tactic to employ, particularly since they looked more than capable of mixing it in the heavies and establishing a better attacking platform on the rare occasion they chose to.
The islanders were denied despite long passages of play in possession in the first half, then undermined their cause in the second half with a string of handling errors, laboured decision-making and poor discipline, the worst example coming from Paul Williams who was red carded at a crucial juncture for shoving Heinrich Brussow in the face.
The numbers were evened out a minute later when John Smit was binned for what was adjudged to be a deliberate knock down with 10 minutes to play. But Samoa never possessed the killer blow. Their effectiveness rode on hope of defensive lapses, when more certainty and purpose would have served them better. Indeed they played like rave music was pounding in their minds, when they should have tuned in to a station that promoted greater composure.
The Springboks will testify to the ferocity and bone-melting qualities of a Samoan tackle and the islanders were rarely asked any telling questions. The Springboks’ opening try was birthed by multiple phases setting up a centre-field ruck before the ball snapped left to Bryan Habana. Morne Steyn converted, before Frans Steyn reminded of the Springboks’ unique trump card by banking a 58m penalty.
Morne Steyn kicked another just before the break, but the 13-0 scoreline going down the tunnel spoke to attacking impotency against competent and combative defensive units which is deeply concerning. The sterile, uninspiring fare they served up on attack tonight won’t see them progress beyond the quarter-final in Wellington next week.
Samoa burst into life in the second half, dominating possession and territory. The Springboks’ much-vaunted structure capitulated and they were reduced to a bumbling mess in the face of incessant attack. George Stowers, immense on the night, crossed for a try which Tusi Pisi crucially failed to convert.
You sensed the Springboks were on the ropes, and they will speak of their character in denying their opponents, but the reality is so much different. They were tested to their limit by a side they have consistently thumped by an average of 50 points.
This Springboks side is a pretender to the one that captured the title four years ago. Their journey continues, but surely not for much longer.
By Ryan Vrede, at the North Habour Stadium.
Follow Ryan’s World Cup coverage on Twitter

1,781 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 … 36 » Show All
30 Sep 2011, 16:28 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-1297: Owens was Chrisanderesque guy.
30 Sep 2011, 16:31 pm
Hats of to the Boks for staying calm. Ten years ago the Boks would’ve had 2 reds and 2 yellows to show for their trouble. Can you imagine the Torment Schalk had to go through by not ripping some Island being’s head off?
30 Sep 2011, 16:31 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1295:
I truely hope Div can spring that surprise come the QF as Spies isn’t really doing the job expected of a starter in the current set-up.
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1300:
Even more credit to the team that they didn’t fall for any of it and kept on playing the game. In fact Samoa only had 1 kickable penalty in the second half, so great discipline all round.
30 Sep 2011, 16:34 pm
@francois93(francois93)-1301:
More like a Bystander.
Felcherdeluxe.
30 Sep 2011, 16:35 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1291: There’s wasn’t much in Williams approach to Brussouw, nothing much, they used to call that handbags in my day. Nigamagwala maaaan!
30 Sep 2011, 16:38 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1305: ewe neh? what else did you see in the game that “wasn’t much”?
30 Sep 2011, 16:39 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1305:
How would you feel about a handbag to your face?
That’s not on, throw a handbag at his chest or whatever then it would’ve been nothing I agree.
30 Sep 2011, 16:40 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1305: tell me, what did danie rossouw get sinbinned for against the all black – tri nations 2010?
30 Sep 2011, 16:44 pm
The Boks are toast next week. The Aussies will walk it
30 Sep 2011, 16:44 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1305:
hhayi now youre reaching sbali
When Quade Cooper had his hand in Richie’s face and he didnt even strike him Kiwi’s were calling for him to be binned.
30 Sep 2011, 16:45 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1305: Really poor discipline by Samoa. Pi$$ poor performance by the Boks. A 13-0 lead is a platform to land the killer blow. PdV has coached that killer instinct out of these players. How did Frans play today? We seem to have problems at 9, 10 and 12. The key axis of the team. Fix that problem and you will see the Boks improve exponentially.
Hate to be negative but I cannot see us springing one on the Aussies unless we slowly choke them to death. Cannot see that happening as the Wobblies are creative and enterprising on attack. They will eventually find a hole in our defence. With our attacking impotency all it takes is to let in 1 Aussie try and its tickets. The only other way we could win it is by bullying their forwards and use driving mauls and pick and drives to get across the tryline.
If we revert to skop en jag against the Aussies who love to run the ball just like Samoa and the ABs then its tickets.
30 Sep 2011, 16:46 pm
All came down to the attitude of certain Samoan players. They are like these guys you got at school. They never brought lunch, so you always gave them some of yours. Because of that, they would be decent, reserved okes. Then, one day, they brought biltong to school. So, they shared, but their whole attitude changed for that day. They would laugh out loud, argue, walk differently. The Samoans are the same. Because they beat Aus, and because the kiwis talked them up, and Zinzan said they would top the group, they changed. Just for now I think. They will lose a few old men, and go back to losing most games they play. Then they will be humble again.
@level(level)-1309: I hope you’re not a Bok supporter because you’ll get ripped to shreds on this thread.
@level(level)-1309:
Hahaha yeah just like they were supposed to walk Irish game vs oldest team in competition.
We’ll see.
Rabbied Dingo Deans has enough on is mind,like hmmm Samo on wing or Quade Cooper at hooker???
30 Sep 2011, 16:49 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-1311: Little has changed from last week. Same team, same players, same coaching staff. Boks went to sleep. Injuries was on their minds. Next week is knock-out. Watch then. The 2 Steyns can’t go from very good to bad in a week. Relax.
30 Sep 2011, 16:49 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-1303: Not one decent no.8 in SA maybe apart from Alberts but I think he’s a little bit slow. Its a pity Juan Smith is out. I would’ve tried him out at 8. He showed against Ireland last year he’s still got a bit of pace. Very agile too and a good link man.
Perhaps we should try Schalk at 8 again and have Brussouw and Louw playing. Spies would make a better winger.
30 Sep 2011, 16:50 pm
@level(level)-1309: A very “level” headed statement. Not open for discussion hey sport?
30 Sep 2011, 16:53 pm
anyone still dubious regarding Smit’s lack of contribution should go back and watch the first 50 mins of our opening game vs Wales. Smit is a cataclysmic disaster waiting to unfold. If he’d have stayed on vs Wales we would have lost without ANY doubt whatsoever. Today the opening stanza was all Boks on the front foot, had Smit started today I shudder to consider the end result because we would NOT have had that 13 point buffer going into 2nd half and a loss could very all have been on the cards.
Smit and FdP starting against Australia and I start fearing the worst
30 Sep 2011, 16:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1308: That was justified, russouw kneed McCaw’s head after the whistle had continuing from bakkies headbutt on Jimmy Cowan the week before! What are the boks saying now that alleged dirty play is no longer bok fashionable in 2011, heh?
30 Sep 2011, 16:54 pm
Spies had a good game. He is still one of our players with the best defense stats. The Boks played a tight game, and he did well.
30 Sep 2011, 16:54 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-1315: Ja I agree but what’s with reverting back to the utterly ineffective skop en jag which does not work against teams who have the guts to run the ball hard from their own 22?
How many games must PdV’s watch the Boks lose or narrowly win before he can be convinced that it simply does not work? This is why I actually think he is missing a huge amount of braincells! The way to beat Aus and NZ is to starve them of possession not kick the ball back to them. Not enough is being done to improve ball retention, protection and counter-rucking. These should be priority areas.
I think the other problem we have is that we don’t have enough speed in our time. Only Aplon and Hougaard have pace. The rest are all plodders. These days pace is what can make the difference on attack.
30 Sep 2011, 16:56 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1319: Rich coming from a dirty ab fan. You are upset because your little brother is out of the WC. Fact.
30 Sep 2011, 16:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1308: Lest I forget, russouw for good measure after kneeing McCaw, he also kicked him.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-1318: Matfield and Bismarck did not seem to make a difference either. We have a leadership crisis. The captain should’ve been replaced 2 years ago. Juan Smith would’ve made a great captain but unfortunately the oke got bliksemed! Are you still convinced PdV is a competent coach? Do you suggest Hougaard starts at 9?
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1314: Ireland always had a chance because they have a very tough tight five and can put huge pressure on the Aussies. The bok tight five which was great in 2007 is now average. The Aussies have not battled against them in the last 6 matches. Australia also have a defence that is probably as good as the boks so our limited attack is not going to score many tries against them. Unless the Aussies self implode (not impossible) or are very undiciplined and give away lots of penalties OR boks like Matfield, Botha and Smit can raise their games to 2007/2009 standards once again it is very likely the quarters will be our last match.
30 Sep 2011, 17:00 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-1321: The Boks are yet to play for 80 minutes. Against Wales they went out firing, but slacked before the break. Then we picked up injuries to de Villiers and Matfield, then Habana. Guys like Muller and James, who hadn’t played for a while, came on 9James at 12). It was only after Wales scored their try that the Boks lifted their game. Against Samoa we saw the same thing. Started well, then slacked off. If it is a problem that it just happens, I’m sure they will fix it. I think it is intentional.
Do you think the AB team we played in PE was weaker than Wales/Samoa?
30 Sep 2011, 17:07 pm
@malcolm(malcolm)-1325:
The same Bok pack that bludgeoned the Irish at Croke park last year? And a very highly rated English pack a week later at Twickenham? Same English pack that gave Irish pack a beat down in Six Nations 2011??
Same Bok pack that had the measure of Aussies in ALL set pieces,breakdown etc in Durban and were controlling game UNTIL Smit was put at tighthead which led to break of forward momentum leading to Oz try.
Bok pack is good enough,add the subs and more than good enough.
30 Sep 2011, 17:08 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-1311: Theres no issue that the boks definitely have an issue at 2,8,9,10, not too sure about Francois Steyn I want see him against Aus and the AB’s and see if he can cut them.
The Aus game will be very interesting, nucifora and deans will have watched this game closely, and will come up with some tricks of their own, if the wallabies get forward parity, then it’s their game.
30 Sep 2011, 17:11 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-1320:
Were we watching the same game? I don’t know what defensive stats you’re quoting, but if it’s about low missed tackles, it’s probably because he attempts so few.
30 Sep 2011, 17:12 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-1326: Muller came on at 9? Huh am I reading this correctly? So de Villiers is injured again? Why was he risked in the first place? I read that Frans is also injured. We will have to hope that De Jongh can do the business against the Aussies. Why would you intentionally go to sleep when you can rather land the killer blow and suck the wind out of Samoa’s sails? Doesn’t make any sense. More attacking means less defending and less injuries. The Bok gameplan is totally befokked and its almost as if they want to lose or they enjoy the stress of being minutes away from losing.
30 Sep 2011, 17:13 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1328: so you’re convinced with Bismarck?
30 Sep 2011, 17:14 pm
The boks dicipline and comitment on defence was really good today, but why play a game plan that results in so little possession? If i think back to the game then our set piece was dominent, our handling was par, we were pretty good at ruck time, we created a number of turnovers yet we lost the posession stakes by a country mile!!! (which placed a lot of pressure on the team.) The primary reason (I think) was Morne Steyns midfield up and unders. It started out as a variation in the first 20 minutes but as the game went on it became almost his only option. I am all for playing percentage rugby to win the world cup but when a specific tactic directly results in you losing the battle for posession against a weaker side is it really percentage rugby? I think the boks would be better served by playing more phase play or kicking for the corners and placing pressure on teams with our set piece. if you have a kicker that can kick penalties from 60 meters and you want to play percentage rugby then I think you need to force more rucks because the majority of penalties conceded are by teams defending at the ruck.
30 Sep 2011, 17:16 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1328:
Fair enough BUT Oz also have problems of their own mainly the ENTIRE pack.Add to that the erratic play of Cooper and the fact they dont have a bona-fide Test kicker.
Those also play right into hands of Bok gameplan if executed properly. And bok discipline at breakdown has been awesome there field position wont be a given.
30 Sep 2011, 17:18 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1328:
kepu
moore
Alexander
simmons
elsom
samo
cooper
mccabe
faingaa
those are their weaknesses
30 Sep 2011, 17:20 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1334: Cooper is good when he gets front foot ball. He played well against us in both tests.
30 Sep 2011, 17:22 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1327: Same Bok pack that got handled by Scotland last year was handled by Wales in our first World Cup game and although they did do well against Ireland last year I believe the Irish pack is much better now. Ireland also beat England handily in the Six Nations this year. I have no doubt the Bok pack will have the ‘measure’ of the Aussies but I have serious doubts that they will dominate to the extent needed to put the necessary pressure on their backline. Our forwards did do well in Durban but we lost. In the past we did not lose at home to even great Aussie sides. In the last two years we have lost two of three at home to them and the one we won they threw away. That is why I still hold out hope as i said earlier that their young players may implode.
30 Sep 2011, 17:22 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-1330: 9 = ( . Simple typo. He came on for Matfield, and Matfield is not a 9.
Theory of “going to sleep”
We are in a WC. WC is won through defense (not all, but big part). We have to prepare to defend against the big guns. We have to absorb pressure. These things you cannot do on the practice field. You do that during a game, when it is as close as you can get to the real thing; a clash against Aus and NZ.
NZ lost in 99 and 07 because they had no opposition until they played France. The weren’t used to defending their line for 5 minutes straight. They weren’t used to soaking up pressure for extended periods of time. You need game time to do these things. It is all about trusting your structures, and testing it in game situations against good quality teams.
The Boks were rusty against NZ in PE, yet they played better than against Wales or Samoa. Why do you think that is?
30 Sep 2011, 17:30 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1333: The wallabies have a very vulnerable pack, with no kicker, it does make their fight against the boks tight. However, if the wallabies just have parity or slight dominance upfront, then the wallaby backline will do the job. Quade is a liability when the Aus pack is being bossed about, he’s really bad then, maybe deans will put in berrick barnes at 12 and then he’ll have a still ball kicker, and barnes and quade can alternate in the 10 channel.
30 Sep 2011, 17:31 pm
@malcolm(malcolm)-1336: We should have won the last Aussie game. The Boks won’t make the mistake again.
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-1337: We get up for the bigger games. They have done enough to get to the quarters. The real matches begin now.
30 Sep 2011, 17:34 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-1335:
beg to differ in Durban he was largely ineffectual. Boks made cardinal sin of takin Jannie off for Smit and effectively killed forward momentum giving Aussies parity.And well in Perth-that team was a B/C team
@malcolm(malcolm)-1336: \
fair enough BUT the Irish pack is largely the same pack that did battle last year vs boks.Whether they better or not we would have to see if 2 sides meet again.Because i could say the same thing and say Bok pack of now is better now than before having played more games together,Nienaber systems etc.
Not about imploding,if forwards and backs execute accurately as in 1st half vs Samoa & for 65 mins in Durban,PE vs Ab’s etc we have the measure of their pack which would have taken a massive knock psychologically. Plus they also have a lot of injury concerns-you just have to look at the team they fielding vs Russia.
And again I say….THEy DONT HAVE A TEST CLASS KICKER.
Knockout footy rarely gets loose.This isnt 3N.Different stage,different midset,different tactics AND refs police this stage differently too.
30 Sep 2011, 17:34 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-1339: Exactly.
30 Sep 2011, 17:37 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-1322: I don’t understand, what’s rich? Also this fact you make mention of, that I’m upset over Samoa losing to the boks, how would you know that’s a fact?
30 Sep 2011, 17:37 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1338:
Oz will battle for parity.No dominace,not a chance.
plus as i said: Knockout footy rarely gets loose.This isnt 3N.Different stage,different midset,different tactics AND refs police this stage differently too.
As far as i know-we are entering the knockouts.
30 Sep 2011, 17:38 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1340: Genia and Cooper game into their own as soon as they received front-foot ball. It was a brain-**** moving Smit to tighthead. Turbo-reverse revved into 5th.
The Boks need to keep the ball away from the Aussie backline and smash them into the middle of next week
30 Sep 2011, 17:40 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1342: You don’t think NZ play dirty too? And now, come on, you rejoice when the Boks lose or struggle. That is a fact. And 99% of NZ supporters supported Samoa.
30 Sep 2011, 17:42 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-1338:
Barnes Cooper combo may work but again it didnt work at the Reds when they played together there.Plus Barnes has little to no footy under his belt since Superrugby. They would be reaching a wee bit,but it is a option that could work.
We will see.But seeing that McCabe is firm fav of Deans,dont see it happening. But hey he is playin Samo on the wing and a bench with 2 hookers and 2 scrummies this weekend so anything is possible I guess
30 Sep 2011, 17:45 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-1344:
Very true,Smit at 3 was ridiculous.Jannie came bk on and it was night and day,But it was too late by then…And the little fact that Danie spilled everything in that last quarter.
Its not about keeping all ball away from backs,its keeping front foot ball from backs. Thats where we can dominate,we have to otherwise itll be a long night.
30 Sep 2011, 17:49 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1310: Quade will get his lesson if the wallabies meet the AB’s, given, kiwis like south Africans whinge a lot! Most times the matters that are raised hold no water at all. I didn’t find much in the McCaw/Cooper matter, just niggling.
30 Sep 2011, 17:50 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1347: We need to stop kicking the ball away. Intelligent kicking is fine but not when it’s straight down the noses of dangerous runners who are given leeway to counter,
30 Sep 2011, 17:51 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1347: How sad that Jannie is the best tighthead we have. From the country of Jan Lock, Laubscher, Visagie and even Garvey… Tragic.
Pages: « 1 … 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 … 36 » Show All