Ashton breaks Scottish hearts

Chris Ashton scored a late try to give England a 16-12 win against Scotland in Auckland.

With three minutes remaining, England put a kickable penalty into touch and won the lineout. Their forwards set up the driving maul, before the ball was sent wide to replacement flyhalf Toby Flood, whose perfectly-timed double-skip pass put Ashton over in the right-hand corner.

It was a heart-breaking moment for the Scots, who had needed to win this game by eight points or more and deny England a bonus point in order to leapfrog their arch-rivals on the Pool C log. They now need Georgia to upset Argentina on Sunday, which is unlikely.

There may have only been one try, but this was a gripping encounter.

Scotland suffered an early setback when flyhalf Ruaridh Jackson limped off with a hamstring injury, but it proved to be a blessing. The kicking game of his replacement, Dan Parks, was ideal for the wet and windy conditions and he controlled the game well.

It was Parks who kicked a long-range penalty into the wind to give Scotland a 6-0 lead, following an earlier strike from Chris Paterson.

Jonny Wilkinson came into this match with a 50% goal-kicking success rate in the tournament and missed his first three penalty attempts. He finally found the target with his fourth, but a Parks drop goal gave Scotland a 9-3 lead at the break.

The Scots dominated the set pieces in the first half, winning four scrums against the feed (with Euan Murray embarrassing Matt Stevens) and stealing three opposition lineout throws. They also didn’t miss a single tackle in 40 minutes, while England slipped six.

When the second half kicked off, the wind had dropped and the rain had stopped. England played with a lot more urgency and their pack regained some confidence when they won a tighthead with a solid hit.

The Scots, though, briefly regained the ascendancy and almost scored when left wing Simon Danielli kicked into the England 22. Fullback Ben Foden knocked the ball back and Scotland replacement Nick de Luca failed to collect it with the tryline in sight.

Scotland then won yet another scrum penalty, which Paterson kicked to make it 12-3, but they crucially failed to deal with the restart and Wilkinson slotted a drop goal with his right foot (having missed one with his left from in front earlier in the half).

The England flyhalf added a penalty at the start of the final quarter to reduce the deficit to three, but his following attempt fell short.

It didn’t matter, though, as Ashton’s try snatched the win and set up an England-France quarter-final.

By Simon Borchardt

Follow Simon on Twitter

340 Comments

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

poms vs joks dragons

• 2.JockBok: Reply to this comment

No cheering or shouting, no caps lock, no bold text….

David Sole walking up the tunnel in 1990.

Determination. A job needing done. The time for action.

• 3.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The enemy of my enemy is my Famous Grouse.

• 4.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I don’t think I can watch this!

Am already teary eyed

• 5.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

hope the english lose.
    such tossers…

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-4: what’s with you and Scots pocahontas?

• 7.Guns: Reply to this comment

Scotts have been really Shiyte this RWC. England to take it.

But on another note – GO SCOTLAND!!!

• 8.Tartan: Reply to this comment

don’t care how **** we are, there’s always a chance against this mob.

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Trans.

They make whisky.

End of!

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They can toss cabers and anthem always gets me in my heart.

• 11.David: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-9:
    So does Japan.

• 12.Dawn: Reply to this comment

OMG there goes Ruaridh.

Am going shopping.

• 13.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lamont is hot.

• 14.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Croft having a shocker so far. Long may it continue.

• 15.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Skirtsy Jockbok must be on his 4th or 5th breakfast tipple by now

• 16.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-15:

2nd packet of lights…

• 17.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Good referee, penalising Poms

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ffuck.

• 19.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

England getting poesklapped by Joubert at scrumtime

• 20.chch: Reply to this comment

Same old England, always cheating

• 21.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-16: :lol:

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh yay!!!!!!

• 23.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-16:

Must be the unreliable electricity supply there.

• 24.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Slomo confirms over. Scots 6 up… Jockie just choofed a ciggie in one breath…

• 25.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-23:

On a generator 80% of the time

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-24:

• 26.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-20:

indeed.

they remind me of the Ball Sacks.

when England play in Black it’s almost impossible to tell them apart.

especially now that they also import samoans.

• 27.carol: Reply to this comment

Morning All….

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5:

Takes one to know one..!! Grow up!

• 28.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Is Youngs seriously the best scrumhalf on that soggy, crowded island?

• 29.chch: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-26:

What a sad twisted fork you are

• 30.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-28:

No, Mike Blair is ;)

• 31.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-28: Yes, for England, by a distance. Remember that Philips is also from the soggy, crowded island too.

• 32.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I need a tranquiliser

• 33.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

England playing like shiit, no rhythm to their game. They look like they waiting for someone to create a “spark” before something happens.

Much like the stormers couple of years ago…

GO SCOTLAND !!!

• 34.carol: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-25:
    Hope you enjoyed your porage….

Enjoy the lead, it won’t last for long!! ;-)

• 35.Puma: Reply to this comment

GO SCOTLAND GO.

• 36.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-30: @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-31: Okay, let me rephrase that: the soggy island, sans northern and western extremities.

• 37.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Parks on fire

• 38.chch: Reply to this comment

Can Scotland play like this for 50 more mins or at least till they have the wind behind them

• 39.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Faking Parks, knew he’d start this shiit

@carol(carol)-34:

Good luck Carol. Hope you’re stalked up on the kleenex’s ;)

• 40.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-35:

Blimey, now I am completley out numbered!!

COME ON E N G L A N D…. ;-)

Morning Puma, we have not chatted for ages!

• 41.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Wilko’s internal gyroscope malfunctioning.

England are phucked without those dudes who come on and give them special balls to kick with.

@carol(carol)-27:

quite right.

you tell the little whippersnapper.

• 42.chch: Reply to this comment

That guy looked very much in front of the kicker

• 43.chch: Reply to this comment

didn’t Patterson knock on?

• 44.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Not exactly sophisticated rugby

• 45.RL: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-38: their only hope to avoid an early flight home is to beat the Poms and deny them a bonus point, then it will be England going home … very unlikely.

• 46.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-43:

Joubert’s confused by the blue shirts, he thought Patterson was a Bulls player ;)

• 47.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

6-3, a very pommy score

• 48.Guns: Reply to this comment

Took a while Johny old chap..

• 49.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Ashton is going to get donnered before this World cup is over.

• 50.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

The Scots are up for a fight.

• 51.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Armitage is playing well

• 52.chch: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-45:

Not their only hope. They can win by less than 8 and score 4 tries while England spend their time kicking.

• 53.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

What’s Woody Harrelson doing in the Scotland coaching box?

• 54.chch: Reply to this comment

Why is the scrum nowhere near where the knock on was?

• 55.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53: Working the bar?

• 56.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Is Tindall’s nose a money issue?

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Scots are winning the front row battle

• 58.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Its his twin brother, Woody Townsend.

• 59.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Murray introduced Stevens to his nought

• 60.Guns: Reply to this comment

Parks slots the Drop!

• 61.chch: Reply to this comment

wow, nice half into the wind

• 62.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

and 9-3 is a very pommy score too

• 63.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Ho ho ho… Scots on fire… cant score a try for anything though

• 64.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Only one team in the 1st half, scotland dominating all facits of play.

England cannot be serious about winning WC when they play like this.

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

If the Jocks score a try, hold their dicipline and keep the Poms scoreless then bye bye Poms.

• 66.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-61: Scots playing into the wind?

• 67.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

They could have used Sheridan.

And perhaps even that Leicester nutter, Julian White.

• 68.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-63:

Parks touch finders and tactical kicks are excellent, but the ball rarely goes past him when we are in the oppo 22.

• 69.David: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-64:
    They came pretty close in 2007 after being hammered by SA in the pool game.

• 70.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Mike tindall must be the fattest and slowest inside centre I’ve ever seen

Farking fat vark ;-)

• 71.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-68:
    We had to play Parks, a gentleman’s agreement for Tindall staying on for them.

That’s got to be it, right?

• 72.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-70: How quickly you forget the Bulls centres of a few seasons back. JP Nel? Dries Scholtz?

• 73.David: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-65:
    In other words, if Scotland score and England don’t, the Scots win? :lol”

• 74.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I guess being royal tindall eats all the best things… Die pap is dik ;-)

• 75.chch: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-65:

Only if Argentina also score 4 tries in their final game

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-68: Yeah, but he is playing very well. If the Scots were playing into the wind then 9-3 is a decent score.

Scots will need a try to put England away though.

• 77.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Jp nel played outside centre and dries was pretty good back then. The game evolved since the 1990′s and in 2011 you need someone that can distribute the ball and step well

• 78.poppa69: Reply to this comment

F knows why the quota coach played F Steyn against Samoa!

• 79.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-67:

Sheridan is broken.

All the kings horses and all the kings men are doing their best.

• 80.chch: Reply to this comment

Annie will be lying in bad with his brother watching that

• 81.chch: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-80: bed

• 82.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-79: I see. That explains Humpty Dumpty at hooker.

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yup, Scots have wind behind them. Parks will be kicking to corners

• 84.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

And the young man will be heading towards one of NZ finest brothels ;-)

• 85.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-29:

silly chc.

if you want to hand out the cheating cheese nibbles you have to be prepared to have a few mouthfulls yourself.

nom nom nom.

like any decent host.

good chap.

• 86.David: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-80:
    Nah, she’s english, not a Kiwi. :lol:

• 87.RL: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-75: Argies will need 5 points for sure. :razz:

• 88.chch: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-84:

With Mike Tindall

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

That Jacobson is a funny little bu.gger.

• 90.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

The fat little Jock just bent the bearded fella like a pretzel.

• 91.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-82:

actually that chap at 2 is Humpty’s waxwork double from Madame Tussauds.

That’s why they are playing this game in New Zealand at night.

If ambient temperature goes above 12 degrees he gets horribly exposed.

• 92.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

England have odd hobbys with prossies, cage fighting and dwarf throwing ;-)

• 93.cane: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-91:

So fuckkers like you don’t have to stay awake untill 4.00A.M

• 94.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-91: And then all England’s carthorses and cartmen wouldn’t put him together again.

• 95.chch: Reply to this comment

England look very dangerous on the wings and the Scottish covering looks dodgy.

Luck is on Scotland’s side for now

• 96.cane: Reply to this comment

Go Jocks.

• 97.chch: Reply to this comment

They were not on their feet. That was planking if I ever saw it

• 98.David: Reply to this comment

Wilkinson not having a great game at all.

• 99.RL: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-96: so Cater and McCheat are the walking wounded … pray that you do not get these Jocks in the QF. :cool:

• 100.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The Scots have a passing problem. They over elaborate the flip pass…

• 101.Dawn: Reply to this comment

FFFFUUUUCCCCCCCKKKK

• 102.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#@+**********+#

• 103.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-93:

thank you caner.

you have been wonderfull hosts.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:

nope he’ll be sent to the kings candlestick maker.

who, in an ironic twist of fate, lives next door to the kings butcher and baker

so he’ll get a decent meal while he’s there.

Admittedly that seems like the least of his problems right now.

• 104.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Dawn, is that a request or statement? ;-)

• 105.chch: Reply to this comment

kick it

• 106.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Scots are giving England a hiding in the scrums… Looks like they’ve learnt some lessons from Georgia.

• 107.chch: Reply to this comment

This is it …. Scotland to go top of the ‘live’ table if this kick goes over.

• 108.JL1: Reply to this comment

Anything happening, some updates please

• 109.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-108: Scots 12-3 up. Dominating the scrums.

• 110.RL: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-104: eeeew man, it has to be a statement, simply has to …… unless you are very very desperate.

• 111.chch: Reply to this comment

Scotland into 1st spot. Who would have thought after that Romania game

• 112.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Jonny’s got his kicking boots back.

• 113.chch: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-111:

and back to 2nd

• 114.Michael: Reply to this comment

Come on Scotland !!!!!!!!!!!

• 115.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

This is turning out to be a classic match

• 116.RL: Reply to this comment

Poms are playing for the bonus point.

• 117.chch: Reply to this comment

that was truck and trailer !!!

• 118.JL1: Reply to this comment

At gymnastics in Surbiton for the kids and no TV
    Thanks HG

• 119.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-118: 12-6 now. With penalty to England.

• 120.RL: Reply to this comment

Jocks lead down to 3.

• 121.chch: Reply to this comment

Scotland in trouble now

• 122.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-119: Jonny definitely got kicking boots back… 12-9

• 123.chch: Reply to this comment

low percentage kick

• 124.David: Reply to this comment

Scotland need a win and to prevent england scoring a bonus point to guarantee them a QF place, as he Argiesshould get a full house against Georgia, then England go home.

• 125.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Jeepers, if they had a wing on the wing that would have been 5 points.

• 126.JL1: Reply to this comment

No ball tampering?

• 127.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Tindall looks like a piggy. Mike tindall is now swine tindall ;-)

• 128.chch: Reply to this comment

Kicks into touch, touching ball before it goes out … skills and brainpower becoming an issue for Scotland

• 129.Gunther: Reply to this comment

I have a feeling that this is going to end with William Wallace getting his gonads hoisted over the Tower of London.

• 130.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Humpty Dumpty is off. He looks well scrambled.

• 131.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

England looks shiit, OMG WTF ?!?!?

Only SA and NZ looks to be contenders

• 132.chch: Reply to this comment

Silly by Scotland.

• 133.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

No Le Rocket Boot.

• 134.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Scots had a brainfart with tap and go

• 135.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Come on Scotland!

• 136.chch: Reply to this comment

Scotland have no composure. Brain power fading

• 137.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

These roses are being de-flowered ;-)

• 138.chch: Reply to this comment

Comes round the side of a ruck and kicks the ball

• 139.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

The islander was miles offside when he hacked at that ball. Should have been a Scottish penalty.

• 140.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Reminded me of McCheat ;-)

• 141.chch: Reply to this comment

So obvious that was going to go out. Damn frustrating decision making

• 142.RL: Reply to this comment

Jocks need to score a try now.

• 143.chch: Reply to this comment

Why did Patterson under no pressure just give the ball back to England.

Damn Scotland are frustrating

• 144.RL: Reply to this comment

Jocks are kak. They could have kept that ball in hand and driven it to the Pom line.

• 145.chch: Reply to this comment

Commentator wrong again. The draw will guarantee top spot for England

• 146.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Let’s pray to the rugby gods for a interceptt try

• 147.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

And that is that, England win.

• 148.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

******* !

• 149.cane: Reply to this comment

Penalty England.

Kickable, but they go fro touch.

great stuff by the Sassenachs.

• 150.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaha!!!!!!

• 151.RL: Reply to this comment

Ashton and game over. Well done Poms.

• 152.chch: Reply to this comment

That is it. Congrats to England (that is long as you did not cheat gain with ball swapping).

Scotland can look back on some poor options in the end game

• 153.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-130:

yep.

he’s toast.

scots pancaking.

• 154.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-153: eggsactly.

• 155.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it wasn’t the AshSplah but it counts….jocks are gone.

• 156.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Ashton is such a pillock. Not right that he got the try.

• 157.RL: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-152: Poms have a clear path to the final .. with Flood as their play maker.

• 158.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

whoooooo hooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

oh yes, yes yes!!!

• 159.chch: Reply to this comment

and it ends with another brain failure

surprised if the Scottish wingers can park a car given their judgement of gaps

• 160.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Scots only have themselves to blame. England march on.

• 161.RL: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-158: :lol:

• 162.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I bet my left testicle and both my middle fingers that England will not win this WC

• 163.chch: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-157:

Yep, they have France then Ireland

• 164.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

reckon it will be the winner of Ireland/Wales in the final against the All Blacks…

unfortunately that means a lopsided win to the keevies.

• 165.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-154:

Shame really.

I was hoping they would give the poms a damn good whisking.

Now they just crying over spilt milk.

• 166.Kitchener: Reply to this comment

Jolly well done England. I thought Ben Youngs and Jonny Wilkinson were both awful today but the chaps showed a lot of pluck and grit to win. Hard cheese Scotland.

Now, where is that Francois chappie who lost the bet to me? Francois, your clock is ticking, old boy.

• 167.chch: Reply to this comment

What English player did the late shoulder charge?

• 168.Kitchener: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-167:

It was Delon Armitage. He may be cited for that.

• 169.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-165: Don’t beat yourself up about it.

I think omelette you get over this by yourself.

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Brendan Venter is so far up England’s arse its not even funny.

• 171.cane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-158:

Congrates.

• 172.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-169:

silly yolks like that won’t help.

I’m feeling shellshocked.

• 173.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-170: does that grate you?

• 174.Tartan: Reply to this comment

If we had a back who could pick/run angles we would have got at least 3 tries in that game. Too many inside runs into traffic and players picking the wrong option.

England only turned up in the second half and only really looked like threatening the whitewash once Tindall and Wilkinson were off. They’ll be delighted they’re in the NH side of the draw, because in the SH side, they’d be on the first flight home.

• 175.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Woody

What kind of question is that. Of course it bloody does. But Venter is a d*ck in general.

• 176.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Scotland crying like babies, shame man. My heart bleeds for them.

• 177.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I cannot stand these poms, farkit my hernia is getting a hernia listening to johnson with his cocky “kiwi like” comments

• 178.cane: Reply to this comment

Scotland were fabulous Tourists and I’m sorry to see them go home tomorrow.

They engaged with the public in my home city with enthusiasm and were a credit to the game and their country.

To Jockbok and other Supporters,
    Commiserations.

• 179.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Brendon venter’s head looks like grasshoppers head :-)

• 180.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I just can’t stand England walking around with an attitude like they aren’t actually a minnow nation.

• 181.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Kitchener(Kitchener)-166:

Congratulations Carol, BH, Kitch.

• 182.carol: Reply to this comment

Well played Scotland….. :-)

E N G L A N D…Yeyyyyyyyyy :lol:

• 183.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-175: I guess not as bad as when Allan Donald, the boertjie from Bloem, was the NZ bowling coach (at the time they knocked us out of the WC nogal) or Smal currently the Ireland forward coach.

But Venter is not retained by England, he’s must surely have just been talking from experience of coaching on England.

I wouldn’t mind seeing Venter as next Bok coach.

• 184.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@170. Tsc. At what point climbing up someones ****** does the comedy stop?

• 185.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ Tac :-)

• 186.carol: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-181:
    Flipping hec Jock, your boys really had the bit between their teeth, gave me palpitations…

• 187.carol: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-180:
    Ow, suck it up cup cake!! ;-)

• 188.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-178:

Thanks bud, we gave it a shot but not to be. I hope Argentina win well tomorrow now and Scotland go home. It’s right that those two teams go through as the best in the group.

• 189.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

silly scots…
    english tossers…

• 190.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-180: I don’t like England rugby, but they certainly aren’t minnows.

WC winners, and remember that period when they went unbeaten against us from 2000 to 2006 (including 53-3)? Man, that still rankles.

• 191.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

on England = in England

• 192.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Woody

That’s similar to Wales’ golden era somewhere in the 70′s. Back to normal now.

• 193.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

1st RWC Scotland haven’t made the quarters.

• 194.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I’m off to have beer, will leave you with dingo deans starting the mind games, he said they will be missing four starting backs? Great news…

Deans praises Boks

View 3 comments
    22 minutes ago
    Nelson – Wallabies coach Robbie Deans has given a big tick to likely World Cup quarter-final opponents South Africa but said the Australians need to raise their intensity several steps.

The Wallabies beat Russia 68-22 in their final pool match here on Saturday to qualify for the play-offs but their performance tailed off markedly in the second half after leading 47-5 at the turn.

In addition to a further injury, with Drew Mitchell pulling a hamstring and not expected to play again in the tournament, the Wallabies had problems with their set piece losing three lineouts and giving away a tighthead.

After the game Deans refused to discuss evident problems saying he was “looking ahead”, but agreed they would have to lift their intensity going into a quarter-final against either South Africa or Wales.

The opponent will be determined by the final Pool C match between Ireland and Italy on Sunday with Deans picking an Ireland win, which will mean a showdown with the Springboks.

“We got out of the (Russia) game what we sought, we’ve qualified for the play-offs,” Deans said.

“Clearly we’ll have to wait to see who we’re playing against but it appears most likely it’ll be South Africa and we’ll just push on from here.”

The Wallabies won both their Tri-Nations clashes with the Springboks this year, but Deans said the World Cup was different.

“South Africa are showing they’re very much World Cup exponents. They’re building nicely and they’ve shown they’ve got an ability to get up.

“The World Cup really suits their approach.”

One positive for the Wallabies was the kicking of James O’Connor, playing at fullback against Russia and landing nine of 10 conversion attempts.

Deans said with goal-kicking a central scoring element in the knock-out stages, O’Connor’s confidence would have been boosted by his performance.

There was no immediate decision made about a replacement for Mitchell but Deans indicated Lachie Turner would be in the frame.

Mitchell had scored two tries before he pulled up lame with a hamstring injury early in the second half and the early indication was that he would not play again in the tournament.

Australia have been hard hit by injuries and had difficulty cobbling together a fit squad of 22 to play Russia.

They had to play backrower Radike Samo on the right wing and when left wing Mitchell went off he was replaced by scrum-half Nick Phipps.

However, Deans expected four backs unavailable for the Russia game would be available for the quarter-finals.

• 195.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-188:
    Yeah, congratulations to England and Argentina.
    They took their chances and put away the other teams clinically.

You might be able to win a RWC final without scoring tries, but Scotland were never going to get out the group without them…

• 196.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

There are only 3 tier 1 nations. 4 if France pitch up in the right frame of mind.

The rest are minnows.

• 197.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-192: not quite.

In 32 tests SA have won 19, Eng 12 with 1 draw.

Hardly an overwhelming dominance one might expect to see over a “true minnow” such as Samoa or Georgia.

• 198.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-177:
    i dont know who’s the bigger doos- between johnson and lievremont.
    so ffucking arrogant and ccocky when the nations have ffuckall all to show for their coaches talk.

• 199.Brads: Reply to this comment

That up and under in the last play by the Scots rather than a kick to the end of the park was the killer.

Dumb, dumb. dumb.

Just like Donald in Hong Kong. Coaches don’t have the skills to remove the idiot out of some guys brain.

I was so looking foraward to England moving to our side of the playoffs. Meeting them in the first game of the knockouts would have gone a long way toward legitimising this tournament as a true relection of World supremacy.

• 200.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-193:
    We’ve scraped through a few pools we probably “shouldn’t” have over the years. If anything, this might be an overdue wake-up call to the SRU. Unless of course they pull the “glorious failure” card, which wouldn’t really be accurate.

• 201.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-178: They’re simple folk. They felt at home :)

• 202.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Tier 1 – SA, NZ, AUS
    Tier 2 – FRA, ENG
    Tier 3 – WAL, IRE, SCO, ARG
    Tier 4 – SAM, TON, FIJ, ITA
    Tier 5 – the rest of the teams at the RWC

That’s a more realistic indication of the teams’ strength. On any particular day, you could reasonably expect a team from one tier below to upset a team in the tier above.

• 203.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-197:
    yes, but a lot of those wins against us came in the ‘time of troubles’ for the boks.

• 204.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-178:

speaking of fabulous tourists have you been fishing with bakkies yet?

• 205.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-200: Actually, I can’t think of one RWC where we have struggled to make the quarters… not even in 2003 when we were clearly the 2nd best team in the pool.

• 206.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-202:
    France occupy their own tier.
    One that could be any of those, or even “tier 6″ depending on what day of the week it is, if it’s raining, what phase the moon is in, or what I ate for breakfast.

• 207.chch: Reply to this comment

My congrats did not include the blogger Big Shite who has always been too much of a bigoted racist moron to congratulate the All Blacks after any victory that I have been online for.

• 208.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-203: the record books don’t have an asterisk or footnote for “time of troubles”.

It just says it like it is.

• 209.chch: Reply to this comment

How are England a tier above Ireland, Wales and Argentina?

• 210.RL: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-202: why did Tonga a t4 team just moer a t2 team, not natural at all.

• 211.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Oh dear, this chap hasn’t made too many friends…

The Samoan player who compared the World Cup to “slavery” was at the centre of another row on Saturday when he accused a referee of being racist and biased in an expletive-filled Twitter rant.

Centre Eliota Sapolu Fuimaono took to the micro-messaging site with an angry tirade against Welsh referee Nigel Owens and the International Rugby Board (IRB) after Samoa’s 13-5 loss to South Africa, which ended their quarter-final hopes.

Owens’ Facebook page was also defaced by irate and offensive messages among more than 300 comments posted by members of the public after the game.

Sapolu Fuimaono, who mentioned that he was drinking and appeared to announce his international retirement, claimed Samoa was the victim of a conspiracy and directed fire at Owens after several other contributors criticised the referee.

“I can understand the hate!! Haha good luck u racist biased prick,” tweeted the 30-year-old Sapolu Fuimaono, who plays for English club Gloucester.

“Get s.a into next round. The plan was obvious. Can’t wait 2 meet irb members in public,” he added.

The comments come after Sapolu Fuimaono was forced to apologise for comparing the World Cup to “slavery”, “apartheid” and even the “holocaust” after Samoa had only a few days to prepare for their key game against Wales, which they lost.

• 212.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Tier one: New Zeeland
    Tier two: Australia, South Africa, England
    Tier 3: Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Argentinia

France is the floating team.

• 213.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Australia Russia highlights. That russian scrummie is barely taller than keo.

• 214.chch: Reply to this comment

Not convinced that Scotland are a tier above Samoa either

• 215.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-209:

They are consistently above them on the official IRB ratings

• 216.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-205:
    2003 and 2007 were exactly the same formula – throw the match against the strongest team (France/NZ) and concentrate on the last match. We were lucky to win both games in all honesty.

• 217.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-209: because ENG beat them more often than not, yet any of those teams beating ENG is not unexpected. Also because ENG and FRA turnover the tier 1 teams more than anyone else.

@RL(RL)-210: did anyone expect TON to beat FRA? No. That’s why a tier 4 beating a tier 2 is completely unexpected. But you wouldn’t be too surprised if TON, FIJI or SAM beat WAL for example, one tier above them.

• 218.chch: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-212:

France are tier 5?

• 219.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Well done Poms, condolences Jockbok, your guys did not have enough haggis for breakfast.

• 220.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

France can be any tier they want.

• 221.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-213:

he is a babushka doll that escaped from the rest of the set.

• 222.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-214: there are a few close calls. Scotland is one of them. They did beat SA last year, and Eng recently, whereas Sam haven’t.

But in reality Scotland are probably in their own tier with Italy and possibly Samoa.

• 223.chch: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-217:

So given that post apartheid NZ 33 wins SA 15 wins why are SA on the same tier as NZ ?

• 224.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-206:
    you forgot ‘how the boulangerie owner’s croissants came out of the oven that morning..was it overdone or under?..and was the coffer just right….’ hehehe
    bet there’s a few more…

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-208:
    yes sure, but the record books do show:
    sa 36 – eng 0
    sa 15 – eng 6

at the 2007 wc… :D

• 225.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-212:

Indeed they are almost impossible to flush.

• 226.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-223: because SA beating NZ is never a surprise. However, if you would like your own tier 1 status, feel free to claim it, NZ over the past 15 years are probably entitled to it as Robzim pointed out earlier.

• 227.chch: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-226:

hehe, happy to share tier 1 :)

• 228.kesbok: Reply to this comment

Interesting how Samoans “bring the Boks down to earth” but England get a different headline.

• 229.chch: Reply to this comment

It is interesting though that in big competitions you would put your money on a Samoa, Tonga or Fiji upset rather than Italy. But you would think that Italy were the better side.

• 230.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-229: we’ll be hoping for an Italy upset tomorrow!

• 231.Tartan: Reply to this comment

One thing this match has shown is that England’s set pieces are really misfiring. They reverted to “type” in this game for 60min and nearly lost it as a result.

• 232.chch: Reply to this comment

Shall we put some percentages on the quarter finals:

Ireland vs Wales – 60% Ireland win
    England vs France – 63% England win
    South Africa vs Australia – 54% Australia win
    New Zealand vs Argentina – 90% New Zealand

Despite GHs best efforts in playing 2 games at once the ABs have never lost to Argentina

• 233.Michael: Reply to this comment

Bugger, Kitchener won his beat. He’ll be unbearable now

• 234.chch: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-230:
    Which will just make it easy for Wales. But ok, for the underdog

• 235.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-232:

Ireland vs Wales – 50% Ireland win
    England vs France – 60% England win
    South Africa vs Australia – 50% Australia win
    New Zealand vs Argentina – 99% New Zealand

• 236.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The way the RWC is going things could come down to who has most of their “best” 22 actually able to play in the QF/SF.

• 237.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-234: no it will make it difficult for Wales – quarter against Aus.

Easier for SA – quarter against Italy.

• 238.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-237:
    It’d also give us all the delightful vision of Jamie Roberts running at, through and over Quade Cooper.

• 239.chch: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-237:

Sorry, I forgot that Aus would come 2nd.

ok, backing Italy :)

• 240.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sod the congratulations malarkey.

Eng didn’t deserve to win.

• 241.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No fecking more miss nice girl

• 242.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Well then, still as before, South Africa (although without FS in the backs I doubt it), Australia and New Zealand winners please.

Any of the trio but please not a NH team. I couldn’t handle it. Chances are, quarters and semis will see SH teams beat each other up properly.

• 243.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-240: England should have been disqualified for cheating.

• 244.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol, MacDawn.

• 245.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Now I’m in a murderous mood

• 246.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-243:
    at the least a citing for the head high shoulder charge.

• 247.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Kirchener replacing Steyn, wha ha ha ha ha ha what a joke.

• 248.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-247: oh dear what’s the point in that?

• 249.Brads: Reply to this comment

Just for the record.

Tier 1 are the countries that have a seat on the IRB board and have a full vote.

It has nothing to do with on field ability or performance.

Heres a question! Do you know what the voting rights are for the respective teams who fronted RWC11?

• 250.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-249: Why does this matter?

• 251.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

In a few decades new rugby powers will be USA, Russia and Georgia. Wonder how much of a vote they will have.

• 252.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-250:
    IRB voting rights govern our game.

England, Scotland. Wales, Ireland have one each.

Fiji, Samoa and Tonga have none between them.

• 253.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-252: Yes, but the rules are the same for all.

Maybe if Samoa had a vote we would have RugbyBoxing, an exciting new sport.

• 254.Brads: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-251:
    There should be federations like FIFA.

It is scandalous that the IRB clutch onto the last remnants of the amatuer era with this stanglehold on the governance of the sport.

• 255.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-253:
    What are you saying here?

The King on the hill dictates? The hoi polloi should accept his commands?

The King knows best and the ignorant peasant is only there for his amusement?

• 256.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-255: What changes would you like then?

And if you must know, in my experience the majority are too stupid to know what’s good for them, they should be lead by wiser, educated people :-)

• 257.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I am also asking what the problem is, the rules are the same for all

• 258.David: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-256:
    So, as one of the majority, who would you choose as your leader? :lol:

• 259.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Look now at big bad brad banging the table, how amusing… *Yawn and scratching my balls at the same time*

• 260.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-258: Me of course. :-)

• 261.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-257:
    My opinion is not the point.

After all, as a Kiwi I get a vote and as such the world is sweet.

What say Fiji, Samoa, Tonga or Namibia? No idea.

All I do know is they piss and moan about the unfairness of it all and we all tut tut and agree in principle and somehow expect through some form of osmosis this will change the opinions of the IRB.

• 262.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

NZ analyabuse the pacific islanders, Samoa, Fiji and Tonga are bend over a pole with NZ standing behind and making turns like inky pinky ponky and now NZ are saying the islanders need more power.

Take your d!ck out of the islanders and they will be more competitive

• 263.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-261: I’d say that those that rule should be those that bring in the cash. As a kiwi you are lucky to get a vote :-)

As for Fiji, Tonga and Namibia, why give them equal voice when they bring in nothing? As far as I understand it, the Samoans had to raise money to come to the RWC as did that powerhouse Namibia.

Life isn’t fair and besides, what exactly do they want a vote for, to change what?

• 264.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-262: so true

• 265.Brads: Reply to this comment

Just to get this clear.

What you are saying is that now that the game is professional. unless you can add money to the pot, you should have no input into how it is goverened.

Is that about it?

• 266.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-254:
    yes, but fifa is a similar stitch up.
    vote rigging and elite interests have been the order of the day since forever.
    they also have a groups of nations with some kind of veto power or other plus extra benefits, i think it ws the founder members which gives them votes of some sort.
    both systems could do with some more transparency and democracy introduced i suppose.

• 267.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-265: That is exactly right. Professional. It is not a game it is Sport’s Entertainment.

I want entertainment and I want to see the best. I don’t care where you buy the best from, I just want to see them on the field when I go to my seat that I pay for or turn on my TV subscription.

Money makes the spectacle better, it enables the establishment of better clinics and academies, allows for the recognition at an earlier age of talent and helps transform lives of people with talent but who come from poorer backgrounds.

It is not 1976, it is not amateur hour and the world has changed. Rugby folks would do well to realise this.

• 268.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Why give minnows control over governance when their input in rugby is minimum? They don’t have the same challenges as the tier 1 nations

Mate, are in you in NZ because its late and you obviously tired

• 269.David: Reply to this comment

The so called unfairness in the game schedules of the “minnows”, is actually part of a compromise to avoid reducing the number of teams in the competition. It isn’t that unfair as it only applies to teams who have to qualify and none of the first 3 in each pool need to prequalify for the next WC. So a team like Samoa wil have the same schedule as NZ, SA etc.

• 270.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

Very disappointed in Scotland to be honest, this has been a poor poor world cup for us. Scoring 4 tries in all is just not good enough! Not scoring any vs Georgia is totally unnaceptable. Truth is we didnt deserve to progress

• 271.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-267:
    Well then, I assume you advocate the RWC be limited to a round robin of 8 teams.

That would make all games supposedly competitive, that would show the best..

• 272.Brads: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-268:
    No one suggests they should get control, but no input at all????

• 273.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-271: To be honest a RWC doesn’t tell the story. You, as a kiwi should recognise how the tag of World Champs doesn’t go with the best team.

A SuperRugby competition is harder and longer and the teams play better to be honest, they are together for longer.

They could quite easily not have a RWC for all I care and play an expended 4 Nations, 5 Nations, 6 or 7 or not have national teams at all and just player SuperRugby. It’s where the money is anyway.

6 wins, a dodgy draw and you are champs of the world… hardly a fair reflection is it

• 274.Brads: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-269:
    I don’t quite get that?

Are you saying it was the luck of the draw that the AB are playing only on the weekends?

• 275.chch: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-262:

Sounds like you have shite for brains.

Care to explain any of your comment?

• 276.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-274:
    No, but the top seeded teams (prequalified) get the better time/day slots when the schedules are drawn up. That’s why this year, teams like Samoa get the short end of the stick with rest days. They have to fit in with the seeded teams schedules.

• 277.chch: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-262:

I am going to assume that your accusations stem from a psychological condition that you have with small children and the fact that therapy is not going well.

Easy to make mindless offensive accusations isn’t it.

• 278.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-273:
    RWC is not the argument. It is here to stay and more power to it.

This discussion started over the definition of tier 1 and tier 2 etc nations. Everyone was rabbiting on about some vague on field performance.

I simply pointed out that the tier rating is based on IRB voting rights, and it had nothing to do with team performance.

• 279.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-278: So what would you suggest then, strong teams play twice a week, they have to play in skirts. Dan Carter must kick for Samoa, what?

• 280.Brads: Reply to this comment

@dquinn25(dquinn25)-270:
    I hate to kick a wounded man, but I agree.

Tonight was frustrating.

Scotland had the game in the bag, but some one, I can’t recall, kicked a hugh up an under from his own 22.

Any half brained apprentice could have told him to boot the bloody ball way down town, but no, he tried some miricle play none of his team had asked for. England snaped up the woosy ildiercted punt, game over.

• 281.chch: Reply to this comment

It is odd the argument about big teams playing on weekends to get full stadiums. If Eden Park was not in such a **** location you would think we would fill stadiums for big games anyway.
    I would say that it is more to do with the amount of money the IRB gets for TV coverage.

If it was all about NZ then we would be playing playoffs on Friday and Saturday nights and not Saturday and Sunday nights. All seems to be about the TV coverage.

• 282.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-279:
    You continue to miss the point.

I typed, then erased an abusive adjective for you. It wouldn’t really have been me or added to the conversation, other than in a negative way.

• 283.Brads: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-281:
    If it was all about filling stadiums, then all the games would be at local friendly times.

That would be 2.30pm for all major games.

No issue filling stadiums that time of day.

• 284.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-281: You are right. It’s great going to the games in NZ but man it’s a long way from anywhere, distance and timezones.

Now back in SA it’s hardly the same watching a game at 8:30 am instead of 3pm.

The other thing I realised while back in NZ is that, although kiwis like rugby, South Africans are rugby mad. All stadiums would be full, all restaurants and all bars would be chocker with locals and tourists. In New Zealand, between games, the crowds disappear. During the RWC here, and the SWC people were everywhere, all the time.

No disrespect to NZ, I love the place and the people are the friendliest on earth, it’s just a bit sad in a way.

• 285.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-282: Your point is, it isn’t fair. And that not the ‘top teams’ but top tier get preferential treatment.

Life is tough.

• 286.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-283: 2:30pm is 3:30am in SA and 2:30am in the UK. Hardly great for TV ratings.

It’s all about the money.

• 287.chch: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-284:

No offence taken.

Every Sunday night where I live a party goes on in pubs to 3am after the Sunday games. They are all foreigners as the locals have work the next day. It is odd.

Rugby crowds in NZ are poor. I wish we had your ticket prices.

• 288.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Well the “haves” do have a responsibility to grow the game for the “have nots”. It’s not about self-interest all the time.

The game has a lot more potential with more competitive teams.

Pacific Islands
    Japan
    Russia
    USA
    Georgia
    Canada

The game needs growth and this means it needs the minnows to get better.

• 289.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Yeah, but it is what pays the bills.

• 290.chch: Reply to this comment

From a New Zealand point of view finances in rugby are tighter than ever. The NZRU are much to blame for that.

We could do with some cash from World Cups.

• 291.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-287: Flip the prices for the games I watched were $250!!! (250×6.5 for rands = R1625

My Sharks Season Ticket, with ALL Super Rugby, Semis and final, all Currie Cup, Semis and Final and a Trinations test and in the Western Lower Gold Zone is R1500.

The only thing I had to pay for was the Lions’ series, which was a disappointment and R1200!
    Normal tests, without Season Tickets are ±350 I think

• 292.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-290: Seems in NZ finances are tight all around.

Things are EXPENSIVE. I couldn’t believe it.

• 293.chch: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-291:

Super 15 games here are way too expensive for all but wealthy families to be able to attend. The whole culture of going to big games as a kid has become an elitist thing. Each generation has less people attending games.

I don’t think anything has recovered since GH took players out of the S14 for the previous WC.
    The NZRU are stupid.

• 294.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-285:
    No, my point is the governance of the game has not changed since 1950 or when ever it was that France were granted a vote.

For goodness sakes, SA used to limit decision making to the white section of the population only but have thankfully moved on.

Why cant the IRB do something similar!

• 295.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-293: What are ticket prices? And I went to the Cake Tin and had to walk half way around the stadium from my box (not catered) to get a beer. And then only 4 at a time. Not handy when the party was 6.

Incredibly inefficient and just plain stupid with that 4 beer rule. And all for only $12 each!!!! Madness

• 296.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-280:
    Same rubbish Scotland have been doing for years – garryowens to nowhere against teams with a more than capable fullback. Sprinkle in a dash of grubber kicks when they’re not on, kicking when you should be running, running when you should be kicking, and finish off with an unhealthy dollop of terrible decisions in the oppositions 22.
    Might have gotten away with it all as well if Nick De Luca was not the walking definition of “tits for hands”.

The game today was tight, but purely because both teams exposed all their weaknesses and neither converted pressure to tries until the final 5min.

• 297.chch: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-295:

I was normally paying about $50 for Crusaders tickets.

• 298.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

WTF $949 for a season ticket like mine, thats 6500 bucks!!!!!

http://www.wrfu.co.nz/membership/pricing

• 299.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-297: Makes no sense. Sharks game walk up tickets are R80 I think. All Unions pay the same fees to host a Super Team. Dollar is stronger.

NZRU is indeed pathetic then. That’s R350, same as a test match.

And I can but as many beers as I like, which are the handsome price of R12.
    And the weather is fantastic, (going to watch the Sharks now actually).
    No wonder there are no fans at Super games

• 300.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-296:
    What ever way you paint it, the English were deperate and facing defeat but that idiot kick was a god send for them.

Donald did something similar in Hong Kong and killed off a sure fire World Record winning streak by the AB’s

Coaches just don’t have the skills to train idiot out of the players.

• 301.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-296: Its also a big problem when a guy like Parks is the source of 80% + of our points in. The last 20 or so games, take him out and we have no chance!to have guys like the Lamonts and Max Evans and be utterly impotent in attack is just awful as well

• 302.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-299:
    I don’t know about pathetic, more desperate. What do you suggest?

SA get 48% of the SANZAR income and get to play all games when they like.

NZ gets around 30%, on the condition they schedule their games when it is comfortable for the offshore audience.

Aus get the dregs because they don’t have to prop up a domestic comp.

• 303.madvillain: Reply to this comment

The real wingers are making the difference in close games. Ashton and Habana.

• 304.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-302: If prices were less then more people would go, surely. Weather also plays a factor. It’s 25 and sunny in Durban in winter.

And the costs of a pint in NZ, would cause war here. :-)

I am leaving now for Sharks vs Western Province. Will be a smaller crowd, maybe 25000 at a push (more like 15 I think) but the restaurants will be full, the bbqs after in the carpark will rock (people come down after the game for the party sometimes rather than the match!)

It’s a whole different world. Here we watch Super Rugby from 8:30am on a Saturday all the way through going to a game in the afternoon and another later at night. It all works out because of time zones.

• 305.madvillain: Reply to this comment

Vincent Clerc has 10 WC rugby tries. He was a star platyer in the u21 rugby WC held in SA.

In my books he is the only winger i can select with Habana for the tightest games.

The two have been the best wingers over the last 7 years.

• 306.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-302:
    As far as I’m aware, everyone now gets an equal share from SANZAR. We’re still wondering, in SA, how SARU caved in to O’Neil on that one, because it came mainly from SAs share..

• 307.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-302: no, SA’s share of tv rights moneys INCLUDING it’s domestic competitions amounts to 48% get it right.

• 308.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-304:
    “the bbqs after in the carpark will rock (people come down after the game for the party sometimes rather than the match!)”

I hear you, but it is a bit hard to rouse up an after partry atmosphere when EVERY top game finishes after 10.00pm.

For the blame, I suspect it has something to do with the gouging you Saffa’s have done on the SANZA income front. :-)

• 309.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-307: And I have seen it, observed it with my own eyes, South Africans watch more rugby, devour it, live it more thane even the kiwis.

I didn’t realise how rugby mad we are until I went there.

• 310.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-308: Yes, times are stupid I agree, our latest finish would be 8:30 or thereabouts.

Profits are equal now I believe.

• 311.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-307:
    Isn’t that what I said?

SA gets 48%

• 312.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-311:
    SAs domestic TV income is not part of the SANZAR/Newscorp income. That’s divided 3 ways equally.

• 313.Brads: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-312:
    I wasn’t aware of that.

What are the numbers ? In terms of the overall income, is it 5% 10%, 20%

Must say I am surprised that there is an actual income stream from local TV.

How is that possible?

• 314.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-313:
    sorry, I meant how is it possible that a local TV broadcaster could operate in direct competition to the main sponsor..

• 315.David: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-312:
    The SANZAR/NewsCorp is divided equally 3 ways. Our domestic competitions TV rights were sold to Supersport, our pay TV station, which also bought the S15/3N broadcast rights from Newscorp..

• 316.David: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-315:
    Newscorp only holds the broadcast rights for the 3N and S15, which they paid to SANZAR. Local competitions don’t fall into the SANZAR basket. They’re owned by the individual country.

• 317.cab: Reply to this comment

scotland played like men possessed in 1st half, but then could almost not believe and tried to hold in 2nd, no way to play, the Boks do it too.

• 318.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-317: you think that those are instructions from the coaches or the players just get into a “just hold them off” mode on their own?

apparently the boks missed only 2 tackles in the 1st half but finished the game with a stat of 27 missed tackles…bizzare if u ask me

• 319.Brads: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-316:
    Sorry, you are confusing me.

I said 48% of the SANZAR income goes to SA.

Is this right or wrong.

• 320.Gunther: Reply to this comment

We chatted about this the other day.

Super 15 and 3 nations I s equal.

Domestic comps AND inbound tours packaged seperately.

Currie Cup alone is valued at 58 million US.

Compared to NZs domestic comps which was about 20 million US.

Added to that is the money from inbound tours and EOYT etc.

• 321.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-319:
    Wrong. It’s only 33%.

• 322.Brads: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-317:
    England were the men possessed for the 10 minutes of the second half.

Then they started their fibbly fumble routine and the Scots got back in the game. the 2nd half was a display of wannabe champions. Both teams were poor, the Scots were more than poor for a long while..

Jonny had a bad day at the office. Tough titties. His errors kept the Jocks in it and they should of held out, but for a brain explosion.

Sorry, I don’t know who it was, but one of the backs collected the ball and instead of clearing it downfield he did the up and under miracle .

The resulting play from that brain **** moved England from facing NZ in the first playoff, back to the easy road on the other side of the draw.

I was really up beat about playing England. Now we go back to Argentina. Tough guys, but they have something missing for me…. maybe hatred… nah that is too strong, but something close.

• 323.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-322: Talk about easy road to the semi! Tonga, Japan, France B, Canada, Argentina (shadow of the 07 team). Mmmmmm.

• 324.Brads: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-321:
    Sorry David we must still be talking cross purposes

The old agreement for all TV income was 38% for SA

SARU squeezed its partners in the 3N and Super 15 up to 48% in the latest deal.

This is television rights only!.

• 325.Brads: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-323:
    Agreed, too easy.

I was relishing the thought of our boys playing England next week.

Scots let me down!

• 326.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-325: England only slightly better than Arg, but they tend to lift their game in play-offs. Think England will beat France, but then again the French still has to play that ONE BIG game.

• 327.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

England over France by 5
    NZ over Arg by 20
    Ireland over Wales by 3
    SA over Aus by 4

• 328.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

England 21 – 16
    NZ 29 – 9
    Ireland 19 – 16
    SA 22 – 18

• 329.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-324:
    No, it was Australia that squeezed SARU for an extra 15%, I think it was. We were pretty pissed at that. In fact O’Neil managed to whinge a number of concessions out of the new SANZAR/NewsCorp deal.

• 330.Brads: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-326:
    I was looking at from a differenct persective.

Aside from Ireland. England are the only credible team on the other side of the draw.

Had they lost today and come second in their pool, they would be on our side of the ledger come playoffs.

That being the case the knockout would have involved the 4 previous winners who just happen to also be the 4 most likely winners this tournament.

Didn’t happen!

• 331.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-330: Very unbalanced the knock-out round.

• 332.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-330: Aussies faarked everything up

• 333.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-324:
    Here’s the complete breakdown and explanation from an Aussie paper.

• 334.David: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-333:
    Sorry!
    Under the last SANZAR agreement, the ARU received 29% ($US93M) of total revenue with NZ and SA getting 33% ($US107M) and 38 % ($123M) respectively. As part of the protracted negotiations surrounding the awarding of the new Super 15 franchise, all SANZAR Nations agreed to split revenue from the new deal equally as each country would have 5 teams.

The trade off for this concession to the ARU was that the new broadcast deal only included Super 15 games and Tri-nations tests with each Nation being able to negotiate its own deals for rights to their respective in-bound international test and domestic competitions. When these revenues are added to the bottom line, things look decidedly paltry for the ARU.

It has been estimated that with Currie Cup and in-bound tests, SA Rugby has been able to negotiate an extra $US58M, an increase in revenue of 46% on the old agreement. The NZRU, whose NPC is estimated to be worth $US20M, will increase revenue by 13%, even before in-bound test revenue is factored into this figure.

With no third-tier competition to hock, the ARU stands to only increase revenues by 7% or $US7M before in-bound test revenues are considered, not a great prospect given the poor TV ratings of this year’s tests.

What is clear from these estimates is the ARU has very little scope to earn significant revenue outside of what it receives from its share of the SANZAR deal. Although the ARU increased its earnings from sponsorships and gate receipts by almost $A9M from 2007 to 2008, this increase included the sugar hit provided by the first overseas Bledisloe.

• 335.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-334: if brad still doesn’t understand after this post, then he never will :-)

• 336.Tartan: Reply to this comment

England will be a different prospect in the play-offs sadly. They have that arrogance that creates belief in their abilities, no matter how limited.

• 337.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-335:

• 338.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Fcking ******* fckity fckn fkrs…..

• 339.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-338: Hamish I am so sorry. That s a tough loss, you had the game for 78 minutes. Oi vey. Hard. But your boys did very well.

Big Hit. Congratulations. A wins a win, and we know all about that.

Apologies to all of you, but Wales are the best of all the Northern Hemisphere teams.

NZ Vs Wales Final. 2 Kiwi coaches.

• 340.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-328: I hope you are right.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.