Tonga stun France
1 Oct 2011
Tonga picked up a shock 19-14 win over France, but it wasn’t enough for a quarter-final qualifying spot in Pool A.
Just like Samoa’s showing against the Springboks on Friday, Tonga delivered a brave performance in their final World Cup fixture in Wellington. However, they’d be kicking themselves for their disappointing upset defeat to Canada earlier the tournament as it proved costly at the end of their campaign.
Tonga had to achieve a bonus-point win with a deficit of more than seven points against France to advance to the second round. While they recorded a win, they couldn’t score four tries and a late Vincent Clerc try secured France a losing bonus point. Tonga had the opportunities to achieve their goal, but poor finishing and decision making in the French red zone – especially in the second half – saw them fall short.
This will see France go through to the quarter-finals – but you’ll have to question how far Marc Lievremont’s men will go. They’ve failed to impress against the stronger nations in Pool A while there have been talks of team infighting. The defeat to Tonga will intensify criticism.
Tonga performed well in the first stanza to hold a 13-6 lead at half-time. After flyhalf Kurt Morath and scrumhalf Dimitri Yachvili traded penalties, it was wing Sukanaivalu Hufanga’s try in the corner that was the telling score in the opening 40. But Tonga finished the first stanza with 14 men after Hufanaga was yellow carded in the 39th minute for a dangerous tackle.
France could only add one penalty with their one-man advantage in the second half. Once Tonga returned to 15 men, they regained the ascendancy and created numerous scoring opportunities – which mostly came through Morath’s boot.
France also picked up a sin binning when reserve flyhalf Fabrice Estebanez was punished for a tip tackle – which made Tonga’s task of sealing the win easier. Wing Clerc dotted down in the final movement of the match, but it wasn’t enough to stop one of the big upsets of this year’s World Cup.

190 Comments
1 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
Sacre bleu !
1 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
Ignore the mathematical morons in the commentary. The French only need 1 point to qualify for the quarters not 2.
If France are even on points with Canada then the win over Canada will put France in front.
Damn that is poor. Are these people really paid to do this.
1 Oct 2011, 07:29 am
Tonga really need to win or lose with 2 bonus points to get more IRB funding. Maybe they should have gone for a more open game.
1 Oct 2011, 07:31 am
Yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Tonga score
1 Oct 2011, 07:33 am
3 tries still required for Tonga to have a shot at the quarters.
1 Oct 2011, 07:35 am
Yellow card coming here.
1 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
Amazing no yellow.
Obvious double movement for French attempt … seen by everyone except Murray Mexted
1 Oct 2011, 07:41 am
Tonga given away 3 cynical penalties inside their 22 inside 15 minutes.
Walsh is missing a good game.
1 Oct 2011, 07:41 am
Moa I thought a bit lucky there as he appeared to get up and run on after the tackler let go.
Great game so far
1 Oct 2011, 07:45 am
Never went past 90 degrees. That is lame
1 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
Hold on. Did the linesman say ‘driven to the ground’ ?
This is like the South Africa game where the linesman said “Hit in the face”. The open hand punch clearly hit the guy in the headgear.
Linesmen on drugs are effecting decisions
1 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
Harsh.
1 Oct 2011, 07:50 am
Okay. So France have decided they want to do this the hard way.
1 Oct 2011, 07:50 am
We live in an age that is all about sensationalist bollocks. Our media continually make up stuff that is not true and it seems sport is not exempt either. These linesmen reports are craap
1 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
Nowadays if you lift a players legs above his head in a tackle you are asking for trouble.
1 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
@chch(chch)-11: Are you serious. Do you not see that as a tip tackle.(most likely think Brad Thorn’s wasn’t one either). Why should there be a different set of rules for the Islanders?
1 Oct 2011, 07:56 am
@chch(chch)-14: I do however agree with you that there are a lot of stupid rules at present. This is clearly a cace where the ref should be able to say “No it was not not dangerous”. But the rules do not allow for that .Thus everybody should be judged the same.
1 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-17: case=cace
1 Oct 2011, 07:59 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-16:
Yes I am serious. It (in the South Africa game) was still worth a card but why did the linesman need to lie about where the punch landed?
Did he really see what happened?
@optiplay(optiplay)-17:
Agree
1 Oct 2011, 07:59 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-17:
The problem is that it was dangerous.
The players neck hit the ground first.
Not ideal.
1 Oct 2011, 08:03 am
If they were just going for a quarter final spot they would kick for the corner here. Looks like they need to ensure the money before going for anything else.
1 Oct 2011, 08:08 am
@chch(chch)-19: I think more happened between Brussow and Williams than what we see. His ” punch” was sissystuff and that should have earned him a red card.(Or hanging on to Brussow’s crotch. just joking).Worse infringements have gone unpunished.
@Gunther(gunther)-20: I dont think it was dangerous(potentially dangerous).But against the rules.
1 Oct 2011, 08:10 am
@chch(chch)-14:
what? like you made up an ‘open hand hit tothe headgear’?..
1 Oct 2011, 08:14 am
Red Zone. That was two cynical Froggie infringements in one move. are we going to have warnings?
1 Oct 2011, 08:15 am
That sucked. Not much advantage after two infringements
1 Oct 2011, 08:15 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-22:
Potentially dangerous is dangerous.
That’s the whole point.
If you lift a player up and introduce him to the ground neck first you are asking for trouble.
Another poor tackle.
Late high no arms.
Saturday night special.
1 Oct 2011, 08:16 am
Tonga, like Fiji and Samoa, are dirty players. Bakkies can only wet dream about being as dirty as these Islanders. Ban them all
1 Oct 2011, 08:16 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-23:
I watched the replay many times.
What is your usual ‘user name’ on here?
1 Oct 2011, 08:18 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-27:
The English are the most dirty team so far.
1 Oct 2011, 08:20 am
@chch(chch)-29: We’re talking about foul play here. Not hygiene.
1 Oct 2011, 08:24 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-30:
In that case the french must be the fowlest.
1 Oct 2011, 08:28 am
When do the ABs play again?
Have they got a week’s rest?
Zut alors! The fromage-eating surrender minkeys are surrendering! Again! Mon dieu! Embarrassement grande!
@Gunther(gunther)-31: Strangely enough, not. The IRB bathed them all less than a week before the WC started. They’re one of the three or four cleanest teams now.
Exciting stuff.
The commentator is seriously exaggerating about the French being in big trouble after another try. Tonga still need 4 tries and a 8+ win.
1 Oct 2011, 08:29 am
Is this game fixed?
1 Oct 2011, 08:30 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-32:
Tomorrow
@Dawn(Dawn)-36: Was it broken?
Tackler your French is sommer kuk!
Send him off.
1 Oct 2011, 08:31 am
@chch(chch)-29: For tactical cheating I agree. They should be dropped from the RWC for that planned cheat. The Island teams unfortunately have disgraced themselves. This morning I see Samoa are calling Nigel Owens a racist!
Nice. They were lucky to get one red the filthy cheats.
1 Oct 2011, 08:32 am
@chch(chch)-28:
you see what you want see.
i love you bakkies.
@chch(chch)-29:
its hard to say between the samoans and the english but if we go on the total number of dirty play incidents then the samoans beat them hand down.
englands only manged a knees to the ribs/head incident and one ball switching through idiotic ignorance of the rules by their support staff. samoa have ii one game pretty much taken the cynical/dirty play to a whole new level.
1 Oct 2011, 08:32 am
Like the BOD tackle, haha
1 Oct 2011, 08:33 am
I don’t care what Nisbet and Smith say about the Islanders, they are filthy and they steal jobs from decent kiwis
1 Oct 2011, 08:33 am
The French are coached by an idiot. A constant problem with French rugby. Playing specialist players out of position…will never understand. France to eet frogs in France by tomorow night.
1 Oct 2011, 08:34 am
Lawes has tainted the whole English team!
1 Oct 2011, 08:35 am
Why oh why did Tonga lose to Canada
1 Oct 2011, 08:35 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-46: Indeed, but he hardly compares to ball swapping by management, TWICE. They should be going home and banned
1 Oct 2011, 08:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-34:
They are still fowl though.
Nobody can take that away from them.
Cluck cluck.
1 Oct 2011, 08:36 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-48: That’s story is only topped by the (Leicester?) fake blood capsule incident.
1 Oct 2011, 08:37 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-44:
hmmm, the thousands of unemployed Kiwi taxi drivers?
1 Oct 2011, 08:37 am
It seems NZ rugby world cups brings out the worst in the top teams. Sad.
1 Oct 2011, 08:39 am
omg what **** commentary. “if they make it through”, “have they given up on the three tries”
The ABs bogey team is turning out to be thoroughly useless.
I wake up, switch on RWC, get coffee, and the first thing I see in this match – France player copping a yellow for a “dangerous” tackle…. Its getting a bit obvious this softly-softly for PI teams.
The English commentators are in raptures – their team could be playing Canada in the QF.
1 Oct 2011, 08:40 am
How that that islander not go for the line?
1 Oct 2011, 08:41 am
Ai Steve you are cute but you are standing on the wrong side of all the action.
What a butchered try.
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-52:
You can’t blame New Zealand for South Africa’s performance yesterday
@>^..^< katman(katman)-50: ha ha I agree
Tonga blew it Should be another 15 points up
Tonga is losing this game against a French team that obviously want to go home.
1 Oct 2011, 08:42 am
Farksake… France are up the pole…
Should’ve been a try.
@Gunther(gunther)-49: But when they’re on form, their rugby is pure poultry.
Puck puck, puckeeeck.
1 Oct 2011, 08:43 am
@Gunther(gunther)-31:
@chch(chch)-43:
nice to see you mention that.
i was going to add that though i think the samoans are the dirtiest so far this does of course exclude the blacks because they’ve had no reason to be their usual dirty selves yet.
but come knockouts against us or oz and when their airy fairy game goes south against either of these teams then the blacks go to script and show just what they’ve got in terms of dirty play ability.
i’m sure you’ve seen plenty times in the 3n past…maybe even three times at a time.
1 Oct 2011, 08:43 am
@chch(chch)-51: I was home in NZ 2 weeks ago, besides the commentators I can’t say I heard too much love for the Islanders. Come to NZ, have loads of kids, have issues, go on the doll, cry like babies when things go wrong.
*typical comes to mind
1 Oct 2011, 08:46 am
Ag please man it’s too early for stereotyping.
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65:
I just repeated what Murray Mexted said. I don’t think any Irishman would agree that they were the same.
Not sure what sort of tangent you are trying to take that on. You must have different commentary.
How were those last 2 scrums not a penalty
Does this still make the All Blacks’ win against France impressive?
They beat a team that were given a go by Japan and now lose to
Tonga. Are the All Blacks really that good?
1 Oct 2011, 08:48 am
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-70: Exactly. Pool A. The Pool of Fluff.
France have to kick the goal. 1 point is all they need. Anything else is silly
Damn, gave this game a miss to go shopping as I thought it was a gimee for France. What a mistake! :
1 Oct 2011, 08:49 am
France have lost the plot…
1 Oct 2011, 08:49 am
Le Kak Sportif.
1 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
But score anyway… So they go through.
1 Oct 2011, 08:52 am
Didn’t Italy beat France in the 6 nations too?
1 Oct 2011, 08:52 am
Revolution in the air… Player revolt coming… Looks like Lievremont will be kicked out by player committee.
1 Oct 2011, 08:53 am
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-70:
You can only beat who is on front of you and it wasn’t like we struggled like SA vs Wales and SA vs Samoa
1 Oct 2011, 08:53 am
Commentators are in ecstasy
1 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
@David(David)-73:
yeah cant believe i missed this too, great stuff from tonga.
1 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
Tonga – you’ve got to love them ! they wanted the scrum 5 meters from their own try line that’s what you call backing yourself.
if Samoa had played as disciplined as Tonga did they to may have caused an upset
1 Oct 2011, 08:55 am
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-70:
no, the all blacks are good.
france is dis-spirited because they’ve got a complete moronic idiot for a coach who is arrogant, insulting and belittling to his players to boot.
1 Oct 2011, 08:55 am
Lievremont is the fashionista of rugby coaches.
Should go for GQ cover shoot.
1 Oct 2011, 08:56 am
the tongan captain is skeel gebliksem LMAO!!! match fixing at its best
@chch(chch)-79: yes thats true. But for people to say that the All Blacks are hot favourites due to beating a below average French team is a little of the mark.
Heavensgame.
That could never happen in SA. Our coaches wouldn’t have the balls to revolt against the player committee…
It seems now that the AB win over France is very overrated.
1 Oct 2011, 08:57 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-87: Hehehe
Fake troll alert
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-86:
Who are these ‘people’ ?
1 Oct 2011, 08:58 am
The Cannibals will celebrate hard 2night! a few RWC tourists will go missing again
1 Oct 2011, 09:01 am
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-70: Yes, they’re ranked #1 in the worlf. They’re good. Very good.
d
@>^..^< katman(katman)-64:
Its sad really that their wings are useless.
Stuffs things up really.
Looks like Frans Steyn is flying home – injured shoulder according to rugby365
1 Oct 2011, 09:02 am
What’s happened to World Rugby?
In the traditional rugby order, SA, NZ and France should pretty much be at the top of the pecking order, but these days these pesky newcomer Aussies, the limited English and now even the small fry Islanders all give us a go.
How I long for the amateur era when you could clearly seperate the men from the boys.
1 Oct 2011, 09:03 am
i do find it disgusting that the french allow complete arsses to go to and complete wc’s with teams even though its painfully obvious that there’s major problems going on in the team. problems big enough to cause serius dissension.
its a bit like the 2010 footballl wc all over again for them.
so very french…so very stupid…
1 Oct 2011, 09:03 am
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-86:
ABs will always be favorites and rightfully so – but as history has taught us being favorite means squat at the world cup
remember they said springboks were digging their own grave by not playing quality sides at full strength in the 3N and would be under cooked at the world cup. The ABs are in the exact same boat it seems
1 Oct 2011, 09:05 am
arsses for coaches of course.
1 Oct 2011, 09:06 am
Is Carter out of the World Cup?
Key New Zealand playmaker Dan Carter will miss Sunday’s Pool A finale against Canada, with talk around NZ is that he could also miss the rest of the 2011 World Cup with this inj
That is NZ done!!!! also SA done without F Steyn!
1 Oct 2011, 09:06 am
This puts the All Black win into perspective.
France played exactly how the Boks played. Stop. Kicking. The. F-ucking. Possession. Away.
1 Oct 2011, 09:08 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-98:and Tac thought SA has monopoly on problems in their setup. at least pdv still has a functional relationship with his team.
1 Oct 2011, 09:08 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-84:
you find this guy attractive?
jeezuz! there’s something about his face that makes me want to hit him…really hard…he’s a real doos- by the looks of it. he’s got a look in his face that reminds me a bit of mallet.
don’t you need popular appeal besides good looks to make it into gq?
1 Oct 2011, 09:10 am
the french are just a crazy bunch…even their football team came to SWC last year and were plagued by internal problems and ended up losin to bafana bafana.
1 Oct 2011, 09:11 am
@poppa69(p0ppa69)-101: Fitzy says ABs are just resting him with this injury and nt taking any chances
Still speculating?
But yes you are right, Dan out, ABs out
Frans Steyn out, SA out? well maybe, my head says we have big problems, but we live in hope
1 Oct 2011, 09:11 am
Nice islanders?
Centre Eliota Sapolu Fuimaono took to the micro-messaging site with an angry tirade against Welsh referee Nigel Owens and the International Rugby Board after a spiteful Samoa lost 5-13 to South Africa, which ended their quarterfinal hopes.
Owens’ Facebook page was also defaced by irate and offensive messages among more than 300 comments posted by members of the public after the game.
Sapolu Fuimaono, who mentioned that he was drinking at the time of the post and appeared to announce his international retirement, claimed Samoa was the victim of a conspiracy and directed fire at Owens after several other contributors criticised the referee.
“I can understand the hate!! Haha good luck u racist biased prick,” tweeted the 30-year-old Sapolu Fuimaono, who plays for English club Gloucester.
“Get s.a into next round. The plan was obvious. Can’t wait 2 meet irb members in public,” he added.
1 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-103:
tac, of course will say that its in spite of sa’s problems that the boks do well.
i’d like to see him ‘square’ an explantion on the french’s relative problems into a round hole…but of course, knowing him he probably will.
1 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
I don’t find him attractive I am saying he doesn’t look like a rugby coach. He looks like a model.
1 Oct 2011, 09:14 am
Well played Tonga, smashed those cheese eating surrender *******.
1 Oct 2011, 09:15 am
Why is m0nkeys not allowed?
1 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107:
Calling the ref a racist prick?
That will be a lengthly ban.
And a fine I should imagine.
Silly boy.
1 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
oh god please KEO! i really cant take butch looking at me like this anymore. its unnerving. couldnt you move him down to the bottom of the page or at least make the pic a little smaller. i will never buy this book and i will tell everyone i know not to either…you’ve ruined it man.
MESSAGE TO KEO!
1 Oct 2011, 09:24 am
@Gunther(gunther)-112: He’s been studying at the ET School of Political Enlightenment, it seems.
The first year deals solely with the use of the word racist as an adjective.
Racist whites, racist referees, racist dogs, racist microwaves, racist babies.
@corms(corms)-111:
they should rather filter out the words french or frenchy or froggies or frogs…its a lot more insulting sounding.
@springbokrugby(springbokrugby)-86: Believe me .The AB s ARE the best team in the competition.The way we are playing ,we are no threat ,but rather a treat to them.Spies,Msteyn,FdP.We need a miracle
1 Oct 2011, 09:25 am
Braveheart stuff, walking down that tunnel. Go Jocks.
1 Oct 2011, 09:27 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-114: you forgot “neo-racists”
@>^..^< katman(katman)-114: LOL
@Dawn(Dawn)-109:
ja, a lot of male models do look like dooses.
1 Oct 2011, 09:28 am
Please be upstanding for “God We are Queens”.
1 Oct 2011, 09:28 am
here’s the bbc pic of carter’s groin injury:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/15135350.stm
1 Oct 2011, 09:30 am
@Gunther(gunther)-112: The Samoans are outdoing themselves. These Cowboys are crying badly.
1 Oct 2011, 09:31 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-118: That’s years two through four.
1 Oct 2011, 09:31 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-116: Morne Steyn, 8/10 and ne of the highest tackle counts, and good general play
What do actually want from him?
1 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-122: Nice. dawn just bust her keyboard trying to get to that link.
@Transformation(Transformation)-118:
what is a neo-racist anyway?
is that a word?
i’ll google it.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-114:
I’ve heard of it I think.
Its an 18 year correspondence degree run out the Philly Campus.
Comes with free interweb and skypegooglebox.
First ten students to enrol win a free lab jacket with beautifully accessorised set of ballpoint pens.
Plus the annual Nude SACOS charity calender.
1 Oct 2011, 09:34 am
@Gunther(gunther)-128: “Nude SACOS charity calender.” Sheezus!
1 Oct 2011, 09:35 am
steady dawn…
1 Oct 2011, 09:35 am
@Gunther(gunther)-128: And a slightly used youtube.
1 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
@Gunther(gunther)-128: ET loves that calendar, hehehe
1 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
i dont think its a word.
it looks made up from what i gather on the google.
1 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
@JL1(JL1)-125: . He slips important tackles.Do you honestly feel he read the game well against Samoa.?Did not have the best service from FdP but he should vary his game a bit more .He has done it in the past, so why not now.Maybe I am bias .Prefer Butch.
1 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
ok i’m going to concentrate on the game.
later all…
1 Oct 2011, 09:40 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-134: Slipped 2 tackles
….and most important, no yellow card or penalties against him
80% strike rate at posts
Butch is a too late gamble with more questions around him and his form
1 Oct 2011, 09:43 am
Scots are all over this game. Playing well
1 Oct 2011, 09:46 am
Tonga took a leaf out fo the Samoa rugby book the only difference is that the French could stand up to the physicality and the Boks played well against it,
Can’t wait for the quarter finals bring it on Bokkkke!
1 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-129:
well not entirely nude.
they all have a (very) small cuban flag over their watchamacallits.
1 Oct 2011, 09:53 am
@Gunther(gunther)-139: watchamacallits are Fidel’s beard?
1 Oct 2011, 09:57 am
@Gunther(gunther)-139: You mean their Sacocs?
1 Oct 2011, 09:58 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-140:
dead meerkats.
1 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107:
lol @ “Get s.a into next round. The plan was obvious. Can’t wait 2 meet irb members in public,”
like samoa really had a chance of getting through to the next round. These guys really aren’t helping Samoan rugby by their actions on and off the field
1 Oct 2011, 10:46 am
@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-133: I guess it’s someone who would really really like to be racist, but just doesn’t have the natural aptitude. Or anyone non-white, who can do racist things but can’t possibly be called a racist because that’s something only pale-skinned people can be guilty of.
1 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
Right to all the All Black supporters complaining that we didnt take the All Black win over France seriously – what more can I say – they have now been beaten by Italy and Tonga in the same year. Nuff said. You guys beat a seriously under par team. Not trying to be nasty – just highlighting what I said last week.
1 Oct 2011, 11:10 am
Jeez Joubert is quick to blow the penalties…
1 Oct 2011, 11:11 am
O fok Scotland deserved better.
1 Oct 2011, 11:13 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145: lol, our kiwi guests take THEMSELVES too seriously.
1 Oct 2011, 11:15 am
wrong thread.
1 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
Funny how the Samoan simpletons thought the ref was against them when he clearly ignored all of their off the ball dogshit.
Let us hope that a tsunami doesn’t wipe these beautiful people off the face of the earth. They are such nice people and so humble in defeat.
1 Oct 2011, 12:01 pm
given that france were humbled by tonga does this mean the all blacks victory is cheapened/not as impressive?? the choke to end all chokes is still very much on!!!
1 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145:
I don’t remember caring what you thought.
But as it happens I thought the AB’s game v the French was classy. Still do.
The team that went out today v the Tongans was woeful. But at the same time Tonga showed today their rally in the second half of the opening match v NZ was underrated..
1 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
Hopefully, Lievremont is set to lose his job in less than a month. The guy is a strange alchemist : manages to turn gold into shite
1 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
@ulsterrugger(ulsterrugger)-151:
Yes you are correct. Nowhere near as impressive.Much like 2007 where SA did not play any decent teams to win the RWC.
Based on your impressive soothsaying I recooment you sell your house and put the money on a bet that excludes NZ being a winner.
Time is running short though. Best get in while the odds are stacked in your corner.
1 Oct 2011, 12:33 pm
@Brads(Brads)-154:
we beat the teams that beat the teams that beat your boys.
That’s knockout rugby.
And you sucked at it.
No dry your eyes.
1 Oct 2011, 12:42 pm
@Brads(Brads)-154: Means you guys were atrocious to be beaten by bad teams, meaning by your logic there were no decent teams for SA to face in ’07
1 Oct 2011, 12:52 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-155: @Michael(mikeybrass)-156:
You miss my irony. deal with it
1 Oct 2011, 13:00 pm
@Brads(Brads)-157:
you irony is impressive.
but it seems as if you are comparing apples with um er artichokes.
we’ll help you as much as you can.
but you have to want to help yourself.
1 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
Oh no doubt this puts the France All Choke game into perspective. Why is the coach experimenting with scrumhalves playing flyhalf in a world cup game? Moron. France are not a happy side.
And haaa at the Dan Carter injury. Collin Slade, ewww.
1 Oct 2011, 13:52 pm
This is surely the end for lievremont in what has been years and years of mediocrity. Ive said it before and il say it again this is the poorest standard of teams accross the board i have seen in a long while. No team has been outstanding – none! And who has been the star of the tournament again nobody.
The overall standard was poor in 2003 as well but this is a close second.
1 Oct 2011, 14:10 pm
160 – dquinn25 – people like you destroy the spirit of the game of rugby with your endless depracations and comfortable armchair critisim – Sean Fitzpatrick is highly impressed with the Boks and so are several other former internationals – Fiji captain said (pre-Frans Steyn) injury Boks were the team of the tournament and better than they were in 2007 – agreement from former international forwards Dalagglio and Livremont – Ireland/Wales/NZ all very formdidable – Pacific Islanders coming along and playing their hearts out …
These people all don’t know what they’re talking about and don’t live up to your high fantasy standards – I suppose in your book Frans Steyn is an ordinary place kicker, Schalk an ordinary tackler and Sonny Boy Williams has ordinary offloads, etc. etc. etc.
Get a life …
1 Oct 2011, 14:13 pm
@dquinn25(dquinn25)-160:
Agree. The coaches have been brain dead. Martin Johnson leaves Wilkinson on in a tight game, even though he is missing every single kick he attempts and only brings Flood on because of Tindall’s injury in the last 10. Henry has been playing players out of position all tournament, Deans forgets he had a bench against Ireland, Lievremont playing a scrumhalf at flyhalf.
This has no doubt been the most miserable World Cup in memory. When both sides come out it is supposed to be epic, but no. Instead we have some half naked maori blowing on a piece of wood trying to look exotic. After the Anthems and seconds away from kick off when the blood is pumping, we are greeted with ‘I got a feeling, that tonights gonna be a good night, that tonights gonna be a good good night…” Way to ruin a great atmosphere.
1 Oct 2011, 14:16 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-162:
Way to ruin the world cup atmosphere *
1 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-161: If you think these Boks are superior to the ones of 2007 then it is you who has no clue! Where did i mention any of those players in my post? Nowhere numb nuts! Im simply stating that in comparison to previous world cups. It is you that needs to ‘get a life’ and stop reading so much into posts so much that you start making up parts in your own head to justify your pathetic response!
1 Oct 2011, 14:35 pm
@Brads(Brads)-152: by the same line of thought then – who gives a toss what you think.
1 Oct 2011, 15:00 pm
Well, that puts NZ performance in perspective. Canada beats Tonga, draws with Japan. Tonga beats France. Mmmm.
1 Oct 2011, 15:14 pm
164 – dquinn25 – fine you idiot – you know more than the Fiji captain who played against both Bok teams – then and now – you know everything; have another beer
1 Oct 2011, 15:49 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-165:
You do. simply by responding.
Without a jot of argument to add value to your repost I have to point out.
1 Oct 2011, 15:50 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-167: The Fiji team is a lot weaker than 4 years ago d@ck head! Hes hardly going to say oh ‘yeah this years Boks are very ordinary in comparison to 4 years ago’ its called sportsmanship hes just bigging them up doenst actually mean he believes what hes saying. Its like someone saying ‘this NZ team is the best in history’ when it clearly isnt – read between the lines you moron
1 Oct 2011, 15:52 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-166:
So if NZ thrash Canada tomorrow, where does your Mmmm shift to?
1 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
How boring is this thread then eh? Who cares people. new Zeland are going to crash out in the semis anyway. Without Carter theyre stuffed. Richie carrying an injury, and Read on thin ice.
1 Oct 2011, 16:17 pm
@Brads(Brads)-170: Depends by how much. If by 40, mmm, if by 60 mmmmmm, if by 100, mmmmmmmmmmmmm.
A nothing game for both teams.
1 Oct 2011, 16:21 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-172: yeah my issue with this WC thing is there are wayyyyy too many mmmm games. No consequence ridiculous mismatches. Really should only be 3 max 4 teams per pool. or fewer pools so we have 3 pools of 4 teams.
Whole thing is drawn out ridiculously and the pool stages are a bit of a formality. Good the minnows get to play some big games but apart from that a bit nonsensical.
1 Oct 2011, 16:33 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-173: Agree. Have a WC for the top 10 teams, and let teams 11-20 compete for the other 2 places. Sort of a mini WC a year before the WC. Then have 2 groups of 6 teams. Each play each other, top 2 from each go through to semi.
1 Oct 2011, 17:08 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-171: only one one side playing to form the ABs,carter out,isn’t going to stop them winning the WC,on form who’s going to beat them?
1 Oct 2011, 17:16 pm
169.dquinn25
OK God – you know more than the guy who played both teams; whatever you say …
1 Oct 2011, 17:26 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-176: Tw@t!
1 Oct 2011, 18:32 pm
177.dquinn25
Brain surgeon …
1 Oct 2011, 19:09 pm
Graham Henry has taken enough cues from PdVs book. Carter and McCaw get rests after each game all in the name of injury.
1 Oct 2011, 19:31 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-178: Lol yeah id advise for yourself d@ck head a full labotomy!
1 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
@dermie(dermie)-175: Springboks doffie
1 Oct 2011, 21:58 pm
180.dquinn25
You can’t even spell you dumg fu$k and, even worse, you’re not original – so f&ck off and stop wasting my time
1 Oct 2011, 22:09 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145: Not “beat” them. Thrashed them. By 20.
1 Oct 2011, 23:07 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-183: yes bud like we did just over a year ago to much the same strength team – 12 June 2010 Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa 42 – 17 by 25 points. Highlighting my point – theyre useless – Australia gave them a real thrashing end of last year. Theyre just useless under Lievremont. Kiwis got upset with me cos I was pissed at France for playing such a lame game and said that the Kiwis shouldnt read too much into that result. I stand by that viewpoint. New Zealand still have not been tested by a decent team this cup. Doubt if next weeks QF will be any different. Argies are playing some dodgy rugby this year.
1 Oct 2011, 23:19 pm
Thats it – Dan Carter ruled out of rest of Rugby World Cup – massive blow for New Zealand. Slade is not going to cut the mustard. If they continue with injuries to Read and Richie theyre in big poop. We may have lost Frans but in comparison to Oz and Nz were looking pretty flush.
2 Oct 2011, 00:34 am
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-182: Lol what your precious time wanking over *** porn! Your a f@cking w@nker go and die slow!
2 Oct 2011, 11:45 am
186.dquinn25
Now it’s become hate mail you stupid psycho – what has porn got to do with rugby unless in your shallow no-purpose world; you probably spend your whole day in front of the computer – once again, get a life ****.
2 Oct 2011, 13:00 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-187: Well you did start it all f@uck nuts! Bit off more than you can chew!
2 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
188.dquinn25
All right call a truce … the truth is I was fully freaked out by the injury to Frans Steyn and ready to have a go with anyone who wanted … so I caused the fight with you in the first place and threw the first punch – and from then on acted like a brat
I actually quite enjoyed our spate which I think was a draw – that said, apologies are due … go well; enjoy the rest of the competition
2 Oct 2011, 23:01 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-189: Ifeel your pain! steyn is a huge loss, he adds security with his kicks from hand and is always a threat to opposition if they give away penalties from 55-60 metres. Morne Steyn is also capable of booting long kicks though so there is that hope. Lets hope Jean DV regains some form as he has been disappointing these last few seasons but is a very capable player in fact at one time he would have ben regarded as the best centre along with Fourie in the world. Heres hoping the Boks take Australia which they should be capable of. I really feel NZ have lost around 50% of their threat with Carters loss and are there for the taking, if i was a New Zealander i would feel sick as this WC could have been there for the taking but without Carter im sure they will crumble at some stage. I do feel that this world cup has been lower in standards to past competitions, the state of some of the pacific nations was terrible at this cup as were the likes of Scotland and Namibia,Argentina aint playing too great either but they lost a few greats to retirement at the last world cup and have slowly declined.
Yes i apologise too for my stupid comments, enjoy the tournament heres hoping the Boks take it they have the players heres hoping they find the form. Il likely see you on another board some time. Take care
Dave