Tonga stun France

Tonga picked up a shock 19-14 win over France, but it wasn’t enough for a quarter-final qualifying spot in Pool A.

Just like Samoa’s showing against the Springboks on Friday, Tonga delivered a brave performance in their final World Cup fixture in Wellington. However, they’d be kicking themselves for their disappointing upset defeat to Canada earlier the tournament as it proved costly at the end of their campaign.

Tonga had to achieve a bonus-point win with a deficit of more than seven points against France to advance to the second round. While they recorded a win, they couldn’t score four tries and a late Vincent Clerc try secured France a losing bonus point. Tonga had the opportunities to achieve their goal, but poor finishing and decision making in the French red zone – especially in the second half – saw them fall short.

This will see France go through to the quarter-finals – but you’ll have to question how far Marc Lievremont’s men will go. They’ve failed to impress against the stronger nations in Pool A while there have been talks of team infighting. The defeat to Tonga will intensify criticism.

Tonga performed well in the first stanza to hold a 13-6 lead at half-time. After flyhalf Kurt Morath and scrumhalf Dimitri Yachvili traded penalties, it was wing Sukanaivalu Hufanga’s try in the corner that was the telling score in the opening 40. But Tonga finished the first stanza with 14 men after Hufanaga was yellow carded in the 39th minute for a dangerous tackle.

France could only add one penalty with their one-man advantage in the second half. Once Tonga returned to 15 men, they regained the ascendancy and created numerous scoring opportunities – which mostly came through Morath’s boot.

France also picked up a sin binning when reserve flyhalf Fabrice Estebanez was punished for a tip tackle – which made Tonga’s task of sealing the win easier. Wing Clerc dotted down in the final movement of the match, but it wasn’t enough to stop one of the big upsets of this year’s World Cup.

190 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Sacre bleu !

• 2.chch: Reply to this comment

Ignore the mathematical morons in the commentary. The French only need 1 point to qualify for the quarters not 2.

If France are even on points with Canada then the win over Canada will put France in front.

Damn that is poor. Are these people really paid to do this.

• 3.chch: Reply to this comment

Tonga really need to win or lose with 2 bonus points to get more IRB funding. Maybe they should have gone for a more open game.

• 4.chch: Reply to this comment

Yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Tonga score

• 5.chch: Reply to this comment

3 tries still required for Tonga to have a shot at the quarters.

• 6.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Yellow card coming here.

• 7.chch: Reply to this comment

Amazing no yellow.

Obvious double movement for French attempt … seen by everyone except Murray Mexted

• 8.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Tonga given away 3 cynical penalties inside their 22 inside 15 minutes.

Walsh is missing a good game.

• 9.chch: Reply to this comment

Moa I thought a bit lucky there as he appeared to get up and run on after the tackler let go.

Great game so far

• 10.chch: Reply to this comment

Never went past 90 degrees. That is lame

• 11.chch: Reply to this comment

Hold on. Did the linesman say ‘driven to the ground’ ?

This is like the South Africa game where the linesman said “Hit in the face”. The open hand punch clearly hit the guy in the headgear.

Linesmen on drugs are effecting decisions

• 12.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Harsh.

• 13.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Okay. So France have decided they want to do this the hard way.

• 14.chch: Reply to this comment

We live in an age that is all about sensationalist bollocks. Our media continually make up stuff that is not true and it seems sport is not exempt either. These linesmen reports are craap

• 15.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Nowadays if you lift a players legs above his head in a tackle you are asking for trouble.

• 16.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-11: Are you serious. Do you not see that as a tip tackle.(most likely think Brad Thorn’s wasn’t one either). Why should there be a different set of rules for the Islanders?

• 17.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-14: I do however agree with you that there are a lot of stupid rules at present. This is clearly a cace where the ref should be able to say “No it was not not dangerous”. But the rules do not allow for that .Thus everybody should be judged the same.

• 18.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-17: case=cace

• 19.chch: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-16:

Yes I am serious. It (in the South Africa game) was still worth a card but why did the linesman need to lie about where the punch landed?
    Did he really see what happened?

@optiplay(optiplay)-17:
    Agree

• 20.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-17:

The problem is that it was dangerous.

The players neck hit the ground first.

Not ideal.

• 21.chch: Reply to this comment

If they were just going for a quarter final spot they would kick for the corner here. Looks like they need to ensure the money before going for anything else.

• 22.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-19: I think more happened between Brussow and Williams than what we see. His ” punch” was sissystuff and that should have earned him a red card.(Or hanging on to Brussow’s crotch. just joking).Worse infringements have gone unpunished.

@Gunther(gunther)-20: I dont think it was dangerous(potentially dangerous).But against the rules.

• 23.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-14:
    what? like you made up an ‘open hand hit tothe headgear’?..

• 24.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Red Zone. That was two cynical Froggie infringements in one move. are we going to have warnings?

• 25.chch: Reply to this comment

That sucked. Not much advantage after two infringements

• 26.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-22:

Potentially dangerous is dangerous.

That’s the whole point.

If you lift a player up and introduce him to the ground neck first you are asking for trouble.

Another poor tackle.

Late high no arms.

Saturday night special.

• 27.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Tonga, like Fiji and Samoa, are dirty players. Bakkies can only wet dream about being as dirty as these Islanders. Ban them all

• 28.chch: Reply to this comment

@reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-23:
    I watched the replay many times.

What is your usual ‘user name’ on here?

• 29.chch: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-27:

The English are the most dirty team so far.

• 30.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-29: We’re talking about foul play here. Not hygiene.

• 31.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-30:

In that case the french must be the fowlest.

• 32.Dawn: Reply to this comment

When do the ABs play again?

Have they got a week’s rest?

• 33.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Zut alors! The fromage-eating surrender minkeys are surrendering! Again! Mon dieu! Embarrassement grande!

• 34.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-31: Strangely enough, not. The IRB bathed them all less than a week before the WC started. They’re one of the three or four cleanest teams now.

• 35.chch: Reply to this comment

Exciting stuff.

The commentator is seriously exaggerating about the French being in big trouble after another try. Tonga still need 4 tries and a 8+ win.

• 36.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is this game fixed?

• 37.chch: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-32:
    Tomorrow

• 38.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-36: Was it broken?

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tackler your French is sommer kuk!

• 40.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Send him off.

• 41.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-29: For tactical cheating I agree. They should be dropped from the RWC for that planned cheat. The Island teams unfortunately have disgraced themselves. This morning I see Samoa are calling Nigel Owens a racist!

Nice. They were lucky to get one red the filthy cheats.

• 42.reechie maak so lank die pan warm, bakkies bring die wors...: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-28:
    you see what you want see.

i love you bakkies.

@chch(chch)-29:
    its hard to say between the samoans and the english but if we go on the total number of dirty play incidents then the samoans beat them hand down.
    englands only manged a knees to the ribs/head incident and one ball switching through idiotic ignorance of the rules by their support staff. samoa have ii one game pretty much taken the cynical/dirty play to a whole new level.

• 43.chch: Reply to this comment

Like the BOD tackle, haha :)

• 44.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I don’t care what Nisbet and Smith say about the Islanders, they are filthy and they steal jobs from decent kiwis

• 45.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

The French are coached by an idiot. A constant problem with French rugby. Playing specialist players out of position…will never understand. France to eet frogs in France by tomorow night.

• 46.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lawes has tainted the whole English team!

• 47.chch: Reply to this comment

Why oh why did Tonga lose to Canada

• 48.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-46: Indeed, but he hardly compares to ball swapping by management, TWICE. They should be going home and banned

• 49.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-34:

They are still fowl though.

Nobody can take that away from them.

Cluck cluck.

• 50.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-48: That’s story is only topped by the (Leicester?) fake blood capsule incident.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.