Bring on the Aussies, enthuses De Villiers
2 Oct 2011
The Springboks will play Australia in the World Cup quarter-finals – and Peter de Villiers reckons it will be easier and more familiar than playing the Samoans.
It is the clash of the last eight with the Tri Nations champions against the defending World Champions.
Ireland, in emphatically beating Italy 36-6 in Dunedin, ensured a quarter-final against Wales in Wellington next Saturday with the Boks to play the Wallabies a day later in New Zealand’s capital.
Hosts the All Blacks will play Argentina in the late Sunday kick-off at Eden Park in Auckland and England clashes with France on Saturday at Eden Park.
The winner of the Boks match will play the All Blacks with the other semi-final an all Northern Hemisphere affair.
(Bok coach) De Villiers told the South African media website SuperSport he welcomed playing the Australians, added the Boks would have the advantage at scrum time and that he felt it would be easier playing the Aussies than it was against the unfamiliar Samoans.
De Villiers said he expected the Australians to try and match Samoans for physicality and didn’t believe either Australia or New Zealand could do that to the Boks. He also backed the improved Bok defence to counter Australia’s attacking threat.
Australia has won five of the last six Tests between the two countries, with two of the wins in South Africa. The Wallabies have also scored four-tries or more in four of the six matches.
De Villiers was unconcerned by this statistic and said that while the Aussies could also believe it to be easier because of the familiarity he felt the Boks were playing outstanding rugby at the World Cup and peaking at the right time.
The New Zealand media generally have backed the Boks to beat the Wallabies, but among former Australian players and within the media the feeling is the Australians will be too smart for the Boks and that David Pocock’s return will neutralise the Boks, as he has done successfully on most occasions in the last two seasons.
Former Australian World Cup-winning captain Nick Farr-Jones, in the Herald on Sunday, wrote the Boks looked like a champion at the end of the road and that the last 30 minutes showed the vulnerability of an aged giant. He commended the Boks’ fighting qualities and scrambling defence, but said too many key players were no longer the players who stood tallest in Paris in 2007.
Former All Blacks World Cup-winning prop Richard Loe, in the same paper, disagreed, saying the Boks would have too much muscle for the Tri Nations champions.
Quarter-finals (NZ kick-off times – 11 hours ahead of SA)
QF1: Ireland v Wales at Welllington Regional Stadium on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 6pm.
QF2: England v France at Eden Park on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 8.30pm.
QF3: South Africa v Australia at Wellington Regional Stadium on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 6pm.
QF4: New Zealand v Argentina at Eden Park on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 8.30pm.

511 Comments
2 Oct 2011, 11:19 am
wallabie killer dragons
2 Oct 2011, 11:20 am
Gonna be epic! Cant wait.
2 Oct 2011, 11:21 am
The winner of the Boks match will play the All Blacks????
Hey!
They still need to rock and actually beat the Argies you know!
2 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
The Boks have some unfinished busines to attend to.
2 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
Waltzing Mathilda get ready to rummmmmmmbbllllle!
2 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
If the Bokke depart next week does that mean they’ll be the 8th best team in the world like the Ab’s were in 07′?
2 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
JdV instead of Steyn, Roussouw, Spies and Smit may be the Boks downfall.
2 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-6: dont be daft
Then all quarter final losers still need to play each other
2 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
If Botha can’t make it then I’d definitely start Alberts at lock. He is the closest thing. Roussouw always gets the ball ripped/knocks on – especially against convicts.
However that leaves Spies still in the starting 15 doing fokall.
2 Oct 2011, 11:30 am
@JL1(JL1)-8:
don’t be daft? that was the consensus around here last time, like choking that also only applies to the Ab’s then, if the Bokke go out next week I’ll laugh my ti ts off
2 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:
Maybe you should get back to cuddling your Asian husband, okay? Let the big boys talk.
2 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10: The victim mentality does not suit you at all
“Ag shame” is that what you want to hear
GO BOKKE
2 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-11:
Shouldn’t you be at a klan meeting, it’ll be a quiet one this week though after the Polynesians slapped your boys around, Heinrich’s my choice for this years Oscar.
2 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10:
How is it a choke to lose to a team that has beaten you in 5 out of 6 outings?
We are all laughing our tits off at you.
Again.
2 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
@JL1(JL1)-12:
double standards mate on the back of the Somoan performance your boys are heading for an early exit unless you find a backline somewhere in the next 7 days
2 Oct 2011, 11:38 am
It is a good thing we are playing the Aussies and not Ireland. I think Ireland far and away has the best forward pack in the competition as well as a competant backline and a pretty reliable goal kicker.
2 Oct 2011, 11:40 am
“The winner of the Boks match will play the All Blacks”
Keo.
It is not yet written Keo.
Are you trying to curse my Team?
2 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
Argentina have never beaten NZ as far as I know… easy NZ win coming up.
2 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
@Gunther(gunther)-14</a
i'm just going by what all the punters here are saying " we'll take care of Australia no problem" get Tranny to archive I'll think you'll find thats the case, good luck for next week though plenty of wind down there so Steyn will look good for at least 40 minutes with his up and unders
2 Oct 2011, 11:43 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-15:
I’d spend more time worrying about the All Blacks defense if I were you.
Conceded 2 tries and plenty of go-forward against Canada.
We conceded 2 tries in all 4 pool games.
@cane(cane)-17:
Let’s be honest. Argentina aren’t France. This one really is impossible. The All Blacks have got the easy pool game. See you in the semi’s.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-15:
Why are you even commenting on this article? Shouldn’t you be moisturizing Dan Carter’s groin with your mouth to try and fix him? Haaaaaa… owned.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-20:
easy quarter-final game I mean.
South Africa may have struggled past Samoa, but Australia never got past Ireland. At least we won all our games, even if the two big ones were uninspiring. A lot of people writing South Africa off will have little to say if the Boks manage to “upset” Australia and NZ though.
Please keep shouting your mouths off Australian and Kiwi visitors! If we win it will make the victory so much sweeter.
2 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-19: don’t be daft no-one is saying that. We are all kakking ourselves that we have the hardest quarter.
Australia have the recent wins against us and really, they should be favourites.
Now stop being so sensitive, it’s not always all about you kiwi chaps.
Our campaign relies heavily on Morne Steyn, This is going to become a kicking contest…
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-18:
It won’t be easy but we will win.
@cane(cane)-17:
We can’t complain we’ve got the French bogey off our backs and we’ll make the semi’s alot better than last time around!
2 Oct 2011, 11:45 am
@malcolm(malcolm)-16:
That “competent backline” makes ours look decidely pedestrian.
2 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-20:
Great analogy you could have lost against the Welsh and the Samoans.
All that needs to be done is complete domination of the convict forward pack. Morne’s goal kicking will do the rest.
Wales v Ireland – 50%
England v France – 60% England
Australia v SA – 50%
NZ v Argentina – 99.9% NZ
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-21:
You’re no better. Time to start supporting the Boks, show some faith. Instead you moan about individuals on a week-by-week basis.
JdV can do a job there. Don’t be surprised if he shuts you up next weekend. I’m also a bit fed up with Danie, but he’s a capable player and rugby is an 80 minute game. Your criticism of John Smit is also totally unwarranted.
Pierre Spies though… he’s a worry.
2 Oct 2011, 11:47 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26:
Our biggest obstacle will be Australia. NZ without Carter, far easier proposition….
2 Oct 2011, 11:47 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-24:
See post 20 ” see you in the semis”
2 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
Btw, NZ have not had a decent match against competitive opposition in over a month. Tsk tsk, still haven’t learned from 07, lol.
Unless some drastic cheating happens, you won’t be winning with Slade the pasty girl or Weepoo the fat diabetic at flyhalf.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-28: I don’t think Samoa ever came within a win scoring range? 13-0 then 13 – 5… yes it wasn’t the big margin everyone was expecting but I don’t think anyone thought the loss was on.
Wales we could have lost…
Why are you focussing so hard on SA?
The Carter injury got you worried?
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-29:
You couldn’t dominate the Samoans or the Welsh.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-28:
Wales yes. Samoa, no. We had an 8-point lead through pretty much the entire game, and their only try came from a forward pass.
P.S. You’re an idl0t. Come back when the All Blacks choke.
2 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-33: one person speaks for a whole nation? Jeez you are irrational
2 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
NZ are HUGE favourites to win the Cup. Just wonder if they can deal with the pressure?
2 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-35:
When you lose the worlds best 10 and one of if not the best player in the world you have to be worried, life goes on we’ll be fine there is class all over the park the game plan will have to be adjusted to suit a player of lesser ability at 10.
2 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
Awkward wins over Tonga and Canada, quite a few tries scored by the minnows against them, Carter out… no wonder the kiwis are focussing on other teams’ problems!
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-33:
Wow, I’ve got faith. Should I be concerned rather?
Are you really a kiwi? Most of them don’t carry on like you running your mouth.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-26:
Too many easy games NZC.
Bit of a worry. They do nothing for a Team IMHO.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-40: yeah your back up 10 had a great game in PE this year.
2 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-37:
So you honestly think SA are playing good rugby?
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-38:
You’ll see later in the week around here.
2 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-15: KNOCK OUT RUGBY
Say it with me KNOCK OUT rugby, you dont need a backline you need a pack of forwards and a solid defense
2 Oct 2011, 11:53 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-41:
Awkward wins. Come on Spooner get real.
Awkward is SA over Wales.
2 Oct 2011, 11:53 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: we have learned that it is a marathon, not a sprint.
RWC 2007 comes to mind
NZ always sprint straight out of the RWC
2 Oct 2011, 11:54 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-10: It’s simple, the loser of next week’s match will be a choker. The two countries holding the most trophies are meeting each other.
2 Oct 2011, 11:54 am
@cane(cane)-47: comparing Wales with Canada, Japan and Tonga now?
2 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-44:
He’ll do fine he can’t be any worse than Steyn so its even Stevens.
2 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@JL1(JL1)-46:
The only thing you need,
is more points on the scoreboard than the opposition.
Though I concede, a good pack and a solid defence help in this regard.
2 Oct 2011, 11:56 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: It’s a pity that SA and NZ weren’t seeded to meet in the finals, but that is NZ’s fault not ours
2 Oct 2011, 11:56 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-51: Oh he certainly did worse in the last match against SA
2 Oct 2011, 11:57 am
@JL1(JL1)-46:
Yip Samoa nearly knocked you out.
2 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-44: Even better is that in PE old Ted kept him on for more than 60 minutes,
Well as George Michael said “you gotta have faith”
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-55: kak. Samoa NEVER came within a win scoring margin… stop spreading a blatant lie you are getting as bad as Slack Panty.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-54:
The NZ pack was sub standard in PE, we both know at the garden of Eden that won’t be the case.
2 Oct 2011, 11:59 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-50:
We averaged 9 tries a game in our pool Spooner. Hardly awkward.
2 Oct 2011, 11:59 am
I do rate Argentina… will not beat NZ but… a lot tougher than the AB”s, so can see a few injuries happening….
2 Oct 2011, 12:00 pm
Easy wins over:
2nd string France
Canada
Tonga
Japan
or testers against:
Wales
Samoa
I know which preparation I’d rather have…
2 Oct 2011, 12:01 pm
@cane(cane)-59: almost too easy for you chaps, isn’t it?
2 Oct 2011, 12:03 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-55: Heh??
What game were you watching?
Could you do the math, we needed one point from the match
2 Oct 2011, 12:04 pm
I think I smell a South Africa vs Wales final. NZ and Aus score enough points but concede to much.
NZ conceded 49 that is the same as Samoa, while Aus conceded 48. Ireland and England also conceded less points than NZ and Aus, but they don’t score enough themselves.
France might just have one surprise in them.
Can we beat Wales again I am not so sure.
Go Bokke go.
2 Oct 2011, 12:05 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-61: Even Tonga beat France
2 Oct 2011, 12:07 pm
Wales really looking good. lets hope Ireland can take care of them…
2 Oct 2011, 12:08 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-62:
That is a worry.
But home town advantage will see us through.
2 Oct 2011, 12:09 pm
The loss of Carter is a far bigger blow than just losing a great player. He is the one player in the ABs backline who is capable of decision making under the pressure of this WC. Slade will be desperately trying not to make mistakes and Nonu isn’t exactly a master tactician.
I’ve a feeling that GH might be considering bringing Mils back into the mix to add some calm experience.
@AndreE(AndreE)-64: The thoght has crossed my mind, but if they get past Ireland the Pomms will stop them
Boks by 19
Huge games SA vs OZ…All is going to be up to what type of ball the Wallabies get on the day.If SA plays the right balance with our pack and maintain ascendency with our bench in latter period of game,SA will win.Plus Oz rely now more than ever on scoring tries,no reliable kicker.Defenses even tighter in KO rounds and reffed in that manner too.
NZ will beat Argies BUT upfront the Argies r going to go full tilt.With McCaw and Read not at full fitness-that is going to be interesting.Plus with Woodcock also struggling,it’ll be collossal in there.But ultimately too much class in backs by NZ
Other half of draw is up in the air.Wales r the most dangerous team on that half of the draw,decent pack-fluid backs & confident.Ireland have a massive well oiled packs,decent wingers & goal kicker.England know how to win at this part of tournament-never count them out.France very erratic bt hey France are FRANCE.with likes of Clerq,Heymans,Picamoles,Dussetoir etc they can always beat anyone on any given day-they due a freak victory.
Australia fcked up the draw,now is 3N vs 6N..
2 Oct 2011, 12:11 pm
@AndreE(AndreE)-64:
We only leak the odd try, when for all intensive purposes, the game is over.
We still scored 240 points in 4 games.
AND we didn’t have a Namibia in our Pool.
2 Oct 2011, 12:14 pm
@David(David)-68:
If I was Henry I’d play Toeava at 10.
With Piri as back up on the bench.
And I’d arrange a bus to run over Slade.
2 Oct 2011, 12:15 pm
@cane(cane)-72:
With out DC you go a hope.
2 Oct 2011, 12:17 pm
@poppa69(p0ppa69)-70:
You want to cut back on the medication Popps. The swing has been too dramatic.
2 Oct 2011, 12:18 pm
@David(David)-68: Ted may just give Mils the unlucky #13 jersey …. McCheat to break down and Nigel Owens will do the rest …. the choke will come … the good news for Ted and his boys is that they will not have to face the music at the airport.
2 Oct 2011, 12:19 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-58: It wasn’t sub-standard bar Richie by the end of the game and it still didn’t make a difference. What does make the difference is attitude.
2 Oct 2011, 12:19 pm
@AndreE(AndreE)-74:
Where there is life Andre,
there is hope.
Remember we have the Referees in our pocket.
2 Oct 2011, 12:20 pm
@poppa69(p0ppa69)-70: Boks to squeak it by a razer-thin whisker against the Aussies. Hopefully this time we will manage to turn Cooper into a quivering blob of jello.
2 Oct 2011, 12:21 pm
@cane(cane)-73:
2 Oct 2011, 12:21 pm
@RL(RL)-76:
Friggen Nigel will be lucky to get another game. Gawd he was pathetic.
2 Oct 2011, 12:24 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-79:
With Quade it’s a fine line between jello and glory.
His last performance against SA was mesmerising.
2 Oct 2011, 12:24 pm
Morne Steyn at this stage the leading points scorer in the competition, Lets hope his keeps his kicking form….
2 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
@cane(cane)-78:
Hope you done get a certain blind Pom Barnes.
2 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
Saffa Posters are now quite thin on the ground.
Many at Church most likely.
That is good,
because you Okes may need some divine intervention to get past Our Cousins.
2 Oct 2011, 12:29 pm
@AndreE(AndreE)-84:
No worries Andre.
Barnsey owes us one. And he knows it.
2 Oct 2011, 12:41 pm
@cane(cane)-82: That it was. I was annoyed we couldn’t reduce him to jelly like you guys managed the match before.
Cooper is an annoying git.
2 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
cant believe all the injuries to the 3n teams?
this wc is the first one where true cutthroat professionalism is biting i believe.
quite depressing really, i am as gutted about carter as i am about frans steyn.
secondly, this website has to repeat what pdivvy tells supersport because div wont talk to them. can anyone blame the wee maetro?
not i.
thirdly, a big f u k ou to the samoan team and the welsh poof. knuts.
2 Oct 2011, 12:48 pm
@cane(cane)-86:
Gonna miss our game against Aus. I am going to the Okavango delta in Botswana for 10 days. One of the most awesome places to visit.
2 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
I’m trying to look on the positive side of the Frans injury saga. I guess it means that we don’t have to make any decisions about whom to play where in the backline anymore.
In Jean, Pat to 15.
At least it still has the look of a real chanpionship team..
2 Oct 2011, 13:21 pm
A combined team would have 5 Ausies in it. 4 if Hougaard starts in Habana’s place. And only 3 if its a bad weather game where a Morne Steyn type flyhalf is preffered over the erratic Quade Cooper.
The coaching team would be all Aussie though. That’s where we fall out of the bus a bit.
2 Oct 2011, 13:26 pm
I’m kind of glad where playing the Bokks, Pockock back, Barnes at inside centre compliments Cooper, Digby and Beale are back, could say we have a full strength team, well be up for it don’t worry about that, no more **** we’ve got a world cup to win
2 Oct 2011, 13:29 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-71: Sbali ndiyoyika uCarter umkhile, andazi uba kuza kwenzeka ntoni ngoba uSlade akekho kum ngangatho!
2 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
@SAussie/QldRed(SAussie)-92: I’m glad the Boks are coming up a team with no recognized kicker … bad mistake going into a knockout match with no 80 kicker.
2 Oct 2011, 13:39 pm
The 3 nations teams just have too many injuries, I’d have preferred the ABs facing either a full strength wallabies or bok teams, this is just awful, Ioane, and Steyn are bad enough but Carter the greatest player at the WC by a country mile just typifies the state of affairs!
2 Oct 2011, 13:42 pm
Fair point, O’Connor do quite well against the Russians and if he struggles Barnes is handy as a kicker, May the best team win
2 Oct 2011, 13:45 pm
PDV has the right attitude. The Boks must relish the opportunity and enjoy what will be a great game. Previous encounters count for nothing just ask Australia (after Ireland) France and almost England.
Knock-out rugby pressure time. Let’s see who has the mental edge. Experience will count for too much here and coupled with a very physical Bok team – its BOK time next week sportsfans. BRING IT ON
2 Oct 2011, 14:17 pm
the Wee Maestro is up for this one, he’s bouncing around like muhammad ali.
2 Oct 2011, 14:18 pm
Only 2 quarters will be good contests. Ireland vs Wales will be ahard hard clash and I hope the Welsh boys take it. SA vs Oz same thing – will be a great clash. All Blacks vs Argentina is going to be another damp squib as the Argies have been awful this year. Ditto England France. The French are going to be a total walkover. Theres no team spirit left in them. So we may be looking at England vs Wales semis and Sa vs NZ – the Six nations vs Tri Nations. Would be really funny if it was a SA vs Wales final where we again play our stiffest opponents in our pool in the finals. How weird would that be?
2 Oct 2011, 14:21 pm
@cane(cane)-85: Saffas only go to church to check that everything is still as per the contract, and that god is indeed still on our side. Which he is. So all’s well.
2 Oct 2011, 14:24 pm
@cane(cane)-85: that we may but your stocks are looking rather thin old chap. It will be a fine contest either way. Going to love the semis. Good luck to your lot and lets hope Read hangs in there for you guys. He´ll make a huge difference up front.
2 Oct 2011, 14:35 pm
I see the arrogance levels have ratchetted up a few notches from Chip Nation.
Get them in while you can.
Love the way Wales are now mentioned as potential Finalists. Presumably on the back of their ‘win off the scoreboard’ against the Masters of their Own Domain.
~guffaw~
still whinging about the Samoans too. Where will it end, Ladies ?,
2 Oct 2011, 14:37 pm
Looking forward to this one, it should be a fierce battle. Much will come down to the conditions and kicking accuracy.
2 Oct 2011, 14:43 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102: This must be your way of dealing with the hurt.
2 Oct 2011, 14:43 pm
New Zealand have only one quality half back, no good opensiders, no good locks, backs are mostly ball players with generi skill sets. Nonu, Carter and Smith will not make the next world Cup, and there is nothing to replace them! Thorne is 37 too. Their depth is very poor.
2 Oct 2011, 14:44 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102: Dude Wales have been playing great rugby – credit where its due. In comparison to England, France and the Argies theyve been playing some damn fine rugby. Youre trap will be shut soon enough anyways. lol
2 Oct 2011, 14:49 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-106: Wales were not that impressive. We had an injury crisis in game and the ref was in Welsh pockets, yet they still lost. Against Samoa they got lucky. Beat a disenchanted Namibia side and a Fijian side that had nothing to play for. Nothing special at all. Stop Roberts and they are just an average side.
2 Oct 2011, 15:00 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102:
What do you expect? You’re on a South African site you re-tard.
Go and moisturize Dan’s groin, maybe he’ll get better.
2 Oct 2011, 15:04 pm
Interesting little pattern developing here…
Aussie lose in QF’s in 95, end up winning in ’99.
England lose in QF’s in ’99, win in 2003.
SA lose in QF’s in 2003, win in 2007.
2 Oct 2011, 15:04 pm
“Tie me Wallaby down Boet!!!!!!!!”
Watch this hilarious movie:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqjzAd7gwtQ
2 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@ConradP(ConradP)-110:
nice one conrad, here’s one of the maestro holding forth with his great wisdom.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-_Vg49flIs&feature=related
i think he’s talkng about keo in the last bit, who is getting zero minutes, tho i concede these points are too subtle for me to grasp.
2 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-109:
Guess i must complete for all to see;
NZ lose in QF in ’07, win in 2011.
2 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
and here are the aussies calling the Meneer a clown, these boys are going down, the last laughs are coming up ekse.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLXkln_lkKo&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PL4AA7F96C2F6FDCD3
2 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-109:
Fair game on your analysis mate.
Now, what do you thinks is the cause of all this; why do teams lose in QFs and go on to win the tourney 4 years on?
2 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@madvillain(madvillain)-112: Australia lost in a QF in 2007 too. much more likely.
2 Oct 2011, 16:25 pm
I think you are underestimating Ireland. They have a good front row, one of the best locks in world rugby, one of the best loose trios in world rugby (O Brien is world class). A world class goal kicker. Then they have that leinster backline which is the best in northern hemisphere rugby. Add to that a great finals rugby tradition with Munster and Leinster. They really got it all. So glad we are playing the well known Ausies rather than the unknown Irish.
2 Oct 2011, 16:43 pm
@Horings(Horings)-116:
I agree, I reckon they’ll meet us in the final.
2 Oct 2011, 17:11 pm
boks aussies game , imho, dependent on the selection room.
pdv….please coach, you need to do the right thing here…..
i implore you Coach……
bissy, brussow and schalk have to start……asseblief!
2 Oct 2011, 17:15 pm
I just hope the best possible Bok team plays on Saturday. That means no Smit, Spies and Habana in the starting 15. Bismarck, Alberts and Hougaard should fill their places. Fine enough if Smit sits on the bench with the other two. Spies should never have been used as anything other than an impact player at the end of a match when the opposition is tired.
Aplon should also be ahead of Peterson on the right wing, just because he is so much more of a threat.
As a side not, I reckon a lot of the Bok players are very unfit, this is in evidence in every match so far, just running out of steam after the first half of matches.
2 Oct 2011, 17:24 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-119:
Against the Aussies and ABs, I’d have Schalk at 8 and Alberts 7. We need to cover the 10/12 channel against both teams and Schalk can do that better from the back of the scrumin tandem with Brussouw . Alberts at 7 can knock the bejesus out of Genia if he tries to sneak around the blindside.
2 Oct 2011, 17:27 pm
@David(David)-120: Yeah, I’d have it like that too. Burger, Brussouw and Alberts as loosies will the awesome.
2 Oct 2011, 17:29 pm
smit will start o sat thank goodness.
the game vs samoa showed his vale and anyway, we will take it to the aussies upfront so smitty’s value as probablyh the strongest scrummaging hooker on earth will show its value.
biz will come on at 50-60 mins to wreak havoc with a tiring aussie pack.
its beautiful i tell you.
@grant10(grant10)-118: shhhhh, you gave up supportingthe boks remember? why dont you fukkoff?
2 Oct 2011, 17:32 pm
smitty’s form has been superb this wc as was fransies.
all the haters made themselves gat.
again.
2 Oct 2011, 17:36 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-123: What have you been watching…klomp strond
2 Oct 2011, 17:40 pm
@grant10(grant10)-118:
Hey Grant, lovely to see you back.
What did you think of your Irish cousins this morning?
2 Oct 2011, 17:42 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-122:
“Peace and goodwill on earth, to all men” !!
What happened to the Sharks yesterday, WP got the upper hand I see?
2 Oct 2011, 17:47 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-124: are you eating malpitte?
the combination of smitty’s initial physicality and outstanding execution at the setpieces with bizness taing it to a tiring oppo has been fantastic.
cmo then big by, list smitty’s shockers for us then please, i am waiting with bated breath.
@carol(carol)-126: ja, well done wp. sorry, i cant stand grants bs, he is so far up himself and i am simply applying the jaws of life to rescue him before permanent damage is done
2 Oct 2011, 17:51 pm
Watching Masterplan NZ on SuperSport, great insight from J Micthell an H Meyer. Hope PDV is watching. G
@grant10(grant10)-118: The site was cool without you, back in your box
The Sringboks owe you now nothing
@rangerman(rangerman)-127:
I’m not sure he will be greatful….
Do you ever hear from Rugby Princess, I have not heard a peep for ages…I’m sure she is just madly busy!
2 Oct 2011, 17:53 pm
@JL1(JL1)-129:
Cummon, I know you missed him really!!
Are you blogging from a shady spot in your garden sipping an ice cold beer per chance?
2 Oct 2011, 17:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-127: Phil Vickery is a huge fan of Smit
Fitzy loves Bismarck, to the extent that he would open mouth kiss Bissy
Point is we need both
2 Oct 2011, 17:54 pm
Smit starts against Aussie we are fckd same as we were almost fckd to high heaven under his non existent aura vs Wales.
If Smit weren’t yanked OFF the field in the nick of time then Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard would not have saved his fckup of an overrated arse against Wales.
These dumbfck Smitty disciples are way gone up delusional street. Smit starts against Aussie we are absolutely fckd. The Only hope we have is leave Smit,s Spies, FdP on the bench which won’t happen. Smit gonna start and Boks gonna get fckd up.., that is the sad state of affairs which his dumbfck hopeless disciples STILL cannot see staring their f’ng idiocy in their dumbfck faces.
2 Oct 2011, 17:55 pm
@JL1(JL1)-129: pathetic oke.
cant help himself though, imagine having to be around this oke on a permanet basis in real life?
eish!
2 Oct 2011, 17:55 pm
@carol(carol)-131: Just had a quick swim and will now have nice Magners on ice, listening to Kasabian
How you doin
2 Oct 2011, 17:56 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-134: Eish, nagging wet blanket, I would rather have a poke in the eye than his nagging in my ear
2 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-118: at this stage of the game I would say that Spies is the biggest passenger in the team, f uk he is useless, a coward just like Hargreaves … he makes me sick smiling like a doos at those Samoans while we were at war … let Danie play at 8 and send that coward home.
2 Oct 2011, 17:59 pm
@carol(carol)-130: haha, if i have to listen to his bs, he will listen to mine.
nah, the princess left when the lefties got out of control.
@JL1(JL1)-132: agreed, we need both.
we should be so grateful to have both but people like gwanty just can see that.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-133: why such language old boy?
no one taking you seriously again?
i didnt understand you though, are you saying we should play smitty or not?
2 Oct 2011, 17:59 pm
you need Smit like a f’ng hole in the head if Smit had started against Samoa we would have LOST. If Smit was left another minute on the field vs Wales we would have LOST.
Start Smit against Aussie we gonna LOSE, same way we LOST the last 5 times against them under his hopeless useless fckup of a nonentity captaincy
2 Oct 2011, 18:00 pm
@RL(RL)-137: Yep, Spies has not been exactly putting his body on the line
2 Oct 2011, 18:00 pm
@JL1(JL1)-135:
After a franticaly social weekend and considerable excercise I am now being lazy!!
I think it may soon be wine O’ Clock !!
2 Oct 2011, 18:02 pm
@JL1(JL1)-140:
…and lets face it, Spies does have a considerable ammount of body TOO put on the line!!
Remember that classic line from the spoof Springbok clip…. “Spies is built like a farmyard animal” lol
2 Oct 2011, 18:03 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-139: We actually need to bench Matfield, who also disappears in the trench warfare games
Bench Spies, play, Bakkies, Danie and Alberts, Gladiators of the team with Schalla, Brussow, Jannie, Smit, Bismarck and Guthro
2 Oct 2011, 18:03 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-133:
It took an exceptional defensive effort from the Boks – with some help from a corrupted Welsh referee, clearly on the taking – to beat the No 10 ranked Samoa
That said, it all happened without JS on the field!
put your thesis on its head or didn’t it?
2 Oct 2011, 18:04 pm
@RL(RL)-137:
See my post 120. I agree totally about Spies. He looks as if he’s going through practice drills and poses absolutely no defensive threat in one of the most important defensive positions.
2 Oct 2011, 18:06 pm
@carol(carol)-141: Pinot Gringio?
ja, i would rather have albets at 8 or even danie if bakkies regains fitness.
spies simply anno live up to his hype.
so sad, too bad.
@Hondo(Hondo)-144: Well technically Smit was not on the field
2 Oct 2011, 18:07 pm
@JL1(JL1)-146: Grigio
2 Oct 2011, 18:08 pm
@carol(carol)-142: you like him…..
2 Oct 2011, 18:14 pm
Zane Kirchner believes it was God’s plan that he goes to the World Cup…
The staggering idiocy of these evangelics astounds me. Zane does this mean that God’s plan was for Frans to be injured? And is God also then clearly a Wallaby supported?
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/RugbyWorldCup2011/Zane-Kirchner-It-was-Gods-plan-20111002
2 Oct 2011, 18:16 pm
if Smit would have started against Samoa you would have gone into half time 13-0 in ARREARS not AHEAD and Boks would have LOST the game.
If Bismark had not started that game we would have LOST. If Smit were not YANKED OFF the field in the NICK of time vs Wales we would have LOST.
How much Fckng LOSING under Smit is it going to take till you dumbfck Smit worshiping idiots see he is the most prolific LOSER this Bok team has seen in the past 2 years.
Smit came on the field and IMMEDIATELY put his team in reverse blown OFF the field by the ref.
Start Smit vs Aussie and we LOSE.., how much you wanna bet.., UNLESS Bismark and Alberts and Hougaard come on in the NICK of time and SAVE Smit , FdP and Spies’s overrated fckdup arses AGAIN
2 Oct 2011, 18:20 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-152: While I agree with you on most of that Smit did not put us in ‘turbo reverse’ when he came on. Unfairly sent off and we were in turbo reverse before he came on.
2 Oct 2011, 18:20 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-147: So Smit’s gaylover on the side is a poet too…
2 Oct 2011, 18:22 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-152: sorry?
am i missing something or are you extraordinarily gifted?
because either you have been blessed with “second sight” or you have created your own parallel universe where skopskiets statements become fact.
either way, it is quite creepy to be given such a sustained view into your psyche,please refrain?
2 Oct 2011, 18:23 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-151:
Zane did nothing wrong, he has proven himself over and over again… super titles, he is up for this, not his fault Steyn is injured, not his fault Carter is injured… wake up twat!!!!!
2 Oct 2011, 18:23 pm
Zane Kirchner another absolute fckup of a decision.., he gotta be about the 10th next best full back in the country
Matfield should also play off bench
JdV should captain the team vs Aussie with Bismark Gurthro Jannie Danie Alberts Brussow Louw Burger Hougaard starting
Beast Smit Spies Matfield FdP De Jongh Butch / Aplon off bench
2 Oct 2011, 18:26 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-154: easy now buddy, whats with all the agression?
please use facts in this discussion, this is not a bunch of okes standing aroud a braai repeating what someone else said ok?
Biz has a better success rate in the lineouts than Smitty.
for 1 points against “Smits gaylover” expand…..
2 Oct 2011, 18:29 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-156:
Did you actually read and understand Bagels post?
2 Oct 2011, 18:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-157: dont give us problems, give us solutions!
who would you have called up in place of zane?
p.s. mentioning peter grant is grounds for instant disqualification.
2 Oct 2011, 18:31 pm
@David(David)-159:
Yes
2 Oct 2011, 18:32 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-156: i think it was the whole “God called me up to the rwc” that Bagel found ridiculous.
i find it equally absurd.
that said, i wish Zane all the best.
BOKKE!
2 Oct 2011, 18:34 pm
Smit played 55 minutes vs Wales and we were LOSING under his useless hopeless diabolical ineffective captaincy UNTIL Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard came on and SAVED the f’ng DAY.
How much more turbo reversing LOSING you wanna see under this fckup palooka of a J. Smit delusional daydream till you realise by starting Smit ahead of Bismark you are aiming for a LOSS.
Every time Smit has led Boks vs Aussie and NZ in past 2 years he has LOST, same vs Ireland or France.
ONLY time Boks have beaten either Aussie or NZ or Ireland in past 2 years is NOT under Smit but under Matfield with Smit NOWHERE to be seen or influencing his team into another LOSS
2 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-163: flog that horse, flog it.
just because people like you and gwantie earch for a bunch of occurences to support your hypothesis doesnt make it true old man.
just like the flat earth freaks, no one really wants to spend time with you
2 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-163: Hougaard is out of the QF, he will not be medically cleared and that’s a stuff up of note.
2 Oct 2011, 18:39 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-162:
He is a christian boy, so… god has a plan for him…. Good for him…
2 Oct 2011, 18:39 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-161:
Twat?
Did you read my post? I didn’t mention his quality moron or whether he should be there I was referring to his pathetic religious belief that ‘God’, would plan for him to be at the Rugby World Cup and that he is indirectly saying that ‘God’ cause Frans Steyn’s injury. It’s the same stupid thing when players thank their ‘God’ for the win.
I don’t think Zane should be there but I’ll trust in the coaches over my couch potato opinion and I’ll leave this here, sorry to bring religion to a Rugby blog but thought it held relevance in this case.
2 Oct 2011, 18:41 pm
If Smitty wasnt on the field FOR 55MINS vs WALES we would have LOST as we would have ben 20 PTS or more down when our bench came on, TOO LATE to change the game so it was ****** farken fckadilly fankfl that we didnt have him sitting on the bench or we would have KICK CHASED for the first 55 mins and LOOK WHERE THAT GOT US VS SAMOA WHEN SMITTY WASNT ON THE FIELD?
fA rK CAPS
2 Oct 2011, 18:45 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-167:
You would, you are obviously one of the biggest idiots on this site to ever bring this up, and google it….
@Getafix(phil72)-166: hey man, to each their own but afford Bagel the same courtesy of believing that the religious gibberish is a fairytale as you expect anyone to afford Zane for his view that someone on a cloud bought his ticket to nz.
Oh dear.
2 Oct 2011, 18:48 pm
i am pretty sure that Christians are supposed to say something like “dont worry my friend, i will pray for you”
but usually if this convo breaks around the dinner table it ends with “i will kill you you bastid!” (o some such sentiment).
i just dont get the senstivity surrounding the issue but i strongly believe everyone is etitled to their own views/ beliefs.
2 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
thats what i beliefs.
2 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-166:
Do you feel the same when a radical muslim blows people up because God had a plan? The Christian, Jewish and Muslim God is the same.
2 Oct 2011, 18:50 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-170:
The big guy has a LOT of air miles.
2 Oct 2011, 18:51 pm
Indeed
2 Oct 2011, 18:52 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-175:
waaaaash out, you will unlock your own plan involving thunder and lightning
how are the men who stare at goats going?
2 Oct 2011, 18:54 pm
@David(David)-174: hmmmm, i am so confused?
maybe the planning commission is the same one that is in charge of keeping Durbans streets clean?
2 Oct 2011, 18:55 pm
@David(David)-174:
Am sure the Muslims have planed for this to happen, Zane must be their first priority….
2 Oct 2011, 18:56 pm
go on believe in your fckup of a useless saint John Smit. Boks were getting fckd up to high heaven with Smit and Spies on the field against Wales.
ONLY the introductions of Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard against Wales SAVED the f’ng DAY. If Smit was left ONE more minute on that field leading his team down the Fckng drain and OUT the world cup we would have LOST. HOW DUMB FCK BLIND you STUPID imbecile moron still wanna get?
Starting Smit and Spies vs Aussie is EXACTLY what Deans and Wallabies are hoping for and that what they gonna get, and I already expect the worst under that useless diabolical fckup of a passenger palooka who is going to leave TOO much to do for Bismark and Alberts to save his hopeless fckup overrated arse AGAIN
2 Oct 2011, 18:56 pm
@David(David)-174: anyways, why pick on the slummos?
george bush and his merry gang dropped mre bombs in one day than all the radical muslims in history.
2 Oct 2011, 18:57 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-177:
Too many other men are staring at the same goats.
2 Oct 2011, 18:58 pm
In retrospect, considering that it was PdV who chose Zane, does it mean that PdV is actually Gods agent at the RWC?
2 Oct 2011, 18:58 pm
Sunday evening brawl.
2 Oct 2011, 18:59 pm
i DONT KNOW who the OLD chap is talking to but could someone tell him that my case is as convincing as his if we are going to MAKE UP OUTCOMES to suit our argument and i didnt even tell him TO GET *** KED once.
2 Oct 2011, 19:00 pm
@David(David)-183:
So… who planned the injuries?
2 Oct 2011, 19:00 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-181:
It was to make a point. As for Bush and Cheyney, I agree entirely. They should be up for war crimes.
2 Oct 2011, 19:01 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-182: ah ja i thought so.
and the xhosas are able to tuck a goat under their overcoats and play four-legged-waltz-off-the-property faster than you would believe, just as transie.
disclaimer: this myth was relayed to me y one indignant zulu man after we shared a case of quarts.
@David(David)-183: he is a God given talent after all.
2 Oct 2011, 19:03 pm
@David(David)-187: ag i know ma, i was just sneaking the word “slummo” in there to up my street cred.
2 Oct 2011, 19:04 pm
man, not ma.
man.
2 Oct 2011, 19:06 pm
Play Kirchner in a 1/4 or semi or final of the WC and we seriously up the creek
He is a totally ineffective FB, I rather play Odwa in the team than Kirchner who offers absolutely blow all.
We got Lambie, Aplon, JPP and failing them we got Taute or Viljoen who I would call on long before Kirchner. Rather play Aplon than Kirchner any day or play Aplon or Ndungane at 14 and JPP at 15. Of need be LONG ahead of playing Kirchner anywhere near the team, Gods call up or not.
2 Oct 2011, 19:07 pm
@David(David)-183:
Barney picked him and Spies booked the ticket.
Just saying
2 Oct 2011, 19:13 pm
Easier? When you’ve LOST 5 of the last 6 encounters — home and away?
Yeah, riiiiight!
2 Oct 2011, 19:13 pm
Kirchner living in some kind of delusion if he believes God maimed F.Steyn so that he can get a gig at the world cup, that’s taking superstitious bullshit belief to a whole other delusional level.
2 Oct 2011, 19:16 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-192:
If Spies booked the ticket, he’ll probably arrive when the RWC is over.
2 Oct 2011, 19:20 pm
# 1136.grant10: Reply to this comment
30 Sep 2011, 14:06 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-1115: thanks BP…..
Just needed some solitude.
gotta run
till later
well gwantie, if you had something bad happen to you o someone dear to you then my commisserations.
if not, you are a bigger ponce than i thought.
2 Oct 2011, 19:21 pm
Kirchner is coming in as general back cover. It makes perfect sense in the same way that Odwa is in the team. Before Zange gets onto the field Aplon will play 15. But you need the personnell on the ground in case.
Now for the Smit issue.
John has played really well this WC. What was very lacking on the field on Friday was the lack of good leadership. The guys lost their structure and allowed the Samoans to run at us.
His leadership is conspicuous by his absence.
He needs to start sadly. I didn;t always feel that way, but it do now.
One of the big differences between the boks in the last 3 games is that bench has added to the game in the last 20 minutes, wheras in the past it has disrupted and majorly impacted the game in a bad way.
But I know that those that hate John Smit will never see it this way, regardless.
2 Oct 2011, 19:24 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-193:
How many times had the ABs beaten France before losing in 2007? History means FA.
2 Oct 2011, 19:27 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197:
I must agree with you on all points. Zane isn’t the first choice 15, so I don’t know what all the whingeing is about, and there’s only 3 games maximum to play.
2 Oct 2011, 19:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197:
As usual the quiet, insistent voice of reason.
If all goes according to plan Zane will be holding tacklebags for the rest of the tourney.
@rangerman(rangerman)-196:
Grantie has been supporting Namibia after hearing about Cheeky’s attempted palace coup.
2 Oct 2011, 19:32 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197: ah, welcome on board stormerboy, i will make space as if i was a good christian/muslim/jew.
i know you havent been anti-Smitty but i am loving th way he is slowly starting to silence the critics again.
if we win the wc then he will surely go down as the greatest bok of all time?
2 Oct 2011, 19:48 pm
not wanting to pick smit based on scenarios that did not happen is no more than fudging fact… should/coulda/woulda… you can’t prove a negative or a non-event… so no point going on about it… rather discuss things that did in fact happen… than things that did not happen… they can’t be used as fact if they never happened…
facts are that smit has played very well so far in this world cup and bismarck has added tremendous value from the bench… i have always maintained that neither bismarck nor hougie can or will be able to have that sort of impact for the full 80 minutes… it is simply impossible to keep going like that and maintain that intensity for 80 or more minutes… (unless your name is sckalk or juan…)
stormersboy is absolutely correct… john’s leadership was conspicuous by it’s absence on friday… it was left to schalk to rally the troops while vic stood by and watched…
thing is these guys have been together for nearly eight years… they know, understand and trust each other… and operate and play more effectively together as a unit… these guys have to start every game from now on… IMO… and BdP, FH and WA can come on and play their hearts out for the final 30-20 and we will stand a better chance of winning the world cup…
it has proven effective so far… don’t mess with it… the points on the scoreboard say it ain’t broke… so don’t try and fix it…
2 Oct 2011, 19:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-200: Thanks. yes, i’d seriously consider playing Ruan at 15 before Zane, but it’s important to have a full squad.
2 Oct 2011, 19:53 pm
Guys please go easy on grant he has had a health scare.
2 Oct 2011, 19:53 pm
Smit silenced his critics and played well WHEN?
WHEN did Smit play well and silence his critics this WC?
Against Wales, Fiji, Namibia, Samoa… WHEN did Smitty play better than Bismark and silence his critics?
Some you dumb Smitty worshiping disciples are deluded BEYOND delusions.., come on F,ng WAKE UP..,
Smit was DIABOLICAL against Wales and leading his team to an ABSOLUTE CERTAIN LOSS. Till Bismark and Alberts came on… going BACKWARDS at one massive rate of knots..,
Against NAMIBIA and Fiji who Wales pumped worse than we did he played ‘well’ go F,ng figure, Bismark would have played a WHOLE LOT BETTER and then some.. And against Samoa the useless palooka didn’t even FEATURE, because his first contribution was a slow throw in and second one a skewed throw in and third was a deliberate tap down that earned him a YELLOW card .. So WHEN the hell did Smit play WELL and silence his critics… WHEN ?????????!
Start Smit vs Aussie and we asking for a pumping.. Smit, Spies and FdP in the starting team is a recipe for DISASTER… Exactly as it was vs Wales.. Asking for big trouble not starting Bismark and Alberts.. Don’t come crying when the damage is DONE..
2 Oct 2011, 19:54 pm
@ufo(ufo)-202:
maybe, but i think the Boks will be going home if smit, spies and matfield start in the same pack. i also will never agree that the best hooker in the world plays a cameo role no matter how good smit;s captaincy supposedly is, its def not that good.
2 Oct 2011, 19:55 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-201: Ja boet, I’ve been a long standing fan but have been saying that I’d start Bismark in the important games with John on the bench, but i’ve come to think it should be the other way round.
Victor is not a leader of men in the same way that John is. We know it, they know it, and most importantly, the players know it. And that is the most important
2 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-200: attempted palace coup?
2 Oct 2011, 20:00 pm
Guys on top of everything you have said about Smittie v Bizzie I have to add that the kind of reasoning that says that Smit is responsible for SA trailing Wales at one stage as well as the rather tight end to the Samoan game ignore the fact that there are 14 other players in the Bok team but above all else they give very little respect to the opponents we played against. Wales beat England before the WC and has made huge strides and Samoa beat all and sundry in the Pacific Cup as well as the Ozzies in Australia. There is no doubt that the Bok team is gelling as a unit and feeling rather comfortable with each other this would not have been the case if there were doubters amongst them as to JS presence in the team. It appears his fellow players respect him more than the public
2 Oct 2011, 20:01 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-204: ag so.
hope he recovers fully.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-207: yip. and thats what i have been saying since gwante started his tirade.
plus he loses far less lineouts.
2 Oct 2011, 20:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-204: He’s had a what? Thought the dude was superfit? Wish him all the best though, hope everything’s ok.
2 Oct 2011, 20:03 pm
Now, is it time for us to just talk bollock$ ?
2 Oct 2011, 20:04 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-209: Exactly. It’s a 80 minute game. And we finished better than them, so we won the game. Ebbs and flows.
The anti John brigade don;t seem to know this. And sadly, they don’t seem to tolerate any view contrary to their own.
Do not worry, Lambie will save the day….
Uuuuurrrrgh
Monday
2 Oct 2011, 20:05 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-209: again, spot on bananaboy.
p.s. i got a lovely natal snoek of 4 kg’s and a spotted grunter of 2kgs with my speargun yesterday at tongaat.
life is good here in natal.
2 Oct 2011, 20:06 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-209:
the thing is its a game of inches and if u got 1 or 2 in the pack not hitting the contact points, its going to take its toll and the other side is going to feel they are getting the upper hand and once they get the momentum thats the match decided, normally, even if other players are brought, the impression created is that they have the match of the other forwards as a whole.
Anyway, since it’s school holidays i’m letting the boys stay up later than usual and we are about to watch “tangled” as a family,
Which is time much more valuable than debating the Smit question.
Have a great evening all.
well… if you watched the game against samoa… you would have seen PdV say at half time that we just had to stick to the game plan as they had in the first half…
as we all saw… the guys slowly lost their cool and reverted to an aimless kick and chase panic in the hope that something would happen…
clearly a lack of leadership or inability by big vic to implement or stick with the plan… which saw schalk trying to pull the guys together…
secondly… for those saying smit played so badly against wales… the stats guys who know where to find these things… posted that smit made the most tackles against wales… even more than schalk… and smit didn’t play the whole game… so anyone saying smit was useless against wales is simply ignoring fact and running on pure negative emotion…
what’s crazy is… as i’ve said before… because you prefer one player you have to make out the other is the devil himself…
south africa is fortunate to have two great hookers at the moment… smit a better scrummage and line-out thrower… but not too shabby in the loose… BdP a better loose layer and not too shabby in the scrums and line-outs… (although he did lose us significant ground against samoa with wayward throws…)
use the one in the formative tighter stages of the game and the other in the looser latter stages… sounds like a perfect plan to me… and HAS been working very well…
i think the hate of either player is irrational…
#justsaying…
@Dawn(Dawn)-215:
Just stop that Monday stuff…. It is hours away….
Pour a scotch!
2 Oct 2011, 20:07 pm
Smit was LOSING HOPELESSLY Against Wales he was absolutely and definitely leading the Boks to a resounding and most definite LOSS had he remained on that field one moment longer..
Which f’ng games you people been watching.. Smit has LOST .. The last 5 times he played Aussie and everytime he played NZ since 2009.
WHEN did Smit play WELL and lead this team with convincing ability WHEN, vs Namibia and Fiji DOES NOT COUNT.
Play Smit ahead of Bismark and we go home.. How much you wanna bet ?????????!
We will be chasing the game if Smit starts vs Aussie like we were vs Wales .. NOT ahead like against Samoa.. Play Smit in 1/4s and its home time.. That’s the choice we have
2 Oct 2011, 20:07 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-216:
Have you ever ‘tickled’ a trout?
2 Oct 2011, 20:09 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-218:
Most things are more exciting than the ‘Smit’ debate!
2 Oct 2011, 20:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-215: Im working on a Sunday night, listening to old school Alanis Morissette.
Its already Monday for me.
2 Oct 2011, 20:11 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-218: Lucky man. Enjoy.
2 Oct 2011, 20:12 pm
Animated movie! Tangled! More ugh!
2 Oct 2011, 20:12 pm
@carol(carol)-222: excuse me?
2 Oct 2011, 20:17 pm
Tickled a trout?
2 Oct 2011, 20:18 pm
smit, matfield and spies may tackle, but backs can tackle – you need to win the collision, you need to get go-forward, that is where the welsh were fking us up, they couldnt believe it themselves and by 55 min they knew they had the boks who were getting beaten upfront, it was all over, and should have been, they misses two sitters.
2 Oct 2011, 20:18 pm
Scots do many things but I’ve never known them to tickle trouts
2 Oct 2011, 20:19 pm
FdP is the culprit regarding kick chase which is the diabolical flaw which is EXACTLY same flaw we have shown under Smit the past 2 years.. Smit would have been on the field s Samoa from kick off we would have lost I got absolute zero doubt about it. Was Bismark, Brussow, Burger and Roussow that put us in the lead going into half time.. Smit came on and was summarily DISMISSED by the ref.. He contributed absolutely f’all.. Just like he did vs Wales.
If not for Bismark Alberts Hougaard vs Wales AND Samoa Smit and Pdv would already be halfway home
2 Oct 2011, 20:19 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-216: Hell you make me homesick, there is nothing like the Natal Coast, it will always be home. @cab(cab)-217: Cab everything you say is true however if you look at the stats you will note that Smittie is outperforming all the other tight 5 players except for JDP. Even Danie is slipping more trackles yet he gets the ackolades because of his running with ball in hand. I’m sorry Cab but JS has not only being hitting the rucks but also helping to create tries whilst all the while getting back to full fitness.
Just a question what is your perception of the work a hooker should be doing on the field and tell me if you think Bizzie fits that bill. He is a freak but i dont believe he is actually a hooker , rather a hybrid of a hooker/prop/flanker. Wouldn’t you rather have a specialist hooker on the field. By the way the game against Samoa didn’t prove that Bizzie HAS to start, there was nothing there that was exceptional or said that JS would have been worse, in fact I think JS would have handled Nigel Owens a lot better. However thats just my opinion and not fact
2 Oct 2011, 20:21 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-211: Jaaaa man… the ol’ Doc told him to ‘buk’ for the finger probe. Grant was taking strain & when it was going on unusually long – he opened his eyes & noticed that both the Doc’s hands were on his shoulders!!
2 Oct 2011, 20:23 pm
That’s not remotely funny
2 Oct 2011, 20:24 pm
heaven help us
@rangerman(rangerman)-216: Good shooting Range… can relate to that. My old stomping grounds. Did you ever know an oke – Tosh Bell?
i’d actually rather have smit over both matfield and spies, but not at the expense of bismarck who should be the first name down on the teamsheet. there are currently only three players that are giving SA go-forward, they are Bismarck, Alberts and Beast/Gurthro. Look at the irish pack today, you got rory best, cian healy, obrien, heaslop and ferris – u think we gonna take them on with smit, matfield and spies in the same pack – no chance – the balance is all wrong. Bok rugby at its best, is about a dominant high-intensity committed pack that cleans out the oppo on the collisions and at the breakdown – kickchase is designed for the ruck inspectors since it is less intense and relies more on playing in the right part of the park than on the pack doing what it is capable of doing winning possessions and retaining it – this is even more important when one considers how much more dangerous the ozzie and kiwi backlines are – and astruse fk what will they do when they get lazy, kickchase, you saw it in the 2nd half v samoa when they started to coast after an utterly brilliant 1st half.
2 Oct 2011, 20:27 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-235: You dont think we can take the Aussies?
2 Oct 2011, 20:30 pm
Said it before… I might be wrong but I think the Ozzies have shot their bolt… overcooked for this tournament. They’ve played a lot of hard rugby leading up to this.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-231: Skop yet the Boks have had the least amount of points scored against them. They are playing to their strengths and if you watch carefully they are targetting the 3rd or 4th phase with arriving players to force a turnover. They dont seem to be too concerned about slipping tackles as long as the attacking player goes to ground eventually as the ball cannot be played then. They are very effective in stopping attackers at the “tackle line” instead of the “gain line” as the first port of call so to speak after that they attacking the ball on the ground by isolating the attacking player i.e. cut off his support and force him to take contact and go to ground.
you gotta be BLIND .. Smit was the chief culprit along with Spies and FdP LOSING the game vs Wales.. If he would have stayed another 5 minutes it was OVER..
BISMARK ALBERTS AND HOUGAARD saved the game vs Wales.. If Smit stayed on another minute or 2 and Bismark and Alberts NOT introduced it was an absolute and definite LOSS staring us in the face..
The ones NOT seeing the simple reality are those that cannot see that by starting Smit we are going in carrying a PASSENGER and not playing our strongest team.. Those stats guys gotta be absolutely f’ng delusional because under Smit vs Wales we were ABSOLUTELY heading for a DEFINITE LOSS !!
Only the advent of Bismark, Alberts AND Hougaard saved the Day.. Smit was LOSING that game with absolutely NO DOUBT!!
2 Oct 2011, 20:32 pm
I believe that alberts would be better suited starting this game with spies coming off the wood.
I’d like to see alberts taking crash ball all game long and running straight at cooper.
and dupreez needs to do more of the tactical kicking and not steyn.
personally, if our pack can replicate the physicality from the samoa game, I think we will have too much for the ozzies. Get our big strike runners charging straight at the 10/12 channel.
2 Oct 2011, 20:32 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-232:
you make good points, i;ve never subscribed to the nonsense that smit is rubbish, he is very useful and integral part of the team – however, he is presently keeping the best hooker in the world out of the Bok team, a real worldclass weapon which Smit is not, but perhaps most important of all, its not the tackling we are missing, but the physicality, the mongrel – you’ve got to have it. Oz is the one pack we might get away with it, but i doubt it, they’ve beaten smit’s pack both in oz and Sa (one of the first time’s they;ve done it, our balance is wrong – the pack is getting too old and less physically offensive).
The Boks are at their best when they play like marauding barbarians, not tackling curtailing anklebiters. You give teams like oz or nz parity upfront, and theylll put 30 on us, it wont even be close. Ireland beat them, by beating them upfront, its the way we’ve also always done it, but u pick smit, matfield and spies in the same pack (down in australasia nogal) and dont be suprised when u get exactly the same result as the last 2 years vs oz.
2 Oct 2011, 20:36 pm
The debate about Bismark is similar to the one regarding Mealamu. They’re similar players and both have suffered as starters due to the strategy of starting with stronger scrummagers. Smit has also suffered by trying to turn him into a tighthead, but I have a gut feel that coaches are correct in starting with him.
If there are any weaknesses, it’s Spies as the starting 8. He adds nothing in aggression, workrate or brainsand with FdP struggling in confidence, the 8,9,10 axis, which is dependent on his direction, is our most vulnerable area.
2 Oct 2011, 20:41 pm
@jocuba(jocuba)-236: tosh bell?
no. sorry man.
i have bugged for years but only recently taken up spearfishing (10 months).
it is addictive and very environmentally friendly.
2 Oct 2011, 20:42 pm
@cab(cab)-243: Remember Cab everyone is judging Smittie on the basis of the last 2 seasons but take away the playing load and the injuries and disruption to his carreer in that time and get him back to what he was doing when the B&I Lions toured for example and you will see what I mean. He will help destroy the Ozzies with Bizzie coming on later. My only concern is Brussouw vs Pocock and I would have Frans Louw on the bench for that cover and play Danie at 8 instead of Spies with Bakkies and Matfield at lock.
2 Oct 2011, 20:44 pm
The forwards issue is not a big problem… we’re just looking for perfection with all these arguments. They ca hold their own with the best; & the best are worried.
Its the backline that is the problem… how do we utilise Jaque Fourie optimally? The boy is deadly… he never saw any attacking action against Samoa.
The point is… is JDV still the man for 12. I tend to think I’d have him on the bench for Oz; & if we get through to semi’s – bring him on for the kiwis.
The danger man is Nonu – someone has got to contain him.
2 Oct 2011, 20:44 pm
Pouring a scotch ………..
2 Oct 2011, 20:46 pm
Bok strategy should be simple; beat Pocock to the breakdowns and target Cooper’s channel. Their form is poor at the moment – they peaked 3 months ago
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-246:
2 years is a long time when you get past 30 at that level. Bismarck is in another league, we are actually doing ourselves a massive disservice here by picking on sentimental grounds when there is a player of the likes of Bismarck around – you can’t win a RWC if you dont pick your real weapons to play for as long as possible. We only really have 4 worldclass weapons these days and none of them are being picked to start.
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-249: and don’t kick every fcking ball.
@rangerman(rangerman)-227:
@Dawn(Dawn)-230:
Poachers used to slip their hands into the trout streams and tickle the trouts underbelly, it sends it into a trance like state then you flip them out of the water!!
Who needs a spear gun!!
2 Oct 2011, 20:50 pm
As I live and breathe.
Richie7 is back.
2 Oct 2011, 20:50 pm
Morning carol and all
@carol(carol)-252:
Sharks are the same like that except what out when they turn back over
2 Oct 2011, 20:51 pm
….And don’t kick every fcking ball away! Beale is safe under the high ball, so don’t bank on the 50/50 stuff
2 Oct 2011, 20:53 pm
Hi Dawn
2 Oct 2011, 20:54 pm
The horse in this movie is hilarious!
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-240:
We almost lost to Samoa because of that STUPID FdP ingrained kick chase garbage which is actually Smit’s preferred game plan.. Was him advocating it allalong and LOSING under it like he was doing vs Wales. Soon as we go onto the lead FDP and Smit advocate kicking.. Its their natural habitual safety net they learned under Jake .. Defense wins games and all that garbage krap.. Smit has LOST all games he has captained Boks since 2009 for EXACTLY that reason.. He like FdP don’t know How to play a ball in hand game.
We were playing well vs Wales first 10 minutes then scored.. Then bottled up and started kicking with Smit ON THE FIELD … And Wales said thank you very much and started taking us apart.. Until Bismark, Alberts AND Hougaard came on and SWUNG THE MOMENTUM Around.
Vs Samoans same thing.. We started like house on fire ball in hand and taking the game to them, then cowardly FdP starts reverting to his JW entrenched garbage kick chase trash and gifts Samoa ALL the possession, hence we gotta make 150 tackles to their 70 and we very nearly could have LOST..
FDP is a f’ng useless hopeless dunce and Smit and Spies are passengers who will lose nearly every time..Matfield not any better but no worse..
Bismark Brussow Burger Roussow and Alberts HAVE to be on the field else we go home… That’s the long and the short of it.. Start Smit and Spies ahead of Bismark and Alberts AND its HOME TIME..
That is the absolute nitty gritty of the situation and its an absolute certainty.. How much you wanna bet?
Smit Spies FdP starting vs Aussie we already 50% below par of where we supposed to be and what our true winning potential is.
@rangerman(rangerman)-245: No worries… my favorite are the Garrick… they are such powerful fish. You want to get yourself down to the reef off Salt Rock… about 3/4 to a K out to sea. Hang some sparklers off the gun when the gamefish are out.
I’ve seen bosbefok spearos out there… okes holding their catch above their heads whilst kicking Zambezis away with their fins. If a big Zambezi hung around too long the okes would gang up with a 357 power head spear & take him out.
I stopped spearing when I was buzzed by a white whilst shooting mussel cracker off Seaview in PE. Seriously spooked me.
2 Oct 2011, 20:55 pm
1. Gurthro 2. Bismarck 3. Jannie 4. Bakkies 5. Rossouw 6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Schalk
9. Hougaard 10. Morne 11. Habana/Aplon 12. JdV 13. JF 14. JP 15. Lambie
16. Beast 17. Smit 18. CJ 19. Matfield 20. Spies 21. FdP 22. Pienaar/Butch
That team won’t be beaten – but it won’t happen either, keo’s prediction is probably going to come to pass, the only good news is he does have the Boks to lose to Oz so on that basis alone we might be extraordirily lucky. You bring the young dynamic ideas on to set the platform and momentum and the old boys experience to close it out with the kind of pressure that makes ppl do wierd things but is handled better by those who’ve experienced it before.
2 Oct 2011, 20:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-241:
Skoppie Most of agree with you
The problem for me has always been who captains? We have spoken about this
Matfield plays better when he is not captain, or if we need to say it when Smit is on the field
Fdp is no captain either
and Jdv was going to be sitting in the stands if Steyn was healthy
With a few of the guys Jinx and cab yesterday this is the starting pack we had
1. Guthro
2. Bismark
3. Jannie Dup
4. Bakkies
5, matfield
6. Brussow
7. Skalk
8 Alberts
But who captains the team Jdv now that he will be back?
2 Oct 2011, 20:57 pm
Skop, actually the kick and chase game was invented and mastered by the Blue Bulls – FdP and Bryan Habana. No need to blame Smit for that too
2 Oct 2011, 20:58 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-254:
Hey Coach, good to see you here..
Are you enjoying the RWC so far?
2 Oct 2011, 20:59 pm
First of all I am not sure when it became a fact, cast in stone that Bismark is the world’s best hooker? Come on guys. He makes a great impact playing off the bench, when he can give his all for twenty minutes. On Friday he looked pretty good, but not astonishing for all the time he was on. John Smit has been doing a great job, he has lifted hisgame during this tournament, and played exceptionally well. It is tough on him that Bissie then comes on an hour into the game and runs rampant, but that is what impact players do. It doesn’t mean that the player that they have replaced is useless.
Smitty is our captain, the best one ever in a Bok jersey. If anyone can make this team gel and come through this extremely tough draw and tournament it is him. Every player respects him and will do as he asks, english, afrikaans, Zulu, whatever. I am encouraged to see many bloggers coming around on this point. Sadly guys like Shampoopaloo are so emotionally wound up now, that they will never see reason. Starting to foam at the mouth a bit I think…Maybe time to go and take a Prozac mate.
If the bokke win this world cup a great deal of credit will have to go to John Smit. If they lose, well, there can be only one winner and so be it. Winning a world cup in NZ playing Aus, then NZ in the playoffs is a big ask and if any side can do it it is the Bokke.
2 Oct 2011, 20:59 pm
Coach, throw the captain’s armband to Schalk. Everybody agrees the captain should lead from the front, right? Anybody else on the team play harder than Schalk?
2 Oct 2011, 21:01 pm
Where we have issues are with counter rucks.
Fdp does not get that ruck ball out of the rucks quick enough exposing us to giving up ruck ball with counter rucks This happened vs Samoa and wales
Plus when Pdp and M steyn are under pressure they resort to aimless kicks
This is why our forwards need to totally dominate OZ and that means Bismark there with Alberts and Russouw coming in later for possibly Bakkies
2 Oct 2011, 21:02 pm
Where you been reechie!
2 Oct 2011, 21:02 pm
@carol(carol)-263:
Yes thank you daaarlin
2 Oct 2011, 21:03 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-265:
yes that is an option I agree I do feel he is a better player when he is not captain (see matfield to ) plus him and Brussow are already doing Spies’s job
2 Oct 2011, 21:04 pm
New job, less time for online activities
@mako(mako)-264:
tell me which other hooker is playing at the RWC who routinely bounces three defenders off of him whenever he gets the ball, what other hooker wins even half the turnovers bismarck does, combine all of that with his sheer physical condition and fitness – and please show me, which forward, let alone hooker is even close. He is the ideal hooker – he tackles, carries, fetchers, cleans and is as agressive as all hell.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-261: Coach a great scrum but heres a question, “what do you sacrifice by bringing Smittie in for Bissie in the way of hooking?” and a second question is ” what do you think Smittie versus Bissie contributes to the team by bringing in his leadership? ”
I believe Smittie brings in more by way of captaincy as overall gain than we lose by having him hooking instead of Bissie. We are talking about 1/8 of the scrum versus 1/2 or 3 in terms of captaincy as there are only 1 or 2 others who can lead. I know that you cannot look at it purely in those ratio terms but we have to maintain perspective as to the relative strengths of players.
2 Oct 2011, 21:05 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-265: If Schalk makes the final (assuming we make the final)… I’ll be impressed. The intensity of play is surely impossible for one man to sustain for 3 games on the trot.
My fear is that he blew it all against Samoa & his performance will suffer. Nothing wrong in subbing him with Alberts though…
2 Oct 2011, 21:05 pm
Have heard nothing from the sods critisizing Danie for a while now. Best player of the tournament so far imo, at worst one of the contenders. Never bet against the Danies in SA making an impact when relied upon, real patriotism can lift a man to great heights normally beyond reach. Bakkies should not get a sniff.
When our backline has gotten the ball, which has not been often, it has looked pretty promising. With the limited intelligence of the two making the calls in that department I’m not holding my breath on a change in tactics though. PdV only has to get one call right – start Bismarck. I’d prefer Guthro in front of Beast too, but that’s not going to influence the result.
Off topic, but can anyone tell me how Marius Goosen is doing? If looked after he’ll be a great, no question.
2 Oct 2011, 21:06 pm
Cab, Andrew Hore
2 Oct 2011, 21:06 pm
Kick and chase rugby only works when forwards are dominating and you are getting plenty of ball.
2 Oct 2011, 21:07 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-266:
For me, the issue we have with counter rucks, is that we don’t.
2 Oct 2011, 21:07 pm
That injury looked nasty.
2 Oct 2011, 21:08 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-275:
fantastic player, not in the league of bismark, and mealamu is better cos he’s agressive clearing is unbelievable and the reason nz get such quick ball to attack with – nz still pick genuine tightforwards, all 5 of them.
2 Oct 2011, 21:09 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-272:
Yes I do ask the question about leadership and have been for some time
I recognize his leadership but his work rate to Bissy does not compare
So agreed its a tough one, and I believe Smit is going to start with Bissy coming on at about 50 min mark
2 Oct 2011, 21:10 pm
@cab(cab)-271: Yeah but how much more effective is a hooker who puts another player into space instead of boumcing off 3 players. i agree if you have to take contact you want to dominate but dont see that as more beneficial to keeping continuity and pressure on the opposition by keeping the ball moving. Unfortunately us Saffas focus on the domination through contact rather than looking for and using the space on the field. Of course you do create space when taking 3 or 4 players out of the equation but you also run the risk of losing the ball in contact.
2 Oct 2011, 21:10 pm
@David(David)-277:
We are going to have to to win This is why we need Alberts at 8
Plus he carries the ball across advantage line and he tackles
Spies does not of that
2 Oct 2011, 21:12 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-281:
u talking about backline players or schalk brits, those are nice-to-have’s, but the reason oz will beat us is the lack of sheer vokmaarvoort grunt upfront, as they;ve done repeatedly over the last 2 years, we dont need the thinkers in our pack, the ozzies backs will outthink our whole team 5 times over, just moer them stukkend.
2 Oct 2011, 21:12 pm
@carol(carol)-263:
You enjoying the RWC ?
2 Oct 2011, 21:13 pm
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-274: Only wish that Danie would transfer the ball into the trailing arm when going into contact. He makes me nervous whenever we play the big sides as he loses the ball in contact too often for such a powerful ball carrier. Would have him as my 8th man though and replace Bakkies with him later on with Alberts coming on at 8th man
2 Oct 2011, 21:13 pm
271.cab
Firstly, how many of those attributes that you mentioned are the main function of a hooker? Sounds to me like you are describing a flank. Secondly he is playing short roles, so his energy levels are higher than those around him. Have you seen him bouncing three defenders off himself for 80 minutes?
Please don’t misunderstand me. I think Bissie is a great player, and a brilliant impact player. In that position he looks a world beater. However I think that if an international poll was held he would not be picked as the World’s best hooker as you are saying here, as if it were a God given fact.
The main thing that is going to set the Boks apart from the rest of the sides over the next two weeks is the quality of our squad. When we have used our bench our team has strengthened, rather than weakend. Other teams are the other way around. Injury to players therefore is a bigger deal for other sides, the depth of quality in our squad is unmatched. It is almost impossible to get through a tournament as tough as this without injuries, and they will take their toll.
2 Oct 2011, 21:16 pm
@mako(mako)-286:
we need tightforwards mate, why u think we getting no go-forward with smit, matfield and spies there? put it this way, if you were a forward playing for oz, who would you rather face, smit or bismarck, and that is the nub of it. Its an easy decision.
2 Oct 2011, 21:16 pm
Cab, problem with Bismarck is Smit is a stronger scrummager – opponents and fellow Bok frontrowers agree. In the first 50 mins you need solid tight phases; once the opposition are run off their feet you can afford to bring on Bissie who may be less technically strong in the scrums, but gets to all the rucks and can make the turnovers, tacklesn and ball carries. Watch Mealamu on Sunday – he’ll be exposed by the Argentinian front row. NZ have the same hooker dilemna
2 Oct 2011, 21:18 pm
@cab(cab)-283: I think we can have both Cabbie. Domination in the tackle situation and getting quick ball has as much to do with ball placement in the tackle as it does with looking for support players 2 things I think Bissie does not do well. Bissie has little concern for continuity, he only thinks about domination is my point and he would be devastating if he developed the spatial awareness to offload to supporting runners. I do love his sheer power and strength and athelticism but rugby is played with the brains as well.
2 Oct 2011, 21:20 pm
Anycase guys was great chatting again as usual. Have a great week all and sundry and heres to the Bokke winning handsomely on Sunday.
2 Oct 2011, 21:22 pm
@jocuba(jocuba)-259:
my mate has had two sleigh rides from a 180 kg grey shark in the last two weeks as it grabbed his snoek on the buoy and ran wit him and the fish lmao!
i had to practically beat off a po of dolphins to keep my snoek.
my mates got some nice garrick today.
anyways, i am off.
keep well all.
2 Oct 2011, 21:23 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-288:
if you dont pick mealamu like at the last one, you okes are even more dof than i thought, tho henry has cottoned onto that. Hore is a fantastic player, but what all u okes miss is the physicality that a genuine mullet tight-forward brings to the game, it sets up the entire thing. Mealamu has got two left feet, can throw, cant scrum (supposedly), and dont put ppl into space – leave him out at your peril.
you watch that bugger he is into everything, he and thorne, hit mauls and clean players off the ball from minute 1 to 80, which is why there is no faster ball anywhere in world rugby and its why NZ backline, as good as it is, can incinerate sides.
2 Oct 2011, 21:25 pm
Johann Goosen is definitely top notch Bok FH material his concussion when he ran smack onto Tautes head looked severe I hope it don’t dampen his potential. He could step up to international level almost immediately just like Frans Steyn and Lambie did that’s how good he is.
You wanna win this Wc you start and play Bismark at least 80% of the game that’s how you win it.. Not by carrying a palooka passenger like Smit.
Smit AND FDP are the proponents of kick chase rugby not Matfield or Morne Steyn.. That’s why under Smit Boks haven’t smelled a decent win ANYWHERE since 2009.
This mako fool wanna win the WC then you play Steenkamp, Bismark, Brussow, Bakkies, Roussow, Alberts, Burger in your run on team
NOT Beast, Smit, Spies or perhaps even Matfield.. But I run on with Matfield Alberts and Bismark LONG before I run on with Smit AND Spies.
Smit has NOT WON a decent international game of rugby SINCE 2009. WHAT makes you think he’s about to suddenly start now?… Matfield HAS !!
2 Oct 2011, 21:27 pm
can throw = can;t throw, neither can hore, and its the one area of bismarck’s game that is not as good as smit’s. smit however was very poor at it when he started his career too.
we need tightforwards who can play tight coalface rugby, not darts throwers, maradonna’s or flhalf playmakers – there’s a place for skill too, but its not a pre-requisite for the tight stuff. look at those paddy’s and italians today, their tight 5s look like clan of the cave bear.
we used to have the ugliest hairy arsed nastiest mofos in the business, now they all great thinkers.
neefok, asb terug where are the neanderthals?
2 Oct 2011, 21:30 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-291:
night danger.
2 Oct 2011, 21:31 pm
Cab, I completely agree. Mealamu is a mongrel and will smash anybody in the tight for 80 minutes, but the real magic is between 50 and 60 minutes when Graham Henry sees the opposition is dragging arse and sends on his subs. He realises the opposition tight 5 are not getting to the rucks and brings on somebody like Hore who prefers to play loose (much like Bissie). That’s why the likes of Bissie and Hore make great advantage gains, clear rucks effectively, get high tackle counts, scorr tries, and get turnovers – guys like Smit and Mealamu have already worn down the opposition. Hore/Bissie don’t have the same effect playing the full 80
2 Oct 2011, 21:32 pm
@cab(cab)-279: NZ have two good international quality hookers in Mealamu and Hore, but I think most Kiwi’s would love to have Bismark in the AB’s. He’s a step above the two Kiwi’s in physicality and contribution at the breakdown/on the gain line.
I was musing last night about what a combined AB and Bok side would look like. I would go for something like this – based on players who are likely to be available for selection for the first QF.
1. Woodcock
2. Bismark
3. Jannie
4. Rossouw
5. Thorn
6. Kaino (This is the SA No.7 position)
7. Brussow
8. [Richie, Schalck, Read, Spies, it doesn't really matter cos put Kaino and Brussow together and any other back row is going get monstered]
9. ???? Problem position for both sides
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. Nonu
13. Fourie
14. Dagg
15 Mils (Captain)
It is a conservative side, but the forward pack would be strong enough to get them on the front foot against any opposition. As a consequence, Morne would be happy to be more of a distributor rather than lurking deep in the pocket.
2 Oct 2011, 21:33 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-296:
tjesus christus richie, smit aint anything like mealamu. bismarck is like mealamu, but has hore’s fetching, he is the complete hooker.
2 Oct 2011, 21:34 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-293: that is a scary strong ruin on forward pack, and I sincerely hope the AB’s don’t face it this year!
2 Oct 2011, 21:34 pm
Ask Nick Mallet today whether he thinks he did the right thing dropping Teich from the Bok captaincy just before the world cup in 99. He will tell you he made a mistake. Your Captain is the glue that holds the team together, and nobody can do that job better than John Smit. Robbie Deans has made a major blunder changing his skipper just before this WC. As time will show.
Bissie does a great job off the bench, Smittie is doing a great job starting.
@ 293.ashampoopaloo:
Gow up dude, you are not the only person allowed an opinion in the world, nobody is calling you a fool, but your emotions are running away with you. Take a deep breath….
2 Oct 2011, 21:36 pm
Seriaas talk!
2 Oct 2011, 21:39 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-297:
both great players, mealamu is still a monster in the tightloose tho – i’d even be very tempted to play him over bismarck, its just so important. Thorne’s the other one, you’ve got 2 of them, who just clean self-effacingly and under the radar, for the entire game, non-stop and at full intensity – and that is the ABs unsung strength – that is where the danny boys of the rugby world get to create their magic off of. Franks is another dynamic young tightfoward, so probably 3 of them. Woodcock is getting on a bit and is more of an enforce nowadays in the bakkies mould, but its a perfect balance, with the other young fetcher lock whitelock who is also into everything.
2 Oct 2011, 21:40 pm
Bismark, Brussow Danie and Burger in forwards were the reason we went into half time 13-0 up against Samoa.. Had Smit started we would have gone in trailing almost guaranteed because was exactly Bismark and Brussow did ALL the ball steal and breakdown work.. Smit would have been NOWHERE vs Samoa I am 100% convinced we would have Lost had Smit started against Samoa.. And because we going to start Smit AND Spies vs Aussie I reckon that’s our WC chances done.. That’s how little confidence I have of this team with Smit at the helm.
His results the last two years spell out his hopelessness without ANY shadows of ANY DOUBTS.. Start Smit vs Aussie we on a handicap before we start.. That’s a fact.
Bismark and Brussow put us in the pound seats at half time Friday sufficient to see out and defend the tenuous lead.. Smit would have Lost the game absolutely no doubts..!!
2 Oct 2011, 21:44 pm
So Dawn, how about a Scotch for old times?
2 Oct 2011, 21:45 pm
@cab(cab)-302: Thorn and Woodcock still seem a bit short of their 2010 form, but I am hoping that they have 3 big games left in them! The fact that both Read and McCaw will be short of 100% due to injuries makes it all the more important our tight 5 fires.
If only Crockett was prepared to play both TH and loosehead – I have no confidence in Ben Franks off the bench, our scrum blows up when he comes on.
Assuming we both get to the semi’s,
, I think it will be an extremely close game.
2 Oct 2011, 21:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-303: Boks would certainly be foolish to write the Aussie’s off, regardless of which team you put out. The Aussies are capable of taking a stuffing in the forwards, but still managing to scrap a win with some clever back play, an intercept, and a penalty or two. Particulary as the Aussies have a track record of ref’s protecting their powder puff scrum – while the Boks might dominate them in a fair contest, refs often seem to ping dominant Bok, Kiwi and English scrums when sticking it to the Aussies.
2 Oct 2011, 21:48 pm
303.ashampoopaloo:
Are you psychic or something? How can you know that we would have lost if Smit had started? You only can know what did happen, and to be honest I expected more from Bismark. He got his chance to play in the run on side, that he has been asking for. He didn’t exactly set the world on fire. He played a good solid game, just as John Smit has been doing, but was nowhere near the same player as he is when he comes off the bench 60 minutes in.
I think Bissie is a very good player, and I think PDivvy is using him in exactly the right way. I don’t think we were ever going to lose to Samoa, we played much better rugby than them. They just rattled us with their gangster tactics when they realised that they were never going to win.
2 Oct 2011, 21:49 pm
So, anybody want to put money on the Pocock/Brussouw battle?
2 Oct 2011, 21:49 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-305:
Thorn is still the best lockforward in rugby – we just need Bakkies for 40min in this RWC, and its against Thorn. McCaw is not the force he once was, much like us he’s there for sentimentality reasons and no-one really else of his pedigree, but he’s going to be outdone by both pocock and brussow. He’s only real contribution is his cheating, which is huge, tho you might prefer the term ‘guile’.
2 Oct 2011, 21:51 pm
Cheers richie am already having one!
2 Oct 2011, 21:51 pm
Guys, the debate about Smit versus Bismark is one based on tactics and effectiveness, with an arguement for both. My problem is at 8, with absolutely no advantage or justification for Spies. Against Australia, we all know that Cooper is a danger but also vulnerable under pressure. Does anyone believe that Spies can assist Brussouw in closing him down?
The ABs pose a similar problem. Slade is a rookie and attacking him will cause them problems whilst Nonu is the danger in the 12/10 channel. Does anyone believe that Steyn or Spies will close it?
2 Oct 2011, 21:57 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:
what ‘hurt’ do you refer to, Kat ?
dont assume everyone moans incessantly like Chip Nation.
Remember when Carl Who’man signed his mercenary allegiance to Toulon ? The “hurt” lasted all of 0.5secs. The ABs immediately found a new hero in young Franks’enstein. It would work perfectly for all teams to now assume there was a weakness in the AB machine, in a position where previously there was none. Scroll back a few pages (6-12mths) and you might nb I said this AB team needed a controversy or major injury for them to take on that demented attitude that will turn them in to a beast. Remember the analogies that referred to Simon Culhane in 1996, a player of even less natural ability than young Slade ? well Chip Nation and their Chumpion team got their @RRRRRSES handed to them that day too.
Keep chip’ping away at the coalface. We just found ourselves a new diamond. I back Slade, Cruden, Weepu or the Cookie Monster in the no10 Black. The quicker opposition teams ***’ume this AB team is weaker, the sooner they’ll get their oversized gobs stapled firmly shut.
2 Oct 2011, 21:58 pm
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-306: The truth, yes.
2 Oct 2011, 21:59 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-312: Cough…cough
2 Oct 2011, 22:00 pm
The first thing we need to worry about is beating the Aussies. They are vulnerable right now, and if our forwards can dominate them the way they should, then they will battle. Cooper doesn’t look good when they are getting drilled up front. As much as he is a game winner for them, he can lose them the game as well.
A lot will come down to Brussow VS Pocock. I think Brussow is the better fetcher, and will be supported by a more physical pack. Pocock has just missed quite a bit of rugby and doesn’t have the physical support from his players. The Aussie backline are not so frightening when they are being battered up front, if you saw the Ireland game you will remember well that they looked quite clueless at times.
2 Oct 2011, 22:00 pm
Jissus panther keep up man
You always 200 posts too late
2 Oct 2011, 22:02 pm
@David(David)-311: Dave. Starting Alberts at 8 and letting Spies come on as a sub gives us an explosive option in Spies when legs are tired, and Alberts helps make legs tired faster.
I worry very much about our 9 & 10 defensive channel against the big 12′s like Nonu, Roberts, etc. Alberts is critical to plug the hole. Spies simply can’t tackle.
Bismark must start. Finished and klaar.
2 Oct 2011, 22:02 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-312:
Make up your mind about a new diamond. Is it Slade, Cruden, Weepu or “the cookie monster”?
2 Oct 2011, 22:04 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-312: This post is for you and no one else. I share your moment of pain, my thoughts are with you
Lyrics
Oh Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountain side
The summer’s gone, and all the flowers are dying
‘Tis you, ’tis you must go and I must bide.
But come ye back when summer’s in the meadow
Or when the valley’s hushed and white with snow
‘Tis I’ll be here in sunshine or in shadow
Oh Danny boy, oh Danny boy, I love you so.
And if you come, when all the flowers are dying
And I am dead, as dead I well may be
You’ll come and find the place where I am lying
And kneel and say an “Ave” there for me.
And I shall hear, tho’ soft you tread above me
And all my dreams will warm and sweeter be
If you’ll not fail to tell me that you love me
I’ll simply sleep in peace until you come to me.
2 Oct 2011, 22:04 pm
We need Brussow and Biz to “fetch” against Pocock.
And we need Alberts, Brussow to pressurize Cooper, and shut down Genia.
I think we can win it. But not by skop &charge.
2 Oct 2011, 22:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-316: Speak slowly because he cannot hear fast
2 Oct 2011, 22:05 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-317:
Hey Soda Howzit
2 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
why do england always beat australia?
the only space thomson’s put anyone into lately is the pint and pie in his boep.
2 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-317:
As I mentioned earlier, I’d play Schalk at 8, where he can be a destructive force in defence from the back of the scrum and Alberts at 7.
2 Oct 2011, 22:07 pm
Smit would have lost vs Samoa same as he would have lost vs Wales if Bismark and Alberts didn’t swing ENTIRE momentum around from an absolute diabolical losing backward momentum under Smit to a winning one once he was OFF the field… Don’t need to be a rocket scientist to see momentum swing on a rugby field..
Smit is actually a very POOR captain else his results last 2 years would not read Lost 8 vs from 9 starts in tri nations and only win was when he went OFF at Loftus .. 2010 sme as he went OFF vs Wales in pool game so that Bismark and Alberts and Hougaard could save the game from an absolute certain LOSS under his diabolical captaincy..
Those punting the Teichmann theory talk absolute krap.. because teichman led a team to 17 wins on the trot to be axed ahead of a WC.. without an alternative..
Smit has LOST the last 10 from 11 tests under his leadership starting vs France / Ireland 2009 through tri nations 2010 and 2011 .. hardly a winning legacy AT ALL
Matfield has a FAR better test record in recent times.. winning vs AB’s in 2011 and WINNING vs Aussie at Loftus in 2010 and winning vs Wales and Ireland and England in 2010 Eoyt…
So this red herring that everyone wanna try sell you that Smit is PARAMOUNT to boks leadership is biggest load of hogwash garbage.. he has NOT WON ANY meaningful test under his so called leadership in 2 whole years and if he had stayed on the field vs Wales in pool game this WC we would have LOST without a shadow of ANY doubt whatsoever…
@David(David)-318:
Weepu is a prop
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-317: Agree on Alberts/Spies, disagree on Bismark/Smit.
You need Bismark and Spies both coming on with 25-30 mins left – Hougard as well. This is when the tired legs and bodies start leaving gaps on the field and the faster fresher players can make an impression.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-320: No we need to play direct, like we did against Fiji
2 Oct 2011, 22:08 pm
@David(David)-318: Piri Weepu IS the cookie monster! He makes Moa (the Samoan HB) look trim!
2 Oct 2011, 22:08 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-322: Hello Baywatch. Things good over in East Bay?
Enjoying the rugby? I am using Universal Sports web, fkn rip off. But will likely pay another $10 to watch on big screen this coming weekend SA vs Aus.
How do you think we will do?
2 Oct 2011, 22:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-325: Ja, yawn, ja and its all Dippy Divvies fault for being too weak and shitscared to stick it to “Plod”, hey?
2 Oct 2011, 22:09 pm
How’s this one:
“A man never got a woman back
By begging on his knees
But I’ll crawl to you baby
And I’ll fall at your feet
And I’ll howl at your beauty
Like a dog in heat
And I’ll claw at your heart
And tear at your sheets”
2 Oct 2011, 22:10 pm
Kick and chase is the only game plan we have. Problem against Wales and Samoa was that it was not executed correctly by the players meaning FdP and MS. The chasers were also not doing there bit by chasing hard and putting the catcher under pressure. That is if you believe PdV after his statement last week that the Boks only have one game plan.
Check out how Spies jogged towards the Samoan full back after an uppie by FdP in the 19th minute. He is on the left covering for Habana who is trapped in the ruck. That incident right there also illustrates the bad option taking by our players. Why would you launch an uppie if your best chaser is not in a position to chase?.
The winner of the battle between Pocock and Brussow will win the match for his team. I don’t know that Brussow “lost” any of his battles against Pocock yet.
2 Oct 2011, 22:10 pm
Skop, do us all a favour and get a frontal labotomy
2 Oct 2011, 22:11 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-326: Ricky January’s double
2 Oct 2011, 22:12 pm
At this stage of the contest you have to pick your best and strongest players
Alberts and Bismark are stronger and better than Spies and Bismark full stop
Captain? not sure
Russouw has to most likely come on for bakkies
bench IMO 5-2 split with both props there back up hooker, not sure
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-322: Howzit Baywatch. How’s the East Bay?
How are you watching the rugby?
Start Smit FdP and Spies vs Australia and we going in 20% under par and ASKING for them to take us apart.. Genia will own FdP and Higginbottom or Samo will own Spies… and moore will own Smit
You wanna beat Australia then START your best team.. that means
START.. Gurthro, Bismark, Jannie, Roussow, Matfield, Brussow, Burger, Alberts…
unfortunately Hougaard is now injured so no choice to start FdP but NO KICK and CHASE tactics… Morne, Habana, JdV, Fourie, JPP, Lambie
Bench: Beast, Smit, CJ, Louw, Spies, De Jongh / Butch, Aplon
2 Oct 2011, 22:13 pm
@David(David)-318:
the diamond is the Black jersey. Whichever name who fills it matters not.
Kia KAHA !
2 Oct 2011, 22:13 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-332: Hellsteeth
2 Oct 2011, 22:14 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-330:
I am using Vipbox.tv and if working out fine
some times I hook up the laptop to big screen .
East bay ok Work is foking slow
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-338: Braindead Dippy for starting “Plod”, hey?
@Dawn(Dawn)-332:
Geez Dawn
@David(David)-324: Dave. I said it to you before. Schalk’s a poor 8 imo, Alberts is very good 8, and Schalk’s form at 7 is a revelation.
@JL1(JL1)-328: Surrey Boy. We only know how to play direct, but kicking down the Aussies throats will lose us the game, so some kind of variation is going to be neccessary.
2 Oct 2011, 22:15 pm
@JL1(JL1)-319:
not clever enough to express the gloating in your own words ?
2 Oct 2011, 22:15 pm
@nama1(nama1)-333: Yes, option taking is an issue
Brossow and Pocock can only operate when the tight five produce the goods, hence I say lets have Jannie, Smit, Guthro Bakkies, Danie or Alberts
2 Oct 2011, 22:16 pm
Although I think the Boks need to be wary of Aus, you should win it because the Aussie’s can’t kick their goals whereas Morne will bang over 90% of his, plus a drop goal or two for good measure.
I agree with Panther that the AB’s needed something like the loss of Carter to get them to circle the wagons and play like the under dog. While I am gutted for him and for our chances, I always had a fear he would limp off at some point in the tournament (he has been injury prone since he did his achilles in Toulouse). I am actually feeling relieved that his has happened early enough for us to bring Cruden in and build our game plan around the 3 guys we’ve got (Slade, Cruden and Weepu).
If Henry starts with Slade against Argentina, which I think he will, I sincerely hope he has both Weepu and Cruden on the bench. We really need to see Cruden get a bit of game time, so as long as we are ahead with 50 mins to go, I would like to see Cruden take over from Slade with Weepu perhaps taking over as half back at that point to get the provincial and super 15 partnership going.
2 Oct 2011, 22:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-332:
Come sail your ships around me
And burn your bridges down.
We make a little history baby
Every time you come around.
Come loose your dogs upon me
And let your hair hang down.
You are a little mystery to me
We talk about it all night long
We define our moral ground.
But when I crawl into your arms
Everything comes tumbling down.
Come sail your ships around me
And burn your bridges down.
We make a little history baby
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-338:
Skoppie may need extra lock there or loose forward hence maybe 5-2 split ?
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-345: No gloating, will love to kick your backsides with Danny boy available
2 Oct 2011, 22:18 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-336: Pete I ahve always preferred Oom Danie to Braindead Bakkies.
2 Oct 2011, 22:18 pm
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-334: why don’t you go get fucked schmuck or else go fck yourself seems that what you needing right now…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-331: you too schmuckface.. Smitty fckarse apologist that you are…
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-336:
CAptain best choice is actually JdV but nobody gonna buy it.. but that is the BEST possible choice for captain with this lot.. Next best Matfield.. NOT Burger or FdP…
Smit is NOT best in his position and should therefore NOT start hence he forfeits captaincy simple as that… any way his Captaincy cred is shot to ribbons… his win / loss ratio the last 2 years is worse than dog sh’t and yet everyone still reckons he has so much influence on a winning performance when EVERY time he’s led the team in recent times He’s LOST… Go f’ng figure..
2 Oct 2011, 22:19 pm
@David(David)-311:
I believe that we are going to play tight from here on end. Definitely not the kind of tactics that suit Spies. Alberts has not proven to me that he is as effective as a starter as he has been as an impact player. I’ll rather play Danie at 8 if Bakkies is fit and use Alberts in exactly the same the way as he has been used up to now.
Use Spies to hold the tackle bags together with Pienaar, Butch, Ndungane and Kirchner.
2 Oct 2011, 22:19 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-330:
I think we can win with right players
I think we need to watch the irish/Oz game
Basically dominate with the forwards and play for field position
kick those penalties starve cooper and run the good ball
2 Oct 2011, 22:21 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-332:
Yes Dawn, women can be bad for a man, check this one:
She’s got everything she needs
She’s an artist, she don’t look back
She’s got everything she needs
She’s an artist, she don’t look back
She can take the dark out of nighttime
And paint the daytime black.
You will start out standing
Proud to steal her anything she sees
You will start out standing
Proud to steal her anything she sees
But you will wind up peeking through her keyhole
Down upon your knees.
She never stumbles
She’s got no place to fall
She never stumbles
She’s got no place to fall
She’s nobody’s child
The Law can’t touch her at all.
She wears an Egyptian ring
That sparkles before she speaks
She wears an Egyptian ring
That sparkles before she speaks
She’s a hypnotist collector
You are a walking antique.
Bow down to her on Sunday
Salute her when her birthday comes
Bow down to her on Sunday
Salute her when her birthday comes
For Halloween buy her a trumpet
And for Christmas, give it a drum.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-349: I think Alberts can move to lock, as can Schalk. I like Flo ahead of the Brainfart. Pace baby pace.
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-347: Never has the ABs had this flyhalf issue before to deal with, may be good enough for one game, but Slade is hardly a rock
2 Oct 2011, 22:22 pm
And they can make you desperate and confused.:
Like in here:
I’m walkin’ through streets that are dead
Walkin’, walkin’ with you in my head
My feet are so tired
My brain is so wired
And the clouds are weepin’.
Did I hear someone tell a lie?
Did I hear someone’s distant cry?
I spoke like a child
You destroyed me with a smile
While I was sleepin’.
I’m sick of love that I’m in the thick of it
This kind of love, I’m so sick of it.
I see, I see lovers in the meadow
I see, I see silhouettes in the window
I’ll watch them ’til they’re gone
And they leave me hangin’ on
To a shadow.
I’m sick of love, I hear the clock tick
This kind of love, ah, I’m love sick.
Sometimes the silence can be like thunder
Sometimes I wanna take to the road and plunder
Could you ever be true
I think of you
And I wonder.
I’m sick of love, I wish I’d never met you
I’m sick of love, I’m tryin’ to forget you.
Just don’t know what to do
I’d give anything to
Be with you.
2 Oct 2011, 22:22 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-354: I think Wales are going to donder Ireland big time.
I think we have a mountain to climb to beat Australia. If we do, we can beat NZ without Dan The Man.
2 Oct 2011, 22:23 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-352:
Yes i think we talked about this, and yes Jdv but withim nearly out and stey at 12 would he get that respect still
You know Pdv likes matfield . His game goes south when he captains and seems to take any call against boks personally
Not Pdp or Skalk then them play their game dont nee d that distraction
Maybe no captain captain by commitee
2 Oct 2011, 22:23 pm
@JL1(JL1)-350:
youre right, that was reduced to the ‘Hope’ category quite some time ago.
Just like ‘hoping’ the RWC’11 would be a disaster for NZ for years leading up to the Opening Ceremony. And just when you thought Gloating Rights were finally yours, the Best RWC Ever kicked off.
Keep hoping. Keep Googling for another song to express emotions that explain your own cerebral void.
Because we’re loving it.
2 Oct 2011, 22:24 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-358: Dawnie’s going to open a bottle of rooi and wonder where all the good men went.
Skop, how many times are you going to repeat yourself before you change tactic and start making sense?
This the team to take Aussie
Gurthro, Bismark, Jannie
Danie, Matfield
Brussow, Schalk, Alberts
FdP (unfortunately, wish there was another option but there ain’t)
Morne
Habana, JdV, Fourie, JPP
Lambie / Aplon
Beast, Smit, CJ, Louw, Spies, De Jongh, Aplon / Lambie (Pienaar if we going to have to cover 9)
2 Oct 2011, 22:25 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-360: I am with Skop it should be Jean, but it will be Matfield. And that’s not the end of the world.
The end of the world is Smit starting.
Ok, sort of.
2 Oct 2011, 22:25 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-351:
I like Danie off the bench but he has played well starting
I still like a 100% fit Bakkies sorry my man
2 Oct 2011, 22:27 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-364:
We have to cover 9 skoppie if Hougaard is out i am afraid its Ruan there
2 Oct 2011, 22:28 pm
1. Guthro
2. Biz
3. Jannie
4. Danie
5. Matfield (c)
6. The Diamond
7. Schalk
8. Alberts
9. FdP
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. Jean
13. Fourie
14. JPP
15 Lambie (great game last week).
16. Smit
17. Beast
18. CJ
19. Flo
20 Spies
21. Frankie Goes To Hollywood
22. De Jongh
2 Oct 2011, 22:28 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-367: I think Frankie’s ok.
2 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-344:
I’m looking at this tactically. Schalk may not be the worlds best 8, but it’s the best position for him and the Boks against the Wobblies and ABs, in my opinion.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-369:
Not sure concussions require at least 2 weeks of no contact
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-361: Just a hint of denial and a slight almost imperceptible crack in your voice.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-371: confirmed Pete?
2 Oct 2011, 22:31 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-325:
“Those punting the Teichmann theory talk absolute krap.. because teichman led a team to 17 wins on the trot to be axed ahead of a WC..”
not correct skop…
that 17 game run ended on 5 Dec 98… then we played 7 won 3 between then and the wc in 99…
so untrue to say teich won 17 on the trot and then got dropped…
@David(David)-370: Dave. We are jus going to have to agree to disagree. But it’s really shades vs black & white between us.
Hey man, haven’t picked up any threads yet. What I do have to say is this: Play Butch at 10. Only guy who can really intimidate Cooper and prevent them from attacking that channel. Now that Frans no longer next to him, MS gonna **** bricks if they target him, okay. Come now……..
2 Oct 2011, 22:32 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-368:
Dejong just a center so if you go 5-2 it maybe Aplon, or butch
2 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-377:
Well not Butch lambie covers 10
2 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-376: Not the worst idea.
2 Oct 2011, 22:34 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-377: Butch would be ok too.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-361: World Cup’s are usually better than the previous ones. If we were to host the next World Cup I have no doubt it would be considered the best one. That doesn’t take anything away from previous ones, it’s just these tournaments get bigger every time. Still, South Africa (Cape Town mainly
) is widely regarded as one of the best destinations to travel to and for us to trump Germany in a football world cup was something special. I am extremely proud of South Africa and while I dream of visiting New Zealand to see it’s natural beauty particularly (I’m a Zoologist and have watched Lord of the Rings), I’ll never believe it would be capable of creating an atmosphere South Africa can, sorry.
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-376:
yeah Butch could decapitate him that will take care of Cooper quick
2 Oct 2011, 22:35 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-368: Same team except Aplon and JdJ on bench but then we got no scrummie in reserve so has to be Pienaar unfortunately.. which case I probably go Pienaar / Aplon on bench which is tough call because De Jongh offers a lot more than he’s been given credit for.
2 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-378: I think Lambie might have made 15 his for good. Very brave in every way. Good positional sense, can kick, not the quickest but outstanding rugby brain makes up for a lot.
2 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
Shame I think we should lighten up on the guys.
2 Oct 2011, 22:37 pm
@JL1(JL1)-346:
I think not enough credit has been given to Jannie Dup so far. He is doing a good job and if he breaks down now, we will be in big poo.
I hope he will last another 240 minutes. That is… if we go all the way.
You’ll drop Victor?
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-365:
“The end of the world is Smit starting”
The end of the world is October 21 if you believe that American evangelist.
2 Oct 2011, 22:39 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-383: I have not heard that Frankie Goes To Hollywood is out yet? So he’s my scrummie.
De Jongh or Butch for me Vs Gio.
2 Oct 2011, 22:39 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-384:
Yes I have no problems with lambie at 15. it appears M steyn is our future 12 so we need a steady 15 like lambie. and taute as back up. i would consider aplon instead of Habana because aplon is like an adittional 15
Habana is not cutting it either
2 Oct 2011, 22:40 pm
@David(David)-324: This whole Spies debate is getting stale. Spies is the 8, and unless he gets injured, he will be 8. Simple. If all the coaches he’s played under think he is the best, what makes you think he is not? You have preconceived ideas about the man. Is it because he is a Bull? Or a Christian?
Stop knocking players. And if you do, do it, and move on. To carry on and on and on about the same story will come to nothing. Smit has been taken to the cleaners and back thousands of times, yet he is still there. Same with Morne Steyn, Spies, Frans Steyn, Habana. Jeepers, get over it. Say your say about a player and then move on. The same bloggers are saying the same things about the same players over and over.
A while back Rossouw was the man. Then he became k@k, now he is a hero again. Frans was fat and slow and who knows what else. Now the tears are flowing for him. Morne was soo faarken useless, and Butch was a certainty for the 10 jersey. Go read on stuff what the kiwi’s say about Morne. The list can go on and on.
We all have our favourite players and our reasons why they should be in a team. I’m cool with that. Slamming the same players constantly, that is getting too much.
Final word on Spies. He plays 99% of the games for 80 minutes. He is constantly good. He worked very hard on his tight facets. He controls the ball behind the scrum, he is a great line-out option, he keeps 2-3 defenders busy, he chases well, and his defense has improved 100%.
I think it was you that asked about his stats a few days ago? Go google it. Can’t remember the website, will check), The last I checked his tackle completion rate was 84%, That was in the top 5, and the number of tackles he made was also in the top 5. Now, as you know, stats can be misleading. The point is that Spies is hammered unfairly on numerous occasions. He is a vital part of the Bok team. Only if we lose him will people realize his value. Until then, one can only speculate.
2 Oct 2011, 22:41 pm
@ufo(ufo)-374: Mallet was mesmerized by Skinstadts abilities and lost his team ethics because of it..
Smit brings no team ethic cohesiveness to this team otherwise he would have WON the past 2 years tri nations instead of LOSING EVERY single meaningful game he’s captained.. even at HOME.. losing on his 100th game and the rest and showing the WORLD he don’t have what it takes to lead a team from the front convincingly any more…
Matfield has FAR better international and S14/15 leadership credential than Smit has in EVERY respect.. SMIT has only Lost in the last two years.. when was the LAST time he actually WON a test against strong opposition.. 2009 is a long time ago..
2 Oct 2011, 22:41 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-383:
Yes a very good player jdj but just a center
I am afraid it maybe Ruan if Hougaard is not right
How about starting Aplon for habana?
2 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm
Ashampoopaloo364; what the fluck got into you man- Morne at 10???????
Also, get Smit on , let him bleed after 10 min, then bring on Bissy. If his so called leadership is then still required, bring him back on if you have to. Anyway, that’s how I used to coach rugger in my day!!!!!
2 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm
@nama1(nama1)-386: I agree with you on Jannie Dup, he is having a great tournament.
I don’t believe any American Evangelists.
2 Oct 2011, 22:43 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-388: Please tell me you think Frans Steyn is our future 12 not Morne.
2 Oct 2011, 22:44 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-389:
We know he will start yes but he is not playing well and we need a strong # 8 with Skalk and Brussow A Spies playing amazingly well is fine yes but he is not at all we all can see that
2 Oct 2011, 22:44 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-389: the whole point of this site is for people to have opinions. Including you.
2 Oct 2011, 22:45 pm
The worst commentators I ever heard was Wales against Fiji. Those kiwis never stopped! They had a clear agenda against Barnes. Why? Well, we all know why. And to top it all, they started complaining about forward passes! Kiwis complaining about forward passes! The Masters of forward passes moaning? Was shocking really. The fact that it was a WC game, watched by millions all over the world, makes it worse. They know that many many people had no idea why they kept on talking about forward passes and Barnes. So all those people think they are speaking the gospel about Barnes and forward passes.
Shocking.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-387: Hougaard got concussed mandatory 2 week recovery period I heard… Aplon covers 15, 14 and any other back line position barring half back though he might even be able to cover 9 at a push.. Habana used to play scrummie at school at worst case he can slot in at 9
Though Pienaar is most versatile cover option for 9 and Aplon covers more possibility than De Jongh and has better hands better boot and more speed..
So its Aplon / Butch and Pienaar on bench.. De Jongh unfortunately falls out
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-375:
I agree, it is just shades. But a premiership opinion trounces a Championship one.
As for Spies, I really don’t see why he’s considered an impact player by some bloggers. The last 20 mins can go either way, dependant on the situation and I’d rather have a solid player as a replacement for 8 than a risky “game breaker”.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-394:
Frans sorry did i say Morne F Steyn yes
Morne at 10 is history we have great 10s out there
Goosen for sure a 200 % bok for future
2 Oct 2011, 22:47 pm
@David(David)-399: Rub it in you Canary *******.
2 Oct 2011, 22:47 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-398:
Yes agreed However here’s a thought
Aplon for Habana
Bench Ruan and Jdj (if 5-2 split
2 Oct 2011, 22:49 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-396: If you read what I said, you would not make that statement Coach. I know we all have opinions, including you. My point is, and I tried my best to simplify my view, is that knocking the same players for the same reasons over and over gets too much after a while. Those doing it, know who they are. The whole Smit, Spies, FdP, Steyn thing has been talked about, shaked up, spat out thousands of times.
But yes, you are right, This is a blog for opinions. So I’ll try not to read certain posts. The problem is with me.
2 Oct 2011, 22:49 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-398: I am a Ruan fan unfortunately. I was also a massive Darryl Cullinan fan.
2 Oct 2011, 22:51 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-403: Sorry, Soda, not Coach.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-402: I would be ok with Gio for Habana.
But the big issue is 9 it seems, particularly if Frankie is out. FdP’s shoulder will always be a concern. And he’s playing quite a lot below his ability right now.
Ashampoopaloo364;
Totally agree with Spies on bench, only problem is we don’t know what he is capable of. Big f……………..up by management to date.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-402:
I got plenty time for Aplon he will most times make my 22 .. I got plenty faith in his head and his heart more so than most twice his size.. same with De Jongh
But Habana has shown some improvement and defensively he has come to the party last couple games and scored a good try vs Samoa.. so to drop him now could be wrong…
For Aussie I might even be tempted to play JPP and Aplon on right wing / full back and have Lambie off bench to cover 15 and 10 with Pienaar covering 9
Anyway its getting late
I’m out…
2 Oct 2011, 22:53 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-406:
As skoppie says I believe there is a 2 week rest from contact
Its going to be Ruan on the bench sorry to say
he covers 9, 10, wings and 15
Thats why I say start aplon at 14 and add jdj to bench to cover center (Jdv has rib issues remember)
2 Oct 2011, 22:54 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-408: night skops.
2 Oct 2011, 22:55 pm
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-407: yip for me Spies, Smit and FdP should all play off bench .. but now Hougaard is out (because they dumb arse played him at 11 instead of his correct position which is 9) and we will have to go with FdP to start…
anyway so long …
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-408:
Cheers skoppie
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-409: Ruan could have been an all time great based on ability. I always thought he was a 15 like his pop.
I think Jean is vulnerable physically, and he gets targeted early to see if he goes down.
2 Oct 2011, 22:57 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-413:
He got bumped around all over the place at sharks and boks his metal state affected
2 Oct 2011, 22:59 pm
Ok girls I have to go. Read a book, then sardines on the braai. Hey I could be in Durbs.
Anyway see you through the window.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-413:
lambie could move to 12 if Jdv goes down but it means aplon needs to be on field or on bench and ruan could got o 15 too
Night guys. We’ll never know if our opinions are right or wrong.
2 Oct 2011, 23:00 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-415:
2 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
Hey guys, Frankie absolutely fine according to my daughter’s close contact. Tell you what man, he’s gonna do to the Aussies what he did to the dragons.
Have put 1K’s on it just for fun. Got 65:1 odds for it.
2 Oct 2011, 23:05 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-372:
I think you meant ‘impenetrable’.
2 Oct 2011, 23:07 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-415:
Cheers Soda, I thought they had barbeques where you are.
2 Oct 2011, 23:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-390:
Point being he did not win 17 on the trot and then get tossed as you said… he won 3 out of 7… not that I agree with mallet’s choice… I don’t and didn’t… just keeping it real…
How do you know “smit brings no team ethic cohesiveness to this team”? you spoken to guys in the team…?
@352… “EVERY time he’s led the team in recent times He’s LOST… Go f’ng figure..”
well wales, Fiji and Namibia were his our most recent games captained by smit… record shows we won…
“when was the LAST time he actually WON a test against strong opposition..”
ahhh… against wales…
you also go on about IF smit had started against samoa we would have lost… or IF bismarck had started against wales we would won more comfortably… again that is only supposition on your part… not fact… and does nothing to bolster your argument…
skop… you offer as fact that which is only your opinion and berate facts that counter your opinion as fiction… of course you’re entitled to your opinion as is everyone else… but show everyone else the same courtesy and let them have their opinions with the insults and cursing…
and I know it’s your style… but swearing and insulting and berating and shouting does not add one iota of credibility to what you say… just the opposite in fact…
we may very well lose against Australia… but it won’t make you any more correct than you are now… you also said we wouldn’t get through the pool stages… so I understand you sticking to your guns because you think if we lose to Australia you were right all along… but we have already got further than you originally thought…
thing is skop, you have a good rugby brain and have value to add to debates… but sheesh bud… years of your constant ranting and cursing just wears thin and just ain’t doin’ you no favours…
I say this with best intent…
2 Oct 2011, 23:22 pm
UFO422; “we may very well loose adainst Australia” Oke, where is your mindset. You just can’t go there man. In any case bra, evidence base very thin. Too late to put forward facts right now, but clean your mind man. Quickly………or produce the evidence
2 Oct 2011, 23:23 pm
@JL1(JL1)-357: We did, in the 2007 QF, when both Carter and Evans went off injured and we were left with Luke McAlister.
The AB’s have had some long periods with poor options at No10. Post 1991, there were dalliances with some very poor options at 10 – including Stephen Bachop for example.
Merthens hadn’t played for the AB’s before the warm up games for the 1995 World Cup – man he was a lucky break for us!
While Slade and Cruden are nowhere near Carter’s level, I still think they are comfortably ahead of Luke McAllister and Stephen Donald, both of whom have worn the No.10 jersey for the AB’s a fair bit in 2009 and 2010 (with largely disatrous results I might add).
Cruden could yet end up being a star of the WC. He has fixed his main technical flaws, being lack of distance in his tactical kicking and goal kicking. OK, he is an ugly b*gger, so he won’t ship the merchandise that Carter did in the AB jersey, but I think the NZRU have taken us down the wrong path going for the good looking, buff, jersey sellers.
Cruden is a tough mongrel, he is an amazing runner, and is super fit. Oh – and he and Piri like playing together. He’ll be fine.
2 Oct 2011, 23:24 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-381:
watch the 1995 reels again.
See flags of opposition teams being waved by Home supporters ?
See them covered in face-painted flags in support of the minnows ?
See Johnny No-Name (eg Georgian no7) being mobbed by schoolkids and parents as they leave the field ?
See Sold Out signs for Minnow vs Minnow in isolated towns ?
See Minnow teams inspired by playing above themselves in the Home of Rugby ?
I watched the endless RWC-nostalgia shows on tv too. I saw automatons at neutral matches observing the sport as-if rubbernecking a car crash. The same crowds that came alive like Bulls supporters, but only when ‘their’ team was on the pitch.
Dont go kidding yourselves that ‘the Best’ means ‘the Biggest’ just because White-Elephant stadia stand shoulder-to-shoulder. Dont fool yourself that large crowds in 1 City with a population far greater than the whole Nation of NZ makes you better. Dont chase the lemming who believes that a Winter code needs to be played in brilliant sunshine to showcase the players skills.
As 1 anti-Kiwi British scribe said last week, this NZ RWC “has soul”. Its just that unlike others, we havent sold ours to The Devil.
2 Oct 2011, 23:27 pm
Yawn.
JAKIT.
*Just Another KIwi Troll*
2 Oct 2011, 23:31 pm
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-423:
hehehe… you jumping in before you checked the layout of the land…
i believe we can and will win… said before the comp started i believe we can defend the title…
but i’m also a realist and anything can happen in a knock-out comp… just saying that should we lose it doesn’t make what is being said here any truer… of that it will be smit’s fault
2 Oct 2011, 23:34 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-425:
your desperation is palpable…
shame… i still feel very sorry for you…
2 Oct 2011, 23:34 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-426:
this whole ‘ignore me’ gig seems to be working out well.
oh
thats right
calling me a ‘Kiwi troll’ is supposedly what I “hate”
after all these years wasted on Keo, my pet Nanny goat thinks he’s unlocked the magic formula…..
~~~~~~~burrrrrrrp~~~~~~~
2 Oct 2011, 23:35 pm
@cane(cane)-82: Check out these ANZAC Australasian posters licking each others bums! Good grief how pathetic are you lot?
Sounds like there’s a bit of small-man syndrome going on here. “My team scored more points than yours did” sounds too much like “My dad’s bigger than your dad!”. Bit of ***** envy going on there Cane? I think so.
2 Oct 2011, 23:35 pm
JAKIT.
2 Oct 2011, 23:37 pm
“your desperation is palpable.”
classic.
the troll will say anything.
2 Oct 2011, 23:39 pm
@ufo(ufo)-428:
watch the 1995 replays
oh, its funny alright.
dont forget, this very “anti-Safa anti-SA anti-anteater” said, 2months ago, that the 1995 RWC was the standardbearer, “the Best”, before RWC’11 even kicked off. Its just that Chip Nation cant quite get their heads around the focus being on someone other than them. Its the Carly Simon Syndrome, huh Boy George ?!
2 Oct 2011, 23:40 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-432:
you’d be p1ssed-off too if you had to exist under a bridge…!
2 Oct 2011, 23:43 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-433:
desperation sits so awkwardly on the shoulders of those who would pretend it isn’t there…
2 Oct 2011, 23:43 pm
Interesting stories filtering out from Albany after Fridays match. Lots of niggle in the crowd. 2 big fights broke out. Security guards escorting fans from the stadium. This was a first for this RWC.
No Sa”moans” involved. Just men AND women dressed in Green’n'Gold.
Let Transie come on here and call my bluff. No doubt he was there, like he was at the Tongan practise match.
2 Oct 2011, 23:44 pm
@ufo(ufo)-435:
like a u t o m a t o n s
2 Oct 2011, 23:45 pm
Is Hougaard definitely out? Haven’t heard any word officially of him being ruled out of QF
Please keep Pienaar as far away from Bok jumper on matchday as possible.He is utter rubbish..Over 50 tests of absolute mediocrity.Talent this talent that,Gysie this Gysie that blah blah blah,the bloke is average at best.Brainfart 101,no BMT whatsoever.Kicked 1 penatly ayt end vs Saders yrs ago bt has faiked in pressure cooker almost every other time in majority.
Would play a half fit Frans Hougaard.now that kid is BMT personified.
2 Oct 2011, 23:46 pm
nothing will come close to the 95 RWC, ever.
NZ v AB final, nelson mandela, Jonah Lomu, extra-time drop-kick.
get serious, they made a movie about it.
2 Oct 2011, 23:48 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-437:
shame shame shame… desperate dan…
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-438:
hougie tweeted he was fine and ready to play…
hope he is and does…
2 Oct 2011, 23:51 pm
@cab(cab)-439:
watch the coverage yourself, of a Pool match between neutral-Minnows.
like a u t o m a t o n s, rubbernecking. Zero passion, nada, niente, zip.
Its true tho, the ’95 Final was Epic and almost as good as the 2003 Final. Not that you would remember that one given that it didnt involve your team.
Because its not ALL about Chip Nation. Its about the R U G B Y.
2 Oct 2011, 23:51 pm
@cab(cab)-439:
apparently a mass delusion… the whole world got fooled…
but the truth is out there…
check the replays…
2 Oct 2011, 23:52 pm
UFO427; I also believe Pumas can win, i believe Poms can win, and yes belive it or not even the AB’c can win. However only the Boks will in. Your mind is busy being brainwashed me beliefeth. Come right man. Stop believing and start knowing…… it is quite liberating!!!
Panther429; We put on an opening on a shoestring man, stop bitching k. Anyway, how many Maoris have you guys bussed in, except for the lone ranger who blows the horn. Get a life man- sort your weather out cause I’m comming over in a week. Wonderful country and wonderful people, Can’t wait.
2 Oct 2011, 23:53 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-152: PdV is the biggest dumbfck Smit worshipper around! No-one is more blinded than him so why don’t you start moaning to him. Smit worshippers on here got nothing to do with selecting him. Its Div every time.Stop making trying to blame this kak state of affairs on the Bok fans! Admit it, PdV has no clue what he is doing!
2 Oct 2011, 23:54 pm
passion, soul – get serious, u obviously never been to a match in the republic, ellis park on matchday is like no other cauldron atmosphere on earth, especially on those days, ask fitzpatrick about soul, they got so much soul they bordering on the insane – rugby is a lifeblood that runs right through SA, just like NZ. they had a 747 that broke every rule under the book by flying so low, the ABs were shitting off so badly they created the mythical Suzie, Nelson Mandela had just been released from apartheid SA backing the Boks – good god almighty there will never be anything vaguely like it again – just ask those ABs and fans in the stadium on the day.
2 Oct 2011, 23:55 pm
ignorant twat – go surf another great wave on the kiwi coastline ekse.
2 Oct 2011, 23:59 pm
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-443:
“Your mind is busy being brainwashed me beliefeth…” by some mighty fine sh!!t.. !!
3 Oct 2011, 00:01 am
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-443:
Every Pool match has been played out in the atmosphere of a 1995 Bok match. Ask Brian O’Driscoll. Ask the Russians. Ask the Georgians. They’d never even heard of Palmerston North or Whangarei or Nelson before. They do now.
What did I have to gain by saying the 1995 was “The Best’ prior to RWC’11 ? Who’s bitter now ?
You’ll know the very second you step off the plane. Youre ‘now in the Home of Rugby’. This place isnt a factory line. This is my 5th RWC – will this one be your 1st outside of Chip Nation ?
3 Oct 2011, 00:02 am
@cab(cab)-445: Many heroes that day… Jouba with the broken hand…
Mad James Small piggy backing Lomu at every opportunity…
Joost pulling off the tackle of the tournament on Lomu up the middle…
Andrews at no 8…
Ruben the Legend scoring the only try (disallowed)…
Francois Pienaar leading from the front…
Mandela in no 6…
Heroes all…
What a day!!!
Actually, not just one of the best matchdays in rugby, but in sport as a whole… One match that managed to be more than rugby…And it was.
3 Oct 2011, 00:03 am
@cab(cab)-445:
oh, yes, great atmosphere. Noone denies that. least of all me.
but ONLY when the Boks are in town.
ONLY when the odds are stacked in the Boks favour.
no Boks ?
a u t o m a t o n s
3 Oct 2011, 00:05 am
@425. BP. Yeah right. So tell us again why you had hosting rights for 2003 taken away?
3 Oct 2011, 00:05 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-449:
exactly, and aside from anything else, you got SA v NZ in a final, seperated by a drop-kick in the second period of extra-time – never get that whole spectacle again in a 1000 years. The ABs had mowed down every other team, by rights they should have walked off with it, but then they met The Bokke…ta ta.
3 Oct 2011, 00:07 am
The worst RWC’s are the ones hosted by ‘Wales’ (read Paris, London, Edinburgh….everywhere but Cardiff) and ‘England’ (read Paris, London, edinburgh…). No passion outside of the stadiums, whatsoever. You’d struggle to even know it was on. The ‘France’ RWC ? oh, London, Edinburgh, Cardiff….
Oh, thats right, its all about ‘crowd sizes’ and lets face it, those big concrete jungles were FULL.
*chortle*
3 Oct 2011, 00:09 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-450:
yeah but whats the alternative, a bunch of middle-class happy-clappy kiwis donning the colour of a country they never ever been to let alone seen all cos they got nothing better to do or grandpappy decided to catch a ship out 100 years ago?
there’s no soul there, wetter than a wet **** in a taranaki thunderstorm … pfft.
3 Oct 2011, 00:10 am
@cab(cab)-446:
try not to wear your insularity on the sleeve. Its covering your armband.
3 Oct 2011, 00:10 am
@cab(cab)-446:
comment of the day!!!!
3 Oct 2011, 00:11 am
@cab(cab)-452: Irresistible force vs an Immovable object…
And the Boks were Immovable.
A Legendary Team with the King of Coaches… THE Great Kitchy. His team was a team made to win RWC finals… I reckon that same team would have won every final since after 1995 too. BMT made flesh.
3 Oct 2011, 00:13 am
the best games at this world cup will be where NZ are involved, not least of which is because the sense of desperation is now palpable, you simply cant fake that, there’ll be no good-natured supporting of the minnows, after you sir and all that, just downright kiwi nastiness – then it all comes out.
If SA do get through australia, and kiwi beat argie, the NZ v SA clash will be THE clash of this tournament – it will be monumentally huge – Henry does not want to face the Bokke.
3 Oct 2011, 00:16 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-451:
because of group of smallminded provincial Kiwis who thought they were owed it and a Devils Spawn Aussie who sniffed an opportunity.
The Aussie RWC was a great show of sport. But noone will kid themselves that they were in a Nation of Rugby-lovers.
Enjoy the 2015 RWC in ‘England’ and the 2019 RWC in Japan. Someone has to.
3 Oct 2011, 00:19 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-455:
jeezuz i think that comment is best directed at yourself, if you honestly think any RWC is going to top 95 for ‘soul’. in fact, after that comment, i dont think u got any semblance of a brain in that pip of yours.
3 Oct 2011, 00:19 am
@cab(cab)-454:
“a bunch of middle-class happy-clappy kiwis donning the colour of a country they never ever been to let alone seen’
in ONE. wow, now youre arguing FOR, not against.
you have no idea. Like an a u t o m a t o n. Think what youre told from your sheltered little insular life.
3 Oct 2011, 00:20 am
we can all see that this has been a very nice world cup.
it is shown as such on our tv screens every day.
why then, do the kiwi commentators have to have a mutual m@sturbation session every time they mention the crowd attendance?
they are trying too hard to show the world that little ol’ new zealand can do it.
much like our mate panty here.
3 Oct 2011, 00:20 am
My Bok side to all comers:
15 Jouba
14 Mordt
13 Gerber
12 Mannetjies
11 Du Plessis
10 Honiball
9 Joost
8 Du Plessis (C)
7 Venter
6 Ruben
5 Matfield
4 Botha
3 Erasmus
2 Bismarck
1 Os
3 Oct 2011, 00:21 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463: To beat all comers
3 Oct 2011, 00:21 am
UFO443;
Feels quite nice, admit it. Clean brain.
Panther448;
Had to leave Paris after putting one over the Pumas. Not yet sure if I can make final in NZ, Anyway, semi is what I’m comming over for. No 2 nations offer a better rugger contest- flair vs defence, that’s what its always been about, ‘cept for ’37 and ’81 off course.
mite all
3 Oct 2011, 00:23 am
@cab(cab)-458:
tell that to Brian O’Driscoll.
oh, thats right, BOD had the temerity to criticise Chip Nation with a few home truths, so now they hate him.
BOD returned to the scene of his crushing AB assault, and all the angst that followed it. He left Eden Park saying he had “never seen anything like it, anywhere”.
Thats because NZ is a nation that loves rugby, not insular automatons who back their team and their team ONLY.
Been to NZ, Mr Chips ?
3 Oct 2011, 00:26 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463: I reckon fancy Dan would tear more than a groin against this team
3 Oct 2011, 00:30 am
insularity, can u get anymore ironic, this from the oke who keep banging on about NZ bestest waves in the world. im no expert but u want to go surfing u go to hawaii, oz or california, the only thing u do in nz is catch a sever cold of your tottie. ho ho ho. chortle. bellyrub. fartwobble. and whatever else kiddy stupidity u get up to.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466:
oh fk just when u think it cant get any better, he turns to the same BoD whom they tried to maim in the best form of his life? so much for all this sportsmanship, whatafukinload, do u actually believe your kak?
how bout dem chips?
3 Oct 2011, 00:30 am
I reckon one glare from a Ruben eyeball and Reechie would faint.
Nope, Boks have their legends… We don’t need legends from other countries when we got more than enough in Green and Gold.
3 Oct 2011, 00:31 am
@cab(cab)-458:
Where do you get Henry does not want to face the Bok.
Lets face it, Boks record at eden park is really a cr@p one.
But please show me the link where Henry saif this, i would like to read it
3 Oct 2011, 00:31 am
Game464;
you are obviously too young to have seen Jan Ellis flatten all opposition, ball in one hand. If you put Mannetjies in, where is Frik? Only been watching the odd video clip then have you? Ask UFO bout a decent brain clean- no jokes.
shite, falling asleep here man. Gonna quickly Skype Pete and then I’m outta here.
3 Oct 2011, 00:33 am
@charo(charo)-456:
“because only SA has great surf” ?
oh, thats right, you added the “World class” bit. Because thats what insular automatons do.
ever been to NZ, Charo ?
oh thats right.
No.
3 Oct 2011, 00:36 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-470:
Henry knows it, there;s an article way back when Henry was asked to point out his biggest threat – transie might be able to pick it out. Tell me honestly who would you be most fearful of knocking u over – i;m telling u if it gets to the stage of the haka, the boks are going to turn on, and slade is going to be doing the kaka.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466: Auckland Stadium should have been in the North Wharf part of the Viaduct area. In order to host a world class event there needs to be a system of getting crowds of 50K+ to and from the ground. Eden Park does not have that and even with the Government taking over from the Council it was an absolute shambles last sunday for Fiji v Samoa. Took us 2hrs from Papakura to Eden Park.
My Bok side now to win this World Cup… Final against Wales most probably.
15 Lambighini
14 JPP
13 Mossie
12 Donkey
11 Habanero
10 Morne
9 FdP
8 Spies
7 Schalk
6 Ratel
5 Matfield
4 Bakkies
3 JdP
2 Barney
1 Gurthro
16 Bismarck
17 Beast
18 CJ
19 Danie
20 Alberts
21 Hoogie
22 Pienaar
3 Oct 2011, 00:37 am
@cab(cab)-468:
oh
please tell cut’n'paste where I said NZ had “the best surf in the World”
please, pretty pleeeeeeeeease.
of course, if I didnt, you’ll admit youre wrong, right ?
surrrrrrrrrrrrrre.
set loose Transformation Forensic Services or be damned.
wow, this proving your innate INSULARITY just got a whole lot easier than I could even imagine.
3 Oct 2011, 00:38 am
this one;s not the sharpest tool in the shed.
3 Oct 2011, 00:39 am
@cab(cab)-468: Yeah, I saw that too… Must be a pipeline or reef off Auckland harbour… Eish
3 Oct 2011, 00:45 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-470: Much like the AB record at Ellis Park… but not insurmountable.
Good for a one-off… especially sans Danny Boy and a club footed Reechie present.
3 Oct 2011, 00:45 am
@Eight Ace(Eight Ace)-474:
sounds like a normal days traffic in London or Paris or…..
Yep, but of course, every City will struggle on transport. Ask Sydneysiders about the purpose-built train to Homebush for the 2000 Olympics that then also serviced the 2003 RWC. And then come back to me.
Next time you travel from my hometown of Papakura (birthplace of 2 of the 3 AB loose-fwd trio), then dont be daft enough to take the SH1. Head towards the airport, thru Wiri, and duck’n'dive around Mangere if needs be. Or, of course, take the train direct to Britomart and then out again. The roads are jammed here, but then if you leave late to get there, youre asking for it.
3 Oct 2011, 00:47 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-478:
this just gets better and better.
But, of course, Boy George doesnt do “I woz wrong”. Boy George doesnt even remember what conversation he had yesterday, so he’s never wrong.
sing us another one, Boy George !
3 Oct 2011, 00:55 am
the topic of ‘greatest surf in the World’ will be hastily dropped and the Stage of Insularity will be hastily replaced by tumbleweed that moves steadily in the slipstream created by the mass stampede for France.
au revoir, mon amis.
or, of course, they could return and admit that they all brought in to the premise based on a lie
~ ~ ~ ~ belly wobble ~~~~~
*chortle*
@guffaw@
…………………………..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@
(which, btw, is not the “surf break near the Catlins” but a tsunami wave of my tears of laughter)
3 Oct 2011, 00:58 am
++chortle++
++cough+++
++choke++
3 Oct 2011, 01:06 am
@Eight Ace(Eight Ace)-474:
ps – btw, I agree with you. A National Stadium on, say, Queens Wharf would have been amazing. But for some dumbfk smallminded Auckland Councillors, it would have happened too. Eden Park is a complete dogs ear of a stadium, bits’n'piecey.
But, then again, it has been built to best avoid ‘White Elephant’ status – like some *ahem*, other nation has dotted the length and breadth of their country, side-by-side and a lasting monument to stupidity and arrogance – and it is a massive investment in history and rugby tradition. Which is what NZ is, as a RWC Host nation, all about.
3 Oct 2011, 02:02 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-476: Still beating the same bush with your schlang? Go get a life man. Play with your kids. Play with your wife.
3 Oct 2011, 02:05 am
Watched the Bok v Samoa game again. The scoreline flattered the islanders. Their try was scored from a forward pass. Frans’s kick hit the crossbar. Bismark scored, but no one could see. The ref should’ve asked “any reason not to award the try”.
In any case, could easily have been 23-0.
3 Oct 2011, 02:06 am
from todays NZ Herald titled ‘Good Buggers:Bad Buggers’
“NIGEL OWENS/ HEINRICH BRUSSOW/ PAUL WILLIAMS
Let’s deal with this trio in descending order of bad-buggerness.
Nigel, we shouldn’t blame you for the Williams send-off – you received bad advice – but we will blame you for getting a ridiculous number of calls plain wrong, most pivotally on Samoa wing David Lemi for not releasing the ball when he wasn’t held.
Heinrich, you crumple in a heap when you’re slapped with an open hand? No wonder you’re so injury prone. Man up.
Paul, if Samoa had progressed into the knockout stages, you would have been in line for player of the tournament. Brave and skilful on the pitch, classy off it, but what were you thinking when you reacted to Heinrich quite rightly trying to get you to let go of him? Yes, it wasn’t much of a slap (if you knew that you were going to get sent off, would you have properly clocked him?), but you’re too valuable to your side to risk a red card.”
spot on, too.
3 Oct 2011, 02:08 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-486:
No, but I see youre still beating yours til its raw.
23-0 ?
geeeeenius.
0-5 in the 2ndH of a RWC match, with your ‘no-injured’ fullstrength team against a Minnow, and damn lucky to score zero.
3 Oct 2011, 02:09 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-487: Kiwis encouraging violence again. Typical BP joy.
3 Oct 2011, 02:09 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463:
Zinzan Brooke
Richie McCaw
Micheal Jones
Colin Meads
Maurice Brownlie
Ken Gray
Sean Fitzpatrick
Kevin Skinner
3 Oct 2011, 02:11 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-488: The same minnow who flopped the Wallabies. The same minnow that came close to beating Wales. The game was won by half time. Did you see the worry in Bok eyes? Think not.
3 Oct 2011, 02:12 am
That tight 5 would destroy anything in its path . Anything!
3 Oct 2011, 02:12 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-489:
oh yes,
Justice4 the Violence-Encouragers !
off you go and pay your IRB Fine.
*chortle*
3 Oct 2011, 02:13 am
@spartan(spartan)-492:
Murdoch on the bench.
3 Oct 2011, 02:14 am
@spartan(spartan)-492: IYO.
3 Oct 2011, 02:15 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-491:
no, it was hard to see the fear in the Bok Captains eyes either. He wasnt on long enough after his blatant double-cheat (1-handed slap followed by a 2-handed throw of the ball).
Absolute panic stations. More missed tackles than a sunken fishing trawler.
3 Oct 2011, 02:16 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-493: Were you proud of the kiwi commentators for the Wales game ?
3 Oct 2011, 02:17 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-496: At least we can agree on something. Your honesty is moving.
3 Oct 2011, 02:19 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-496: And do you think Brian is still proud of his boy? LOL. Dirtiest scumbags on the planet. Those island cockroaches should all move to your neighborhood.
3 Oct 2011, 02:20 am
I’m out. Go play with your kids. Go play with your dog.
3 Oct 2011, 02:20 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-497:
which Wales game ? the one the Boks won, only, “on the scoreboard” and were hiding behind some “computer graphic enhanced re-construction that shaved-the-outside post” ?
tis my favourite Keo-post of the RWC to date. Keep it up, Lady Viagra.
hows things in Gizzy today – any perfect 10-ft barrels in the Greatest Surf Nation in the Universe ?
3 Oct 2011, 02:23 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-501: Wales v Fiji idiot. Or does your kind only watch games between big teams because you have no love for rugby.
3 Oct 2011, 02:23 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-499:
laughable – the Justice4 campaigners being thick-o enough to call anyone else “dirty” for an open-palmed slap that sent Heinrecho Ronaldo crumpling in a heap.
This from a team that still fields 3 x Gougers in a RWC XV.
3 Oct 2011, 02:27 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-502:
Youre absolutely right. I didnt see that match because I was on the p*ss in Wellington.
Ive been to 5 x neutral matches and 3 x AB matches.
Some would be stoooooooopid enough, prior to the RWC, to say that “noone I know is going to RWC matches”.
Must be the computer graphics “enhancing” crowd numbers that Im seeing.
3 Oct 2011, 03:01 am
I believe that South Africa set the record for the least amount of points concede (24) in a pool (of 5) in a WC. That’s a good sign.
3 Oct 2011, 03:22 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-505:
against the worst-ever injury and politically-depleted RWVC-Fiji team, ever.
against the gone-home Samoans who couldnt beat…
the youngest, least-experienced Wales side in their long history
and against the weakest team at this entire RWC, Namibia, who only qualified because they beat Kenya at the Africa-qualifier.
Now for the Real Teams.
3 Oct 2011, 04:21 am
Looks like the French rugby world cup campaign is going the same way as their soccer world cup campaign. It is shaping up like a repeat of the last world cup final – Boks vs England.
3 Oct 2011, 05:21 am
Hoping for Ireland or France on the Dark Side of the Draw.
3 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
I wish this oke would just shut up and devote his time to preparing the players. He’s another Jake White or Carel Dup with his blabber mouth either helping the opposition or giving away his tactics.
Let the team do the talking on the field. A few essentially meaningless sound bites talking up the Aussies are probably best now. If you don’t know how; Sham Poo (Snotskiet) or Gwantie10 can help.
3 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-34: What do you mean still havent learned? We dont get to decide who we play – and we cant help France for not playing to their expected best
Tonga was a decent 2nd half work out, and Japan/Canada were just awful
But what could we do about it, meathead?
Your prejudice of anything NZ is bordering on obessession. Youre sick.
3 Oct 2011, 08:15 am
@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-510:
Youve got it wrong there. His obsession with NZ is no less than genuine flattery., he genuinely wishes his team played like the ABs, that much is obvious. However his attitude to fellow human-beings and those less fortunate than the “multi farms” elite is no less than “sick”.