Bring on the Aussies, enthuses De Villiers

The Springboks will play Australia in the World Cup quarter-finals – and Peter de Villiers reckons it will be easier and more familiar than playing the Samoans.

It is the clash of the last eight with the Tri Nations champions against the defending World Champions.

Ireland, in emphatically beating Italy 36-6 in Dunedin, ensured a quarter-final against Wales in Wellington next Saturday with the Boks to play the Wallabies a day later in New Zealand’s capital.

Hosts the All Blacks will play Argentina in the late Sunday kick-off at Eden Park in Auckland and England clashes with France on Saturday at Eden Park.

The winner of the Boks match will play the All Blacks with the other semi-final an all Northern Hemisphere affair.

(Bok coach) De Villiers told the South African media website SuperSport he welcomed playing the Australians, added the Boks would have the advantage at scrum time and that he felt it would be easier playing the Aussies than it was against the unfamiliar Samoans.

De Villiers said he expected the Australians to try and match Samoans for physicality and didn’t believe either Australia or New Zealand could do that to the Boks. He also backed the improved Bok defence to counter Australia’s attacking threat.

Australia has won five of the last six Tests between the two countries, with two of the wins in South Africa. The Wallabies have also scored four-tries or more in four of the six matches.

De Villiers was unconcerned by this statistic and said that while the Aussies could also believe it to be easier because of the familiarity he felt the Boks were playing outstanding rugby at the World Cup and peaking at the right time.

The New Zealand media generally have backed the Boks to beat the Wallabies, but among former Australian players and within the media the feeling is the Australians will be too smart for the Boks and that David Pocock’s return will neutralise the Boks, as he has done successfully on most occasions in the last two seasons.

Former Australian World Cup-winning captain Nick Farr-Jones, in the Herald on Sunday, wrote the Boks looked like a champion at the end of the road and that the last 30 minutes showed the vulnerability of an aged giant. He commended the Boks’ fighting qualities and scrambling defence, but said too many key players were no longer the players who stood tallest in Paris in 2007.

Former All Blacks World Cup-winning prop Richard Loe, in the same paper, disagreed, saying the Boks would have too much muscle for the Tri Nations champions.

Quarter-finals (NZ kick-off times – 11 hours ahead of SA)

QF1: Ireland v Wales at Welllington Regional Stadium on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 6pm.

QF2: England v France at Eden Park on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 8.30pm.

QF3: South Africa v Australia at Wellington Regional Stadium on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 6pm.

QF4: New Zealand v Argentina at Eden Park on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 8.30pm.

511 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

• 451.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@425. BP. Yeah right. So tell us again why you had hosting rights for 2003 taken away?

• 452.cab: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-449:
    exactly, and aside from anything else, you got SA v NZ in a final, seperated by a drop-kick in the second period of extra-time – never get that whole spectacle again in a 1000 years. The ABs had mowed down every other team, by rights they should have walked off with it, but then they met The Bokke…ta ta.

• 453.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

The worst RWC’s are the ones hosted by ‘Wales’ (read Paris, London, Edinburgh….everywhere but Cardiff) and ‘England’ (read Paris, London, edinburgh…). No passion outside of the stadiums, whatsoever. You’d struggle to even know it was on. The ‘France’ RWC ? oh, London, Edinburgh, Cardiff….

Oh, thats right, its all about ‘crowd sizes’ and lets face it, those big concrete jungles were FULL.

*chortle*

• 454.cab: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-450:
    yeah but whats the alternative, a bunch of middle-class happy-clappy kiwis donning the colour of a country they never ever been to let alone seen all cos they got nothing better to do or grandpappy decided to catch a ship out 100 years ago?

there’s no soul there, wetter than a wet **** in a taranaki thunderstorm … pfft.

• 455.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-446:

try not to wear your insularity on the sleeve. Its covering your armband.

• 456.charo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-446:

comment of the day!!!!

• 457.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-452: Irresistible force vs an Immovable object…

And the Boks were Immovable.

A Legendary Team with the King of Coaches… THE Great Kitchy. His team was a team made to win RWC finals… I reckon that same team would have won every final since after 1995 too. BMT made flesh.

• 458.cab: Reply to this comment

the best games at this world cup will be where NZ are involved, not least of which is because the sense of desperation is now palpable, you simply cant fake that, there’ll be no good-natured supporting of the minnows, after you sir and all that, just downright kiwi nastiness – then it all comes out.

If SA do get through australia, and kiwi beat argie, the NZ v SA clash will be THE clash of this tournament – it will be monumentally huge – Henry does not want to face the Bokke.

• 459.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-451:

because of group of smallminded provincial Kiwis who thought they were owed it and a Devils Spawn Aussie who sniffed an opportunity.

The Aussie RWC was a great show of sport. But noone will kid themselves that they were in a Nation of Rugby-lovers.

Enjoy the 2015 RWC in ‘England’ and the 2019 RWC in Japan. Someone has to.

• 460.cab: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-455:
    jeezuz i think that comment is best directed at yourself, if you honestly think any RWC is going to top 95 for ‘soul’. in fact, after that comment, i dont think u got any semblance of a brain in that pip of yours.

• 461.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-454:

“a bunch of middle-class happy-clappy kiwis donning the colour of a country they never ever been to let alone seen’

in ONE. wow, now youre arguing FOR, not against.

you have no idea. Like an a u t o m a t o n. Think what youre told from your sheltered little insular life.

• 462.charo: Reply to this comment

we can all see that this has been a very nice world cup.

it is shown as such on our tv screens every day.

why then, do the kiwi commentators have to have a mutual m@sturbation session every time they mention the crowd attendance?

they are trying too hard to show the world that little ol’ new zealand can do it.

much like our mate panty here.

• 463.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

My Bok side to all comers:

15 Jouba
    14 Mordt
    13 Gerber
    12 Mannetjies
    11 Du Plessis
    10 Honiball
    9 Joost
    8 Du Plessis (C)
    7 Venter
    6 Ruben
    5 Matfield
    4 Botha
    3 Erasmus
    2 Bismarck
    1 Os

• 464.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463: To beat all comers

• 465.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

UFO443;
    Feels quite nice, admit it. Clean brain.

Panther448;
    Had to leave Paris after putting one over the Pumas. Not yet sure if I can make final in NZ, Anyway, semi is what I’m comming over for. No 2 nations offer a better rugger contest- flair vs defence, that’s what its always been about, ‘cept for ’37 and ’81 off course.

mite all

• 466.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-458:

tell that to Brian O’Driscoll.

oh, thats right, BOD had the temerity to criticise Chip Nation with a few home truths, so now they hate him.

BOD returned to the scene of his crushing AB assault, and all the angst that followed it. He left Eden Park saying he had “never seen anything like it, anywhere”.

Thats because NZ is a nation that loves rugby, not insular automatons who back their team and their team ONLY.

Been to NZ, Mr Chips ?

• 467.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463: I reckon fancy Dan would tear more than a groin against this team

• 468.cab: Reply to this comment

insularity, can u get anymore ironic, this from the oke who keep banging on about NZ bestest waves in the world. im no expert but u want to go surfing u go to hawaii, oz or california, the only thing u do in nz is catch a sever cold of your tottie. ho ho ho. chortle. bellyrub. fartwobble. and whatever else kiddy stupidity u get up to.

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466:
    oh fk just when u think it cant get any better, he turns to the same BoD whom they tried to maim in the best form of his life? so much for all this sportsmanship, whatafukinload, do u actually believe your kak?

how bout dem chips?

• 469.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I reckon one glare from a Ruben eyeball and Reechie would faint.

Nope, Boks have their legends… We don’t need legends from other countries when we got more than enough in Green and Gold.

• 470.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-458:
    Where do you get Henry does not want to face the Bok.
    Lets face it, Boks record at eden park is really a cr@p one.
    But please show me the link where Henry saif this, i would like to read it

• 471.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

Game464;
    you are obviously too young to have seen Jan Ellis flatten all opposition, ball in one hand. If you put Mannetjies in, where is Frik? Only been watching the odd video clip then have you? Ask UFO bout a decent brain clean- no jokes.

shite, falling asleep here man. Gonna quickly Skype Pete and then I’m outta here.

• 472.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-456:

“because only SA has great surf” ?

oh, thats right, you added the “World class” bit. Because thats what insular automatons do.

ever been to NZ, Charo ?

oh thats right.

No.

• 473.cab: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-470:
    Henry knows it, there;s an article way back when Henry was asked to point out his biggest threat – transie might be able to pick it out. Tell me honestly who would you be most fearful of knocking u over – i;m telling u if it gets to the stage of the haka, the boks are going to turn on, and slade is going to be doing the kaka.

• 474.Eight Ace: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466: Auckland Stadium should have been in the North Wharf part of the Viaduct area. In order to host a world class event there needs to be a system of getting crowds of 50K+ to and from the ground. Eden Park does not have that and even with the Government taking over from the Council it was an absolute shambles last sunday for Fiji v Samoa. Took us 2hrs from Papakura to Eden Park.

• 475.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

My Bok side now to win this World Cup… Final against Wales most probably.

15 Lambighini
    14 JPP
    13 Mossie
    12 Donkey
    11 Habanero
    10 Morne
    9 FdP
    8 Spies
    7 Schalk
    6 Ratel
    5 Matfield
    4 Bakkies
    3 JdP
    2 Barney
    1 Gurthro

16 Bismarck
    17 Beast
    18 CJ
    19 Danie
    20 Alberts
    21 Hoogie
    22 Pienaar

• 476.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-468:

oh

please tell cut’n'paste where I said NZ had “the best surf in the World”

please, pretty pleeeeeeeeease.

of course, if I didnt, you’ll admit youre wrong, right ?

surrrrrrrrrrrrrre.

set loose Transformation Forensic Services or be damned.

wow, this proving your innate INSULARITY just got a whole lot easier than I could even imagine.

• 477.cab: Reply to this comment

this one;s not the sharpest tool in the shed.

• 478.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-468: Yeah, I saw that too… Must be a pipeline or reef off Auckland harbour… Eish

• 479.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-470: Much like the AB record at Ellis Park… but not insurmountable.

Good for a one-off… especially sans Danny Boy and a club footed Reechie present.

• 480.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Eight Ace(Eight Ace)-474:

sounds like a normal days traffic in London or Paris or…..

Yep, but of course, every City will struggle on transport. Ask Sydneysiders about the purpose-built train to Homebush for the 2000 Olympics that then also serviced the 2003 RWC. And then come back to me.

Next time you travel from my hometown of Papakura (birthplace of 2 of the 3 AB loose-fwd trio), then dont be daft enough to take the SH1. Head towards the airport, thru Wiri, and duck’n'dive around Mangere if needs be. Or, of course, take the train direct to Britomart and then out again. The roads are jammed here, but then if you leave late to get there, youre asking for it.

• 481.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-478:

this just gets better and better.

But, of course, Boy George doesnt do “I woz wrong”. Boy George doesnt even remember what conversation he had yesterday, so he’s never wrong.

sing us another one, Boy George !

• 482.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

the topic of ‘greatest surf in the World’ will be hastily dropped and the Stage of Insularity will be hastily replaced by tumbleweed that moves steadily in the slipstream created by the mass stampede for France.

au revoir, mon amis.

or, of course, they could return and admit that they all brought in to the premise based on a lie

~ ~ ~ ~ belly wobble ~~~~~

*chortle*

@guffaw@

…………………………..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@

(which, btw, is not the “surf break near the Catlins” but a tsunami wave of my tears of laughter)

• 483.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

++chortle++

++cough+++

++choke++

• 484.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Eight Ace(Eight Ace)-474:

ps – btw, I agree with you. A National Stadium on, say, Queens Wharf would have been amazing. But for some dumbfk smallminded Auckland Councillors, it would have happened too. Eden Park is a complete dogs ear of a stadium, bits’n'piecey.

But, then again, it has been built to best avoid ‘White Elephant’ status – like some *ahem*, other nation has dotted the length and breadth of their country, side-by-side and a lasting monument to stupidity and arrogance – and it is a massive investment in history and rugby tradition. Which is what NZ is, as a RWC Host nation, all about.

• 485.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-476: Still beating the same bush with your schlang? Go get a life man. Play with your kids. Play with your wife.

• 486.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Watched the Bok v Samoa game again. The scoreline flattered the islanders. Their try was scored from a forward pass. Frans’s kick hit the crossbar. Bismark scored, but no one could see. The ref should’ve asked “any reason not to award the try”.

In any case, could easily have been 23-0.

• 487.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

from todays NZ Herald titled ‘Good Buggers:Bad Buggers’

“NIGEL OWENS/ HEINRICH BRUSSOW/ PAUL WILLIAMS

Let’s deal with this trio in descending order of bad-buggerness.

Nigel, we shouldn’t blame you for the Williams send-off – you received bad advice – but we will blame you for getting a ridiculous number of calls plain wrong, most pivotally on Samoa wing David Lemi for not releasing the ball when he wasn’t held.

Heinrich, you crumple in a heap when you’re slapped with an open hand? No wonder you’re so injury prone. Man up.

Paul, if Samoa had progressed into the knockout stages, you would have been in line for player of the tournament. Brave and skilful on the pitch, classy off it, but what were you thinking when you reacted to Heinrich quite rightly trying to get you to let go of him? Yes, it wasn’t much of a slap (if you knew that you were going to get sent off, would you have properly clocked him?), but you’re too valuable to your side to risk a red card.”

spot on, too.

• 488.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-486:

No, but I see youre still beating yours til its raw.

23-0 ?

geeeeenius.

0-5 in the 2ndH of a RWC match, with your ‘no-injured’ fullstrength team against a Minnow, and damn lucky to score zero.

• 489.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-487: Kiwis encouraging violence again. Typical BP joy.

• 490.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-463:

Zinzan Brooke
    Richie McCaw
    Micheal Jones
    Colin Meads
    Maurice Brownlie
    Ken Gray
    Sean Fitzpatrick
    Kevin Skinner

• 491.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-488: The same minnow who flopped the Wallabies. The same minnow that came close to beating Wales. The game was won by half time. Did you see the worry in Bok eyes? Think not.

• 492.spartan: Reply to this comment

That tight 5 would destroy anything in its path . Anything!

• 493.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-489:

oh yes,

Justice4 the Violence-Encouragers !

off you go and pay your IRB Fine.

*chortle*

• 494.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-492:

Murdoch on the bench.

• 495.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-492: IYO.

• 496.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-491:

no, it was hard to see the fear in the Bok Captains eyes either. He wasnt on long enough after his blatant double-cheat (1-handed slap followed by a 2-handed throw of the ball).

Absolute panic stations. More missed tackles than a sunken fishing trawler.

• 497.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-493: Were you proud of the kiwi commentators for the Wales game ?

• 498.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-496: At least we can agree on something. Your honesty is moving.

• 499.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-496: And do you think Brian is still proud of his boy? LOL. Dirtiest scumbags on the planet. Those island cockroaches should all move to your neighborhood.

• 500.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

I’m out. Go play with your kids. Go play with your dog.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.