Bring on the Aussies, enthuses De Villiers

The Springboks will play Australia in the World Cup quarter-finals – and Peter de Villiers reckons it will be easier and more familiar than playing the Samoans.

It is the clash of the last eight with the Tri Nations champions against the defending World Champions.

Ireland, in emphatically beating Italy 36-6 in Dunedin, ensured a quarter-final against Wales in Wellington next Saturday with the Boks to play the Wallabies a day later in New Zealand’s capital.

Hosts the All Blacks will play Argentina in the late Sunday kick-off at Eden Park in Auckland and England clashes with France on Saturday at Eden Park.

The winner of the Boks match will play the All Blacks with the other semi-final an all Northern Hemisphere affair.

(Bok coach) De Villiers told the South African media website SuperSport he welcomed playing the Australians, added the Boks would have the advantage at scrum time and that he felt it would be easier playing the Aussies than it was against the unfamiliar Samoans.

De Villiers said he expected the Australians to try and match Samoans for physicality and didn’t believe either Australia or New Zealand could do that to the Boks. He also backed the improved Bok defence to counter Australia’s attacking threat.

Australia has won five of the last six Tests between the two countries, with two of the wins in South Africa. The Wallabies have also scored four-tries or more in four of the six matches.

De Villiers was unconcerned by this statistic and said that while the Aussies could also believe it to be easier because of the familiarity he felt the Boks were playing outstanding rugby at the World Cup and peaking at the right time.

The New Zealand media generally have backed the Boks to beat the Wallabies, but among former Australian players and within the media the feeling is the Australians will be too smart for the Boks and that David Pocock’s return will neutralise the Boks, as he has done successfully on most occasions in the last two seasons.

Former Australian World Cup-winning captain Nick Farr-Jones, in the Herald on Sunday, wrote the Boks looked like a champion at the end of the road and that the last 30 minutes showed the vulnerability of an aged giant. He commended the Boks’ fighting qualities and scrambling defence, but said too many key players were no longer the players who stood tallest in Paris in 2007.

Former All Blacks World Cup-winning prop Richard Loe, in the same paper, disagreed, saying the Boks would have too much muscle for the Tri Nations champions.

Quarter-finals (NZ kick-off times – 11 hours ahead of SA)

QF1: Ireland v Wales at Welllington Regional Stadium on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 6pm.

QF2: England v France at Eden Park on Saturday, October 8, kick-off 8.30pm.

QF3: South Africa v Australia at Wellington Regional Stadium on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 6pm.

QF4: New Zealand v Argentina at Eden Park on Sunday, October 9, kick-off 8.30pm.

511 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 101.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-85: that we may but your stocks are looking rather thin old chap. It will be a fine contest either way. Going to love the semis. Good luck to your lot and lets hope Read hangs in there for you guys. He´ll make a huge difference up front.

• 102.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

I see the arrogance levels have ratchetted up a few notches from Chip Nation.

Get them in while you can.

Love the way Wales are now mentioned as potential Finalists. Presumably on the back of their ‘win off the scoreboard’ against the Masters of their Own Domain.

~guffaw~

still whinging about the Samoans too. Where will it end, Ladies ?,

• 103.corms: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to this one, it should be a fierce battle. Much will come down to the conditions and kicking accuracy.

• 104.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102: This must be your way of dealing with the hurt.

• 105.Alucard: Reply to this comment

New Zealand have only one quality half back, no good opensiders, no good locks, backs are mostly ball players with generi skill sets. Nonu, Carter and Smith will not make the next world Cup, and there is nothing to replace them! Thorne is 37 too. Their depth is very poor.

• 106.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102: Dude Wales have been playing great rugby – credit where its due. In comparison to England, France and the Argies theyve been playing some damn fine rugby. Youre trap will be shut soon enough anyways. lol

• 107.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-106: Wales were not that impressive. We had an injury crisis in game and the ref was in Welsh pockets, yet they still lost. Against Samoa they got lucky. Beat a disenchanted Namibia side and a Fijian side that had nothing to play for. Nothing special at all. Stop Roberts and they are just an average side.

• 108.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-102:

What do you expect? You’re on a South African site you re-tard.

Go and moisturize Dan’s groin, maybe he’ll get better.

• 109.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Interesting little pattern developing here…

Aussie lose in QF’s in 95, end up winning in ’99.
    England lose in QF’s in ’99, win in 2003.
    SA lose in QF’s in 2003, win in 2007.

• 110.ConradP: Reply to this comment

“Tie me Wallaby down Boet!!!!!!!!”
    Watch this hilarious movie:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqjzAd7gwtQ

• 111.cab: Reply to this comment

@ConradP(ConradP)-110:
    nice one conrad, here’s one of the maestro holding forth with his great wisdom.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-_Vg49flIs&feature=related

i think he’s talkng about keo in the last bit, who is getting zero minutes, tho i concede these points are too subtle for me to grasp.

• 112.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-109:

Guess i must complete for all to see;

NZ lose in QF in ’07, win in 2011.

• 113.cab: Reply to this comment

and here are the aussies calling the Meneer a clown, these boys are going down, the last laughs are coming up ekse.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLXkln_lkKo&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PL4AA7F96C2F6FDCD3

• 114.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-109:

Fair game on your analysis mate.

Now, what do you thinks is the cause of all this; why do teams lose in QFs and go on to win the tourney 4 years on?

• 115.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@madvillain(madvillain)-112: Australia lost in a QF in 2007 too. much more likely.

• 116.Horings: Reply to this comment

I think you are underestimating Ireland. They have a good front row, one of the best locks in world rugby, one of the best loose trios in world rugby (O Brien is world class). A world class goal kicker. Then they have that leinster backline which is the best in northern hemisphere rugby. Add to that a great finals rugby tradition with Munster and Leinster. They really got it all. So glad we are playing the well known Ausies rather than the unknown Irish.

• 117.David: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-116:
    I agree, I reckon they’ll meet us in the final.

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

boks aussies game , imho, dependent on the selection room.

pdv….please coach, you need to do the right thing here…..

i implore you Coach……

bissy, brussow and schalk have to start……asseblief!

• 119.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

I just hope the best possible Bok team plays on Saturday. That means no Smit, Spies and Habana in the starting 15. Bismarck, Alberts and Hougaard should fill their places. Fine enough if Smit sits on the bench with the other two. Spies should never have been used as anything other than an impact player at the end of a match when the opposition is tired.

Aplon should also be ahead of Peterson on the right wing, just because he is so much more of a threat.

As a side not, I reckon a lot of the Bok players are very unfit, this is in evidence in every match so far, just running out of steam after the first half of matches.

• 120.David: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-119:
    Against the Aussies and ABs, I’d have Schalk at 8 and Alberts 7. We need to cover the 10/12 channel against both teams and Schalk can do that better from the back of the scrumin tandem with Brussouw . Alberts at 7 can knock the bejesus out of Genia if he tries to sneak around the blindside.

• 121.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-120: Yeah, I’d have it like that too. Burger, Brussouw and Alberts as loosies will the awesome.

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

smit will start o sat thank goodness.

the game vs samoa showed his vale and anyway, we will take it to the aussies upfront so smitty’s value as probablyh the strongest scrummaging hooker on earth will show its value.

biz will come on at 50-60 mins to wreak havoc with a tiring aussie pack.

its beautiful i tell you.

@grant10(grant10)-118: shhhhh, you gave up supportingthe boks remember? why dont you fukkoff?

• 123.rangerman: Reply to this comment

smitty’s form has been superb this wc as was fransies.

all the haters made themselves gat.

again.

• 124.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-123: What have you been watching…klomp strond

• 125.carol: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-118:
    Hey Grant, lovely to see you back. :lol:

What did you think of your Irish cousins this morning?

• 126.carol: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-122:
    “Peace and goodwill on earth, to all men” !! ;-)

What happened to the Sharks yesterday, WP got the upper hand I see?

• 127.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-124: are you eating malpitte?

the combination of smitty’s initial physicality and outstanding execution at the setpieces with bizness taing it to a tiring oppo has been fantastic.

cmo then big by, list smitty’s shockers for us then please, i am waiting with bated breath.

@carol(carol)-126: ja, well done wp. sorry, i cant stand grants bs, he is so far up himself and i am simply applying the jaws of life to rescue him before permanent damage is done :lol:

• 128.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Watching Masterplan NZ on SuperSport, great insight from J Micthell an H Meyer. Hope PDV is watching. G

• 129.JL1: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-118: The site was cool without you, back in your box

The Sringboks owe you now nothing

• 130.carol: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-127:
    I’m not sure he will be greatful…. ;-)

Do you ever hear from Rugby Princess, I have not heard a peep for ages…I’m sure she is just madly busy!

• 131.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-129:
    Cummon, I know you missed him really!! ;-)

Are you blogging from a shady spot in your garden sipping an ice cold beer per chance?

• 132.JL1: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-127: Phil Vickery is a huge fan of Smit

Fitzy loves Bismarck, to the extent that he would open mouth kiss Bissy

Point is we need both

• 133.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Smit starts against Aussie we are fckd same as we were almost fckd to high heaven under his non existent aura vs Wales.

If Smit weren’t yanked OFF the field in the nick of time then Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard would not have saved his fckup of an overrated arse against Wales.

These dumbfck Smitty disciples are way gone up delusional street. Smit starts against Aussie we are absolutely fckd. The Only hope we have is leave Smit,s Spies, FdP on the bench which won’t happen. Smit gonna start and Boks gonna get fckd up.., that is the sad state of affairs which his dumbfck hopeless disciples STILL cannot see staring their f’ng idiocy in their dumbfck faces.

• 134.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-129: pathetic oke.

cant help himself though, imagine having to be around this oke on a permanet basis in real life?

eish!

• 135.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-131: Just had a quick swim and will now have nice Magners on ice, listening to Kasabian

How you doin ;)

• 136.JL1: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-134: Eish, nagging wet blanket, I would rather have a poke in the eye than his nagging in my ear

• 137.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-118: at this stage of the game I would say that Spies is the biggest passenger in the team, f uk he is useless, a coward just like Hargreaves … he makes me sick smiling like a doos at those Samoans while we were at war … let Danie play at 8 and send that coward home.

• 138.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-130: haha, if i have to listen to his bs, he will listen to mine.

nah, the princess left when the lefties got out of control.

@JL1(JL1)-132: agreed, we need both.

we should be so grateful to have both but people like gwanty just can see that.

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-133: why such language old boy?

no one taking you seriously again?

i didnt understand you though, are you saying we should play smitty or not?

• 139.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you need Smit like a f’ng hole in the head if Smit had started against Samoa we would have LOST. If Smit was left another minute on the field vs Wales we would have LOST.

Start Smit against Aussie we gonna LOSE, same way we LOST the last 5 times against them under his hopeless useless fckup of a nonentity captaincy

• 140.JL1: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-137: Yep, Spies has not been exactly putting his body on the line

• 141.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-135:
    After a franticaly social weekend and considerable excercise I am now being lazy!!

I think it may soon be wine O’ Clock !! ;-)

• 142.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-140:

…and lets face it, Spies does have a considerable ammount of body TOO put on the line!!

Remember that classic line from the spoof Springbok clip…. “Spies is built like a farmyard animal” lol

• 143.JL1: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-139: We actually need to bench Matfield, who also disappears in the trench warfare games

Bench Spies, play, Bakkies, Danie and Alberts, Gladiators of the team with Schalla, Brussow, Jannie, Smit, Bismarck and Guthro

• 144.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-133:
    It took an exceptional defensive effort from the Boks – with some help from a corrupted Welsh referee, clearly on the taking – to beat the No 10 ranked Samoa
    That said, it all happened without JS on the field!
    put your thesis on its head or didn’t it?

• 145.David: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-137:
    See my post 120. I agree totally about Spies. He looks as if he’s going through practice drills and poses absolutely no defensive threat in one of the most important defensive positions.

• 146.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-141: Pinot Gringio?

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja, i would rather have albets at 8 or even danie if bakkies regains fitness.

spies simply anno live up to his hype.

so sad, too bad.

• 148.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-144: Well technically Smit was not on the field

• 149.JL1: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-146: Grigio

• 150.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-142: you like him…..

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.